Excellence El Carmen

4.614.614.614.614.61
Excellence El Carmen
#1 of 96 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
4.61 based on 49 reviews
Traveller pictures (40)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

The worst hotel ever!! Don't go there!!!

, Cote-Saint-Luc, QC
2020-02-08
We booked our stay at the Aquamarine all inclusive adults only hotel. We chose to stay at this specific place as we wanted to have quality and quit time together (without any kids).
As we arrived at the hotel we have been informed that we got lucky and for our special event we have being upgraded to a beautiful room at a close by resort named Esmeralda. When we have arrived the room, it was dirty and full of dust. The bed sheets seemed used, the pictures on the walls were cracked and a bloody mark of a dad mosquito was right on top of our bed. The bellboy have handed us a pack of chocolates as a souvenir that were old and rotten. The following morning started around 7 AM due to a grating noise of crying kids and parents passing through the hallway. The room's door isolation is so poor as we could hear a pin drop. As I have mentioned before, we came to an adults only resort and were not informed that the "upgrade" was to a family resort that we were trying to avoid. We decided that we will not ruin our vacation, therefore we were heading to the lobby to request going back to aquamarine. Around 11 Am I was waiting for my partner at the nearest bar by the lobby. As I was passing 3 employees from the resort I couldn't help but notice that they were speaking about me sexually in Spanish. Feeling uncomfortable I moved away as I was facing my back to them, my partner saw one of the employees staring at my back in an inappropriate way and confronted him. We have informed the manager immediately, and that afternoon we have been transferred back to our initial hotel. During our stay I have been sexually assaulted many times by the employees that have been asking for my room number and claiming that "what happens in Punta Cana stays in Punta Cana". I got to the point that I did not feel comfortable walking by myself in the resort. On the 24th around 3 PM my partner and I decided to walk by the beach as we came across an employee that offered us some items for purchase. As we refused his offer we started walking so he had the nerve to shout towards me: "nice ass". I could not explain in words the humiliation and disrespect we have experienced.
In addition we also have been facing a very rude and disrespectful behavior from the staff. Some of the employees that we approached were not welcoming and caring. Most of the time when we will place an order we would not even finish the sentence as the waiteremployee will walk away. On our last night we went to Takara restaurant, my partner ordered a dish that contained mussels. As a five star hotel, I would expect the cook to know the proper way to clean and cook mussels. We found a chunk of rope that the mussels use to get attach to a rock. We both got disgusted and lost our appetite immediately. It seemed once again that the staff did not care or took it into consideration. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They tolerate disrespect towards women, the staff is completely unhelpful. The management does not care at all!!
The weak points
Avoid staying there at all cost!!! Dirty, old and filthy!

2nd Time

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-21
We loved it the 2nd time around too! Great resort - highly recommend if you want a quiet, chill vacation to rest up and recharge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, relaxing vacation
The weak points
A couple of staff members sour, but majority were fantastic!
Certified

Would definitely return!

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-20
I have been to numerous resorts over the years and I would have to say that the El Carmen would be rated number one of all the ones that I have been to. We booked a swim out room with Excellence Club upgrade. The room and pool deck was very spacious. The Excellence Club extras were good value for the price. My biggest complaint is with the open concept bathroom layout (which is a problem not exclusive to this resort these days). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large property with lots of wide open space.
The weak points
Language barrier issues ordering at restaurants a few times
Certified

Great Stay

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-06
Our stay at the Excellence El Carmen was very nice the staff were always helpful, engaging and nice. The entertainment team was always nice and up beat. The food was great in every restaurant we went to and the evening shows were very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great pools, great beaches
The weak points
Dress code for men in the evening, we should be allowed open toed footwear with our long pants and collared shirts.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Val Caron, ON
2019-11-11
Check-in was very easy, especially if you are part of the Excellence Club. The grounds are impressive and very well-maintained. Too many restaurants for a 1 week stay which is too bad as they were all excellent. Service is top notch, staff could not do enough for you. Highly recommend the private pool if you can. Beach was cleaned continuously for seaweed. There is a new resort being built next door, so had some construction noise - not too bad though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are big, bathroom is huge and very well designed, big walk-in closet. Private pool was the best part of the trip
The weak points
Water was choppy at the beach, evening entertainment at the Theater was just OK.
Certified

Great week at Excellence El Carmen

, Montréal, QC
2019-10-21
We stayed at EEC from Oct. 12 to Oct. 19, 2019 and loved it. It was to celebrate our Anniversary. We usually go to ERC but after 4 times with almost no beach access due to tons of Seaweed we decided to try a different destination. We were hoping for a nice beach but still wanted to stay at an Excellence resort.

We chose EEC mostly because of the layout of the Swim out rooms. We upgraded to the Excellence club to mostly be closer to the beach. We had nice ameneties and some nice inclusions (spa water treatment) but all rooms are close to the beach. Maybe a 30 seconds difference lolll so no worries if that's what you want.

We were spoiled by a glorious beach, no seaweeed whatsoever. The ocean was fun, a bit bossy we called it. Nice big waves to enjoy but not dangerous.

A very strong point (great surprise), only a few resorts in that area. So nice and relaxing to walk on a 5 Km long beach with only a few people from time to time, compared to the Bavaro beach where it feels like a very busy highway...

Shows were hit and miss. Cirque, fire show and Burlesque were great, the others were OK.

The resort in itself is well maintained, clean and the rooms are big, so pretty and very clean too. Great service everywhere, great food, we found the staff were all happy, smiling and happy to help.

We had the beach dinner, it was again perfect. We both chose the Dominican Passion as our menu, great meal. we asked for Rosé Bubbly instead of the white, no problem. No mosquitoe problem for us. we Highly recommend it.

We went twice to the spa, the water treatment included in the Excellence club package and another time for a couple's massage and water treatment again. This too was well worth it!

Great place for couples and/or singles looking to relax and just socialize... Singles looking for "action" try Breathless resort instead :-)

Overall, great stay, we highly recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff, great food, beach, pools, Beautiful resort, very few resorts around, so relaxing to walk on the beach, no bracelet, no need to reserve for dinner, gym very well equipped
The weak points
nothing worth mentioning
Certified

Awesome stay at Excellence

, Calgary, AB
2019-10-05
One of the best resort that I have ever stayed. Everything was perfect from check-in process, cleanliness and appearance of room, location of the hotel, all the services and staff. In short there is no words to describe how beautiful my stay was. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ask me which are the weak points because there was none.
Certified

Beautiful Resort, Friendly People, Overall Good

, Chatham, ON
2019-09-28
Overall, we really enjoyed this resort. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a glass of champagne, in a GLASS flute (something you don't see often). The greeter was super friendly and happy to see us, he gave us a second glass for our journey to our room. Checkin was quick and efficient. We booked Club Level and paid for the Private Rooftop Terrace with :Plunge Pool and Ocean View. Room was well appointed and clean, with a nice swan upon arrival, as well as a bottle of champagne. I will say, for Club Level, our room's view left something to be desired. While we could see the ocean, it was quite a distance away and only visible from certain angles. We had a view of the resort grounds including the two outdoor restaurants in pool. Usually, when you pay for the upgraded level, your view is superior, so this was a bit disappointing. The first night, we were tired so we decided to order room service. The menu itself was extensive and available 24/7, which was great! We ordered a few items, including the mozzarella sticks, pizza and a beef noodle dish. The mozzarella sticks were delicious, but the rest was just ok, nothing too special. We really enjoyed the Excellence Club section of the beach. The people there were accommodating, always remembered us and where we liked to sit. Beverage service was just ok - in the morning it was great, but after lunch you were lucky to find anyone. Keeping in mind, the resort was nowhere near full capacity, so I'm sure staff levels matched this. We loved the many restaurant options, it was hard deciding where to eat and which ones to skip, as there were so many options. Our absolute favourite meal was at Basmati. The indian food was delicious! The biggest let down was Spice, which is the Teppanakyi and show. We travel a lot and this was by far the worst show we have ever seen. While the chef was nice and friendly, there was zero excitement. No fire. No fancy show. Nothing. Very disappointing. Food was ok. Wouldn't waste my time in this restaurant again. The shows put on by the resort were pretty good. Consistent in time and a good variety, definitely good for evening entertainment. Our favourite was the Michael Jackson show - this guy could DANCE! His moonwalk was unreal. The bars overall were pretty good, drinks were consistent and alcohol variety was good. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, they gifted us with 2 40 minute massages, as well as dinner on the beach. We were able to select from a 5 course menu. I selected the Ride of Veggie, being a vegetarian and all and my husband had the Surf and Turf. While the atmosphere was romantic and we can't complain because it was free, the food was not great and my menu was not as listed. My main course was completely different than what was named on the menu, as was my course before my main....it was REALLY disappointing and if we had paid the $200US, I would have been asking for my money back. I feel they really struggle with the vegetarian menus at this resort. I can't count the amount of times that I would order something, from the menu and then be served something with either meat in or something totally different than what I had ordered. This is something they definitely need to work on if they want to cater to an upscale crowd. The other issue we ran into, which unfortunately was the same night as our Dinner on the Beach, was when we got back to the room after spending the day on the Beach (4pm), the room had not been cleaned yet. Let me mention, we leave our room by 8:30 every morning and always put the Clean Room hanger on the door. When we got back to find our room not done yet, my husband called down and asked someone to come. An hour later, no one had come so he called to cancel as we had to get ready for dinner. Not the BIGGEST deal, but its the small details like that when you are spending thousands of dollars to visit a resort, that you expect to be taken care of. To top it off, when we got home that night, we had just nodded off to sleep to have the phone ring. It was 11pm - when we answered, they were calling to invite us to a Manager's breakfast the following morning. Ok. Great. Thanks for the invite. But DO NOT CALL SOMEONE at 11pm. Maybe some people were awake or even more than some, but out of respect, that is far too late. Needless to say, we were not impressed nor did we attend the breakfast. On a positive note, the staff, for the most part, were super friendly and accommodating. Honestly, some of the nicest staff we have encountered at a resort. We travel to all inclusive usually about 4 times a year, so when I say we are well travelled, I am not exaggerating. We love to travel and love the all inclusive lifestyle of not having to worry about a thing. I would say we would go back to this resort, but I would not pay for the rooftop terrace and I would also hope by then they have figured out the vegetarian menu. Having that is a huge plus for me as it is always a struggle at resorts. So I greatly appreciate that. But not being able to serve the food on that menu is a problem.
Overall, great resort, needs some tweaks, but overall quite nice and worth checking out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great reception upon arrival, very friendly staff, lots of english speaking, vegetarian menu was a bonus, beaches and huts were beautiful, alcohol selection in room was great.
The weak points
Food was pretty good but I've had better, while it was nice having a vegetarian menu, they didn't always get it right due to language barrier. Room cleaning was not always done in a timely fashion. Bathroom location in room was not great for nighttime.
Certified

Incredible Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-11
We had an amazing time here celebrating a late honeymoon/first wedding anniversary. The facilities are amazing, and food is incredible, and the staff just makes everything that much more fantastic. We've been to many all-inclusives, and this is the only one we would return to! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing facilities, incredible food, fantastic staff.
Certified

Okay

, Edmonton, AB
2019-06-18
Came here for our honeymoon, first time visiting the DR, nothing special was done for us. Grounds and rooms were always well kept and clean, beaches are beautiful, lots of couples. Service was good, a little slow. It was pretty quiet when we were there since it was low season. The food was not all that great and disappointing. I had gotten sick after having the romantic dinner on the beach and came home with diarrhea lasting a week requiring antibiotics. I have never gotten sick on a resort before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, clean and well kept
The weak points
Food was not good
Certified

Great Adult Only Resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-05-10
Quiet resort with lots of restaurants, but service is slow. Beach clean and soft sand. Pool small but swim up was nice and quiet. Sports bartender Felix was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful resort, excellent service

, Beaconsfield, QC
2019-04-22
From the moment we walked in we were treated so well. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are contemporary and well designed, the beach is very nice and the service is excellent. The choice of restaurants is more than we were able to try in 10 days and the presentation was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service on the beach was amazing with Jordy who always smiles and eager to serve.
The weak points
The seaweed on our beach was not cleaned on the last 3 days. It was raked and left in piles along the beach, while all the other neighboring resorts on either side of us were cleaned daily. The previous days it was picked up but at a much slower pace.
Certified

Amazing

, Dryden, ON
2019-03-11
Everything was top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2018-04-15
Our overall experience at this resort was great. Totally spoiled. We had a swim up room which was awesome. We didn't have to leave our pool for drinks, we were right next to the bar called 'sol' and our bartender 'super surgeo' took great care of us from first thing in the morning until night. The room was very spacious, big jacuzzi tub and shower and double sinks as well. Air conditioning worked great. Only thing I would change were the beds, it wasn't terrible but definitely not the most comfortable. They have 24 hour room service which is amazing whereas most resorts do not offer this. We ordered breakfast to our room every morning so there was no waiting in lines for food. The quality of the food was great, all the restaurants were great. We didn't have a meal we didn't like. The people were awesome, always had a smile on their faces and love Canadians. We did a couple of excursions as well which were really fun. Highly recommend Coco Bongo if you want to have a night out. The beach was very nice and clean. We will definitely return to this hotel and resort. Highly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, food, overall experience was great.
The weak points
Our pool was at the end so the wind would blow stuff down to the end of our pool. Could have been cleaned a little more but overall good.
Certified

Review

, London, ON
2018-04-11
Nice new hotel.
Communication to guests could be better. Check out was not good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Excursions Check out
Certified

Excellence experience

, Brampton, ON
2017-06-02
Just wanted to let you know that service ,room and the friendly service were second to none best quality of service I have had room service was excellent all the workers go out of there way to please you would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people ,service, food ,swim out suites
The weak points
water was cloudy in the ocean and lots of seaweed this something they can't control
Certified

Excellence El Carmen

, Orleans, ON
2017-02-03
My husband & I throughly enjoyed our stay at this Excellence [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a great time at this Excellence and we hope to return again next year The food was excellent
The weak points
This was our third visit to an Excellence, twice to the one in Playa Mujers but we have never been offered an upgrade of rooms
Certified

Excellente El Carmen is Excellente

, Chelsea, QC
2017-02-01
Getting away from the city the job the stress, we were looking for a get away to reboot ourselves and no kids around. What a delight it was!! How to describe it? Zen Peaceful Quiet Good music Good Ambiance Good Food and Good variety of wines without having to pay extra. The drinks were excellent and a huge selection of restaurants without reservations needed which is a plus. Staff very attentive. A recent opening so still some minor adjustments to do such as dim the lights at the Lobster and Italian restaurants at night and maybe some screen that can be lowered when winds are strong in order to eat more comfortably. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The quiet, zen music, calm feeling and very attentive staff was excellent. Adults only resort. The beach even in the water is smooth not rocky or rough. And you can walk for miles without being bugged by anyone.
The weak points
The only reason I gave a 4* to the room its because it is sooooo humid, I tried everything with keeping air cond on or put only at fan. It made nights unconfortable, pillows were damp. A solution is needed.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?