Riu Palace Macao

Riu Palace Macao
4.404.404.404.404.40
4.40 based on 374 reviews
#2 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (60)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

The Macao hotel in Punta Cana - Great experiance

, Puslinch, ON
2020-03-29
hello all, I spent 2 weeks at the Macao adult only and enjoyed every day. The staff and service level was superior and the food was outstanding. I came back home 4 lbs lighter and my partner lost 6 lbs and we dined extremely well. The is for the most part natural and cooked well. The room was fabulous but we had an upgrade. The only complaint was having to leave as we could of remained for a couple more weeks longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not our best experience

, Ogema, SK
2020-02-21
Mostly our stay was very satisfactory. The staff at this resort are very friendly and go out of there way to make your stay very pleasant. Our biggest complaint was, upon our arrival at the resort, after spending over 2 hrs in line ups at the airport, we discovered that our room was not what we had ordered. The bed was only big enough for one person. When we went to the front desk they told us to come back the next day at one and they would give us a room with a king size bed. Just where were we supposed to sleep this first night, take turns on that small bed. In order to get a room to accomadate us that night we had to upgrade which cost us an additional 500 american. I have never booked a room that did not have a king size bed. But they told me that this was what we booked. Because of the additional cost and the lack of concern from the front desk staff, we will not be returning to this resort. This was our second time and we were looking forward to it, what a disappointment . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points about the resort , amazing dining room staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and the service from all was exceptional
The weak points
The weak points are the front desk staff and there unwillingness to work with us to work things out. They were so certain that this is the room I booked and I know for a fact it was not. Very uncaring.
Certified

PUNTA Canada

, Pembroke, ON
2020-02-03
Wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly, especially Manuel and his partner at the beach bar and Daniel in the buffet restaurant who bend over backwards to please us!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful acccomodations, beach, good food, happy staff, nothing was a problem!
The weak points
Wifi was weak and beach had bugs which caused itch, swelling and oozing.
Certified

Riu palace macao

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-31
Our experience at this hotel was great! This was our seventh time here. Food was great, staff is beyond great. We would certainly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Worth visiting

, Mississauga, ON
2019-09-30
Another awesome experience. Hotel was spotless and the staff were amazing. Will never stop going there. They make you feel like family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Serving staff were the best.Specialty restaurants are excellent.
The weak points
Food is good in the buffet. Just a bit bland.
Certified

RIU Palace Macao... never again.

, Embrun, ON
2019-09-14
This was our first and last time in Dom Rep. We usually go 4 times a year to RIU hotels in other countries and this one which by the way was a Palace, was diffinetly not a 5 star. Food was cold and very small quantities, same desert every night, just displayed differently. No seafood except Sushi EVERY NIGHT. Salad bar was plenty but only 2 dressing, mayo and ceasar !! The room was spotless, excellent service, towels changed twice a day and a turn down service. NOW the negative as to why we would never return to this resort. We thought being a adult only resort it would have been more controlled. SMOKERS everywhere and I mean everywhere, not kidding at least 80% of the tourists were smokers not and unconsiderate smokers at that. Many Europeans that did not speak english or french, so they lead us to believe, when we asked politely to go to the smoking area. The servers around the pools catered to them on hands and foot, but since we had to go at the far end of the pool area to avoid all the smoke and the vapors !!! the server would only come maybe once in the afternoon and we left a very generous tip to the pool server as well, but still they would stop and chat with the smokers and bring them refills all the time. I think if we ever go back we will choose a family oriented resort, hoping smokers will have the good sense not to smoke around children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice big beach with a big walkway that connects all of the RIU. Pools were very clean. Service at the dinning room was excellet, Wilson and Santos, made us feel really special, catering to all our needs even before we asked.
The weak points
NO non smoking area, except in the dining room. TOOOOO many smokers out of control. Food was cold and very limited quantity.
Certified

Nightmare

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-05-08
This was a terrible experience. My wife and I went from April 13 to April 20th and we both got sick. She got sick for 5/7 days and I got very sick our last night. My stomach had significant pain and I had excessive diarrhea. Staff there didn't care. Staff also expected tip throughout the whole trip, some even directly asked for it. Service was poor.
When we arrived at home, I went straight to the hospital. I was diagnosed with Salmonella and given pain medication for my stomach. The resort refuses to take responsibility. The Ministry of Health is involved and there is an investigation currently underway at this resort. Do yourself and your health a favour, do not go to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Girls birthday trip

, Moncton, NB
2019-04-15
6 women (age 28 to 47) had a great time at Riu Palace Macao. I do feel its not a true 5star resort, it was great and loved it, however missing those extras. We had a great view from the third floor (pool and ocean view). Loved the smaller feel of this resort, easy walk to everything. Food was great, enjoyed no reservation for a la carte, buffet at breakfast and supper was great, coffee place awesome(Cappacino Bar). Felt safe at all times, the entertainment staff was very nice, all staff helpful. Riu themed pool parties (neon, jungle, white and pink) were awesome (something new to me and I loved it). Really enjoyed all the space on the beach (not one lounger over the other like other resorts - they could check on the loungers and fix/get ride of broken ones), no bar at beach but staff came by often, had fun at the pool bar, we always found loungers there too. The room was nice, clean, still use keys, could upgrade that as well. I think the biggest let down is the premium drinks (not a big deal but we asked for a brand name liquor and was told they didn't have it to go to Riu Bambu, which we did and they had it, you would think the adult only resort, where you pay more would have it before the lower end resort, if they did have higher end liquor, not sure that was what was in the bottle). The croud was mixed (obviously this changes every week). The staff was great on my birthday, sang at breakfast and brought a cake, and the same at supper! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Lots of room on the beach - Cappuccino bar (great ice coffees) - Riu pool parties - unlimited no reservation a la carte - size of resort, all is close, love the location of this resort on Bavaro Beach
The weak points
- 24 hr snack (there is 24 hr room service but not alot of choice) - not having premium alcohol as advertised - broken beach loungers - keys (vers card or bracelet with key)
Certified

RIU experience

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-20
Beautiful resort, very compact so you don't have to do a lot of walking. Lots of shade around the hotel and beach aria. Not crowded and quiet. You don't have to get up early in the morning to get a spot on a beach, it's always available, tons of room. Team members are friendly and helpful. Really nice entertainment every night. Food is good, we liked Italian restaurant and Kristal restaurant, and buffet is really good. And again, not crowded, and no reservation required for restaurants.
The only one thing I would like to mention. We wanted to extend our check out time by a couple of hours, and of course you pay for that, but the front desk did not take credit card payment for this service. I was surprised since we are in a 5 star resort.
Overall we liked this resort, and will recommend it to our friends and family to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation

, Egmondville, ON
2019-02-13
We had a wonderful vacation at the Riu Macau. Our 2nd trip to this resort. It is always clean, and lots of variety of food. The beach is fantastic and the pools are great. This is a fairly low key place. It is not a party place. The staff are very accomodating and always ready with a joke or a smile. We have dietary allergies (Gluten, nuts, Seafood) But were always able to find something to eat. I should mention that it is easier for a Gluten Intolerant person to eat here, rather than a Celiac, as cross contamination would be an issue. However, that would be an issue in any resort. (They have Gluten free bread, and Corn tortillas if you ask for them) They have nightly entertainment that is pretty good. All in all a great time, and very relaxing. Thank you Riu! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We Loved Everything And Came Back

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-02-03
We have been here before and returned for another great experience. If you want a quiet place this is a great Adults
only resort. The staff is helpful and happy, and check-in was
efficient. We were greeted by many that remembered us making us feel like family. We enjoyed the buffet each meal as we just like to pick items from the great assortment
that is presented at breakfast and dinner. Something for everyone. Although it you wish to try the other restaurants
there is the Steak House, Italitan, and the Korean. Entertainment is provided at night but can`t comment as we did not check it out. The entertainment team keeps the activities going to entertain around the pool, so you can keep busy. It is a beautiful area with many chairs around the pool and beach. We just enjoy that it is small resort with access to the other riu`s next to the Macao. We will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good Stay

, Surrey, BC
2019-02-03
Solid stay, beach is great, hotel is nice, staff is excellent, good food, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Test

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-08
test test test test test test test test test test test [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful hôtel (as expected)

, St Zotique, QC
2018-12-31
We enjoyed hotel, staff fantastic (domingo great waiter in dining room)délicious food . Room décorated for birthday unexpected surprise [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
5* food, great service in food areas, maid service exceptionnelle (matilda very efficient)
The weak points
Beach areas need more maintenance cleaning due To algae problem
Certified

Riu Palace Macao

, Woodstock, ON
2018-12-25
Out of all the places I've been so far, this place was the best for food! The buffet was amazing a lot of selection and even for the breakfast. Very clean resort, the staff was always cleaning even by the pool always sweeping. Service for drinks was very good. We would definitely go back there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

14 days in Paridise

, Fredericton, NB
2018-04-20
I have stayed at 8 locations in Punta Cana. The RIU Palace Macao was my favorite. The primary reasons are the staff and the food. I would recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, location. The entertainment staff went above and beyond and really seemed to care about the guest. This is what customer focus should look like. I had to call the desk for a couple of minor issues and the staff arrived within 5 minutes.
The weak points
Perhaps not charge extra for pool view rooms.
Certified

Great time. Safe. Friendly.

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-31
We had a great time at the Riu Macao. We went there on our honeymoon, it was our first time going anywhere warm. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The pools and grounds were spotless at all times. Since it is an adult only resort it lended more towards people over 50 years of age. We did have a problem with our shower door not closing but we didn't care, we told them on our way out so I don't know if they fixed it. Food was average, nothing fancy. The full service restaurants did not require a reservation. There were always open tables for the buffet. The beach was beautiful but definitely not a great place for swimming in the ocean, it was always so windy. It also has a casino but it was tiny and my husband said he did not feel comfortable there due to the fact that he didn't speak Spanish. Live band and dancing in the evenings. Definitely get to the pool early to save a chair and wear SPF 60, I am fair and burnt when I wore SPF 30. It rained every single day but only for 5 or 10 mins t a time. Other couples told us they had been there multiple times and never had it rained that much. The shopping strip is quaint but all the stores sell very similar items. We were allowed to go to the next resort for the water park. It looked like fun but it was tiny and they refused to let my husband go on the slides because his shorts had strings...but so did everyone else's. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Pools. All inclusive. Got us to and from airport on time and without hassle or reservation.
The weak points
Food was average. Casino. Shopping. Gym is inside the resort next door.
Certified

Recommend highly

, Brossard, QC
2018-03-10
From beginning to end this trip was first rate. The hotel was immaculate at all times, staff pleasant and helpful. The beach was splendid. Water a nice temperature and very little seaweed. Although very windy on the beach you can shelter from the wind and still have the beach experience by sitting under the palm trees behind the boardwalk. Chairs are always available.
Food was excellent. Great variety and very tasty at the buffet. Tried the Fusion restaurant and highly recommend it.
It was our first time at an adults only resort and we loved it. Very quiet but lots to do if you are so inclined. Animation staff are friendly but not pushy and always helpful.
Drinks were plentiful. No need for a bubba cup, someone was always there to take your order, even on the beach.
The beach was perfect for long walks, in both directions.
Wifi was excellent even right down on the beach!
Loved our excursion to Isla Saona. Caribbean side is a must see! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, friendly staff, excellent food, plentiful drinks. Amazing wifi. Clean.
The weak points
Very windy on beach. Don't know why, but the air was smoky in the early mornings.

Exceeded my expectations

, Dundas, ON
2017-11-23
This is my second time in Punta Cana, first at RIU resort. I would definitely chose RIU again and would not hesitate to recommend this location. What a wonderful week. Food was plentiful and above average in every way, from taste, variety and presentation. Best of all was the staff. Some of the hardest working and most friendly, pleasant people I have ever met. Special thanks to the Animation Team for making us feel so relaxed. Wilton at the pool bar, Danny at the lobby bar and so many others. You made our vacation extra ordinary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Immaculate, friendly, welcoming. Delicious food, beautiful beach and fantastic selection of pools. Exceptional staff.
The weak points
None

Great Resort! Will definitely return.

, Egmondville, ON
2017-11-20
We had a great week at the Riu Macau. Very clean, friendly staff. Lots of activities. Beautiful beach! Pools were immaculate. Food was very good quality, always something to eat. I am gluten intolerant, and I found lots of variety. Fruits and Veg. were very fresh. Drinks were plentiful. We tipped our drink waiters, and the drinks were always strong enough. We were there to de-stress and unwind. That was accomplished on the beach. It was very quiet there, no loud music or partiers. The vendors are pretty good, just say no, and they don't really pester you. We avoided the swim up bar, as its really loud. But thats just our preference. There was a good mixture of Adults there. From 20 - 70 yrs. old. (we are mid-forties) Fairly low key, definitely not a party place. The steak house was awesome! As was the fusion restaurant Krystal. Wifi was really good too. Never cut out on us, was better than home!! I couldn't get on at the beach, but the signal was strong around the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was beautiful...sand like fine flour. Great food, great drinks. Nice and quiet at the beach. Very clean. Friendly staff. Nice place to relax.
The weak points
We didn't really have anything to complain about. Its really nice.
Certified

Fantastic holiday

, St Catharines, ON
2017-10-13
Love the riu palace macao - second visit to this hotel - the staff are amazing they can't do enough for you. Food was amazing - beach is beautiful as well as the pools - would recommend this hotel highly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great time at the Riu Palace Macao

, Toronto, ON
2017-10-12
Check in went okay, but no welcome cocktail, had to remind them. The first room we were given did not have the pool view we had requested, but after disccussing it with the Manager, we were assigned another room which we were very pleased with. (not much hassle at all - Thanks Widdny.

Beach was lovely, but wished there was more shade.
Pools ( 3 of them) were great. Entertainment stafff tried very hard to have guest participation.

Al La Catre restaurants menus could be better. We actually preferred the buffet four of of seven night. The dining room staff there were amazing. Thanks Angelo, Mateo etc. Also, the morning we were leaving the dining room was not officially supposed to open until 07:00, but it opened at 06:30 am, allowing us to have a good breakfast before out pick-up for the airport at 07:45. - Thanks.
All in all, it was a very enjoyable vacation and would highly recommend this hotel and we would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Suite we had was amazing and quite large. Rooms were cleaned in a timely manner and bar always restocked daily Staff were only to eager to help. House band sang mostly in Spanish, a little English would be appreciated.
The weak points
Not enough shade on beach. Al Carte Restaurants menus could be better Shows were okay, but need to be updated as we have seen almost the same shows for quite a few years now. No Premium Beer - No Bailey's only a poor substitute.
Certified

10 days early April

, Mount Albert, ON
2017-04-21
Television did not work for 3 days. Reported at front desk 3 times. Problem was it was unplugged. Screen doorbroken. Reported 4 times. Never fixed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Had a great time at our first all-inclusive resort

, Rochester, NY
2017-03-29
We had a terrific time at Riu Palace Macao. It was our first foray at an all-inclusive resort and we had a great experience. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, the pools were very nice, and the beach was beautiful. We ventured over to one of the neighboring family-focused resorts briefly and came away very happy we'd chosen an adults-only resort. : ) Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The adults-only atmosphere was key. And the beach was awesome
The weak points
We would rate the food overall as average/above average, depending on the restaurant, but certainly not bad
Certified

RIU Macao Palace

, Orleans, ON
2017-03-21
Overall, the hotel was small compared to other RIU hotels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was one of the best we have been to.
The weak points
The food was bland.
Certified

Awesome week!

, London, ON
2017-03-12
Overall we had a great week at Riu Palace Macao.
Check in was smooth and the room was nice. Very modern and white, but clean and comfortable. One large building, but lots of open air.
This is a very compact resort and really excellent for anyone who has trouble getting around or is not able to walk far distances. The restaurants, pools, beach, bars are all very close together and enclosed by the U shaped resort building.
The beach is really nice, you can walk for miles either way. Walking some other resorts, the beaches were crowded, making it tougher to have a really enjoyable walk. But the beach was quite spacious at the RIU properties and no trouble getting beach chairs etc.
The pools were nice and lots of chairs available. The swim up bar is amazing, very comfortable and fantastic service. The do have waiter service at the pool areas, the beach and the sand area in between.
The food was good at all the a la cartes and in the buffet. The best experience for dining was Krystal which had the best ambiance and most interesting menu. This was our first visit to the DR and although the food was good, we were expecting more. Having primarily traveled to Cuba and knowing the food was a weak point there compared to other destinations we were expecting a more significant jump in quality and presentation then we received. Although, no complaints about any meal.
The resort is a bit quieter, but the disco shared with the other RIU resorts is quite active and a genuine club atmosphere. The lobby bar has nightly entertainment which was better some nights then others.
Overall a great, relaxing fun holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool bar, lobby bar, beach, compactness of resort. Proximity to other resorts you you can access.
The weak points
Food was not as great as anticipated. Wine was really hit and miss -some was really bad. Possibly an incentive to order an upgrade bottle and pay for it. They only had Presidente beer available in an form on the resort. An option would be nice.
Certified

Pas vraiment un Palace

, Boisbriand, QC
2017-01-01
Nous avions des attentes un peu trop élevées ayant visite le Rio Palace Mexico il y a 2 ans. La qualité et la diversité de la nourriture était nettement inférieure cette fois-ci...et pourtant nous y étions à Noël! À part un cocktail et des bouchées servis dans le lobby la veille de Noël l'événement est presque passé inaperçu. On a tout de même bien mangé toute la semaine mais la nourriture n'est pas celle que l'on sert dans un palace. On nous annonce du crabe au menu mais en fait on nous sert du goberge. Le vin "maison"servi est mauvais et le blanc ressemble à un cidre de pomme, le mousseux aussi d'ailleurs. Sauf que si vous en faites la demande,ils ont un vin espagnol, le Legitimo (en rouge comme en blanc), qui est de meilleure qualité et correct. La qualité des boisons servies n'est pas à la hauteur d'un 5 étoiles. Des boissons sucrées, glacées (slush) auxquelles on ajoute des alcools de qualité moindre. Le pire Piña Colada jamais bu dans mes voyages...pas de lait de coco ni de jus d'ananas, ni mélangeur. Même les colas utilisés dans les bars sont de moindre qualité, les jus de lime sont des concentrés de jus sucrés. On apportait les bouteilles de Pepsi de notre chambre et des quartiers de lime du buffet pour se faire faire un Cuba libre. Dans les chambres, ils mettent de la Coors light. Cependant, on a pu avoir de la Presidente suite à une simple demande. La chambre était confortable,propre et conforme à nos demandes. Pas de robe de chambre ni pantouffles pour ajouter au confort des voyageurs. Les lieux et les piscines sont très propres et le personnel est souriant et dévoué,sans attendre de pourboire. On peut manger à l'extérieur en tout temps et l'endroit est confortable. Seul désagrément est le bruit fait par les serveurs le matin avec la vaisselle. On n'entend qu'eux dans un fracas insouciant en plus de se crier d'un bord à l'autre. Le Riu Palace Macao est au centre de 5 complexes Riu. On peut aller dans les Riu réguliers mais on n'a pas accès aux installations des autres Palaces. Dommage. L'équipe d'animation est discrète et les activités sont courtes. Il n'y a pas vraiment d'ambiance. Le Bambo est beaucoup plus dynamique mais aussi plus cordé à la piscine et sur la plage. On allait y danser après souper car l'ambiance est plus "cool".
La plage est magnifique, parfaite pour des longues marches et le sable est fin et blanc. La mer est plus agitée car la dénivellation est importante et le soleil fait dos à la plage une grande partie de la journée. Les chaises sont disponibles en tout temps partout sur le site et puisqu'il n'y a pas de palapas mais des palmiers en grande quantité, on peut aisément être au soleil ou à l'ombre. Il suffit de marcher le long de la plage et de comparer avec les autres hôtels pour apprécier le confort de l'endroit.
Ce fut neanmoins une très belle semaine reposante. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
La plage mais surtout la tranquillité de la plage sous les palmiers Hôtel propre et confortable.
The weak points
La musique américaine des années 80 tant à la piscine qu'au lobby.Nous préférons la musique locale ou minimalement la musique latino lorsqu'on est en voyage. On se couche tôt tellement il n'y a pas d'ambiance.

Excellent resort & amazing staff!

, Sudbury, ON
2016-03-24
Our 10-day vacation at RIU Palace Macao was phenomenal! This is a top-notch adults only resort directly on Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana. We had a Junior Suite (their standard room), very spacious, modern washroom with 2 sinks, granite counters, huge walk-in glass shower, luxurious towels & amenities, super comfortable KING bed, dresser & large closet with in-room safe; 2 wing chairs & table in sitting area, liquor dispenser with rye/rum/vodka & gin. Fridge well stocked with various mixers, water & soft drinks, lots of Presidente beer very good, all re-stocked daily! Excellent daily housekeeping by Josephina & nightly turn-down service with fresh towels,etc. Balcony overlooking garden had 2 chairs/table as well as drying rack for clothes & towels. Property is immaculately clean & well-maintained, hotel grounds are superbly landscaped, a lush tropical paradise. Pool area immaculately clean, lots of lounge chairs & shaded areas. During our stay, we dined at each à-la-carte restaurant, food was phenomenal at each one… Pancho had great steaks, the evening atmosphere at Krystal was extra special … Reservations MUST be booked in advance & only done in morning, near Kabuki Restaurant , from 7:00 am to 10:30 am . Also, you can only book 2-3 days at a time which I found very frustrating, and some restaurants have very limited seating , so I strongly recommend that you get there very early morning to avoid disappointment.El Patio Buffet for breakfast & dinner was incredible, great variety to please all, loads of fresh fruit, nice atmosphere, and the staff was most welcoming, attentive & so eager to give you a pleasant dining experience at each & every meal. Server Roberto was definitely our favourite, such a wonderful & pleasant ambassador for the RIU Macao, he greeted us each day upon our arrival! Server Aquino also provided spectacular service, in both the buffet & also Pancho at lunch time. Both are such assets to this establishment. Service at this hotel was always professional & friendly, staff always smiling in restaurants, bars, housekeeping, pool , animation team, etc. Incredible front desk staff were always helpful & cheerful & friendly. We did enjoy shopping on hotel's Caribbean Street but did not attend their street party night, as we were told by different guests that the vendors were extremely aggressive. Beach was spectacular, NO WEEDS or rocks, just incredible silky sand, lots of tall & short palm trees if you want shade, many lounge chairs & not overcrowded, so enjoyable! If you walk approx 45 minutes on right of hotel beach, there is a flea market with many vendors, pleasant browsing with no pressure. Very pleasant walking on this long, long beach, there is even a beautiful huge “stand alone & leaning” palm tree on a vacant beach lot if you walk approx 45 minutes on left of the RIU hotel beach area – great photo op! People were easily climbing this very leaning palm tree for pics! This was our 1st trip to the Dominican, and we will definitely be returning to the Riu Palace Macao, a tropical oasis! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
their amazing staff, always friendly & superbly professional; silky sand beach; entire hotel & grounds immaculately clean & well maintained
The weak points
none
Certified

Resort review-Riu Palace Macao

, Ennismore, ON
2016-03-10
we had overall a lovely experience. Lovely accommodations. Plenty of food/drinks. Exceptional staff. Food was good but could have some improvements in variety in the buffet. Was not very impressed that in order to upgrade to a room with a view I had to pay in cash - us funds $140. They would not accept credit card for that particular transaction. Wifi was very spotty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dining staff are excellent! Could not be more accommodating. Rooms were spotless. Beautiful beach front
The weak points
Food was not quite up to par in the specialty restaurants. Buffet was good but lacked a change up in variety.
Certified

Japanese Restaurant

, Milton, ON
2016-03-03
Very disappointing! Need to change the venue for this. Expected the central grill ( as other resorts ) Terrible food. We left hungry and went to buffet. Not worth the wait for reservation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
enjoyed the cleanliness, and evening room/bed service
The weak points
reservations for dinner are annoying
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020