Iberostar Costa Dorada

4.274.274.274.274.27
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
4.27 based on 482 reviews
Traveller pictures (175)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Excellent Hotel

, Asbestos, QC
2020-02-18
Wé have stayed at this resort 10 times in the last 11 years and have always had an excellent vacation. Food is very good with sufficient variety for even picky eaters.Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Personnel friendly and very helpfull and accommodating. Rooms need refreshing however they are very clean and cleaning staff is great. The room we had last trip had a renovated bathroom and was comfortable. Beach sometimes has a sea weed problem however there was no seaweed during our first week this year.We spend all day at the beach and beach itself is clean. Shows in the evening are usually excellent often with a great live band and an excellent dance troupe.Quality wifi throughout the resort at least in our room in block 5 and at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, personnel, entertainment and grounds.
The weak points
Sea weed on the beach for those people that like to go in the water. However there is usually at least one area where access to the water is clear of sea weed.
Certified

Nice Vacay

, Ste. Anne, MB
2020-02-08
This very clean and well laid out resort was our home for a week. We felt completley safe. The staff and entertainment crew were all very good. Our room was very clean and had been updated. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were hard and flat. Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the beautiful pool. The food was very good with so much variety and it appeared to have items that suited all dietary restrictions. The beach was very nice but sadly the garbage that would wash up (no fault of the resort) was a reminder of how poorly we treat our planet.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service, Iberostar's environmental strategy within the hotel itself ie refillable glass jugs for room, reusable personal water bottles, recycled paper's etc. The washrooms have all refillable toiletries dispensers.
The weak points
For us there were no real weak points but given everything was in U.S. dollars the spa services were pricey. They need to enforce the signs they have for reserving lounge chairs. Towelled lounges sat empty for hours and owners no where to be found.
Certified

Iberostar Costa Dorada

, North River, NS
2020-01-31
Had a awesome week, it is definitely a 4 1/2 star. The food was excellent, the drinks we very good, very clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. Lots of activities around the pool daily. .Good location on beach. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, excellent food, lots of verity at buffet, Specialty dining was amazing., friendly staff, grounds nicely kept, good location on the beach, lots of entertainment around the pool daily.
The weak points
I really can't think of any week points.
Certified

Great Resort

, Minnedosa, MB
2020-01-18
My wife and another couple stayed 7 days at Iberostar Costa Dorada and we quite enjoyed the resort itself. The staff was quite friendly and willing to help. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area was clean & spacious with no shortage of places to sit. The beach was beautiful, it had a lot of seaweed washed up but the ocean was very rough while we were there (unusual) so this I don't believe is common. And most importantly, the food was fantastic. Definitely check out the a la carts restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean, great food, close to town of Puerto Plata
The weak points
A bit of a language barrier at times when trying to get more information. There were people on the beach constantly asking you to go to the market. These were not resort employees but still got a little annoying over the course of a week.
Certified

A very nice vacation at the 19/20 transition

, Newmarket, ON
2020-01-09
The resort is large but not huge, just appropriate to accomodate lots of guests who came to celebrate the New Year at Iberostar Costa Dorada. The room we got in buiding 5 was upgraded recently, very clean and large - we had a king size bed. The service throughout was excellent. The beach is both long and wide, with lots of palapas and trees. We did not get bothered by beach salespeople altough we felt for them as this is one of the few sources of their limited income. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The size of the resort, the size of pool, the cleanliness, the landscape
The weak points
Too many algae by the shore. I think the beach maintenance staff did their best to remove them but the beach is long and just a little truck and a couple of guys cannot remove such large quantities as they accumulate nonstop. More people anf truck will do
Certified

Staff are so friendly

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-26
The hotel is easy to get to and close to the airport.
They great you and get you through the check in so quick. Lenny does a great job and looked after all of our requests.
The entertainment staff is the best! Hulu Hulu, Pepsi, Wifi really make our holiday great! They are so fun and have so much energy. This is why we come back here.
Domingo is the best wait staff you could ask for. So kind and caring, really goes above and beyond [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment staff, wait staff, Grounds are beautiful Staff work hard to keep clean.
The weak points
Special requests sometimes get missed on check in but usually staff are able to change your room. Depends on who you get. Seems like more work. More thought and care should be handled when setting up rooms
Certified

Bien

, Gatineau, QC
2019-12-05
Le site est très bien. Le service est impeccable! Les restos à la cartes sont difficiles à réserver à des heures convenables, mais j'en ai eu deux sur trois! Japonais à ne pas manquer et le mexicain est bon. Éviter les chambres au rdc ça pu l'humidité et pas un peu. Même nos valises sentaient l'humidité à notre retour! La plage est belle mais la mer pleine d'algues et 1 jour sur 7 de baignade trop de vagues. La pluie était annoncée presque tout les jours mais elle ne s'est jamais présentée de jour. Le site est très propre. Le bloc 7 côté opposé à la piscine sent la [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service et la nourriture ainsi que la propreté partout!
The weak points
La mer grâce à mère nature! Et la chambre au rdc! L'odeur d'étang présente presque tout les jours au bloc 7
Certified

First time at this resort

, Cambridge, ON
2019-11-26
Was a fairly big resort but easy to find your way around. Staff was super friendly and would help out when needed. Power in our room went out and went to front desk to tell them about it and it was fixed within 20 min. The grounds are well kept and clean. Beach was big. Cant complain about the food, it was good all around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, good food, well maintained,friendly staff,great wifi included.
The weak points
Beach runners trying to get you to go to their market to buy stuff.
Certified

You get what you pay for!

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-05
Yordin at the front desk was friendly and check-in/out was quick. Paula and Santiago at the restaurant(s) as well as our housemaid(s) were friendly. Entertainment/animation team and other resort staff could be a little bit more friendlier/approachable. Food was OK, fountain drink was not great (IE coke, pineapple juice etc.) but you can get it at the bar for a better quality. The beach area where the hotel is located is not quite as good as the resort beside it (BE LIVE) but again beach is public so you can walk there to play/swim in the ocean. BEWARE of the sales pitch about "STAR PRESTIGE" (timeshare) or try not to make an impulse decision to sign up (you might end up regretting it--it is not for everyone) and heads up the sales staff can be pushy and the "FINANCIAL SUPERVISOR" is rude if you do not sign up. Locals are here on the weekends so it is loud. Again, for the price we paid for we can't really complain about our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
La Hacienda makes good tacos, they can make your drink BOOZY if you ask for it, plenty of lounge chairs (low occupancy rate) and animals you may encounter such as flamingos, peacocks and turtles in the premises.
The weak points
Bathroom is dated, food at the buffet was OK (bacon was cooked differently) and sales pitch about the properties (timeshare)
Certified

Comments

, Whitby, ON
2019-04-21
Had an amazing 7 days experience. Everything was well organized. Felt totally safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Hotel was immaculately clean Food was very tasty
The weak points
nothing to comment on
Certified

Beautiful week in Paradise

, Hamilton, ON
2019-04-16
Had another wonderful week at this beautiful resort. Staff Christina, Kennedy and Carlos are outstanding! Only issue was the beach having alot of seaweed washing up every day which put a damper on our ocean bathing.
The staff did a good job raking and removing but it was ongoing everyday. So if your a beach person, this resort may not be for you until they resolve this issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, gardens, large pools, wildlife, night lighting, Ala Cartes's, Pool view rooms.
The weak points
Beach, night time entertainment. There should be background music playing every night in the lobby/courtyard area from 6pm until show time.
Certified

Iberostar

, Onslow Mountain, NS
2019-02-24
Absolutely wonderful, no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, incredible beaches, food was awesome, great entertainment.
Certified

Great experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-15
Great experience. Even better food! Staff is so friendly and always helpful. Always a smile on their faces and ready to help. Special thanks to Angela, she was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Exceptional getaway

, Hudson, ON
2019-01-21
Fabulous time, Great animation staff Barbie, Pepsi and Wifi made sure you were involved and had fun.There was always a many activities to choose from. Ony from the lobby bar and Denis from beach buffet bar so friendly and best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great visit again

, Brampton, ON
2019-01-18
My husband and I celebrated our birthdays at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. This was our 11th time at this hotel. We have not bee back since the last few years but was not disappointed at all in visiting this resort again. Thanks to Juan Lewis, Elizabeth, Mario, Maria Jose Berbel, Rafael, hulu hulu, Kemo, and the animation and entertainment team, Eduardo for writing and directing the beautiful shows and the beautiful band especially the saxophone player Eddie. Special thank you to Juan Familia for all the mouth watering dishes he prepared for us and Gabriel for always checking in with us and all the other guest at the restaurants to ensure we are doing fine.
Thanks to all the maids, waiters and waitresses, gardners ,front desk staff and everyone else who contributed to making our stay a memorable one.

This hotel still is a gem. It's the best hotel in Puerto Plata along with the best staff and location. The food every day is prepared by qualified chefs and served with love. The food is very tasty and there are so many varieties to choose from including a variety of desserts. There are many varieties of alcohol for those who like to try different drinks.

The pool is beautiful with a wonderful swim up bar. The beach has some seaweeds but that is expected in the Caribbean. The surroundings and landscape is well maintained by the gardeners.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I am looking forward to going back at this hotel because it has a touch of everything you need and want in a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We would personally like to thank the following people for making our stay a magnificent one and also for a memorable birthday celebration. Special thank you to Chef Juan Famalia and Gabriel for preparing the most wonderful meals for us.
The weak points
Best resort in Puerto Plata with the best staff to cater to your need. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Amazing resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-16
Everything was great here. Check-in to the room to the service to the beach- all great. Only thing I disliked was the variety of the buffet foods and deserts, but the taste was good. Stayed in room 7118, pool view room, there was no extra wall plugs to charge anything, not sure if other rooms were same. Tons of shade and chairs between the pool or beach. Juan Felix - amazing waiter/bartender. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and beach, shade, chairs, service, clean, everything within a 5 minute walk
The weak points
Variety of buffet food and desserts
Certified

Great Resort

, Moncton, NB
2019-01-03
I had a very nice week at Iberostar Costa Dorada. I travelled solo. I spent most days by the beach - i'm not much of a pool person - and the beach was very nice. It was long and great for walks. The weather for my entire week was fantastic.

The food was very good. Lots of variety. Hot food was served hot, and cold food was served cold. This isn't always the case when you travel down south. I only ate at the buffet so can't comment on the a la carte restaurants.

Aside from the beach and the food, i didn't do very much so can't speak too intelligently about it.

Overall, the resort was great and i had a great time. I would certainly return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, nice beach, decent wifi, decent rooms, good service
The weak points
Nothing stood out in a negative way
Certified

Not a 4 star resort!

, Calgary, AB
2018-12-13
The rooms are very dated and in need of a total renovation. There is definitely prostitution with young Dominican woman going on there that the staff tends to overlook. The beach is extremely weedy to the point of not wanting to go into it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort has a very nice pool. The grounds are well kept.
The weak points
The hotel needs a total renovation and updated electrical outlets. We could not even plug in our computer. The beach is weedy. The rack it daily but cannot kept up with it.
Certified

Repeat customer

, Sauble Beach, ON
2018-12-10
Second time at this resort....going back again! Amazing people and lovely resort. Very clean! If you take the time to get to know some of the staff your time spent here will be even better. Very good value for your dollar and amazing weather. This will be an annual trip for sure!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad experience for us

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-26
The hotel has a good location, the room are a good size but it was the only thing we like the rest in the room was a bad experience for us , our room was clean around 4:00 p.m. every day and it was very light cleaning, also we found cockroaches inside the room. Cleaning should be better for the price of the hotel.This should be 3 stars no 5 stars hotel.
It was our first time in Iberostar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the location of the hotel and the food were good
The weak points
Cleaning of the rooms need to be improved, the toilets were block so ofteen.
Certified

Amazing Resort!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-12
What an amazing experience! The hotel was beautiful and clean! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food was always fresh and always available. The drinks were perfect ! The pool water was perfect! Especially since I usually find pools way to cold!
I am already planning my vacation back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool Beaches Games/ Nightly entertainment Orchid Garden Friendly Staff Members
Certified

Incredible Vacation!!!

, Kitchener, ON
2018-07-02
Nothing at all wrong with this travel experience. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the great resort. The units were clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the resort amazing!
The food was incredible in all the restaurants and we were particularly impressed with Chef Gabriel who went over the top with excellent service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, staff friendly and helpful
The weak points
None

Nice vacation

, Nepean, ON
2018-06-28
I had a wonderful 2 weeks at this resort. Everything was close, the pool, beach buffets. The best service from the wait staff who got to know us. The food was amazing always fresh, lots of variety, especially my friend was vegan. The chef Carlos Gabriel Diaz Bautista made sure everything was up to expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the staff was amazing, rooms were always kept clean, all activities were fun.
The weak points
Areas like the pool and ponds/ fountains could use some cleaning and painting.

Great time

, Carleton Place, ON
2018-06-05
Had a great time at this resort. Excellent food and everyone was very friendly. I met a chef named Gabriel who works there and he made my experience much better from being friendly and showing me around the resort and always being enthusiastic and funny! If you are on the beach and a guy in a blue shirt tries to get you to come buy stuff, you may go but only if you are ready to shop and bring only a certain amount of money. Nothing bad to say about my trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Iberostar

, Oakville, ON
2018-06-02
The hotel was not too big or too small, the pool was just the right size for myself and my fiance. The food at the snack bar and Buffet were absolutely incredible great selection. The service staff in the buffet were extremely amazing. Our rooms were cleaned every day and they did an amazing job. It was my first time to this Resort and I would recommend it to all of my family and friends. Would be more than happy to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I met and got to know to wonderful guys that work at the resort. Allen and Gabriel, they were both extremely amazing and made my stay there extremely enjoyable. I could not ask more betster service. Both amazi
The weak points
Service in the Mexican restaurant was subpar and food was a little Bland

Excellent food - amazing trip

, Carleton Place, ON
2018-06-01
We stayed at this hotel for a week, and the trip was amazing. The food was excellent every night thanks to Gabriel! He met us almost every night making sure everything was good and really enhanced our trip. My kids definitely made a friend.
The beach was very windy, so our swimming in the ocean was limited. There was a basketball court and tennis courts that we used, and played beach volleyball and ping pong. There were various activities during the day to keep us busy. We had a great time sitting by the pool and going to the shows.
The room was clean, and our room was made up and restocked daily. We went through a lot of water, but the maids responded by putting a few extra. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food - it was amazing every night. Both the buffets and the a la cartes.
The weak points
Wind and weeds on the beach.

Nice Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-14
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada in Puerto Plata. The resort was clean, well maintained and the service was excellent. We didn't get out of the resort much. We mostly relaxed on the beach and at the pool or played tennis at the courts. The food at the buffet was good. The specialty restaurants were very good, especially the Japanese where they cooked in front of you and made a show of it! The nightly entertainment was very good; the host was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, great service, barbecue and cook outs on the beach were excellent.
The weak points
The beach was average and maintained around the resorts. Once you leave the resort area the beaches became very polluted with trash
Certified

My Vacation April 2-9th,2018

, Wolfville, NS
2018-04-11
Great place. Food, Staff, Grounds were very nice! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Must have separate pools for Adults and Children. Easily done with the way the pool(s) are laid out. Beach chairs need replacement -a lot of broken ones.
Certified

Awesome resort

, Louisdale, HA
2018-04-11
Excellent service at restaurants, at bars, and in room. Excellent entertainment. Excellent food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pretty good

, Regina, SK
2018-04-08
pretty good overall [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was excellent
The weak points
I received a $500 coupon book which is pretty useless. One of the coupons is for a casino credit, although no iberostar casino in PP. No value to it at all.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?