Club Acuario

2.452.452.452.452.45
Club Acuario
#13 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Havana
2.45 based on 56 reviews
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Avoid at all costs.

, Welland, ON
2019-05-29
I will start by saying this was not my first time to Cuba, so I knew what I thought I was getting.. but the description for this place is so inaccurate it hurts. I didn't expect anything like a 5 star resort but what I walked into was not even as nice as a motel 6. The building is in BAD condition, broken tiles everywhere, dark hallways with no lights, leaking water on every floor. Most of the staff was rude, for really no reason. This is actually a resort for locals more so than outsiders. The resort staff never smiled, and lord forbid you ask for something. We purchased this vacation because there was supposed to be lobster dinner included, massages, and snorkeling, ala carte restaurants, and a 24 hour snack bar. We got our massages but THAT WAS IT. They would not and could not give us ala carte dinners, or the lobster dinner or snorkeling. Overall we made the best of the trip, but honestly it did not feel like a vacation, it was not worth $1249 thats for sure. We opted for this package so we didn't have to spend money on excursions, sadly looks like we paid twice. The locals that frequent this resort are savages, throw garbage everywhere, go right infront of you in line for food or drinks, they don't care, no manners, the staff ALWAYS serves them before they serve you. Hands down worst vacation I have ever had. If you go here bring lots of snacks in your suitcase because you will be hungry! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You get a free shuttle daily to havana and back from 10-6
The weak points
Dirty, run down, rude staff, one buffet, and if you don't get there when it opens forget it, there will be nothing left. No daily restock of your fridge. No 24 hour snack bar.
Certified

Must read before you purchase ticket

, Edmonton, AB
2015-07-31
Firstly let me apologize to those that took their previous time to write review on this hotel, I read your reviews but failed to listen and proceeded to Havana. The bus picked us up from the airport July 26, 2015. It was an hour late then drove 30mins to Acuario. We arrived at 12midway. A lady in thr lobby checked us in,.gave us keys to and said" your room is thr next building on the left. We walked 10mins in the dark and couldn't. Find the room. Returned to her and she ignored us. Another visitor took us to the room. Upstairs in a two story building, the air conditioning had a bucket underneath it that needed to be empty every 20mins. We reported it and behold hold they couldn't speak English!! Pretenders!! We slept. In the morning went to the shower, gush!! The toilet is filled with pups... reported it and they ignored us. We literally flushed it ourselves. Then our room ran out of water for hours. There is a good 15mins walk to where meal is served but dont waste your time!! The food is terrible!! Cat and rabbit on the menu!! I was dead!! The food is horrible and try getting on the tour bus to the city, it will take you another two hours. We had to hired one of their staff to clean our room and the friendest guy ever is the entertainer. Speaks some English and helped us out a lot. The bathroom to the pool!! Lord have mercy!! Please stay away from this Hotel.. dont be like me!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool
The weak points
The rooms/food/staffs

3 star Today - 4 Star Tomorrow

, Grimsby, ON
2014-11-23
We have been to Club Aquario 4 times & we will be goWing back. Staff is friendly & speak english very accommodating whenever possible. There is good value for your money. Food is typically Cuban, lots to drink 24 hour bar. Large well maintained swimming pool with music, great nightly entertainment & is located on a beautiful Marina. Good for taking walks. Upgrades going on everywhere but does not interfere with your vacation. New pool bar, elevatiors being repaired, patios, rooms, etc. Punctual shuttle bus daily to Old Havana & the beautiful beach. Plenty of hot water. Money exchange, coffee lobby bar. Close to bowling alley & pizza bar, breakfast (all day) cafeteria & Italian restaurant (excellent food) nearby if you want to go out for a change. A la carte restaurant available & for $15 you can have a huge lobster dinner or other choices also. If you can't make the short walk an electric cart ride is available. Friendly staff carry your bags but you don't have to tip for service it is gladly provided. Club Aquario is a fantastic place - you get what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly english speaking staff & beautiful location. Very Safe Refrigerator & Safe Deposit Box
The weak points
couldn't stay longer
Certified

Review on my vacation in Cuba

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-03
Hotel O.K., bathrooms terrible,lack of toilet paper, for people to see Havana not for relaxing on beaches. Staff doesn't speak English, problems with internet, no money exchange in lobby, only good food and bus to the city. No entertainment in the evenings, boring. No choice in drinks, some have to be purchased, only cheep included. Good for people who want to see Havana. Can be improved if staff willing. Would no recommend to friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, bus to Old City center
The weak points
Cleanliness, no beach on site, no entertainment, rat in bathroom,moskitos
Certified

Cheap Vacation

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-07-01
Not very good hotel & services but very cheap. It's ok for the price that we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cheap vacation
The weak points
Restaurant services food & service is very inconsistent & specially service is poor.
Certified

Piteux Hotel

, Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC
2012-11-19
Portes, toilettes délabrées, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is good but not too much diversity
The weak points
Hotel en piteux états,
Certified

Not recommended

, Keswick, ON
2012-08-20
Reception is very slow to deal with concerns. They make you feel like you are an imposition to them. Rooms are mouldy, smelly, cockroaches in bathroom, asbestos around light fixture in bathroom, water dribbles out of shower, toilet didn't flush with handle, fridge not working, elevators do not work, you have to walk stairs, food is not good, maids try to clean room. Furniture is old, balcony full of bird droppings, loud music from surrounding hotels all night (up to 5 am) keep you awake. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the complex has a good sized pool
The weak points
Reception is very slow to deal with concerns. Makes you feel like an imposition to them. Rooms are mouldy, smelly, cockroaches in bathroom, asbestos around light fixture in bathroom, water dribbles out of shower, toilet didn't flush with handle, fridge no
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Toronto, ON
2012-08-20
I have stayed twice this year at the Hotel Club Acuario. My first experience was better than this most recent trip. The setting for this hotel is beautiful. The staff at the inside bar and at the front desk were very friendly. The dining experience really needs to enhanced. Cleanliness in the dining room is mediocre with dirty linens on the tables. The only time we seemed to get any service was when a manager arrived at the hotel and it looked like he was watching the staff...then they couldn't do enough. That said, the omelettes in the morning were very good. The food was much more plentiful when the manager was there. Our rooms were clean but we did have to change rooms a few times to get a room where the air conditioner worked, there was a toilet seat, the tv worked and the room was quiet. Avoid the rooms above the outside bar as they are very, very noisy. Overall a 3 out of 10 kind of place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beautiful view. The price
The weak points
Dining Experience. Air Conditioning not working properly. Keys continually not working. Elevator not working.
Certified

Trip to Havana

, Gatineau, QC
2012-06-24
2 star, others had same problem as me, 1st room toilet did not flush, shower did not work, and sink drained way too slow. Some salad dishes were recycled from yesterday, give the guys a little money and you will enjoy the visit more, all staff were very pleasant, the hotel complex needs a lot of maintenance [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people and friendliness
The weak points
hotel needs lots of repairs, bar could not deliver on many requests, no ice for example, noe fresh fruit, tour agent sat on her arse and did not meet and greet and inform
Certified

Veronica stevens

, Brantford, ON
2012-05-27
reception desk people were very helpful. restaurant staff weren't as friendly as I have encountered at other resorts. food was a bit disapointing but it's Cuba after all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fairly close to Havana
The weak points
not as friendly as other resorts I have stayed at
Certified

Do not go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-03-24
the worst hotel i have ever sceen!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
this was the most disgusting hotel i have ever stayed at. food was inedible the room was filthy, the bathtub was black with dirt and covered in hair --toilet did not flush but ran all night!!! left the next day!!!
The weak points
the whole experience was a night mare
Certified

Really afforable last minute getaway

, Douglas, NB
2012-02-16
We love traveling to Cuba, but watch for thieves at the Havana airport, pack your valuables in your carry on at all costs. The oceanview rooms that are facing the northside in the shade are a delight - you hear the waves crashing and watch the boats both on the strait of flordia and in the marina. The shuttle bus makes traveling to Havana more cost effective.
No room safes, food is terrible (even for Cuba, except the omelet station), a la carte is inconsistent, very little meat offered, no water for sale on site, hotel has very little money for exchange, snack bar is terrible. Hotel in general is rundown. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The oceanview rooms that are facing the northside in the shade are a delight - you hear the waves crashing and watch the boats both on the strait of flordia and in the marina. The shuttle bus makes traveling to havana more cost effective.
The weak points
No room safes, food is terrible (even for Cuba, except the omelet station), a la carte is inconsistent, very little meat offered, no water for sale on site, hotel has very little money for exchange, snack bar is terrible. Hotel in general is rundown.
Certified

Great Short Stay

, Barrie, ON
2011-11-08
Was a good location. Rooms were clean and the views of the marina were very cool. The bar staff was very fun and happy to serve drinks. No Chicharrón here. Spent many days looking ;-)The bar staff will know what this means. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location & Staff
The weak points
Older Hotel
Certified

Forget about it! Go somewhere else!!!

, Montreal, QC
2011-05-02
This was by no means a dream vacation...its location is far away from any touristic attractions, even Taxis didnt know the place and 20 minutes away from the beach, which wasnt my biggest concern...my issue was the horrible service, especially at reception. No one understands much english, i had to argue to attain the necessicities such as towels and toilette paper in my room. My rooms were full of mosquitos, so I was bitten all night long.....
It is impossible to make a simple phone call whether its local or international, internet was the most reliable way to communicate....there is no beach, one pool, hot water is a dark browm, the food is absolutely disgusting, no variety ever, even drinks left alot to be desired...
Let me point out that I dont not need much to be happy and i am not picky at all...and i would never recommend this hotel EVEN ON A BUDGET.
So again, my worst complaint is the service and their lack of care...i always felt like i was bothering them when i needed assistance.
Now few good points....
- Chambermaids are very nice.
- Good security
- Relatively clean
....get the picture, not much to rant and rave about.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are no strong points.
The weak points
Service especially at reception.
Certified

Mr.

, North York, ON
2011-04-30
When I booked the hotel and trip, I asked for special requests: Ocean view, high floor. The receptionist at the time of chech-in told me there is nothing in our list for this request. Please coordinate with them or delete this item from your list. I had room # 3816 and at 11PM on sunday April 24) due to water and AC probelom we moved in a room with ocean view(for 11 hours) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A place to have a rest
The weak points
not clean bathroom and washroom
Certified

Not so Great

, Kitchener, ON
2011-02-28
We decided on a girls trip in mid February, and although more expensive, decided to go to Havana as I personally love this city!
I will mention I have stayed in 2 stars in Cuba before for quickie cheap trips.
This hotel was severely lacking in many areas. The room had a floor drain that overflowed 2 times and stank. The locaion of the room was excellent. On the flip side, the room attendant kept our room spotless with clean towels everyday. The actual hotel and area was kept extremely clean as was the pool. The bar staff was amazing and tried very hard to be quick and helpful!
We were one of the few foreign tourists, the place was packed with CCuban tourists on Valentines weekend, which was a great amount of fun but we were not able to eat breakfast or dinner one night, they ran out of food and the lineup for the hamburgers/sandwhichs took over 1 hour to get. On the flip side, restraunts in Havana are really cheap if you stay out of the main tourist areas, and this forced us to get out and enjoy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, great service, close to Havana - with free bus services to old Havana - great staff - awesome pool
The weak points
really bad food or non-existant food, absolutely no internet service, you pay for it but cannot access anything.
Certified

Great relaxing holiday

, Geeenbank, ON
2011-02-23
We chose this location over Varadero which we have visited for approx 15 years. It was a wonderful holiday: much better food than usual; very pleasant staff; quiet; excellent value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, courteous service by everyone. beautiful pool; good food with lots of fruit; good shuttle service;
The weak points
isolated
Certified

Club Acuario Havana

, Truro, NS
2011-01-27
This hotel is run-down with a lot of things that don't work as intended, however, it appears that they are starting to fix things up so perhaps vacation time at this resort will improve in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There is a very large and lovely series of swimming pools that offer different depths for different activities. The pool bar and cafe is open 24 hours a day which is handy for late night arrivals and early morning departures.
The weak points
The pool deck is cracked and crumbling concrete with slippery-when-wet tiles here and there. The 24 hour pool bar and cafe can be quite loud at night.
Certified

Good value

, Toronto, ON
2011-01-21
The staff were friendly and the food was better than we have had on previous trips to Cuba. We liked the location at Marina Hemingway and the free shuttle bus to and from old Havana was a service we appreciated. I would not recommend it for families with children. On three of the seven nights we were there, the music in the snack bar below our room was very loud and a group of guests were drunk and partying most of the night. Our towels were not changed everyday and the bedspread on one of the beds was smelly. Nevertheless, this is a pleasant hotel and we enjoyed the relaxed and friendly social atmosphere. I recommend that travellers to this hotel make an effort to talk with other guests because this makes the stay more interesting and they are a good source of information on what to do and see in the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food; marina environment; free shuttle to to and from old Havana; opportunity to meet and socialize with other guests; friendly staff.
The weak points
Noise at night is a problem if your room is near the Snack Bar; housekeeping not as good as expected; no child-centered activities.
Certified

Worst place to go - don't bother

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-01-01
I was very dissapointed with the hotel and would never recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There were none
The weak points
Food was absolutely awful, service was terrible and the resort is do run down that it was dangerous to walk around. Elavators were not working. Bus shuttle only went 3 times per day.
Certified

CLUB ACUARIO My Review

, London, ON
2010-12-15
Very easy to relax at this Hotel.
I was treated very well.
24 hrs a day, there were food or drinks, if desired.
Regular shuttle into Havana and back, on a nice bus with a very good driver. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and helpful staff, throughout the resort.
The weak points
Only a rocky shoreline.
Certified

A strange little trip...

, Montreal, QC
2010-11-24
The overall experience wasnt so bad, it was my first time in Cuba so it didnt take very much to impress me :)

The staff were VERY friendly and helpful
and the pool was amazing! The beach is incredible, however its an hour bus ride away (theres a free shuttle that leaves from the hotel) and Havana is beautiful if your into old buildings. The food,.... pretty gross. by the last day we didnt even eat it was pretty much the same thing everyday. But it is a very poor country and what they served was probably their best so I do appreciate! The hotel has alot of hols in the roof, so when it rains everything gets wet and we ran out of COLD water and water pressure... good times lol. I had a blast tho, but i would never go back to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach (but its FAR)
The weak points
the food
Certified

Hotal acuario

, Verdun, QC
2010-09-27
Hotel is well located near the capital of havana, comprising of the main hotel as well as apartment style buildings that line the marina's canals. The room was clean if not a little dated. The staff was very good and helpful. The food was not so good but this is usually the case with all-inclusives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, pool, staff
The weak points
bathroom, food
Certified

Hotel evaluation

, La Prairie, QC
2010-07-05
that`s was overall a good experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good service
The weak points
food was the same every day.
Certified

Acuario is inexpensive, clean, Cubana

, Toronto, ON
2010-05-25
I found this hotel exceeded my expectations, which were admittedly low. Breakfast was excellent, the pool grill made edible hamburgers, otherwise food was predictable. The room was clean, service friendly, and the hotel was populated largely by Cubans and Cuban-Americans. The balcony view of the big sports fishing and sailboats and the Atlantic was a treat. My 20th trip to Cuba, first to this hotel, I would defintely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, Cubans, ocean view, quiet
The weak points
Dark bathroom, water questionable colour and tub was dodgy - restaurant meals limited as expected - not close to old Havana
Certified

Nice poeple

, St-David, QC
2010-03-17
food just ok
accomodation just ok
phone service horrible:cant call outside
staff:nice poeple [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and drinks
The weak points
telephone service communication with travel services
Certified

Not really a three star

, Toronto, ON
2010-03-14
The hotel itself is quite pleasant looking, spacious and nicely decorated. There is a small supermarket nearby which also sells liquor and a Pizza Nova and a Chinese restaurant nearby. The room was large and had a view over a canal with sailboats docked in it. You could see the ocean in the distance, although there was no access to it. There was brown water from the hot water tap in the bathroom but it would clear up after a while. There was no hot water at all a couple of times. They have cable tv in the room and we got CTV Calgary as well as CNN, BBC and DW. Food was a problem. There wasn't much of it - mainly cabbage in all colours and three or four different kinds of rice. There was very little meat and it was guarded by a chef who stood behind it with his arms crossed. When I went to get a piece of chicken, I was told to go back to my table and he would bring it to me. It never came and I didn't expect it to. The chicken was cut so thin, it was transparent. I know food is a problem in Cuba. I have been there ten times before but this was a new low. Service was just o.k. A bus goes to Havana every forty minutes from the end of the street but the front desk didn't tell us this when I asked about transportation to Havana. They only mentioned the shuttle bus they have which runs three times a day. There was no posting of activities. In fact, I don't think there were any, other than the animation being open one night and karoake another night. When we arrived at the airport at three in the morning, they didn't want to take us on the bus
When we left, they didn't want to let us on the bus again. We did book last minute. The excuse coming in was that it takes 72 hours for them to get information. We spoke to the tour rep and she assured us there would be no problem going home. There was. When I said if we waited for another bus since this bus was was already forty five minutes late, we would miss our plane, the rep said "take a taxi." I said we didn't have any Cuban money left. She just shrugged. They did eventually let us on and we did get our plane but it was nerve racking. Overall, The complex had a lonely feeling because there were only about twenty people in the whole hotel. It seems to have been built about fifty years ago but renovated. Overall, it was o.k. for one visit but we would not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It is close to Havana.There is a large pool.The room was clean.
The weak points
Food, no ocean swimming.
Certified

Club Acaurio review

, Montreal, QC
2009-10-19
The hotel is very well located about 15 minutes from downtown Havana and was very well staffed with friendly helpful people. The room was spacious and the air conditioning worked well. The grounds are kept up and the 3 pools were refreshing, all in all it exceded my expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, pool, service
The weak points
food
Certified

Was fair..

, London, ON
2009-10-17
Very friendly and helpfull staff. I paid for an Junior Suite but it was not available. There are no bicycles or free internet as stated on one site. HolaSun claims it is a 4 star but that is rediculous. The food was the worst I have had in my 12 visits to Cuba, although it did improve tremendously as the hotel got busier. The shuttle was available but unpredictable. It is a fair ways out from Havana centre. Entertainment was great but not every night. That was understandable as the resort was almost empty, however it was supposed to be there. Actually, I would give it a second chance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?