Riu Palace Costa Rica

4.574.574.574.574.57
Riu Palace Costa Rica
#3 of 12 hotels in Liberia
4.57 based on 88 reviews
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS....Can't wait to return !!!

, Woodstock, ON
2019-11-20
This hotel was AMAZING !!! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Pools were fantastic !! Food was delicious and there were tons of options at every meal. The room was clean and HUGE. Most of the nightly entertainment I didn't want to see end. I felt VERY comfortable and VERY included every single moment of my stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF !!!! So friendly. We definitely had our favourites and looked for them every single day
The weak points
I have no complaints. Absolutely NONE. The weakest point was the beach but it is beyond anyone's control. Every beach is a public beach in Costa Rica.
Certified

Can't go wrong staying at this Resort

, Nobleton, HA
2019-03-12
Peaceful sleeps, a great variety of food types, decent entertainment, safe and tranquil beach to swim and stroll. We had a great week with absolutely no complaints. Would definitely recommend it to friends back home and would possibly return one day (the world is so big and we must see more of it). Only small turbulence is the lack of a toilet near the swim up pool bar. One must walk over to the Steak restaurant. I'm sure management is fully aware of this and will one day remedy this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, sleep, beach, staff and entertainment.
The weak points
Toilet should be added near swim up bar.
Certified

Riu Palace Costa Rica

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-16
This property is well situated with only an hour long ride from the Liberia airport which is small and easy to handle. Our first impression of the hotel was good. Staff is excellent and attend to your needs very well. It was my husbands birthday during our visit and they decorated the room for him. Drawbacks. Restaurants don't take reservations so it's a crap shoot if you get in. Very annoying. No bathrooms near the pool therefore people are using the pool as a bathroom. I got a bladder infection soon after arriving. $200 Dr bill. My husband did not like the alcohol. The Crown Royal was not the Crown we get in Canada. Sub standard. The rooms at the Palace are nice but the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room is ridiculous. I'm sure no one uses it and I heard of people falling because of it sticking out into the room. No lights in the room after you close off the electricity. Very dangerous. My rating would be 3 of 5 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Palace - Guanacaste, Costa Rica

, L Ile Perrot, QC
2018-12-05
This is a very nice hotel with welcoming staff, great food and accomodations, cleanliness, and a 45 minute drive from the Liberia airport.

Check-in was smooth and prompt. Room was clean and tidy. Decor is quite dull with white throughout room and only a few touches of grey, black and purple, apparently Riu's colours... It really lacked character.

Flatscreen TV only had Spanish channels except for 1 American news channel and a French channel from France playing old movies.

Nice beach, soft dark coloured clean sand. No aqua socks required. Beach is around 1km long, surounded by beautiful small mountains - a wonderful view every day.

Good food for all meals.

Shows at night were pleasant and the staff works hard throughout the show, and throughout the resort.

Washrooms are lacking, with only a few locations throughout the entire resort. For the entire beach area and all the pools, one location, a walk away, at the lunch-time buffet location.

The shops have a lot of interesting things, But Extremely Overpriced. Excessive. Hotel should adjust pricing and they will sell a lot more to happy guests!

Overall, a great place and recommended location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Staff Great Food Nice Beach Good location 45 minutes from Liberia Airport
The weak points
Not enough Washrooms on Property Poorly Decorated Room with bathtub in middle of room (really in the way) No reservations at the a la carte restaurants is a great idea, but if you cannot be seated half the time, it is not pleasant
Certified

Winter getaway

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-15
the staff at the hotel were very friendly and went out of their way to help in any needed, the hotel itself was very clean, I saw people always keeping the hotel grounds tidy and spotless of litter The rooms were very spacious we had a balcony and a large jet tub and a huge shower that honestly 6 people could fit in there, overall great experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the weather was perfect, sunny everyday, people were very helpful and friendly, and the food was great, a large variety and we ate different foods everyday, would recommend this place and honestly we would go back, loved that everything all included!!
The weak points
some of the staff, didn't know how to make certain drinks properly, the wait time at some of the resturants were long, or closed early, (8:30pm)
Certified

Relaxing trip

, Listowel, ON
2017-06-22
Costa Rica is beautiful. We went for our honeymoon. The staff are great and friendly. Everyone was very helpful if you had a question. Quite resort. We weren't expecting it to be that quite. Not much going on. For what we paid we were not very impressed. We have a bunch of friends that stayed in the same resort and loved it so I guess it's a personal preference. I thought the Rui guanacasta located beside was nicer than the palace. We spent a lot of time at the other resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Coastal Rica

, Lowbanks, ON
2017-05-25
We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great service, great food. Enjoyed both excursions. Would like to see washrooms closer to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All à la carte restaurations were amazing.
The weak points
No bathrooms close to the beach.
Certified

Great vacation

, Buffalo, NY
2017-04-07
Staff, they were splendid. Marcos at the pool bar and Luis/joaquin at the lobby bar. Cant say enough good things about them. Staff everywhere is the friendliest I have came across.

The excursions were nice but would only really recommend Arenal and Monteverde. The others are overpriced for what they offer.

Hotel needs a bathroom closer to pool area. Lets just say its a walk and people at the pool bar rarely left. Gross.

No shade as the trees are still young. Next door provides lots more shade.

Cooks at the steakhouse will screw up your steak order so be forewarned. Med rare ends up well done....hell everything you order ends up being well done.

Dinner at Krystal was great. The buffet also had some nice choices.

Bathroom emits a sulfur order, its Central America/Caribbean so its expected.

AC never worked as good as it did in other rooms. Informed desk and they sent a tech up and the same temperature was evident.

Loved it overall highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, they were splendid. Marcos at the pool bar and Luis/joaquin at the lobby bar. Cant say enough good things about them.
The weak points
Location of the province(not hotels fault) Far from anything. My AC awasnt working properly, informed front desk and they sent up tech but it never got cold. It cooled it down but not what I expected. The beach here is not really a swimming beach .
Certified

Good hotel but be careful

, Cambridge, ON
2017-02-25
pros good service great food no reservations required for restaurants nice long beach good night entertainment
cons hotel is far from towns too much Latino music after show this isn't cuba BE VERY careful with personal belongings had our camera taken from table while dancing no other guests where around are table, it was hotel staff servers (entertainment show area )hotel was not helpful at all that evening No designated smoking area force people to go down to beach which are public beaches this is a problem at night you do not feel safe [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Honeymoon at Riu Palace

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-11-09
We just got back from our honeymoon at Riu Palace in Costa Rica and it was amazing. Everything we could want in a vacation! There was always so much to do, even in the morning the pool staff were getting activities going like volleyball or dance lessons, yoga, Zumba, teaching how to make the cocktails. The shows at night were great, very skilled and funny dancers. All the staff we encountered were helpful and so nice, it was never a problem getting a drink - !6 the time we were almost finished the first drink they were already making your next one. And to have drink service all the way on the beach is above and beyond. We also did the snorkelling which I highly recommend - great price for the hour or so you get. I also loved the cappuccino bar in the lobby. All in all an amazing vacation and we would love to visit again. Pura vida! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, activities, building, pools, bars
The weak points
Can't think of any
Certified

My thoughts about Riu Palace Liberia

, Markham, ON
2016-10-12
I totally enjoyed my stay at the Riu Palace in Liberia. The food was great, the accomodations were excellent and the staff were amazing. I will go back to this facility wnenever I am returning to Costa Rica [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and accomodation
The weak points
Pools could be better maintained a bit mouldy in some places.
Certified

Great vacation

, Sudbury, ON
2016-02-28
Stayed for a week and loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, clean, good food
The weak points
Away from other places, not good internet
Certified

Costa Rica

, Mississauga, ON
2016-02-20
Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. The food is excellent as well. If interested in night life this is not the place for you. Last bar closes at midnight and lights out in lobby area. Only place to go is the disco located a walk away and drinks are not included in all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pools. Lots of chairs. Loved the swim up pool/bar. Food was great.
The weak points
Area was dryer than expected. If doing tours most are a long way from the resort.
Certified

Pura Vida

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-02-01
What an amazing Country. Hotel is the typical new RIU Palace style. Grounds are still new so not as lush as RIU Guancaste next door but is easily accessible. Entertainment was okay. Oceanview room was perfect, great views, huge balcony under the tourett. Jacuzzi in room took a while to fill up, but came in handy after zipling and hiking all day for sore muscles. The sounds at sunrise and sunset are amazing, Howler monkeys and birds, you do not hear traffic or other noise, just the nature. Food was good, steakhouse was great, italian was my least favorite. Staff were great. I would go back. Tip - wear shoes on the beach the volcanic dark sand is hot, be careful or avoid diving for ball when playing volleyball on the beach the sand is very coarse. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, close to excursions, flora and fauna, beautiful sunrise and sunsets, staff, food
The weak points
Tiles near pool areas can be slippery, Typical RIU Palace Resort lacks authentic feel in interior and decor.
Pro

Costa rica

, Bradford, ON
2016-01-19
Excellent resort, from food, drinks, clean, rooms, entertainment, service, overall top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pura Vida !

, Grimsby, ON
2016-01-01
Excellent resort - facilities, staff, service and food -- all outstanding. The staff are actually happy - not faking it, and are really well organized, trained, and terrific. If you want a 5* Central America / Costa Rican resort - this is it ... Walter at the pool bar, Monica/Rebeca/Eduaro at Arenal restaurant -- great people and outstanding service. They remembered us daily and knew what we wanted - always happy, smiling, and great to help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is safe, clean, and well managed. The staff are really terrific. We have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean -- this staff / culture was the best - truly happy, very helpful and willing to take care of you.
The weak points
We aren't 'complainers' - and appreciate the opportunity to travel and visit new cultures. If I have to find weak points - some people may want white sand (who cares) -- they could look into a kids only pool area - hard to do w families I realize ...
Certified

Riu Palace August 2015

, Toronto, ON
2015-09-03
Beautiful, good food, great staff, lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, lots of variety. Very clean, grounds and rooms are beautiful. Very friendly staff
The weak points
Far drive away from other towns and beaches
Certified

Very relaxing

, St Catharines, ON
2015-01-17
Super relaxing, very nice and clean resort… Costa Rica is a beautiful country, great staff, nice selection of food, black sand beaches because of the volcanos lush & green, not much for night life cause it's isolated… wild life every where, will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean… Food… very friendly staff… new style nice to look at.
The weak points
Comparing to the old style riu these ones in my opinion are built very cheap. But eye catching nevertheless.

Riu Palace Costa Rica

2014-05-21
From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everything was perfect. Not an incident to talk about which is a rarity. Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
reception & staff/cleanliness/food & food presentation
The weak points
non applicable
Certified

BEST trip EVER!

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-21
Best hotel, great food... Steak resturant good, Japanese ok, first trip without getting stomach issues...Great trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and people are super friendly, the weather of April being the hottest month was friggin awesome...Best trip ever.
The weak points
The beach was actually too hot to walk on with out foot protection and even with flip flops you had to plan your beach travels by the shade trees...
Certified

Best holiday ever

, Spanish, ON
2014-03-12
we had the best experiance ever. we would definatly love to go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service from all the staff,the resort itself is magnificent
The weak points
closer washrooms when out of the palace
Certified

Nice place

, Markham, ON
2014-03-09
Riu palace is a very big place so you will do a lot of walking.You will find a very large selection of food most of it was very good the pool BBQ for lunch was great with steak every day.The beach was clean but the water a litter rough for people how can't swim but great for walking.Over all a very nice place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and the pool
The weak points
The only shade on the beach is some tree
Certified

Riu Palace

, Milton, ON
2014-03-02
The Riu palace was a great hotel with great food and very friendly staff. The beach was nice and there was four pools with lots of room to sit and swim and didn't feel crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great, lots of variety and choices, had a 24 hour lounge with food and drinks. Drinks at the bar were good but small, bring you own mugs!
The weak points
No bar on the beach, had to walk far back to get a drink and the washrooms felt far away from the pool area and there was only one. Some of the towels had small stains on them. Found the shows to be a little cheesy
Certified

Lovely Holiday

, Guelph, ON
2014-02-24
Vacationed with my 2 daughters and it was a fabulous holiday. Lovely, safe resort with wonderful employees.
We have stayed at several Riu properties and this one did not disappoint. Day trips or water activities are available if that's what you're looking for or great for relaxation. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Property layout - easy to get around Food - lots of variations, tasty! Employees - very friendly and helpful Excursions - easy to book. lots of choices Howler monkeys, sea turtles on property Good internet access
The weak points
Not a spectacular beach, but still nice
Certified

Great trip

, Midland, ON
2014-02-09
From the time we got off the plane until we set foot back on it. The trip was amazing. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The food was good, there was something for every taste buds. The rooms were clean. Not a bad word to say about this hotel. Would recommend it to all my friends. Will be back soon. P.S. if you like a white sandy beach, you will have to go some where else. Dark sand and it can get hot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the bartenders, food,and of course the people you met from all over the World.
The weak points
Because of the location of the hotel, to do some day trips. The travel time was long, to get to them.
Certified

Great Trip

, Barrie, ON
2014-01-31
Very much enjoyed the trip. Hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and only comment was that we were not allowed to book a family suite on this vacation - not sure why this option is not offered.Internet was good and FREE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean, warm weather and great food. Jan 2014
The weak points
rooms are a bit small
Certified

Best travel experience

, Georgetown, ON
2013-12-04
I had a wonderful time, very peaceful and relaxing. I walked the beach everyday, its black sand and dark waters. Go see Carlos in the yellow shirt on the beach if you want to book an excursion. He has tons of information and is the nicest and friendliest man. They have great dance classes. The show every night was out of this world, the dancers are so talented. The rooms are lovely, I had a garden view and could still see the ocean from my balcony. I went by myself, and the staff is amazing, you don't have to worry at all. The locals are extremely friendly. I met a lot of nice people from all over on my trip, lots of Canadians on the resort. It was the best trip. Highly recomend it. I will go back in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The dance classes and zumba were a ton of fun. Friendly and helpful staff. High end decor in restaurants and rooms. New resort, no bad weather. It rained one day.
The weak points
None. If I didn't meet such nice people from Canada, I would have had to eat dinner alone, and that would have been hard in the sit down restaraunts, breakfast and lunch were buffet, and I didn't mind eating alone at those at all.
Certified

Great Place

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-04
We had no complaints with this resort. Customer service,housekeeping, bar staff, entertainers are all good. Food was good. The weather didn't cooperate for kayaking but the sun shone and the pools were open everyday!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel & Customer Service was very good.
The weak points
Because you are in a bay the wind is very strong along the beach.
Certified

Riu Palace review Nov 11-25

, Woodstock, ON
2013-11-27
We stayed at the Riu Guanacaste last year and did a walk through the Palace so we knew what to expect. We found the rooms much like you would find in Toronto,very modern just not the Costa Rican flavour. Wash rooms were too far from pools. Food was great. WiFi worked but would cut out once in a while. Weekends were not as crowded with the Costa Ricans as the other resort beside us was which was a bonus. Very friendly at the resort and would recommend it for a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excursions were great. Food is very good. Hotel workers were friendly. Weather in Nov is warm but comfortable. Very clean. Nightly entertainment was better then the previous year.
The weak points
Bathrooms from pool too far away.
Certified

Not quite a 5*

, Kitchener, ON
2013-11-27
Overall a very good experience, but definitely not a 5* as advertised, personnel excellent attitude always there for you. My only complain would be the weekend when the resort was full, apparently was a huge sale for local people and suddenly a 5* resort became a 3*, no offense Coatarican people, but I don't find fair to pay for the price for a 5* and deal with people that paid for a 3*, for example the pool was overcrowded, 4 guys were sitting on the lounge beside me (why 4 on one lounge I didn't get the point, but ... was their choice) eating onion salad from a plastic cup, forget about the ocean breeze .... I left my chair for 5 min and I found my towel on the floor and a guy sitting on my chair... I have different expectation from my vacation this is the reason why I pay for 5* for 7 days and expect to have the same treatment for 7 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools
The weak points
you need to keep the same quality to respect your tourists
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?