Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa

4.204.204.204.204.20
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
#14 of 118 hotels in Riviera Maya
4.20 based on 143 reviews
Traveller pictures (31)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Third visit-- Probably our last!

, Port Stanley, ON
2019-07-28
This was our third time in four years. We booked in July the same room category as our visit in 16, ocean view roof top 4 plus person jacuzzi and were surprised to be given a ov terrace maybe 2 person jacuzzi. When questioned were told "upon availability" which I said 'we booked in July not last minute". This did not sit well to say the least. Bigger problems were soon to arise. The pool with the swim-up bar by the children's activity pool became inundated with "floatables" for very young children and people sitting at the pool bar for great lengths of time. Hence warm water by the bar. At the heated pool near the main pool I witnessed a man with an infant remove its' soiled diaper and throw it onto the pool deck area; which I brought to the attention of our server. The resort has become popular with Europeans which I might say some need a course in proper etiquette, remember the diaper. European preteens were left at one pool while parents were at another. I had to communicate with a foursome of preteens regarding safety concerns with toys being thrown with no consideration for those nearby. Lastly, throughout our 14 days there were numerous attempts to open or see if we had accidentally left our safe unlocked. I discovered this one day when I happened to notice the closet door was not how I left it, so every day I monitored/recorded the situation. Security was called and through their investigation discovered it was more than one maid in our room. Therefore I believe this was happening throughout the resort and probably occurs at all other resorts. *** Never leave anything of value unattended. LOCK UP YOUR VALUABLES.
I did not leave a gratuity to the maid service. Instead I left a letter saying security/we knew of the attempts, (8), and stated "I will not reward bad behaviour"!!
* Note* Customer services asked us to call before our next visit to adjust for the room category problem. I may take them up on that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food/drink
The weak points
Read comments

Family Vacation

, Okotoks, AB
2019-04-25
The hotel had wonderful staff, amenities and entertainment. We enjoyed our time relaxing around the pool and at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We enjoyed a peaceful trip with our four boys enjoying the sun around the pool and the ocean. The staff was very friendly.
The weak points
There were many dining options, but we were confused by the staffs lack of consistency and explanation of reservation making.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-24
We had a great experience at the Royalton. We were given the room we requested and it was beautiful with an amazing view. Thank you Alfonso Lopez, sorry we didn't get to meet. Staff was friendly and did a great job. The food was very good, no issues there. The pools were lovely and enjoyed the wait service we received. The beach was also very nice, soft white sand but did have a lot of seaweed. It was cleaned up daily. Would recommend this resort to anyone. Only thing I wish is that one of the Main pools was Adult only. We didn't stay on the Adult only side but we did visit but didn't find it appealing to us. Thank you Royalton [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, room request granted, nice size resort everything easy to access.
The weak points
Over on the kids side was hard to get lunch at Nibbles, very disorganized and never had the menu items available. Long wait lines just to not get what you wanted.
Certified

Royalton riviera cancun

, Montréal, QC
2019-03-18
Best advice , do your research before hand!
Lots of quantity in regards to food and drink, lacks in quality.

Rooms overlooking the mangroves , do have a musty stench to them.
Beach is not great, plenty of seaweed every single day and water is a murky brown.
Just do your own research before hand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quantity in terms of drinks and food.
The weak points
quality of food, rooms, beach and concierge service.
Certified

Fantastic experience

, Beaumont, AB
2019-01-31
from the moment we walked off the bus to the moment we left we had an amazing experience. I couldn't fault anything if I really nit picked restaurants typically had a 1 hour wait but the food was always incredible, and the odd panel around the resort you could see uneven paint colours, Like I said I really had to nitpick because it really didn't bother me even a little bit. We will 100% be back again and certainly the other royalton resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing decor, food was incredible, the quality and selection blew our minds. pools were the perfect temperatures beach was beautiful, and the sports bar was awesome!
The weak points
the water looked very brown near the shore but you could see turquoise not to far out.
Certified

Average Trip

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-21
Going Back can be considered again!!!!!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Service!
The weak points
Smell in the room, Mosquito bit in the room, Washroom tight, Jacuzzi open, countinous noise from the neighbouring building 24 Hours, and sometimes very loud noise from another running machines!!!!!!! Smell can interfere the sleep for some people.
Certified

Great hotel and vacation with an unfortunate end

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-05
From the start we were very impressed with the hotel. The layout and cleanliness as well as the activities and variety of pools and restaurants were excellent. This was the third Royalton we have stayed at and have always been impressed, originally this seemed that it would be our favourite. The best part was the staff - so helpful and friendly. Elizabeth at the Diamond Club provided us with some of the best service I have experienced anywhere. la franc our butler was also excellent. We were travelling with another family and got great swim out rooms which were perfect. Initially the only problem was the amount of seaweed on the beach but The resort tried to remove as best they could - not something they could control.
Unfortunately on Jan 1 two of the adult guests came down with a stomach illness, the other two adults symptoms began the following day. On writing this response on Jan 5 I am still suffering severely and visiting the doctor tomorrow.
Upon becoming ill we paid more attention to the food handling procedures. While all servers wore hairnets, we did not see much attention given to food handling practices. At the grill by the diamond club we witnessed the cook using bare hands to pick up raw meat (after which wiped with a dry paper towel) and then use the same cooking utensils to handle raw meat as serve food to guests. I am not surprised after witnessing this that we are suffering from food borne illnesses. After being very impressed by Royalton in the past (in fact we booked this trip because of our great experience in st Lucia in March) I will likely not return. Given the fact the children did not get ill, the most likely source was the lobster or soup in the Carribean restaurant on New Year's Eve. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff. Lots of activities and beautiful grounds
The weak points
Food handling / cleanliness/ illness. Also pull out bed was terrible.
Certified

Ok resort rather than Luxury

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-10
Hotel was alright but the check in wasn't that smooth as they separated me and my parents in complete opposite sections of the resort that they refuse to rectify. it took so many calls and waits to be fixed until 3 pm on next days. we all had bed bug bites, even though it was mild, we were all concerned and has to wash every single items( including luggage) from trip. Food was good but very limited selection [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Food and Cleanliness of room,
Certified

Front desk scammers

, Richmond, BC
2018-11-19
We went first week of November with a party of 12. Requested the 4 rooms to be in the same building. The guy at the front counter said that the hotel was 100 % full ( BS hotel was half empty) and that he couldn't accommodate. After about 2 hours him going in to the back room said he could get us 4 rooms in the same building for $ 45 a night per person, which works out to $3780 usd. Told him that's not going to work and to put us in any rooms available. This clown then goes in the back room again, when he comes out, he's says he could accommodate the four rooms in one building if we gave him a $ 100 tip. Which I did.
On the check out day, one of the kids had thrown away the bracelet. Again these clowns charged us another $95 for not handing in the bracelet.
Would not recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly and courteous, food was good.
The weak points
Front desk rude and wanting nothing but to steal your dollars.
Certified

Reviews good & bad

, Woodbridge, ON
2018-09-21
1) Great Food
2) Towels were left on beds all over the place, difficult to get a free bed, all beds had towels, people were leaving their towels, going for lunch, then grabbing another bed as the sun moved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Frustrating trying to reserve a table at dinner, if you had "Butler Service" then you can make dinner reservation. This message is telling people, if you have money, you have priority over others.i brought 5 people, Not enough Money???
Certified

Excellent resort and one of the best holidays

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-04
From the minute you arrive (about 15 minutes from the airport) everything was excellent. Diamond Club Office services were friendly and very helpful. The bar staff, restaurant servers, pool side servers etc, all work hard to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The staff make this resort beyond excellent. Thanks to our Diamond Club butlers Christian and Miguel and the Diamond Club pool butlers Catherine and Carlos for always checking with us to see if we are enjoying the services. Very hard working people with a great attitude, always smiling, pleasant and friendly.
The room was very clean and spacious. We were in building 6, great swim out room in the sun all day. Just make sure that the AC in the room is working properly not just blowing wet air. Very modern hotel and very clean, the rooms were made twice a day with the fridge restocked daily.
The Marche buffet was our go to every morning for breakfast and lunch. It was huge and a lot of food options, everything was delicious. Our Diamond Club butlers made us reservations to most of a la carte restaurants, food was very good.
It is a large and spread out resort but you do not feel crowded. Great entertainment every night. The beach has the best sand ever with a reef about a mile out protecting it. Lots of seaweed in the water and washing onto the beach each day but they are doing a very good job cleaning it .Great water sport activities.
Everything at this resort was beyond our expectations. Truly an enjoyable vacation and would highly recommend this resort to anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Highly Overrated

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-15
The hotel, while beautiful, left a lot to be desired, and was far from the five star quality it is touted as. The hotel was extremely crowded, which made it impossible to find loungers, find quiet places to relax, find restaurants to eat without waiting times, etc. In addition, the hotel promotes its diamond club program to the point where regular guests are treated as second class citizens. Housekeeping is poor, with rooms remaining unserviced until 5 pm and no nightly turndown service. Finally, the hotel pushes its timeshare program heavily, and it adds an element of sleaze to the whoe experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful with lots of bars and pools
The weak points
Service, heavy focus on upselling at every turn
Certified

Geared for family time

, Rockwood, ON
2018-02-13
This is my third trip to this resort. There were a lot of toddlers and small children there this time. It seems families have discovered this chain and the advantage of booking the Diamond Club to get kids included for free. Although there is an adults only section, there is only one seafood restaurant there. If you want adults only this is not the hotel to choose as you are eating dinner, on the beach, in the pool or through the resort with kids. The buffet entrance is lined up with strollers and lots of babies in high chairs. We asked for Royalton ocean view and were put in building 9. Two room choices, one to look over the kids pool and try and see the ocean and one on the back side of the building looking down the beach. We took the second. Next door is a rental wedding venue (not hotel property) and although not in use all the time, a wedding there Saturday night went to almost 4am with a loud live band with lots of base speakers. I also noted that the beach is not being cleaned up with so much seaweed you could not get over it easily to walk on the sandy part of the shore. Construction on the Hideaway side of the hotel was going with bright lights for the workers at night. The resort has nice pools but no regulations on babies in diapers and we saw babies in every pool. Even an adult oriented pool was full of kids and parents with babies. Swim diapers may be on the kids but it was a turn off to go in and swim. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, well run resort and the food is consistently good with lots of selections. Some nice pools. Good location close to airport.
The weak points
Not for adults looking for an adult only vacation, even with Hideaway accommodations. Kids everywhere. The rental venue next door to bldg. 9 does weddings - one went to 4am with the live band booming into our room. No beach clean up, lots of seaweed.
Certified

Great hotel

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-14
Three of us (myself husband and 18 month old son) had an amazing time. We stayed at the Diamond Club. The hotel itself is very modern and very clean, the rooms were relatively clean and were made twice a day with tha fridge restocked daily. Our swim up room was great and it was nice to be able to go for a morning dip our son really loved it. The buffet marche buffet was our go to every morning for breakfast. It was huge and a lot of food options everything was delicious. Our Diamond club butler made us reservations to all a la carte food was pretty good - tapanyaki was the best. The service at the Diamond pool was great! People there were super friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Diamond club pool area and beach area were fantastic lots of space and great service
The weak points
Buffet staff always seemed super busy and would forget sometimes our coffee or juice the daytime entertainment was weak check in was delayed by 4 hrs.
Certified

Best resort and the most fabulous holiday ever

, Maple, ON
2017-08-24
Excellent services...Room was impeccable, food was fantastic and always fresh, efficient Butler services. Thanks Kepler and Andres for always checking with us to see if we are enjoying the services The pools were cleaned, love the swim up bars. Beach facilities was pleasing. Diamond Club Office services were friendly and very helpful. Our Room assistant( ISALAS) kept enhancing the room daily giving it a cozy and comfortable feel. A hard worker with a great attitude. Thanks Gonsalves at the Diamond Club Pool, always smiling, so pleasant and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent. The Hotel very clean and organize. Pools were well kept. Entire Staff at the hotel were motivated to make Vacationers happy and comfortable.
The weak points
More info about services and amenities should be given out on arrival. An orientation should be mandatory and done on arrival. People are lost as to the Restaurants, Pools, Bars etc.
Certified

Appalling Customer Service: Don't waste your money

, Calgary, AB
2017-06-05
All I can say is STAY AWAY. This resort is a waste of your vacation and money. We booked a week vacation with our 2 kids under 3 in March through a travel agent. We arrived to be told the room we booked was oversold so they down graded us, without apology, and told us to go talk to someone from our tour company about the refund (who said it was the hotels responsibility to refund us). We requested several times to be refunded as we had paid for a product they could not deliver on, and we were assured it would be “taken care of”. It was not. My husband ended up spending the first 2 days of our vacation at their front desk (leaving me in the room with the kids since they are too small to have in the pool with only 1 adult) trying to sort out a better sleeping arrangement. Only after our travel agent contacted reps in Canada did the room we PAID FOR actually appear, and only after packing up and moving across the resort with small children twice, and spending hours waiting in the front lobby with tired, hungry children because our room wasn't actually ready until 3 hours after they said it would be. 2 months AFTER the wasted vacation, we finally got a refund for difference between what we paid for and the room they put us in for the first 2 nights - and again this only materialized because both our travel agent and myself sent weekly emails. Overall, the food is just ok, the pools are nice but honestly, don't waste your money. You are better off in a smaller resort that actually cares about customer service in the event that you need some during your expensive vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Customer service, food

Overall a really good resort

, Calgary, AB
2017-05-08
The people and service are what makes this resort. Food was great, having the Diamond upgrade was worth it having 3 kids with our group and not waiting for reservations. Also having our own pool and beach service was well worth the added cost. But as my husband pointed out it is Mexico and there were a few things they could improve on. At night along the pathways the cockroaches came out, however didn't see any in our room, actually no bugs in the room. The person who checked us in offered a room upgrade for my mom at a special deal if we were willing to slip him a $100US tip, which we did, it was a long day and by that time we were exhausted, but the upgrade was also $250US in the end so wasn't a great deal after all. However the rest of the staff was amazing. Would I return, probably not to this particular resort. I really wanted to love it, but have had better experiences for similar hotels/price in the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants were amazing, Diamond Club beaches and pools well worth the extra costs. 99% of the staff was amazing and I couldn't say enough about our butlers, pool bartender, beach servers, restaurant staff. Kids pool was great. Nightly shows fantastic.
The weak points
Giant cockroaches at night on pathways, staff offering upgrades for a significant tip, my friend left her phone on couch and returned a minute later. Pillows had been fluffed but phone was never found.
Certified

Luxury, Cleanliness, Friendliness

, Foam Lake, SK
2017-04-03
The employees at this resort are what have made all my stays so enjoyable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and always interested to hear about your day and greet you with a smile! I also enjoy the food at this resort and it has a great variety and even the buffet is phenomenal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is amazing! The servers, waiters, housekeeping, reception, everyone was polite and friendly and always willing to help!
The weak points
Although I like that they are constantly upgrading the facilities and making sure everything is safe... Sometimes I'd like it if there wasnt drilling or hammering taking place around the pool during the daytime.
Certified

Amazing Vacation

, Langley, BC
2017-03-31
This was our first time taking our kids on a family vacation in a plane. What an amazing experience. From the ease of getting to the resort (only 15 min shuttle ride), the friendly employees, cleanliness, food options and much, much, more.

The housekeeping was amazing. They refill the mini bar each day and ask if you need anything else. Pop, chips, alcoholic beverages and water. The room was always cleaned so well. The bathroom was set up nice in that the bath and sinks were in the room and the toilet in a water closet. We found it very functional for a family of 6. We stayed in the junior suite and it worked well for our family. Oh, and FREE ROOM SERVICE! Amazing option! Kids loved breakfast in bed!

The pools were so nice. Kids loved the waterslides, splash areas, infinity pools, swim up bar pool and regular pool. So many options! Spend hours every day in the pool.

The beach was beautiful, but the amount of seaweed made a bit difficult for kids to enjoy the water. Also, the water had limited visibility as quite wavy. Not something the resort could control. They do have a seaweed tractor that picks up the majority of the seaweed....they do what they can. The sand was so beautiful and the resort had ample lounge chairs for the beach and we found spots with an umbrella most days for shade for our kids. They also had paddleboards and kayaks you could use for minimal price, but the choppy weather prevented us for trying it with the kids.

We have a daughter with allergies at and each place we ate the question was "room number? Any food allergies." All waiters were polite. Only one restaurant (Gratzie) had a loooong wait - over an hour and a half. All the rest we had no problems with at all. We tried the Carribean breeze, Opa, Agave and the Steak house. All good food and service-Although the steak house was a bit noisy inside. You could go to the restaurants as many times as you liked, no "a la carte limits" which was nice. The buffet had huge varieties for everyone to find something they liked, and lots of deserts. My kids got very used to ordering Shirley temples and Pina coladas.

The evening entertainment was good. Some nights the quality / talent amazing, and other nights was so so. But, overall, very fun for the family. The kids Club even had a magic show which I found really well done!

Thanks Royalton for making our family vacation a very memorable one!

Maria T. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean :Rooms, pool and all other facilities (bathroom, etc). Lots of food options - restaurants, buffet, ice cream / coffee bar and much more.
The weak points
Only thing that we recommend changing is the kids wristbands, as my kids found them a little uncomfortable. Also, the beach had a lot of seaweed and visibility was limited.
Certified

ROYALTON RIVIERA CANCUN

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-30
i liked the layout the food was good but the service was just ok, not taking reservation is great for the a la carte's but always had to wait to get in . signs are posted saying do not put towels on chairs to hold them, but everybody did anyway, they never removed them, one time a lady told us to leave because we were in 2 on the 4 chairs she was holding . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we really liked the spacious room and shower even though i had requested a king bed suite
The weak points
service in the restaurants was slow service most of the time, twice we had to leave without our food because we waited so long
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Navan, ON
2017-01-19
The hotel was beautiful, very clean, food variety and quality was excellent and staff was amazing. The only reason why I would not go back is we were looking for a relaxing week away and there were more children at this resort then adults. Also do not take a room with adjoining door as it can get very noisy. Really no sound barrier. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely a 5 start service
The weak points
You have to pay for an upgrade that we didn't know about, if not you have to be looking at an old building and a field. The building is positioned that it's ocean view or not so nice view. Usually the regular rooms overlook gardens or something nice.
Certified

Royality at the royalton

, Greenwich, NB
2017-01-09
Everything as this resort was beyond my expectations. Food ,Service,rooms,property 100% wounderful highly reccomend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food rooms service
The weak points
only week point was murky sea grass water some days
Pro

Royal ton riviera cancun

, Laval, QC
2016-09-08
Our holidays were amazing because this hotel offered the best expectations in terms of staff, room accommodations, food. The only downside was the beach. Water was merky and lots of seaweed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff,cleanliness,pools
The weak points
The beach water and lots of seaweed
Certified

Hotel's sale promotion

, Markham, ON
2016-05-12
Overall excellent except sale promotion. Unfortunately I hinder back my dream memory. In short, they use the wrong businesses strategy. The event happened as follow. When we arrived, me and my wife welcomed by a hotel staff as welcome hotel orientation tour. I felt great and surprise that this hotel was so considerate to arrange one to one reception . after a short introduction of hotel facilities and location orientation, then attention immediately turned to extend their invitation to attend tomorrow meet at a VIP restaurant so that they could introduce more about the hotel and give us more more upgrade, ddiscount and gift certificates , said as we are Canadians and the hotel owned by a Canadian too. Since I felt at that point she was so sincere and warm, I said OK and would go. Then she filled a form for the invitation and started to ask us on that morning needed to bring a piece of ID showed i am a Canadian, and also has to bring at least one credit card or more. The more the better . Then asked us to sign the form to fulfill the above obligation. At this step , I felt something not comfortable, I came here for leisure ,not immediately on first day signed something i was sure what was going on. To receive something like coupons or discount,I don't think I needed to go through this fuzzy procedure. So I politely turned her down said I came here for leisure, not on first day have pressure to sign . Then left, with my impression that the whole orientation welcome was just a hypocrite.
Then 3 days after , I scrolled then TV under guest messege that I have a complimentary discount,coupons package to be picked up at a restaurant , overlooked to give us at our arrival. Then I expected to pick up and left , that simple. But was not, the restaurant staff offered me all the sweet talks that we were precious guests and they tried to please us more and offered more incentives like $100 free spa coupon, a discount coupon for next travel trip after meeting with a related personnel. At that point I was disappointed but thought since we spent half the morning there ,might as well find out more. Then we were lead to another building , an office under an travel agency. A male receptionist took over and the atmosphere changed all the way down to business. First question asked was 'have us been informed this was a sale promotion. I totally not informed all the way from the beginning but even the dummy knew that it would be. I haven't said no ,so interpreted as yes. Then asked me an Canadian ID ,one or more credit cards. I did. Then asked me to sign the filled form . I read and knew by signing this form, I received the said offer gifts in addition to those email for advertising promotions etc. Then i questioned him we have received any gifts yet and even didn't have any meeting or presentation yet, why we have to sign the form even before that. And said i don't mind to sign after the prevention and gifts received as promised. Then he asked to wait and talked to a supervisor, came back and said we were not qualify for that prevention as we wouldn't sign the form in advance. That was against my principle for signing the form ,or the contract. We were frustrated at that moment. Felt wasting time and being bit of intimated , no choice but left. That was our whole encountering. By now we still didn't know what kind of promotion they offered.
In final, their business strategy is too secrecy,sneaky ,lured people step by step to meet their goal or target. I rather be more open, more sincere ,more straight forward. Told people right away whether time sharing ,travel trip promotion . Offer people gifts whether they accept offer or not once attended the meeting, same as other promotions I had been before .
Other than that, all were great. Great people,great food, great service ,great hotel and restaurants decoration . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service.9 restaurants for selection. Excellent food and service. Scuba driving training free, sail boat free. Good location. Room very clean .staff very friendly and courtesy.
The weak points
Sale promotion .After 2 encountering,as 2nd one terrible experience. I still don't what promotion they want. Is it the time sharing or sale promotion for next trip
Certified

Royalton 2016

, Scarborough, ON
2016-05-07
Love Royalton. Great service. Excellent food and service. Couldn't ask for more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food. Great property. Free wi-fi.
The weak points
Location not close to downtown. No hotel shuttle. Beach so-so.
Certified

Reviera maya resort

, Woodbridge, ON
2016-04-25
Amazing ! Excellent vacation, best place that we have stayed at so far. we travelled with a group of 8 people and the resort and butler service -upgraded to Diamond Club was worth it. they continued to ensure that we had everything and not missing or having any issues either in our rooms or at the resort. The food was excellent!!!! there is everything to please your pallets. All staff were excellent and happy to please. special thanks to our butler and Charlie who was always there to provide the best service for us. Truly an enjoyable vacation and would highly recommend this resort to anyone! My only comments was that the beach had a lot of seaweed and not inviting. however, the last day of our vacation, things cleared up and we enjoyed the beach for the first time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent resort! Loved every moment bands were excellent and very enjoyable.
The weak points
evening shows very typical and once you have seen them once, this did not interest me to see them again. i truly enjoyed the musical talent performed by the 3 ladies,
Certified

Bad service!

, Vancouver, BC
2016-04-04
Room and food were ok, but the service was extremely poor, includes both housekeeping and butler [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
bad service
Certified

Hot and Sunny

, Ridgeway, ON
2016-03-22
The resort is located on a large property. Beautiful main lobby over looking the ocean. Lots of restaurants to choose from. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, close to airport, variety in restaurant choices. Great service.
The weak points
Limited extracurricular activites. Any excursions are about 1-1.5 hours away from the resort. Some rooms are a far walk to the main lobby.
Certified

Royalton

, Upper Sackville, NS
2016-03-14
We have been travelling down south for the past 16 years one of the best resorts we have been to. Loved it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Just all around awesome
The weak points
the Wifi was spotty
Certified

Royalton riviera

, Calgary, AB
2016-03-14
very nice resort allways cleaning.quite a distance for shopping and expensive for taxi or shuttle but was a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?