Grand Park Royal Luxury Resort Cozumel

Grand Park Royal Luxury Resort Cozumel
3.893.893.893.893.89
3.89 based on 76 reviews
#6 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cozumel
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Had a great week !

, Chatham, ON
2019-02-03
This resort was beautiful !!! The staff was incredibly helpful and spoke great English . We had a fantastic time!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and helpfulness of all staff was excellent !!!!
The weak points
A la carte restaurants were a bit disappointing as far as food . Service was very good though.
Certified

Cut backs everywhere!

, Belwood, ON
2018-02-12
They took away premium liquors, late night snacks on island cancelled and internet service was slim to none. Leave your high heels home. No night life after 11, could have adult only swim or dance party. Cat with broken hip should be put out of its misery. Quiet area for movies and reading library would be nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful landscape, great location. Did nice job for Super Bowl.
The weak points
No nightlife, cheap booze. Need to get rid of Holiday sales reps. No elevator in lobby. Nowhere to get food after 10.
Certified

2nd Time Back to GPR!!

, Bolton, HA
2018-01-22
This was our second time to Grand Park Royal Cozumel...and we were NOT disappointed. Last time we stayed there was two years ago, during the turnover period from Park Royal to Grand Park Royal (GPR). The staff is much more confident, client service and satisfaction is their focus. Cleanliness is a priority and maintained in every area o& the resort. Food is delicious and plentiful at the 3 a la carte restaurants, and snack bars. The buffet has great selection, and the theme changes each evening. The beach is small and you need water shoes as it's quite rocky...beautiful for snorkeling, though. Entertainment crew is friendly and inclusive but never forces anyone to participate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Client service, cleanliness and quality of food.
The weak points
Small beach.
Certified

Great place!

, Bolton , ON
2015-12-27
The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond our expectations. Marco and Christian in the buffet dining room, Omar one of the restaurant managers was very helpful, and drink service on the beach from Carolina and Angelica was just superb! We travelled with another family so everyone was understanding and helpful. Overall, we had a great time in Cozumel! The food was very good and had many Mexican dishes to choose from, as well as familiar North American favourites. We gave nothing negative to say, this hotel was amazing value for the money!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Spot, clean!

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-07
Welcome break for sure from savage winter. The resort offers a pleasant, clean and comfortable base for food, drink and relaxation after or during a day of island exploration. Once the time share/travel club reps are off your back, then it is a very nice little all inclusive resort. I wished there was live music entertainment. The sports bar was open until 2 A.M., but who wants to just watch TV and drink on a tropical holiday? Yep, staff always cleaning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Attentive, friendly staff all depts.
The weak points
Quiet night life , small beach size
Certified

Not bad for the price

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
Returned Jan 25, 2014, most of the reviews are correct, but did not get bugged once from the time share department, not much for beach, it's not white sandy beaches to walk on, lots of coral, bring water shoes if you plan to go in the water here, have to go early to get a chair at the beach, cruise ships obstruct the view of the south side of the water 6 days a week, no ships on sundays, there are 2 restaurants, one is the main buffet which is basically mexican, the sign changes daily, but still mostly mexican, I am picky but found something to eat, the other place to eat is split in 2, half italian and go figure half mexican, lol, you can only book from 12-3 pm, it's a sit down and wait for each course, for the most part most waiters were very good and willing to serve and help, resort in nice, rooms clean, not much for activities, you could hear the party that goes on at the bar by the lobby, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean nice resort not far from airport and town
The weak points
$2 a day for the safe Internet you have to pay but can find just up the street for free $5 a day if you want to use the gym Variety of food lack of beach
Certified

Great value at a beautiful location

, Timmins, ON
2013-03-14
The online pictures are very accurate of this hotel and grounds. The staff keep the property immaculate! We were very impressed with cleanliness and very appreciative of the quality of the food, while somewhat limited in variety. That said, here is a valuable tip if you are a bacon lover - it is not found in the breakfast buffet but it is available. It took us 4 days to discover that the bacon is hidden under the counter and that if you ask a server, you will be provided with a few pieces on a plate - interesting way to deal with those who feast on bacon at A.I. hotels! Food at both restaurants was quite good but we enjoyed the choices in the buffet the majority of time. Snacks at both beach and pool bars were a nice option instead of going inside for lunch.
We were irritated by a few inconveniences that we have taken for granted at other hotels e.g. a fee to use the in-room safe $2. a day and weak internet (not free), in addition a $5. charge for access to the gym. One other negative comment relates to the uneven surfaces of all walkways throughout the grounds making it challenging for anyone with mobility issues or parents using strollers. The rooms were very nicely appointed, 4th floor = a peek-a-boo view of the ocean while 5th and higher provides a clear view. Rooms below the 4th are looking a beautiful gardens and the main pool. As others have mentioned, no coffee maker, fridge or clock/alarm in the room, but very nicely appointed otherwise (if the patio door is open a tiny bit, the airconditioner kicks off). The temperature/ocean breeze would allow you to leave the patio door open all night but the yelling from the intoxicated guests spoilt that! The pools were gorgeous but freezing, such a shame. We spent the majority of the time in the ocean which was much warmer and scenic with loads of tropical fish.
Unfortunatley, like most hotels, guests continue to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve their lounge chair on the beach - the majority of chairs were not being used, just saved most of the time. A Nobel Peace prize for whoever comes up with a solution for this nasty habit!
Very good overall for a reasonable price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and rooms, very good quality food and pleasant staff.
The weak points
Time share people in the lobby. No coffee maker in the room and additional charges for some conveniences.
Certified

Jan 23 2013 - Feb 06 2013

, London, ON
2013-02-09
Good trip, Weather was Good. Had 2 cloudy days. Lots of variety in food and drink. Rented 6 speed jeeps and toured the island, stop at Cocounts Restraunt. Cab from hotel to Cozumel $7 USD. Be careful of what the vendors are using for a currency conversion rate. Ferry to Play del Carman is $40 return, only book one way at a time as there are two taxi opertors with seperate time tables. Water at hotel is completely safe. Warning Ladies...do not take any high heels/stiletos because of the uneven walkways. In Mexican Restraunt best dished Cocount Grouper and Beef Skirt. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food, service, clean, close to shopping. Good snorkeling off beach
The weak points
Small Beach, Walkways very uneven, interior of hotel all marble so slippery if wet. Too many children
Certified

Great times by all.

, Brantford, ON
2013-02-09
The Park Royal is great. Friendly staff and very clean facility. Food is very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness,staff, access to shopping, location to airport, snorkelling.
The weak points
Small beach, uneven walkways meant to replicate Myan past.
Certified

We loved the Park Royal.

, Vancouver, BC
2013-01-12
An excellent all-inclusive. Great location, grounds, restaurants and staff. We would definitely return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location, layout, service and food. We were surprised at the number of staff working to keep all aspect of the Hotel running perfectly
The weak points
Internet access and room safe were not included in the price, and were charged extra.
Certified

Great Trip

, Berrier, ON
2012-04-30
We had very nice trip, the hotel is very clean, I would not suggest any one with a phyical problems as there many stairs. The resort is 5km to town, to walk cost of cab is 80pesos or 7.00 us.We felt very safe walking in town. We will return here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, the many things that you can do,from walk or taking a tour or just relaxing.
The weak points
THE buffet food need to be hotter as diner was cold or luke warm.
Certified

A week in paradise !

, Hamilton, ON
2012-04-13
I throughly enjoyed my week at the Park Royal. The staff are very friendy, the pools are great and the weather was awesome. Fantastic snorkelling right put front of the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, great snorkelling in front of hotel, great staff who would go out of the way to please you !
The weak points
More options for the ala carte restaurants - same menu all week
Certified

Our great vacation

, North Bay, ON
2012-03-27
The hotel &staff were 5star,the beds not so good,also were promised king bed &beach view didn't get it,but we won't let that ruin our vacation,Cozumel is a great spot would go back in a minute. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was very clean & great food,great staff good coffee
The weak points
The beds were very hard &uncomfortable, we were promised king &beachview,didn't receive ether, other people had same complaint.No ice cream
Certified

Park Royal 9-16 Mar 2012

, Barrie, ON
2012-03-18
Resort was an excellent choice, clean, food was great, location was good, felt save at all the time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
really nice resort, location great food excellent
The weak points
Extra Cost for Gym
Certified

Can't wait to return!

, Eganville, ON
2012-03-02
From our arrival to our departure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The premises are extremely clean and tidy, the staff is hard working and friendly.
The buffet was fantastic. Always a huge variety of food, something to please everyone. Beach is a snorkellers dream! Loved the "massage" pools and infinity pools with wet bars. The drinks were tasty and not watered down. Great location with a quick taxi ride downtown or a short walk to local stores, restaurants or bars. We will definitely be going back to this resort next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean is an understatement! Staff is extremely courteous, hard working & friendly. Food selection in buffet and italian a la carte were out of this world! Thanks for making this one of our best warm vacations! Can't wait to go next year!
The weak points
My only suggestions are: bring a travel alarm clock as there are no clocks in the rooms and the hotel could add more loungers to the beach and pool/deck areas. Although we never had any problem finding a spot to relax and soak up the sun.
Certified

Great Hotel

, Keewatin, MB
2012-03-02
We really enjoyed our time at the park royal and thought it was very good value for our money. The whole facility is kept immaculate and all the staff are wonderful. The food was OK at the buffet (we were there 2 weeks and I think 2 weeks of any buffet would be tiresome). The a la cartes are both excellent. The mixed drinks are also excellent at this hotel and contain noticable amounts of alchohol (unlike other all inclusives we've been to). The grounds are beautiful and the beach is small but nice. The thing that pleased us most was the excellent snorkling right from shore. The thing that disappointed us the most was the expensive wifi but there are many places off the property that offer free wifi so not a big inconvenience. All in all a great vacation and we hope to return soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ground maintenance and cleanliness, location (in town but not right uptown), snorkling
The weak points
wifi expense, buffet
Certified

Nice clean place

, Kitchener, ON
2012-02-25
everything was clean and well kept,food was good, pools and beach really nice.It took about 1 hr. to walk downtown but was a nice walk.San Miguel was nice to walk around in. took cab back to Park Royal and paid $10. with tip well worth it after walking to town and then around for a couple of hours.It was nice to watch the ships come and go (there were 4 a day) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean resort,the resort was well laid out with the "road way" between the resort and beach and pools, flowers and foliage were beautiful, enjoyed all the garden areas, nice people, close to downtown (1 Hr. walk)did enjoy the resort and Island
The weak points
no beach to walk along, hard to watch a sunset as there were always ships there, would be hard to walk at resort if you had bad balance as walkways were uneven
Certified

Excellent resort

, Brantford, ON
2012-02-10
This is the cleanest resort I have ever been to.The staff is constantly sweeping and picking up garbage left by guests too lazy to clean up after themselves.The al a carte restaurants are excellent. The wait staff are friendly and attentive to ensure your dining experience is complete.I recommend the specialty in the Mexican restaurant...coconut grouper.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are excellent and can converse in english.They are very attentive to any request ie:I screwed up the safe in the room and they corrected the problem in 10 minutes and then I got a call to see if the problem was fixed.Overall an excellent resort.
The weak points
This resort should get with the times and provide free internet service for the guests and free safes in the room.A couple of perks like this would change the rating to 4 plus stars.
Certified

Fantastic Hotel~We will be back!

, St Andrew, MB
2012-01-29
Stayed 2-weeks (January 11-25th, 2012).
We've travelled 6 of the last 7 winters and have enjoyed resorts in the Dominican Republic and Mexico. The Park Royal Cozumel exceeded all of our expectations and previous all-inclusive experiences.

Firstly, I'd like to mention that this resort is very well managed and maintained. The staff is always cleaning and maintaining everything both front and back of house. There were plenty of washrooms throughout the resort they were constantly cleaned, stocked and smelling fresh. (We were very impressed with the resort's cleanliness!!)

We stayed in #2519 (5th floor) with a very nice very ocean/cruise boat view...thanks Mildred!! The beds (two doubles) were firm, but we acclimated to them quickly. The rooms were well appointed, nicely decorated and maintained. We enjoyed our balcony watching the cruise ships and sunsets! The hot water worked on 12 of the 14 days, but it wasn't a big deal.
Note: Wish the room was equipped with a mini-fridge...that would make it perfect!

The grounds are very well landscaped with numerous varieties of trees, shrubs, vines and flowers. There are many resident Iguanas that we had fun feeding and observing throughout the resort. The cobbled paths are beautiful with many shell and coral fossils found within the rocks and wind though the resort.

The underpass to the beach is well lit and has beautiful tile and plants...you do not even notice the road that separates the resort from the beach as there is a high wall at street level and the separation looks like it is part of the landscape. The beach is small...but the layout of the two infinity pools (complete with swim up bars) and bubbly cool tubs complete with various levels of decking are amazing. There are a variety of areas to sit in down by the beach, for both shade and sun lovers, and plenty of lounge chairs for everyone!! Reserving chairs was not necessary at the Park Royal.

The beach area is smaller and there really is no beach to walk on...but the snorkeling is AMAZING in the roped off swimming area! I have never seen such a variety of fish so close to my resort before...from needle-nose fish, octopus, sting-rays, eels, angel fish, puffer fish, sea urchins and tons of other fish that I don't know the names of...every colour, shape and size!! Was a new and fun experience in the water every day...take in a banana, bread or frosted flakes breakfast cereal and you will see more fish than ocean right in front of your eyes!! (if you peel the banana a bit at a time and hold it out...they will eat right from your hand) I recommend bringing your own snorkel gear...and if possible a waterproof camera.

The drinks...all of the bars had name brand liquor...their standard rum is Bacardi. The bartenders were great...a special shout out to Wilder, Luis, Oscar and Miguel! They all make a really fantastic Mojito with lots of lime and mint!! YUMMY! They had both light and dark Dos Equis on tap.

The Food: The Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner is the BEST resort buffet we have ever experienced!! The head chef is French and there is always a wide variety of foods to try. They have different theme nights and there is always something great to try...a lot of sauce and flavour varieties...not just plain basic foods. The salad selections were fantastic...both prepared and the large variety of ingredients available to make your own creation. Lots of fruit, cheeses, antipasto selections, sauces, hot/mild salsas, etc. The waiters were great...constantly cleaning away dishes and refilling drinks. A special shout out to Oscar, Fernando, William, Miguel, Manual, Omar, Alfonso, and the hostess girls!! We tried the Italian restaurant and the food was good...the service was excellent! Angel at the beach snack bar makes a fantastic burger and has a great personality...always making sure we were enjoying our stay! Nice nacho chips…pico de galo and raw veggies available at the snack bar as well.

Shopping...you don't have to go downtown. There is great shopping by the cruise ship docks where Carnival Cruises is typically docked. It is only about three blocks away from the resort and on the ocean side of the street. Walk until you see a fountain and a couple of really large parking lots full of rental cars. Walk past the fountain and it will bring you into the complex where all of the stores are located. They have stores where everything is the price on the shown on the price tag (good deals) and others where you can haggle. There is also a little kiosk shopping area approximately two blocks from the hotel on the same side of the street where we also found some great masks and got good deals as well. (at this one you can haggle for everything)

We would like to thank the entire staff for making our vacation AMAZING and one to remember!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Park Royal and would return!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super Staff and amazingly clean resort!
The weak points
Would really be great to have a fridge in the rooms!
Certified

Just plain AWESOME!!!

, Treherne, MB
2012-01-20
I have to say the strong points of this place is the beach/pool area. The staff the no hassles was exactly what we wanted. The hot tub could have had hot water but hopefully next year they will have resolved this. Food was okay, did not starve. A la carte was not worth the time, but okay.For the ones that snorkeled it was just absolutely awesome. If you go to this resort make sure to bring water shoes cause going into the ocean is hard on the feet. Planning next year already. See you all there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I have to say the strong points was the Beach/Pool area. Friendly Staff, great bartenders, no hassles from anyone.
The weak points
Water in hot tubs were cold, big downer and no captain morgan spiced rum.Food could have been better but we did not starve by any means. A la carte restaurants would not go back, smorg was the best.
Certified

Had the best Vacation!!!

, Etobicoke, ON
2011-05-02
Park Royal is a spectacular place. My review may be a bit long, but please read, if you have any doubts about staying here!! When I was looking to book this place, I saw some negative reviews and naturally felt a bit concerned about staying here, but I have to say, some people are just NEVER PLEASED!! This Resort was AMAZING!!! Ok so first off, some people said that the beds are rock hard.... there not! unless you currently sleep on a bed where it is so soft, that it curves to your back (which can not be good for your back)you will agree with me, they give a good support, but are comfy. Some people fussed about the water being cold in the hotel room.... we were in the building closest to the Kids club/theater,peacock's pen and our water got super hot very quick. we were on the third floor. (which on this floor you can still see the ocean from your room.)so don't panic if you think you will only see tree's. My sister who was in the other building (close to the lobby) she said her water was not super hot, but warm.....so maybe the people complaining of the water were in that building. Our room was unfortunately facing the construction that is happening beside the resort.. I believe they are building a plaza or something, but PLEASE, REMEMBER the resort has NO CONTROL over that, so don't make there life SOO hard on something they can't do anything about. Just view it as an alarm clock, so you can have more time to enjoy this beautiful Island, and resort. The beach, yes if you've seen pics, it's not a "walk on the beach" kind of beach, but it had the perfect amount of sand to still feel like your on a beach, and the snorkeling was amazing right off the beach, which if your coming to Cozumel, i'm sure it's for the snorkeling or scuba diving. I have a 7yr old and this beach was PERFECT for him, as I felt he was very safe, i could see him where ever i was on the beach, and there was no waves, so he could go swimming, make sand castles,collect rocks, etc and had a great time. It has such a cool lay out with the 2 infinity pool looking over the ocean, with the swim up bars in both pools. People complained of the water being too cold... *sigh* it's a POOL!! it's not going to be WARM!...and plus you're in 27 weather... don't you want it to be cool?? The first day or two of getting there, i did notice there wasn't many lounge chairs left, but i just imagine it was from the resort being full...cause the rest of my stay i didn't have a problem getting a chair. If you have Google satelite the resort, you'll notice that there is a road that divides the resort from the beach area, don't get freaked out by this.... they did an AMAZING job with a small walk way under the road to get to the beach... and the amazing thing was you don't even notice you're going under a road, OR even when your lying on the beach catching some ray's do you even hear the road. the only time i actually remembered there was a road behind me was when a siren of an ambulance or something went by, and it only happened once. The lobby isn't huge, but it had just enough seating, not one night that we went to the lobby to hang out before heading to our beds, did we have a hard time getting seats... yes sometimes you'll have to wait for a bit, but that's just what life is... gotta wait sometimes... can't have everything your way all the time. (that comment is to all that feel a need to complain for every little thing) The staff.... wow! they were always smiling, and always trying to help... it breaks my heart, they work soooo hard, and don't get paid nearly enough for all they do, and yet they are always nice, easy going.... oh and they are FUNNY... always cracking jokes!! it's AWESOME!!! Oh and I have to mention one by name Claudia in the Kids Club.... she was AMAZING!!!! my son just LOVED her, he wanted to go back each and every day!! She took great care of the kids, as i watched her at times... had great games for the kids... like a treasure hunt with things hidden in the shawllow part of the pool and the kids had to dive down, to get them... crafts, made bracelletts... things like that. he loved it all, and all because of Claudia, he kept saying to me, "i want to go see Claudia" so she was VERY trusting! i give her a 5 Star for sure! The rooms were nice, bathroom (where it's the toilet and shower) is a bit cramped, but you make do, (and yes to those who wish there was a bathtub.. haven't you had enough of being in pools,ocean) to need a bath?? and yes i know it's more convient for the small kids, but it's not something that will out weight all the other amazing things of this resort! Yes you may get a room with 2 double beds, rather then a king, but who cares?? is that really going to spoil your trip, when your on this beautiful Island?? you should be thinking, i don't plan to be in my room very much. The food, ok I've been to 5 Star resort, and the food was no where near as good as this resort!! The food never tasted re-heated. Always was fresh, and there was a good amount of choices... yes for some REAL BIG food lovers, may feel that it wasn't enough choice....but it is a SMALL resort.... they don't need to waste that much more food to keep a handful of food lovers happy. Only went to the Mexican restaurant, the food was good, but the portion of the food was a bit small... but if your still hungry just go to the buffet after... doesn't cost you anything. Ok so overall the resort is small... or at least smaller then any other resort I've been to before.... but I have to say, I like this WAYYY better, everything is 5 min walking distance....which i LOVE... no waiting for those trains... The internet in the lobby, is a bit slow... but i don't understand how people can spend hours on the comp when there paying so much money to be here, and do somethign you can do at home... yes i went on line, but that was to do brief thing. The timeshare people are dressed in the park Royal shirts, and stay in the lobby... they were pleasant and did not hassle too much. The place was in mint condition, they clean that place SOOO well, and again the staff amazing! You'll love it... i believe this place is a 5 star! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
EVERYTHING! this place was amazing!! IT's all in my review! please read it.
The weak points
It is a small beach, and the bathroom was a bit cramped.
Certified

Awesome trip for a great price

, Brampton, ON
2011-04-29
We really enjoyed our trip. Being in a hotel that was clean and courteous helped us feel like we were in a safe environment for our trip. We really appreciated the way that the staff went above and beyond to care for our needs. If you are looking for a smaller hotel that can take care of you then this is the place. It was a great overall experience with a set of favourable memories as a result of our stay here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff acted quickly to any concerns we had and they were always so friendly and courteous. The hotel maintains a very high level of cleanliness as well. We always felt like someone was willing to help us.
The weak points
It could use a little more variety in the food (compared with other hotels), although we always ate a great meal!
Certified

Worth every penny

, Sudbury, ON
2011-04-28
everything was great, beautiful water, great snorkling, small beach but plenty of loungers with towel service, two spectacular infinity pools with swim up bar service which included Smirnoff and Canadian rye. Restaurant food was plentiful, no problems booking a la carte restaurants. Large rooms with balcony. Definite worth it, rock pathways could be difficult for elderly and young children. As our 17th trip to Mexico, we would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great sand area for loungers next to pool was great for kids and gave you all services.
The weak points
uneven stone walkways could be difficult for seniors with walking issues or for young children
Certified

Nice quiet gettaway

, Kitchener, ON
2011-04-25
very nice! The food was great,very relaxing,no line ups no waiting for anything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food is great
The weak points
alot of stairs up to the lobby
Certified

Nice resort

, Guelph, ON
2011-04-25
Very clean, good service, excellente food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, location
The weak points
Internet conection
Certified

Family vacation in Park Royal Cozumel

, Ottawa, ON
2011-04-25
Great, very clean hotel on great location, excellent service, very convenient for Toronto travelers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service quality, food choices, drinks, family friendly, prompt reasonably priced medical service (that we had to use)
The weak points
each & pool area too small for hotel size, not enough spots in shade, kids only menu should be improved, theatre too loud until 11pm - not good for small children, corridors too loud late & early
Certified

Park Royal

, Waterloo, ON
2011-04-22
This is my second stay at the Park Royal. I have chosen to stay there because it is only a 10 minute walk in the morning to my favourite Cozumel dive shop, Scuba Mau. In December, I had stayed at the Iberostar, which has a much better beach but is a bit out of the way if you want to visit friends in town. However, back to the Park Royal review. My observations on the food were echoed unprompted by a number of other guests that I met. We found the selection to be very good, but most meats, whether veal, pork, beef, or fish to be uniformly overcooked or dried out. Chicken was usually OK. I am not referring to just the buffet food, but in the Mexican and Italiano restaurants (by reservatiion) They sometimes ask you to fill in a comment card, and although the service staff is very professional, and very good, which I commented very favourably on, the impression is spoiled by, for example, a veal Milanese which was almost the texture of what I imagine shoe leather would be, if I made a habit of eating shoes. Beef like rubber, salmon so dried out to be inedible, ....I could go on. I hope they fix it, I made some suggestions on the comment cards. For example, one meat was billed as pork tenderloin (it wasn't what we know as pork tenderloin) and my suggestion was to make the serving twice as thick, but serve only one slice instead of two dried out skinny ones... and of course, don't overcook it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Handy for my favourite dive shop. I can walk there and socialize with the owners and the divemasters I know well. A good mix of customers, from Canada, the US, and Mexico.
The weak points
food preparation seems to be suffering for now, compared to previous stay last October. The man-made beach will disappoint if you are going for a beach vacation.... and your view to the left is simply of massive cruise ships, usually at least three.
Certified

PARK ROYAL COZUMEL

, Charlottetown, PE
2011-04-18
Wonderful hotel and staff; grounds, buildings, pools were very well maintained. Would definitely stay again, cleanliness was beyond belief. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall cleanliness and maintenance were incredible as was the food - best I've ever had at buffet.
The weak points
Only drawbacks are double beds (at least one queen-sized in the rooms would be good for couples) and the banging plumbing pipes at 7 a.m.
Certified

Park royal Cozumel

, Perth, ON
2011-04-18
Beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything, if i was a scuba diver even the beach would have been perfect.
The weak points
none really
Certified

Beautiful resort, great time had

, Mississauga, ON
2011-04-18
This hotel was beyond my expectations. I loved it and had a great time. There is lots to do day and night. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Luis who works in the sports bar as a bartender is amazing!!!! Pools are gorgeous and the food at the ala cartes was sooo good!!! I would definitely come back to this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean, big property, beautiful views, close to downtown, a la carte restaurants were delicious
The weak points
no minibar in rooms, not enough snorkeling equipment available, wifi only in lobby
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020