Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville

4.154.154.154.154.15
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville
#2 of 13 hotels in La Romana
4.15 based on 144 reviews
Traveller pictures (38)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Lovely six Night Stay.

, Dawson Creek, BC
2019-08-01
An amazing luxury resort - wonderful suites, beautiful views on the palw trees beach, incredible food and warm great extremely friendly professional service. Nice pool area with jacuzzi and bar. I recommend Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville La Romana if you want to spent a few days of luxury in a beautiful part of Carribian sea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-03
This is a beautiful hotel. Beach the pools are all very nice. The staff are so friendly. The entertainment crew are great. Especially the lady. She has such a warm and beautiful smile that makes you want to get up an enjoy yourself. The people we encounter were all very friendly. Jose who works in the restaurant was such a great and friendly person. He took care of us and made us feel like family. Our butler Isaury was great. He surprised us with a bubble bath, champagne, rose petals how romantic. What a nice thing to do for us. Thank you again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at the resort.
The weak points
Can not think of anything.
Certified

Nice resort

, Val Therese, ON
2019-02-24
Our stay was enjoyable. Resort well laid out. Need water shoes if you want to go in the sea as the bottom a little weedy. Rooms very clean. Staff go out of their way to please very eager to please. The food was very good, buffet as good as any of the a la cart restaurant that we went to. Least favourite restaurant was the Raccio. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Amazing hotel!!

, Pincourt, QC
2018-11-12
Beautiful resort, super clean, friendly & helpful staff, amazing food - delicious and incredible selection [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relax Relax

, Woodstock, ON
2018-06-23
If you are looking for a nice quiet relaxing vacation this is the place. Nice small resort that you will be pampered in. The rooms are nice and up to date. The restaurants are always clean and staff is pleasant. The a la Carte restaurants food is excellent and the service great. The buffet the food was always fresh and plentiful. The beach was amazing and plenty of chairs and palapas.

The sunset were amazing

The bus ride was a bit long from Punta Cana but we did stop 1/2 way and got beer etc.

Would highly recommend this resort to couples looking for a quiet, romantic get away [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Restaurants Rooms Beach Bars Sunsets
The weak points
Can't really think of any
Pro

Luxury Bahia Bouganville

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-19
Our 4th trip to a Bahia Resort. First 3 were to Bahia Punta Cana. We find Bahia PC getting too big with many more people and the beaches and pools not growing. The Bahia Bouganville in LaRomana is much smaller but just as enjoyable and upscale as Punta Cana was.
Staff is very friendly. Rooms are spotless. Pools and beach are enjoyable and very clean. One thing we found was that there were plenty of palapas around the pools and on the beach and we were always able to find a spot all times of the day.
It's about a 20 minute further drive then Punta Cana, but well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Same amenities as the larger Bahia resort, but on a smaller version and just as enjoyable. Very relaxing time.
The weak points
All food was good tasting but the menu selection at the A la carte restaurants was disappointing. The buffet themes night were great and food was excellent. Made up for a la cartes. menus.
Certified

Paradise stay

, Brampton, ON
2017-12-23
It was a piece of paradise. Beautiful grounds with manicured tropical plants, very spacious beautiful room, jacuzzi, shower, separate areas for quiet relax and entertainment. Live music for dancing every night or going next door for bigger performances. Beach has monumental tall palms, gently swaying in the wind and beautiful plants everywhere. Food is fantastic and plenty. Service is very friendly. Two large pools, with jacuzzi areas, also beds with shade covers in another beach area. Activity team was very lively and taking good care of singles. Haven't seen any mosquitoes. Excursions, spa, billiard, free wi-fi even at the beach, shops at the hotel and walking distance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic place for luxury, clean relax, beautiful surroundings.
The weak points
1hr 20 min trip to resort if you land in Punta Cana, but it was smooth and comfortable.
Certified

Nice resort

, Camrose, AB
2017-11-19
Hotel and resort were beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la cartes were fantastic!
The weak points
The buffet food was average. Beaches were not that nice.
Certified

Unforgettable trip

, Brossard, QC
2016-08-20
We had a great time, food was amazing. Few negative points: hotel under construction, found 2 cockroaches in the hotel room, balcony door is broken so we couldn't lock the door, toilet flushing system wasn't working only once in a while, beach water brown zero waves and pool closed too early at 7pm... Beside that everything was perfect, Dominican people are so friendly !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, entertainment, service
The weak points
Beach, construction, music, discotheque, resto a la carte, cockroach infestation, not recommended to go in the city

Vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2016-04-25
the best, we will go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
butler took great care of all our requirements
The weak points
need more attention to supply of room supplied coffee creamer sugar soap shampoo.
Certified

Luxury Vacation

, Haneytown, NB
2016-04-23
The hotel is great the service is superb cannot ask for anything better.They make you feel part of there family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff our out of this world
The weak points
Beach water is cloudy
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville

, London, ON
2016-04-11
We had a great time. Will go back and stay longer. Very clean. Food really good. Everyone treated us like kings.Steve [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxury grand Bahia Príncipe Bouganville

, Douglas, ON
2016-03-29
Everything was perfect couldn't ask for anything better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville in Nov. 2015

, Montreal, QC
2015-11-15
Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. Food was very good. It is more of a quite relaxing place. There are activities but nothing too loud or that lasted all afternoon. You are very close to the other hotel, Bahia Principe La Romana, so if you want livelier shows and entertainment you can go there. Only thing that we did not like was the beach. It is very murky and you can see factories on the horizon. However, if you take a five minutes walk to the left side of the beach, there is an area where the water is much clearer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service was impeccable.
The weak points
The beach was murky and I got stung by a jellyfish.
Certified

Bouganville - La Romana

, Gatineau, QC
2015-11-08
Very nice, very clean, all services close. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
my room was close to the pool and you could not hear outside activities
The weak points
boring bus ride from the airport to/from hotel
Certified

March 7-14 2015

, Scarborough, ON
2015-03-16
Loved the accommodations, but was very disappointed in the beach. We didn't see anyone swimming as the water was murky and brown.
There were so many chairs on the beach but very few being used because the view was just not nice. The pool was great, no problem getting a chair, no matter what time of day, but I don't think it was full the week we were there.
Also disappointing was the buffet. The food temperatures were inconsistent, hot dishes only warm,scrambled eggs one morning were cold,even though it was a full pan.
I would not consider this hotel a 5 star, possibly 3 or 4, due to the beach. The cocktails were OK but missing were the exotic drinks we had at another resort in La Romana. Also missing was poolside bar service we have experienced at other Bahia resorts. Unfortunately we will not recommend this resort unless they great improvements on the beach and food.
One thing that was exceptional was the rooms and the cleanliness. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and rooms were above my expectations. The landscapers worked very hard to make the gardens beautiful.
The weak points
the beach was very disappointing. Also the food was lukewarm at the buffet.
Certified

Great adults only

, Regina, SK
2015-02-22
new facility...bothered by maintenance crews on the last 2 days [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent staff and location
The weak points
management indifferent to guests
Certified

Christmas Holidays

, Markham, ON
2015-01-02
There are two resorts here. A larger family resort and an attached exclusive adult only resort. We stayed on the Adults side which is much newer and has some separate dining facilities and a separate beach (it was quite funny seeing the glares of people on the Adult side when people from the family resort inevitably crossed the ropes and took spots on the adult side of the beach)

It's about an hour and a half trip from the airport but once you arrive and get shuttled to the Adult side the check-in takes about 5 minutes.

Rooms were very nice and we had a fantastic time.

A la carte restaurants were a mix (tip here to download the Bahia app and do all your reservations online). The Italian and Grill were nice but we didn't like the Mediterranean.

Only miss here was entertainment on the Adult side in the evenings. Your choice was either walk over to the family side and watch the usual resort faire (to give them credit, the Animation team works really hard and the energy is great but don't expect to see a Vegas style show) or listen to a mediocre signer singing english style songs. Note to the resort here - bring in more local dominican and latino music. I know you are trying to cater to people from all over but I'd rather hear some genuine local music rather than listen to someone stumbling through Karoke classics in a non native language.

Only notable flaw was going on an excursion that had some local Dominicans on it as well. Loud, rude and entitled early 20s who thought the english speakers couldn't pick up on enough spanish to realize that they were making fun of them.

The workers at the resort, the excursions guides and locals (including some Haitians working the sugar can fields) were all incredible and this is how we will remember the people in the DR. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent food. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Some of the a la carte restaurants
Certified

Nice Resort, Horrible water at the beach

, Pembroke, ON
2014-12-29
Very nice Resort, Horrible water at the beach. And avoid the scuba diving centre of the hotel, their equipment is defective and not safe at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice resort
The weak points
Ocean water not clear at all, same color than the river that flows in the bay in front of the hotel.
Certified

Wonderful Time

, Georgetown, ON
2014-12-11
The resort is certainly a five star. Large, well appointed rooms, beautiful grounds. The food and booze is all top notch. Service is excellent and everyone that works there is happy and a pleasure to deal with. This resort is almost identical to the Luxury Ambar on Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana. The only negatives are is that it is an 1.5 hour bus ride from the Punta Cana airport to the resort and the beach is not small but isn't huge. My wife and I are beach walkers and this resort is on a bay and you can cover the whole beach in half an hour. The resort is very quiet and I wouldn't recommend it if you want to party. The bars close at 11 pm and the crowd is all over 40 which was fine with us. You don't hear a lot of English either. Lots of Russians, Euros and Quebec. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We requested a room on the ground floor close to everything and got it no problem. Staff, food and booze were excellent. Weather was awesome!
The weak points
There is construction going on, on both sides of the resort. You can't hear it at the resort but it can be quite loud when walking the beach.
Certified

Definately a 10

, Norwood, ON
2014-04-29
Beautiful, immaculately clean resort, catered to like royalty, ground are stupendous, great beach, friendly staff, small and quaint, definately a 5 star or more. We will go back for sure. Loved everything about this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
size, staff, cleanliness, lots to do
The weak points
none
Certified

Heavenly Experience

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-02
Newly built, very clean, with large appointed rooms and bathrooms. Service very courteous and prompt. There was nothing left to be desired. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, great service, hot weather, warm and friendly personnel.
The weak points
None
Certified

Excellent

, Ottawa, ON
2014-03-21
Beautiful resort,staff will do anything to please,clean rooms,lots to choose from at buffet,good food at ala cartes,but out of lobster when we ate at seafood restaurant,so much for seafood. All in all a nice place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff,Grounds,Pool,rooms,food,all lovely
The weak points
Internet,only one free hour a day in lobby only,
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principi- La Romana

, Port Robinson, ON
2014-03-12
Great place- definitely recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, clean and beautiful gardens, management very responsive, excellent deal for quality you get.
The weak points
Beach is nice but water murky- they are working on it so may be better soon
Certified

A beautiful, isolated resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-23
We spent two weeks in the resort. It is beautiful, the staff are wonderful, it is clean with good food. I would recommend staying on the Bouganville (adults only) side if possible. The rooms are bigger and nicer. The bathroom was spa-like. This resort has everything you want, gym, excursions, buffet a la carte restaurants and a spa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, the friendly and accommodating staff. The adults only side is quiet but has brand name alcohol and better food.
The weak points
The murky water is not what one expects in the Caribbean. The resort itself is 30 km away from the nearest town, so it seems isolated.
Certified

GREAT WEEK AT THE LUXURY BAHIA

, Caledonia, ON
2014-02-19
couldn't find anything wrong with this place....will def. be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great resort, great food, great drinks especially the beer and most of all great staff....the buffet was the best always something new, Weds steak and lobster..nightly shows were good, overall had a very good week
The weak points
the beach is not that good
Certified

Stay at Lux Bahia Principe Bouganville

, Barrie, ON
2014-02-18
The hotel was beautiful, rooms lovely and the staff very pleasant and accommodating. Mario the mgr was awesome ,helpful and a pleasure to see him around the hotel so much making sure everything was wonderful for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Would highly recommend
The weak points
The pools were more appealing to swim in rather than the ocean.
Certified

Beautiful New Resort

, Odessa, ON
2014-02-04
The Bouganville side of this resort is for adults only but the events on the rest of the resort were open to everyone. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of everything and how new it all appeared until we found out this part of the resort had only been open for 6 months at the time of our visit. With this information, from a more critical view I would be concerned that this resort will get rundown very quickly since the repairs seem to be jury-rigged rather than fixed properly. An example of this was our toilet ran on so when I checked in the tank to see the problem I found that rather than replacing the mechanism inside a screw had been used as a "temporary" repair. The jacuzzi tub leaked because the jets hadn't been properly installed. With these problems and the fact that simple rules aren't enforced, such as people taking the sofa cushions out to the pool, I feel it won't take long for the resort to show its age. The food was very palatable with a good variety at the buffets. The a la carte restaurants were a change but not really a la carte as only one served the complete meal start to finish. For the rest, there was a buffet for the soups, appetizers and deserts; only the main course was served. Although there was a very simple dress code for these restaurants (long pants and a shirt for the men) this was not enforced. All the staff were friendly and courteous and did graciously accept tips but did not expect them which was a nice change from the tours which were tourist traps. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are friendly and attentive and graciously accept tips but do not expect them. The Bouganville side of this resort was only 6 months old so everything was clean and new.
The weak points
The tours are tourist traps (as usual) Repairs are often bandaids so the resort will run down quickly 3 of 4 restaurants are buffet for everything but the main course
Certified

Good Time

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-30
Nice spot. Food not hot. Beach water murky, but knew going in so no problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent room, grounds
The weak points
do not know how to keep food warm at all.Free wifi does not exist
Certified

Great Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-26
We were welcomed and had a great vacation. The staff were fabulous, as was our room and the common areas and beach and pool.
Everything is new and nice.
We hoped for entertainment at this resort, but had to go to the other resort. The a la carts were very good with the exception of the flies at the salad bar at Los Corales.
The beach BBQ was amazing.
We had a really nice time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, room, staff, pool,beach and overall property. We had a really good time.
The weak points
Too bad the bar closes at 11 p.m. and the lights are turned off. Food was good, but should be great. Need more entertainment.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?