Marazul Hotel

Marazul Hotel
2.932.932.932.932.93
2.93 based on 199 reviews
#6 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Havana
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (68)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Marazul Hotel - March 2020

, New Westminster, BC
2020-03-12
I am an experienced Resort traveller having been to Cuba before and Mexico and Belize. I had low expectations for this resort having researched it before going. It was worse that I could have imagined. It was filthy and in disrepair. None of the Canadian Holiday providers should be sending customers there. I needs much improvements before it is ready to accept any guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and proximity to Havana are the only strong points
The weak points
It was dirty, the pool deck was dirty, the lobby was dirty.They only had rum and no mix other than cola. The grounds were unkept. The staff cant care because no one above them cares.It is state run, and in Cuba state run properties are not properly funded
Certified

Review of stay

, Cambridge, ON
2020-03-05
Very poor place poor food
Bad services
Bed bugs
Broken rooms
No Ac
No hot water [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fabulous

, Kirkland Lake, ON
2018-03-16
Location was great!! Beach was gorgeous, room was plain but completely fine for the time we spent in it. Room was clean and had a wonderful view of the carribean ocean of everybody's dreams! The staff were accommodating in every aspect. We had nice bartenders and waiters, our room service girls greeted us graciously everyday. The food was different but what we liked we loved! A tip of 1 or 3 cuc goes a long way!!! The pool was very clean. We met several life long friends there. There is a restaurant just down the street that serves up a super shrimp deal meal! All in all I'd recommend this place to everyone! The renovations going on are looking real nice. You have the best of three worlds! The hotel feeds you and serves up drinks all day( inclusive deals) the beach if so beautiful, and you are twenty minutes from the most beautiful city in the carribean. Big plus... Is you are safe! And I mean safe! Cheers! I hope you go! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel, staff, location, food,beach,
The weak points
Lack of information, but if you meet with your rep then you are golden!

It's a hostel, not a resort

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-25
Once I step into the room and the restaurant on my first day arrival, I regret it so much and really want to leave right away! Terrible dirty place. Lots of bugs in room on the wall, overall is not too dirty in the room but looks so old, even the bathroom is been slightly upgraded compare to the doors and other area. After shower, I find there are water leaking from the edge of the bathroom in my room. Smells like pee everywhere in the corridor, in the room.
The elevator is not working a few times a day and the electricity also.
Food is terrible, with no choice and taste is not good either. There are maybe 8 main dishes for you to choose with 3 different rice. Table cloth is dirty as hell and you can see they only change the table cloth every 2-3 days.
Stay away of the place or if you can stay in a place that is like the Motel 8 or something like that for a week, feel free to do so.
I am regret even if I'm paying so little
The beach is across a road and out there but the chair area is so small and not available for almost half of the time during my stay. The ocean is not safe to swim because too many jellyfish.
A good thing about the resort is that you can take the free shuttle bus to Havana at 10 and back at 5 for free. You have to get a ticket from the reception (no one will tell you that unless other is telling you in the resort)
The bus is always full and make sure you book it early
The pool... water is so dirty that I don't see anyone is going in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is good
The weak points
Everything
Certified

Hotel tropicoco

, Toronto, ON
2016-04-11
Staying at Tropicoco allowed me to be close to nice beach and close to old Havana. The hotel itself shows its age but most people are not here for the comfort. I found most people are there to explore a little. It's a great place to meet people and exchange information about places. The food and bar service is hit and miss but I expected that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the beach and close to Havana. There is a bus available during the day to go to and from Havana. Good atmosphere.
The weak points
The beach is a little hard to access. This place would not be good if you have mobility problems. The food in the cafeteria is not great. I mostly had dinner at restaurants. The service in the cafeteria and bar is hit and miss.
Certified

Injury in Cuba........

, Qualicum Beach, BC
2016-03-01
Just got back from 15 days at the Tropicoco...(Feb 28/16).
The Hotel is what I expected, package deal. close to the beach..5 CUC return to Havana om the T3 bus..........
Here's the problem...The Cubans have no idea what to do or the level of care expected by a tourist while in Cuba....after they are injured.
I got food poisoning..(not really that big a deal...in 60 years it's the third time...the other two were in Canada)......it hit at around midnight. While on the toilet the cramps became so severe that I passed out. I awoke on the tile floor...forehead cut open for about 1 1/2" and a broken nose.
I cleaned up the mess, and myself..and stumbled down to the lobby about 12:30 am at this point.
I told them what happened......First question...was I mugged...second question...was I drunk (I haven't had a drink in 24 years!). After about 20 minutes of inaction someone finally flagged down a patrol car on the street.....the two cops were less than indifferent.....had things to do and places to go...but were talked into taking me to Guanabo..and were clearly worried about taking me to the main hospital for tourists in Havana...I soon found out why. We wandered over to Guanabo at about half their regular speed....the exhaust fumes in the back seat were unbelievable, they must have brain damage driving that car all the time, only to stop in a dark alley at an abandoned shed so they could unload a bunch of stuff from the trunk of the car...
Then they took me to the clinic, and outright refused to wait for me to be cleaned up and return me to the hotel.....
The doctor put 4 stitches into my forehead, the nurse insisted my nose was fine - as in NOT broken. And I was sent on my way.
So at 3am I'm done at the clinic, with no ride back. I finally flagged down a car and the young guy agreed to take me back for 7CUC.
For two days I continued to puke (etc) in my room.....nobody checked on me or showed any compassion except the maid.....and I'm certain I had a mild concussion...... for many days nobody from the Hotel asked how I was except the handyman (he was with the maid and two other guys that stood and watched) that was sent to fix the ceiling in my room...it had blown down the previous night in a storm!
This food poisoning happened the night of my 4th day there......and till I left I got nothing...no apology....no acknowledgement of the problem...nothing...to the point the woman that runs the Cubanacan Tours (when I asked how I could get to the doctor to get the stitches out) basically told to me to bugger off and stop bothering her!
I had to hire a cab and when I got to the clinic...the doctor looked at my head and asked if they were done at that clinic...when I said yes he shook his head and went for the tools.....
Now, I know Cuba is a third world country...but they make MANY MILLIONS per year off of Canadian tourists...don't you think there should be actual nurses and transportation in place in case of an accident?
I have been going to Cuba since 2001........but I'm second guessing that next trip south.

This was a 'One Off'......Cuba is a lovely place to visit.....Havana is changing rapidly and has been for the last two years....see it now....I think it will only get worse in the long run. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beaches...close to Havana
The weak points
You eat what is available......and thats the usual explanation...but I'm told the really expensive hotels in Havana have all the items were used to....
Certified

Tropicoco Review

, Englefeld, SK
2016-02-23
We had a very good experience at the Tropicoco. Going to a 2-star hotel, we did not have really high expectations, but we were very satisfied with our stay there. The close proximity to the beach and the convenience to travel into Havana were big pluses for us. The accommodations weren't anything to write home about, but were satisfactory for a 2-star hotel. It's an older hotel - some of the paint is peeling, the cement is cracking, some of the doors don't close properly, but the rooms were clean, the food was good, and the staff was friendly. Overall a positive experience for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location - close to beach and Havana.
The weak points
no wifi. They have 2 public computers and you can buy access cards to get on the internet, but there were often lineups to get onto one of the computers.
Certified

Awful

, Victoria, BC
2016-01-26
This hotel is clean but is outdated, has terrible food , rude staff and is full of young Cuban prostitutes for old Canadian men. Disgusting! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean
The weak points
food, staff
Certified

It was fine

, Biggar, SK
2015-12-01
Hotel was a place to sleep, and food was edible. Handy location to Havana and beach. Staff was usually friendly and helpful. There was no water! one day we were there. If you're looking for a resort experience, skip this place. But for a home base (a place to sleep), it worked out fine. I'd stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, quiet room (with maids usually available). Food was OK. Handy location to beach and Havana.
The weak points
Front desk not always helpful. Little variety in food. Hotel had no water one day.
Certified

Great location for Havana visit

, Windsor, ON
2014-12-20
Great place for singles to come and stay and visit Havana ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Can't think of any
Certified

Don't go

, Kitchener, ON
2014-09-29
I will wast my time and your time if I write anything else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beach and location
The weak points
terrible food
Certified

Good hotel

, Kitchener, ON
2014-05-01
This hotel is perfectly situated on the beach, 20 minutes drive away from the city.

Shuttle bus goes twice a day to Havana, free of charge, for hotel guests.

Most of Cuban hotels do not excell with food choices, and Tropicoco is not an exception in that department.

Hotel employees are trying very hard to do great job, and hotel manager is doing an excellent job!

This hotel is two stars, but service is five stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location, beautiful beach, frequent buses, excellent service.
The weak points
Food, elevator.
Certified

Refused 2 keys.

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-02
As 2 quite independent travellers, we were extremely annoyed when allowed only 1 room key (as also with Hotel Atlantico Guardalavaca in November). While they tell us we can always leave the key at the front desk, we may be only in another part of the hotel or possibly forget to leave key at desk.
On occasion when leaving the key at the front desk and returning to ask for it, we were met with blank stares! Again this amounted to lots of frustration as we chased each other around looking for the key. Demand 2 keys if you intend to do any independent wandering!
Otherwise, the very basic Russian architecture was strange but satisfactory, and hotel management was OK, although major construction of the lobby area was noisy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful miles of walking beach. Free shuttle to Havana. 24-hour hot water in shower. Lots of Cuban interface.
The weak points
Refused to give 2nd key. Prostitution. Noisy construction maintenance.
Certified

Great Location & View

, St. John S, NL
2014-03-31
This place was great for my partner and I. We stayed for a week, and absolutely loved the architecture of the place. It's all very open, and right across from a gorgeous beach that has an amazing sunrise.

We tipped the maid 1 CUC every day and found her to be helpful and friendly, though the one day we didn't leave a tip, we didn't get clean towels even though they'd been left in the shower as they request.

Food was good, though not as good as in other places. However, for a 2-star resort and a buffet, it was good. There were only a couple of days where it wasn't great, and only one meal I had that I didn't enjoy at all. There's a different selection every day/every meal, though apparently papaya and pineapple are in season, and they were fantastic.

The bar staff don't have a great grasp of English, and I wish I'd learned how to order some drinks in Spanish as they didn't understand (or have the ingredients for) a pina colada or white russian.

People keep complaining about the prostitutes, but all I saw was young women conversing with older men. There was nothing overt about it, and they weren't dressed provocatively. I only noticed, really, because people kept mentioning it so I was on the look out. They never approached me or my partner during our stay.

We had no problems with the bathroom or cleanliness of the room, but it is a 2-star and I think it's only fair that I grade it based on my expectations of a 2-star and not the expectations I would have for a much more expensive 5-star resort.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Tropicoco, and though we likely won't be back as we've decided next time to stay in Central Havana next time, it was a great way to spend our first time in the country. It was far enough away from the city that we could ease ourselves into the culture, but close enough that for $15 you could get a cab into Havana directly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, view, beach
The weak points
Rooms are dated
Certified

Another great trip to the Tropicoco...

, Minden, ON
2014-03-18
Our fifth stay at the Tropicoco did not disappoint. As always, we found the food enjoyable, the staff amazing and the location perfect for anything you want to do. For a 2 Star, you really cannot get any better value for money. Looking forward to the next trip already. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity to Havanna, excellent beach, great staff, good food.
The weak points
some challenges with supplies and maintenance at times - eg. no juices in restaurant, only one of the elevators running. Minor issues in the grand scheme of things
Certified

It is what it is

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-04
This is a 2 star Cuban hotel, meaning that it's well below what we usually want. But it's a great location with a beach that's better than Varadero if you like less wind and more Cubans. There's more life and it's a more festive and fun atmosphere (for me) At the hotel you'll have to look past the older men/Cuban teenager pairs. If this plus the generally poor-by-our-standards food, room and service is too upsetting...don't go here. But if you want to go for a beach walk in the morning and be in Havana in 20 minutes it's just fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location near Havana, beach, being with Cubans, not just tourists, vibrant Cuban life at beach and in neighborhood, pool
The weak points
Room, food, service, foreign clientele with Cuban women, seedy atmosphere
Certified

Decent Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-12-03
This hotel has many mixed reviews and I believe this is partly due to many people ending up here not realizing what they're about to get when they book!

Tropicoco is nowhere near a 3 or even a 2 star hotel. It is a tourist dive that does the job. That said, it is not horrible and is certainly not as bad as some suggest. Sure there are prostitutes hanging out with very old guys and yes at times a cockroach might be seen. The food is so-so and unless you tip, the cleaning staff won't do much with your room. A nasty smell of sewage wafted through the room from time to time probably because the plumbing and w/c venting is falling apart.

None of these things really bothered me as I already knew what I was getting myself into when booking at the Tropicoco. My wife and I have traveled throughout Asia and have stayed at many dumpy hotels - including several times at the Chungking Mansions in Kowloon. The Tropicoco was not an eye-opening experience, it was simply a decent place to stay and a just a quick ride to Havana where we spend most of our time anyway. The nearby beach was pretty good, especially down towards the Atlantico where there were less people.

For me, one of the more entertaining aspects of staying at the Tropicoco was having breakfast or dinner in the restaurant and watching the different types of people. This hotel attracts quite a diverse mix of folks.

In the end, as a basic place to stay and for the location to Havana and the beach I would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to Havana Beach was pretty good Plenty of taxi's in case you miss the bus Tourist shuttle to Havana Friendly enough staff
The weak points
Sewage smell in the room Prostitution - which, depending on who you are might not be a weak point! Dull food Very dark at night (they rarely turned on the street lights). I can imagine some people would feel nervous about that.
Certified

Decent 2 star

, Ridgeville, ON
2013-11-25
This hotel is advertised as 2 star and is exactly that. We chose it for the beach location and the free twice daily 20 minute shuttle to Old Havana. Old hotel in need of updating, but clean and friendly. Tolerable food (just barely),hot showers, nice beach, reliable shuttle. Not a family hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, shuttle, beach
The weak points
Beds, pool
Certified

Hotel Tropicoco

, Calgary, AB
2013-09-12
The location of the hotel is good, just across the beach with free daily twice shuttle service to Havana. The hotel staff is friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, just a walk off a clean beach.
The weak points
Cleanliness and elevator service below average.
Certified

No Major issues

, Brampton, ON
2013-08-14
First, beware of the cashiers at the airport bank, located outside the terminal. I am sure I gave the cashier $ 1000 Canadian to change and after counting she said I gave her only $ 900. She hid $ 100. The hotel was fine. The beach nearby was excellent, you could buy freash coconut with rum, or have a small but talented band play songs for a price. The room was okay, AC worked fine, did not see any bugs. Only issue was smell of sewage in the shower once you used it. Buffet was slim and not ideal for daily use. I preferred to go out to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, good location.
The weak points
Buffet could be improved. Bathroom needs to be checked for sewage smell.
Certified

This Hotel should not be rated 2 stars

, Hammond, ON
2013-07-14
I found that hotel itself is very uninviting, dirty and poorly cared for.
Beach is next to public beach and is extremely dirty and nobody puts any effort to clean it, so all the bottles, cigarette buts, garbage just left lying everywhere.
Food was OK, but I spotted a cockroaches running along food trays, was awful.
The only benefit it is proximate distance and free shuttle to Havana.
I would advise families not to even consider this hotel, as this is a place for hookers looking for a few bucks from tourists and they bring them to cafeteria, restaurants, rooms etc, so would not be good sight for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximate distance to Havana
The weak points
All the rest is weak points
Certified

Nice but austere

, Surrey, Br
2013-07-12
Set a clear expectation, do not expect luxury, this is an old building, subject to the Cuban budget restrictions. Almost everything will be rationed.
Dark at night as most lights are energy saver. Changes of sheet and replenishments of soap and shampoo upon request.
Nice bar service and food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location if you like to be around locals, to have quick and free access to the Old Havana. Very Friendly staff
The weak points
Building maintenance, cleanliness
Certified

Ok

, Brampton, ON
2013-04-20
Good for sleeping at not much to do [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Not much around to do
Certified

As expected

, Windsor, ON
2013-04-13
It was pretty good ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Package included 6 days only ... Not enough time on the beach. Everything in Cuba was great.
Certified

Hotel tropicoco

, Owen Sound, ON
2013-03-08
it was as expected. I found the front desk not helpful in booking tours.But very helpful helping me locate my lost bag. A peso goes a long way in getting service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleaning staff was excellant.Rachel room 504
The weak points
found cockroach in bathroom. The food was less than what I had expected.
Certified

Great

, Jasper , ON
2013-01-19
Been here 4 times and as always a good time.
Not recommended for Children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
FOOD
Certified

Tropicoco & Havana

, Brandon, MB
2013-01-15
Third visit in 3 years --- great value for proximity to Havana Viejo and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
free shuttles twice a day- beach or city decision twice/day- interesting building design-room had lots of light and USA tv good "animation"each night- friendly staff- always felt very safe around hotel
The weak points
a few more lights would make tourists more at ease- beer is in small glasses
Certified

Tropicaca

, Burnaby, BC
2013-01-15
To start with - I've travelled in developing countries and lived in places where the toilet was outside in the form of a pit latrine. So this is not a review from a prissy tourist. All in all, I'm quite surprised that a reputable Canadian company would offer Hotel Tropicoco as part of an all inclusive deal or even include it on their website. I've stayed in two-stars before and this is definitely under par. When we first arrived after flying all through the night, my husband and I were given a room with three single triple beds. We had to argue to get a double for hours. They kept showing us more triple rooms with single beds and just shrugging saying "that's all we have". And we booked a few months in advance. The plumbing in the building desperately needs to be replaced - our bathroom smelled of urine which would waft into our room if we didn't close the bathroom door. The windows are huge, which means the curtains are too, and they have not been washed for many years. My husband and I were constantly sneezing, our eyes were running, we were wheezing, etc., from allergies within minutes of entering our room. The beds felt as if they were going to collapse and the covers were disgusting. I don't think they have ever been washed and they looked decades old. Prostitution is a big part of Hotel Tropicoco and you often see old tourists with young gorgeous Cubans. So this is definitely not a family friendly hotel. These young Cuban girls (some which were definitely under 18) would come in groups and just loiter around the hotel. Also, we were constantly greeted by a "loco" drug dealer when we were enter the front of the hotel at night. We left early after four nights. The good points about Hotel Tropicoco is that the food was okay - some days were better than others. Although the drinks were all very basic (no mojitos!!). The beach (Playa del Este) is beautiful and is also used by locals unlike Veradero. Locals would be playing music and singing and you weren't hassled that much to buy stuff. The shuttle that is offered to and from Havana by the hotel was great. And most of the staff were nice, especially if you were tipping them. In summary - it was a local Cuban that coined the phrase "Tropicaca"! She was so right!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the shuttle service to Havana.
The weak points
The entire hotel (structurally). Prostitution. Drug dealing.
Certified

Tropicoco

, Toronto, ON
2012-12-05
Good location.. close to gay beach.My dream come true [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
gay beach
The weak points
no disco
Certified

A Great Place

, Sooke, BC
2012-12-03
Very spacious lobby and meeting areas. I loved the weird design of the building. The entertainment (live bands and dancers) was great. The food was better that I thought it would be, but sometimes they would run out of basics like lettuce. The beach is fabulous; usually 3-4 bands playing. I would go back there anytime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location on the beach, free shuttle to Havana, clean, safe, nice staff, decent food.
The weak points
Lots of older men, many with prostitutes a third their age. Sometime they would run out of red wine.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020