Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
4.064.064.064.064.06
4.06 based on 199 reviews
#7 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (38)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Carol Gander from Wellington, Ontario

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-12
Over-all a very good experience and a place to which we would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was excellent. Food and drinks were very good. Gymnasium was well-equipped and helpful fitness trainer was knowledgeable
The weak points
i would have preferred sailboats (Hobie-cat or Sunfish) for individual pilotage. Reservations for a la Cartes would have prevented frustration with waiting times.
Certified

Relaxing

, Sherwood Park , AB
2020-03-04
Hotel was great, staff was very friendly and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand palladium Jamaica resort and spa

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-11
Amazing I really enjoyed the friendly staff there the food was delicious beyond words to describe it. The resort itself was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice pool no beach or sea

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-09
Nice and warm staff, grandiose architecture nice and well maintained grounds . Clean rooms, lots of bars and restaurants. Nice pool for kids.
A good selection of food and drinks, not all the time well prepared or served.
Three “string “ beaches with rocky and shallow waters [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grandiose architecture, very big “infinity “ pool, with hundreds of chairs around. Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. A good variety of food and drinks to choose from. Kind and warm personal.
The weak points
Almost no beach with a “pot “ of sea water to swim. Non existent Marina taking half of the Cove beach. Many of the “ meats” at buffet not enough prepared ( like chewy beef meat). No fruits at buffet Very weak internet
Certified

Grand Palladium Lucea Jamaica

, Somerset, MB
2020-01-29
Largest resort in Jamaica, however once you get familiar with where you want to go, everything is easily accessible by walking, good for the waistline, or by grabbing a ride which are frequent and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazon staff, fantastic food. Plenty of chairs for everyone at pools, with sun and or shade!
The weak points
Poor beach, rocky and small. Snorkeling from resort not fantastic, not easily accessible.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Hammond, ON
2020-01-20
Beautiful Resort. Large resort with a massive pool. The staff is great. The food and pool is fantastic. The beach is not the best. It is in an area that is very windy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, the staff, the pool and the food are all wonderful! What more could you ask for.
The weak points
The rooms are very dated. The beds are not that great.
Certified

Best trip so far

, Hamilton, ON
2019-02-18
My wife and I travelled with another couple. We all enjoyed our stay. The staff are really friendly, the food is really good and the resort is the cleanest one I've visited. We will definitely go back to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food. Cleanliness and super friendly staff
The weak points
Too minor to mention
Certified

Great

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-01
This was an excellent resort. The pools and beaches were great and the entertainment was good and lively. The food was the best I have ever experienced at an all inclusive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Grand Palladium people who are there to try to get you to buy into their program are a little pushy but saying no many times and being firm worked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand palladium jamaica

, Kanata, ON
2019-01-28
This was our second all-inclusive vacation and the first time to Jamaica. We found the staff and service above our expectations but unfortunately we were very disappointed with the food offered at the buffets and a-la-carte restaurants. Food was not kept at temperature in the buffets, therefore food was cold by the time you sat down to eat it. This opens up the risk of guests getting sick from improperly served seafood and proteins. The specialty restaurants had very good a-la-carte menus but again the food was lukewarm if not cold when it got to the table. The exception to this was our eating experience at the Poseidon Restaurant which was excellent. We commend the staff and resort for not accepting reservations at the restaurants which actually kept the wait for a table to the max of 10-20 mins. each night. Service time in the restaurants was slow but this would have been more acceptable had the food we received been hot upon arrival. Since it was cold in most cases, we knew it had been sitting in the kitchen which is a shame and an insult to the chefs. The bar service was excellent with no scrimping on the alcohol and absolutely no watered-down drinks. The pool was kept pristine and the service for drinks at the pool and the beach was excellent. The beach volleyball court was also beautiful but could use a couple more loads of sand to prevent all the scraped knees and elbows incurred by guests on the solid surface below the sand. Overall, we enjoyed our week at the Grand Palladium but would not return and would not recommend it to friends simply because of the poor quality of the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort layout, beach and pool area
The weak points
food quality
Certified

Awesome

, Maidstone, ON
2018-11-24
I would give this resort a high review. It's the best resort I've been too that exceeded my expectations from the grounds, the food, the entertainment, beaches and facilities.
I would highly recommend it, there is something for everyone. Small kids to adults....
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Some of the restaurants are slow with serving food Towels aren't always available at the pool
Certified

Good with some minor problems

, Ottawa, ON
2017-12-19
Hotel and staff were great. Everyone was very friendly, food was great. Clean and nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were excellent and the food was good.
The weak points
Logistics of getting a wheelchair and accessibility issues. Beaches were not very nice. A lot of renovations going on. Part of pool not open.
Certified

Excellent First Experience

, Westmount, NS
2017-08-28
Very good initial experience with an all-inclusive with very good variety food available either by buffets or a-la-carte - really liked not having to make reservations as the wait at the restaurants was usually no longer than the time to finish a drink at the bar. We were a family of 4 and were well entertained for the week even without taking any tours off the resort. Bit of a walk around the resort due to size but that was a necessity for the amount of food/beverage available to consume ;-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good value for money with respect to variety of food, beverages, activities, airport transfer included, etc.
The weak points
Weak internet at far ends of resort or higher floors AC in restaurants really needs to be improved so as to be able to enjoy the otherwise high quality of the food service

Very Excellent Resort and Spa

, Bowmanville, ON
2017-04-01
The staycwas amazing. Everyone was very friendly. Food was great. Kids club was amazing! We were able to drop our kids off whenever we wanted. They are open 9am-11pm Was perfect for going to dinner without kids and so on. The staff at Kids Club were very caring and I felt extremely comfortable leaving them there
The pool was huge and had a shallow section and a deeper section. I wish it was cleaner though. There was globs of hair and a bunch of dirt on the ground of the floor [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great trip

, Seldom Fogo Island, HA
2016-11-08
Had a great trip great food big selection to choose from rooms were clean and didn't smell air conditioning worked great my only issue was with the bed the mattress was very hard ok if you like a hard mattress but I don't [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent always found something good to eat, pools were great lots of chairs
The weak points
The beds on the Jamaica side were very hard
Certified

Relaxation to the Max!

, Halifax, NS
2016-04-27
We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Grand Palladium Jamaica whether it was at the Infinity Pool/Bar, the Relax Pool or the beach. Thank you for the memories! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Palladium Jamaica

, Ajax, ON
2016-04-13
Had a great time at this resort, room was clean and spacious, food at the resort was good, no sign ups for alacarts just show up and head to the bar with your buzzer and wait to be called. If you don't like walkin this is not for yu, the place is huge and its a long way for the east side to the far west side of the resort,I will go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand palladium jamaica

, St Pierre Jolys, MB
2016-04-01
Loved loved loved Jamaica! I was impressed with my first trip to this country. I highly recommend this resort. We went as a blended family of 6 with children aging from 18 to 8. There was tons to do for everyone. There were constant activities that you could join in. There were also plenty of quiet spots if you did not. The nightly entertainment was impressive. Beautiful beaches. The food was delicious. The service at the a la carte restaurants was impeccable. My daughter celebrated her birthday while we were there and the waiting staff at our restaurant helped make it a celebration. I would not hesitate to go back to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There was a wide variety of activities available. We didn't even get to do it all in our week. My kids were busy the whole time. The food was delicious. The friendly staff made sure we were well taken care of.
The weak points
We were told that there was no need for reservations at a la carte restaurants but some waits were long. It turns out that we could have made reservations. I wasn't aware of that.
Certified

Fabulous trip.

, Ottawa, ON
2016-03-26
First time down south, and I am glad to stay with Grand Palladium Jamaica. The staffs were all nice during my stay. Each morning I would be greeted with "Morning" but of course, you have to greet back. I never had any problems except to ask for bath towels since there were none in the bathroom. The beaches were nice with small amount of rocks, and was always able to find a spot. It was better to go early in the morning before noon to get an area with shade. Towels - I received a towel card in the beginning in order to switch the card for a towel. You can switch the towel as many times as you want as long you get the card back at the end of the stay. I wasn't able to get the card back at the end of the stay, but the front desk took the towel. The wi-fi never had any problems except in the beginning to sign onto the network. Once you're signed on, it was good to surf.

The food - buffets not my thing, and a la carte restaurants were alright. I would recommend the Mexican (El Agave?) and Chez Bubbles (It's a steak house) restaurant. My So enjoyed the Jamaican, Lotus House and the other two stated above. However, the steak house overcooked his lambs dish so he didn't enjoy as much as I did with my steak.

Overall, the hotel was not bad and I would recommend the hotel. However, it was far from tourist attractions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools, drinks, and beaches.
The weak points
The buffets and certain a la carte restaurants need a little work.
Certified

Nice property, decent food, poor front end service

2015-01-07
We stayed for a week with a Sunwing vacation package. The property is very nice, clean overall, and well maintained. Food was good overall and the restaurant staff in the a-la-carte restaurants were very good. Staff at the buffets for breakfast and lunch were generally slow and lazy. We always had to wait in line for a meal, and the sports bar is the only spot to get food 24 hrs and outside of when buffets are open. We waited about 45 mins for a meal in the sports bar and finally just left.

Our one bedroom suite was a very nice room, well maintained and clean. We were on the third (top) floor on the Jamaica side on the back far side facing the road. But we still had a nice view of the ocean from each of the two large balconies and noise was fine, just the odd load car.

We enjoyed the tennis courts (3 in total, although only one was in good shape). The tennis rackets and balls were modern and in good condition overall. The gym is well equipped and in good condition, was very actively used when we were there over New Years... maybe just all the resolution keepers, but never had to wait long for equipment or treadmills etc.

Negatives:
- Front end staff are lazy, rude, often incompetent, and overall horrible.
- no room service available
- only one bar has higher end booze options, but in stock at all bars the selection is decent. Appleton local Jamaican rum.

Tips:
- Be sure to clarify with your tour booking package if you have the ability to book restaurant reservations for the a-la-carte restaurants. Book these up front to avoid the lines, as we saw many people waiting 45 mins to an hour plus at the a-la-carte restaurants or giving up and going to the buffet which food quality was much lower.
- Jerk chicken hut at the cove is the best lunch spot, it's worth the wait if there is a line.
- Spa is overall very nice, would highly recommend the couples massages in the cabana by the beach. Was lovely despite many other guests walking past and talking or yelling "honey, that's what I want to do tomorrow, look at them all relaxed!" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- private and secure property - cove area for swimming, water sports, and jerk chicken hut - sports courts and gym were very good condition and modern equipment
The weak points
- Front end staff are lazy, rude, often incompetent, and overall horrible. - no room service available - only one bar has higher end booze options, but in stock at all bars the selection is decent. Appleton local Jamaican rum.
Certified

Beautiful Resort but that is about it

, Mississauga, ON
2014-11-25
When we arrived at the resort we were amazed at how beautiful it was. The staff was very friendly. But we had a couple of issues. When we walked into the room we noticed the fridge did not have any drinks. The washroom was not clean. It took 10 hours and 3 phone calls to get towels in the room as we did not receive any. They ran out of pool towels and cups at the bar. The food did not have really any taste and was below what we expected. The Beach was very small and the I noticed that the cups were not cleaned properly. They ran out of a lot of food in the sports bar and at night did not have enough staff. I felt bad for some of the waiters as they were trying to manage a lot of tables late at night with I think one chef in the back. We came to the resort with at least 140 people for a wedding and had almost all people have the same complaint. The A La Carts were not good and the wait time was 3 hours as it was first come first serve.. I was very disappointed with the resort as it was not what we expected. We had numerous friends come here before as well as the bride and groom and they had a great time with no complaints. I don't think I would go there again as it is not worth what we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was beautiful
The weak points
-fridge did not have any drinks -The washroom was not clean -It took 10 hours and 3 phone calls to get towels in the room as we did not receive any. They ran out of pool towels and cups at the bar. The food did not have really any taste
Certified

The wonderful vacation

, Montreal, QC
2014-11-17
In general, this hotel is a very nice place for vacation, just the beach is not good enough, cannot swim, because too much stones and rocks.
Should be have free WiFi in the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful vu, nice swimming pool, interesting entertainment activities
The weak points
beach not good enough, no WiFi in the room, services slow
Certified

An amazing experience

, Airdrie, AB
2014-11-06
The hotel is a nice resort although it is old it is well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing, exceeded my expectation. the scenarey was beautiful.
The weak points
Wifi was too expensive. I recommend Wi-Fi included in the all inclusive package.
Certified

Amazing will go back

, Barrie, ON
2014-09-09
Resort was beautiful, food was amazing and staff were friendly, went above and beyond to serve us....don't believe what you have heard before, this place is exactly what a resort should be like...only small issue was water temperature changed often while in shower...will go back again and again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was perfect
The weak points
All was good
Certified

Great vacation

, Vaudreuil Dorion, QC
2014-01-14
We've been to this resort 3 times and love it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly staff.
The weak points
Resort is showing signs of aging
Certified

Family Vacation

, Stouffville, ON
2013-10-15
We travelled with a small child. Resort was beatutiful, grounds well maintained, but the room had issues with the drains, and air conditioning, but the layout was good. People were not always pleasant, some servers were just going thru the motions, and not necessarily helpful, or happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, great location.
The weak points
Service was inconsistent, and many times people were not smiling, or looking at us eye-to-eye. Some servers were happy, and willing to chat.
Certified

Bring water shoes

, Calgary, AB
2013-09-21
The beach is only good for sun tanning and snorkeling, lots of rocks and coral.
Don't expect to see very many smiles.

If, big if, I go again, I wouldn't go any further than an hour away from hotel for any excursions. Not worth the money and the driving is so unnecessarily fast and jerky.

The free internet is a scam. You have to spend $20 to get their special password then you're good to go as long as you stay in lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Many options for food and it's tasty. Lots to see snorkeling. Great view from room. Everything easy to find and walk to.
The weak points
Can't just go for a swim in ocean, too rocky. Hard to get a smile from most servers.
Certified

Great place to stay!!

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-09-20
Overall a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. About a 40 min drive from airport. Infinity pool was amazing and warm. Swim up bars made yummy drinks!! Great service. Clean rooms good food. We had a great time. Only negative was 3pm check in, bad Internet service and no room service. Beach was good but you had to walk to find a spot without rocks. Once you were in it was beautiful and warm!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great, food was great and the weather was great. Amazing infinity pool! Water was always warm!!
The weak points
Check in at front desk
Certified

Palladium

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-20
Great times! Had a great time with my girlfriend. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Server all swimming pools & the Spa is wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Internet
Certified

Palladium - May 2013

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-06-10
The hotel was fabulous! The room was large, clean and comfortable. Restaurants were very good, especially the steakhouse (recommend the tenderloin). Coffee and after dinner liquors on at the terrace bar was something to look forward to every evening. No need to fo to Rick's bar to experience a fabulous sunset when you can watch every evening at the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is amazing - the food being the best we've encountered on our travels to date.
The weak points
the gym was quite small with not a lot of equipment. However, running outside was a good option to compensate for the gym.
Certified

Amazing vacation !!!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-28
I had an amazing vacation. I'm not the type to stay on the beach all the trip so I was very happy with different companies proposing excursions. I had a chance to ask questions and compare prices.I was very satisfied with Sunwing excursions. The hotel was very clean, plenty to do on site, no need to leave it. Huge choice of restaurants, the buffet was very good as well. Very big pool, enough of space for everyone, no need to look far for a chair.
Minor items:
If you want a mojito make sure to order before dinner time (always missing mint). Make sure the reception doesn't charge you for wine you didn't drink (after verifying they rectified the situation).
Summary: I will definitely go back. Loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants (except Sport Bar) Excursions Buildings, room Staff Pool
The weak points
Sport Bar - waiting time on average is an hour Beach - not a good place if you want to stay all trip on the beach WIFI - hard to connect, very slow
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020