Fantasia Bahia Principe Punta Cana

4.274.274.274.274.27
Fantasia Bahia Principe Punta Cana
#7 of 92 hotels in Punta Cana
4.27 based on 63 reviews
Traveller pictures (20)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing Vacation Destination!

, Terrebonne, QC
2019-10-16
The hotel was amazing! Friendly service, beautiful settings and great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was beautiful, very clean, service was amazing and food was very good! Beautiful beach and section reserved for hotel!
The weak points
Not all restaurants opened certain days so some days had no choice to eat at the buffet.
Certified

Amazing

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-07
Vacation started off at the lobby with the most polite staff I have ever dealt with. Angel, who works at the desk was very helpful and informative and throughout my week there always greeted us and knew my name which was nice to be greeted by my name as if I was famous. The shows were spectacular, the castle was truly a beautiful masterpiece and from the lobby to the beach took almost 10 min by walk or you could take a ride on the carts if you don't want to walk. Carts are spacious and have room for open strollers so no need to take your child out and fold it. Also there are so many carts going by to pick people up all the time. Better than TTC in Toronto. Staff is very friendly. This place is very family orientated so it's not for adults who want to party its a place for your kids to have a great time and they will enjoy it. My 7yr old daughter was so happy. Rooms are beautiful and the food everywhere was awesome with lots and lots of flavour plus seafood lovers will love their menues. The buffet even had shrimp. Beautiful picturesque beach with the ocean water always warm and lots of palapas for shade. Truly a 5 star resort. How the staff treated us and the workers treated us makes the resort a 5 star plus to us. You will NOT regret coming to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful staff that caters to you Workers are extremely nice and polite Name says it all this place is a Fantasy Shows are amazing and kid orientated
The weak points
If there was a weak point Angel would fix it
Certified

Amazing

, Innisfil, ON
2019-02-05
I love it, amazing food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great time travelling with 5

, Angus, ON
2019-01-20
We Traveled as a family of 5 and what an amazing experience we had. My mother sufferers from MS and has limited mobility however can walk with a walker. The staff were incredibly accommodating and made sure they helped. The beach is wheelchair accessible which is incredible. The pool is wheelchair accessible being on a gradual slope. Overall the food was good, fruit was delicious. Evening entertainment was fantastic there is always something to do for the kids. It was nice to see staff walking around with VIROX to clean and hand sanitizer at all restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

A great resort

, Binbrook, ON
2019-01-08
Just got back from this resort. The staff were excellent and helped make the week fun. Everyone was cheerful. Definitely made it seem like they liked working there. The pool area was clean and the grounds were well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were great.
The weak points
The beach is on the other side of the resort behind this one-about a 4 minute walk or a short trolley ride. It is extremely crowded.
Certified

Great Resort with some things you should know

, Oakville, ON
2018-12-03
We just returned from a week long vacation here with our 4.5 year old and 16 month old. Our 16 month old caught HFMD. We had read reviews about it, but chanced it. And we paid the price. She was basically miserable for 85% of the trip. We don't blame the resort though, they are constantly sanitizing and cleaning. It's just an epidemic in DR, so my advice would be don't chance it if your little one has never had it before. The older the kids, the less risk, so our 4.5 year old was fine.

Food was better than expected. Meal times are a little later than we are used to with our little ones, but we adjusted and managed just fine with snacks we brought.

Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Some of the doors need to be slammed a bit to close properly, so make sure you check it after closing.

Water shoes are a MUST for little ones. The deck around the pool is very slippery when wet. Again our 4.5 year old was fine, but our 16 month old would not have been able to move without them. Got a great pair for each child on Amazon before we came.

Nightly entertainment was great! Our oldest looked forward to each show. The Michael Jackson show was phenomenal! The castle show is a bonus. Feels like Disney.

We had some unfriendly staff at check in, which was unfortunate after a long travel day. But the app prompted me for a review, so I mentioned it and then received multiple calls to check in and see what they could do to make our stay better. That was nice. Other than that, staff was really great. Tip them, they work long, hard days and they deserve it.

Pools are beautiful and large. Beach is a bit of a walk, but welcomed for us. Note, though, that this resort was downgraded from a Luxury Bahia Principe in the last few months, so you can no longer use the Esmeralda facilities or beach. This was disappointing to us and we will be contacting Air Canada Vacations as we should've been notified and given the option to consider an alternative resort since we booked partly for the use of Esmeralda as well. But it all worked out. The Bahia Principe Punta Cana and Bavaro access is fine and actually their pools were lively and great for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Atmosphere, entertainment, pools, food, service, cleanliness
The weak points
HFMD prevalent, can't use Esmeralda facilities anymore
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Ile Perrot, QC
2018-11-03
The resort is beautiful. The food was great. The castle restaurant was our favourite place to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful. They are very accommodating for kids with food allergies and made special desserts for our daughter. The only drawback was that some one stole my husbands running shoes out of our room. The entertainment was amazing, however the Halloween show was to scary for kids. (The lion king would have been better for the younger kids) over all it was a fantastic vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best family trip.

, Fonthill, ON
2018-04-30
Not one complaint with this place. So many things to do. Beach is clean, pools are huge. Food is fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, polite staff, amazing food.
Certified

Wonderful trip

, Bourget, ON
2018-02-13
The hotel was beautiful and very clean. It's a great place for kids. They enjoyed the pools and had a blast at the water park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were amazed at how clean everything was. Lots of restaurants to chose from and the food was good.
The weak points
We didn't really go to the beach because it was very crowded but it was still a nice beach.
Certified

HORRIBLE!

, Hamilton, ON
2018-01-16
The entire week staying here from.start to finish was hell!! From multiple filthy rooms,i.e bathroom was covered in old makeup, soap clumps, half used shampoo bottles feces and urine on toilet with a band around it saying sanitized, infestedin ants due to not cleaning sticky rings on tables from occupants prior. unbearable to no service, 5 out of 7 days my 5 year old and myself could not even get a drink with meals, took our plates while we were eating still telling us we were done. Man at bar in castle asked my son again 5 years old isnt he to fat to eat ice cream.Out break of hand foot and mouth in children. My son was then told he couldnt go in pool or go to buffet of he touches anything due to the rash and infection he got from there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not Impressed

, Niagara Falls, HA
2017-12-15
Not able to check in until HOURS after arrival
Safe in room did not work, took a day to fix, made me wait in the room and waste a day.
Poor Customer Service From Front Desk
Room Service took a long time
Mexican a la cart restaurant had bugs
Overall buffet food was average
Bar fridge was never restock, ALWAYS had to ask for it to be refilled. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool service/ staff was amazing Beach very nice La Gourmet Restaurant was great
The weak points
Not able to check in until HOURS after arrival Poor Customer Service From Front Desk Room Service slow Mexican a la cart restaurant had bugs Overall buffet food was average Bar fridge never restock
Certified

Amazing!

, Montréal, QC
2017-08-15
This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We had 5 a la carte suppers and each one was better than the last. Kids had a great time and the lit castles at night make the resort glow. It's absolutely breathtaking!
Food was very good everywhere we ate. Saturday night BBQ by the Circus restaurant was great and very generous.
Premium drinks were appreciated. Pools were nice and big. Did Segway tour...it was sooo much fun. Kids had a blast and they took us around the whole resort. It's absolutely beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly and issues were easily resolved.
The weak points
Only weakness this hotel has....AC is weak everywhere!! Bedrooms, buffet areas etc...weak! 24.5C isn't cooling things down. Other than that...no complaints.
Certified

Great hotel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2017-07-05
The hotel is excellent, the staff are great and really friendly and helpful. We were there with the kids and they enjoyed a lot and all day long there is a activity happening for kids and adults. Great staff and few of them always help full like basilco was the manager at the garden circus restaurant and was very helpfull and helped us celebrate our sons 12 year old birthday and jean was one of the kids who was entertaining by the pool and also granbaby also good. The first day we arrived the girl at the reception percia I think her name was very help full. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great hotel and staff and good to see that the hotel is keeping up with the maintenance as there was someone always fixing and painting the section before it would go bad
The weak points
Might have more staff know english but again not a big issue
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia

, Ottawa, ON
2017-06-13
Beyond expectation. One of my best experiences in the Dominican. Great Staff, great service, and a great resort. The perfect escape for a family with children! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet / A La Cartes Beach Rooms Garden Pools
The weak points
Check-In
Certified

5 Star Facility with 3 Star Service

, Mississauga, ON
2017-01-28
They did everything possible to delay us checking in -- I insisted we be brought to our room -- it was after 4pm -- only to find out our room wasn't ready yet.

Great selection of food at the buffet however food that should have been hot was barely warm and sometimes cold. I was careful with what I ate but still ended up sick for two days. Service is hit or miss. Sometimes you would get multiple coffee refills -- other times you were lucky if you got your first coffee. Why can't they leave a carafe on the table? We were four adults all drinking coffee.

Beach is beautiful but is very crowded.

No clock in room. No facecloths. Towel bar fell out of the wall. Toilet paper not replenished. Didn't seem to matter if we tipped or not.

Beach towel hut always out of towels. They would instruct you to go to the "other" side to get towels. At a 5 star resort you would think the 3 staff members sitting doing nothing in an empty towel hut would go the "other" side for you.

If you had a concern, complaint, or even a simple request the staff would just tell you that they didn't speak English. On a windy day two large pool umbrellas flew out of their bases and narrowly missed hitting someone. I went over to the towel hut to ask if they could close the umbrellas to prevent them from flying out. "No speak English"
Life guards are a joke! They pay no attention what so ever to what is going on in the pool or water park.

Kids Club is a joke. Person was falling asleep at the desk as we were checking in our son. No planned activities. No toys. No books. My son stayed twenty minutes at most as he was bored.

Las Olas BBQ Restaurant - was horrible! Got some BBQ ribs only to get back to the table and discover they were cold!! So much food was thrown out because it was cold. What a waste.

The service at the Fantasia is not even close to what the service was at the Esmeralda.

Food and service at the Fantasia Restaurant on the beach was terrible. Most of the time the dishes were empty. Burgers were raw. Buns were hard.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds.
The weak points
Food. Service.
Certified

Fantasia

, Whitby, ON
2017-01-27
We had a great experience with our entire family at this resort. It was kid friendly, great staff, extremely clean and very accommodating to our children with special dietary needs. I would recommend this for any family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had children with dietary needs and staff went out of their way to help make that easy for us. Staff was always helpful and friendly.
The weak points
You need to reserve a la carte restaurants a head of time and we found often they were half empty when we got there. We only ended up at one a la carte the entire week. I found making reservations at other resorts easy when you can make changes last min
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?