Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa

4.474.474.474.474.47
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
#16 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
4.47 based on 34 reviews
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

First Time at SPBR&S

, Campbell River, HA
2019-02-08
our stay was AWESOME! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
being served no lineups...
The weak points
a cotton duvet for the bed would be great...
Certified

Paradise in Puerto Vallarta

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-01-31
This was our sixth time vacationing in Puerto Vallarta, and first time at the Sunset Plaza. From the moment we arrived to the time of check out, the staff were attentive and unbelievably friendly! Amazing poolside drink and food service from Saul and Johni. Most days when our glasses were empty, we didn't even have to ask and they had more in hand. Loved the use of the reusable glasses over disposable ones.
We would consider ourselves “foodies” and the food at Sunset did not disappoint. Pleasantly surprised that all meals (other that the Mexican Night and Seafood Night) were by menu not buffet. From breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert, we were blown away with how beautifully presented and unbelievably delicious each dish was. There was definitely something for everyone – hamburgers, tacos, and even beef carpaccio! All of the baking – bread, pastries and desserts were made in-house and wonderful. Even the two themed buffet night meals were amazing. The serving staff and kitchen staff at Sunset are stellar! A big shout out to Luis at dinner service, who was so friendly and went out of his way to make our stay wonderful!
All rooms are ocean front with an amazing view. Rooms were clean, bar and snacks refilled promptly daily. We never had to ask for a single thing from housekeeping or the front desk.
Water level at the beach was really high most of the time we were there so we didn't get much beach time, but both the pools and upper hot tub area had more than enough loungers. We never had to look for open spots.
We only had a couple of “complaints”. We would have liked to know what the dinner "theme" was each night in advance (not that it really mattered, in the end as every meal was amazing) to plan dinners off resort, or to go to the Italian Restaurant instead. It also would have been nice to know of what the daily poolside demonstrations were and what time there were going to be, most days we missed what was going on. It would have been nice to have more than one choice of draft beer (maybe an amber or dark). My only pet-peeve was that one of the smoker's areas was right where the only outdoor seating/tables were. No other option to have a drink or snack outside other than right beside the smokers or on our balcony.
We were aware before we booked that there was going to be construction but it really didn't bother us. Any noise really wasn't any louder than the sound of the waves.
We enjoyed our stay at Sunset so much we are already planning to go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff & amazing food.
The weak points
Bad location for smokers areas.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Grand Forks, BC
2016-03-16
This resort was a good experience. Quiet, friendly staff that often went above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Rooms and hotel were clean. This resort did not have a buffet rather you ordered off a menu which gave it an a la carte feel
at all times. All rooms have ocean front views. Never had an issue to get a lounger at pool side, and towels were plentiful. This resort does not have much beach frontage. We would definitely go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness and great food.
The weak points
Beach frontage
Certified

Sunset plaza beach

, Penticton , BC
2015-12-06
Our hotel was clean and the employees were friendly. No complaints about the food or service.
Pools were clean and again the bar service was excellent.
Bottom line we had a great two weeks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Entertainment was really good. Our yoga guy was very good.
The weak points
Trying to think of a weak point. May a little more notification as to what was going on in the resort. Our butler did tell us most days, but sometimes it would be nice to see something in writing
Certified

A Gem of a Hotel in a Great location

, Edmonton, AB
2015-06-15
This was our second time here, having accidentally discovered it last year. What a welcome change to the hotel scene in PV!
Gorgeous rooms facing the ocean, a nice choice of three restaurants, Authentic Mexican food when offered, and not a buffet in sight. Bravo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte menu, varied selection , thoughtful preparation, and just-right portions. This is not the place for a plate full of indifferently prepared food.
The weak points
As in many hotels, Internet can be problematic, especially in rooms.
Certified

It's a great vacation place

, West Vancouver, Br
2014-03-31
It's a great hotel, not as large as the ones in cancun but a great place to relax. Great for families with kids! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice new small hotel, very friendly staff, good food but no buffet choice and limited selections, perfect for families and very peaceful
The weak points
Too quiet, could use a bit more action like shows and music for entertaining the guests and be creative and involve the guests like having dance etc, only one Italian restaurant for dining and wasn't that great
Certified

Wonderful hotel!

, Rockland, ON
2014-03-09
Overall, beautiful and clean hotel. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love the food and pools! Great drink selection at the bar. Quiet hotel which was nice! Amazing views of the ocean, especially at sunset.
The weak points
Beach is small, only one hot tub was actually hot.
Certified

Great value get away

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-04
We went with the upgrades to the 1 bedroom suite while our friends stayed with the deluxe room. we were all very pleased and would definitely stay here again. Very clean and modern, we felt this was good value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small property, al a carte dining, few children and great service.
The weak points
The food was not great overall but we do not have high all inclusive expectations. Very hit and miss, particularly at dinner. Could have been more choices
Certified

Loved resort but stay away from Pegaso Tours

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-25
Resort was great but Pegaso tour we bought from our Sunwing rep was a rip off. They were suppose to sell us a CD of our day of sailing, whale watching and snorkelling...the photographer took many pictures of us and none of those pictures were on the cd....none....been to PV many times and never have we been ripped off...left a very sour taste:( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was fantastic
The weak points
beach chairs has a 40 minute time limit on them, if you were not back in your chair in 40 minutes, you would lose it
Certified

What a gem of a resort!!

, Laval, QC
2014-01-06
Wow! This trip could not have been more perfect. This resort is much smaller than we're used to, and I have to say we were a little worried, but it was incredible. The resort was super clean and emaculate, the view was breathtaking, and the food was always fresh and delicious with a very varied menu. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly, very helpful and very interested in ensuring that we were always comfortable and having a great time. A huge shout out goes to la linda Patsy who was always ready with a smile, Senor Cesar for making sure we were always satisfied, and especially Senor Alejandro for his unwaning energy. Frankly, we could mention the entire staff--everyone was wonderful. We will definitely be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and great personalized service!
The weak points
small beach area
Certified

A great week

, Vancouver, BC
2013-11-13
A friend on my hockey team told me he and his wife loved the Sunset, so we were really looking forward to our week stay (Nov 2-9). Well, we definitely weren't disappointed. The level of service we experienced was the best in 12 years of coming down to Mexican all-inclusive's. Great room, excellent food, very nice pool area, close to town. We'll go back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food & the individual service offered by the staff.
The weak points
Only lobby internet service.
Certified

Amazing

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-11
Absolutely the best. We go to Mexico at least twice a year... beautiful trip. Loved Air Transat [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, clean, amazing food, great wifi
The weak points
Nothing. This is the place to stay!
Certified

WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY

, Turner Valley, AB
2013-04-22
First time in PV, and i hope not my last. I really enjoyed this hotel, i could alsways find something to eat and it was good. The staff service was absolutely excellent. Our room was a kitchenette suite and the most beautiful room i have ever stayed in. Clean and quiet. Lots to do close by and shopping galore. I love this resort and hope to go back again soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms, great service, good food at restaurant
The weak points
room service is extra and the food is always soggy and not cooked right.
Certified

Great Vacation

, North Vancouver, BC
2013-04-10
The hotel was immaculate everywhere and the staff were friendly and helpful. The service was excellent but we did have a couple of meals with slow service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing and welcoming environment. Never felt like in the cattle class.
The weak points
Not enough shades by the pool. Service at the restaurant was inconsistent (some excellent but some not so good).
Certified

Aaaaamaaaazing Hotel

, Kagawong, ON
2013-04-02
We stayed at this hotel with our 3yr old son. We have only ever been to huge resorts and this was our first time at a boutique hotel. It was stunning. We just had a basic room, but it was gorgeous, and every room has a view of the ocean. The food is fresh,gourmet and plenty of choices. We have gotten ill at 8 other resorts, but not at this one! The service is outstanding, the pools spotless, the only downside was the beach vendors, but not the hotels fault. but dont let that put you off. they also offer a adults only pool which would be heaven if you were able ;). The hotel is located in the perfect spot for touring Puerto Vallarta. Would go back and never to a large resort ever again!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service,Room,Food,Drinks,Location,pool,jacuzzi
The weak points
only negative thing is that when you check in, there's no communication about where you check in? The guests on our flight were all waiting to check in but not one staff gave us any indication of what to do-too laid back. but thats it! every.else 100%
Certified

Winter Getaway

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-26
Great staff, good food and a fun time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were amazing. Food was very good
The weak points
Weak internet. Lack of entertainment
Certified

Vacation of a life Time

, Woodstock, ON
2013-03-07
From the minute we arrived until we left were exceptionally happy with everything.The staff was extremely helpfull and gave us a vacation never to forget.The rooms were admazing the veiw at night was breath taking.The meals were la carte and were more then excellent they had a lot of choices had no problem finding something to idulge on.The maids,bartenders,servers,butlers were more then helpful and were all very happy to assist us with anything.The location was excellent 5min to downtown 5 min to marina 10min to airport.This resort is for the relaxing type.If looking for party go somewhere else this wont be your resort.I would go back to this resort in a heart beat cant wait to go again to see all the staff.If travelling here dont overlook this resort.regards Bob w [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Location and the suites are fantastic wont be dissapointed.
The weak points
None
Certified

Very nice

, Red Deer, AB
2013-03-05
Very nice hotel,great location. An enjoyable week untl the last day. When we checked out they wanted to cut off our bracelet which meant we'd have to pay for lunch and beverages until our departure time. We protested and eventually they decided to let us have them until our bus came at 2:00. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are no buffets, only a-la-carte. Pool area was beautiful, plenty of lounge chairs and good service.
The weak points
There were only 2 restaurants and a deli. More choice would have been nice. Almost too quiet at night, no entertainment
Certified

Great rooms!

, Kelowna, BC
2013-01-23
We had a 1 bedroom suite, which was beautiful! The balcony was huge and it was great having 2 bathrooms.
The food at this hotel was not very good. It was sit down service (no buffet) which could be good if they offered a bit more variety, unfortunately they had the same menu nightly.
This hotel did not offer much nighttime entertainment. They had a live band one night in the lobby bar, but not much else. We are not big "club" people so really enjoy taking in some of the shows other resorts offer! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1 bedroom suite is great!
The weak points
Food is boring and repetitive.
Certified

WONDERFUL !!!!!!!!!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-01-16
Money very well spent. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more hospitable. The rooms were spotless, and the views amazing. I can not say enough about how wonderful your staff is. A few exceptional waiters I thought were Pedro and Jeorge and Alexandro who always brought us nice cold drinks at the pool.CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
More vegetarian options
Certified

We'll be back!

, Vancouver, BC
2012-03-12
Hello, we loved it. Staff was superb.
Room was gorgeous. I liked the size of complex, smaller - quiet, adult like - very relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was excellent. awesome service.
The weak points
cant think of any.
Certified

A dream come true

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2011-12-26
The Sunset Plaza Beach resort was a new hotel, with excellent food and service. We enjoyed our recent holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent hotel.
The weak points
Beach was too small, no nightly entertainment.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?