Las Terrazas Apartments

Las Terrazas Apartments
2.622.622.622.622.62
2.62 based on 61 reviews
#9 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Havana
Rated 2 stars
Traveller pictures (33)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Very bad experience

, Calgary, AB
2014-04-13
If will like to get a cheap place to stay fine but don't expect too much for your money, the service is from bad to veru bad, the rate change is very high, don't change any money at the hotel....the water service is not working very well specially during late night, the location is a privilege but the services ( including a not working TV) are very bad....but well you get what you paid...... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the location just a few meters from the beach
The weak points
The Services
Certified

Really beautiful!

, Ottawa, ON
2014-03-30
More than a 2 *.
Very clean, the apartment was new, nice balcony, quiet, easy access to the beach, good food, air conditioning.
Je recommande! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, size of the apartment, access to a fridge & freezer, quietness
The weak points
None
Certified

Cuba-Feb2014

, Burlington, ON
2014-02-20
This was my 4th stay at Las Terrazas. Since the the new hotel manager started (some time in mid 2013), the hotel facilities seem to be deteriorating. The staff & security personnel are fabulous, but I feel they are under significant pressure from the new hotel manager/dictator. This new manager is not even cordial with the guests of his facility. I will stay at Las Terrazas again, but if the atmosphere & facilities further dwindle it will likely be my last stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price was right. The security & housekeeping staff were excellent.
The weak points
New manager seems to be letting things slip significantly (this is my 4th stay here) & is not very cordial with the guests. The reception staff need to be a little more organized.
Certified

Go, if the price is right.

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-09
Went for five days. Paid $318!!! Nice, clean apartment, ocean view, beautiful beach, quiet village, plenty of choices to eat out with plates starting at $5. Good food, good beer, very secure, very Cuban. So it is not for everyone, but if you like Cuba, this hotel is for you. This is not your regular five star resort, but an apartment in great location and at a great price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, shuttle bus to Havana.
The weak points
As expected.
Certified

Misleading re kitchenette

, Eden Mills, ON
2014-02-04
This hotel has 3 very different buildings that are far apart and very different quality. They call them apartments with kitchenettes, but there was only a fridge -- no microwave or hotplate or dishes etc. There was no ater n the pool. Long walk to the restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach
The weak points
misleading re kitchenette, some of the rooms were terrible, but mine was OK.
Certified

Havana Trip

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-26
This hotel is really cheap hotel, and I used it a starting point for my trip to Havana and nothing else. If you do the same, you will be very happy indeed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Havana, use it as a starting point for your trip in Havana where you can stay in casa particular and do party, culture whatever... Ok for one night only.
The weak points
run down facilities, not for a weak character.
Certified

Cuba

, Hope, Br
2014-01-06
Hot water pressure was really bad. If it can't be fixed it would have been nice to have a bucket. Took forever for me to rinse my hair out. Breakfast wasn't very good. Hot dogs with spices isn't very appealing for breakfast. Running out of food and coffee was a problem everyday. Would have been nice to have been able to exchange money at the front desk. Always had to go to another hotel to do that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to beaches and Havana
The weak points
Hot water pressure and not enough coffee at breakfast
Certified

Great value stay at nice beach near Havana

, Toronto, ON
2013-06-14
Location is ideal for travellers keen to combine great beach with fascinating sight-seeing. Nice pool, clean spacious rooms (I stayed in an apartment suite with kitchenette/fridge, salon, and bedroom with ensuite bathroom). Simple, tasty breakfasts (limited but adequate menu - nice options nearby for lunch and dinner - try the lobster pizza at Ranchon Don Pepe, or the restos in nearby town of Guanabo. Don Peppo is good for chicken or pork served cordon-blue style. Yes, the names but not the menus, suggest a Corleone connection). Havana was only a half-hour drive away, and several options for transportation to the city of Havana (a must-see) were available on a frequent basis. The staff are professional, friendly, and extremely helpful. I've vacationed in many regions of Cuba for 3 decades, and have come to know the famous Cuban hospitality; the team at Las Terrazas is one of the best groups I have ever encountered. One note: June is bad for mosquitoes at the northern coastal beaches, coming on the tail-end of the spring rainy season. Bring insect repellent along with your sun-block, and consider burning an anti-bug coil or candle in your room at night. if you have a cell-phone, confirm that it will roam on one of the cell networks in the Eastern Beaches/"Playas del Este" of Havana (mine worked with CUBACELL) -- use SMS text (much cheaper - c. 0.75/msg vs. 3.50 min. for voice) to communicate with home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Vicinity and ease of access to city for sight-seeing; great beach; friendly, helpful staff. Quiet at night. Car rental (cash only - no telephones means no credit at beach - can rent in Havana with card) and several buses per day available.
The weak points
Internet pricey and unreliable; lack of working telephones and inability to make local and long-distance calls. Lack of ability to use credit card.Television in room is spotty - parents may want to bring things for children to do during down time.
Certified

Stay at terrazas hotel, Santa maria beach Havana

, Mississauga, ON
2013-06-06
Good location

Rundown facilities [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location, location.
The weak points
Rundown buildings, rooms
Certified

This is Cuba

, Halifax, NS
2013-01-30
The hotel was fine. Adequate services, and while not a cushy, nice place this is the way it is in Cuba. If you're open to really exploring the country and Cuba, and ready to laugh, you'll be fine. If you expect a North American resort, you'll be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, functional, and cheap. Central to both the beach and Havana.
The weak points
No frills here...be ready for the basics.
Certified

BAD CHOICE

, Toronto, ON
2012-10-01
The Hotel is very outdated and the rooms are torn apart. Washrooms and shower area looks like we are living in 1600's. Floors were slippery all over the hotel, dirty pool, and lousiest restaurants in the area. I did a huge mistake by choosing this hotel. Its a total waste of money. Once consolation is the friendliness of the staff but that wouldn't even cover 5% of the discomfort at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - right across the beach, friendly staff.
The weak points
bad upkeep and maintenance of the hotel and rooms, bad quality of restaurant food, worst ever bathrooms and toilets.
Certified

LAS TERRAZAS APARTMENTS

, Brampton, ON
2012-08-07
Hotel was O-K for a two star, I would probably go back to the same hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is right across from the Hotel.
The weak points
No much left for breakfast if you get up after 9:00a.m.
Certified

Location Great - Hotel questionable

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-20
This is a 2 star cuba hotel across the street from a 5 star beach within a 20 minute ($3) return bus trip to Havana. That said, the hotel although clean was not comfortable with it's plastic, no-cushion wicker furniture. We did not have a safe in our room and after one week of our 2 week vacation we gave up asking. The kitchen is only equipped for people who stay 28 days or longer. Don't drink the Water even though the Sunwing Rep says it's safe - take it from me it is NOT advisable. We had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool. There is no kleenex, or shampoo with the room. Basic cleaning is done daily and the bed is changed about 1x/4 days. Hope this helps. It's a great spot if you want a peek at the socialist lifestyle of Cubans, love the beach and/or want to be in close proximity to Havana. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach
The weak points
No hotel safe
Certified

Beach home /

, Penetanguishene, ON
2012-03-18
a great place to rest and relax so we could take on more of Havana each day,
nice to be able to make Cuba coffee in our apartment each morning and enjoy our balcony with it's ocean view. The eggs and toast breakfast was ok forget about the lunch and dinner option./ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ocean and beach and price, very few people
The weak points
lunch, dinner
Certified

Inexpensive and adequate

, Stleonard, Qu
2012-01-17
Situated halfway between the slightly nicer Atlantico and Tropicoco hotels, Las Terrazas is the poor sister of the three. Soviet-era small apartments converted to an "aparthotel". You get a clean bed and toilet, a mini-fridge and a television (with CNN and other channels forbidden to Cubans)and a balcony. Flourescent tubes on the ceilings emit harsh, cold light. The buildings could use some plastering and paint - excellent swimming pool, free buffet breakfast with eggs, fruit, bread, choice of three restaurants with plain, inexpensive chicken or fish with rice. Avoid the beef and pork, tough like a boiled shoe. Excellent location across the street from a fabulous beach, and a cheap, 20-minute bus ride to downtown Havana. There are daytime activities such as dance and Spanish lessons, but most people go to the city almost every day, as we did. Nothing to do in the evening except watch TV or go for a walk, not allowed into neighbour hotels. Secure; every guest wears a plastic bracelet, without which you are not allowed on the grounds. Bring moist towelettes and hand sanitizer, a box of tissues and a roll of paper towels for yourself, bring chiclets, ballpoint pens and toothbrushes to give away, all are hard to find and expensive there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location on the beach, quick cheap bus to the city, official currency exchange on the premises, nice pool
The weak points
Mediocre food, a bit shabby
Certified

Glad to be home

, Brampton, ON
2011-11-30
Would not visit again. Not a place for a disabled person. Will do more research next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very friendly cleaning ladies
The weak points
lack of English speaking staff, beach too far
Certified

You get what you pay for.

, Toronto, ON
2011-10-26
Good for the price, but basically bare-bones. Staff were great, but it's so out-of-the-way, that it's a pain to get anywhere. Great place if you want some solitude, though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff; helpful and cheerful.
The weak points
Very far from anything...have to travel miles and miles to get either to Havana or other points of interest.
Certified

20 minutes to Havana and in front of the beach

, Kingston, ON
2011-05-20
The hotel was well situated, about 20 minutes drive from Havana, and there was a nice beach in front of it. Breakfast was ok; the same things every day. Lunch and dinner were not included, but can be purchased for about 7-8 CUC. There was a shuttle bus going to Havana every 30 min. from 10am to 6pm. The apartment was spacious. Rome service was sort of sporadic. Sometimes the room was not cleaned for two or three days. But for the price, it was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
room service, not all inclusive, the bar should be improved.
Certified

Cozy and friendly

, Toronto, ON
2011-04-29
Understated hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The beach is just a cross the street and the charm of sharing the pool with visiting Cubans from Havana is wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and warm
The weak points
Food is a bit boring, so eat at the restaurants located near and around the hotel
Certified

An adventure, not a place to relax

, Penticton , BC
2011-04-29
Nobody spoke any english, they were quite rude.

Telephones didnt work properly, so missed wake up calls. Toilet paper never replenished. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach, very short walk from hotel
The weak points
food was bad, no internet
Certified

Poor choice

, Richmond, BC
2011-04-19
staff was not friendly and did not speak english. coffee was an extra charge as was bottled water.
loud music daily at poolside was annoying.
room balcony was the only good feature at this property.
try tropicoco or atlantico both all inc unlike the euro plan at las terrazas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach was nice just like veradero close to havana with good bus service
The weak points
not very secure and too many partiers
Certified

Stay Away from Las Terrazas!!

, Kingston, NS
2011-04-08
This hotel is close to a nice beach and I would have enjoyed my stay if I hadn't been stolen from twice by the staff. Its a two star and I wasn't expecting a lot other than a place to crash after spending the days in Havana or at the beach. I didn't expect to be stolen from and have to take all my cash with me every time I left the room.

My second day at the hotel I went to get 100 euros from my wallet that was in the room safe to go into Havana to convert it to cuc. I discovered the 100 euros was missing! I didn't report it right then as I thought back there was a remote chance the cab driver could have had an opportunity to take the money. Any doubt was removed when I spoke to a guest I met at the hotel two days later.

He told me he had been out the previous night and came home early to find his room door slightly ajar, knowing he had locked it he immediately went in to check on his room and found a key in his room safe. He began searching his room and found one of the hotel security guards HIDING UNDER HIS BED!!!! He held the guy there and called the front desk who seemed reluctant to do much about it. He insisted they call the police who filed a report, but since he was leaving Cuba that day I do not know what came of it.

Knowing there was thieves at work I put the $20cdn I had in a drawer that was going to pay for my shuttle home from Halifax airport, into my coat pocket hanging in the closet. My last night there as I was preparing for my very early morning departure I went to get the $20 to put in my wallet and I discovered this too had been stolen!!

I also talked to at least two other hotel guests that had been stolen from at the hotel. So in my short time there my room was broken into at least twice if not more. I warned every guest I saw after this of the theft problem at this hotel. If you are travelling with anything of any value I highly recommend you stay at another hotel.

Another interesting point: I was checking this review site a couple days before I left to read up on the hotel and a guest had left a recent review that he had a lot of valuables stolen from his room and the hotel did nothing. I wanted to re-read his review when I got home after my bad experience and it has mysteriously disappeared from this review site!?!?

BOTTOM LINE, STAY AT ANOTHER HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Hotel staff treating guests like ATM's.
Certified

Good Budget Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-27
If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay close to Havana this may be a good place for you. The rooms are a bit older and run down, but things are clean, and the rooms are quite spacious as they are apartment style rooms. The kitchen is very basic, with newer fridge but no other appliances, utensils, plates or anything else. My kitchen became the place to charge cell phones, laptops etc as there are several 110V outlets. The patio is a nice feature too, with a small french door leading out to a ~6x10 patio. My package only inlcuded breakfast which was adequate enough. Other meals there run between 5-7CUC (about same in CAD), but as you are close to Havana, not having lunch and supper inlcuded gives you the flexibility to try other restaurants in the city or Playa Santa Maria. The pool may be the best feature of the hotel, certainly the largest of the 3 principal hotels at this beach. The beach is literally across the street and is as beautiful as the beaches at Varadero. Playa Santa Maria is the name of the beach where this hotel is located, and is one of the beaches of the beaches of the east or "Playas del Este" It is 24km to Havana, plenty of taxis around, but I understand that there is a bus service from the other hotels that cost about $3 to get to Old Havana. I would certainly stay here again, but if you're looking for something elegant this is probably not the place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Pool Good price Spacious Rooms Friendly Staff
The weak points
Useless kitchen
Certified

Friendly, inexpensive, big rooms

, Toronto, ON
2011-03-15
Having been to Cuba many times, I was pleasantly surprised by my first trip to this hotel. Slightly shabby but clean, large apartment, everything worked well. The pool was clean and overall maintenance was good. The dining staff were friendly and it was no problem to bring your own wine etc. to the table. Surrounding restaurants offer predictable but tasty fare at low prices. Much nicer than Tropicoco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
big rooms, low price, quiet
The weak points
uninspired architecture, a bit remote (but inexpensive public transit to downtown)
Certified

Las Terrazas

, Vancouver, ON
2011-03-08
Perhaps not the lap of luxury, but well worth the money spent. Clean enough, friendly enough and steps to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Casual atmosphere, family friendly, close to Havana and the beach with a local feel
The weak points
What they didn't have was close by
Certified

Good value, not really a resort kind of place.

, Vancouver, BC
2011-03-08
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the included breakfasts were more than adequate. Dining room meals were fine and reasonably priced. Outdoor pool was attractive, and a nice beach a short walk away. Santa Maria del Mar is a resort town for Cubans on summer holiday, and in the winter it is a bit deserted, but it is an excellent starting point for exploring Havana. A shuttle bus will take you to central park and back for $3, or catch a cab into town for $15. There are no cooking facilities or plates etc in the kitchenettes and not much food to buy in the stores nearby, so it's not really for self-catering, and you won't be pampered by the staff, either. But for a good solid place to sleep, and a bit of extra space for hanging out during the day, this is a really great choice for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Big rooms with balconies, nice beach, good access to Havana by shuttle or taxi, good value for money.
The weak points
Limited services nearby, service and meals are just adequate.
Certified

Quality vs Price!

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-17
for a two star hotel it is amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food location beach
The weak points
no english can't get drinks and food after 10pm
Certified

Las Terrazas Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-15
An old building. Spacoius rooms and balcony. Clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good value. Clean. Good service
The weak points
Old building.
Certified

Cuba

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-01-15
I enjoyed everything at this hotel. Room was a little dark but clean and staff was just fine and happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location-$3 round trip to Havana. Beach/food close by.
The weak points
No balcony on our room.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020