Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
3.713.713.713.713.71
3.71 based on 56 reviews
#13 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (20)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Wedfete

, Ajax, ON
2019-05-10
Went with a very low expectation after reading reviews. But was pleasantly surprised to find that alot of the reviews I read could not be substantiated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing view from room 4605
The weak points
Buffet should have had more of a variety. Not once did I get any ackee with saltfish
Certified

Wouldn't go back

, Smithville, ON
2019-05-06
As part of a wedding group of 49 people. I would not recommend this resort. Upon arrival we were treated poorly. Rooms were ok but the bed was absolutely horrendous, like cement. The mattresses look to be from the 80's. I didn't sleep much for our trip and my body was so sore. I couldn't wait to go back home :( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good
The weak points
Mattress Rundown facilities
Certified

Great family vacation

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-21
We had an awesome time at Sunscape Splash. The staff was friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I called ahead to make sure my travel agent had reserved a wheelchair accessible room, but she didn't. But, it was no problem for the hotel. They made sure we had what we needed and it was perfect. The food was delicious and there was always a good variety, including a special section for children. The pools were relaxing and there were lots of specialty drinks to choose from, including children's drinks. I would definitely recommend the Bob Marley. It was very refreshing on a hot day. We also enjoyed the entertainment and my granddaughter even danced in the talent show. Overall, it was everything we expected and more and we would definitely vacation there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, food, accommodations and the experience.
The weak points
The only negative I can say is the beach was not really great. We had wanted to do some snorkeling but the water was murky and we couldn't see anything.

“Over promise and under deliver” - Sunscape motto

, St. Thomas, ON
2019-01-27
This place is terrible. We booked it because we were taking our kids, we thought they would love the water slides and pools, which they did for the most part. We had 4 kids ages 3, 4, 6 and 8 and the 4 year old wasn't allowed to go down the slide with the 8 year old, she had to go with an adult even tho we were sitting literally in front of the slide. Food was awful, buffet items are reused daily and who eats mashed potatoes for breakfast every day? Staff is not interested in serving or helping guests and will lie to your face. One day we didn't get any beer or water in our fridge so we called down to get more. We got the run around, they said they would bring some up in 10-15 mins. We waited an hour and didn't get any so we left $10 and a note asking for more and got 6 cans, no water. We went to the gift shop and paid $5 for a litre bottle we were so frustrated. Our friends asked daily for more water for a sleep apnea machine and never got it, they had to pay too. There was a bonfire on the beach advertised one night, we went down to enjoy it and they said it was only for a wedding party and kicked us out - so why advertise it then?? Entertainment sucked, the magician literally put me to sleep. Food in all restaurants was bad, we didn't starve but we didn't enjoy it either. Beds are hard and uncomfortable and they only give you 2 tiny pillows smaller than the throw pillows on my couch. On checking out we asked for a bell boy to bring down our luggage, waited 40 mins and no one showed up. Called the front desk, they said no one asked for a bell boy. Don't bother with the resort credits, they make you sit through a 90 mins (“90 min Jamaican time” actually means 4 hours) presentation on their membership program to get it. Then they give you $50 to the gift shop as a free gift. Watch out for membership sharks, they will hunt you down. They actually found me at breakfast one day to make sure (for the 7th time) that I was attending the presentation the next day. They wasted almost my whole day the next day with their lies - don't believe them if they tell you they're opening a Zoëtry in Aruba, the pictures are of bora bora and the plans to build were stopped last year by the Aruba government. They will also tell you you get a free week in any of their hotels upon signing but the one hotel that sold us on this membership, you can only have 3 free nights. I could go on and on but I would strongly advise people considering this resort to spend some extra money and go somewhere that has good food and the staff don't roll their eyes at you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is the best part. The weather was good.
The weak points
All of it.
Certified

Will not recommend this resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
We liked everything except for 2 things:
1. Our money were stolen from the safe in our room. Security person said that probably our safe was not locked. They said they had this problem before. If you do not press a safe door with another hand while punching a number, it will not lock. Security person said they will complete their investigation and a manager will contact us. We did not hear back from anyone.
2. The beach was very shallow with grass and silt on the bottom, very small, the also have jelly fish there, which stung my daughter and she did not want to go to the beach again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well maintained, good service, friendly staff, good water park for kids
The weak points
Not much entertainment for children in the evening. Kids club had some interesting activities such as movie on the beach and pirate ship but the rest of activities were not intetesting
Certified

Fabulous Time At Sunscape Splash

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2018-11-19
The hotel was very clean, maid service was excellent, very friendly and accomodating staff. Had no issues staying here and hope to one day visit again. There were 11 in our party for one week. Wish we could have stayed longer. Tons of activities, shows, tours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Sunscape Splash...Amazing place for families!

, Ajax, ON
2018-11-09
This resort is amazing for families! Its small so things are within walking distance. Restaurants I find are not amazing for the kids because of lack of variety. You will be sticking to the buffet called windows. A wide variety of food is offered there. This hotel is not modern very run down in spots but not to the point that ya can't use the pools and water slides. It has 2 large pools and a very large lazy river with 2 water slides. Amazing set up for small children and adults. One pool is an adults only pool with swim up bar and the other is for children with swim up bar. There is another pool that is for all and not deep about 3-4 feet. The lazy river is about 3 feet throughout. Parents often put young kiddos in puddle jumpers and water shoes. I would suggest this! At the bottom of the slides...its deep water...There are life guard on at all pools until 6pm. The pools tend to close early. Night life is great with a wide variety of activities going on for young and old. They do have a kids club and a teen club. I find my kids are old for the club and tend not to attend. There are lots of toddlers that attend the club for the day. There was about 10 using the club at a time. There is a nurses station on site and to see the doctors they charge you $30 Canadian. There is a mini bar in all rooms which may be stocked daily. If not stocked you just call front desk and ask for whatever you need. They are very attentive. Don't get worried with what you read online. I have never once had them run out of food or towels. Your room is clean daily unless you don't wait maid service then just ask for towels. Don't go to anything they offer free at the resort like a breakfast or resort coupons....that's a hit for timeshare. For the price you can't go wrong! Remember to wear water shoes. I keep one bottle of sunscreen in the room incase my bottle on pool deck get stolen. This happens as there is a lot of people that use the facility that are not staying and tend to look for items. The rooms are small but the views are amazing. Staff are friendly and really try hard to ensure your stay is a good one. Anything you need..you will need to ask for it. Don 't expect a five star! Internet and wifi is great! Location is 1/2 hour ish from the Montego Bay airport. Book your transportation with JTL. They are amazing! There is also several travel centres at the hotel to book excursions. Make sure you get a list of items you need while on excursion! Very important! Make sure you find out about food. bring food in your bag and drinks from your mini bar as some places like Dunns River have limited selection of things to eat. Book with Linda Oliver Lyth for Jamaica! She's an amazing agent!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family oriented Pools Water Park with 2 Water Slides and Lazy river Kids Club Teens Club Buffet Restaurants Friendly Staff Amazing Entertainment crew! Bar tenders are great! Front desk very attentive! Maids are 5* Lots of Security Nurse/Doc
The weak points
Dated Units Dated Grounds Dated Rooms sales pitches for timeshare Beaches have a lot of sea weed Not a wide variety of food within all restaurants just in the buffet Mini bar not kept full.
Certified

Overall good place

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-30
They gave us first a horrible room in terms of view... looking at a roof top but they called it resort view. We had to wait and fight to get switched to a better view room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jamaican people are genuinely nice and friendly
The weak points
Food is repetitive and kind of boring
Certified

Excellent Value

, Ottaw, ON
2018-03-23
This resort offers excellent value for money. The highlights were no wristbands and no reservations at the a la carte restaurants! The food was excellent even in the buffet, the drinks were great, and the staff was amazing. The property itself is a bit dated compared to other resorts, but this doesn't matter because it's kept spotlessly clean! I was travelling with family members, not kids, so the fact that there was an adult pool and section of the beach that seemed to be mostly adults greatly improved our experience. The afternoon music by the pool was great, the servers were good... if they happened to venture to the beach then they seemed to come back often which was nice rather than sending up the men in the group to get our groups' drinks. I don't mind having kids around but it was especially awesome that they were mostly in the area of the waterpark and kids' pool, and the beach grill. The food was excellent; almost every single thing we ate was amazing. Loved the 24 hour coffee bar with snacks! I was also really impressed with how the staff treated my family members who were celebrating some special occasions - they felt special and were given an in-room champagne breakfast that was truly amazing. They were just thrilled. We find Jamaica to be a bit expensive compared to other options available to Canadians, but we enjoyed this vacation so much we plan on going back in just a few months! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, calm ocean waters most of the time. Took a mini catamaran out for awhile (hobie cat) and paid $20 for the guide, it was one of the most enjoyable parts of our trip. Highly recommend asking for Service to take you out! Also did parasailing :)
The weak points
Far from the hip strip and Margaritaville only offers free transportation in the evening. Couldn't use snorkelling equipment unless you took the guided (free) tour to the reef but not everyone can physically do the tour so we couldn't use the equipment.
Certified

Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2018-03-19
Had an awesome time. Entertainment crew were the best!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment staff were the best. Thank you Marshalee, Hussein, Tishane, Jason, Janesha, Kenijah - you were the best and had a blast hanging out with all of you!! Also, to Germaine who kept all the sand clear from the floors - great job.
The weak points
Sunscape group at hotel trying to sell you a "vacation package" - similar to a time share but different. Say they want 90 minutes of your time - took 4 hours!!!
Certified

You get what you pay for.

, Ddo, QC
2018-03-13
The resort was nice, the food was great a d the beach was amazing. One little thing that you can't help to notice the how the rooms are not cleaned well at all. I tipper my maid everyday yet the floor was not cleaned and I had to complain. One night I dropped my drink on the floor and asked to have it mopped and it was but with no soap so we had an and farm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, amazing food and activities.
The weak points
The hotel should have quality control.. It lacks it from cleaning to other fields. I dont think I should have to ask for toilet paper and if they take my dirty towels they should replace them but 3 times they didn't. The housekepping is terible.
Certified

Sun scape splash

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-19
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience here! No big concerns and we would and hope to go back again with friends and family! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great! Grill for cheese burgers was awesome! No wrist bands, free WiFi all thru the resort. Easy walking distance to everywhere on resort. a la carte restaurants was excellent,no reservations required! Complimentary champagne Brkfst!
The weak points
wouldn't lend us snorkel equipment unless we went on free tour. Hubby can't swim that far! No paddle boats. Beach was small. Made you fill outsurvey,checkout took too long.There was an issue with guests disrupting everyone, staff addressed it immediately.
Certified

Relaxing trip but nothing special

, Barrie, ON
2017-11-14
Not a resort for couples - Great for families! They were very accommodating for all the lil ones and had plenty of highchairs! I think me and my boyfriend were maybe 2 couples that didn't go there with a family.

Rooms - Boring, but who spends their time in the room anyways? Pillows are fairly small too. Each room has it's own air conditioner that you can adjust individually. We were on the 8th floor and had no problem with HOT water.

The elevators were slow, but being a fit couple we didn't mind taking the stairs every once in awhile - Just be mindful of busy times, like dinner when everyone's either going up to their room to get ready or going down to go eat.

Wi-Fi works surprisingly well! Some areas work less great... like at the ocean, but at the room it wasn't a problem for web searching or getting emails - I did try to stream a movie on my tablet but it kept pausing, no biggie though.

I wish the bars had a giant list of drinks and ingredients to see what they could make - there was a blue frozen drink that I asked for because I kept seeing everyone with it, and they asked which one? I guess there was more than one, and they wouldn't tell you a name they just said "I make something special for you" and so you couldn't reorder the same drink.

Beaches - Meh. They are rocky and in some places slimey, but the waters warm and calm! Nothing like the beaches in Cuba.

The people are very friendly and approachable (and for the most part you can understand the majority of them). Felt very safe there, no guns like in Mexico/some areas of Dominican... and not too many people harassing you to buy some mary-j.

If you are looking to go shopping off resort, get a cab to the "hip strip" as they call it. Walk 2 seconds off the resort and get a cab instead of getting one inside the lobby. The lobby will cost you $40 there and back, outside will cost you 30$.

Shopping along the Hip Strip, you WILL get harassed to go into every store, haggle if you do buy anything! Unless you are getting bottles of rum at the store for 20$ or less, just save buying rum at the duty free at the airport on your way home. There is a place called "pork pit" at the beginning of the strip. Absolutely the best jerk pork I've ever had. I'm still salivitating. Worth the walk to get there (maybe 10 mins depending where they drop you off).

The music at the resort is horrible. Sometimes they played it, sometimes they didn't. But all they did play was Bob Marley over and over again.

Waterslodes were a lot of fun! Bring your own tube if you want to use the last river, they only have a few and they get taken early and never given back.

Towels - Some mornings they had them, some they didn't. If they aren't sandy and soaking, best to keep them as long as you can.

Coffee bar was great! They have soft serve icecream that we didn't notice until the last day! Damn.

I'm sure there's more I could point out but I'm forgetting, but I'm not an extremely picky person like some people who do reviews (I'm not bitching about everything I've written just pointing it out). I can say I won't be back to this resort. Not because it was horrible or I didn't enjoy my stay, but because nothing wowed me like other places I've been too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The seaside grill and Asian a la cartes were probably the best a la cartes we have been too - But, there's no reservations so everyone comes at once and the service is slow
The weak points
Service at the bars. You could stand there for 5 mins before someone comes over to you and asks what you want even if they aren't doing anything.
Certified

If that's the best they could do

, Mississauga, ON
2017-06-23
For the occasion i guess it was just ok [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH AND LOCATION
The weak points
NEED MORE VARIETY OF FOOD AND ACTIVITIES
Certified

Great for families!

, Perth, ON
2017-03-05
We had a great week with our 5 and 7 year old. Overall the food, pools, activities were great for all of us.

When we arrived, the regular rooms were tiny and a long walk to kids pools from 8th floor with slow slow elevator. Room was 2 double beds pressed into a small room with tiny bathroom. Not enough space for us to Even unpack for the 4 of us. It was also outdated and not very clean.

We ended up paying an extra $100/night to upgrade to a family suite which was well worth the extra cash. Large bedroom with king bed, living room with queen pull out, kitchenette, large bathroom with tub and shower and a walk in closet off the bedroom. The upgrade included a private butler and access to the better restaurants. The ones with the general room were not very good, understaffed and long waits (not good for kids). The upgrade included access to the 3 nicer more accessible restaurants. Our room ended up with a beautiful ocEan view and huge balcony.

I would recommend anyone coming to sunscape splash with families either book family suite or rooms at sunscape cove (other side of resort) or they may be dissapointed.

We loved the pools with lazy river and the beaches. Night time entertainment was good as well. The staff was amazing and friendly, and had no issues getting to and from the airport.

I wouldn't recommend this place to people who don't want kids around since it's mostly a kids resort.

I also wouldn't pay more than $6000 for a week. We met many families who were there for the week and paid less that $5000 for trip including family suites.

Kids club we only used for a few hours. It was catered towards toddlers and not 5 .. (activities very young).

There is snorkeling right off the beach and on a calm day it is pretty neat! You can go for free with a group or on your own. Young kids can enjoy it as well!

Kayaks are offered for free but only for 20 minutes at a time and long wait for them which was too bad. We weren't able to explore much.

Beaches are small but still very nice.

The pools seem to be the popular point. Waterslides and lazy river as well as 3 more pools give lots of options! It is hard to find chairs to sit on as people seem to reserve Thier chairs early in the morning by putting towels on them. Staff leave them there all day even if the people don't return. We learned quickly to wake up at 3 am to go put towels on the chairs we wantto use for the day! After that it was fine!

There are also a lot of neat excursions for a decent price. We didn't use any cause the kids were happy by the pool.

All in all we had a great family vacation and we would definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, family suites, staff, a laCarte restaurants.
The weak points
Regular rooms, buffet restaurant
Certified

Isunscape splash

, Jamestown, NY
2017-02-27
Great resort for the price this is a 3 star resort not a 5 but the staff makes up close to airport would return with grandchildren [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are great everyone pleasent great snorkeling children seem to enjoy themselfs
The weak points
Resort is tired the staff do an outstanding job to keep place going
Certified

Disappointing even at a lower price

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-01-16
We booked an all inclusive vacation, for three of us, that included 7 days at this resort. Even though our vacation was discounted, and at a lower than expected price, we were still very disappointed with this resort.

The amount of issues with the resort itself were surprising given the apparent popularity with this destination. To put things into perspective I will list the things that we had issues with in no particular order:
- Elevators were broken most of the time and there were 5 reported elevator entrapment's during our stay. We stayed on the 10th and 8th floor.

- Hotel rooms were clean but the beds were hard as rock and the showers had little to no water pressure in addition to inconsistent water temperatures. Prepare for cold showers.

- 80% of the outdoor bathrooms were broken, clogged or overflowing.

- All pools are not heated and were very cold even in direct sunlight. Even the drunk guests stayed away from the pools.

- Both hot tubs were broken and looked like they had not been maintained in many weeks. When asked, hotel staff said "They just broke yesterday. Sorry for the inconvenience". Since we own a hot tub, and know how they work, we could easily tell that both hot tubs were broken for many weeks.

- Nightly entertainment was embarrassing. 80% of the scheduled entertainment never happened and some even without explanation from hotel staff (We all just sat around wondering why nothing was happening). Our entertainment was listening to hotel staff try to be funny on stage, a resident band that were awful and high/drunk or having a "DJ" play music in hopes that adults will dance (never worked as most adults don't find hard core reggae and rap to be dancing material). The best entertainment was the little kids that danced on stage while us parents proudly pointed out who's kid was who's.

- Beaches were not good at all. Most beaches were filled full of rocks, broken glass, garbage and ugly sand. Add in the fact that most people left their half drunk drinks and used towels all over the place what you get is more a scene from Daytona Beach during march break than a nice sandy, family friendly and picturesque beaches (as shown in the pictures for this resort)

- Half the pool-side and beach lounge chairs were broken resulting in uncomfortable seating. Most were stained with beer/booze (to be expected but still gives a bad impression).

- Our room had dust mites and we all got rashes during our first night. The resort manager changed our room (without us requesting) and solved the issue quickly. However, checking the beds nightly for bugs (bedbugs and mites specifically. All other bugs are expected and understandable) is always a bad sign.

- Cockroaches with your buffet?...unavoidable but still gross.

- Disorganized hotel. We had no idea what to do when leaving. All we got was a "Can I take your bags sir?" but yet we had no direction on where to go and what to do after check-out including what airport transfer to take.

- The Italian and Chinese restaurant sucked badly and was not worth the 45 minute wait to get seated.

The good...

- Booze was flowing and we never went thirsty.

- Buffet was one of the best I have ever been to. ALWAYS eat at the buffet.

- Front lobby area was nice and the seating in the area was ideal for drinking and talking etc.

- Super friendly staff for the most part. Very kid friendly.

- tipping always gets you better drinks and faster service. At least your rewarded.

- Pools were clean and well maintained despite being frigid.

Overall this hotel was not worth the money spent even at a discounted price. Some of our issues are understandable (yet still bad), some things are tolerated (no vacation goes smoothly) and some are just plain unforgivable (see above list to determine what you would forgive). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Please see explanation in the hotel review section
The weak points
Please see explanation in the hotel review section
Certified

Great Vacation

, Meaford, ON
2016-12-15
Everything we encountered at this place was above what we expected. Had a great week and have already checked about going back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff speaks English, close to the airport, great food, the place is spotless, unlimited internet the entire place, nice to be able to sit and watch the kayakers, parasailers right from the pool, great week, already thinking of returning
The weak points
One weak point is the beach, it looks beautiful, but the bottom has a lot of coral, so make sure you take your water shoes, but husband went snorkling and said it was great, also lack of info regarding what was avail on resort, we missed a lot
Certified

Family Vacation

, Ingonish Beach, NS
2016-04-15
We really enjoyed this resort! We read some reviews which were not good but the things others didn't like was often what we did like with our five year old. We would recommend it and go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool and restaurants were very good.
The weak points
The rooms were basic but nice. The supplies (toilet paper, towels, etc) were not stocked.
Certified

Don't Do It

, Mactier, ON
2016-03-18
Very poor rooms bad food weedy beach dirty pools The staff are very nice but that the only thing nice don't waste your money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Everything
Certified

Don't listen to the negative reviews

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-02-27
A group of us just got back from this hotel. We had the best time. I was reading all the negative reviews before we left and was so worried.
There is nothing to worry about. We had such an amazing time. Beautiful ocean view room, great food, amazing staff, fun entertainment, great snorkelling and so much fun!

Only bad things were the sit in restaurants need a better system for reservations. Especially if you have a group the waits are long. and the disco stayed open late but the rest of the resort gets real quiet early.

I am home now and really sad. I would definitely go back
L [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling, hotel staff, food, drinks, pools, day entertainment
The weak points
Entertainment stops early and waiting times for restaurants
Certified

Will go back!!!

, Norwich, ON
2016-02-16
Enjoyable week away!!! Great for families!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great stay

, Barrie, ON
2016-02-01
This resort has had a recent facelift which left it nice and clean looking. Rooms were great, beds were just ok but I'm picky for a good firm mattress.

Grounds were nice and big. Beach was cleaned when it needed it.

It's a very child orientated place, we were definitely the minority as a young couple. We weren't looking for a party resort at all, but we also did not intend to book at such a family friendly resort. You would think the pirate ship would be a tip off for us, unfortunately we missed it...But for those that are looking for such a resort, there is a wicked awesome pirate ship, slide and lazy river as well as a great kids program. Not a party resort by any means. Bars close at 2am and don't reopen until 10am. This can be really annoying when you want rum cream in your coffee on the beach in the morning (PRO TIP- get a glass of it the night before, keep it in the minibar, you'll thank me for that later ;-)

Staff were great, no complaints there. Watch if you book your tours, different reps give you different prices, make sure you book it through the official reps for your travel company and not the hotel reps. Resort is a really long walk to town, probably a good hour but we weren't brave enough to try. There are cabs who will take you to town or give you a tour for $30 US.

Food was good enough for what we paid. We were disappointed that traditional Jamaican food wasn't served more often. We didn't see a beef patti on the resort once. Food wasn't overly spicy, which was a downside for us, we like our spice but I expected it from such a child friendly resort. The buffet was a little repetitive for side dishes and wasn't replenished as much as it probably should have been, but they mixed up the meat enough and there was always enough options. They have 2 (maybe 3, though we never saw much happening at the seaside grill) a la carte restaurants. They don't require reservations which is nice, but often the line up began before the restaurant even opened so you would get a really late table. Its a good thing you can sit and drink at the bar for free while you wait. It's no problem mon! You're on vacation and they give you a little buzzy coaster so you know your table is ready.

Beaches were nice to lay on, ocean is shallow there and there was a lot of seaweed and sea urchins with spikes, bring your water shoes or fins and snorkel and you'll be fine. If you go to the furthest beach past the "Cove" side of the resort, it is nice and quiet there. The au naturel beach is just past that, if you prefer a "no tan lines" sort of day. Just don't go there just to peek, if you go you gotta show ;-)

My only real complaint about this resort was the lack of music. There was music playing during the day by one pool, and there was always entertainment at night. It was often quiet during meals and in the lobby or bar.

Definitely worth the price paid to see this amazing country. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff and freshly renovated hotel. Free Wifi in the hotel.
The weak points
Lack of music playing around the resort. For us, there were far too many children around.
Certified

Great for Families

, Scarborough, ON
2016-01-28
Had a great trip with my kids....
could use music at the front lobby pools with the swim up bar! found it to be a little boring! Main pool near waterpark was a lot better!
very clean resort! even the washrooms were spotless all day long! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness
The weak points
Very basic rooms

Great for families

, Cambridge, ON
2016-01-27
Overall the hotel was very clean. Lots of staff always working in the dinning room. Found the service to be slow, but good. We travelled with 4 kids ages 6 & 8 and 6 adults aging from 35-65. After a few days the staff got to know what we drank and would have a big table in our usual area ready waiting with drinks! Its was a nice surprise. The weather was great, rained 1 evening around dinner. There was a bit of construction at the neighbouring hotel but nothing disrupting. Would go there again, but stay longer next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport, waterpark, banana boat ride, beach & pool staff, oceanfront view rooms, hotel layout, drinks and jerk chicken! Tower B has better views of the mountains, watching all the cruise ships come and go.
The weak points
Small rooms, entertainment was either ok or really bad, no shrimp/lobster, very LOUD disco that is empty? Front desk staff lazy and not accommodating when friends were trying to change rooms, no big welcome when we arrived.
Certified

Awesome place

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-01-26
Very friendly staff, very clean, Great Beach ! A great place for families and children ! I would definately come back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020