Sandals Barbados

4.204.204.204.204.20
Sandals Barbados
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Gorgeous Beach

, Cranbrook, BC
2016-10-18
Sandals has renovated and ramped up this property formerly owned by Couples. The beach is gorgeous, the staff from Corporate to Housekeeping are friendly, hard working and caring. The food is very good, the grounds are beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Staff, Food
The weak points
Pool, Entertainment
Pro

Sandals Barbados

, Golden Valley, ON
2014-02-17
On Feb.6th we stayed for a week at the new Sandals Barbados. We were not sure when we booked as some of the reviews where not favorable. To this day I'm not sure what people want out of a resort that was bought a few months ago. This resort as it sits now is great, yes it would be nice to have a few more restaurants & small upgrades to the rooms, but the rooms are quite comfortable as they are. The food in all restaurants is very good. The gardens are very nice, mature well groomed, pool area clean, beach great, drinks very good & the people that work there are the best.
As of April this year the resort will be closed for a time to renovate most of the property, with more restaurants, new pool & many other improvements. When they are done this resort will be over the top, one of the finest in all the Caribbean. Nice size resort & every employee seem very happy to have you come to their island. When you visit Sandals Barbados make sure you try an omelet made by Anthony, the best & with his smile you will be happy all day. There are many great servers at this resort, but there are two, five star servers are David & Curtley, both these men are the finest we have ever seen work at any resort. Every move they make is that of a five star restaurant.. Every move they make is that of a five star restaurant.
Well managed resort, (GM) Mr. Zellner, (OM) Jordan keep the property running smooth.
Kerry (GSM) is one of the finest people you can meet. We met her at Sandals Exuma a few years ago & when she was the manager at the Drunken Duck. She has not stopped working hard, always with a big smile & a great attitude.
Yes, the picture of the Green Monkey is on the property ate Sandals.
In all, Sandals Barbados is a great resort now & in future will be the finest resort in any resort chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great property
The weak points
Needs some minor upgrades, but happy with what they have
Certified

Planning a return trip

, Sharon, ON
2014-02-10
We did some research and decided 3 weeks ago to book Sandals Barbados. We have travelled to Barbados before and found the island and Bajan's wonderful. We knew this was a newly acquired property by Sandals and well aware changes don't occur overnight. We've just returned and can say we were not disappointed. We wanted to stay longer and, in fact, we gave a deposit to return next year!
Arrival at the airport was a little confusing as we didn't find any Sandals Reps when we exited the airport. A friendly man from Dollar Rental helped us locate the Sandals Reps. They were busy checking in other passengers in an area well to the left of the exit. If you find yourself in the same situation, turn left once you clear the taxi booth area.
Things we really liked:
Free WiFi was available for all guests. I've lobbied for this for a few years and hopefully this trend will become a standard at all Sandals. Sandals promotes the Welcome Home concept. When family comes to visit me, they have access to my WiFi network and I expect the same whenever we “Come Back Home” to Sandals. Customers also have access to the Internet Café and ability to print Boarding Passes prior to leaving the resort. This was a nice perk!
Josef (GM), Kerry (Guest Services) and Jodon (Ops Mgr) made our stay pleasant as did the ‘Come Back Soon' ladies Shonnell, Angela & Melanie.
Markson, one of grounds keepers, was very friendly and entertaining. He conducts Nature Walks around the resort. Takes about an hour and we enjoyed it.
Resort: The resort was small and intimate. One large building along the beach with ocean front rooms. 5 buildings were tucked in behind with garden views. Gardens were lush. The gym was well appointed. Plenty of lounge chairs (poolside & beach) and towels were available during the morning. The beach provides soft sand for enjoyable beach walks.
Rooms: We felt the resort would be busy and decided to upgrade to the Ocean View Jr Suite. The view was nice and the sound of the surf relaxing. The room was comfortable; full bar and lots of HOT water.
Restaurants and Bars: We ate at all three restaurants. Daily menus were displayed near the Calypso Lounge. The Bayside buffet seemed small yet offered a nice variety. A la Carte at Schooners and Yes Please were both good. Yes Please offers veggie meals for lunch. Sandals had a ‘flag' system for the beach lounge chairs. Each set of lounge chairs was provided with a flag on a stick. Whenever you wanted a drink; erect the flag and a server would come to take your drink order. Nice touch.
We found all the staff very friendly and it seems unfair to identify only a select few. Here's a couple who made our stay even better: Anthony (omelettes), Tonya & Curtley from Bayside; Jason, Robert, Samantha, Thaniesha; Sherice and Adrian & Adrian B from Main & Pool Bar services.
Oistins Fish Market was an experience everyone should consider. Friday is the ‘party night' and you have the opportunity to join the Bajan's for food and drink. Fresh fish meals average $15 USD and decent Caribbean beer at 4 for $5 USD. Sandals offers free shuttle every half hour starting at 6:30 with hourly return trips starting at 8:30 – 11pm. FYI: Bajan food can be spicy.
We walked outside the resort during the day and felt very safe. Obviously one needs to be cautious not to flash the jewellery or cash but that's the case just about anywhere in the world. Local buses cost $1 each and the locals are very helpful in choosing the right bus stop. We spoke to many guests who also ventured off property to enjoy the southern portion of Barbados. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly staff; beautiful beach; good food; close to airport
The weak points
None really. We knew the resort was a work in progress and can't wait to see the completed project.
Certified

Our Barbados Experience

, Mount Hope, ON
2013-12-15
Safe off of the resort, a lot of culture and history. Their strength.....Sandals EMPLOYEES!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Although the resort was in transition, it was in great shape. The strength of this resort was it's employees who were absolutely fabulous. Sandals does not have to worry about their people. Great destination, always felt safe off of resort.
The weak points
Minor maintenance issues in bathroom. No one waiting outside of airport, had to go find them.
Certified

Sandals name but not NOT Sandals

, Hamilton, ON
2013-12-06
Sandals has taken over the property but there is NOTHING Sandals about it. The room we were put into,smelled,bedding,was stained & worn & furniture was dated & missing in parts of the room.We were moved to block 1 the next day, only because I said I was not happy with the room.Our friends who arraived 3 days after us, were not so lucky. They had paid for a "suite" but by no means was this an upgraded room. They were eventually moved after going back to the room 1 night to find that the patio door was wind open(which faced the road)& by the way, this took then 2 moves to do.
Food was good in the morining & lunch, but you need to go to the a la cartes to get a decent meal for dinner, & there was so such thing as premium about the drinks.The guys wanted their local rum, Mount Gay or Cockspur, yet they could not even get that.
The beach as always was great,(we have been to the island 3 times before, 2nd time to the property)
So please do not think that you are going to a Sandals resort, you will be disappointed.
The service staff really made our stay.
We had 1 of the staff acually go to the store on her own time & cost to get a bottle of Mount Gay for my hubby(Sheneka) & 1 staff who made sure that they would have flying fish for us the next day for dinner(Marsha). These 2 ladies really went above & beyond to make our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The serving staff & beach.
The weak points
drinks & some front desk staff.Also some of the rooms.
Certified

Sandals barbados

, Brantford, ON
2013-12-01
hotel staff very friendly, the rooms are below sandals standards but given some time they will rectify that. the wait staff in the restaurants are very good, chef at omlete bar (anthony) very impressive, beach is awesome locations, #1 great thing is the Bajan people are friendliess in the Caribbean!! Front desk staff are eager to help your stay be the best so don't be shy about asking them to help especially if you get a room with a bed that is below expectations. Overall good for the $$$ we spent but not great if you spend the $$$$$$$ they want now, maybe next year when they have it up to sandals standards [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beaches, gardens are amazing, staff friendly and helpful, manager very eager to help so if you do have issues seek him out,
The weak points
photography staff stay away from them!!! money grab especially for weddings!! beds are not the best, bathrooms need work, only domestic beer before 6:30 and then only one premium at piano bar.
Certified

Has Potential For Dram Come True

, Dundas, ON
2013-09-23
For the most part we enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are super friendly and knowledgeable. Food was fresh and tasty every day. Beach was cleaned regularly.
The weak points
Hidden costs-booking Tours. Some rooms don't have balcony's you can use. Black mold in shower, shower takes 10 min. to get hot. We want to eat any time of day/night. Some men would approach guests on the beach, that's scary.
Certified

Fantastic!!

, Oakville, ON
2013-09-04
We had the best time staying with Couples in Barbados!

The beach was breath taking! Staff went above and beyond, the food was spectacular....everything you want in a relaxing vacation you can find here!

We loved hanging out by the ocean, however there are tons of pools on site. And there was never a fight to get a beach chair, plenty available!

The staff were all so lovely! We loved chatting with them and getting to know more about their life in Barbados. So polite and helpful, all of them! Patricia, Shamika, Stephen, Gavin, Jason - just to name a few - so great!!

The bar staff is fun and all make awesome drinks! Ask for the Martini menu - delicious!! I do wish the open area bar (Calypso) was open longer for entertainment , as it did close around 11 and people were forced over to the piano bar (however, still plenty of fun, just a smaller area).

The food at Dover (reservation restaurant) was over the top! We ate there three times, we could not get enough. The presentation itself was 5 star worthy for sure! Shamika, Curtley and Jenelle were of excellent service.

I would recommend staying here ! But do get out of the resort and explore the island, totally worth it. We did a private cab tour with Paul Payne, that was great!

The rooms were pretty average. Nothing special. The beds were comfy and the rooms were always made up nicely by the housekeeping staff.

The location of Couples is nice because it is close to Oistens for Friday nights. And did not take us long to get to Bridgetown (Capital). And the beach it is on, Dover, is breath taking, so blue! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff make your vacation even better. Beach was a huge plus for us. Food at Dover was same level as a 5 star restaurant in Canada !
The weak points
Entertainment was nothing exciting rooms were fine, but just average
Certified

Amazing beach, food and people!

, Montreal, QC
2013-07-19
This resort has an incredible staff, very kind and willing to please. The beach is crystal clear with nice waves that are not too strong or calm. The food tasted great! There always had plenty and changed everyday, not repetitive at all. If you have a sweet tooth, you will be in heaven as well! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Tasteful food, nice staff,beautiful beach, and includes some nice extras!
The weak points
Gained 5 pounds in a week. Food was too good to resist!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?