Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

4.514.514.514.514.51
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#13 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
4.51 based on 57 reviews
Traveller pictures (18)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

A relaxing week in the sun!

, West Vancouver, BC
2020-01-21
We were repeat visitors, drawn by the location within easy reach of PV, immediately adjacent to Secrets with the availability of some Secrets facilities, excellent food, flawless service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, service, food
The weak points
Some minor problems with plumbing in the room, room furniture beginning to look tired.
Certified

Now Amber July 2018

, Woodbridge, ON
2018-07-11
I would rate the Hotel Now Amber a 9 out of 10. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel View, Hotel Lobby, Pools, Pool Service, Food at Castaways Excellent, Bars good, shows good, entertainment staff EXCELLENT for the kids
The weak points
Served poor quality liqour unless specifically asked for premium brands, humidity in rooms, Air Con in dinning areas and elevators
Certified

Girls trip 2018

, Calgary, AB
2018-03-18
Our stay at this hotel was awesome! We were treated like VIPs from the moment we arrived. Until we left for the airport. We were given great room on 14 th floor with all our requests, non smoking, two beds, facing ocean. We enjoyed the buffet for breakfast and lunch and the a la carts for dinner. So nice not to have to make reservations! All of the staff we encountered were amazing. Treated up very well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People who work there are awesome. Grounds and facilities were always being maintained. Resulting in beautiful grounds and clean facilities.
The weak points
Buffet for dinner could add some specialty carving stations like a whole roast turkey or pork loin or maybe some pork ribs.
Certified

Great Vacation All Inclusive

, Calgary, AB
2018-02-03
Now Amber is a great place to stay!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was definitely above standard especially in the a la cartes. Service in the restaurants and for drinks was superb.
The weak points
It's not a beach on which you can walk a long way from the resort. The beach at the resort is well taken care of. Chairs were always plentiful too.
Certified

Happy

, Grande Prairie, AB
2017-04-25
Staff was great,food excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was very pleasant even when shortage of staff due to illness. food was always great and rooms clean.
The weak points
Short staffed due to illnesses and were unable to keep up with all the tasks.
Certified

LOVE P.V!

, Lloydminster, AB
2017-04-23
We love the Now Amber in Puerto Vallarta; beautiful hotel in an awesome location. The staff is friendly, rooms are beautiful and food is delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best service ever!

, Fort Frances, ON
2017-04-16
We traveled in March with another couple and arrived at about 10:00pm. There were no time share people in airport or hotel to bother us. At check in we had a very helpful young man who upgraded us with a Secrets access card. Thank you so much Brian. You made this the best vacation we had ever had. He also gave us rooms on the 15th floor that were amazing and had a view to die for. Because we had a late flight home, we were given a room to use for most of the last day and access to all the facilities.
This resort had the best service we have ever had. A big thank you to all the staff for making this such a memorable vacation. Excellent food, top shelf drinks, beautiful grounds, massages in the cute serenity huts, entertainment in the lobby and on the beach were all fantastic. All the staff went above and beyond. Thank you Now Amber and all your staff they make your resort fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, rooms, food and drinks were all fantastic.
The weak points
The beach wasn't for swimming. Too rough and rocky. For a small stroll you can access a swimmable beach.
Certified

Now Amber - Awesome

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-02-05
we had a fabulous time
we came home & said we do NOT have a bad thing to say about the resort.....the resort is beautiful, "ALL" the staff were fantastic, the food & service was great, the beach/pool area was wonderful, watching the sunset every evening from
the lobby was amazing
we most certainly would go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the views from lobby, the staff, food and service
The weak points
no bar open later than 1:00 am
Certified

Fun, Family, Getaway

, Sherwood Park , AB
2017-01-11
The Now Amber Puerto Vallarta was a fantastic place to spend our Christmas vacation. Friendly staff, clean accommodations, wonderful pools and beautiful beaches! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing! Especially Puc in the buffet restaurant! He went above and beyond!
Certified

University Grad Vacation 2016

, Winnipegosis, MB
2016-07-04
Stayed at this Amazing resort for 1 week to celebrate our Daughter's graduation from University. As a Mother-Daughter trip...the entire resort experience was amazing. Would return in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food!Loved the Water aerobics. Location was perfect. The Kids club seemed to keep all kids and parents very satisfied from what others told us as well.
The weak points
The housekeeper always turned of the Air Conditioner, so we would have a very wet floor....because it is so humid.
Certified

Must Read if its you're 1st time as a couple

, Vancouver, BC
2016-05-02
This was our first time to Now Amber, I have always been a huge HARD ROCK Resort fan and wanted to try something new this time. We Booked a Junior Ocean King bed was given 2 twins in the regular tower, which resulted in even worse back pain and in return added more stress to my "Vacation". extremely long waits at the reception but all spoke very decent English. I have now read several reviews all over and is a common thing with Now Amber that tourist do not get the room options they have paid for. If Now Amber needs to make a difference by working hard at standing out in ways that are obviously not as polished as advertised. I would call it a close narrow race to a 3.5ish and hopefully a future 4 star resort. The gym is on the Adult side (Secrets) Where you can access the French Restaurant which we never tried as we found the Secrets side very Intimidating.
The Italian restaurant (Capers | Italian Cuisine & Wine Cellar) was a huge disappointment.If the resort is going to have fine dining option you have to have a well trained support staff.there is no point in asking the guests to be in a dress code when the restaurant doesn't follow basic fine dining codes. The servers are well spoken in English but extremely untrained in serving. Our plates were taken after the first serving we were never asked for desert nor were given water. We extremely hungry had to go back to the hotel room for better food options. If the resort has private functions already booked, the guests at the hotel take a hit with not being able to use the space or common area as it been taken over by that event. Therefor, one feels extremely awkward being in and around the pool or the beach as the event takes over that whole section of the beach resort. Eventually, you would either have to be go back to the restaurant or back in your hotel room. I found that very uncomfortable as there is no designated area for such entertainment where it doesn't interfere with guests interactions with the facility and which is obliviously very inconvenience to the hotel guests. I would suggest this resort on a good deal or would pay that extra $500 elsewhere in comparison. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent English Staff Beach waiters like David are a big asset to the resort,Decent Restaurants,Location is very central, In and around some good walks and to and fro from the malecon distance is quite easy n safe, Hotel Taxi service are great
The weak points
Booked King bed was given 2 twins resulted bad sleeps. Long wait on front desk needs more staff for peak hours.Room Service needs to be followed orderly, Restaurants needs attraction approach.Wifi needs upgrade daily events need marketing n more towels!
Certified

Enjoyed our stay

, Tugaske, SK
2016-04-14
We spent a week here in February. We travelled with sunwing. We had our 3 year old and 1 year old with us. This was my second time to PV, my husbands first. We have been to Mexico numerous times and many other places staying at all levels of accommodation.

Check in - the bus ride from the airport was quick. We were the first drop off. Check in was one of the worst parts of our stay. We sat and waited to check in for a bit. The actual checkin process went fairly quickly but then they told us to have a seat and a lady would bring us our resort dollars. Well she did but this turned into a long spiel about the spa and using the resort dollars and then turns into a time share spiel even though they assure you it isn't a time share. They try to schedule you to come to the big presentation in the morning with breakfast. We were very disappointed in this. We know the time share people are everywhere but didn't expect this upon checkin and from the hotel staff. We had two very young kids who were exhausted after traveling ( as were we) and just wanted to get to our room. This was a poor way to start the trip.

Resort Dollars - we didn't use these and found them to be somewhat of a joke. Can't be combined, can only use on certain spa services worth so much money or a certain length of time...

Spa - we didn't use the spa. It was crazy expensive. We got massages on the beach which were great and the two of us had a massage for less than half the price of one at the spa.

Hotel Grounds and Common Areas - these areas are really nice and kept really clean. The view from the hotel lobby is amazing. The lobby bar is a great place to sit, relax and read. It is so peaceful and just can't beat the view. Can't say enough good things about it.

Room - our room was great. Spacious, very clean, great ocean and grounds view, large shower and jacuzzi tub. We had two double beds with the kids and they were definitely just doubles. A little small for two adults but we managed (we r used to a king). Mini bar stocked every day. Maids were in at least twice a day to clean and check supplies and turn down beds at night.

Elevators - there are 3 main ones. One was out of order the entire time we were there so made for long waits. We were only on the second floor so took the stairs often and didn't affect us too much but I think it would have got annoying for those on the top floors having to wait so much.

Pools - we spent most of our time in the kids pools. They were great. One was about 4-5 feet deep with a water slide that the kids loved. The other was a shallow pool that both my kids could touch in and they loved it. There were always lots of chairs and umbrellas by these pools. The barefoot grill is right there and a pool side bar. It was much quieter by the kids pool. We had great pool side service. The pools were all warm. We spent a bit of time at the activities pool. There was volleyball there once a day but other than that it was pretty quiet. The main pool with the swim up bar was always busy and loud so we didn't spend too much time there. It was harder to find seats over here. We really liked that there weren't towel cards and you just got towels as you needed from around the pool area. We didn't see the usual problem of people saving chairs all day which was nice. One annoyance is the pigeons around the pools at lunch time but not much you can do. They follow the food... We really liked that you saw them cleaning the pools every night and morning.

Beach - the beach isn't too big but we never felt crowded and could always find chairs and umbrellas. Beach service was good. The beach was very clean. The Usual vendors on the beach but a simple no was all that was needed. The ocean was too rough for our little kids. There were some older kids and adults boogey boarding and swimming. We just mostly walked on the edge of the water or played in the sand it wasn't safe enough for our little ones to go out. The beach and water here is pretty typical of what I've seen at other PV hotels.

Entertainment - things were pretty quiet around the pools and beach during the day which we enjoyed. The entertainment staff was by the main pool and beach a few times during the day but we didn't pay too much attention to what was going on. Seemed to be a bit quieter than most all inclusives and not as many activities going on. It didn't affect us but if that's what you are looking for you might be disappointed. One annoyance was a Chicago radio station had a group there for a couple days. They kind of took over the beach area every day for the radio show and also had some group things taking over parts of the hotel. We were happy when they were gone and it returned to the quiet not so busy place we liked. Evening entertainment was pretty typical for an all inclusive with the exception of the water show over the pools. That was fantastic. The Mexican night was pretty great too. We didn't go to the disco because had the kids.

Kids club - this is only for ages 3 . You can drop your child off and they give you a pager for if your child wants to leave. You can leave them from first thing in the morning until after supper if needed. They will take them for meals etc. Older children can come and go as they please if you sign a form allowing that. The kids area looks really good with soccer fields, play structure, rock wall, trampolines etc. Our daughter was just turning 3 and we took her the one day. We weren't allowed to go in with her which was disappointing. It would have helped her warm up to the place. Also they have a set schedule of activities every day: pool, video games, movies, craft... Seemed like anything that interested her was not at a convenient time for us. She didn't last long there because just wanted to play on everything but that wasn't the scheduled activity... I went to check on her after half an hour and found her crying. They said they had been paging us but our pager never went off. She didn't want to go back the rest of the trip. We saw lots of older kids having fun there so perhaps she was just a little young. It's unfortunate parents can't go in and play with the kids on the structures and soccer fields. Kind of feels like a waste that they only get used for the 1/2 hour time slot a day.

Restaurants - we tried all the a la carter restaurants except the Japanese. Kids are allowed at all but at certain ones there are specific areas for kids to sit. We enjoyed all the restaurants. We found the main buffet was smaller than what you would normally see at an all inclusive but the quality of the food on the buffet was better. We were really happy with the food here. It gets old by the end of the week the same as anywhere. Service was fantastic in every restaurant. The wait staff in the buffet were exceptional. Really catered to us and our kids.

Malecon - we had read you can walk from the hotel. It would have been a really long walk in the heat. A taxi ride was really quick and cheap. Would recommend doing this instead. There isn't much to see if you walk.

Excursions - we did one tour that we booked through nexus tours ( our sunwing rep). It was a catamaran snorkeling trip with a stop for bbq and time on a private beach. He sold it as a great trip to do with kids saying it was a calm beach where they could go in the water, lots of shade and umbrellas, a shorter day, good chance see whales and dolphins etc. We didn't see any dolphins or whales. I realize this is by chance but just wanted people to know not to have your heart set on this. They said they would allow you to throw out fishing lines on the way back. This didn't happen. They tell you the catamaran holds 60 but they only sell 40. Well there is no way you could fit another 20 people on it. We enjoyed the day but it was pretty rushed. Taxi ride to the pier was quick and cheap. The catamaran ride was good. Got to see a lot of the bay. Snorkelling at Los Arcos was great. My husband and I took turns. Our 3 year old got in the water too to see the fish (she loves water and isn't scared). They gave my one year old pretzels to feed the fish and they were coming up beside the boat for her to see. This also brought lots of fish around my 3 year old in the water. Note: we brought their own life jackets from home otherwise they wouldn't have had ones that fit. After snorkelling we went to the beach for a bbq. Food was ok nothing special. Didn't like that there were dogs everywhere around the tables and stuff. After eating we literally had 5 minutes on the beach before we had to head back to the boat. The water was a little calmer than at the hotel but still not ok for our young kids. There were only 3 umbrellas. Not that it mattered because we weren't there long. The catamaran can't go into the beach so you have to get in smaller life boats and ride to dock and get off then walk to the "private" beach area. Where every other tour is going! The dock was quite a step up and busy. This was a little difficult with little kids. We enjoyed the trip and would recommend it, just know that it is not everything that they promise (nothing ever is).

We had a great family trip and would recommend the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very nice resort

, Delta , BC
2016-03-22
The resort was very nice. Super friendly staff and nice clean surroundings. The food was pretty good. Standard buffet, ok Italian rest. Good seafood rest. And great Japanese restaurant, which was the best one! One downfall was that we felt a lot of pressure to sit in on the 70min. Sales pitch for timeshare opportunity right when we got there. The evening entertainment was awful, very amateur except the fiesta night where they brought in a group and they were good! Otherwise, nice resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff Clean resort Great location Great pools and beach Great rooms
The weak points
Restaurants could be better Evening entertainment could be much better
Certified

Now Amber

, Canmore, AB
2016-03-09
Excellent Hotel with very personable staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Summer Vacation

2015-07-29
Puerto Vallarta
NOW AMBER PUERTO VALLARTA RESORT AND SPA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was fantastic
The weak points
bad beach
Certified

Beautiful Hotel - avoid timeshare presentation

, West Kelowna, BC
2015-03-25
Beautiful hotel!! As the price reflects.

Unfortunately they try to suck you into a time share presentation as you are checking in. They claim it isn't a time share but its a time share presentation no matter how they put it. We were explicit in stating we were not interested in a time share but they insisted it wasn't to try and get us in the door. We walked out after 15 min of BS as it had affiliation with two major timeshare companies. It was a great disappointment to watch the leaches of the timeshare companies filling the lobby of the hotel and preying on the innocent patrons of the hotel through out the week.

Other than the timeshare issues the hotel is very nice. The beach is rocky but fair enough for sun tanning on. The rooms were well above average and the food was spectacular for an all inclusive. Now has made a good job of taking the annoying parts of all inclusive out of the picture. IE - no wrist bands, no signing up for al a carts (just walk in). The service was great - maids didn't wake you up in the morning as they didn't start room cleaning till late afternoon (3pm) and they had waiters out at the pool, bar, lobby and beach to serve you. The Drink selection was good but they seemed to use cheap mix for cocktails so it made an off taste. They had Budweiser in the Japanese restaurant but everywhere else you had to drink the corona which wasn't as good - not like at home.

The other perk is it is connected to secrets the sister hotel and you get to use its amenities too - But they are basically identical hotels so not a great perk - just no kids over there.

I would highly recommend the hotel but avoid the time share crew and tell them where to go if they talk to you - nobody needs that headache. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Clean - Excellent Service - Excellent Food
The weak points
- Time Share Pressure and Presentation - Internet in room (wifi) was slow as the second coming.
Certified

Marvelous Stay at Now Amber

, Kingston, ON
2014-09-10
Great resort, great food, beautiful site [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, facilities
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Great resort for families

, Airdrie, AB
2014-04-16
Fantastic resort, kids club is top notch. Food and service is excellent , will be returning with my family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, Pools,location, kids club
The weak points
Small beach,vendors, ocean not for swimming
Certified

One of the best

, Kingston, ON
2014-03-07
Excellent hotel overall
Beautiful setting
Excellent quality [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel facilities
The weak points
Service at the pools
Certified

Absolutely Fantastic

, Kelowna, BC
2014-02-18
Our second visit to the Now Amber (first in Jan 2013) was even better than the first (maybe because we extended the length of our trip to 10 days this time!!) Rooms are incredible...service GREAT... food FANTASTIC...entertainment was really good if you choose to take it in... and it was sunny every day!! Do yourself a favor and if you are staying in Puerta Vallarta, stay at the NOW AMBER!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Many a la carte restaurants, reservations not necessary, many pools, always loungers available, activities all day long, all sorts of drinks available, fresh "special" buffets pool side each day, and so much more
The weak points
only weak point I can submit would be internet is only strong in a few locations so I had to go to coffee shop and or lobby to do email responsibilities while there...but the view is breathtaking so not a bad spot to "have to" do emails...
Certified

Beautiful hotel!

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-11
We travelled with our 6 year old and 4 year old and had a wonderful time. This hotel is beautiful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Service overall was excellent. Food was very good. (Just wished they had their kids menu in all the a la carte restaurants). Kids club was great. It was difficult to get our kids out of there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, clean excellent service and food.
The weak points
beach was surrounded by local vendors. Pool area at times very crowded. Pigeons were surrounding the pool area even picking food off of your plate if left unattended. Pigeon droppings were on the ground so you had to be careful when walking barefoot.
Certified

Terrific hotel

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-25
We stayed at the now amber. It is exactly like the secrets only secrets is all adults. We used the pool and beach at the secrets part and it was terrific. The pools are warm and always lots of Lou gets and shade. The staff are unreal and constantly come to ask if you want food or drinks. Very attentive and helpful. The beach is small but sand is nice. You can't walk far maybe 10 or 15 minutes each way. The waves can be rough and my wife got tumbled twice so if you go in you need shoes and pay close attention to the surf. The water is warm although after a rain storm the water was brown and dirty from the sewer.
The rooms are great all with views of the sunset and beach. Well appointed and clean with all the amenities. The food really is first rate. You can choose from 6 or 7 restaurants with no crazy reservation system like other resorts. We never waited. There is a silly dress code. You need shoes and long pants and collared shirts on some of the restaurants. Be prepared. The Internet is very poor in the rooms. If you need to connect you have to go to the lobby.
The resort is great for adults and also families with kids and I would definitely recommend it and stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Terrific
The weak points
Dress code Internet and rocky beach
Certified

Now amber

, Calgary, AB
2013-09-18
We had an awesome time here. We celebrated my birthday and my husbands 60th while we were there. When we first got to our room there was a banner on the door wishing us a happy birthday and when we went into the room there were balloons every where and a lovely cake and a bottle of champagne . The staff were fantastic and very friendly . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby vista
The weak points
Buffet food could be warmer and more choice
Certified

Now Amber

, Vancouver, BC
2013-08-13
I traveled with my family - me my wife and two kids (1 and 3.5) enjoyed our stay at the Now Amber. The rooms are very nice, clean and new, with LCD TV and ocean view. Resort have 4 pools in main resort and two pools in the Secret side(for adults only)plus swim-out pools, beach is quiet and we could always find a nice spot with a shade and nice view. The food is very-very good; each restaurants(7 in total) have their own unique specialty dish and appetizers. The kids club is amazing with different programs for kids every day and all staff is very friendly. The babysitter has been always available with a short notice for our 1-year old so we can enjoy the evenings. We have a grate time. I very recommend this resort to any one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points are for--New Resort-new rooms, Good food, good and friendly service, Kids club, beautiful gardens around the pools, pools for kids with water slide and pools for adults and water-sport activities are separated.
The weak points
If you order the food into your room, the dirty dishes were left by the housekeeper outside by your door for all day.
Certified

Would not go back

, Westlock, AB
2013-06-03
I have gone to the NOW resort in the Domincan Republic and it was amazing so we decided to try th NOW Amber and were greatly disappointed. There was a wedding one night that had a DJ. The music was loud and kept us awake and we had to get up early.
All the excursions you have to get yourself there. You need to taxi or city bus it everywhere.
We waited at least 20 minutes to get a drink each time if they came back at all.
We upgraded our room and they told us the price. They told us after we moved and had paid that they made a mistake and we owed $40 and needed to bring it down right away. They should have absorbed this for their mistake.
Maids cleaning the room was late in the afternoon. We were told it is their policy that the maids are not allowed to do anything special in your room like fold the towels into swans.
The food was often cold but the specialty restaurants were good. Twice we were late getting back to the resort and we could not get into any restaurants at 5pm. We were told we could only go to our room and get room service.
The beach is small rocks and big rocks under the water. Very hard on the feet. The beach is also very small.
The internet access is all over and you need to constantly change networks as you walk around. The wi-fi for Skype is not good. Not faster enough for a clear picture.
Dirty dishes were left in the hallways for sometimes 2 days. At least 12 hours every time we saw them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
speciality restaurants are good.
The weak points
beach is terrible, staff service mostly not good, bar tending at the pool terrible. Bar tending in the lobby area slow if you are sitting down, No travel arrangements for excursions. Late room clean up each day.
Certified

April 2013

, Stoney Creek, ON
2013-04-28
Newer hotel. Beautiful rooms and facilities. Food and Staff excellent. Beach not so good, sand and water full of rocks. Not much they can do about that. Close to town and Malecon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New facility, modern,excellent food and location.
The weak points
water and beach area rocky.
Certified

Excellent Holiday

, Richmond, BC
2013-04-20
We had an excellent stay at Now Amber. The service, food and amenities were top quality. Our room was Preferred Club Gardenview and I would stay in the same class again. Well done Now Amber staff!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, food and quality of rooms and restaurants. They appeared to have a very good children's club. There were several pools to choose from, all being well maintained.
The weak points
The beach doesn't have the white sand of the Mayan - but it was groomed and well kept.
Certified

The Now Amber Resort and Spa

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2013-04-18
This was a five star hotel, felt like it was for the rich and famous. The staff is over the top happy to serve and help you in anyway they can, the rooms were spacious, clean, and had an unbelievable view. Never had such wide variety and quality of food anywhere before, top notch all the way, and the swimup pool overlooking the beautiful clean beach front was dreamy. We HIGHLY recommend anyone wanting to go to Puerto Vallarta to go to The Now Amber, you won't be dissappointed in anyway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Now Amber had everything you could imagine and it was all over the top wonderful.
The weak points
We didn't stay longer.
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Guelph, ON
2013-03-17
Most of our vacations have been to AM Resorts and over the last 7 years we have stayed at sister resorts; Dreams & Secrets. We decided to try the NOW for the first time. We love Puerto Vallarta and stayed at the Dreams when we last visited. The NOW Amber resort is beautiful, clean, decent food, great beach. My husband and I travelled with our 13 year old who also enjoyed it. We spent our days on the beach but poolside was also nice. The resort was quiet when we were there and we tend to book the Preffered club for all the benefits and service but were disappointed in the service from the reception staff at the preffered club at the Now resort. They rarely acknowledged us and always looked busy reading something rather than taking the time to greet. Even though all rooms have an Ocean view our room at the PC also had the balcony hot tub which we really enjoy as well as food available at all times and a great selection of spirits. We are also an Unlimited Vacations member yet saw no extra benefits; no upgrade etc. Regardless, we were happy to be in the sun and on the beach and had a great time as a family.
Overall, we had a wonderful trip but will stick with booking with the Dreams/Secrets Resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, great pools, good food (Dreams is better), freindly staff, great drinks, good beach/drink service, effort put into entertainment and shows (though no one attended), staff in main lobby/reception, volleyball, swim up pool.
The weak points
Staff at preffered club reception were unpleasant and unhelpful, being approached to attend presentations to be a unlimited vacations member, lack of attendance at the evening shows, slow service at the restaraunts, the vendors on the beach blocked view.
Certified

Now Amber

, Cobourg, ON
2013-03-06
Lovely resort, the nicest, friendliest, front line staff, rooms were very nice, immaculate grounds. The beach was pretty rocky and rough for walking on. I would recommend this resort to people with children and for people who want to have lots of around the pool activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
front line staff was fantastic, very friendly, attentive whether you tipped or not...
The weak points
supposed to serve "top shelf" alcohol at resort but restrictions if you were not in "preferred section", rocky beach, kids allowed in all the pools, and swim up bar.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?