Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun

4.434.434.434.434.43
Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun
#47 of 116 hotels in Riviera Maya
4.43 based on 63 reviews
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great vacation

, Antigonish, NS
2019-04-16
The royalton hideaway was a absolutely fabulous place to vacation spot,especially if you want a quieter spot without children playing. The staff are great at their jobs,very clean everywhere,great dining facilities,many to choose from. Each room is done up lovely to make you comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great first experience at a Royalton

, Dartmouth, NS
2019-04-16
Everything was wonderful except the pressure from the concierge to go to the timeshare breakfast. They spoke to us in person, called our room twice and left card on the door. this all in the first 3 days. We avoided asking them to help with anything during our stay or walking past the area where their desk was located. Called front desk with any issues!! AC broke at midnight one night and they had someone to our room in 20 minutes and fixed it. Food is amazing at this resort !!! you will not be disappointed. Drinks are good and house wine pretty good. They do have wine available to purchase as well which is a nice option. I will definitely return. Just be aware of the timeshare and be firm if you are not interested. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, service, staff, entertainment !
The weak points
The timeshare pitch and pressure to go to the "breakfast ". The seaweed on the beach, but hotel cannot control Mother Nature!
Certified

AN UNFORGETTABLE VACATION!!

, Pointe Claire, QC
2019-03-09
This was our first time in Mexico and at a Royalton property and we would strongly recommend it to both couples and families. The facility was fantastic and the service was first class. We had a swim up room which was a great feature and we enjoyed this immensely. We were celebrating a milestone birthday and the staff made this event feel extra special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, cleanliness and food were all outstanding. Our favorite restaurant was the Dorado with its amazing sea food & steak and breathtaking view of the ocean. We ate there 4 times (2 dinners and 2 breakfasts) and could have eaten there every day!
The weak points
The Mexican restaurant was our only average dining experience. The appetizers were great but the main meal was just o.k.
Certified

VIP Hideaway Royalton Riviera Cancun

, Mississauga, ON
2018-06-01
One of the best vacations we have, nice hotel, food and most specially the staff...they are simply the best...will do everything to make customer happy....and bec they were not able to meet our request during reservation they upgraded us from Hideaway to VIP Hideaway [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place to

, Buffalo, NY
2018-04-16
Great resort, excellent food and great staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Beach is full of seaweed, they try hard to keep it clean but it a lost cause.
Certified

Hideaway at Royalton Riviera Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-16
Excellent resort, clean and updated and very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge resort with all the amenities that were needed. Food was excellent all day long. All the employees treated us exceptionally well, Charlie Brown on the beach was the best at setting us up for beach lounges. Servers always attentive and smiling.
The weak points
Check in was not the best experience. took too long as well as check out. But considering the experience as a whole it was great.
Certified

Nice resort

, White Rock, BC
2017-11-17
Very nice resort. No negatives except the swimming in the beach water is not recommended. Lots for sea grass in the water and washing up onto the shore. Also, seems to be a lot of jelly fish (a lady got badly stung on the second day of my stay). Hotel staff I spoke to advised not to enter the beach water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything except the beach.
The weak points
Swimming in beach water is not good. Otherwise, a great resort.
Certified

Great but beware.....

, Calgary, AB
2017-04-24
Our experience at the Royalton was fantabulous. We were greeted cordially and whisked away to the front desk of our section ( hideaway ) We were told to attend a brief meeting, by our " personal concierge, " and that a tour of the establishment would be a part of the meeting. Free massages was the bait and my wife and I pounced on the offer. The next day we were woken by the sound of the telephone. The front desk was calling to confirm our meeting and for us to bring our ID's and a credit card. My spidey sense went off. I was in sales and know a sneaky trick or two. We did get a tour of the resort but when it came time for the sales pitch I did not want to participate at all. I wasted 3 hours of my vacation and did not get my massage because I stormed out of the sales room. Other then that resort, food and service was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service and food.
The weak points
Tried to sell us a ****share
Certified

Best Experience Yet!

, Foam Lake, SK
2017-01-30
This hotel was beyond our expectations! We had previously travelled to Jamaica and DR and absolutely loved Jamaica. I convinced my husband to go to Mexico as I found a good deal at a resort that looked "decent"
This resort is now his ultimate favorite resort! Our room was amazing with a view of the pool, All the food we had was delicious and even though we never ate a supper at the buffet, I would not have complained as the variety was amazing! The bar staff was awesome and we had a great time at the swim up bar! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was amazing! Access and variety of restuarants was better than we imagined and the bar staff was great!
The weak points
We weren't impressed with the beach but that is based on location. They did what they could to keep it clean and friendly for beach types.
Certified

True Luxury

, Gloucester, ON
2016-12-27
My spouse and myself spent a week before Christmas 2016 at The Hideaway. This is the adults-only section of the 2 years old Royalton resort in Riviera Cancun.
First surprise: no more complementary meal during the flights.
At the Customs in Cancun we spent more than 1 hour (it was a Saturday, close to midnight), and only 3 Customs officers were checking thousands of tourists.
The resort is at 4 km from the main highway, so you cannot walk this distance. But you are provided with a complementary trip to Cancun market.
The reception at the Hideaway is close to the main entrance, but far from the actual adults section. The personnel at the reception is friendly, but might send your luggage to the wrong room or might miss to tell you that you have to book a hospitality room for your departure date.
The room was luxurious, with plasma TV and jacuzzi in the room. Huge shower, but surprisingly small WC. There was a smell in the room, like chloride, from what they use to clean the floors or against bugs, and my spouse had complained as her eyes were sensitive. We could not get a different room, but got a dehumidifier, and had the room sprayed with some fragrance. The chloride smell got into our clothes though.
Room service was excellent, the room was very clean, even at night there was someone turning the lights on, and uncovering the bed sheets so you just need to jump into it.
One evening we received a bottle of champagne and a cheese plate.
You can order food on the TV, 24 hours.
The selection of TV channels is exceptional.
Probably one of the pleasant surprises was the excellent WiFi, complementary, with bandwidth enough for streaming even from the beach.
The buildings are modern, the architecture is outstanding. Ground level apartments have their own pools. The common pools are huge, with beds in the water, jacuzzi sections, evening lights. The section for kids make you want to be a kid again: lots of toboggans in animal shapes. There were clowns and kid shows, a kids club, a teens club.
The beach is wide and long, with fine white sand, no rocks, with lots of comfortable beach beds, but not too many places with shadow. Because of the wind, the umbrellas are rare and there are not too many palm trees. There are only 4 baldaquins for the adults section, and if you want one you need to wake up early. Other bigger baldaquins can be rented at 75 USD per day, they also include a safety deposit box.
There are bars on the beach, with very friendly personnel.
There were lots of algae on the beach, and many in the water. That was due to the corral reef in the area, we were told. Some days the waters were very dirty looking.
The beaches were cleaned daily though.
We were pleasantly surprised by the main buffet: huge selection, very fresh, very well cooked. The meat was so fresh and so good quality, it puts the a la carte restaurants to shame. Their display for the Christmas Eve supper was outstanding, too many things to mention. It included lobster, clams, any seafood you can imagine, a full leg of prosciutto, even an electric train.
In fact, our experience with the a la carte restaurants was disappointing, and we found better service, better selection, excellent quality and cooks at the main buffet.
Restaurants that we tried:
- Dorado, for breakfast, lunch and dinner: nice food presentation, but very slow service (2 hours to get the food for supper), the cook was on training (we got excuses from the manager)
- Steakhouse: Long wait (1 hour), the food was tasty but disappointing steak for a steakhouse, the steak at the main buffet was better quality and better cooked. But if you want to spend hundreds on a bottle of wine, the selection is huge.
- Agave, for breakfast: Good selection of Mexican foods for breakfast, decent service.
- Armadillo, for supper: The girl at the reception has an attitude. But the service was fast, efficient, and the food excellent. That was our ONLY good experience with an a la carte restaurant.
Since the main buffet was so good, we stopped trying other a la carte restaurants.
On a rainy day, 20-25 tourists from different groups shared the jacuzzi next to the adults pool, and started to order shots and did not stop for hours, and it degenerated into a fists fight. The hotel personnel stopped the fight and stayed on the premises hours after.
For the departure, our flight was at night, and the check-out at noon. When we asked about the hospitality rooms the day before last, the reception personnel did not mention that we need to book one, so when we actually arrived to ask for one, there were not too many time slots available, and none convenient for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern architecture, sandy beaches, excellent food at the main buffet
The weak points
Sea water full of algae, never clear. A la care dissapointing
Certified

Just as good as the first time

, Brampton, ON
2016-03-26
We are return guests. The hideway staff,food and services are wonderful. The only thing I would like to see Improved is the need for more umbrellas at the beach and pool. Come on guys buy 200 umbrellas make your guests even happier. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and Food, keep the food quality the same and treat your staff good as they are your best feature.
The weak points
Need more shade, management buy some much needed umbrellas
Certified

Our Escape at the Hideaway

, Waterloo, ON
2016-03-06
From the minute we walked in the door, we were amazed. They have thought of everything possible. The layout is beautiful. From the food,gym, beach, entertainment, drinks, club, to the most amazing service, hands down the best vacation stay we've had in years. Thank you Hideaway!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, Location, Beaches, Premium Cocktails, Swim Out pool, amazing staff, state of the art facility.
The weak points
Had a few stumbles as a few of the stairs had sunk a couple inches. Thats it!
Certified

Amazing Experience

, Sainte Julie, QC
2016-02-16
The Royalton at Cancun was beyond any expectation I could have possibly had, when you come through the front doors you are crossing a marble floored lobby that is about the size of a football field and guided to the Hideaway reception . Opening the door to our room I though I have got to be dreaming pure luxury ( although we were not ocean front it ended up being perfect since the sun set on the back of the building and we sipped champagne as the sun set over the mexican mangroves)

The choice of restaurants is incredible from Italian, to Greek to Seafood to Japanese to Mexican to An amazing Steakhouse there is something for everyone ( and the quality is superb by my fussy gourmet standards ). To accompany your meal the choice of premium alcohol is incredible , like a kid being set loose in a candy store 

Spent some time at the Gym since eating and drinking tend to make you a little fluffy 2 floor modern facility with more than enough equipment for everyone, I never waited for a machine and the gym was busy.

But my favorite stop was the spa , ohhh the spa . A surreal journey that your are guided by a personal assistant through one hour of thermal therapy and I was alone in the spa ( saunas , steam , hot , cold , then the pool with a whole series of different massage stations. ) once the journey through the pool was complete I was invited to lay down on one of the many long chairs while my assistant gave me a head massage. After all of this spoiling I was guided to my 25 minute massage – I left the spa feeling like jello !

We decided we really needed some downtime so we did not participate in any of the poolside activities , chilling by the beach was our thing , the chairs are incredibly comfortable and the beach bar which is directly on the beach occasionally had some live music ( we were serenaded by a violinist ) as we listed to the carribean sea rolling at our feet and Raul who kept asking us what we would like to eat or drink – I don't think it gets more heavenly than this [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food , taste, presentation and quality two thumbs up, Impeccable site, extremely clean and beautifully decorated. The spa was sublime really out of body experience !
The weak points
Musty smell in our room the 1st two days-we were told it was the surrounding vegetation- smell was worse at the boutiques. My biggest complaint would be the Travelsmart solicitation, got sucked in at check in then harrassed several times passing the lobby
Certified

Nice

, Thunder Bay, ON
2016-01-29
Great food, premium alcohol, new clean resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful

, Pilot Butte, SK
2016-01-26
We got to the hotel and had to deal with a front desk lady with a bad attitude so it wasn't a great start. As soon as we got to our room it was fantastic and made that bad start go away. Throughout our week stay we tried every place to eat and did not have one bad meal so the food was amazing. They have Crown Royal, Captain Morgans, Grey Goose and real Clamato so the drinks were excellent all week!! Totally recommend this place to anyone going to the Cancun area, you will not be disappointed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, food and alcohol
The weak points
It's in a mangrove so not the best scenery.
Certified

Hideaway a 5* Experience

, Rocky Mountain House, AB
2016-01-05
We arrived at the Hideaway on Dec 27 around 8:00pm. We were taken to the private check-in and then the bellman took us and our luggage to our ocean view room. The room was spacious, modern and very clean. Jacuzzi tub, double sinks and Samsung flat screen TV. Since there are no reservations required at the restaurants we immediately went to the Dorado Seafood restaurant and had a great meal and service. We then went to the martini bar before heading back to our room. There are many channels including pay per view. The next day our royal service began. Upon arrival at the beach Carlos met us and informed us that he would prepare our chairs with towels each day. He was amazing. Every day we had chairs, towels, umbrella and water. Eric was our beach waiter. He also worked very hard to be sure that we had drinks all day at the beach. Those 2 individuals made our stay! Jose at the Swim up bar is also amazing! He keeps everything upbeat and everyone has a good time. Be sure to ask for SURPRISE. The guys at the Martini Bar at the Royalton always give great service. They are extremely busy and do a great job. The food is really good at this resort - this is our 8th all inclusive and this is by far the best. No reservations required but they do give you a beeper if they are full and they page you when your table is ready. They have live music playing at various locations around the resort. The modern violin player at the pool and beach was amazing. Brought tears to my eyes! The ONLY negative I can say about this resort is we did not have robes in our room and sometimes housekeeping did not leave towels. Thank you to the Hideaway and the Royalton staff for making our vacation very memorable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff at the beach was amazing. Food was great. Live entertainment was awesome.
The weak points
No robes in our room and sometimes had to ask for towels.
Certified

HEAVEN ON EARTH!!!

, Georgetown, ON
2015-11-15
My husband and I just spent 2 glorious weeks at the Hideaway. I don't even know where to start! This is the nicest hotel I've ever been to and we travel 2-3 times a year. We upgraded to the Diamond Club and had an oceanview jacuzzi suite. The Diamond Club was amazing and well worth the money. We had our own butler who catered to all of our needs. I wanted to bring him home with us!

The food was to die for. We ate like kings and queens for 2 weeks and never had one bad meal.

The gym was the best gym I've ever seen at any resort. The typical resort gym is small, smelly, old or broken equipment and always empty. This was the total opposite. It is bright and beautiful, 2 levels with ll brand new equipment. The even have a separate studio for fitness classes. We took several classes and they were fantastic. The instructor was a professional instructor from Canada and she taught classes similar to the ones I take at home - fabulous! I did boot camp, zumba, aqua fitness and yoga!

The 2nd week of the vacation they had comedians performing from Just For Laughs. They were so funny!

This resort does't have typical cheesey entertainment and shows like all the other all inclusive resorts we've been to.

I could go on and on about how amazing this resort is but I recommend going to the Hideaway and definitely upgrade to Diamond Club and you will see for yourself. We have already booked to go back in a few months. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quality, rooms, food, entertainment, gym, fitness, free wifi and long distance
The weak points
nothing negative in my mind

Awesome 25th wedding anniversary

, Montreal, QC
2015-07-26
Short 20 minute bus ride from airport .Upon arrival greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and a cool cloth and are escorted through the beautiful lobby to your private check in.Thanks to royalton for our swim out suite. All the staff starting from the house keeping to the pool waiters and bartenders to the restaurants were always professional, friendly and had a smile.Special thanks to Pablo and Victor on the beach. The food was excellent.Only con is the beautiful white sandy beach has a wall of seaweed to enter the water.Which they are tirelessly trying to remove.Overall we had an amazing week thanks to the resort and the people who work there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great place to celebrate special occasions
The weak points
Seaweed

Excellent

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-17
Great food. Great service. Strong wifi throughout the resort is handy as well. Would return. Cesar and Tiburcio at the Hideaway Pool bar are legends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food.
The weak points
Great sand at the beach, but the ocean had a lot of seaweed when we were there.
Certified

Excellent week at the Hideaway

2015-01-12
Brand new. Adults only section, Hideaway, has great: rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, furniture, towels, snacks and drinks. Excellent, friendly and attentive staff. Diamond Club is a nice upgrade with a lounge that always has warm, light meals available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great facility--rooms, restaurants & bars, pool areas, pool furniture, attentive service, many dining choices, premium drinks.
The weak points
Still some kinks to be worked out because the resort only opened December 17. However, there were daily improvements.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?