Riu Republica

4.084.084.084.084.08
Riu Republica
#19 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
4.08 based on 326 reviews
Traveller pictures (60)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Overall

, Sudbury, ON
2020-03-22
Staff was super friendly and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was the best
The weak points
Not being able to make dinner reservations
Certified

Overall

, Sudbury, ON
2020-03-22
The room was clean and well kept. Staff was always helpful and friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful staff. Issues were dealt with promptly and to my satisfaction.
The weak points
Some wait times when restaurants appeared not to be to capacity but not a huge issue
Certified

Great Hotel!

, Hanwell , NB
2020-03-20
Had a wonderful vacation at the Riu. The hotel, grounds and staff were excellent. The food selection was awesome and so delicious! Totally enjoyed Taj Mahal, Olé, Kulinarium And the other buffets! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food! Excellent staff! Great service!
The weak points
Might want to do a little extra for the entertainment.
Certified

Ríu Republica Punta Cana

, Cumberland, ON
2020-03-07
Good entertainment: pink pool party, jungle party, evenings shows... Very good jerk chicken on the beach BBQ. Will go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice gardens and very well maintain on a daily basis. Front desk very helpful. Pathways between room, restaurants, beach and pool very clean. Rooms spacious in standard category. Lots of palm trees on beach for shade. Plenty of long chairs.
The weak points
Restaurant in garden area was closed for lunch and supper; was opened last year. It's quieter to eat in garden area than in the main restaurant altagracia.
Certified

Excellent

, Orono, ON
2020-02-05
Large, clean hotel with many amenities. There are six swimming pools, a huge slide pool, two beach volleyball courts, a well equipped gym, numerous bars and about nine restaurants. The main buffet has the most extensive selection of food I have ever seen at a resort. The quality of food is excellent! Restaurants choices are: Asian, Italian, Indian and Steak House.
Beach area is crowded and water here is rough, however you will never have to reserve a seat at the beach or pool.
Our room had king bed, sofa, flat screen t.v., balcony, walk in shower, double sink, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, daily replenished fridge and bar and a safe. Bed was very comfortable.
Hotel attracts a younger crowd so it gets a bit noisy at times but with all the different areas, you can usually find a quiet area to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food selection, cleanliness, size of resort. Good walking beach, Excellent free WIFI in all areas. Beautiful pools. Delicious drinks.
The weak points
Often noisy. Lousy bed pillows. Rough ocean....was always yellow or red flagged. Rooms need dehumidifiers....everything, including your clothes always feels damp.
Certified

Highly Recommend!

, St. Catharines, ON
2020-01-27
Our stay at Riu Republica was fantastic! The food was delicious and each menu and buffett during the day and evening had a wide variety of food to choose from. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and when you needed something there was always someone around to gladly help. The rooms were cleaned very efficiently. The entertainment provided a fun atmosphere. The beach is beautiful with plenty of room and chairs to choose from. The only complaint we have is the food in the Sports Bar after hours; it wasn't replenished well and the food wasn't great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurants and cleaning services were amazing.
The weak points
The Sports Bar was not great.
Certified

RIU Republica

, Ajax, ON
2019-12-23
Overall, my stay was very positive, the only exception being my room allocation. When booking, I had requested a king size bed and any floor other than ground level.

The first room assigned was, contrary to my request, on ground level and was not fully ready for occupancy (missing soap, towels, & room information such as phone numbers, had a broken mini-fridge, as well as empty liquor dispensers). Front Desk staff were reluctant to assign an alternate room and claimed they never received my input regarding floor preference. The Supervisor said I should have called the hotel directly to ensure my input was received. After a drawn out discussion, they finally agreed to assign a second room.

The second room, contrary to my request, had twin beds which I would have accepted, but water was flowing from the ceiling over the entire floor of the room. A long discussion with the Front Desk Supervisor followed and then a third room was assigned. The Bell Hop directed to move my luggage informed me that my second room was one of the worst in the hotel as it is next to the air condition units and was very noisy. He further indicated that an entire section of the hotel was being temporary closed as it was low season. It was clear that despite other empty rooms, I was being placed their due to hotel staff displeasure with my initial request.

My third room was was fine and subsequently everything went without a hitch. After this last move I made a point to thank the Front Desk Supervisor who's attitude changed from slightly combative to supportive. His staff were very cheerful and helpful for the remainder of my stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- waiters were extremely pleasant & helpful e.g. helping pack food for an all day excursion the next morning - pool & activity staff were friendly & willing to assist as needed - a wide variety of food was available & generally of good quality
The weak points
- communications between Travel Agents & RIU re traveller preferences with wasted time & frustration resulting for all parties - resolving this should not fall on the traveller at check in time
Certified

Riu República

, London, ON
2019-12-17
We Went to this resort in March 2019 and Dec 2019
Only complaint I have is when we visited in March we spend a majority of our time at the party pool which played amazing pop music in English ( we only speak and understand English at this time ) and the other pools had Latin and other music playing so we spent our time in the party pool area relaxing and enjoying music.
We had such a great time we decided to revisit the same place but the party pool only played Spanish music and the pool area was pretty vacant of people, no English music in any pool area which we were really disappointed this time , planning another trip but we are looking at other options this time. A mix of different music would of been nice also [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleaning lady was so nice and did a great job taking care of us
Certified

Solid Adults Only Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-26
I have been to Riu Republica twice, and have been to other resorts as well. In comparison, Riu is a solid, reliable choice: the food selection was varied, the beaches clean, lots of seating available at both the pools and beach and lots of choice around atmosphere. The rooms are equipped with four types of alcohol (gin, vodka, whiskey and rum) along with a mini fridge with bottled water and soft drinks.

If you like to party, there is a spot for you. If you like it quiet and relaxed, there is also a spot for you.

The rooms and public spaces were very clean; there was constant staff clearing dishes, cleaning the spaces and ensuring everything was neat, tidy and clean.

It is an adults only resort with a wide range of ages from 20-something to senior citizens.

The service could sometimes be indifferent and it was hit or miss if you got a person who would be truly interested in exceptional customer service. However, I was very impressed because when I arrived I asked for a specific type of room which they noted they couldn't accommodate in that moment but to check back the next day. They then followed up proactively with a phone call to confirm if I wanted to switch rooms. Any time I requested more water or soft drinks for my room, they were prompt in delivering them. The cleaning staff always ensured the room was clean and that there were sufficient towels and other amenities.

The mixed drinks were also mixed in their quality/quantity. One time I asked for a strawberry daiquiri and I'm pretty sure I received a non-alcoholic fruit punch. When I asked for a gin and tonic though, the quality was consistent.

Overall, I find the resort reliable, clean and consistent. The choices around seating, pools and restaurants make it a good choice for just about anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean facilities Lots of food choices/options Lots of selection in terms of pool/beach loungers Lots of choice in terms of atmosphere (party versus quiet space)
The weak points
Mixed drinks were mediocre Service sometimes slow or indifferent at the bars and buffet restaurants
Certified

Fall Getaway at Riu Republica

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-11-25
Loved the hotel, the quantity of pools, swim up bars - you never had to wait for drinks. The beach was wonderful, no seaweed, lots of golden sand, plenty of shade if you did not want to be in the sun, lots of sunbeds on the beach and around the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at Riu Republica made this holiday special, they work hard but always have a smile on their face
The weak points
Some of the restaurants were buffet or partially buffet and not a lot different to the main buffet restaurant
Certified

Riu Rebublica

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2019-11-24
We were well greeted upon our arrival!
Front desk did change our room the next day as we situated by all the air conditioning machines outside which made it very noisy & unacceptable.
As an all adult exclusive Riu we were very disappointed the bars all closed at 11 pm except for the disco & sports bar. Service was slow & food availability was very small.
No breakfast coffee bar in am / again at sports bar. Staff looked tired.
All the cleaning was done in am . It should have been all done before tourists woke up to start the day.
They even ran out of beach towels after lunch our first day???
We were disappointed for a Riu .Other guests voiced the same. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was clean . Bartender service was good. Room clean. Food ok Guest services was Kathleen is very friendly & tried to help.
The weak points
Our in room bar wasn't filled regularly. All the charging plugs needed to be replaced also as we couldn't charge our mobile phones.
Certified

Huge Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-14
We really didn't need to leave the resort as there was always something going on and the resort can keep you busy.

The rooms need a little updating and the beds and pillows are horrible. The fridges were always stocked well with water and drinks. The liquor wall unit always had a good supply. Not that you really needed it.

Bring your own alcohol if you are picky as the liquor, although free, is not really that good. Bring your own pillow as that might offset the bed.

All-in-all we would still go back. We will also check out other RIU locations. Our last stay was at RIU Naiboa, with our kids and it was a nice stay as well. But, a bit outdated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, fantastic food bar, great pools, neon party was da bomb! We had a couple of issues and the manager on duty, Victor resolved it quickly! We tagged the hotel in our anniversary picture (IG) and receive an anniversary gift when we checked out
The weak points
The gym is not maintained. Equipment needs to be updated and cared for. The alcohol is not the greatest and that includes mixed drinks. The bed and pillows are horrible.
Certified

You can find a better resort

, richmond hll, ON
2019-07-25
The only good thing about this resort was its entertainment, other than that, this resort is trash. Don't waste your money. My bf and I just came back after a 7 day stay here and we couldn't wait to leave by the 4th day. All the rooms have cockroaches (we even changed rooms), the rooms and the furnitures were nasty af (even though there was daily room service), the buffet was nasty af and I got very sick from the food there. This resort is not a clean resort, the utensils and plates always had a strong odour and I even got startled by ants after picking up a spoon. The beach was not clean either there was way too much seaweeds Everywhere. Would not recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertaining
The weak points
Everything
Certified

Party Resort

, Longueuil, QC
2019-07-23
If youare an adult and want to party this is the resort. Having said that, the resort is big enough where you will find some quieter pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall very good. Rooms are nice/new, but nothing fancy, restaurants are good, but not amazing.
The weak points
None really. Just note the new section is the party section. Older section is less party.
Certified

Great experience

, Pickering, ON
2019-06-17
The hotel was beautiful, very clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly. Food was from OK to great, depending on your taste.
The weak points
No weak points really
Certified

Not quite a 5

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-09
Very big hotel, adults only - appears to be more for younger crowd 20-30 average age in June. If you want lots of walking this is the place! The pool bar nearest the beach bar very good service, elsewhere felt that we were ignored until everyone else younger had been served! Beach is beautiful, white sands - shame that the sun loungers under the umbrellas are packed liked sardines as there's plenty of beautiful beach to space it out. Never had to fight for a sun lounger anywhere which was awesome. Food disappointing in the speciality restaurants as it was still buffet style. Could do with snack bars near the pool area and beach service would be awesome. Not as refined and as 5 star, 4 would be more appropriate. Rooms, grounds and pools well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and all the property was well maintained.
The weak points
Could do with snack bars near the beach and pool bars. Umbrellas on beach too close together. Food in speciality could be special! Lack of Snack bars.
Certified

Riu Republica Review

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-29
My wife and I decided to do our second resort vacation in DR at the Riu Republica which was the most recommended. We usually go on vacation cruises around the world and note that we have been travelling since 20 yr of age and we are 30 yr old Dammmmmnnnnn we getting old.......lolol........nevertheless we attempted something different more slow base to relax....as we run a marketing company for the nightlife in Toronto and GTA....this resort is beautiful, kept clean at all times, room size good, and the fact its all white it shows you if there any flaws ....but no ....2 thumbs up.....the downside is that the hotel staff don't speak English , hard to engage in conversation even a simple "good-morning".....at times i felt they looked down on guest thinking we are dumb or talking bad about us to their coworkers and laugh while u being served a drink.....We felt very disconnect with the resort staff and felt not as welcome. The food is the same thing throughout the hotel everyday and its pretty salty and after the 3rd day felt like ground hog.....I believe the hotel should review their target audience as it felt very much cater to Spanish or Latin group and us Canadian or any none Spanish speaking folks .....bring your dictionary..or.."S.O.L." ......despite the our experience with the staff....we had a good time at the jungle party, pink party and The Cave nightclub. The hotel nightlife was very poor........the hotel drinks were very very very very water down and when u ask for an extra SHOT they look at you weird. i felt i wasn't getting my money worth. the Beers was the only thing i would say that was tastie and we are not beer people. The hotel did not have many selection....I would advise to the travelers to take advantage of the duty free prior to your vacation departure and bring you drink of choice.......My overall experience and the worth of this resort, i would say i would go back but better prepare and i would not pay more that $1000/person otherwise on to the next journey.....hope my review help both parties guest and hotel to ensure future satisfaction and success! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel, nice pools, beautiful landscape, Nice Beach
The weak points
Liquor, food, staff, language, bar service,host at restaurant, location, vendors on the beach"willy wonka" and VACATION PRICE
Certified

Amazing time

, London, ON
2019-04-25
Resort was amazing and clean and the staff were fantastic.
The biggest issue we had was the USB charging points in the room didn't work, lucky we had a cube to plug in the outlet for charging our phones and iPods, we called the front desk and nothing was fixed ( only plug we could use was in the bathroom that worked ) lucky we had a battery pack to help charge things.
This resort lived up to and exceeded our expectations and would love to have spent another 7 days [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great Pools were clean Staff were friendly and professional Room was clean and comfortable
The weak points
Food was not always labeled ( people with food allergies beware ) USB didn't work in the room
Certified

Not 5 stars but not awful

, Lower Sackville, NS
2019-04-14
Arrived after 9PM so there were no restaurants open. Our room was in the newer section farthest from the beach so it was a bit of a hike every day. The food closest to our room wasn't great. Breakfast buffet food and coffee were both cold. Staff was indifferent. Better dining experience if you eat in the restaurants on the other side of the resort although the salmon and chicken in the Asian restaurant tended to be way overcooked.

Only one pool that was relatively quiet all day. Of course it was the one farthest from our room. Beach was nice. Vendors were not overly annoying. Water was rough. Red flag was up a lot meaning it wasn't safe to swim.

Room was clean although the shower head bracket was broken as was one of the towel holders.

Overall, once we figured out where to go to get what we want, we had a pretty good time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was attentive and helpful. Grounds are beautiful.
The weak points
Food wasn't stellar. Long walk to get anywhere. Beach isn't great if you want to swim.
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Capreol, ON
2019-04-06
This may be our first trip but I have absolutely no complaints ...rooms were clean , the staff was courteous and helpful ...food wow ...buffet was good and so many choices...,.we ate at the steak house and Italian it was delicious [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food....service...cleanliness
The weak points
Ice machines ...need more then one on the floors

Very nice

, Miramichi, NB
2019-04-01
Very nice hotel clean and all beautiful spot [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Enjoy the atmosphere Food is excellent lots to eat all the cleaners and bar tender very nice and happy on there job
The weak points
None in mind
Certified

Riu Republica

, Montréal, QC
2019-03-25
Great hotel lots of food and very clean people are pleasant would go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointing

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-23
Our experience was disappointing. The food at was very salty, some of the staff were not polite and would bolldoze past, and the drinks were VERY weak. They did not have a schedule posted of activities to attend and the staff was very inappropriate with the younger woman (asking for kisses, sliding people across the bar, etc.). The towels were NEVER available so keep yours overnight until you can get a fresh one the next day. They never had ping pong balls available for the tables - bring your own. Pools with the bars in it looked very cloudy every day. No pools had shade spots other than bar pools. Beds were hard and pillows were awful (too small and lumpy). Entertainment was also at 9:30 and was OK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Coffee Nice grounds Lounging chairs/canopy was nice beside pools - lots of seating
The weak points
No shade options at pools Salty food Inappropriate staff interactions Very slow/weak wifi in your room
Certified

Amazing March Break Getaway

, Brampton, ON
2019-03-19
My stay at Riu Republica was fantastic! The resort is beautiful. We experienced excellent service especially from the servers, hosts and bartenders. Since our stay was during the same time as U.S. College Spring Break, there were a lot of party-ers making noise in the halls and on the resort in general, but that didn't keep us from having a great time.The worst it got was one night waking us up at 3 or 4 am.
Beautiful and spacious pools. Love that it's adults-only so no children are splashing you in the face in the pool. Also, we could always find loungers at the beach even if we arrived later. The entertainment (circus, dancing shows) was of excellent quality. Our favourite thing about our stay was that each night we dined at a different restaurant, and on the final night we ate at the dinner buffet.
The beachfront had very rough water, so we were unable to really swim in the ocean from there, although we took a yacht/snorkeling excursion and were SO glad we did, because we got to actually swim in the sea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service, hotel aesthetic, cleanliness, dining options, no reservations required
The weak points
Sometimes a wait for dinner since it is first-come, first-serve; Though there were plenty of activities offered, their descriptions and locations were not included on the Riu website so it was difficult to attend or decide if you were interested.
Certified

Disappointed

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-26
Rooms where situated on the back the sewer smell was disgusting, you could not sit out on your balcony. So disappointed had to call my agent (I have never had to this before) to get me a better room as I felt I was not getting anywhere with the front desk. The front desk where very rude and I felt they could not care. Food was not much better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
After my agent was able to get a hold of the hotel Manager we where moved and the hotel room was great
The weak points
Food was awful -the attitude of the employee needs improvement overall would not recommend this hotel
Certified

Great time

, Parkland County, AB
2019-01-16
We had a great time, enjoyed the food and drinks, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, they go out of there way to make you happy
The weak points
The store was over priced
Certified

Great Resort! We'd Stay Again

, Thunder Bay, ON
2019-01-13
We moved to Riu Republica after spending two nights at Be Live Adults Only, so we have something to compare the resort to -- and the Riu comes out LEAGUES ahead.

The food was excellent, keeping in mind that it's a developing country and they are preparing food en masse. We weren't overly taken with the Italian restaurant, so we decided to stick with the buffet until the last night because it has a fairly good variety of dishes. We tried the steak house and were impressed! Those mozza sticks were especially good, but the entrees my husband and I had were good as well. One thing to mention is that food in the buffet is not well labelled, so if you have an allergy you may want to have a card made up with the Spanish translation so you can ask the person working each station about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great. Employees spoke to you across the resort and were prompt and friendly. The pools were good - we loved the waterslides - and the beach was excellent! There were ample sun loungers for everyone.
The weak points
We would love to see them go straw free, or at least straws by request only (and balloon free. There were so many around the property after NYE, and probably in the ocean).

Our Honeymoon in Punta Cana at Riu Republica

, Welland, ON
2018-12-14
I decided to surprise my wife by booking our Honeymoon although a couple of years later this was by far our best experience in Punta Cana to date. Riu Republica although large in size did not ever feel as though you were fighting for a chair on the beach by a pool or in a restaurant. We loved being able to spend time exploring the different restaurant options Mangu Buffet was our favourite buffet and we explored a handful of the 7 a la carte restaurants all with a different ethnic theme. The Jerk Chicken hut was a huge hit as well and by far the best jerk chicken we have ever eaten!!! The staff was beyond amazing by far the most amazing service even while on the beach drinks and trays of fruit were being served. There also was no shortage of entertainment or things to take part in the staff were engaged and truly cared what kind of experience they gave their customers be it watching a show in the theatre, enjoying poolside entertainment or late night dancing in the club (which was packed every night!) This hotel was so clean, our rooms, halls, lobbies, restaurants you name it there was not ever a spec of dirt on the ground. We enjoyed the spa services offered as well great prices for the value. It was a great mix of adult only groups and groups of all ages- groups of singles enjoying a guys weekend or a bachlorette party and groups of couples be it mid to late 20's through those in their senior years. We truly had an amazing time and would not hesitate to go back in a heartbeat!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Clean Hotel Amazing staff Plenty of restaurants Large pools with ample seating around all of them Beach was clean and staff always present to serve drinks Wifi throughout the WHOLE hotel property
The weak points
Only one hotel store for shopping
Certified

Nice Experience

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-26
Great resort with a lot of options for food and atmosphere. Whether you are into partying or more quiet and reserved, you can find a comfortable spot. Clean and well designed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is excellent
The weak points
No real late night access to food other than the sports bar, and that food is the only "bad" quality stuff around, but acceptable, not great.
Certified

Riu Republica

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-07
Beautiful, clean, great amenities, plenty of pools, bars, restaurants and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Entertainment staff were so much fun and always a great show going on. Good mix between party time and quiet relax time at the pools. Highly recommended adults only resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness; variety; friendly staff; many amenities
The weak points
needed more labelling on some food items in buffet. Depending on which end of resort you are staying there is a bit of a walk to the beach.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?