San Marino Hotel

San Marino Hotel
3.133.133.133.133.13
3.13 based on 114 reviews
#25 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Average resort

, St Catharines, ON
2020-02-13
We try to travel to Puerto Vallarta once a year and have stayed at the San Marino a few times. It has gone through some updates and will continue to update as the years go by. It's location for us is a main reason for our stay there in the Romantic Area. We have made many new friends that have stayed there and keep returning to this resort. The food is very average.
The oceanview rooms of this resort have been updated but they do need to concentrate on continuing on the remainder of the other hotel wings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

San Marino Hotel

, Victoria, BC
2019-04-09
My family just spent a week at San Marino Hotel.The staff were amazingly helpful and knowledgable.The room was beautiful and well kept.The food was great.Nice variety of Cuisine. I would recommend this hotel to any family or friends traveling to Peurto Vallarta.! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Location location location

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-01-23
this hotel is in renovation and needs the updating, but some has already been updated... location is its best feature... the staff is amazing. We have no complaints and got what we paid for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

San Marino

, Saanichton,Bc, BC
2018-09-14
Even though we were the only non - Mexican people staying at the hotel, we had a great time. Everyone was so friendly... Hotel staff and the other vacationers all tried to communicate with us.
The food was good, especially the chicken, and really you always read on these reviews about having left over food showing up again at the next meal. I don't think that that was the situation here at all.

The only problem we had was on the last day. We were going down to breakfast . The elevator took about 5 minutes to stop at our floor. We got down to the lobby and one of the 2 elevators had a sign posted on it saying that maintenance was being done on it.
After breakfast, we didn't even bother trying to get the elevator to go back up to our room.
We got ready for our departure, left our room and went out to call for the one elevator that was working . We waited and waited and waited some more. The elevator went right past us up to the higher floors and came down opening and showing a full elevator. We would push the button again and the elevator would go up opening on our floor. This happened several times until finally I asked a hotel worker who was in the elevator to send it back up to our floor. We had our suitcases and would've walked down otherwise. It was not a good end to our vacation.
We had some great waiters. I didn't get all of their names, but want to mention those I remember, Sammy, Daniel, Manuel ,Felix, Luis &, Edgar [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Location, location, location!

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-30
This was our third time staying in the Old Town in Puerto Vallarta - twice right on the Malecon/Romantic Zone. If you want people watching, lots of places to walk to, lots of choices for eating out at restaurants and lots of local and boutique shopping - this resort is in the perfect location. We were a bit disappointed in the daily food options – very basic food, nothing to be wowed about but we never went hungry. We asked on a couple of days for pico de gallo or guacamole - not every waiter was able to get it for us but on 3 occasions we were able to get it freshly made up for us which was greatly appreciated! There are many great options for food in the area that satisfied our foodie cravings. Perfect spot for shrimp and fish on a stick right beside the palapas for the hotel. The options in the area range from gourmet dining to 24 peso street tacos. Options for everyone! We did have some issues with our A/C. On the first night at 3 in the morning it died and we were hot and parched and asked the front desk for ice or water. We were told that they didn't have access to any - disappointed we went back to our room. When security came with maintenance to check on the A/C, the night security guard was more than happy to get us a big bucket of ice! He was a life-saver that night. Both times the A/C stopped working the front desk gladly sent someone to fix it. The rooms were “ok.” We had a king size bed, which was actually very comfortable and a balcony looking partially onto the ocean and side street. The room was very quiet at night. The only issue with the rooms was the bathroom. It was a bit run down but was kept clean and we always had hot water. All-in-all we were quite content at the San Marino. The pools were never too noisy or full, and the lounge area was perfect at night for watching people on the Malecon. It is a very basic, no-frills resort. The tables at dinner and lunch are plastic and there isn't really any décor. For those thinking of staying, be prepared to bring some money to eat out for lunch or dinner, but with so many fantastic restaurants to choose from you'd be a fool not to! Also, all of the staff was very friendly. This was some of the best staff we have ever encountered in an All-inclusive (even though there wasn't any beach drink service). They seemed genuinely happy and polite and we never felt any pressure to tip. We would stay at the San Marino again. What it lacks in ambiance and food, it makes up for in friendly staff and location! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
• great location • very friendly staff, some of the best staff we have ever encountered in an all-inclusive • great area for lounging and watching the Malecon at night
The weak points
• beach area became very over-crowed with locals on the weekend, they spilled over onto the resort spots on the beach • mediocre food (no shrimp, no pico de gallo no guacamole) • bar closed a bit too early at night • no drink service at the beach
Certified

As expected

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-03
We like the location and have been coming to this spot for many years. I prefer rooms with balcony as it has a bit more room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
loved our room as my friend smokes so balcony works for us
Certified

Renshaw travel

, Vancouver, BC
2016-01-04
Hello, the service, and hotel was good, my only complaint was that there are 2 pools for kids on the upper level. They need to diligent, and keep the kids out of the lower pool. !!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, good staff
Certified

Enjoyable PV

, Steinbach, MB
2015-02-25
Staff are great and did their best to move us to a room we had stayed in before. Serving staff are very friendly.
Although this hotel could use some upgrading, we love the location and the friendships we have made with folks who we meet there year after year. Always a great time in PV! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location- We love this part of old town. The staff are very friendly and make a point of remembering your name or your favorite drink. Always a pleasure to see them.
The weak points
Rooms could use some updating. Would be nice to have more lounge chairs available so folks wouldn't have to get up early to save them. Food is good but should be served hotter. Found the food to be only slightly warm.
Certified

San Marino hotel

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-09
The staff here are very helpful and courteous.If you like organized activities there are none.If you like to bodysurf bring your snorkel gear instead .Your paying to stay in Down town PV. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather , nice sand , calm waters if you like. Nice staff.
The weak points
No surf , no security in hotel or beach . I had two pairs of foot ware stolen of the beach.
Certified

Great hotel and location.....

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-26
This hotel is in a fantastic location. All reviews I have heard about this hotel all complained about the food, we thought the food was awesome. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. I recommend this hotel for sure and I will be returning to stay at the San Marino. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Clean but basic

, Hamilton, ON
2014-03-24
Hotel is clean and quiet but could use updating and new beds. Food has not improved much to be noticed from past years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk very professional and helpful. Staff very good
The weak points
Food has not improved much over the past few years. Rooms could use updating. Bar service poor and very basic. Pool maintenance could be improved.
Certified

Bad food

, Duncan, BC
2014-03-11
Terrible food. Way to noisy at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great. Right on the beach.
The weak points
The food was terrible. And so was the night time noise.
Certified

San Marino 2014

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-09
Second visit to the San Marino for two weeks this time around. Great all inclusive stay. Buffet service offered three times a day but, if you wish you can step out the front door and partake of a wide selection of restaurants just a short walk away. Staff very attentive and friendly. The adults only pool is a great place to meet fellow travellers and compare travel notes. A mix of guests including locals and their families as well as a lot of Canadians escaping a cold winter! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, ocean front within minutes of night life and shopping. Friendly staff make you feel right at home.
The weak points
Can be a little noisy but I suggest bringing a pair of ear plugs to ensure a good nights sleep.
Certified

First time there & enjoyable.

, Ottawa, ON
2014-02-02
Very pleasant and courteous staff. Noisy the 2nd week as it was close to a national holiday with kids using hotel corridor as playground, parents allowing it and as noisy themselves sometimes... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, very close to all downtown amenities. Cute little lizard (gecko) came into the room at night seeking heat behind the tv, interesting!
The weak points
Food good but repetitive, specially for the 2nd week. But you could always find something for a nutritious meal. Suggest adding fruit platters for ALL meals, not just at breakfast. Many diabetics in the hotel.
Certified

Love the staff.

, Hilda, AB
2014-01-30
I've stayed here many times and as always, the staff is wonderful. The location can't be beat. Everything is within walking distance and the beach is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, location and beach. In past years the food was sometimes not the best but there are new chefs and the food has improved alot.
The weak points
The beach chairs are hard plastic meant to have cushions but don't so they are very uncomfortable. I ended up purchasing a toy blowup raft to use as a cushion ... it worked.
Certified

San Marino

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-30
The staff were so friendly and were always laughing and smiling. They all spoke English and made me feel at home. They work very hard and I would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing.
The weak points
None.
Certified

San marino

, Hamilton, ON
2014-01-30
hotel is well located in the romantic area, close to beaches adult pool ,, but the food is terrible [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hotel is clean and well located
The weak points
the food is disgusting
Certified

San Marino - review

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
Great location. Highly recommend upgrading to ocean view. However, when we upgraded ourselves, the hotel charged $5 more per night than what their website cost stated. Food was ok. Coffee, beer and wine were not that great. We ended up going across the hotel to Dee's Coffee shop for morning coffee. Their daiquiri drinks were fantastic though. Fresh omelette for breakfast was a treat. Wait staff in the restaurants were super friendly and attentive. Difficult to impossible to arrange late check out time despite attempting to arrange many days in advance. No place in the hotel to shower after your check out time of 12 pm if your flight is later on in the afternoon. Rooms were very basic. You have to pay for use of the in room safe. Wifi internet available in hotel premise but not reliable for internet phone use. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great. Ocean view upgrade room is worth the extra cost.
The weak points
It's probably a 2.5 star hotel, not 3 stars
Certified

People Watching

, Edmoton, Al
2014-01-23
Right I the center of it all, great location. Lots to do beds are hard and the food is getting better.
IT'S A 2-1/2 Star don't expect a five star. Staff is great. If possible upgrade room to beach view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place is in a great location, main pier is in view and lots of people walk by.
The weak points
The food is not the best.
Certified

Had a nice time!

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-14
This hotel seems to be popular with families and the sounds of children enjoying the pool were lovely, although not at 10 at night! The room was comfortable and clean; the food was acceptable - but not a lot of Mexican. Ask for a room above the hotel entrance... the other side was a bit noisy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location and prices, nice to have someone cook for me!
The weak points
Some noisy happenings on the street outside my room interrupted 2 nights of sleep.
Certified

San Marino - Puerto Vallarta

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-15
The good really does outweigh the bad. If you can look beyond the dated décor to the people and the experience of Vallarta, you'll have a wonderful time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, steps to everything you want to do. Staff are excellent and genuinely care for their guests. Buffet is vastly improved over previous visits.
The weak points
Standard rooms in the hotel need a refresh. They are dated, and it shows.
Certified

March 23-30,2013

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-01
The hotel itself is well kept generally. We went in Holy week and the beaches were packed with locals. There isn't allot of activities and the food is average at best.It is a 2.5 star hotel at best. Had a great time though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is great.
The weak points
The beach is very busy in front of the hotel because it is one of the closest to the road.
Certified

San Marino

, Duncan, BC
2013-03-29
We have stayed at this hotel about 6 times. But this time was the worst. It was a Mexican holiday, I think. It was catered to Mexicans. The food has never been very good but this year it was made for Mexicans. So we had to go out to eat. It was very noisy at night. So many children and they were up as late as there parents. There was about 4 night out of 14 that it was quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, clean
The weak points
Noisy, food,
Certified

San Marino

, Hamilton, ON
2013-03-10
Hotel is in a good location clean and most staff are excellent and outgoing. Rooms could use a good update beds are hard and not suitable for non mexicans [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GOOD LOCATION NICE VIEW DOOR AND REEPTION STAFF EXCELLENT ALSO WAITERS
The weak points
CHIEF PREPARED DIFFERENT MEALS (SLOP)ALL THE SAME POOR FLAVOURLESS AND MUSHY GOOD FOR PEOPLE WITHOUT TEETH OR TASTEBUDS. OMLETE LADY CLIPS NAILS AT BREAKFAST GRILL (YUM)
Certified

Awesome "home base"

, Edmonton, AB
2013-02-28
I prefer to be out-and-about seeing and doing things, and experiencing the culture of the places I visit. San Marino is perfect for this because it's right in old town PV, which is why I chose it. All of the reviews I read ahead of time talked about pretty dismal food, and I have to say I agree with that.
I loved my stay and will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1) Location in old town - fantastic 2) Easy access to transit, amenities 3) Great access to beach 4) Fantastic view of the cool new pier
The weak points
The food is bland, unimaginative, and often cold.
Certified

San Marino experience

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-26
I'm a regular visitor - hotel is making some effort at upgrades and with new chef there is some improvement in the food but they really need to figure out how to get it hotter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location excellent in the heart of the old town
The weak points
Beds are hard and uncomfortable and the food is lukewarm
Certified

Good experience at the San Marino

, Ottawa, ON
2013-02-25
I enjoyed my experience at the San Marino. Excellent value for money. Great location. Staff are very helpful and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Super friendly staff. I liked the adult only pool at the front of the hotel. Gay friendly.
The weak points
Beds are rock hard.
Certified

FUN TIMES AT SAN MARINO, PV

, Bradford, ON
2013-02-25
Hotel was very central to all our needs. The employees went out of their way to satisfy any requirements. The food menu could use a little more experienced cooks. example....bacon was like eating cardboard. The cost of booze in Mexico is so cheap, why not supply the bar with better alcohol? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Central to all events, restaurants and beaches.
The weak points
Food could improve. Should have more choices of booze selection.
Certified

Ola!! Mexican Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-17
Had a fabulous time. FABULOUS location to everything. A gem in the heart of Mexico. LUV the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was absolutely wonderful. The cleanliness of the hotel was very good!! Whatever you needed, the staff were quick and efficient. The location of the hotel is fabulous!! A true Mexican charm.
The weak points
The rooms need to be updated. The food I would rate a 6/7 out of 10. It was good. But not a 4 star restaurant. Wait staff amazing!!
Certified

San Marino

, Olds, AB
2013-01-07
This hotel was located in the heart of old town puerto Vallarta, I recommend it to anyone wanting to explore, have fun and be where the action is. The food left some to be desired but that is alright, I didn't go there for the food! Friendly staff, great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff
The weak points
Food, wifi access, very crowded beach
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020