Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach

Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
3.483.483.483.483.48
3.48 based on 27 reviews
#2 of 29 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Honolulu
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hilton garden in review

, Owen Sound, ON
2019-03-29
the staff was very friendly, house keeping services came everyday and always around the same time so you got an idea for when they would be coming. great area, you're close to the international market and the beach and many other things to do. only thing i wasn't a total fan of was how loud the area is and the size of the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
loved the area, staff, rooms.
The weak points
loud and small pool
Certified

Great spot

, Maple Ridge, BC
2019-02-28
The staff at the hotel were great. We really like the hotel's restaurant, great food. The store in the hotel was very handy and friendly staff.
The spot was perfect for us. Close to everything. Great food places and shops. A couple of blocks from Waikiki beach but easy walk distance away. We will return to this hotel for sure and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean room and central location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good central location. Close to great restaurants and shops.
The weak points
No view of Waikiki beach and partial ocean views. Small pool.
Certified

Not great, but close to amenities

, Drayton Valley, AB
2015-02-14
Stay away from Wyndham desk- straight up lied about being a time share!! Pushy, and rude when we figured out what it was and cancelled. Ruined first day - STAY CLEAR!
Great pricing, and staff. Who stays in their hotel room anyways!
If you like busy and bustling vacations this is the place to be, although the hotel could use a lot of upgrades, we had a good time. Pool bar was great! Didn't make it to club downstairs but the promoter outside was nice! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Chili's was great! Front desk were nice, so was activities desk agents- too bad their desk is connected to time share desk. Close to all amenities, beach 2 blocks - awesome!
The weak points
Time share desk. Paint peeling in bathroom- no fan; slow elevators In desperate need of updates.
Certified

Standard Hotel Room

, Surrey, BC
2014-11-24
The hotel is in need of renovation, it is old but functional, even though the rooms were clean, I myself bought cleaning wipes and cleaned everything nothing against hotel, just my usual routine when travelling. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Location is great, construction across the street is only during the day so not much of a disturbance as you are out most of the day and traffic/street noise is fine, think of it as white noise. Only negative was no wifi in room which was not an issue as we brought a travel wifi router. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff were helpful and friendly
The weak points
hotel needs updating, bathroom shower small and noisy toilet
Certified

A Trip to Honolulu, Hawaii

, Olds, AB
2014-11-20
Would have been good had we not have to avoid the tourist desks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were able to change our room to a lower floor. Housekeeping staff were really nice. Front desk staff were always helpful. Everyone was very courteous. We enjoyed our trip.
The weak points
The people manning the tourist booths were sometimes pushy. The smoking around the hotel and streets was at times bothersome or us.
Certified

Ohana hotel waikiki west

, Trail, BC
2014-03-12
We think the Ohana was a good hotel. It was clean enough and proximity to the beach was good. The things that we did not like about waikiki, the hotel could not control. Good place for your buck. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the beach for what you pay.
The weak points
pushing time share.
Certified

Ohana West

, Fort Erie, ON
2014-03-11
Ran out of water during my first shower.
Very difficult to get in and out of tub by climbing over toilet.
Room was cold most of the time.
Pool was cold. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Desk was friendly
The weak points
Poor experience with Wyndham properties.
Certified

Nice place to stay

, Edmonton, AB
2014-02-28
A pleasant stay close to everything except for WiFi you need to go downstairs to use it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to everything
The weak points
No wifi disappointed
Certified

Traveler

, Vancouver, BC
2013-06-30
Ohana waikiki west [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Unbeatable/Beautiful Weather
The weak points
Food Cost is a bit high
Certified

Honolulu Ohana Waikiki West

, Oshawa, ON
2013-05-14
The hotel is very clean the beach is only 5min. walk. The hotel staff is excellent very polite, helpful .
For the price it is awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great place to go and have fun !
The weak points
I Don't think there is!
Certified

Great bang for the buck

, Christina Lake, BC
2013-02-12
I have stayed at this hotel 5 times now over the years and it really is great bang for the buck. It's not a 5 star place so don't expect 5 star luxury, but it's always clean, always friendly and it has everything you need. It's central to Waikiki and only a block and a half from the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, friendliness, cleanliness, and price.
The weak points
Older building and decor. Our room was directly above the loading dock so it was a bit noisy there. Other rooms we've had we're quiet
Certified

As expected

, Campbell River, BC
2013-01-19
Central location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location kitchen
The weak points
no bathtub
Certified

Jim from Ontario

, Hamilton, ON
2012-12-09
This hotel gives you very good value for the price - free bus (the Pink-line), free Internet and even free phone calls to Canada and US (1st 15 minutes free PER call) that I never experienced before. The kitchenette is great for families. The location is right at the Food Pantry and International Market and just 2 blocks to the beach. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. It is not a luxury hotel, but it does give you everything for your basic needs when you are away from home. I strongly recommend this hotel to families and seniors. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very convenient location; first 15 minutes free for each phone call to Canada and US; free Internet in the room and wifi in the lobby; free pink-line bus; kitchenette rooms.
The weak points
You need to pay for using their computer to check-in flights; no air-conditioning in the lobby.
Certified

A good value for the price

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-09-12
Clean hotel, friendly staff. A very good location: is close to the beach and shopping. Free trolley ride (pink line), free long distance calls to Canada (the first 15 min), free beach towels, free wifi in the lobby and free cable internet in the room. It needs some renovation but the hotel is doing it. We had no any problem with the room/staff, and we were pleasantly surprised by how good it was for the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
central location
The weak points
outdated hotel
Certified

Happy to finally make it to Hawaii!

, Spruce Home, SK
2012-04-21
The hotel is old but everything worked. The elevator was painfully slow but our rooms were clean and the hotel is close to everything we wanted to do and see. We were able to do a lot of walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location for beach and shopping.
The weak points
Very commercialized. People wanting to sell timeshares.
Certified

Central location to all ammenites

, Burnaby, BC
2012-03-13
Had a great time at Ohana West. I would recommend it to our Canadian friends and abroad Asia. The staff are friendly and informative.Cant wait for our next visit next year if the price is reasonable. Also the house keeping was exceptional for our suite. THANK YOU [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean ,staff all friendly
The weak points
wi-fi in all the rooms
Certified

Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2011-06-01
Very friendly staff. Clean rooms though older and aged. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kitchnette nice to have. Staff very friendly, and act quickly to any requests. Nice to have internet free in room.
The weak points
Shower has very poor output pressure.
Certified

More than enough...

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-02-12
People always complain about the little things, but this hotel was very comfortable. Sure the elevator was a little annoying but come on, suck it up you are in Hawaii! We easily made our breakfasts and lunches with our kitchenette and overall found it a fine choice for the cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
airport shuttle,location,comfort,kitchenette,happy hours!
The weak points
elevator,country music bar below
Certified

LOCATION LOCATION & FRIENDLY STAFF

, Penticton , BC
2011-02-12
What a fantastic location in the Centre of Waikiki! Our accommodation needs were met with a kitchenette where we would have our breakfast, make our lunches & occassional cook on the stove top if we weren't out and about. The front desk staff were friendly and the housekeeping service people were accommodating, pleasant and eager to serve. We were on the 15th floor so we were not bother by outside noises in any way. We utilized the free Pink Trolley. Overall Very Good Value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - walking distance to everything
The weak points
Carpets old and elevator slow for the volume of traffic but we're on holidays.
Certified

Our trip

, Abbortsford, BC
2010-11-08
It was sufficient for us, met our needs well. Staff & tour info readily available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Tours; good guides, beaches unbelievable.
The weak points
Internet access - only in hotel lobby for our iPod. Sometimes the weather was disappointing with poor views.
Certified

Ohana Waikiki West

, Edmonton, AB
2010-10-27
Our first room was not very nice and we asked to be moved. The next room was better, but still wasn't the best. Overall not bad for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
Room was dated, peeling paint, poor cookware.
Certified

Cleanliness an issue

, Richmond, BC
2010-10-19
Hotel needs cleaning and renovation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Cleanliness an issue. Bathroom had mold - nothing a little bit of bleach wouldn't fix.
Certified

Easter Break

, Calgary, AB
2010-04-09
A nice hotel centrally located with easy access to the Marketplace, Food Pantry and and easy 2 blocks to the beaches (look for the alley that nobody uses). Adjoining rooms are nice for families and groups. Front desk staff are accomodating to requests. Best value for the price by far. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Access to Marketplace, Food Pantry, Trollies and beaches.
The weak points
The elevators require card access but don't always read the card. The hotel promotes Tommy Tours - avoid them.
Certified

Second time in Waikiki

, Vancouver, BC
2010-03-18
This was our second time at Ohana West. Even though it is loud (chose to have a nice view versus no view and a quiet room) we would love to go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
Slow elevators
Certified

First Time Trip To Hawaii

, Calgary, AB
2009-09-24
It was nice that we were upgraded to a kitchenette at no charge. We enjoyed the views from the top 17th floor from the spacious balcony. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reasonable price, walking distance of beach, grocery store nearby, helpful staff, nice pool and fitness centre.
The weak points
The room and bed were small but adequate
Certified

Nesho from Ottawa

, Ottawa, ON
2009-08-02
below expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location
The weak points
very small room with terrible view; worn out furnishing - needs renovation ASAP; very slow elevators
Certified

Ohana Waikiki West

, Surrey, BC
2009-06-10
Really good value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for the price
The weak points
Probably needs a reno as it is getting a bit dated
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Honolulu's best
Overall Impression Food & Restaurants Families Singles Seniors Quality vs Price Beaches Couples

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020