Riu Republica

Riu Republica
4.044.044.044.044.04
4.04 based on 405 reviews
#18 of 108 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (162)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Nice Adult Only!

, White City, SK
2024-02-13
Everything was great, as advertised! Service was great, food was great, atmosphere was great! Clean surroundings, jerk chicken is a must (at the beach). I'd book again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The resort was very big so you could always find a party spot or quiet spot if you wanted. highly recommend the Jerk Chicken near the beach
The weak points
Very large hotel, lots of walking if your not centrally located. We had a room at the non party end which was good and bad. Good - was quiet at night, bad lots of walking to get to the beach and party end of the hotel.
Certified

Riou Republica

, Clarence Creek, ON
2024-02-06
Very good resort
Beach
Food
Accommodations
Personal [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Restaurants
The weak points
Air conditioning did not work well for two days
Certified

Terrible

, Calgary, AB
2023-11-08
there is only one electric socket and one USB connection in the room. The use of bleach for floor cleaning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach with white sand with no seaweed, internet is everywhere including beach
The weak points
Food is in enough quantity but with the minimum quality, absence of information regarding the dishes, you have to guess what it is . 80% of personal speaks Spanish only.
Sanitary measures
the use of bleach for floor cleaning
Certified

Riu Republica review

, Toronto, ON
2023-10-26
Overall a good impression, good place if you enjoy party scene. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment good, party pool hopping everyday
The weak points
Towel service No Good, most of time don't have clean beach towels available
Certified

Very disappointed

, Brampton, ON
2023-06-20
Very disappointed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nothing
The weak points
Not so clean
Certified

This RUI is downgraded to a 3 star hotel:

, Oshawa, ON
2023-03-16
The rooms were clean, but the hotel is dirty, food is cold, they didn't clean the beach area, no security at beach and beach sellers overrun the hotel guest.

In 2017 I had a great two week vacation at this hotel. Now that it's twice as big it's really gone down hill. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff are very friendly. I don't drink so having bottled pop was very good.
The weak points
If your 20 years old this place is for you, staff look after all the young people and do very little for older guest at the pool areas.
Sanitary measures
No sanitary measures offered
Certified

Riu Republica Review

, French Lake, NB
2023-02-17
When we first arrived in our room, there wasnt much lol Our room had a musty smell, like water was laying around, but seeing that we are surrounded by the ocean and pools we figured we'd let it slide. We sometimes didnt have water and we sometimes didnt have very hot water for showers, now i am a very picky person, but the room was not at all bad! We had free pop, water and liquor in our room, the staff refill it every 2 days. But when we'd see the guy id always ask for a coke or pepsi and he always gave us some. We spent most of our time out of the room. The lobby and other surrounding areas were great, always staff cleaning floors, washrooms, garbage etc. We only ate at the buffet. I once seen staff checking temperatures in the food, that pleased me. They really went all out to make sure the food was perfect and the buffet was clean and neat. I dont think the tables are overly clean, once one couple or group get up to leave, they dont clean the tables with spray and a cloth, they wipe stuff off by brushing their hand over it and place the next napkin and cutlery down lol [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach was awesome, pools were always clean and perfect temperature. Lots of beach and pool chairs available, service was good
The weak points
Unable to get cash, so make sure you bring enough, you will get heckled on the beach. We brought out own towels, because sometimes they run out of towels. There is an elevator, sometimes it worked, sometimes it didnt.
Sanitary measures
No one stays 2 meters apart (or whatever its suppose to be) but there was sanitizer at the buffet.
Certified

The neglect of the Riu Republica is obvious

, Oakville, ON
2023-01-30
I was quite disappointed with my visit to the Riu Republica this time. I last went in Feb 2017 when it was practically brand. It's only been 7 years and the neglect is very obvious. I attached photos from our room.

The electrical plugs in the room (and I was told, throughout the resort) were horrible! I was lucky that the plug for my CPAP machine (used for sleeping) worked after fiddling and fiddling with it. I had called down to request assistance 3 times. When they didn't come (they thought I was calling about the ice machine!), I hung up. I also called for the bathroom plug which wouldn't hold a charge. Their resolution was to put an elastic band around the faceplate to hold the plug into the socket (see photo). It didn't work.

The bed and bathrooms had the barest of necessities. I had to ask for additional pillows which were practically the size of postage stamps! Despite requesting a sheet change in the manner the hotel requested (leave the sheet change card on the bed), our sheets were not changed. I had to ask that it be done by writing a note in Spanish. Also, there were no face cloths. I had to call down for them and when they were soiled and removed during cleaning the next day, new face cloths were not left. I, again, wrote a note to the room attendant in Spanish to leave face cloths but none were left. I had to call down to the desk. We were missing a floor/shower towel on one occasion and had to use one (of two) of our hand towels.

There was also missing furniture.

The food was very good; large selection, fresh produce, well prepared (most of the time). There was definitely something for everyone.

The ice-based cocktails were awful. It seemed that no matter what you ordered, it was made with one of three slushie mixes. Yuck! And, no two were the same.

The general cleanliness of the hotel has also declined.

The people/staff were, as always, very polite. I honestly think they're doing the best that they can with what they've been provided by corporate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

2nd Trip To Republica in 2022

, Bowmanville, ON
2022-12-17
Check in was smooth, got the room we wanted. A few small issues with the room, but nothing significant. Food was good, service EXCELLENT, especially breakfast at Mangu where server Daniel always paid close attention to his guests with warmth and care. All restaurants were good, food could be hotter. Entertainment was good, drinks were good (real juice would be a nice addition to available mixes). We opted to not do excursions so all of our time was spent at resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Restaurant severs exceptional, food good, staff warm and helpful, room air conditioning super cold, e-team outgoing, jerk chicken at the beach!!!
The weak points
Need tractor grooming the beach for seaweed and GARBAGE!!. Good could be hotter at a la cartes, pool tiles/light fixtures need repair and swim up bar counters, drinks need real juice/better mix, thinner pillows,
Certified

Nice Resort but Wouldn't Return

, York, ON
2022-12-04
My boyfriend and I had a fun time at Riu Republica BUT we were hoping to relax a little more than the resort allowed for. There was American music playing at the main party pool by the ocean all day long. The "quiet" pool beside it was therefore never quiet. The "Latin Music" pool with the Ola swim up pool bar did have nice Spanish music but it was often overshadowed by the loud American music coming from all the way across the resort. We had a good time but would not return. Our advice is to spend a bit more money and go to a better adults-only resort. This is really a place for single 18 year olds - not couples in their early 30s as we are.

Pros:
- Delicious food! Everything was so tasty and they provided a great variety of buffet options across all of the restaurants. It was also nice to not have to reserve the restaurants - they were first come first served (except the Quesqueya steakhouse)
- Water slides!!
- Beautiful swimming pools
- Incredible nightly resort entertainment including dance productions and a magic show
- Super fun daily Aquafit in the main pool with the best and funniest instructor!
- We lucked out and had incredible weather the entire trip so we were very lucky!
- The White Party was a BLAST! Great DJ and amazing decorations
- The resort, restaurants and the rooms were clean

Cons:
- The ocean was wavy the entire week and the beach was filled with washed up seaweed which the staff never cleaned up. Therefore, we didn't get to swim in the ocean at all because it was too dirty. The red caution flag was up the full week.
- This is known as a "Party Resort" yet you have to shuttle bus to the "Main Riu Resort area" to attend two of the three big weekly parties
- The rooms are not great quality - more of a 4 star than 5 star. Basic, simple rooms with two double beds
- Filthy swim up pool bars. You can tell people spend the whole day there and pee in the pools. As a result, the pools at the swim up bars are murky and you can barely see to the bottom. We avoided the swim up bars so we wouldn't get sick
- Some staff are very kind, but many of them acted bothered by the guests and it was often uncomfortable asking for anything when dining

Pro Tip
- Make sure to prioritize getting your towel first thing in the morning because they go fast and they do not replenish enough to serve the whole resort. So, if you're too late, you don't get a towel that day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- Great food - Water Slides - Awesome swimming pools (except the swim up bar pools) - Nightly entertainment - Clean rooms and resort overall
The weak points
- Not a great beach (ocean & beach dirty from seaweed) - Have to shuttle bus 6 km to the big parties which they advertised and made seem were going to be at this specific party resort - Filthy swim up pool bars - Unhappy staff - Lack of beach towel
Certified

It's gone down hill

, Scarborough, ON
2022-11-30
I've been to this resort 3 times pre Covid and it was so great, that's why I continued to come back. This was my first return there since Covid and it was nothing like how it was before. Beach towels are constantly gone so you have no towel to use if you don't get up at 8 am. The rooms cleaners barely clean or provide you with all the stuff you need. Our sheets and pillows were dirty when we arrived. Our toilet was actually broken (like the knob was hanging from a thread) and took a while to have them switch rooms for us, on that note getting in touch with front desk is nearly impossible. It's so busy they don't answer the phone so you're better off walking there which sucks if your room is far.

Food: subpar at best. Stick with omelettes and bacon for breakfast.

Cleanliness in the resort: not the greatest, the pools constantly have dirt floating in it. It's pretty nasty.

Service: amazing. The workers are great and really go above and beyond to make you feel good.

This is a full party resort now. There used to be a good blend but not anymore it's catered to young partiers so the luxury part is MIA. When I went in 2018, servers walked around pool side with a platter of fruit. This time. No

Drinks: liquid is watered down, juice is super sweet and gross

Wifi: great, never had connection problems.

Beach: very crowded. Get there early

Overall: 6/10 - won't be going back again. Only giving it a 6 because it was my first trip since Covid and it's a blessing to be able to travel but it's not luxury anymore and had I known this I would have spent my $1500 at CHIC and just spent the extra $200-300 there knowing it's higher quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The entertainment team, servers
The weak points
Cleanliness and drinks
Certified

Our stay at Riu Republica

, Milton, ON
2022-11-14
The hotel was huge but really modern and very beautiful, at our arrival we were greeted warmly by the reception when they were told that my wife had a knee replacement surgery they upgraded our room to near the pool and beach and provided us with a wheel chair for all our stay.The food was very good and the choice was amazing , we would highly recommend this hotel . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Their employees specially Noe at the reception always available with a smile solving any inquiry , excellent customer service , amazingly beautiful settings and beach.
The weak points
The a la cart restaurants their food although a lot of choice the quality could be improved.
Certified

Party Hotel

, Scarborough, ON
2022-08-02
This hotel is for the younger crowd that loves to party. The food was the only downside. Ate at the sit-down restaurants most nights to avoid the buffet. If you care more about having a good time partying all day rather than the quality of food, then this place is for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
STRONG drinks, good party vibe, always something to see or do. Friendly staff, an amazing place for singles.
The weak points
like a 10 minute walk from our room to the other side of the property, beach and main events. The food.
Certified

Nice Resort but there is better ones out there!

, Alliston, ON
2022-05-24
When you arrive at this Hotel anytime before 3 pm (local Time) be prepared to not have your room ready. The Check-in process took over an hour and then was asked to come back after 3 pm to get your room key. I would recommend that you have a change of clothes in a carry-on so that you are comfortable waiting around in the lobby. Guest service is friendly but we approach them 4 times on 3 different days for our A/C not cooling down the room and Maintenace always came up with a lame excuse that A/C will start to bring the temperature down by 1 degree every hour. Our room which was 3041 never got down to 25 degrees.

As for the restaurants, the food was average at most of the establishments. I definitely would not consider this restore to being 5 or even 4 stars. I would rank this hotel more like a 3.5 Star at best. The breakfast hot station was not very good. I was never able to get eggs done the way I prefer. When I ask they point me to eggs already sitting there I decide to just walk away.

The Bar staff was friendly but if you didn't tip it would take so much longer to get a drink. This hotel is very large and the entertainment was really awful. One of the worst I have been to in several hotels I stayed at Punta Cana

One of the best things this hotel has is the Beach and the Wi-Fi. One of the best Wi-Fi coverage I ever had was also free. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
1. Free Wi-Fi 2. Beach 3. Drink Selection 4. Mini Bar in Room 5. Jerky Chicken Station Near Beach. 6. Nice Grounds 7. Party hotel.
The weak points
1. A/C in Some rooms (3041) 2. Entertainment 3. Music is always too loud. 4. Restaurants Food Selection and Quality.
Sanitary measures
No Staff is wearing a mask and the Hand cleanser Station no one ever uses. Other Restore I been to even before Covid-19 they had someone at the door to ensure people clean their hands before.
Certified

Party Place!

, Saint-Nicolas, QC
2022-05-01
A few things to mention:
PROs:
* Very clean campus/site;
* Bars everywhere (and the alcohol is not watered down
* Service at bars is above average, and most batenders are fun;
* Pool animation is mainly reserved for the party pool (beside beach entrance);
* Plenty of "quieter" pools;
* Large site (also in my CONs);
* Excellent beach and plenty of chairs;
* Good towel system;

CONs:
* Large site - 8 minute walk to beach from farthest building;
* Restaurant service below minimum to low (quality);
* Avoid shopping trips...not worth it. Either too expensive, or filled with crooks (Punta Blanca, Blue Mall, etc);
* Food medium to below average;
* One restaurant was closed every night (cycled through all the restaurants available);
* Rooms need TLC (at least for #3 and #4 buildings);
* Workers don't seem to care about guests, as they were mowing the lawn in front of my room at 7am!;
* Average age of guests is 40 years old (so, yes, a patry crowd);

CONCLUSION:
The site itself is wonderful. The beach is one of the best I've been to, other than Cuba, but better in PuCa. The room I was in (#3 and #4 buildings) are not 5 stars. 3.5 at the most. They are really in dire need of renovations, but lack the "look" and layout of true 5-star exclusivity. I deplore that not all restaurants were opened (as stated, they cycled a closure every night). Chances of me returning to it is 3/5. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness of site; Bar service and alcohol quality;
The weak points
Rooms are not 5*; Service in restaurants below average;

Horrible Experience

, Maple, ON
2022-04-14
Hotel is very basic its not a 4.5 start more like a 3 star experience.
The food was also not AMAZING it was manageable for a 5 day stay.
Staff were friendly, and the hotel itself was clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
ok
The weak points
ok
Sanitary measures
ok

Very Nice but not 5 star dining

, Sydney Mines, NS
2022-03-24
Room exceptionally clean, pools great, nightly entertainment , beach very windy no huts for shade , no À la cart even though they say there is it is still pick up your own food except one spot and limited option there not fancy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pools
The weak points
Food, only 1 actual À la cart even though they say more they are all buffet styles and menu never changes
Certified

Go here to party - nothing else

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2022-03-08
The hotel itself is nothing special. It's massive, so we had to walk sooo much to get to our room that was on one side of the hotel, and the beach was on the complete opposite side.

Aside from that, our room was very average. The mirror was rusty and the sheets are very low quality. But the room itself is a comfortable size and the cleaning ladies clean it every day properly.

As I mentioned in the title, you should only go here for the fun. The entertainment is amazing, shows are alright but the parties are great. You will meet tons of new people if you go at the right times.

The food is VERY average. I mean every single food was low quality. Ketchup, salami, eggs, burgers, fries, salad, fruits, jusses, you name it, everything tastes like the cheapest quality they could get their hands on. And all you eat is buffets. No A la cartes even though they say there is, which was disappointing.

The service was alright. We asked for more towels to the room and never got it. Also, the window of the shower was leaking water, and when we asked them to come clean it, they took more than one hour and did a very poor and fast job.

Overall, go here to have fun but definitely don't expect luxury. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
fun, entertainment, party
The weak points
food, service
Certified

Great stay at lively resort

, Newmarket, ON
2022-02-19
Great stay.

Some minor issues: beach flag was always red throughout our 8 days stay with very large waves, room card did stop working once - we got it replaced with no issues, masks not enforced in the gym and parties 24/7 - so a bit of music and drunk people passing by was frequent all night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Party hotel Volleyball court, darts, ping pong table Good food selection Good entertainment
The weak points
Lacking activities (tennis, basketball court)
Sanitary measures
Masks only enforced at restaurants. Hotel staff wear masks on their chain.
Certified

Vacation with my spouse!

, Edmonton, AB
2021-12-22
13/12/21-20/12/13
Overall an excellent hotel, with friendly staff who know what they are doing and always make sure guest are okay. Wonderful amenities at this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly interactive staff, wonderful amenities, tons of food option, many services offered and helpful staff, beautiful and very clean resort
The weak points
A busy hotel, sometimes need to request items from front desk twice, language barrier between staff and guest, pool towels run out so you have to get one and keep it all day, housekeeping could have been done at a bit better quality
Sanitary measures
Staff ALWAYS wore mask, and sanitized touch points after each persons use.
Certified

Very big very nice very Russian

, Toronto, ON
2021-10-31
Food was good lots of variety, could be hotter. All but two of the ala carts we're actually buffet. Three swim up bars but we didn't use the party pool one. Shout out to the two bartenders Tomas and Jonathon great service. We went to the sports bar every night shout out to Juan, great service. We were there for two weeks and really never watched the evening shows, watched sports instead. Shout out to Rosy and Stephanie who worked at the back of the buffet. Always had our coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon waiting for us. We had Rafael as the main entertainment guy. He was amazingly friendly, funny and engaging. About the only bad thing I can say is that the resort was 50% Russian. Some we met were nice but too many were rude and demanding. They also rarely tipped. We met lots of friendly people from all over. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff- very clean
The weak points
No real dress code for ala carts. Bathing suits and t shirts, really.
Sanitary measures
Masks were mandatory entering the buffet but not so much at the ala carts.
Certified

Overall

, Sudbury, ON
2020-03-22
Staff was super friendly and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was the best
The weak points
Not being able to make dinner reservations
Certified

Overall

, Sudbury, ON
2020-03-22
The room was clean and well kept. Staff was always helpful and friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful staff. Issues were dealt with promptly and to my satisfaction.
The weak points
Some wait times when restaurants appeared not to be to capacity but not a huge issue
Certified

Great Hotel!

, Hanwell , NB
2020-03-20
Had a wonderful vacation at the Riu. The hotel, grounds and staff were excellent. The food selection was awesome and so delicious! Totally enjoyed Taj Mahal, Olé, Kulinarium And the other buffets! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food! Excellent staff! Great service!
The weak points
Might want to do a little extra for the entertainment.
Certified

Ríu Republica Punta Cana

, Cumberland, ON
2020-03-07
Good entertainment: pink pool party, jungle party, evenings shows... Very good jerk chicken on the beach BBQ. Will go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice gardens and very well maintain on a daily basis. Front desk very helpful. Pathways between room, restaurants, beach and pool very clean. Rooms spacious in standard category. Lots of palm trees on beach for shade. Plenty of long chairs.
The weak points
Restaurant in garden area was closed for lunch and supper; was opened last year. It's quieter to eat in garden area than in the main restaurant altagracia.
Certified

Excellent

, Orono, ON
2020-02-05
Large, clean hotel with many amenities. There are six swimming pools, a huge slide pool, two beach volleyball courts, a well equipped gym, numerous bars and about nine restaurants. The main buffet has the most extensive selection of food I have ever seen at a resort. The quality of food is excellent! Restaurants choices are: Asian, Italian, Indian and Steak House.
Beach area is crowded and water here is rough, however you will never have to reserve a seat at the beach or pool.
Our room had king bed, sofa, flat screen t.v., balcony, walk in shower, double sink, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, daily replenished fridge and bar and a safe. Bed was very comfortable.
Hotel attracts a younger crowd so it gets a bit noisy at times but with all the different areas, you can usually find a quiet area to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food selection, cleanliness, size of resort. Good walking beach, Excellent free WIFI in all areas. Beautiful pools. Delicious drinks.
The weak points
Often noisy. Lousy bed pillows. Rough ocean....was always yellow or red flagged. Rooms need dehumidifiers....everything, including your clothes always feels damp.
Certified

Highly Recommend!

, St. Catharines, ON
2020-01-27
Our stay at Riu Republica was fantastic! The food was delicious and each menu and buffett during the day and evening had a wide variety of food to choose from. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and when you needed something there was always someone around to gladly help. The rooms were cleaned very efficiently. The entertainment provided a fun atmosphere. The beach is beautiful with plenty of room and chairs to choose from. The only complaint we have is the food in the Sports Bar after hours; it wasn't replenished well and the food wasn't great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurants and cleaning services were amazing.
The weak points
The Sports Bar was not great.
Certified

RIU Republica

, Ajax, ON
2019-12-23
Overall, my stay was very positive, the only exception being my room allocation. When booking, I had requested a king size bed and any floor other than ground level.

The first room assigned was, contrary to my request, on ground level and was not fully ready for occupancy (missing soap, towels, & room information such as phone numbers, had a broken mini-fridge, as well as empty liquor dispensers). Front Desk staff were reluctant to assign an alternate room and claimed they never received my input regarding floor preference. The Supervisor said I should have called the hotel directly to ensure my input was received. After a drawn out discussion, they finally agreed to assign a second room.

The second room, contrary to my request, had twin beds which I would have accepted, but water was flowing from the ceiling over the entire floor of the room. A long discussion with the Front Desk Supervisor followed and then a third room was assigned. The Bell Hop directed to move my luggage informed me that my second room was one of the worst in the hotel as it is next to the air condition units and was very noisy. He further indicated that an entire section of the hotel was being temporary closed as it was low season. It was clear that despite other empty rooms, I was being placed their due to hotel staff displeasure with my initial request.

My third room was was fine and subsequently everything went without a hitch. After this last move I made a point to thank the Front Desk Supervisor who's attitude changed from slightly combative to supportive. His staff were very cheerful and helpful for the remainder of my stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- waiters were extremely pleasant & helpful e.g. helping pack food for an all day excursion the next morning - pool & activity staff were friendly & willing to assist as needed - a wide variety of food was available & generally of good quality
The weak points
- communications between Travel Agents & RIU re traveller preferences with wasted time & frustration resulting for all parties - resolving this should not fall on the traveller at check in time
Certified

Riu República

, London, ON
2019-12-17
We Went to this resort in March 2019 and Dec 2019
Only complaint I have is when we visited in March we spend a majority of our time at the party pool which played amazing pop music in English ( we only speak and understand English at this time ) and the other pools had Latin and other music playing so we spent our time in the party pool area relaxing and enjoying music.
We had such a great time we decided to revisit the same place but the party pool only played Spanish music and the pool area was pretty vacant of people, no English music in any pool area which we were really disappointed this time , planning another trip but we are looking at other options this time. A mix of different music would of been nice also [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleaning lady was so nice and did a great job taking care of us
Certified

Solid Adults Only Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-26
I have been to Riu Republica twice, and have been to other resorts as well. In comparison, Riu is a solid, reliable choice: the food selection was varied, the beaches clean, lots of seating available at both the pools and beach and lots of choice around atmosphere. The rooms are equipped with four types of alcohol (gin, vodka, whiskey and rum) along with a mini fridge with bottled water and soft drinks.

If you like to party, there is a spot for you. If you like it quiet and relaxed, there is also a spot for you.

The rooms and public spaces were very clean; there was constant staff clearing dishes, cleaning the spaces and ensuring everything was neat, tidy and clean.

It is an adults only resort with a wide range of ages from 20-something to senior citizens.

The service could sometimes be indifferent and it was hit or miss if you got a person who would be truly interested in exceptional customer service. However, I was very impressed because when I arrived I asked for a specific type of room which they noted they couldn't accommodate in that moment but to check back the next day. They then followed up proactively with a phone call to confirm if I wanted to switch rooms. Any time I requested more water or soft drinks for my room, they were prompt in delivering them. The cleaning staff always ensured the room was clean and that there were sufficient towels and other amenities.

The mixed drinks were also mixed in their quality/quantity. One time I asked for a strawberry daiquiri and I'm pretty sure I received a non-alcoholic fruit punch. When I asked for a gin and tonic though, the quality was consistent.

Overall, I find the resort reliable, clean and consistent. The choices around seating, pools and restaurants make it a good choice for just about anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean facilities Lots of food choices/options Lots of selection in terms of pool/beach loungers Lots of choice in terms of atmosphere (party versus quiet space)
The weak points
Mixed drinks were mediocre Service sometimes slow or indifferent at the bars and buffet restaurants
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024