Acapulco Ritz Hotel

Acapulco Ritz Hotel
3.793.793.793.793.79
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (17)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Acapulco Ritz

, Crediton, ON
2014-02-15
We have stayed at this hotel several times, the staff is awesome and the food is great and we will be sure to go again next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, service and entertainment
The weak points
Would like to see the menu in La Cava change
Certified

Fun in Acapulco!

, Pointe Claire, QC
2013-03-27
First time in Acapulco - enjoyed our stay. Beautiful ocean view from the 8th floor balcony. Clean room and friendly staff. Best animation team...always smiling. Kayaking with Marco. Good shows. Blackie Store for Silver and free mangos!! Exchange rate $1 US/CDN = 11.50 pesos at hotel. Bus ride with no AC is a must experience to Walmart. Good security at hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
To see the ocean and hear the waves everyday!!
The weak points
a la carte restaurant - tough filet mignon - salad bar and dessert and service were good
Certified

Great Stay

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-01-25
This is a great smaller hotel with access to the beach, pool, restaurants, and snack bar and bars all in one area.
Completely safe within the ropes on the beach. 4th consecutive year. We have tried most of the hotels on the strip as we have been going to Acapulco for the last 20 years. For the food and convenience of all locations of the areas within, it's perfect for us. WiFi in the room but it doesn't state that on their information. Almost booked another hotel because of this, as I had to bring my computer with me on this trip. Staff are great.
Michelle [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, safety, location, staff, safe in the room
The weak points
could have up-dated bathrooms
Certified

Acapulco Ritz

, York, ON
2013-01-11
The hotel was great!!! Located right on the beach. It was clean and the service was fantastic!! The food was also good, even for buffet. The band that played there was excellent!! We will stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great band Clean rooms Good food Right on the beach, beautiful!!!
The weak points
Wifi not available in rooms Bus ride took three hours due to picking up Montreal flight passengers and room still was not ready for us by four.
Certified

Good deal for the price

, London, ON
2012-03-17
First time to Acapulco and this hotel. The hotel is a little tired and the rooms are nothing fancy. The rooms were clean and lets face it you don't spend a whole lot of time in them anyway. All the rooms face the ocean. The hotel, like all of them in Acapulco, is on the main road which is noisy. It's a busy area and they are constantly beeping their horns. You walk out of the front of the hotel and you are on the main street. You can grab a local bus anywhere anytime on the street by sticking your hand out into the street. 6 pesos for a regular bus 7 pesos for an air conditioned bus. We took both. The 60 pesos bus is a hoot. You get on and it is like being in a disco, flashing lights and loud music. You can take the bus down to the local Wall Mart if you like or stop anywhere along the way. They have all the stores that you would find in your local city plus the markets that you are use to in these places where you can bargain. We went to both. The streets are constantly patrolled by municipal, state and federal police toting machine guns. I was advised by the locals that the police were there for us. Stay on the main street, and the beach and you are perfectly safe.

The back of the hotel is on the beach. There is a pool with a bar and then a roped off part of the beach for hotel patrons. The local vendors cannot enter the roped in area. Your standard umbrellas, palm trees and plastic chairs to lounge in through out the day. The beach is very nice and clean. The Ocean was safe to go into and we would bob around three or four times a day to cool off. We were there the end of February and it was hot, hot, hot. Blue skies everyday, you could not buy a cloud.

There is one buffet area where you eat. Typically they had the same thing daily, lots of Mexican fare, spaghetti of course, and meats in sauces. I am not a Mexican food kind of guy but those with me thought the food was good. I always found something to eat. At lunch there is a little grill next to the restaurant that makes a decent cheeseburger and hot dog if you so choose as well as nachos.
There is one ala carte restaurant that you get to eat in on one day of your stay and they pick the day. I figured the food would basically be the same as the buffet but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a fine dining experience with excellent food and service. Don't miss going. They even had decent wine, which they don't have at the bars and buffet.

Two bars, one at the pool and one outside the buffet next to the beach.
The hotel is right on the beach so you don't have to walk far for refreshment. As well there is often a waiter that will bring you drinks to your umbrella if you like. Give him ten pesos and your golden.

Unlike another place I have been in Mexico the drinks were not watered down or home made booze. The Corona came right out of a large bottle that was on ice and the liquor was in store bought bottles. They made a decent margarita and daiquiri. The wine was horrible. They had large jugs of cheap wine that they poured into small wine bottles and the waiter would come to your table an serve you out of this bottle. If you want some wine with your meal buy it locally. The wall mart has a great selection. Buy the way if you are going to tote some booze back home, buy it at the wall mart.

Each night there was entertainment if you wished to partake, same old, same old. We typically had supper and then went and sat at the beach with an after dinner drink. Some nights different hotels would have fireworks which you could enjoy anywhere in the harbor. The beach is lit up all night and you can safely walk down it anytime.

We took the four hour City tour which was 28 bucks a head. There was the four of us and the guide in a van. Interesting tour and you got to see the basic layout of the City which is built around the harbor. At one end you go to the cross at the top of the hill, beautiful view of the harbor, at the other end you get to see the cliff divers. In the middle of the tour they stop at a high end silver jewelry store where you can buy anything form five bucks to five thousand if you like. They give you free drinks inside and the sales people are helpful and not pushy.

We got pulled over by the police at a road stop when we were coming back from the cross. The driver was out with the officer for about 15 minutes and then came back and told us that he had to pay 150 pesos as a bribe. My friend and I watched closely and did not see any money changing hands. My personal belief is that it was a scam. Having said this the tour was worth the 28 bucks a head as you see the highlights of the city and didn't waste hours upon hours on a bus.

Overall this was a good place to kick back for a week in the sun. All in it was 13 hundred bucks for the pair of us so I can't complain. If you have not been give it a shot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach, great weather
The weak points
average food, tired hote.
Certified

What a deal !!!

, London, ON
2012-03-09
We went on a weeks notice, what a great pick. The weather was sunny and HOT for 7 days. The local buses were great and passed by our door so we jumped on and had a great tour of the city. Don't let the low rating keep you away, take a chance and have some fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location with a private beach and 24 hour guards. The weather was wonderful and the ocean calm. Every thing was clean.
The weak points
The hotel was tired and no hair dryers, their pillows need some replacement.
Certified

My opinion

, Scarborough, ON
2012-03-02
It was not bad. The room has a wonderful view and most of the staff was courteous and attentive. However, the entertainment needs improvement and the activities need to be more appealing to the guests. Tis hotel should have aquatic sports including the ski doos free. In addition, they should offer more tours for free. What I can see, they charge for everything and that is a deterrent to visit this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, clean rooom, nice views
The weak points
men washroom had no running water, bar server are too eager for a tip before serving. Entertainment and activities need lot of improvements
Certified

One of our best vacations!

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-02
We were a bit apprehensive about our trip because we had heard such negative things in regards to the location (Acapulco) and the hotel (Trip Advisor reviews), it got to the point that we were so paranoid that we were going to cancel! Fortunately for us we didn't. The moment we got out of the airport and were shuttled to the resort, met the staff and longtime patrons (very Canadian heavy) we were hooked. Every morning we would have breakfast and then head straight to the beach. The locals were great, and yes I would recommend that if you are worried about safety, then your nervousness will attract attention, generally tourists are fine, the violence that occurs in Acapulco involves drugs. We went to local restaurants, a lot of them aimed at Canadian tourists, which was great. The fact that it is on a major street, it's great for walking to flea markets, restaurants, the museum, night clubs, and major parks. The panhandlers on the beach are a bit excessive, but you get used to turning them away, it just proves how dependant this city is for tourists and the money we bring. The beds were a bit hard, but that could be a good thing if you swim all day and/or have a bad back (orthopedic mattress) All in all, it was a great trip and a great experience and we are definitely going again in the nearby future. Lots of activities to do and see, and how can you beat the weather! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are fantastic, very helpful and willing to assist. The beach is great as it is right on the resort (for easy access to swimming and getting a tan) and the drinks keep coming!
The weak points
The pan handlers are quite excessive, you get used to saying "no gracias" all the time. The food is average, but for the price we paid, it exceeds expectations.
Certified

Survey for Ritz Acapulco Hotel and Acapulco City

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-24
Decent hotel, with very nice room split in kind of family room with a couch, table and TV, and the bed was facing the window towards the bay. Food was very good, personnel very friendly and careful. We would go again to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good location of the hotel, nice room, gorgeous view from room, tasty food, nice personnel, local people very friendly
The weak points
hotel would need renovations of the exterior, more variety of drinks
Certified

Acapulco Ritz

, Niagara Falls, ON
2012-01-27
This is our third year in a row, we like to sit on the beach and relax, food is great entire hotel is kept very clean and they have alot of repeat business, great food, they theme every day for the food, italian, mexican, mediterranean. You are so close to the beach and the pool and bars that it's not a chore to get up from the beach to go for a drink or any of your meals, all rooms overlook the ocean, great rooms, we get the one with the sitting tv area and bedroom is somewhat seperated, rooms extremely clean and the casino is across the street, if you like to take a walk over after dinner
We have been travelling to Acapulco for the last 20 years,we have tried most of the hotels on the strip and prefer this one over the others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, close to the beach, more than any other hotel
The weak points
there is a charge for your safe in the room, $1 a day, some of the other hotels include this cost, we don't mind paying, some of the places have free safety deposit boxes but are at front desk, we prefer to have it in the room
Certified

Ritz Acapulco, December, 2011

, Richmond Hill, ON
2012-01-10
Overall, very satisfied with the experience... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
food
Certified

Great Trip!

, St Catherines, ON
2012-01-09
Overall, I was very pleased with our vacation experience. We went over the Christmas holidays so the hotel was very busy with mainly mexican families, everyone spoke spanish and we felt a little left out. All the activities and shows were in spanish so we had a hard time participating. All the hotel staff could speak a little english so it was possible to communicate. The TV in the room only had 2 english channels so there wasn't a lot of variety but that didn't bother us very much. The food at the buffet was ok, good but not excellent. However, you could almost always find something you liked. The snack bar made awesosme hamburgers and cheese burgers. My kids really enjoyed the beach and the waves in the ocean. We also did a few activities that were a lot of fun. We went scuba diving, parasailing and on the banana boat. There were a lot of vendors/locals walking on the beach trying to sell you stuff but as long as you were polite they didn't give you a hard time. Acapulco is a very busy city and the Ritz is on the main street. We could walk to McDonalds, KFC, Dominos, the corner store (OXXO) and shopping. We also took a taxi down to the Walmart and went by bus to a water park. The weather was amazing, super hot and sunny every single day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of activities. Nice beach. Awesome weather.
The weak points
Mainly spanish speaking people. Food could be better.
Certified

Hotel Review

, Missasagua, ON
2011-12-30
Ritz location is excellent. Good food and specialty drinks readily available. Two captains for morning and Carlos are excellent making vegetarian curried dishes every day. I would recommend anyone to stay at Ritz Acapulco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for Vegetarian loving Indian food. Mexican food was good too
The weak points
Some staff have difficulty speaking English
Certified

Good News & Bad News

, Wallaceburg, ON
2011-03-09
I was bitterly disappointed with the room. We booked a room with a balcony and just got a window that opened and they were not able to give us a different room. The view however was spectacular and took my breath away! Food and activities were okay. Beach was nice but loaded with CATS doing their business...this is the reason I would never, ever return! Staff were fabulous, very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, view and great staff!
The weak points
Not the room that was advertised, cats on the beach and even in the outside dining room.
Certified

My Stay at the Riz

, Hamilton, ON
2011-03-06
Saff were okay ,the food was good,sevice good , the shows were great,the beach was great, to many vendors,the only thing I had a promblem with was the music that was played every day and at night they need more up to date music and some in english, the weather was the best ever sunny and hot every day loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean,food was good,the staff was great, the weather was great
The weak points
the music needs to be upto date and more in english and more up beat
Certified

Great place

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-09
Enjoyed our staying..
Good value for money.
clean and tasty food. Could improve on variety.
Good drinks, could improve on presentation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great view of the bay, cleanliness, walking distance to malls, mcdonalds, shopping and old city centre
The weak points
not much variety in food and night music some food presentation could be improved. steep beach, some glasses smelled of detergent
Certified

WHAT A VIEW!!

, Montreal, QC
2010-02-24
We were not expecting such a great view from the rooms!(pics attached) I had a room on the 9th floor, simple and clean. Elevator was quick and new. Cheap security box in the room, TV with satelite channels, A/C available but Acapulco is not humid at all. Nice pool, nice beach, took a Seadoo everyday! Take 20min a day, will cost you only 120CND for a week!Calm waters in general. Or have a massage on the beach. We played volleyball and waterpolo daily. Drinks free all day if you take all inclusive (best choice and you can still eat at outside restaurants sometimes, not expensive). Buffet is simple, there are always 3 choices, italian, chicken or beef, and seafood. Tastes good. No complaints if you are not going there for fancy food. Simple Hotel to relax and they do know English. Very safe. Infront of the hotel you have a mini casino with slot machines. You can walk for hours around the hotel area, many restaurants and gift shops. Stay on the main street, super safe night or day, but be careful crossing the streets, you ll see why. The hotel is on a busy street in a city that is open 24 hours! No one bothers you in the hotel or on the streets. Acapulco is full of life, you have to visit at least once. You will come back dark if you love the sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOCATION, SECURITY, VIEW, COLOR TV A/C, NEW ELEVATORS, PLENTY OF TIME TO ENJOY FOOD BUFFETS, ON THE BEACH, ALL INCLUSIVE, RELAXED ATMOSPHERE, CLEAN,GIFT SHOP, HAIR SALON, DOCTOR S OFFICE
The weak points
EXERCISE ROOM NEEDS NEW EQUIPMENT BUT THAT S NO BIG DEAL
Certified

Acapulco Ritz

, Brampton, ON
2010-02-24
Very pleased with the stay at the Ritz.
Good food, excellent service from all staff, very clean property, lots to see and do [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
spectacular view from the room excellent service
The weak points
internet limited to small area in lobby
Certified

February last minute get-away

, Cambridge, ON
2010-02-24
I ve been to Mexico before (Puerta Vallarta), but never to Acapulco. It was very hot, and beautiful the whole week we were there.

The hotel was decent, but if you re looking to party, it s defiantly NOT the place to be. We found there wasn t many people our age (25yrs). We just went away to relax, so we were content.

The bed was horribly hard and the pillows weren t any better.

Overall it was a relaxing vacation, nothing too exciting to see or do....just play in the ocean or pool and catch some rays on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach front, Food, Drink
The weak points
Entertainment, Day Tours, Bed / Pillows
Certified

Tracy Bibby

, Newmarket, ON
2009-06-26
Overall we had a good stay at the Ritz, we didn't expect anything too Ritzy (no pun intended)! The food was great and always available, the staff were always available and security was implace 24-7 which kept us feeling safe! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was great if you like to journey and get involved in the culture.
The weak points
There were absolutly no english speaking people, it made it difficult to communicate directions etc;
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Acapulco's best
Overall Impression Food & Restaurants Beaches Quality vs Price Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020