Royalton White Sands Montego Bay

3.843.843.843.843.84
Royalton White Sands Montego Bay
#10 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
3.84 based on 68 reviews
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

First Vacation Ever

, Oakville, ON
2019-04-24
This was our first time going on an all-inclusive vacation. The food was by far the best part. The pools were very clean. I enjoyed going for night swims in the pool. The beach was always clean. My boyfriend used the gym several times during our stay and most of the time he was the only one there. There were a few minor things wrong with the room including a few lights that were out, one of them was due to the fact that the plug was not all the way in the outlet under the desk and the door to the balcony was very difficult to open and close. Our room was on the 7th floor which had a beautiful view. The side we were on meant that we had sun in the morning but not in the afternoon. We were very thankful for the blackout blinds because they blocked the extremely bright sun from waking us from our slumber. The 24hr room service was amazing I definitely enjoyed cheesecake at 1am. The java was exceptional, with endless ice cream at my fingertips. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing from the buffet to the a-la-carte, don't forget about the 24hr room service. There was always a chair available both on the beach and by the adult pool and we did not have to wait long for a drink or to get seated for food.
The weak points
Our room was not ready when we got there at 4:30pm and we had to wait about an hour or so before we could get into our room. However, we did end up getting a room the the top floor(7th floor), with an amazing view. So I think it was worth the wait.
Certified

We had a great time!

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-13
We had a great week at this resort and would not hesitate to go back. We could use the beach and pools at the neighbouring resort, Royalton Blue Waters. There were quieter pools and more lively pools. All restaurants are shared between the two resorts, but we rarely had to wait to get in. We were always able to find chairs at the pool and/or beach although sometimes it was difficult to find shade. The staff (Ivan, Kemar, Devon & Joyce) at the Martini Bar (White Sands) were a great bunch and kept us laughing and well entertained! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beds & Pillows were so comfortable The Martini Bar No shortage of towels or hot water Al la cartes were awesome, the Steakhouse was my favourite
The weak points
Little bit of seaweed at the beach Not alot of shade at the pools & beach
Certified

Royalton White Sands

, Harriston, ON
2019-02-13
This was our first trip to Jamaica & certainly won't be the last. Will definitely return to White Sands. From the first & last we really treated "Royally". Loved the fact that check in was done relaxing in the lounge with a drink.
The buffet had an excellent variety of food which was displayed & marked well. All wait was very friendly & went out of their way to make our stay memorable. It was hard to remember everyone but special mention to Joyce in the hotel Martini bar & Amands in the outside Martini Bar. The girls that cleaned our rooms did an excellent job as did the grounds keepers to keep resort in excellent condition. The bathrooms could be freshened up a little tiling needed touch up.
Hunter Steak ,Armadillo were excellent.
Highly recommend this resort. Loved the catamaran to Dunn's Falls.
Keep up the great work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Nothing major but room bathrooms could get a freshening grout work.
Certified

Great Time in Paradise

, Rosedale, BC
2018-12-06
We were in the older resort but right next door is the newer Royalton Blue Waters and you can use their pools as well. All around great hotel with great friendly staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, Kadeen from the conceirge service and Sauna from Nexus tours to name a couple. Nice and relaxing. Free WIFI throughout the resort.
The weak points
Went on a VIP dinner at Marguerites restaurant in Montego Bay but forgot to leave our email address for the photos taken during dinner and were not able to get them before leaving or at all. But this is my only real complaint, otherwise great time.
Certified

No Royal in Royalton

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-07-25
This review is being completed in July 2018. Our Buttler service was not worth the money even for free it wold not have been worth it.
At check in we were the first of our group to get the VIP treatment and the last to leave the VIP lounge and be escorted to our room where we were told our Buttler would soon come to great us and give us the introductory information. (Saw the butler for the first time some 36 hrs later). During admission I will call it they brought me the forms with my wife and daughters name and asked me to read and sign my name, no biggie...then she comes back and takes them away they were wrong. Long and poorly executed VIP service. Front desk was much more smooth and faster. (could see them from my location).
Room okay. Staff friendly enough. Resort seems to be very under occupied by guest. They had some safety issue in Montego bay.
Food Okay.
Best service was the person who cleaned our room No disappointments and a few nice surprises.
Buttler was a friendly guy when we saw him but I rarely saw him and got nothing for the expense. he did do a reservation for us at a restaurant that did not take reservations That was very impressive. Not. I was asked how thing were and they tried the time share thing as well I said why would I come back or buy time share when I have yet to get what I paid for on this stay and it still took over 12 hrs for me to see the Buttler. No note form him, no message on my room phone nothing for over 36 hrs and after telling staff.

Weather was nice Kids had fun.

Did fall on the terracotta tiles at a transition point by a cabana, came to find out 3 other did as well. One person a broken arm the other two no details and myself to badly sprained wrist and a possible bone chip in my wrist as it is still given me issues guess trip to Dr. is needed to get it figured out for sure. Told my travel agent about it she did her thing Got a $100.00 voucher whoo hoo. Sarcasm that was.

Tip to Owners at very least give your guest what they pay for as a minimum service period.
App force me to give recomendation. I offer none
By the way I am not a bot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather. Not crowded
The weak points
Did not honour what was paid for.
Certified

So so won't return

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-14
Not great , long line ups at breakfast , pool not cleaned. Swim up suite nice , but paid a lot for, maybe look at Beaches for more entertainment-and service. Preferred Riu Tropical Bay over. This hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather , the swim up 2 bedroom suite nice
The weak points
Line ups for restaurant not nice , even with diamond service didn't matter
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Sarnia, ON
2017-09-24
Our trip didn't start off so great, but Royalton White Sands went above and beyond to make us feel at home and enjoy our vacation. Peter and Deshawn at the swim up bar are excellent bartenders and great guys. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great entertainment crew, very nice bartenders
The weak points
Phone calls in the room at 8am. Room service that took 2 hours to get cold food,
Certified

As expected...

, Mississauga, HA
2017-04-28
This was our second time there. Since our last visit they had built the new side, Blue Waters which is much nicer. People are very accommodating and service is top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice people, clean resort, Blue waters in nicer spot. spent a lot of time on that side.
The weak points
Rained every day. Very disappointed. Bathroom leaked water from sink and shower which was very annoying, phone didn't work in our room.
Certified

Overall a great holiday!

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-15
My family had a great time during our week here. The resort is really nicely laid out, compact but not small. Lots to do for kids. Food was generally good, no complaints there. Beach areas weren't huge but they were beautiful. Staff was friendly but you have to be okay with service being on "island time." Really good drinks at the Diamond Club beach bar, and incredible jerk chicken at the jerk hut. Our lovely butlers Chad and Stacy worked hard to accommodate any service requests we had. We definitely would have liked a bigger bathroom, counter space was scarce. The room itself was not large, they were calling it a "suite" but it was a room - two queen beds, night table between, a dresser and not much room for anything else. But it was kept very clean for us, and it was a swim out room which was FANTASTIC, especially as we have a young child. I would probably come back here, and maybe opt for a larger suite - and definitely with a swim out option! My only real complaint...on the second last day I found a few pieces of glass in the swim-out pool area, on the loungers and in the water. Someone likely broke something in a room above and a few pieces of glass fell down from their balcony. We called maintenance to come do a sweep of the pool, but even after a second call over an hour later, no one ever came. Kind of a big safety issue, so folks need to be aware that they might have to push management for situations like that. But otherwise, great resort, great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, layout and grounds, kids activities, butlers were great.
The weak points
pace of service at times. Failed to address a safety issue.
Certified

Room security

, Scarborough, ON
2015-10-04
Cash taken from our room and report to the customer service of the diamond club and was very disappointed with the respond. So overall your property is not safe in your own room. Questionable staff going in your room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pool is great.
The weak points
Security and customer service needs more improvement.
Certified

Royalton white sands resort

, Hamilton, ON
2015-06-16
Room overlooked a construction site and
loading dock ( disgusting view )
Sales staff constantly harassing us to
purchase further vacations.
Would not recommend this resort as an
adult vacation more for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort was nice, staff very good and food was good
The weak points
room overlooked a construction site. constant harassment to book another holiday by staff . we were not informed that this was a family orientated resort. lots of kids . Weddings taking up most of the beach almost every day.
Certified

Beautiful

, Hamilton, ON
2015-04-17
Better then expected experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, up keep
The weak points
Beach is nice and small but a bit dirty from dead sea weed
Certified

Royalton white sands

, Lawrencetown, NS
2015-03-18
Overall, a great property. Only negative is that the resort beach area is small but you can leave the compound, if you would like, to walk down to the public beach (Burwood Beach) which is spectacular. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic, staff very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Resort beach area is very small and rough.
Certified

Great hotel and staff

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-15
Could not have been a better experience other than the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great hotel, wonderful staff.
The weak points
The beach was not up to standards
Certified

Great time!

, London, ON
2015-01-11
We really enjoyed our stay at the Royalton. We are a married couple in our early 30's without kids. There were alot of families with kids at this resort. We didn't mind, but we did appreciate the adults only pool. The shows in the evening were pretty good, but there's not much in terms of a night life if you're looking to party.
Over all the resort is really nice, clean and well decorated. Most of the staff is really great, they really want to make sure you have everything you need. Some of the staff not so much. The bartenders at the Martini bar for example usually took quite a while to acknowledge us. They laugh and joke with each other and seemed to be annoyed when we ordered drinks.
We enjoyed the italian restaurant (service and food), but we were a little disappointed with the steak house (service and food) The jerk chicken on the beach was delicious! The room was really nice, we had a King sized bed and an ocean view (The view was beautiful). I suggest getting an ocean view because the terrace view looked really bad. Loved the rain shower.
The beach was wavy and there was quite a bit of sea grass (quite windy some days). We liked that the resort was fairly small. Really easy to get around and we never had any trouble finding a chair at the pool or beach. We would definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, pool, cleanliness, most staff
The weak points
Beach, some staff
Certified

Almost a 4-star

, Varennes, QC
2015-01-03
Stayed at the RWS from Dec 26-Jan 2. We had a total of 4 rooms for 9 people.
Paid a premium for a week on Dec 26 - definitely not worth the inflated price.

Room 314 had 2 twins and was perfect for 2 teenagers. Room 313 had 1 King and was perfect for 2 adults. Rooms 651 and 351 had a twin and double. Definitely not recommended for 3 people in the same room.
Pros:
STAFF is fantastic at this resort. Carina at the coffee shop, Remon at the pool bar, Terri-Ann and Tamara at the buffet, and the entire cleaning staff and entertainment staff are to be applauded for their never-ending smiles, asking how everything is and answering every need.
Front desk staff is another story. Professional but cold, every front desk employee should take a lesson from the rest of the resort's staff.

FOOD: Overall, better food than in Mexico, Dominican Republic and St Lucia (3 countries we've visited so far with all-inclusive resorts). Nice quality and selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Repetitive, but good. The Italian restaurant was a disappointment. Seafood risotto and pizza were horrible. Lasagne and fish were good. Japanese was tasty, but as to be expected, very loud and lots of smoke from the grills. Steakhouse was great. Tender filets cooked to a perfect medium. Jerk chicken hut at the beach for lunch was outstanding.

ENTERTAINMENT: Lots to do during the day, organized by staff. Water aerobics, volleyball both in the pool and on the beach, beer pong, water slides. Did not attend any of the evening entertainment activities or shows.

PUBLIC BATHROOMS:
Staff work hard to keep floors clean and toilet paper stocked. Bathrooms smell bad, however.

TOWEL HUT:
Always had fresh towels with no limit.

CONS:
1. Trying to make a reservation at the Japanese restaurant is next to impossible. People line up 45 minutes before the reservation desk opens just to have access to a few spaces not already reserved by the Diamond Club guests. They are allowed to reserve ahead of time while the rest of the guests have to wait until the day of. I saw numerous very angry people during the entire week who were unable to get a reservation.
2. Don't expect your room to be ready by 3pm. We arrived at noon and didn't get a room until after 4pm and only after I insisted very harshly that we needed a room NOW.
3. Horrible house wine. I continue to be amazed at what crap is served as wine at resorts.
4. Photos represent rooms closely, but they are very small. Furnishings are "tired" despite having been renovated in the past 2-3 years. Most refreshing was cosmetic. You can tell this is a resort that has been around for a while.

This is a very family oriented resort. If you want to avoid kids, don't come to this resort.
The beach is very, very small. Seaweed accumulates but is cleared off beach. TONS of it in the water though. Walking several hundred feet off property brings you to cleaner water, but you are off the resort.

The marijuana sellers stand at the property edge and if you are on the beach, you will smell it all day long.

We were constantly disturbed at night (1-3am) by people coming back to their rooms, loud voices and doors slamming. Walls are thin so don't expect quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All staff except front desk, resort-wide reliable internet, food, unlimited towels at beach/pool
The weak points
Beach at resort (better off-site if you take a short walk), "no reservations" doesn't apply to Diamond club. This needs to be communicated better. THEY can reserve which cuts down on availability. LOTS of kids, don't expect quiet here.

Dream vacation

2014-11-21
Amazing experience, relaxing yet fun, clean rooms, excellent service and staff, overall perfect week!, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and food
The weak points
Small beach
Certified

Sweet Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2014-09-19
I loved this hotel. It has an excellent modern and clean design, including avant-garde rooms. The food is great - especially the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant (needs reservations). The staff are unformily friendly and engaging. Jamaica as a whole is a great destination, and a good alternative to the usual Mexico/Cuba thing that Western Canadians often do.

Biggest Complaint: there is an extremely high pressure 'vacation club' that the hotel will try to sell to you at the time, with promise of a free stay etc. We got sucked in by a friendly chat from a representative, but clearly acting on commission and they played a big guilt trip to get us to go to what is essentially a time-share style meeting. They really, seriously need to turn down the pressure on this.

I would highly recommend this hotel - just avoid the "TravelSmart" club and its high pressure tactics. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are No.1. Food (jerk hut on the beach) and drinks are excellent. Pools and rooms good. Jamaica is great.
The weak points
High-pressure Vacation club (TravelSmart). Shoot them down right away. The hotel is a little isolated - no attractions of interest in walking distance.
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Cambridge, ON
2014-09-02
We were very pleased with the resort, the service and the food. All top notch! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Private beach, no reservation and unlimited a la carte options. Free room service, food variety, people were very helpful.
The weak points
Better night time shows. More singing and dancing
Certified

A solid 4 star

, Sydney, NS
2014-04-23
We normally do not review resorts but in this case we feel this resort has been given some bad press. The resort has been recently renovated and they are still working out some minor kinks but overall it is a solid 4 star. The food was the best in 20 years of all inclusive travel, some of the highlights, lamb and wood fired pizza at the Italian, beef tenderloin at the steak house and Italian and the jerk chicken at the beach bbq. Did not eat at the buffet (except breakfast, that was great, fresh and lots of variety). Every night was ALC, and no reservations were required except Japanese (no problems to get in anywhere). Staff were exceptionally friendly, including check in. The drinks were above average with a good variety of premium brands that were included. Beach and water sports were great and the water slides at the pool were a hit with the kids and adults !!!!!. I strongly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff, food and drinks
The weak points
the weak points are minor and do not need mention
Certified

Amazing Time

, Brampton, ON
2014-04-21
This hotel is a great resort if you have kids. We had an amazing time with our 17 month old. The pool/beach/food was all great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and service
The weak points
the italian restaurant was not very good
Certified

Not disappointed

, Barrie, ON
2014-03-04
Hotel and grounds beyond clean! Staff amazing - so friendly, food was great.
minimal nightlife entertainment; very quiet by 10:00. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness/staff/food
The weak points
minimal entertainment
Certified

Vacation

, Cornwall, ON
2014-03-02
Resort , pools and beach are beautiful. Staff are great. Food good. Still a lot of maintenance to be done in the rooms. patio doors didn't lock, handles on the doors falling off. Water leaking in some rooms. They are over booked if you paid for a certain room and you didn't get it, they would not change you rooms. I would not return to this Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great, food was good. Pools were very clean and nice. Resort is beautiful.
The weak points
Didn't get the room I paid for. I was in a room with twin beds. Front desk staff not helpful at all, nor was the Sun wing rep. Rooms are not finished with renovations. Water leaking in some rooms. Resort isn't ready for customers.
Certified

Perfect romantic get away

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-28
Would recommend this hotel any day. Was all that we hoped it would be. Beautiful décor, wonderful staff, great jerk chicken and decent food all round. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern and beautiful décor, not too big, nice pools, good food, great staff.
The weak points
not enough loungers (up at 7am to reserve them), food is a bit repetitive, beach isn't ideal for long walks, removed from village.
Certified

Jamadian SunSeeker

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-27
The Royalton White Sands Resort is all that it was advertised as, you will not be disappointed. As a six time return vacationer to Jamaica, it met or exceeded all of my expectations for its class of Resort. Keep up the Excellent Work! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of the rooms and general resort areas. Plenty of towels for sun-bathing. Very generous bar staff,
The weak points
Minor issue with some guests not adhering to the lounger reservation policy. Need more bottled water in room and available at bars and restaurants.
Certified

Royalton white sands

, Rockland, ON
2014-02-25
The hotel experience over all was a good one . Beach was small and lots of dirt being pushed to shore. If you are looking for a family vacation I would recommend the Royalton. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk employees all very friendly Hotel was nice and clean
The weak points
Beach not the greatest Not much to do Night entertainment not the best
Certified

Let Down

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-02-24
The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean. Our room was great-- worth the upgrade to the Diamond Club Honeymoon Suite. The lady who cleaned our room each day was fantastic (Angela). Although the a la Cart restaurants are unlimited dining and reservation free, we were unable to get into two of the restaurants all week--this was a huge disappointment. Our butler told us he could work magic and get us in, however after making this comment he did not follow through and did not approach us again. Resort ran out of bottled water during our stay. Diamond club beach also ran out of loungers at one point. Lack of shade on the beach as well for those who want to get out of the sun a bit. I would say for the amount we paid for the trip and what we actually got, we overpaid. This is more of a 4* resort--not 5 as advertised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Room (diamond club honeymoon suite)
The weak points
Food and service
Certified

Diamond club is a scam- definitely not a 5 star

, Ottawa, ON
2014-02-04
Very beautiful location and hotel (rooms and bathroom are teeny) however what makes this most likely a 3 star is the poor service and inexperience of the staff; along with that a attitude of indifference by most of the management. Although the food is not bad most meals suffer from the lack of cutlery on the table, food gets cold by the time you are given utensils, staff doesn't understand that coffee should be poured when guests sit down, you could finish your whole meal before a beverage is offered or delivered. No ice machines on property so from a whole week of asking for ice every day only managed to get it delivered once and that was after we had left for our dinner at 7 p.m. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely beautiful location and great infrastructure. Great beach, kept clean, shade more abundant only if you upgraded to Diamond Club. Nice people who need lots of training.
The weak points
Poor service incl buffet, bar tenders (not enough)at steak house 1.5 hrs to get steak, 6 of us waited 30min for wine to be opened, didn't have desert, tired of waiting so we left, table still not cleared before we left. We & other guests had gastro issues
Certified

Diamond Club more like Diamond Flub

, Milton, ON
2014-02-03
The grounds are nice and laid out fairly well. The food overall is average, one person out of the six in our group became very ill, vomiting and diarrhea. This seemed to happen quite randomly and had happened during our stay to others as well. Difficult to pinpoint what made him sick as we all ate pretty much the same. Food at steak house excellent but service extremely slow. Not the servers fault in my opinion as they were running like chickens with heads cut off, but certainly no managers there to help.
Diamond club is a big scam to get more money from you. Yes there is a lounge, but dark and dingy. Half a bar set up so difficult to make a nice drink that is promised with premium alcohol. Do not eat the apps there, they are sitting out all day and evening. You are given a butler who can't do anything for you. No ice machine anywhere on the resort. So if you want ice you must order room service and wait an hour for it to be delivered by someone who feels you are wasting their time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great WIFI all over resort. Great water slide, we ranged from age 43-59 and we all loved it. Beach beyond resort is the best. Don't be afraid of the locals, a polite no thank you to them trying to sell you stuff will do.
The weak points
Service is slow and I get that we are in Jamaica on island time. Fourth visit to Jamaica so I know what to expect. And yes in case you are wondering we do tip and quite well at that. Diamond club not worth the extra money.
Certified

Not a 5-Star Hotel

, County of Grande Prairie No.1, AB
2014-01-29
After checking in (which took an hour) we went to our room and dropped off our stuff noticed that we didn't have a king bed as I had requested, tried to open the safe to put in my stuff but it wouldn't open, then decided to go for supper, when we got back I noticed my purse had been moved (we were only gone 30mins)and after checking my wallet I was missing $400. Can't prove that I was missing it so went to ask the rep for the safe to be opened and that I requested a king bed not a single and a double bed. She said she'd see what she could do. NOTHING is what happened, the phone never worked, we didn't get robes for 3days, and there was no umbrella's either(it rained for the first 4days). I asked for 3days straight but nothing ever happened except the robes which only fit a small person, like up to a size 4 Petite! I did however like the pools, they were roomy and never to crowed. Excellent food and drinks! Make sure to tip, they look after you better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds and pools.
The weak points
Many different people entering your room at all times of the day, only had good service because I tipped.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?