Riu Palace Punta Cana

Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.084.084.084.084.08
4.08 based on 165 reviews
#19 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (40)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
$wpages 1234

BN

, Brossard, QC
2020-02-11
The hotel is beautiful , Front desk is fantastic . The buffet is good . The room is nice and clean . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel
The weak points
The swimming pool
Certified

Great Place!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-16
This was my first all inclusive resort, it was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool bar, the beach, the staff and crew
The weak points
food was average, but plentiful
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana

, Oromocto, NB
2018-02-23
we just got back 2 days ago, and I want to return...staff at check in were awesome, most of not all speak english.. The lobby was large and beautiful, very clean and inviting.. took the elevator up to our room on the third floor, it was huge (all rooms are jr. suites), massive clean bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, (which was a little dated).. had a very comfortable king size bed, large closet, 2 dressers for storage, a safe and an awesome balcony.. the rooms have a well stocked fridge and a fully stocked bar on the wall just inside the door... if I had any complaints at all it would be our view... if we looked to the left, we could see the beach, (straight and to the right) we could see the resort be side us, and trucks delivering to their kitchen.. not a big deal, but if I went back I would ask for a room facing the fountains...they would be nosier because that is the centre of the resort and that is where the nightly entertainment is....they have 5 Al La Carte restaurants , hear good things about all of them, but only tried out the Krastal.. it was way to fancy for us, but lots of people seemed to love it... the 2 buffets were awesome.. lots of choices, different food every day... the place was immaculate and the staff second to none... a very compact resort, but has everything you need in close proximity.... the beach is awesome with waves every day, the only down fall to that is couldn't snorkel because you could see anything but beautiful anyway, cleaned daily (even had someone with a machete chopping little sticks and roots from the beach)..lots of shade for those of us who burn easy, but lots of sun for those who love it... plenty of chairs and tables, and always waiters looking to fill our bubbas, also had a few venders selling their wares, but same as anywhere.. they weren't too pushy.. one week in definately not enough on that beach.. with a bar and steakhouse close by (buffet by day, al la carte by night)..wifi was strong all over the resort, even the beach
now the down side (if we can call it that).. the pool.. had a small front row access to the pool and the rest of the seats were behind hedges so you couldn't see the pool from the back rows, there were rumors of the staff saving seats for the regulars.. and others being left out because towels were on chairs to save them at 6 am.. then the rain would blow through and the towels would get wet and they would change them out.. and then there were not towels for the rest
they are closing this resort for 3 and 1/2 months starting in April.. apparently they are going to upgrade the a/c unit, some of the furniture, redo some of the rooms and the pool area... just hope they don't interfere with the cosiness for the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the checkin, the rooms, the food, the staff, the beach, the wifi available everywhere on the resort, even the beach.. and the little shops.. access to all 5 Riu Resorts
The weak points
mainly the pool.. it was small and never enough seats or towels.. come afternoon the "entertainment" would start and the loud music playing and dancing.,, not always appropriate for children... rumors of staff saving seats for regulars..
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Pierrefond, QC
2017-12-06
Clean, nice, generous, ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana

, Niagara On The Lake, ON
2017-08-11
Fantastic all inclusive - one of the best beach areas and crystal clear ocean. Food was wonderful - and staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach and ocean area; incredible wait staff.
The weak points
Shows need to be a bit earlier
Certified

Beautiful ......

, Mississauga, ON
2017-07-04
Was not too happy about having to pay a fee at the airport upon arrival and departure. We paid 90$ all together for a family of 3. Beautiful hotel but needs some TLC. Grounds, pool and beach were great. Well kept. Beach had a lot of the seaweed from ocean that washed up, needed to be cleaned up. Plenty of beach chairs to select from. waves are pretty big and can be a bit rough sometimes but still had its nice moments and water was warm and a gorgeous blue/green. food was good, lots of variety. snack bar can be better. Most times, not enough food out or what was out was not fresh. lots of people approach selling souveniers but just say no and they are good about it. Most staff are friendly, can be friendlier though as there is a language barrier. NOT enough music during the day around pool or beach at all. Seemed a little too quiet sometimes. turn down service in the a.m and p.m and if you do NOT wish for service then you better put the sign on the door. They tap the door then just waltz in and scare the bejeeges out of you. Was not impressed with that as we had a 2 and a half yr old and it was past 9pm. Room service menu can definitely be better, more options. At the moment they have 4 options. Towards end of trip Phone in our hotel room stopped working. Elevator in the hotel was always out of service and we had a stroller. Walk to the waterpark was about 10 Min's. Wasn't bad, but more for adults who love the big water slides. The kids toddler area was nice but adults can't do much with the little ones as they are not allowed to go down the slides with the toddlers or infants. PRO: beautiful and very grand hotel. CON: seaweed at the beach by water. Enjoyable, Relaxing and a good place for family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drink service on the beach and poolside.
The weak points
Hotel needs to pay attention to small details like cleaning up seaweed on the beach. Entertainment/music on the beach and poolside.
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana

, Burlington, ON
2016-04-06
My boyfriend and i stayed at Riu Palace PC end of May 2015. The grounds were beautiful and very clean. The room we first got smelled of mold so i asked to be moved and they moved us to another room that was a lot better. the beach wasnt what i was used to because i have been spoiled by Cuban beaches, but it was good. the waves were strong and there was a lot of seaweed but it was a nice bright blue. the food was delicious but both me and my bopyfriend ended up getting sick. The service was best i ever had in any hotel, very nice people , attentive and such. Pool was fun and had good entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wonderful staff, tasty food
The weak points
beach wasnt the best
Pro

The Best!!

, Laval, QC
2015-09-27
Transferred over from next door Riu Bambu, best decision ever. All was great, beach,pool,food,rooms and especially staff.Even the night shows were entertaining.Lots of laughs with Gazoline,Tekila, Joselito and rest of entertainment team.Every day was enjoyable.Lots of shade under the many palm trees on beach, pool spacious and clean...can go on and on, will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything you can think of.
The weak points
Nothing you can think of

Nice place

, Mississauga, ON
2014-12-22
This is the 2nd time we have found a very musty smell at a RIU resort room. Our first room given was very bad for this smell. When i complained the next morning they seemed to expect it. They knew that room has a problem but it was the last one they had available when we arrived late at night. They did quickly get us a new room on the top floor on the other side of the building which gets they sun and still Ocean/pool view. This was satisfactory although the new room also had a slight musty smell in the entrance/washroom area only. We decided that we could deal with it. Apparently this is impossible to eliminate in the tropics in rooms with such frequent usage.
Other than that the resort is nice. Food is good though repetitive. The wine offered was horrible i must say. If you are going to have such poor quality house wine at least offer some better wines for purchase at the tables. The hotel store had a few wines that were ok for sale but at a price 3 x what I would be willing to pay. $31 for a bottle of Chilean Cab/Sav. I know this type is sold for about $6-7 in the USA. Anyway they had great Espresso and poured good liquor at the bars. Jose Quervo, Ron Barcelo aged, Stoli vodka, Beefeater Gin. Ask for the better stuff or they may pour you the national brand :/ One other thing the resort has 3 or 4 huge decoration pools. If anyone out there in management is listening, dig up a few of these wasted spaces and add more swimming areas and atleast one more pool bar. They have only one bar for the entire beach and pool area. Mind you they service to your chair for drinks was fairly prompt. The servers are eager to get you drinks. They insist that they go for you even if you haven't been tipping much. Overall a nice beautiful location but some needed improvement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good waitering staff and entertainment. Pool was well maintained and deck staff willing to help. Good disco in next resort.
The weak points
Red house wine is horrid. No beach huts or umbrellas. Few bars on the pool/beach. No beach BBQ or snack stand. Musty rooms. Pay for drinks at the neighboring Macaou Disco even though it's Riu owned.
Certified

Punta Cana

, Laval, QC
2014-04-11
Excellent hotel, beautiful beach, baby friendly. Very disappointed in medical center service. Do not get sick on vacation! Medical center charged us for a visit without providing any help. They told us go to the hospital. We needed simple prescription for infection. For a tourist it is not ideal to go to the city to local hospital. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Internet did not work all the time
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana

, North York, ON
2014-04-01
This hotel is beautiful, however the guest rooms could use some updating. The food & service was excellent and the staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and service was excellent, and the staff were great, always pleasant and went out of their way. The public areas of this hotel are beautiful.
The weak points
The guest rooms need to be updated. Key cards for the rooms instead of large keys & electronic safes would be good. Gym equipment didn't work very well.
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana

, Ottawa, ON
2014-02-19
All I can say is it was a fabulous and beautiful resort. Very nice staff and wonderful food and service. Great nightly entertainment too! I will be booking there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The quality of the food is really good.
The weak points
Front desk could use more training-I called home twice thinking it was collect but had to pay 81.00 US at check-out! OUCH!
Certified

Overall a really nice place

, Regina, SK
2014-01-20
The grounds and location of the resort was very good. The beach was nice and wasn't over crowded; however the water was quite rough. Rooms were average, beds were uncomfortable. Buffet food was good, al a carte menu was average but still good. Drink menu was average but full selection of back bar liquor was available which was nice. Over all I would recommend someone to stay at the Riu Palace Punta Cana. The staff were accomodating, food and drinks were good (just not phenomenal) beach and water were nice. Entertainment was lacking at night but over all a nice place and I would go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, grounds/layout were great with respect to the ocean/ammenities. Food was pretty good, beaches were very nice.
The weak points
The rooms were definitely lacking comfort. The beds were uncomfortable, and they were two doubles pushed together to make a "king", blankets were light, air conditioning failed to de-humidify the room.
Certified

Amazing week in paradise

2014-01-12
Amazing, would recommend anyone to this resort. You truly get what you pay for, and are treated like a king/queen. Amazing food, entertainment, staff, service, and the beach is spectacular! Totally worth the price. I will be returning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing vacation, everything was spectacular from food, beach, service, rooms, and staff!
The weak points
None
Certified

A week is enough.

, Ajax, ON
2014-01-11
This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are fantastic but it gets repeatative after one week. The food in the second week is the same and the entire routine of the resort does not change at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff and beach
The weak points
the food and activities
Certified

Riu Palace Punta Cana - Go for it!

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-10
Would recommend (and have) to others. Beautiful hotel and beach. Could improve on the wine selection. Great buffet and specialty restaurants. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is majestic. Buffet very good. Good selection of specialty restaurants but a couple of them were not good. The French restaurant and the steak house were very good. Entertainment was excellent.
The weak points
No clock in room. Problem with toilet. Need to pay more attention to room requirements (glasses, towels, etc.). Poor shower pressure. Need to get rid of the Japanese and Italian restaurants - so bad. Should improve quality of wine selection.
Certified

Excellent resort

, Dollar Des Ormeaux, QC
2013-11-29
Just came back from a 10 day stay at this resort. It's was our third time there!
The premises are very clean everywhere.
The service was excellent with the exception of the pool bar where the service and quality of drinks was very inconsistent from one time to the next.
The food at the buffet was enjoyable and very well presented. Nothing special about the a la carte restaurants.
The beach is very wide, clean with lots of palm trees to provide shade. The ocean can be a little rough at times.
The pool, although we did not use, was well frequented with lots of loungers and parasols.
Free WiFi everywhere is appreciated.
The lobby, lobby bar, buffet and restaurants are all non-smoking.
Live band on the Plaza after supper and before the nightly show.
Overall very enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, shade on beach, nice food choices
The weak points
Pool bar staff inconsistent. Ocean can be rough sometimes.
Certified

Great location and weather

, Mississauga, ON
2013-06-23
Good one but not the best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and food
The weak points
Language barrier no body can communicate in english
Certified

Our May/Jun 2013 stay at Riu Palace Punta Cana

, Brooklin , ON
2013-06-10
Over-all, we would like to go back. Over-all, we felt we had been treated very well & had a wonderful time. We do highly recommend this property to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This 4.5 star property is located on a clean beautiful stretch of beach. The staff were hard-working & service-oriented warm people. Great desserts!
The weak points
The buffet in comparison to the Grand Bahia Principe wasn't as fresh (salad bar). Needed more variety in healthy hot dishes. Desserts were fantastic! This hotel should have a games room for nighttime activities other than the nightly show.
Certified

Good Value for your money

, Montreal, QC
2013-05-29
Clean Room, nightly turn down service, main buffet was fantastic better that the a la cartes except for Krystal, staff was amazing all over the resort except for the Reception which were unfriendly and seemed bothered if you asked for information or assistance. Keys for the door and safe were annoying to carry around and especially since we only had one and my husband and I would do separate activities became annoying to wait for each other. Night club big disappointment, no entrance fee but the paid bar was ridiculous since it serves 5 all inclusive Riu resorts which all supply alcohol. The DJ was terrible. Entertainment at the theatre was satisfactory but the entertainers themselves were very friendly. Ernestina at the Krystal restaurant and Suero the bartender/waiter were the staff members that impressed us the most with their modest sophistication and eagerness to please. The beach and weather were very nice. We ate well large variety in the buffet, we drank well, we were well served and slept easy in a clean room. It was overall a lovely vacation. Note: Many complaints of musty smell and wet clothes and bed sheets in rooms close to the beach the view may be nicer but don't risk your comfort any room near the beach will be damp.Free Wi-Fi was appreciated. Enjoyed the dancing at the gazebo every night with the live music but the overall ambiance was dull every night. They should suggest turning the theatre into a lounge after hours and adding a beach party one night a week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Friendly Staff, Great Main Buffet, Fresh towels daily.
The weak points
Reception staff, keys to room and safe, only one key offered for 2 people inconvenient, paid bar at nightclub, DJ at nightclub.
Certified

Amazing

, Scarborough, ON
2013-05-22
Very pleased with this hotel and would go back there next year. 1/2 hr from the Airport, very pleased with the reception, room was very cool amd comfortable, great food, beautiful beach and well kept grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, accomodation, beach and food
The weak points
none
Certified

Summer vacation

, Markham, ON
2013-05-21
This is the first time to Punta Cana, and we like it very much, especially the outdoor patio with life band, sit down and have a couple drinks, do a little dance, it's so enjoyable after dinner, next time I'll choose Riu Punta cana again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice beach with white sand,my room is clean every day and food is good too.
The weak points
I don't see any weak points to say.
Certified

Riu Palace

, Thornhill, ON
2013-04-29
Lovely spot and very nice staff. We especially liked the ambience of outdoor courtyard at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful setting, especially the ambience of outdoor courtyard at night.
The weak points
Simpler way to use the interrnet and elimination of towel cards.
Certified

A wonderful vacation

, Kanata, ON
2013-04-08
Riu Palace Punta Cana is a great place to vacation. The rooms are comfortable, large and the view was fantastic overlooking the fountains and also the superb ocean! Upon arrival, reception treated us promptly, courteously and with a great smile. We were given all we needed and a bellman helped us with our luggage to our room. Nemen at reception is a pleasure to deal with and ensures to make your stay as pleasurable/enjoyable as he can.
The pool doesn't look very big from the pictures or at first glance however it has proven to be a fair size. I love the ocean so most of my time was spent on the beach which is phenomenal. The service staff on the beach is wonderful as they continuously bring "refreshments" to you on the beach. Around the pool, Leo is a breath of fresh air. So kind and such a wonderful smile. He is definitely in his element as you can tell that he loves what he does. Francisco, Chino and Juan Carlos are all excellent servers at Don Manuel buffet restaurant and the filet mignon was excellent at Krystal. The food choices are plentiful and there's something for everyone. The "Animacion" group is also fantastic. They are such talented individuals and make the experience even better.
Overall, it was an great experience with above average service from the staff at reception, to the bartenders, servers, pool boys, towel cabana boys, gardeners, animation group and the cleaning staff (very clean resort, rooms , lobby and washrooms around the resort). I will definitely visit Riu Palace Punta Cana again in the future!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport, excellent service, superb beach with lots of chairs, nice pool area, extremely clean resort, quick replenishing of the in-room mini bar and all of the staff are excellent. Staff kindness truly stands out!
The weak points
No beach towels on the first day as we got in around noon.
Certified

This was a 5 star. Very Pleased.

, Kitchener, ON
2013-03-27
It was a great holiday, the staff and the resort was amazing. I would go back to a Riu Palace in another country again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service and everything was impeccable.
The weak points
Internet access you had to put in the password every time.
Certified

Nice Vacation - Relaxing

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2013-03-25
The beach and the staff at this hotel make it a 5 star. The rooms are getting a little dated and do have an odor. We also found the pool for this size resort to be small. We wondered when they cleaned it - we saw scum on the surface more than one occasion. It really didn't bother us because we're beach people and Bavaro Beach is one of the best. Food at the resort was also very good. We ate mostly at the buffet and once at the steak house which we found good as well. I would consider this resort to be a 4 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at this resort make it a 5 star.
The weak points
The rooms do smell as do the beds.
Certified

Fabulous Resort and Room - Food was Awful

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-10
The resort was beautiful , the room was the best we have ever stayed in , the staff was great and saw to our every need , the food however was terrible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room we booked made the trip. As Nelson at the front desk said as he gave us the room key " the best of the best" and he was right.
The weak points
The food was a tremendous disappointment . The food at the main buffet was poor but at the 3 "specialty restauants " was brutal. From lobster that was mushy at the Steak and Seafood to the Tempora Shrimp and Vegetables dripping in grease at the Japanese.
Certified

Spring Training

, Stittsville, ON
2013-02-14
Not sure it's a 5 star anymore. Rooms getting a little tired. Heard major renos are coming. Should have a better selection of beer. Draft lines need to be flushed. All in all still a great place to vacation. Would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Staff, Buffet restaurants, Steak House.
The weak points
Terrible draft beer. Should only use cans. Need a better beer selection.
Certified

BELOW EXPECTATIONS. DISAPPOINTMENT.

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-01-25
I would divide a review into PROS and CONS sections, so even by the size of the sections you can see, what a disappointment this resort was.

PROS:
- great location
- ocean (nothing to do with the resort)))
- beautiful architecture
- landscaping ( they do cut the grass, cut the bushes, take the dead leaves off the palms. They maintain all the greenery in a pretty good shape)
- comparing to all closest resorts – the beach is the emptiest, not that overcrowded like everywhere else (as it is just 612 rooms)
- cleanliness of the beach area (almost every day guys from the resort cleaned the sand from different small debris and plastic cups)
- the ocean view La Altagracia restaurant right on the beach, so you can have your lunch without coming back to the main campus

CONS:

- STUFF (no language abilities, no brain abilities. They work there not to satisfy the customer, but to argue with one.)
* When we came, we specifically asked for a king size bed, the guy at the reception confirmed we have it. When we came to the room there were 2 twins. We returned to the reception and asked for another room , when we came to that one, the balcony was a part of the roof of Don Manuel Restaurant. The roof was heated from the sun and instead of fresh air on the balcony you were getting heat and cigarrete smoke (later I will mention this horrible part), as well as the bed wasn't made, the bathtub was dirty, like people left the room and the maid haven't done it yet, so we came back to the reception and FINALLY got the third room which was nice. I have to mention that we were running all those distances between reception and the rooms (those if you can see the picture of the resort are pretty long) after a flight and a trip by bus. We were exhausted. Not to mention they forgot to give us the bracelets for the resort.
* The one more trouble with the stuff we had when leaving to the beach in the morning (7am) we left a green card on the door to clean our room, when we came back in the evening (5pm) the room still was not ready. We had no dry towels. So we called a guy at the reception to ask for somebody to clean our room and that we were leaving for dinner. He barely spoke English and to all my questions he was saying “yes” . When we came back from the dinner it was about 7:30 pm the room was still not cleaned. We called the reception again and another guy said that they did not know anything about our problem as we never called..... That was unbelievable! Finally we asked to send somebody not to clean but to bring 4 fresh towels, after 30 min a girl came and brought just 2...
* I'll mention the food later but, here is one more experience with the local stuff. After their buffet I had a problem with a stomach pain and we asked to bring us chamomile tea. 5 minutes the girl from the bar was trying to understand what was it that we were asking for. My husband took out his Samsung Note and draw her a chamomile))) and put a name for the flower, she said they have just black tea or green tea. Ok, we said, bring the green. She never came back. We waited for 40 min and left...We came to a buffet after and explained the same thing to a waitress there she did not understand us at first, but after $2.00 tips she said : “oh why do you need green tea? chamomile is so good for the stomach I will bring it to you right now, and she brought a BOX of the chamomile tea bags from the kitchen.... This is how we understood that local stuff learns language by the tips only!!!! The same problem we had with the guy serving cocktails on the beach, we asked for non-alcoholic copacobana, he never came back...

-FOOD ( got a lot worse within less than a year)
* our parents spent their vacation at this resort in the end of March 2012, they told us about the huge cakes at the dessert table, about the variety of meat and fish there. During our visit the flies were all over buffet...All the small desserts (no huge cake where you can cut by piece) looked very colorful but tasted all the same and were the same every day.
* Meat – beef, pork, chicken – everything what was fried or grilled by piece was raw inside. We had non –stop stomach problems.
* Fruits. In Canadian grocery stores you can see boxes where they dispose overdue bananas – this is how they looked at the resort's buffet . Every day. Watermelons- pink full of seeds. Pineapples – white barely ripened.
* NO FRESH JUICES (I guess you would expect the island country to have lots of fruits and juices?? ) not here... All the drinks are local pepsi, tonic, soda, and orange something. All the “supposed to be juices” are from the machines where they put water and colored flavors, which taste crazy artificial and sugary. All the cocktails are made with lots of local low quality alcohol and the same artificial flavors. In the morning the buffet has a stand with “so called” freshly squeezed juices. They have some fruits behind the containers with juices like it was made from them. But we saw a guy that opened the cans with tomato paste , mixed it with water and poured it to the container that had a fresh tomatoes behind it, funny eh?
When we came back from the vacation to the frosty Canada we had an unbelievable joy drinking our Tropicana )

- SMOKE or should I say SMOG? Because this is what surrounds the lobby, the bars, the plaza in front of the resort. I gave up smoking 4 years ago. My husband is allergic to tobacco, he can be actually sick by breathing the smoke. We were unable to watch any single entertainment show because the plaza and the entertainment lobby were all in smoke. It was hard to breath. I don't know how people can bring small kids in this resort??? The smoking is allowed everywhere!
We couldn't eat outside because all the patios were filled with smoking people.


- BEACH TOWEL HUT. The small hut that supplies people with beach towels when you give them your towel cards – for 2 days in a row was out of towels!!!! And we had to go back from the beach to look for some maids and to take towels from them.

CONCLUSION:
It is a beautiful resort with a great beach, where everyone speaks no English, everyone smokes everywhere , the food is pretty poor , no fresh juices , and it takes time to solve problems with the stuff.
Would we consider to go there again? No. Would we recommend it to our family and friends? No [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, the ocean, the beach, the architecture.
The weak points
All of the rest.
Certified

Will return to the dominican!!!!!!

, Woodstock, ON
2013-01-02
Really enjoyed our vacation!!!
Travelled with group of 5 and encountered only professionalism and courteous service. Completed one excursion to Sting Ray Bay where our family swam with sting rays, nurse sharks and out on the open reef. The trip was excellent and the kids loved it. This is my fourth trip to a RIU, but the first one to a palace and we enjoyed it, although our previous experiences at the other RIU's were also very good. The surf at the hotel was strong and the kids really enjoyed playing in the waves. The food was very good and the drinks are wonderful. Overall very relaxing and I highly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, room, beach, location, food and drinks!
The weak points
Late night food is sparse
Certified
$wpages 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020