Tropicana

3.603.603.603.603.60
Tropicana
#14 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
3.60 based on 98 reviews
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Please change name... I am Gerrie Wright

, Selkirk, MB
2020-02-10
Very clean , great pleasant helpful people.
Modern facilities. Easy from taxi to room to bar to restaurant to beach for wheelchairs, walkers.
wi fi in lobby, a few English tv channels. Long beach to walk and vendors not too aggressive.
Restaurants and bars close by on Malacon.
No mosquitoes or sandflies to mention. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Fair distance from airport but also accessible via bus. Nice beach to walk but can have heavy waves near this hotel
Certified

Great Hotel in Great Location

, Courtenay, BC
2020-01-17
Older hotel in Old town of Puerto Valarta which was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. Staff very friendly and helpful, our room overlooking ocean was a dream as we fell asleep every night listening to the waves! Beach was good, no problem getting lounge and palapa, pool almost always to ourselves. The food and drink we had was good. Location was wonderful, easy to walk around, lots of restaurants very close, and easy to walk to Old Town and the Malecon. Will defiantly stay again, liked it much better than a mega resort in Hotel Zone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, View, Beach, Pool
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Great View

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-11-24
Hotel was very clean. Maid service was great. Check in/out was easy. The breakfast options were kinda weak. We thought it would be a buffet or more choices. Good service though. Beach service was pretty much non existent until about the 4th day. But we were ok with that. You could go up to the bar if you wanted. Pool area very nice. One elevator was out of service off and on through out the week. Location was great. Wifi only available in public space like lobby and pool area, restaurant etc. Would like to see wifi in rooms. We requested King bed but got two tiny hard beds. That was disappointing. We are back in February for two weeks so I hop we get a King then!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff was great! Naomi and Shawn to name a few! Maid service was very good. Beach is beautiful.
The weak points
Breakfast options were weak. Wifi not available in rooms. No king bed even after we requested it. Beds were very hard.
Certified

Best Trip EVER

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-02-03
I highly recommend this hotel. The staff in the Restaurant and Bar were exceptional. My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay and will be coming back again next year. Shopping and Restaurants are walking distance and great food and prices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff went over and beyond what we expected. Friendly and always helpful.
The weak points
Checking in took way too long. Front Desk staff were not busy so it seemed odd that we had to wait for over 20 minutes to be asked if we needed help.

Okay with me

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-03-15
IT was okay for my needs, just had the breakfast plan as that's all I wanted and I did want to enjoy meals outside our hotel. It was clean and staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was close to the area that I want to be in.
The weak points
none
Certified

Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

, Whitby, ON
2015-01-21
We had a great time. However, it is an economy hotel, not a luxury experience. Buffet breakfasts get a little tedious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Central location, close to all the downtown restaurants, bars, and shops
The weak points
bathroom could do with upgrade
Certified

Good location

, Regina, SK
2014-02-28
The Tropicana is a 2.5 star hotel, and as long as you set your expectations accordingly, you should be satisfied.

The hotel is clean and in good repair, although the room furnishings are a bit worn, and the bathroom could use some maintenance (slow draining shower, leaking faucet). Beds are quite firm, but that does not particularly bother us.

All service personnel (front desk, cleaning, bellboys, etc) were efficient and pleasant. You do have to check out a number of items separately (TV remote, AC remote, safe key, beach towels), but it is a minor hassle. There appears to be only one key available for most rooms, which can be a bit of an inconvenience for two people sharing a room. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby.

Although not an all-inclusive resort, the Tropicana does require all guests to wear bracelets, and does not allow any non-guests into the hotel or to the rooms, which can be irritating if you have friends staying in other hotels (can't meet for dinner in the lobby, etc.).

The location is excellent, as the Tropicana is right on the beach, just down from the Blue Chairs resort, and is also just a few short blocks walk to all the restaurants and nightlife you'll need. The hotel, and entire area is very gay friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
It's a 2.5 star hotel, with all that implies - acceptable, but not great.
Certified

PV February 2014

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-02-11
Two star and a half. I would remove the half and just say it's a two star hotel, period. The only good thing Tropicana Hotel has going for itself is the location.

I read many reviews and feel that many are "paid for feedback" postings. This was my second stay at this hotel. The beds are almost as hard as the floor. First time I went, I had an economy room. This time I paid for a superior room expecting a more comfortable bed. Superior room doesn't mean you get a more comfortable bed, just a slightly "nicer" room. We changed room, same beds. We were able to get a foam from the front desk, and it helped marginally.

The wireless is an absolute joke. I'm in Information Technology and know for a fact that if they just replaced their very antiquated wireless router with a newer one, it would make a huge difference. It's ok to not have wireless in every room, I'm fine with that. But it should be working well at its designated location.

Breakfast buffet is kind of a joke, it's better to go anywhere else for a better meal for the same price as Tropicana's breakfast plan.

Other then the location... they have a nice pool and seating area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, that's the only strong point.
The weak points
Everything else beside location. Beds, wireless, service, etc...
Certified

Tropicana

, St Thomas, ON
2014-01-29
I found it a great experience. The staff were friendly, location awesome, rooms clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, ocean front price
The weak points
none
Certified

Fantastic as always

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-24
Best location right downtown, walking distance to all the best shops and restaurants. On the beach, ocean views from all rooms (except economy). Very competitive prices on cocktails and food in the restaurant. Friendly staff, clean rooms and hotel grounds. Updated rooms (except bathrooms, but they are clean). What more can you ask for? There is no all inclusive here and that is why it is the best. So many fantastic (and cheap) restaurants just a short walk away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
bathroom
Certified

Bel Hôtel Proche de Tout!

, Ottawa, ON
2014-01-19
Nous avons adoré notre séjour à cet hôtel. Très propre, le personnel est courtois et respectueux. Facile d'accès à la plage et du centre-ville (Zone Romantique) pour restaurants, magasinage et à proximité de la plage gaie. Belles piscines avec personnel avenant. Considérant tous ces facteurs, on considère d'y reséjourner lors de notre prochaine visite à PV. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facile d'accès à pieds à une variété de restaurants, centre-ville, magasins, dépanneurs, etc.
The weak points
Wi-Fi seulement disponible dans la zone de la réception et restaurant. Les chambres ne contiennent pas d'extra tels des mouchoirs, verres à vin, cafétière, etc.
Certified

PV Hotels

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-12
Absolutely great hotel -- in particular front desk and chamber staff super friendly and helpful. Water pressure and hot water could be better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location
The weak points
water pressure of shower,
Certified

Puerto Vallarta April 2013

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-30
The hotel is situated in the old town. It's right on the beach and with easy access to the "boardwalk" where most of the old town tourist activity takes place. Be prepared to be pestered by street hawkers.
The room was unromantic, didn't have air conditioning and no bath or hair dryer but was clean and well prepared. The ceiling fan however gave some comfort. It was a room without a view but that was expected for the price. Be prepared to be woken up by banging doors form other rooms as the doors have no restraints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Character
The weak points
Reception area is shabby and outdated
Certified

Tropicana Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-10
The cleanest 2.5 star hotel ever. Friendly and helpful staff, great location, they have added a second pool, beach is very nice and the grounds are well maintained. The restaurant is fine for simple meals. Pool-side service is good and the price is right. Great view of the bay and fantastic sunsets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A great location and very clean, nothing fancy but great value for people who are on a budget.
The weak points
The water pressure in our room on the 8th floor was poor but everything else was great.
Certified

Tropicana

, Saskatoon, SK
2013-03-22
Hotel is in walking distance to everything.The price is right.The internet in the lobby is a bit unpredictable and can be frustrating."you get what you pay for"Tropicana is on Puerto Vallarta's gay beach.No for family with childs, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
wi-fi
Certified

Not Bad!

, Montreal, QC
2013-03-20
The hotel itself is nice, the rooms standard but very clean, the staff very accomodating and pleasant. The included breakfast, however, left a whole lot to be desired! Hotel location and beachfront are excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice, 2 pools, great staff, great beach.
The weak points
bathroom, restaurant, wi-fi
Certified

Wonderful hotel in PV,

, Victoria, Br
2013-02-24
We were happy with the size and cleanliness of the room. We had a large room on the 3rd floor overlookng the pool and ocean. We had just the breakfast option which was just OK. We were glad we did not do the breakfast and dinner. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You are just steps away from the Malacon and all the restaurants bars and stores. A great place to walk to everything. The staff were friendly and efficient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location and a good price for a hotel on the beach
The weak points
Breakfast is okay. No tub but good shower.
Certified

Lovely experience

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-07
Overall we were pleased with our stay.

Did not get off to the best start as we had paid for a renovated room with an Ocean view and they tried to place us in the back in a nasty unrenovated room... bellman gave us a hard time trying to get us to stay which we refused... once remedied at the front desk we had a lovely room with a beautiful Ocean view.

Breakfast was ok...

Service overall was good... though watch your change at the bar... every effort was made to keep change as tip.

Beautiful pools !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful view from room, very clean, friendly staff, lovely pools
The weak points
Not giving us a renovated room right away (though we had paid for it)and trying to get us to stay in an older room with no view. Was rectified but only after I forced the issue.
Certified

Tropicana PV

, Ladysmith, BC
2013-01-29
Close to lots of shopping and good cofee [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, a throw back to the 60's in a nice way
The weak points
No internet service
Certified

Business as usual

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-16
This is my third time at the Tropicana and it remains my first choice in PV even though the prices are probably a little high for what you are getting. The hotel is always clean and well staffed. The pools are great the proximity to restaurants is definitely a plus. My only issues with this trip were that the economy room I booked didn't have a desk or chair. (It also didn't have A/C, but I never use it in PV.) The toilet backed up daily and exploded once. And, As always, the wi-fi situation is a pain; you have to go to the front desk level of the hotel to use it and it is never fast and rarely reliable. You end up paying considerably more to be on or near the beach in PV hotels. The Tropicana maximizes on its location but delivers only adequately in other areas. For most travellers who want maximum beach time and little in-room time, it will be enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff is ever-present. The grounds are immaculate and the pools are great.
The weak points
Plumbing, wi-fi. The economy room I had was large but had no desk or chair, nor A/C.
Certified

Vacationing at tropicana in january

, Wilcox, SK
2013-01-15
I found overall it was a good hotel would stay there again my kids enjoyed it i had good rooms service and internet most reasonably priced i would give it as an overall evaluation a 3 and a half to four... location to everything was awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach; pools and location
The weak points
internet for some because with a computer or laptop you had to come down to lobby and staff not talking enough english to help you with questions...
Certified

Better than expected

, Edmonton, AB
2013-01-14
Excellent location to be in for those who love to wander about-so many restaurants, boutiques, markets within walking distance. Also, for those times you need a bus to go further, bus stop was within easy walking distance. Take good shoes, cobblestone streets, and very-raised sidewalks (sometimes a few feet above cars) means you need to have sure footing and pay attention to every step you take. Saw many people with crutches, bandages, braces, etc. due to falls in the street. I had excellent sport sandals and walked as much and whenever possible.

We took the economy room and although would have loved an ocean view, I soon took great interest in watching the carpenters below my window (back of the hotel) as they built and finished various pieces of wood furniture for the hotel. Wow!! The shower had hot water within seconds of turning on the tap. This was a first for me after staying in other Mexican resorts where you sometimes have to wait several minutes or get used to showering in cool water. We had a couple of noisy nights where partiers took great joy at coming home from the bars and screaming in the hallways at 4 am. The hallways are echo chambers and after the fact, we were told to simply pick up our phone, call 0 and security would have been down to intervene in a minute. Next time! Or stay on higher floors in the hotel, we were on the second floor but were staying over the Christmas break and the hotel was fully booked.

Internet cafes are difficult to find in this area, it seems as though everyone is going WIFI. We took the breakfast plan as I love the convenience of not having to look for that first cup of coffee in the morning. We took thermal cups from home and our waiter would fill them for us and we would wander out to the beach to watch the cruise ships come in, and basically watch the beach come to life before going for breakfast. We really enjoyed the breakfasts (always scrambled eggs-sometimes with salsa, sometimes plain, a selection of other hot vegetables and meat, excellent frijoles, sometimes pancakes, sometimes french toast, sometimes rolled pancakes with filling of strawberry jam and topped with whipped cream. Fresh squeezed orange juice and delicious yogurt every day as well as dry cereals. Wish there had been more of a fruit selection (only cantaloupe, papaya and watermelon) with occasional pineapple and bananas. However, we were told that Dec-Jan is not the season for mangoes and even the ones purchased on the beach were from Ecuador (and not very tasty). A small bar fridge in each room would be a most welcome upgrade to this hotel. I realize hotels don't like guests preparing their own drinks and food, but let's face it, we all desire variety. We purchased a styrofoam cooler because we like cooler water and occasionally made ourselves a sandwich for the beach.

We found the staff very friendly and able to speak quite good English, especially at the front desk. We treated everyone politely and they always seemed shocked that we would smile and greet them whenever we passed. The grounds are beautiful, meticulously landscaped and cared for. Yes, this is an older hotel and shows its age in some of the outdoor patio areas (in need of some fresh paint), but my overall impression was very good.

I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend to anyone who likes to be in the heart of the action and likes to stay in a Mexican style resort in Mexico. Fancy hotels with lots of glass, mirrors and high prices do not impress me. I will never stay at an all inclusive resort. I prefer hotels that have character and allow me to know I am in Mexico not resort that could be anywhere in the world. I met many people who have been returning to this resort for years, and Hotel Tropicana truly felt like my quaint Mexican home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
value for your money, excellent location for those who desire to be in the heart of the Romantic Zone
The weak points
no loungers for the beach, only canvas chairs, if you have back problems and need to recline, no option but to sit at pool where there are loungers would have loved one news station on the TV so we could occasionally catch up with news of the world
Certified

Puerto Vallarta - Tropicana

, Limoges, ON
2013-01-09
Hotel is good. Dond't expect a 5 star when you stay here. It is very clean and staff is amazing. It is centrally located. Use the non-meal options. Better to eat at local restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness, price
The weak points
internet access
Certified

New Year

, Vancouver, BC
2013-01-06
Very friendly staff, great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, small hotel, great staff
The weak points
only one restaurant and one bar on site
Certified

Tropicana, best for the money

, Burnaby, BC
2012-12-17
We were very pleased with the hotel, it was a picture perfect rustic old Mexican Villa style hotel. It was close to all necessary amenities and the level of cleanliness for Mexico was exceptional. The staff were all cheery and pleasant. I have personally been to Mexico over 20 times and sometimes staff will act as if they are to busy to care what you need, definitely not hurry about it, not so at the Tropicana. I am now spoiled and will only return to the Tropicana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
old TV's
Certified

Good value and location

, Toronto, ON
2012-12-16
Great location on the beach, and they also have a nice pool area. On the down side, there are no wireless connections in the rooms, so for access you're limited to a small area in the lobby - very inconvenient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and value
The weak points
Limited wireless access
Certified

Great place to stay

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-12-14
We love this hotel, we come back yearly! The staff are wonderful, helpful, always pleasant. the rooms are nice we get a beach view, the pools are clean and easy access. the food is good, we always recommend it to our friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, service, good English
The weak points
Many floor levels,
Certified

Wonderful hotel will stay here again

, Cornwall, ON
2012-08-29
The location for us was perfect this was the third hotel in PV that we have stayed at and was by far the best.The food in the hotel was not the best but there are so many nice places to eat it didn't matter. Will stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
well maintained, very clean, very nice and helpful staff, excellent location.
The weak points
food not the best
Certified

Skip the breakfast

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-23
Nice break after Easter. Excellent restaurant across the street, 49peso breakfast, same as the package price. There is no buffet in shoulder season, so what's included on the menus is VERY limited. Stayed here for nine years now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
value for money
The weak points
breakfast - as always.
Certified

Tropicana

, Burnaby, BC
2012-04-03
We love this hotel. We have stayed there many times. It is our all time favorite place in PV. The staff are great from the bellmen to the front desk to the maid service. The new pool is wonderful. There are many more posh places to stay but none of them match the location and atmosphere of the tropicana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location staff
The weak points
no refridgerators and internet is iffy
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?