Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3.973.973.973.973.97
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (13)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

, Woodbridge, ON
2017-12-02
Everything from the accommodations to the food was excellent. The beach was quite small, so if taking long walks on the beach is one of your favorite things to do, this is not the place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and friendly staff
The weak points
Only draw back was a small beach.
Certified

Annie

, Orono, ON
2016-04-15
Staff was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, esp guest services
The weak points
Food, no luxeries in lobby, like coffee, newspapers. Long walk to lobby.
Certified

What a great resort

, St Catharines, ON
2014-03-13
everyone is very friendly and extremely helpful. Facilities are beautiful and conveniently located. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great experience
The weak points
Food is pricey
Certified

Beyond Expectations Mini Vacation

, Newmarket, ON
2014-03-06
This hotel and experience can be described in one word....outstanding. Clean, friendly, great service. Beyond expectations. I would highly recommend to everyone. A fantastic experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Great Service, Stunningly Beautiful scenery.
The weak points
Restaurants are a bit expensive in Bermuda, but not a huge issue.
Certified

Bermuda 5.

, Ancaster, ON
2014-02-21
Our third visit to Grotto Bay Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and clean.
The weak points
We found no weak points.
Certified

Really enjoyed our vacation

, Oakville, ON
2014-02-17
The resort was nice and quiet. Most of the rooms have pretty good ocean views though we really enjoyed our oceanfront room. The resort is close to the airport which made for a really convenient airport transfer. You can see the airport from the resort but we weren't bothered by the planes taking off or landing which were relatively rare. The room and bathroom were clean. We were quite satisfied with the accommodations though the internet in the room was sketchy at best.

The food was pretty high quality and the service was attentive and friendly. The all-inclusive plan included 3 meals a day only in the restaurants and beverages which was fine though you couldn't really get snacks between meals except at the gift shop. The poolside bar/grill wasn't open since it was off season. The breakfast/lunch buffets didn't always have a huge selection depending on weekday vs weekend, but we could always find things we liked and the dinners were all a-la-carte. Since food is kind of expensive, we thought the all-inclusive plan was well worth it, especially since it included a bus/ferry pass for the week.

The weather wasn't the best for swimming at this time of year, but it was pleasant for being out and about when it wasn't raining. For the most part, Bermuda seemed quite safe and the locals are quite cordial and gracious.

Overall, we had a great vacation and would not hesitate to visit again and to stay at the Grotto Bay Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were really friendly and attentive.
The weak points
None really.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2013-03-20
We were treated very well. The service was outstanding. No complaints other than wish we could have stayed longer. Plan to return to this island for more adventures. Felt very safe using their public buses. So much to see, so little time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beaches were amazing. The food was outstanding and had a wide variety for an off season vacation. Staff were awesome and very helpful.
The weak points
No Mojitos, my favourite drink!
Certified

Grotto bay

, St Charles, ON
2013-03-19
Great food friendly staff but small resort. Lots of fun places to visit around the island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and great service good food
The weak points
internet access
Certified

Just OK, not a 4 star

, Sudbury, ON
2013-02-25
I had a few positive experiences, door men, waiters and spa staff were very nice and gave great service. The staff member who checked me in was very rude, not what I had expected as a first impression.
The rooms are outdated (the owners should invest in current bedding) but clean.
This hotel should not be considered a 4 star. I paid four star pricing, but overall stayed at a 3 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great servers in restaurants
The weak points
Had to change rooms 3 times before I was put in the type of room I paid for. The third was the best but far below my expectations. The Hoiliday Inn express I stayed in at the airport was much nicer. If you usually stay 4 stars do not stay here.
Certified

Amazing

, Binbrook, ON
2013-01-26
Overall the hotel was above expectation but failed in providing information to traveler who where not part of the all inclusive package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Failed to meet customer service on events provided by hotel service
Certified

Bermuda 2013.

, Ancaster, ON
2013-01-19
Great trip apart from the snow when we returned to Toronto. Second time at Grotto Bay Beach Resort. Hope to go again in the near future. Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We like the location.
The weak points
None.
Certified

GROTTO BAY BEACH RESORT, BERMUDA.

, North York, ON
2013-01-15
Ants and cockroaches in room. Nothing much was done to make our stay pleasant. Getting late checkout was difficult when resort was only 60% full. Beach is small.
Resort not so good but Bermuda is beautiful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Looks very nice. Cave on property was amazing.
The weak points
Ants and cockroaches in room. Room not cleaned properly. Balcany areas not cleaned. Rugs not taped so kept tripping.
Certified

4 day weekend trip

, Brampton, ON
2012-11-30
Overall good experience and good value for money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mostly renovated, close to beach, good restaurants
The weak points
Wouldn't pay anywhere near full price but at discounted rate good deal, lots of stairs, restaurant expensive
Certified

November getaway

, Ajax, ON
2012-11-29
Generally had a good time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness of staff
The weak points
gift shop did not have enough items
Certified

Stay away from Grotto Bay Resort.

, Richmond Hill, ON
2012-09-06
I do not recommend this resort at all. It has insects everywhere inside and out. The food is terrible and way over priced and the service very bad. We waited 90 minutes for food to arrive! The resort is far from everywhere with nothing around it. I do not recommed this resort to anyone. It is a waste of money. The staff are also very very rude and not helpful. Do not stay at this resort. There are many better resorts available in Bermuda.
Dr Shahin Pourgol
Canada [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing. There was nothing good about this resort.
The weak points
Everything. Food, service, insects, rooms, Stay away from this resort.
Certified

Easter trip

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-10
It was my first time to Bermuda and I was very happy with the location, the resort and the staff. I would give it a 4 out of 5. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are very friendly and the food was very good. I would recommend getting the meal packaage if you are going to be there for a few days. It includes a bus and ferry pass that is well worth it. I was able to travel all over the island for free.
The weak points
This is not a place you can sleep in because of the crazy chickens but it is very relaxing and I was able to rest and nap poolside.
Certified

Grotto Bay Vacay

, Dieppe, NB
2012-03-18
Awesome! Great for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for the price. Super friendly staff. 6 $ ride from the airport. Caves on site.
The weak points
Small beach, no sunsets. Far from Hamilton.
Certified

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

, Ancaster, ON
2012-02-14
Excellent value in the low season.
Clean rooms, attractive outlook from patio. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for money for European Plan (no food). Handy location for airport. Most staff friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Not able to access wireless internet for laptop, even in main building. One barman not helpful in bar.
Certified

Grotto Bay Resort Bermuda

, North York, ON
2012-01-25
Excellent,
clean, neat,
all in good taste. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All above expectation.
The weak points
We didn't find any.
Certified

All in having good outlook on everything

, Etobicoke, ON
2012-01-12
i celebrated my bday here and like everything else there's always some negative, but we had a great time and for us this place was just ideal when it comes to location.. we went with the european plan and that gave us the opportunity to travel around and experience the island all over... not a regret and would definitely visit again ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
having an ongoing back problem, sitting for long is a huge problem.. this resort is like 3 minutes from the airport.. loved it. the place is broken up into several buildings so you have some privacy. buses right at the front of bldg..great location
The weak points
one of the front desk personnel was very unfriendly, not helpful at all and on both occasions dealing with her, made us feel like we were nobody. the other ladies were quite nice. the toilet bowl was not cleaned & the cleaner left her unfinished apple.
Certified

Great Value

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-10
Grotto Bay Beach is a great value for a quick weekend getaway. If you're looking for a resort with a huge beach then this resort is not for you. However if you're looking for a clean/relaxing resort with friendly staff then you can't go wrong with this resort. The picture does not do it justice. The resort looks much better in person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, cool caves and clean
The weak points
lots of stairs
Certified

Worst Experience Ever

, Richmond Hill, ON
2011-12-22
Please Do Not Travel to Bermuda from December to March if you are looking for a Warm Sunny Vacation. Don't get fooled by the pictures that have been taken in the summer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Lots of negative points, the beach was full of sea weed, swimup Bar closed, bayside restaurant closed, fitness center closed, on and on !!! don't travel to this destination in December PLEASE!
Certified

Had a good time

, Oakville, ON
2011-11-29
Had a good time Grotto Bay, not a party place but good for a quiet get away. I would recommend this hotel if traveling to Bermuda. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean
The weak points
Weather wasn't that good, cool for the month of November
Certified

Great Resort

, Brampton, ON
2011-03-02
Friendly and helpful staff. Great location from airport and accessiblity to local transportation. Gorgeous private beach. Fine dining experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous white sand private beach with a shipwreck for snorkelling. Bus routes outside the hotel for easy commute around the island. Prospero Caves for exploration right on site. Crystal Cave attraction just a few minutes away. Helpfulness of staff.
The weak points
No nightly entertainment during the low season.
Certified

Fantastic Property !!

, Toronto, ON
2010-12-09
Absolutely beautiful.The weather was awful and we still really enjoyed the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous setting, very pleasant staff - particularly in the restaurant. The quality was what I expected at a resort of this caliber. I realize we got a great price due to seasonality, but an reviewing based on regular resort pricing.
The weak points
The food could have been more interesting.
Certified

Good price good times

, North York, ON
2010-11-17
Grotto is a great price for bermuda, people are nice, food is good and the rooms are clean. I recommend this place for a cheap stay in Bermuda and I do not recommend the All Inclusive package [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the price
The weak points
the location and beach isn't much
Certified

Overall a nice stay

, Toronto, ON
2010-06-24
Rooms are clean, beds were comfortable, nice view of water from our balcony. Lots of walking required down the hills everyday to access the beach and pool. Grounds were kept clean. Beach area is small, but beautiful.Caves onsite were an added bonus. A bit far from the city of Hamilton, but the bus stop right out front of the hotel will take you there with ease. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach and rooms
The weak points
lots of walking , may not suit those who have difficulty walking up and down hill
Certified

Wonderful area and hotel

, Windsor, ON
2010-05-12
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Good location for exploring the island. Food and service were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Property well taken care of. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Buildings are spread out and quite hilly - not really suitable for people with disabilities.
Certified

Book it now!!!!!!

, Hamilton, ON
2010-05-11
This mini-getaway couldn't have been better. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. When you arrive you are literally a 2 minute drive from the airport which is amazing. I had heard some bad comments about staff upon arrival, but we had no issues, the front desk staff were friendly and funny, and got us all set up, lunch was ending so they sent us down to the beautiful patio to eat lunch and took care of our bags for us, when we arrived they were at our room. The views everywhere at this resort were gorgeous, there wasn't a bad view I don't think. If you get an oceanview room, you will have to walk down a stair or hill to get to the beach and pool, but it's so worth it for the view. The pool was kept very warm, but I never went in it. The private beach is so beautiful with a small ship wreck just off-shore for snorkling. The caves are just stunning and swimming in them was a real treat. What other resort has a shipwreck and ocean caves on site!!! The room was modest, but had everything you needed and very very comfortable beds.

If you are going to go here get the all inclusive pass! Bermuda is sooooooooo expensive and the 100/day is worth it. The food at grotto bay was excellent and the service was wonderful. Dressing up for the hibiscus room was fun. The all inclusive pass also includes a free bus pass and you can go all over the island and Bermuda is super safe, so you can go to all the cities and towns to sight-see.
Our days were as follows - get up and have an excellent breakfast on site, then leave for the morning head into town and we went to the aquarium (a must see) and because everything is so close you can make it back for a late lunch no problem. The afternoons were spent on the beach or in the caves, snorkeling at the ship wreck etc. Usually a mid-afternoon siesta followed by an excellent dinner and drinks at the bar.

For the price you are not missing out!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort had so many things to do on site!!! So gorgeous!
The weak points
The internet was 6/hour, but I was on vacation so had no desire to use it ;)
Certified

Wow! Beautiful, amazing hotel

, Oakville, ON
2009-06-17
We were really pleased with our stay at The Grotto Bay Hotel. It was more than we expected it to be. We usually do not stay at any hotel less than 5 stars, but this definitely lived up to our standards. Excellent service, excellent, food, excellent ocean view! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service from everyone on stafff was perfect!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Bermuda's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Singles Beaches Families Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?