Punta Cana Princess

Punta Cana Princess
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 405 reviews
#12 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (113)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Amazing adults only

, Yorkton, SK
2020-03-09
We stayed at the Punta Cana Princess for 2 weeks starting January 22. The resort is small and the majority of the staff are amazing. We have stayed at many all inclusive and adult only resorts and this resort ranks very high. The beach is beautiful and very busy. Food was average in the buffets. We did experience some problems with the air-conditioning not functioning well (building 1). It never was fixed in the 2 weeks that we stayed at the resort. Another problem is the vendors that are allowed to set up inside of the resort on specific nights. The vendors set their tables adjacent to the buffet so that you have to walk by them when going to the buffet. They actually were quite rude with their remarks when we did not want to buy at their tables. We always support local and buy something each trip but not with poor attitudes of these vendors!! Management need to remove these vendors or place the tables in an area away from the buffet or reception! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff Beautiful beach
The weak points
Air conditioning Vendor in the resort Poor WiFi

Great resort and beach stay

, Keswick, ON
2020-03-07
very nice resort, and beach
clean and well kept rooms and grounds
cleaning staff friendly
special thanks to Alba Iris and the rest of the lobby bar staff always happy, friendly and attentive
Also special thanks to our taxi driver Osiris Guerrero Perez who was so helpful taking us wherever we wanted to go, he was very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Relaxing

, Brandon, MB
2020-03-06
We choose this resort because it is small in the distance required to get from place to place. We love the small size of this resort. It is good for those with mobility concerns. We enjoy the food and the dessert table is marvellous. We find the staff very friendly noting that not all speak or understand English. We have found the rooms clean and housekeeping great. The couch in the room is uncomfortable and I would recommend they be updated soon. The dividing piece between the shower and toilet limits the space in the toilet area which is problematic for a larger person. The design could be changed soon. We have returned to this resort for its size and friendly staff but would recommend some upgrades to keep up with and compete in the marketplace. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Size
The weak points
Getting dated and needs some upgrades
Certified

First time at an all-inclusive

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-17
The overall experience was good. Hotel and grounds were beautiful. Aside from bad neighbors the last 2 nights it's a very quiet and relaxing resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was AMAZING! The resort was beautiful! Everything was very clean always. We only ever ate in the buffet and there was a decent selection of food, even if you have food allergies. (except for desserts). Room was nice.
The weak points
Wifi in lobby was horrible. We didn't want to buy the wifi package so we just went to the lobby everyday and use that but the connection was constantly ridiculously slow. The staff wasn't as friendly as what we are used to when we go on cruises.
Certified

Great for my first vacation!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-07
I have nothing to compare it to, as this was my first trip. The beach was lovely, the staff were friendly and went above and beyond. There were a few small issues with our room, but nothing that kept us from enjoying ourselves.The buffets were great in that they always offered something different, as well as something for everyone. The omelette station was especially good! The a la carte restaurants were not as great as I expected, but definitely edible! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly and helpful staff
The weak points
Too many people trying to sell you things
Certified

We fully enjoyed our 3rd stay

, Orleans, ON
2020-01-27
We resided at the Punta Cana Princess (Adult only resort) Jan 18-25th. During that week, the average age of the Resort vacationers was approximately 50 yrs. old. Our room block #5,3rd floor was nice, clean & we had a nice Oceanview. The rooms face the pool/garden area which is well kept by many gardeners. The corridor & entrance door for the rooms is at the back (towards the resort's ground limits). The water pressure and hot water were always good/ available. There is no door to enter the washroom area. Between the washroom area and the bedroom you have a hot tub with jets (we did not try it). The AC worked fine for the duration of our stay. We had a king size bed which we found comfortable. There is a ceiling fan above the bed which we enjoyed. The patio door curtains are very opaque. Our balcony was private 2 chairs small table, (some rooms have their balcony next to the neighbours' balcony). Our maid service was excellent & we always had our fridge (2 beers, 3 X 500 ml soft drinks & a 1.5 L. water bottle) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (variety of meats, fish, pastas, cold cuts, breads, cheeses, fresh fruits/vegetables, jams, peanut butter, ice cream, yogurts, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...). There is also the breakfast/lunch restaurant near beach but it is not as elaborate as the main buffet. We went to the Steak/Mexican, Mediterranean, Italian & Fondue A la Carte restaurants, No reservations are needed. We enjoyed all of them. The service at all the bars was excellent. The pool was kept clean and the water was clear throughout the whole day. We enjoyed the sloped easy walk ins entrance to the pool. At the pool area, they have new long chairs with grey fabric, they are comfortable. All public washrooms were kept clean. The ones next to the buffet and the one in the lobby area have been renovated and are very modern. We always had a palapa at the beach, long chairs are of a beige/brown fabric & comfortable. The location of the Punta Cana Princess is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is amazing, white sand and amazing blueish/green ocean water. There was some salespersons walking the beach trying to sell items. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby area. It was not functional every night at the time we went. The guests are mostly from Canada, USA and Europe. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym located in the Spa building is a short walk from the lobby area (off resort grounds). It is small, but there is enough exercise equipment and all are functional. There are hand towels and a large water bottle with cups in the gym area. We really appreciated the friendly service we received from Israel, Juana Iris, Francis, Francisco & Nancy and many others. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & give you an excellent service with a smile. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Punta Cana Princess resort as we had another relaxing vacation at this small Adult only resort (275 rooms). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly & smiling personnel, beautiful beach, small resort (275 rooms), nice rooms
The weak points
The free WIFI in the lobby area was not functional every night at the time we tried it.
Certified

Vacation Punta Cana

, Moncton, NB
2019-05-09
Amazing, peaceful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service .Everyone was super helpful.
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Relaxing Getaway

, Gander, NL
2019-04-22
This was our first trip to Punta Cana and we loved it! The resort is small, which we like. Weather was beautiful. Staff was kind and friendly. No shortage of food or drinks. Something for everyone. Entertainment every night. Rooms are spacious and clean. The pool is where the party is in the afternoons. Foam party once week. Lots of laughs and no shortage of drinks at the swim up bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean rooms and resort was kept beautiful. Entertainment staff does an excellent job to keep you entertained. Lots of choices for food and drinks. Something for everyone. Felt very safe on resort.
The weak points
The only negative thing I have to say is the Wifi is not good.
Certified

Enjoyed our Stay

, Dundas, ON
2019-04-07
The hotel complex was beautiful and well maintained. Our room was as described and housekeeping provided any requested extras. The beach was beautiful with lots of shade for those who wanted it. The food was plentiful, very tasty and with lots of variety. You did not have to make a reservation for dining in the three restaurants and you could enjoy the restaurants at the other two Princess resorts by making a reservation.The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach with lots of shade. Food was plentiful with lots of variety.
The weak points
I would add a cafe in the lobby for hot drinks & snacks. Internet could only be accessed in the lobby and was very slow.
Certified

Wonderful vacation as always.

, Cumberland, ON
2019-03-05
This is our 4th time at the resort and we will be going back.
Wonderful staff - they really care about your well being. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Punta Cana Princess

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-28
Great Quiet Hotel. Perfect for rest and relaxation, seniors, and couples looking to get away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hotel service

, Laval, QC
2019-02-27
We just got back from this hotel the service is great the food was also very good
For sure we will go back
The crowd is mostly 50 plus loved it small resort and perfect vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service food room great vacation
The weak points
Not having a jacuzzi at the pool

Punta Cana review

, Earl Grey, SK
2019-02-08
We honeymooned at this resort 12 years ago and loved it so we decided to go back. It was even better than we remembered. The people, food, beach, weather and service were outstanding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach/huts/loungers, service/drinks/food, entertainment. The grounds are incredibly beautiful.
The weak points
Gym is old and not much equipment. Slow slow wifi.
Certified

Another enjoyable stay

, Orleans, ON
2019-02-06
My spouse and I resided for 7 nights at the Punta Cana Princess (Adult only resort) from Jan 26th to Feb 2nd, 2019. We arrived around 12:30 hrs.. The check in was quick and well explained by the employee. Our room block #4, 2nd floor was not ready. We were told to go eat, enjoy the sun and to return after 3 PM. We enjoyed our lunch and the beach. We returned to the reception around 4:30 PM and our room was ready and our luggage had been taken to our room already. Our room was nice & clean. All rooms face the pool/garden area which is well kept by many gardeners. The corridor & entrance door for the rooms is at the back (towards the resort ground limits). Once you enter the room: the closet (2 louvered sliding doors) has: approx. 12 wood hangers, an iron/ironing board an umbrella and two white bath robes with slippers. Then you have 4 shelves and a free digital safe. The washroom layout is nice: toilet with frosted door, walk in shower with frosted door (had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type), a modern sink and a wall mounted hairdryer with a night light. The water pressure and hot water were always good/ available. There is no door to enter the washroom area. Between the washroom area and the bedroom you have a hot tub with jets (we did not try it). The AC worked fine for the duration of our stay. We had a king size bed which we found comfortable and there are light switches on both sides of the bed. There is a ceiling fan above the bed which we enjoyed. Then you have 2 steps down living area with a sofa (sliding hide a bed), sofa table, a round table with 2 chairs and a fridge. The flat screen TV (wall mounted) has many channels to select from: approx. 15 English channels (CTV, CNN, movie channels, etc…), 1 French (TV5) and many Spanish with some having the translation to English at the bottom. The patio door curtains are very opaque. Our balcony was private 2 chairs small table, (some rooms have their balcony next to the neighbours' balcony). Our maid service was excellent & we always had our fridge (2 beers, 3 X 500 ml soft drinks & a 1.5 L. water bottle) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed. Our maid created different bed ornaments on a daily basis. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (variety of meats, fish, pastas, cold cuts, breads, cheeses, fresh fruits/vegetables, jams, peanut butter, ice cream, yogurts, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...). there is also the breakfast/lunch restaurant near beach but it is not as elaborate as the main buffet. We went to the steak, Italian & fondue A la Carte restaurants. We enjoyed all of them but our favourite was the Italian which we attended three times. No reservations are needed and we only waited once (15 minutes) to be seated at the Italian restaurant. We did not try the Seafood restaurant near the beach. We were told it was delicious and plan on trying it the next time we return. The service at all the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pool was kept clean and the water was clear throughout the whole day. We enjoyed the sloped easy walk in entrance to the pool (near mini Spa area). We really appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. The one near the pool/beach area was used by many pool users.... All washrooms were kept clean. The ones next to the buffet and the one in the lobby area have been renovated and are very modern. To obtain a sun umbrella/long chairs at the beach, you had to arrive early. Some vacationers reserved the umbrella/long chairs at the beach and the pool area very early in the morning. This was different from our last year experience. The long chairs have a comfortable beige/brown fabric. The location of the Punta Cana Princess is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is amazing, white sand and amazing blueish/green ocean water. There was some salespersons walking the beach and trying to get your attention. But, once you told them that you were not interested they did not bother you. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby area. It worked fine for us. We did not attend any night show as we had long days at the beach. The guests are mostly from Canada, USA and Europe. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym located in the Spa building is a short walk from the lobby area (off resort grounds). It is small, but there is enough exercise equipment and all are functional. There are hand towels and a large water bottle with cups in the gym area. We had our usual spot at the buffet area and we really appreciated the service we received from Juana Iris, Carlos, Ariel and many others. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & give you an excellent service with a smile. My spouse called the client services desk for a toilet handle repair. The service was very quick (within a few minutes) and the issue was solved right away. We even had a few follow ups by client services on our degree of satisfaction, which we appreciated as we were always fully satisfied of their repair person (fixed toilet handle & towel rack in shower area) and resort in general. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Punta Cana Princess resort as we had another relaxing vacation at this small Adult only resort (275 rooms). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small resort, friendly employees, clean, no reservations needed for A La Carte restaurants.
The weak points
Some vacationers play the towel game to reserve umbrellas/long chairs at beach & pool area. This creates a chain reaction amongst the vacationers...
Certified

Good not great!

, London, ON
2019-02-03
Stayed in the resort last week of January, 2019. Resort was clean and well maintained with a nice layout. Beautiful view of the beach & pool from our room. Room was nice with sunken living room but cramped set up for the bathroom with poor lighting. Food was average but no line ups or reservations. SMOKERS EVERYWHERE! and not enforced in designated areas...VIP areas not enforced so don't pay extra. Typical entertainment but no venue so it is in the lobby where everyone is smoking. Poor internet reception. Pushy vendors on the resort and beach. Staff not very fluent in English and don't understand you most of the time when you ask for something and they don't try to understand you. Short ride from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, quiet & clean resort, nice layout of resort, beautiful view from balcony, no line ups for food or ala carts
The weak points
Smokers everywhere! No enforcement Food was average, lack of top shelf liquor, no lite beer, crappy entertainment space and typical, poor lighting in bathroom, slow shower drain & akward bathroom set up. Noticeable repairs needed.
Certified

Nice resort

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2018-04-06
Nice resort overall. Really enjoyed the pool area. Music and pool entertainment were at a moderate volume, not head-banging like at most resorts we've visited. No long lines for beverages! Not a party type resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort overall. Nice beach and pool. Friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms around facility were impressive: always clean and maintained. Nice buffet, no waiting.
The weak points
Lobby internet: very slow! Caterpillars in room. Beach palapas too close together ... virtually touching one another.
Certified

Punta Cana Princess services

, St. Therese, QC
2018-04-01
As indicated in my rating we like the location and the fact that this was an adult only.
But for the definition of a all inclusive resort, we learn a new definition of it from the staff on this vacation; "bring your wallet every day if you want services!" Otherwise you will wait. This was very unfortunate but true for our trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, hotel grounds and beach very nice and clean. Food was very good at the "Petite Fondue" as well as the other two.
The weak points
Accommodation does need some renew; matrice, pluming and structure fixing.The place is really showing its age in the inside.The Staff was NOT very welcoming or interested towards our issues. A tip was expected for every services, this was not expected.
Certified

3.5 STAR MAX

, Lefroy, ON
2018-02-14
well we started off by not getting a welcome drink or even being welcomed! we did get put in a room that was way below standard though! It was dirty, most things were broken in the room, bed was like sleeping on a table, and balcony was covered in shrubs and when you looked over them it was nasty view. We went to front desk to let them know and they asked us if it was because of the aunt problem :( WHAT????? anyways we could not be moved until the next day! as we were moving out the exterminator showed up to spray the room! UGH something you don't want to see when you have already over paid to go to a resort! New room MUCH BETTER and great view! but 6 times in the 10 day stay our key did not work and we had to go get it reset!!! Food way below any resort we have every stayed at!! Had to fight to get into any restaurants on the other Princess resorts and only a few at the princess we stayed at. we COULD not go to the buffet at dinner! So much more and so many more reasons we would NOT return to this resort and probably not to a PRINCESS again!! Entertainment ...MEH! one show we loved was Lion King! We paid too much for this 5 star is all we can say! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort, adult only, nice big pool, free wifi
The weak points
Buffet at lunch and dinner had very little selection and did not cater to the Canadians / Americans. We found it very hard to find something at lunch as it was NOT a good buffet. A La Cart restaurants were good but NOT great! Resort rooms 3 star!
Certified

Enjoyable stay

, Orleans, ON
2018-02-09
My spouse and I resided for 7 nights at the Punta Cana Princess (Adult only resort) from Jan 29th to Feb 5th, 2018. We arrived around 3 o'clock, the check in was quick and efficient; our room block #4, 2nd floor was ready. Our room was nice & clean. All rooms face the pool/garden area which is well kept by many gardeners. The corridor & entrance door for the rooms is at the back (towards the resort ground limits). Once you enter the room: the closet (2 sliding doors) has: approx. 12 wood hangers, an iron/ironing board an umbrella and two white bath robes with slippers. Then you have 4 shelves and a free digital safe. The washroom layout is nice: toilet with frosted door, shower with frosted door (had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type), a modern sink and a wall mounted hairdryer with a night light. The water pressure and hot water were always good/ available. There is no door to enter the washroom area. Between the washroom area and the bedroom you have a hot tub with jets (we did not try it). The AC worked fine for all of our stay. We had a king size bed which we found comfortable and there are light switches on both sides of the bed. Then you have 2 steps down living area with a sofa, sofa table, a round table with 2 chairs and a fridge. The TV has many channels to select from: approx. 15 English channels (CTV, CNN, etc…), 1 French (TV5) and many Spanish with some having the translation to English at the bottom. The patio door curtains are very opaque. Our balcony was private 2 chairs small table, (some rooms have their balcony next to the neighbours' balcony). Our maid service was good & most of the time we had our fridge (2 beer, 3 soft drinks & water bottle) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed (on 3 occasions we had to ask (front desk or maid) for the fridge to be replenished with beer & pop). Our maid created different towel ornaments on a daily basis. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (variety of meats, fish, pastas, cold cuts, breads, cheeses, fresh fruits/vegetables, jams, peanut butter, ice cream, yogurts, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...). there is also the breakfast/lunch restaurant near beach but it is not as elaborate as the main buffet. We went to the steak/Italian & fondue A la Carte restaurants. We enjoyed all of them but our favourite was the Italian which we attended twice. There was no reservations needed and we never waited to be seated. We did not try the Seafood restaurant near the beach. The service at all the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pool was kept clean and the water was clear throughout the whole day. We really appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. The one near the pool/beach area was used by many pool users.... All washrooms were clean. The ones next to the buffet and the one in the lobby area have been renovated and are very modern. There is no problem for anyone to obtain a sun umbrella/long chairs at the beach, no matter at what time you arrive. The long chairs have a comfortable beige/brown fabric. The location of the Punta Cana Princess is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is amazing, white sand and amazing blueish/green ocean water. There was some salespersons walking the beach and trying to get your attention. But, once you told them that you were not interested they did not bother you. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby area. It was slow but worked. We attended 2 night shows in the lobby area which we found good. The guests are mostly from Canada, Europe and USA. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym located in the Spa building is a short walk from the lobby area (off resort grounds). It is small, but there is enough exercise equipment and all are functional. There are hand towels and a large water bottle with cups in the gym area. We had our usual spot at the buffet area and we really appreciated the service we received from Juana Iris and Raoul. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & give you an excellent service with a smile. Even with my comment below, my spouse and I will definitely return to the Punta Cana Princess resort as we had a relaxing vacation at this small Adult only resort. Overall we had a very good vacation.
We are rating the Punta Cana Princess resort (a 4 stars resort) at 4.5 on 5.0. The only two things that lowered them to 4.5 were that our fridge was not fully replenished at our arrival & on 2 other occasions. Also we informed twice the reception desk (Bryan or Bruce) & client services lady (Alicia) that our sink faucet was very loose (not secured to sink), they said they were going to send the maintenance person, but no one ever came to fix it/secure it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet & small Adult only resort (average age 45/50 yrs) Beautiful beach Nice personnel Good food No reservation required at A la Carte restaurants (no wait time) Overall a very good vacation
The weak points
Fridge not always fully replenished (3 occasions) Complained twice of loose sink faucet which was never repaired.
Certified

Awesome!

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-06
What a wonderful adults resort. A small quaint resort with staff that are amazing. Enough palapas and chairs for everyone whether you are at the beach or the pool. The location and the food were excellent. Definitely give this resort a "5" star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Do not stay here, poor management ruining this gem

, Toronto, ON
2017-10-15
We had a terrible time at this hotel. Management is really letting it go. We were harassed non-stop by vendors on the resort grounds and on the beach to buy everything from massages to souvenirs. There are drugs everywhere on this resort. We were harassed to buy marijuana and cocaine on the beach all week.We had real big problems with our room and management would do nothing about it until we had repeatedly complained for 2 days straight. First our room was filled with dirt from roof work, it came in through the slats in the wooden roof. Then the next day it rained and our room leaked in many different places. We woke up at 6am to find water pouring all over our bed from the roof. Management would do nothing to allow the poor guest services girl to help us. They finally moved us to a new room and we asked for a bottle of wine and a couple bottles of beer to make up for our trouble and they tried to make us sign a waiver indemnifying the hotel from any claim or complaint upon us accepting the wine. We were mortified. This place was a real gem but it's going to hell in a hand basket fast. Management needs to wake up and take a course in customer service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the staff, they are a group of amazing people, always friendly and smiling. They are the only reason this resorts gets any good reviews at all.
The weak points
Bathroom design is seriously stupid. Every time you use the shower it floods the bathroom. There is no bathroom door so if your mate poops you smell it through the entire room. Management are unwilling to take accountability for issues in the rooms.
Certified

Beautiful small resort

, Timberlea, NS
2017-03-26
This was our second stay here and it was awesome. The staff is very helpful and kind and the food was delicious. The only downside was the bathrooms are small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Retreat

, Brandon, MB
2017-03-25
We have stayed at other places in Punta Cana and this has been the best so far. The size was just perfect for us, just enough walking but not too far. The pool, the beach are close together and the 24 restaurant at the beach is perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, the location, the size
The weak points
Bathroom, no hot water many times. Only used the jacuzzi once because the water was barely warm.
Certified

Great hotel, great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-28
Don't believe any negative reviews you read ... food is acceptable (even great at times), super close to the beach, very nice staff, overall cleanliness, lots of stuff to do, beautiful beach. Not much more you can ask for! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, cleanliness
The weak points
Wifi is bad, bathroom could use a separate door, but otherwise everything was great.
Certified

Good resort

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2016-03-28
resort was great, a few small issues that did not impact holiday greatly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small resort
The weak points
daiq drinks watery- lunch buffet should open at 12/not 1
Certified

Great vacation!

, Creemore, ON
2015-03-30
Great vacation! Will be returning. Quit relaxing resort. Lots of excursions if you want to do that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet clean spacious resort!
The weak points
Night life.
Certified

Pleased Honeymooners

, Mt Albert, ON
2014-10-31
The staff is AMAZING! Best staff of any all inclusive I've been to (RIU in Montego Bay, Holiday Inn in Puerto Vallarta and somewhere in Puerto Plata). The Entertainers, Bartenders, Waiters... everyone! Just friendly, helpful, talented and seemed to actually be enjoying themselves too! The food was better than I expected but I wasn't expecting much. It was edible and I didn't have any tummy troubles and that is all I could hope for. You do not visit these resorts for gourmet food - it was fine but certainly not anything special. I love eggs in the morning and they will freshly cook omelettes or fried eggs for you, best meal of the day!

Certainly worth visiting for the beautiful weather, freshly cleaned and well designed rooms, incredible staff and gorgeous beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Staff, Weather, Decor
The weak points
A little small, food is just ok, hard to get a spot on the beach unless you are up early (but this is pretty typical). Not much night life if that is what you are looking for
Certified

Not my favourite place, but not terrible

, Mississauga, ON
2014-08-12
As someone fairly well traveled, I have been to many all-inclusive hotels before. I know what to expect, and from experience the Punta Cana Princess is average at best. This is an adults only resort with the option to go between it and two other family resorts. A train will pass “every 15 minutes” to bring you from one resort to another. They are all beautifully laid out.

The suites are nicely decorated (modern, simple, no floral prints) and kept quite clean. I found, however, that on a daily basis the hotel staff are in and out of your room several times more than what I'm used to. It seemed as though every time we were in the room, someone was knocking on the door for one reason or another. The cleaning lady made sure our room was clean, tidy, and there were always fresh towels. She was very friendly.

The hotel staff was either extremely friendly and enjoyable, or seemed completely miserable. Not much in-between. I found the service in the restaurants slow, if at all, and mostly unhappy and unfriendly. The food had good days and bad. Some meals were great! Others were just edible…

The hotel property was well groomed, with lush greens and flowers everywhere. Very clean, no bugs (they spray daily)and I only got a few sand flea bites. Didn't see a single spider, and maybe 1 mosquito all week.

The bartenders are all very friendly. The drinks aren't great but they try very hard to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves.

The medic and the nurse were very nice people and qiute accomodating.

The beach is nice, but there was a lot of scratchy seaweed floating through the water and washed up on shore. It was always a bit wavy, some days more than others, but never too rough to go in swimming. There were plenty of lawn chairs, but if you didn't get up early, there would be no umbrellas/shade. There was rarely any place to lounge by the pool as all of the spots were claimed early in the morning. The pool wasn't murky but also wasn't the cleanest.

BIG NEGATIVES:

There is a gift shop on site that is great, no pressure sales and well stocked. HOWEVER, by the pool there is a gift stand that is situated between the pool, the bathrooms, a restaurant, and an entrance to the beach. This was the most irritating place on the entire resort. The men that run the stand are extremely pushy, naggy, rude, and try to lure you to their shop with a free cigar or necklace, and then bagger you ALL WEEK. Every time anyone walks by they call you over, wave you down, and start out like they're just being friendly and then try to pressure you to buy their crap. I dodged them the entire week, and by the end of our time there the men were no longer friendly with their invite. They were not pleasant, and when I finally told one that I would come see their stand, as long as he doesn't bother me to buy something… he agreed… then offered me a deal; $20 for a necklace I had already bought elsewhere for $12 so in no way was that a deal.

One night the hotel let several vendors set up tables all along the walk ways, which were all high-pressure, pushy sales, with “deals” that were exactly the opposite. Every time we walked by (which was inevitable unless we stayed in our rooms) they pressured us to come look at their stuff. Each time I walked by without going to their table, the men became less friendly about it.

My boyfriend and I decided to head out for some shopping one day, and asked at the front to call us a taxi (by the driveway, not at reception). A lady from the hotel told us she would have her boyfriend/husband take us and he would make sure we got everything we needed, and would even show us where the store we needed was. This sounded great, but I should have known better… When the car got to the hotel the lady asked us not to tell the hotel. That made me a bit uncomfortable. (I realize this was my stupidity and I shouldn't have gone along but the people at the hotel shouldn't be putting anyone in this position) When we left the stores to head back to the hotel, several taxi drivers blocked our drivers car in, and fought with him in Spanish until our driver backed into the taxi, pushing it out of the way so he could get out. This resulted in several taxis chasing our car, yelling out the window and trying to block us/push us off the road. Finally I yelled at the driver to let us out of the car. He did so, and as he did several local people as well as taxi drivers told us that this man was a “pirate”. Clearly all of the people at the front of the hotel, as well as any guards at the gates were in on this.

All in all, it felt that people were constantly trying to take advantage of us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bartenders were great, hotel was nicely laid out, modern, no bugs anywhere
The weak points
most staff was unfriendly, vendors on site were pushy and rude, shady people at the taxi desk
Certified

Punta Cana Princess

, Hardwicke, NB
2014-05-24
When I booked this resort, I had high expectations as the reviews were so good. The staff are extremely nice, but the resort is in great need of updates. Another problem is the chair game. There were not enough beach and pool chairs to go around. Our room was right on the beach, one morning we looked outside at 5:30 am and all the chairs and huts were already taken even though guests were asked not to do this. People would leave their things on the beach chairs and would not return to them at all during the day. The entertainment is very minimal and there is no theatre at this resort, the mini shows are done in the lobby at night. Three people out four in our group got sick 3 days before we left to come home and 2 weeks later we are still feeling the effects of the Campylobacter bacteria we contacted there. I am now receiving antibiotic treatment as the effects were so severe I could not fight it on my own. Campylobacter refers to a group of bacteria that is commonly found in the intestines of animals, including poultry, wild birds, swine, cattle, rodents and household pets. Campylobacter jejuni and Campylobacter coli are the two species that most often infect humans, causing an illness called campylobacteriosis. A person becomes infected from eating or drinking contaminated food, water, unpasteurized or raw milk or from close contact with infected animals.
Campylobacteriosis attacks the digestive system, causing diarrhea, abdominal pain, malaise, fever, nausea and vomiting.Would definitely not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was small and easy to navigate. The beach was nice.
The weak points
There was little to no entertainment, the resort is run down and in need of renovations. We got sick 3 days before we came home and tested positive for campylobacter bacteria. We have now been home for 2 weeks and are only beginning to feel better now.
Certified

Beautiful vacation

, Barrie, ON
2014-05-23
we were there late april/early may. very few mosquitos. food was okay, the stuff they cooked fresh at the buffet was the best. shower could have been cleaner. agree with other traveller comments that it was strange with no door on the washroom, not suitable for just friends! the oceanview rooms didn't actually face onto the ocean so perhaps not worth the extra money but nice to be closer to the pool and beach. very small resort and with an older population it was quite quiet. lots of fun activities throughout the day if you wished to participate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and grounds.
The weak points
Food okay but not great.
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020