Royalton Grenada

Royalton Grenada
3.763.763.763.763.76
3.76 based on 17 reviews
#1 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Grenada
Rated 5 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great Family Vacation

, Lake Orion, ON
2024-03-31
The hotel over all did an excellent job, very friendly people, very clean resort and the country in general. We stayed in a diamond club swimout room, which we enjoyed. The food overall was good and about what I would expect at an all inclusive, we really enjoyed the Italian restaurant.

There is a nice beach out front but it is rocky to walk in, it does provide excellent snorkeling so that is the tradeoff, my kids really enjoyed it for snorkeling but not really to swim in. The pools were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly people, clean resort, great snorkeling out front, nice pools, close to the airport but I think I heard 1 plane all week so not an issue at all. Diamond club provided nice snacks in the reception area.
The weak points
Buffett slow to be restocked after a wave of people go through. No enforcement of diamond club, I felt service at diamond club pool was not great considering I am paying for service I expect people to stop by, I think non diamond club had better service.
Sanitary measures
No issues here, very clean resort, plenty of beach chairs and beach towels.
Certified

3rd visit to Royalton Grenada

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-27
We had an amazing experience at Royalton Grenada. This is our 3rd time visiting. Our family has 1 pre teen and 1 teen. The beach is fantastic as is the pool. The water aports team took us on a lovely catamaran ride, which was very special. We all loved our stay. We enjoyed the 1 bedroom presidential suite layout and were very grateful to the maids and also our butlers. Our butlers, Albrad and Lister, were helpful. We enjoyed all the restaurants and wanted to give a special recognition to Uvi. Uvi is the heart of this resort. He is always there coaching his staff and working very hard to make the Royalton the best on the island. He is so committed to the guests. He recognized us as returning guests and made our stay special by always saying hello and ensuring we were happy. He also asked for our feedback and suggestions. This is exemplary. My husband and children are so grateful for his hospitality! I know all the guests were also. I look forward to returning for our 4th visit next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The rooms amazing. The beach bear the watersport center is also. The French and Italian restaurants were excellent. Uvi is exemplary in his role.
The weak points
Some of the brach area can have the rocks removed so there is more swim area.
Sanitary measures
Happy with them. It was clean.
Certified

Nice hotel, good staff

, Ajax, ON
2024-02-27
Great ocean view, clean rooms, friendly staff. My family was able to dine at all the specialty restaurants by just lining up a few minutes before opening time. Buffet had reasonable food, not great, but tasty.

Management team (Food and Beverage) was often walking around trying to proactively resolve issues and get comments from us about what we were enjoying.

Lots of stairs (98 steps up to our room). Not a good hotel if a member you are travelling with has issues going up and down stairs. Good exercise if you enjoy stairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great ocean view
The weak points
Missing items from room at start of vacation (only one bath towel, needed water bottles for mini fridge. Took two days to resolve, but then no issues.

Not exactly Royal but not bad

, Grimsby, ON
2024-02-23
Was at this resort 7 years ago when under different management. It was not much different, a few cosmetic changes like nicer beds, new doors in room, restaurants split in half to provide 2 kinds of foods so smaller. When we arrived at close to 5 pm our room wasn't ready we had to trudge all the way back to reception and I had to push my way through to get another room. Rooms are rather small, one chair to sit on, with terrible lighting in the bathroom and no mirrors outside of the bathroom except on the closet doors. We had to call on 2 separate occasions as we had not been left towels one day and our fridge was not restocked, only needed water but that's important. Wi fi not bad. Buffet still the same. Food is only average, I think they try but it's not really Indian food in the Taj and the French lacks as well. Italian restaurant was the best, if you could get in. This is advertised as no reservation required, but we were turned away 4 evenings even though we lined up right at opening. We were second in line every time and were told they were reserving the tables for Diamond Club and asked to come back at such an unreasonable hour (past 8 pm). This happened all the time to so many people we spoke to. The morning buffet was a line up because you had to check in with your arm bracelet before you could sit down. Even though there were empty tables you still had to stand there in line. In the heat! It is open to the outside, not air conditioned. They just don't have enough staff so they try to seat you in areas where there are staff serving. I wanted salt and pepper but they were all taken by other tables, so that must mean they don't have enough salt and pepper for each table. The island is called the spice island but we asked for nutmeg on our latte, they had none, we asked for nutmeg ice cream, they had none. We wanted a mojito but no mint and I wanted a banana daquiri but no bananas. At one bar the next day I found a banana.
One bartender told me we don't have any bananas because you guys keep eating them. ?? But the staff at this hotel are lovely. Smiling, friendly, attentive if you can find them! The beach needs some attention, there's a huge rock base where you can't even enter the water, so only one good section to get in where everyone goes. They need more gardeners for the upkeep of their plants it is a large estate. Need more umbrellas for shade, everyone fights for them. Again with the chairs, as with other resorts, everyone puts their beach towels on them and thinks they own them as they go off for hours and leave them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, good size so everything spread out. Location excellent. Universal outlets for plugs. Not too crowded, room great view
The weak points
understaffed, reserving restaurants for Diamond Club, no elevator have to walk up 3 flights in heat, food so-so
Certified

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2024-02-21
the resort is really nice the food is good.
Audrey, the manager is very professional and a great person
Andrew, Master omelette maker and a nice person
Alexandria, the hostess with the mostess
UV - Food manager
All the Sunwing Ladies go above and beyond the call of duty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
the people
The weak points
there needs to be more entertainment - it could use a mini casino.
Certified

Vacation at Royalton Grenada 2024

, Guelph, ON
2024-01-30
Beautiful location close to airport - incredible staff looking after your every need - hope to come back here in the near future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Incredible staff making sure that everything exceeded our expectations!
The weak points
Music too loud - need more variation in music styles to appeal to older audiences that they can dance to!
Certified

Hitting its stride as a Royalton resort

, Beaconsfield, QC
2024-01-30
I did not know what to expect as some reviews were negative. I quickly figured out that the resort had been working through the training of new staff, bringing all staff up to the Royalton standard and adjusting smoothly to increased vacationers. When we were there the resort was hitting its stride. Grenada is a beautiful island and this resort is a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed it more each day. Special mention of Janelle-bar, John-lobby, Marsha & Priscialla Italian, Daliann-Nibbles, Whitney-Cafe, Manager of Reception, Yuvi-who spoke to and took care of everyone magically. Audrey your leadership can be felt in all aspects of this resort. I know this resort will be a favourite for all travellers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff-kind and caring. The management-visible and ensures all goes smoothly for vacationers happy and staff. 3 beaches-beautiful and different. Views-breathtaking. Water sports-exceptional. Cafe-favourite for all. Entertainment-saxaphone
The weak points
Consistency of all aspects of the resorts is on its way as the foundation is there and it improved markedly every day!
Certified

Royalton Diamond Club - Swim out suite

, Toronto, ON
2023-12-12
We stayed for 7 days and really enjoyed the hotel and grounds.
We consider the service at the Diamond Club to be Concierge Service, not traditional Butler Service. There were some issues. As great as the staff was, there appears to be a disconnect between the Service Staff and the "Butlers". We should not have to ask the Butler to bring us more soap - Housekeeping should be doing this automatically. As well, not every suite got the same service. We did not receive a bottle of Champagne or fruit platter on arrival while others did. We requested a bottle of white wine but was told to ask the Butler, which we did. We never received it. I would ask for a Corona beer and was told there wasn't any but I kept seeing staff carrying cases of it. We finally found a bottle in the Diamond Club Lounge fridge on our last day. There are limited options for dinner, French, Italian and Indian (which we don't eat) and each have small menus to select from. We ate many of our meals at the Buffet which offered more selection. It would also be more appealing and provide more ambience if there were tablecloths and maybe a candle or flowers on the dinner tables. There's supposed to be a dress code for dinner, but it's not enforced. Nothing like dressing up for dinner and having the girl at the next table wearing Daisy Duke cut off shorts.
We enjoyed our stay but there's work to be done regarding the Diamond Club service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff are courteous and friendly. They will go out of their way to help you if they can and always with a smile. Shout out to Yuvi, Nicole, Carol and Rockey.
The weak points
There needs to be more dining options. Room Service was slow, it took one hour to get a club sandwich delivered to us.
Certified

Great stay

, London, ON
2023-12-06
We really enjoyed our stay and would go back. Hotel was lovely, staff were amazing. We did Diamond Club and thought well worth the money for the extra perks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff was the best everyone very friendly, always asking how our day was.
The weak points
Food was good but not amazing. High spot is the Indian and Italian Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful week at Royalton Grenada

, Milton, ON
2023-05-03
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were attentive, the food was wonderful. We had opted for the Diamond Club and were happy with the inclusions. We would highly recommend and go back ourselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. Our butlers, Fedon and Brad were very attentive! The Diamond Club section of the beach always had chairs available.
The weak points
We were in building 12 and there were a lot of stairs to climb when going back to our room just to get to the main floor. The buffet dining area was not air conditioned. The beach itself was slightly rocky. We would still return though.
Certified

Disappointment

, Niagara Falls, ON
2023-03-17
The property itself was lovely...we were in the new build right on the beach 3rd floor..at extra cost..the staff were friendly and earnest in their efforts, but seemed to have no support or adequate training for some of the tasks..I would criticize management/corporate for this...running out of beer, sometimes twice a day, only to wait til someone went to the onsite warehouse to retrieve another cylinder...the a la carte restaurants, couldn't provide multiple menu items on most nights, the main dining hall/cafeteria was 3 star at best...same things everyday/night, often cold, never a hot carving station, never a feature night, and the juices at the breakfast bar were super sweet, synthetic crystals...very shabby....this was marketed and sold to me as a 4.5 star holiday. Everything, including the flight was sort of shabby...the cabin of the aircraft was dingey, no screens for viewing, not even music in the armrest plug ins...on a five and half hour flight. When our return flight was delayed we still had to leave the hotel at the original time, or lose our free transfer!... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice beach, lovely staff, who really tried hard, weather, local history in st George very interesting
The weak points
Food service

Good place

, Woodstock, ON
2023-03-09
Our room was great. Food was good but not great. Not a lot of choices as seen at other resorts. Staff was friendly. Diamond Club was ok. I don't think we would pick Diamond Club option again as there were not many extras. Diamond Club lounge was very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Room was great by beach view, very clean. Resort location to airport and beach was great. Spa was great. Grounds/Gardens were very well kept. Food tasted great.
The weak points
Food choices were not as good as other resorts. Most staff friendly but some abrupt and indifferent. Diamond Club not worth the cost.
Certified

Royalton Grenada

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-08
Disappointing. Didn't deliver a luxury experience as advertised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach. View was spectacular. Staff was very pleasant.
The weak points
Food was average at best. Regularly ran out of basics like limes and beer. Lacked attention to detail. Buffet was the same night after night. Only one golf cart available for the whole resort. Evening entertainment was loud and didn't suit the atmosphere.
Sanitary measures
Didn't see any.
Certified

Not 5 Star

, Campbellville, ON
2023-01-17
Paid for Diamond club, but definitely did not see any benefit for this extra expense. Butler service was non existent until the last few days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff but they need guidance and supervision
The weak points
Check in process is absolutely awful, diamond club was of no benefit, in fact it took longer than the regular guests. Breakfast items often cold. Butler service non existent until the last few days. Diamond club pool area too noisy and crowded.
Certified

Diamond Club Disappointment

, Caledon, ON
2023-01-02
If we were to base our experience of the Royalton chain on this particular location, we would not ever book nor visit another Royalton Resort.

The level of expectations of Diamond Club service was not achieved.
The location of the Diamond Club area was surrounded by the main pool and all of it's distractions/events, sports centre, main activity area, children's activities and boisterous noises.

The level of privacy that we paid and expected was clearly not met.
We understood that the junior suite/ocean front swim out pool rooms would permit us the privacy that we were accustomed to and did not receive.

The poor design/layout of the Diamond Club area did not allow any sunlight until late afternoon. Our swim out pool was a comfortable arctic bath. Furthermore, there were not steps nor any allowance made to access the beach from the swim out pool. Very ill conceived design.

The Diamond Club Pool was also obstructed; great for those guests who did not care for suntanning.

Albeit not a fault of the resort, we were not able to swim in the ocean for our entire stay (December 11-25, 2022) as there was a red flag posted each day.
Most surprising, no life guard was present. Considering the Diamond Club Pool and the Main Pool were side by side, I would have expected a life guard to be on duty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
255 characters are not enough to express our distaste and disappointment for this establishment
Certified

Lunch bag Letdown

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-29
Hotel and grounds were beautiful. Food was very good. No beers in mini fridge on several days, no towels in our room on last day.
I credit this to travelling on the shoulder of the high season and post pandemic laissez-faire attitude of the majority of the staff. In most cases, felt like we were inconveniencing the staff.
There was exceptional service from some members of their staff. KERL. DENVER. DANIL, DARRY, RONDA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Indian restaurant- flavour and service- spot on! Danil- GIVE THAT MAN A RAISE- phenomenal! Silent Party
The weak points
The pace of service. Bars close too early- I hate the disparity between Diamond Club and other vacationers. Just do away with the classism.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Grenada's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Beaches Families Food & Restaurants Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024