Friendly Vallarta

Friendly Vallarta
3.893.893.893.893.89
3.89 based on 304 reviews
#7 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (89)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Friendly staff

, New Westminster, BC
2020-02-17
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was satisfactory and many restaurants to choose from. The coffee bar and ice cream bar was very nice to have at our fingertips. Our room was a little disappointing. The shower leaked and so did the walls when it rained. The air conditioning made everything feel damp all the time. If the room was better I would definitely stay here again. More of an old timers resort but plenty of activities to do daily [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Friendly vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-22
This is the 3rd time I stayed at this hotel and I'm very pleased every year I stayed their I requested a room change and 2 days later I had one I highly recommend this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service the cleanliness the friendliness of the staff
The weak points
Crowding at the pool not enough beach and pool chairs

Friendly vallarta

, Milton, ON
2019-02-27
very relaxing and enjoyable holiday [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet food was excellent; bar service very good with lots of variety; staff extremely friendly and helpful; room spotless
The weak points
limited English spoken by staff
Certified

Great resort

, Comox, BC
2018-11-15
Fantastic experience. Very friendly and helpful staff. Always someone available to help! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointed

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-12
This is our eight year at the Friendly our home away from home and we were so disappointed with the Spring Breakers. They were spitting in the pools,spilling their drinks in the pools, using fowl language and took over the whole new hot tub all day long. It was noisy and not relaxing at all. Otherwise the food, rooms and service were awesome as usual. Sure hope this does not happen every year in March or will have to stop coming unfortunately. Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Food, Great Service, Very Clean, Excellent Staff
The weak points
Spring Breakers, trying to book Freida and pool party very hard, not enough cooking on the beach like before. Miss the piealla, sea food stir fry, donuts
Certified

Friendly Vallarta resort

, Surrey, BC
2018-03-10
My experience was great! The staff are wonderful, hard-working and very friendly! They make an extra effort to ensure visitors have an enjoyable vacation. The whole resort is kept extremely clean and comfortable. I would and have recommended this resort to everyone I know. There were a few staff members who went above and beyond and I plan on returning as soon as possible! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, courteous people. A safe and comfortable environment with lots of activities to enjoy!
The weak points
Can't think of any weak points at all.

Great time of relaxation

, Prince George , BC
2017-12-11
My wife and I really enjoyed our time. We did as little or as much as we felt like on any given day. The entire staff was friendly and welcoming. We would and have already, recommended this Hotel to friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
lots of staff, variety of restaurants, great beach, clean - no time share people!
The weak points
only double bed, bigger bed - at least a queen would have been expected.
Certified

Friendly vallarta

, Greenfield Park, QC
2017-03-17
Wonderful , very pleasant, clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, plenty of places to eat without line ups, the pools and jacuzzi were awesome
The weak points
Wi fi in my room very poor
Certified

Vacation time

, Aldergrove, BC
2017-03-08
Very cute, clean hotel with excellent staff. The only frustrating part was not being able to ever get a chair or lounger near the pool. Signs in one location stated NO SAVING, another sign said first come first served. There are a lot of places to sit, if you get to them by 6:00 in the morning. Good food, and activities for all ages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Wi-Fi, staff and very clean.
The weak points
Too much allowing of saved loungers and chairs at the pool. No place to put a towel while swimming or to just sit and read a book.
Certified

Fun at Friendly

, Richmond, BC
2017-02-16
Great staff..food was ok..older hotel but with some good renos including new pool and washrooms Would recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff and location
The weak points
Some rooms are dated and poor wifi in the rooms
Certified

PV Vacation

, Clarkston, MI
2016-11-28
Friendly - Great Staff. On the last 2 days they started some construction which was disappointing as it took at least 5 palm trees out that created some nice shade at the beach. Not sure what they were doing but I think the money should have been going into the rooms and not the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service
The weak points
Rooms could use a update
Certified

Very Friendly...but

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2016-03-23
The staff at this resort live up to the name but I'm not sure if that carries it pass a 5 out of 10 rating. The food was marginal. An attempt at American fare with pasta, lots of meat, pizza and limited salad bar. What was missing was MEXICAN FOOD! There was a language barrier to some degree with employees from the front desk to the ones in the eating facilities. The rooms were adequate. Clean but very old and very much showing wear. The plumbing fixtures were from the 60's and water ran everywhere. The tub was held together with duct tape and silicon! I
would have a hard time recommending it to anyone as I feel one could get a much better resort for the same or a little bit more cost. Puerto Vallarta is not the cleanest town on the west coast as well and although the weather was very nice I will look elsewhere for my next vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
food and amenities
Certified

Great staff

, Porters Lake, NS
2016-03-19
The staff are ready and willing to help with anything.Hotel is clean and modern but the rooms are older style . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are amazing
The weak points
Food was always cold except for the fresh grill
Certified

FANTASTIC RESORT!!!

, St. Albert, AB
2016-03-14
Second stay at this marvellous resort!Wonderful staff, food, refreshments, and nightly entertainment, especially the Mariachi Band every Monday evening in the newly renovated lobby! Lovely pools, beach, with service on beach, from lounge chair setup to drinks and food! 5 star! Koodos to Pakko and entertainment staff! Our room had an awesome view of ocean and PV! Love, love this resort! Surprise cookouts on the beach (seafood, barbeque meats etc.) and Beach Party Fiesta style one night that was unbelieveable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, drinks, entertainment, beach, pools, room was great, squeaky clean,
The weak points
Can't think of one!
Certified

Great All Inclusive hotel

, White Rock, BC
2016-03-09
Was there in Feb 2016 really appreciated the non smoking lobby/bar pools rooms restraunts staff were delightful & helpful especially the event staff & front desk staff enjoyed adult hot tubs & pools was there for 2 weeks enjoyed all events at hotel will definitely go back next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the non smoking lobby rooms & restraunts adult pools helpfull staff
The weak points
Very noisy air conditioners in rooms & they don't have ginger ale at bars if u r a whiskey drinker
Certified

Good staff, good food, good location!

, Victoria, Br
2016-03-08
My stay was excellent. Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent food, my room was clean, I ran into lots of Canadaians and very few Americans (bonus!) Easy fast direct flight from Victoria, Good service from Transat rep at the hotel. Danced all night at a beach party. Good times! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, staff, food, cleanliness
The weak points
pools were too warm!
Certified

Take extra Imodium

, Kelowna, BC
2016-03-04
when I went the furniture was tired and very dirty in the lobby. Now the furniture has been changed but I worry the same lack of cleanliness will continue. The beds are brand new and many room upgrades. Food was good (Seafood bisque) but they washed our dishes out back in a bucket of water at the bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
perfect location
The weak points
old property in need of tear down and rebuild
Pro

Friendly is Super Friendly

, Salmon Arm, BC
2016-02-03
This was our 2nd vacation at this resort and it continues to improve and impress.
We traveled with another couple and had an excellent time. We kayaked, played water volleyball, the simple games located on the beach. Our friends did yoga and bracelet classes. Never did we not have something to do. The rooms where perfect for our needs. The new soft mattresses were a pleasure for comfort over last year. The food was amazing. Special requests are promptly made no worries. All smiles from all the staff always and everywhere.
This resort is becoming more popular year after year because it has 5 star service at 4 star price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The variety of food along with nightly entertainment.
The weak points
No weak points.
Certified

Great place to stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-08-02
The hotel is not new, and the rooms could use some small details for repairs, but for me it suited the need to sleep, bath and store my things very well. All of the staff lived up to the name, Friendly. Everyone attended to my needs and requests with great enthusiasm. I was treated very well all of the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were super friendly and talkative, in English and Spanish.
The weak points
slow internet sometimes
Certified

Another great stay!

, Edmonton, Al
2015-03-30
As always we had 2 great weeks at the Friendly Vallarta. The staff are so great and always soooo happy. The food, service, rooms and staff are all great. We have stayed many times and will absolutely be coming back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All is good.
The weak points
None that we noticed.
Certified

Great two weeks!

, Winnipwg, MB
2015-03-06
The staff was outstanding. Service excellent, particularly the food staff and recreational staff. Kerrie is wonderful!! Either there should be more NON smoking areas or the no smoking areas need to be enforced. The lobby is a smoke pit in the evening. The March 3 beach band was AMAZING. you're doing it right by having more than one eating establishment open when there are shows on. Other than the smoke problem, everything was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff. Good eating options in a variety of locations within the hotel property. Excellent entertainment. Great location. Good for beach walks and public transport.
The weak points
Too many smokers and not enough areas for non-smokers that are not invaded by indifferent smokers.
Certified

Holiday 2015

2015-02-20
This was our third visit to this hotel.we were not disappointed with our accomodations. Food is good in all restaurants,
The staff is very friedly and very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As name indicates staff is very friendly
The weak points
They need to upgrade the bathroom.
Certified

Christmas at the Friendly!

, Edmonton, AB
2015-01-02
I love this hotel and have stay here three times before and will be back again. Staff are great, food is good and entertainment over the holidays was very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is located in one of the best spots in the hotel zone with decent beaches and a spectacular view of the Bay of Banderas. Staff is friendly, food is good.
The weak points
Bathroom shower leaked while using bath.
Certified

Boom Boom Vallarta

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-11-27
This was our third and Final stay here. No facilities for disco so they now set up amps and speakers on sand and blast away at hotel until 11:45 pm, close to 50% of time we were there. Beds hard as a rock (ask anyone who's been there recently). Hey, if you're 25 - 50, give it a try. Maybe we're too old and want to get a good night's rest! Food's OK, service is friendly and the beach area is vast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great beach, food OK
The weak points
Noisy, rock hard beds, bathroom looks reconstructed from cast-asides
Certified

Better than expected

, Brandon, MB
2014-03-31
The "Friendly" was just that!!Great service, older resort but very clean.
View was exceptional, dolphins in view every morning and even a whales viewed from our room - no binoculars!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing in particular
The weak points
Nothing in particular
Certified

Friendly vallarta

, Redwater, AB
2014-03-28
Have been to the friendly before and we were treated like family. The staff is excellent and we will continue to return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service was very good to excellent
The weak points
Mattress was hard
Certified

Friendly Vallarta

, Prince George , BC
2014-03-04
The name of this resort is very appropriately named! The staff at all levels were friendly way beyond what one expects at a resort. The service and cleanliness was over the top! I will recommend this resort to anyone that is considering a Mexican vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall friendliness and cleanliness.
The weak points
No ice machines on any of the floors. Ice was only available at the bars.
Certified

3 star at best

, Cobble Hill, BC
2014-02-12
We chose this resort based on the positive reviews. I don't agree. It is an old resort that was refurbished at one time but is overdue for another one. The rooms are basic but clean and the beds reasonably comfortable.
The service is friendly and helpful and concerns, such as our dysfunctional air conditioner, quickly addressed.
The beach is nice, if small. I was not expecting beachside drink service so that was nice to have.
The food is average and the selection at the buffett is limited. The "Gourmet" restaurant is gourmet in name only. Did not like the Sunset Grill. The two times there was a BBQ/buffett on the beach was the only time there was a wider selection of good food.The food handling and cleanliness practices by the servers questionable. Tables are wiped down with a damp cloth and the cutlery plunked down on a bare table.The wine is truly awful.
They allow smoking in the lobby, hallways, family pool area and rooms.
People seem to love this place, we did not and will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are friendly and helpful but I have found that to be the case at any resort I have been to in Mexico. The rooms and common areas are kept clean. Rooms are basic but reasonably large and comfortable.
The weak points
It is an old resort that has been re-furbished but is overdue for another one. Food is average, selection at buffett limited by its size.
Certified

Would not stay again

, Chilliwack, BC
2014-02-08
The only thing good that I have to say about this hotel was the staff. They worked very hard and were so friendly. The food was far below what I would expect at a hotel with a 4.5 rating. It didn't seem to change much from one meal to the next. By the end of our stay we were eating in town. We had water bottles in the room when we arrived and when I asked for more to be brought up was told that you have to fill your own at the water cooler. Would have been nice to know before I through away the empties. The room was below par, the toilet backed up, the air conditioner did not work very well, we were moved to a much nicer room after complaining but the air conditioner in that room was loud and the patio door was cracked so you had to be very careful when closing it. The elevators where broken so the service elevator was being used, I asked how long they had been out of service and was told about 1 month or so. It seemed to me that corners were cut everywhere to save the hotel money not quite what I expected for the price that they charge
Overall the beach was nice, the staff was friendly but I would not recommend this hotel at all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff they were very helpful
The weak points
The food
Certified

A good stay...

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-29
The Friendly Vallarta lived up to it's name, with very good service and a pleasant atmosphere, however I have to rate the hotel as low on sleep comfort as the beds are very hard, the pillows uncomfortable and the linens very thin and scratchy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, positive staff, always someone available to help and show genuine concern over any issues you may have. Food and drink are good, and the location is excellent.
The weak points
Very uncomfortable bed and inadequate linens. Some very noisy and inebriated patrons travelling in large groups.
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020