Excellence El Carmen

4.674.674.674.674.67
Excellence El Carmen
#1 of 92 hotels in Punta Cana
4.67 based on 33 reviews
Traveller pictures (29)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Okay

, Edmonton, AB
2019-06-18
Came here for our honeymoon, first time visiting the DR, nothing special was done for us. Grounds and rooms were always well kept and clean, beaches are beautiful, lots of couples. Service was good, a little slow. It was pretty quiet when we were there since it was low season. The food was not all that great and disappointing. I had gotten sick after having the romantic dinner on the beach and came home with diarrhea lasting a week requiring antibiotics. I have never gotten sick on a resort before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, clean and well kept
The weak points
Food was not good
Certified

Great Adult Only Resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-05-10
Quiet resort with lots of restaurants, but service is slow. Beach clean and soft sand. Pool small but swim up was nice and quiet. Sports bartender Felix was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful resort, excellent service

, Beaconsfield, QC
2019-04-22
From the moment we walked in we were treated so well. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are contemporary and well designed, the beach is very nice and the service is excellent. The choice of restaurants is more than we were able to try in 10 days and the presentation was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service on the beach was amazing with Jordy who always smiles and eager to serve.
The weak points
The seaweed on our beach was not cleaned on the last 3 days. It was raked and left in piles along the beach, while all the other neighboring resorts on either side of us were cleaned daily. The previous days it was picked up but at a much slower pace.
Certified

Amazing

, Dryden, ON
2019-03-11
Everything was top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2018-04-15
Our overall experience at this resort was great. Totally spoiled. We had a swim up room which was awesome. We didn't have to leave our pool for drinks, we were right next to the bar called 'sol' and our bartender 'super surgeo' took great care of us from first thing in the morning until night. The room was very spacious, big jacuzzi tub and shower and double sinks as well. Air conditioning worked great. Only thing I would change were the beds, it wasn't terrible but definitely not the most comfortable. They have 24 hour room service which is amazing whereas most resorts do not offer this. We ordered breakfast to our room every morning so there was no waiting in lines for food. The quality of the food was great, all the restaurants were great. We didn't have a meal we didn't like. The people were awesome, always had a smile on their faces and love Canadians. We did a couple of excursions as well which were really fun. Highly recommend Coco Bongo if you want to have a night out. The beach was very nice and clean. We will definitely return to this hotel and resort. Highly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, food, overall experience was great.
The weak points
Our pool was at the end so the wind would blow stuff down to the end of our pool. Could have been cleaned a little more but overall good.
Certified

Review

, London, ON
2018-04-11
Nice new hotel.
Communication to guests could be better. Check out was not good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Excursions Check out
Certified

Excellence experience

, Brampton, ON
2017-06-02
Just wanted to let you know that service ,room and the friendly service were second to none best quality of service I have had room service was excellent all the workers go out of there way to please you would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people ,service, food ,swim out suites
The weak points
water was cloudy in the ocean and lots of seaweed this something they can't control
Certified

Excellence El Carmen

, Orleans, ON
2017-02-03
My husband & I throughly enjoyed our stay at this Excellence [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a great time at this Excellence and we hope to return again next year The food was excellent
The weak points
This was our third visit to an Excellence, twice to the one in Playa Mujers but we have never been offered an upgrade of rooms
Certified

Excellente El Carmen is Excellente

, Chelsea, QC
2017-02-01
Getting away from the city the job the stress, we were looking for a get away to reboot ourselves and no kids around. What a delight it was!! How to describe it? Zen Peaceful Quiet Good music Good Ambiance Good Food and Good variety of wines without having to pay extra. The drinks were excellent and a huge selection of restaurants without reservations needed which is a plus. Staff very attentive. A recent opening so still some minor adjustments to do such as dim the lights at the Lobster and Italian restaurants at night and maybe some screen that can be lowered when winds are strong in order to eat more comfortably. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The quiet, zen music, calm feeling and very attentive staff was excellent. Adults only resort. The beach even in the water is smooth not rocky or rough. And you can walk for miles without being bugged by anyone.
The weak points
The only reason I gave a 4* to the room its because it is sooooo humid, I tried everything with keeping air cond on or put only at fan. It made nights unconfortable, pillows were damp. A solution is needed.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?