Bahia Principe Grand Tulum

4.124.124.124.124.12
Bahia Principe Grand Tulum
#20 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.12 based on 467 reviews
Traveller pictures (95)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Principe Tulum

, Maple Ridge, BC
2020-02-23
The hotel was comfortable. The shower had good water pressure, and the ac worked well. Sadly we had two twin beds put together side by side. As a couple we ended up sharing one twin bed for the week which was a bit cramped. I asked at the front desk if they would get us a room with one queen and was told no promises but to come back to the front desk at 13:00 to see if anyone had checked out. We didn't want to have to leave the beach at the other end of the resort to check this out so we left it. A better system for accommodating such requests would be beneficial. Staff should be able to assess who is checking out and accommodate requests accordingly I felt. We had a water leak over our toilet one afternoon but it was fixed quickly with no concerns. The food was great! 10/10 meal at the brazilian restaurant, 8/10 at the tepanyakki yakki (our grill room was stifling hot!) The italian restaurant tried hard but missed the mark and none of us enjoyed our meal.Hand sanitizers all over the resort and at the entry to the buffet was much appreciated! Shows were fun and we went to most. The beach was lovely. A bit rocky in spots. Lots of fish so bring your own snorkel if you have. We liked the resort and would recommend it to friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Cleanliness Kind staff
The weak points
Construction in the building beside ours Italian restaurant Twin bed for a couple to share
Certified

Perfect

, Waterloo, ON
2020-02-23
I don't know if my review will even be able to capture the amazing experience you will receive here.

The hotel grounds are massive. There was so much to explore that I'm sure I didn't see half of it. But it was absolutely stunning, beautiful view, steps from the beach. There was something for everyone there.

The staff where the hardest working people I have ever seen. They worked hard to make sure everything was perfect. They always greeted with a smile. The ground keepers worked hard to make sure there was nothing out of place and the hotel looked pristine everyday.

Will definitely be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff. Everyone would work hard to make sure you were satisfied, and they would do it with a smile.
The weak points
The internet is slow. So it was hard to post photos at the end of the day. However, I didn't come to use the internet and my friends and family would just have to wait to see the photos.
Certified

First time here.....overall it was okay

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-21
Housekeeping was awful even though I did tip every day. Food was okay. Al a cartes were disappointing. I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends or family members. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was always kept clean. Our server, Edwin at the buffet restaurant was AMAZING! Need more people like him at the resort. Staff weren't that pleasant. Other than saying Hola and a smile.
The weak points
Food was okay. Al a cartes were disappointing. Bed was uncomfortable. Housekeeping was AWFUL even though I did tip every day.
Certified

Nice resort

, Keswick, ON
2020-02-21
Our stay was very nice clean resort great beds
Good maid service
At buffet Food was average cooking meat needs improvement
We did not eat at the alacarte restaurants only Japanese mikado good but would have liked more veg but fun meal staff and show great
Nightly shows not bad
Beach great friendly service
Gym very nice but needs more treadmills
We have been to this resorts 4 times in the early 2000's
Seen a lot of improvement will probably go back again
The bus ride from airport is about 1 1/2. Hrs
Very quiet didn't here any noise around rooms
As you walk out of hotel you have to carry cases down 2 shot sets stairs no ramp from top which would have been easier
With cases being heavy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful Relaxing Spot

, Kelowna, BC
2020-02-02
This hotel is a beautiful spot in the Riviera Maya area of Mexico. The pool and beach area are great places to soak up the sun. The pool temperature is a bit cool for me but the ocean was a short walk away and a refreshing temperature. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff including the entertainment crew were awesome. They always made us feel welcome and catered to all our needs. The food at the buffet and restaurants did not disappoint. We recommend you make your restaurant reservations as soon as you arrive.
The weak points
Our room had a musty smell, possibly from the air conditioner. We couldn't leave our balcony door open to air it out as our neighbors were usually smoking on the balcony. Note the hotel is one and a half hours from the airport.
Certified

Wonderful!

, Vimy, AB
2020-01-17
The hotel was clean, spacious, active, and beautiful. The staff were friendly, kind, spoke and understood many different languages. Some of the guests had issues with reading signs about disposing toilet paper into the garbage and not the toilets. Inevitably the toilets would over flow. The staff were quick at cleaning up the issue. There is lots of space for everyone and not feel crowded. They have a bus system to get around from the adjoining resorts and within the resorts. It was easy. The food was plentiful and really good. The A la Carte restaurants booked up quickly, so we didn't get to experience anything other than the buffets. The beach was nice, a bit rocky, and lots of fish to see when snorkeling. Lots of shade everywhere. You could pick a new spot or activity every day and not get bored. Lots of small critters to watch on the grounds. Internet was limited in your room to 15 mins per day per email account. The distance from the airport was long but worth it. As a Travel Agent, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff, good food, choices of activities, choices of pools, good bus system, cleanliness of resort. Lots of shade everywhere. Large assortment of alcohol but not everything is available at each bar. Reserving chairs is not permitted.
The weak points
Guests who cannot put toilet paper into receptacles. Book reservations for restaurants upon arrival.
Certified

Lovely staff at a beautiful resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-10-14
We spent 7 nights at the GBP resort for our 20th anniversary. Lovely location in which they put a huge amount of energy keeping the grounds up. Room was immaculate and we felt very safe. We forgot to lock our safe one day and security locked up our room until our return so that no one would be able to enter. What really makes this place great are the warm friendly employees who work tirelessly trying to serve the guests. From the buffet servers, cooks and al a carte staff - we were treated like royalty. Buffet had a large selection with many options to suit any palate. Activities at the pool were great with an enthusiastic team that kept everyone laughing and having fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, grounds
The weak points
The privileges club will hound you to sign up, don't give them your info!
Certified

Tulum

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-01
Excellent. Beach was spotless, and service excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, activities, pools
The weak points
Al a carte restaurants were awful.
Certified

Tulum

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-01
We had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, pools, location and service.
The weak points
Al a carte restaurants
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

, Fort St John, BC
2019-08-31
First of all I have read a lot of reviews and there were negative ones. My wife and myself found out not to believe everything you read. our week at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum was a very positive experience. The rooms were clean the pools were beautiful the food awesome the staff were always friendly. There were raccoons,iguanas,and other critters to see. It was very relaxing to sit back at the pool or beach and relax.Or just go for a walk . We went on a few tours and there was lots to see. the ruins were fairly close to the resort. we are already making plans to go back to this resort because there is so much to see and do.This experience was a perfect getaway for me and my lovely wife. PS about the internet and wi-fi the way i look at it you have to go to the main lobby for free wi-fi you can pay extra to have it in your room. But Really your going on a holiday to get away from internet and phones. You don't need it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

4 day getaway

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-26
Very nice resort with all the amenities you need or could anticipate needing. Grounds are beautifully kept, the food is great ( just stick to local specialties to really get the full effect and quality) The beach is great and you can see tons of fish in the sea without needing a snorkling mask ( although many had) The pelicans diving for their food provides quite the show when at the beach. The animation team is always on and knows to engage those who are willing or to leave the ones needing some peace to themselves. All in all this was a lovely resort and we had a memorable and quality time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the grounds, the people, the beauty, the wildlife
The weak points
Rooms are dated, plumbing fixtures, bed, furniture etc
Certified

Winter getaway

, Brentwood Bay, BC
2019-03-13
Pretty good overall. Large resort but plentiful carts to zip around in. So much seaweed! Unexpected. And quite rocky beach at the end we were at. Great people for the most part. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
A la carte waiter and host took advantage of our lack of knowledge. Tricked us into selecting wine from a menu and then charged us. We had asked for house first. They claimed it was a communication barrier, I dont believe that at all
Certified

Nice resort

, Langley, BC
2019-03-06
The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. I felt very safe there and there are lots of restaurants between all the resorts if you can get into them. We had to eat at the buffet every night. We tried to book as soon as we arrived and they were all full. Lots of people in the same situation and the rumour is club members get first dibs on booking and as many alacarte as they like so there is no room for anyone. So if you like the buffet then this is your place. I was pretty disappointed because they say 3 alacarte S are included in the booking. Service is very slow. One bartender at the pool bars and Buffet. Most employees seemed grumpy. Took an hour to check in. The kids club is good and so was the entertainment. I wouldn't go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools were nice, lots to do if you choose
The weak points
We only could eat at the buffet night after night. Slow service because they are understaffed. Far from airport.
Certified

Loved Grand Bahia Principe Tulum!

, Surrey, BC
2019-02-23
Great hotel! Awesome staff, had an amazing time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points: staff, activities, pools, bars
The weak points
Weak points: none haha
Certified

Fun Family holiday - from start to finish

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-08
The hotel is a massive place and requires the use of their carts to truly experience everything it has to offer - especially travelling with little ones. The staff try their best to keep the hotel and beach area clean, which we appreciated very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

, East St Paul, MB
2019-01-03
Our family traveled to Grand Bahia Pincipe Tulum we where in 3 rooms on the resort in the same building. The 2 of the rooms had dirty sheets / pillows when we were allowed to go to the rooms. Our reservation for the new years eve dinner was for 8:30pm we did not get seated until 9:00pm. They tried to seat us at dirty table which we refused. After asking to speak to the manager they move us a clean table but we had no service for water or drinks. One member of the family had grapes from the new years eve buffet and they were full of mold. The 24 Hour snack bar was not open 24 Hours. Multiple days that I went for breakfast before my family was up I did not get served coffee. We got turned away from a restaurant because w after we arrived early and had to wait outside and caught in a rain storm. We had pick this resort because we went to the Jamaica Grand Bahia principe and had fun. We did not have a great experience at Tulum. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The New Years celebration at the square was fantastic. The staff keep cleaning the beach of the seaweed. Beach area was nice and so was the pool area
The weak points
Moldy food , Service was lacking/ nonexistence in restaurants, room sheets cleanliness , No 24 hour snack bar. We were denied entrance to a restaurant because we arrived early an as we waited outside it started to rain and we were wet

Family fun vacation

, Blackfalds, HA
2018-12-26
Our family vacation was wonderful at this resort!! So clean, inviting and family friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of activities, big and small pools, food is amazing, market, dolphin show, friendly staff, clean resort.
The weak points
Service to other resorts is confusing, beach is rocky is some areas, very few kayaks (2-3 hr wait right after opening), shuttle from airport was 2 hours as we had to stop at multiple resorts along the way.
Certified

Grand Bahai Principe Tulum

, Chilliwack, BC
2018-12-05
Our room was always clean. The staff were polite and answered all our questions promptly. The a la carte meals were phenomenal. We could always find a great lunch at the buffets. The grounds were well kept and loved they care about the animals and have signs posted not to feed them. The bathroom was poorly designed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and cleanest and the resort transportation was wonderful. The Eco nature walk was fabulous.
The weak points
The pools were not deep. The gym was small and lacked stretching equipment like yoga blocks and ropes. The theatre was not on every night and they use way to much smoke in the shows, bad for aller allergies. The wi fi did not work.
Certified

Fantastic Family Vacay

, Sylvan Lake, AB
2018-04-17
We had teen age children and had adjoining rooms. Rooms were ready on arrival, they were clean and functional and the housekeeping staff were great. The lobby was under construction and so a make shift reception was set up, found it very chaotic and the kids complained about WiFi connectivity lol. Would recommend this resort no problem but we finally understand why people go to adults only resorts...We are FED UP with parents who don't discipline their children, what a bloody shame...listen people! Not everyone thinks your undeciplined and unsupervised spawn are cute!!! Not the resorts fault, the resort was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Felt safe, housekeeping was great and place was very clean.
The weak points
Construction was dragging on and very slow. Reception was just too chaotic and the WiFi was too slow although advertised as fast and functional.

Great vacation at tge Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

, Kamloops, BC
2018-04-08
We enjoyed our time at our resort, the service was top notch, the entertainment was fabulous and the resort is beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, clean & beautiful resort, great entertainment!
The weak points
There are no weak points at this resort
Certified

Web app/dining options

, Mission, BC
2018-02-24
Nice hotel, well managed and clean. Food was good. The web app is useless to book a la carte dinners, we got there and it said that there was no available reservations for the week, the restaurants were never full so I went to the public relations and got reservations at normal times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well maintained, clean, good food, nice entertainment
The weak points
Bus ride too long to get there, beach is a bit rocky, ocean is very rough, so there is a breakwater but it doesn't go very deep.
Certified

Nice and relaxing

, Edmonton, AB
2018-02-15
Overall we had a great time as a couple. Beach and Pools were well maintained and there was a buffet or bar almost everywhere on the resort. The a la carte restaurants were great with the Mikado being our favorite. If the bed was on par I'd give it 5 out of 5 but we didn't have the best sleep as a result. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge resort with lots to do. Beach and pools were great as were the bars and restaurants.
The weak points
Bed was terribly uncomfortable and quite a few ants came out at night in our room.Free wifi in the lobby wasn't very good.
Certified

Excellent stay at Bahia Principe Tulum

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-02
We had a great experience there. Food was very good and service was top notch. The free safe from Air Canada vacations and the room service included was nice too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean, well organized and the food was good.
The weak points
There are no elevators in the hotel complexes so it was hard with a stroller and the grandparents.
Certified

Fantastic stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

, West Vancouver, AB
2018-01-04
Our extended family of 12 had a fabulous vacation over Christmas/New Years 2017 at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The large resort is beautifully maintained, from the walkways to the gardens, and the beach. The food was fantastic! We enjoyed 4 of the al a carte restaurants (Tequila - Mexican, La Gran Tortuga Rodizo - Brazilian, Mediterraneo - Mediterranean, and our absolute favourite, Mikado - Japanese Teppanyaki), and had 2 fantastic special holiday buffets at the Yucatan restaurant/dining hall. The special holiday buffets had beautiful decorations, and a huge variety of delicious food to satisfy many different diets and tastes. The staff were polite, attentive, friendly, and helpful. We had a fantastic time at the New Year's Eve Party, which included non-stop entertainment from 8pm onwards, on 2 separate stages, champagne, party favours, dancing and fireworks. I would highly recommend this resort, and had one of my best vacations ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the property, the food, the staff - all were fantastic!
The weak points
The free wi-fi only works in the lobby, otherwise you have to pay $80 USD for 7 days for premium wi-fi (which has excellent connectivity). The rooms are comfortable (we had a Junior Suite Superior Room), but fairly basic.
Certified

For the price it was worth it

, Powell River, BC
2017-12-05
definitely a nice eight day get away from the cold weather in Canada the hotel was OK nothing spectacular but we got a good deal on it and would go back again on a sale [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly staff always trying to help nice swimming areas for kids
The weak points
Hotel is getting old definitely need some upgrading we had to change rooms as our bathroom sink was leaking on the floor and several other little things . Lack of waiter waitress service on the beach , the food Was Bland
Certified

Horrible Resort

, Leduc, AB
2017-11-18
This was the worst resort I have ever stayed in. Infested with animals and lizards, staff were rude, not to mention under staffed, you would literally wait for such a long time for a drink, there should not be 500 people and 1 bar tender! that is not fair to the staff or the people!!!! hotel would lose power, ac would break, bathtub would leak, doors were broken. We had a wedding on the beach and we would turn around and lizards would be in the food! Had food poisoning (The food was terrible there) and ended up really sick! I am not impressed with this resort! I will never ever go back there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was pretty good, and we were with such great friends so we did what we could to have fun, fun memories were made,
The weak points
Everything that was stated!

Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

, Edmonton, AB
2017-07-29
We had a great time at this resort. For the first couple of days we had issues with towels not being replaced in the bathroom, but they got that sorted out for us. After that, everything was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome beach and great service
The weak points
lobby bar didn't open until 3pm and closed at 11pm.
Certified

Not worth the money

, Mayerthorpe, AB
2017-04-30
Our transport was in an accident on our way to the hotel from the airport, no one checked to make sure we were okay. Was disappointed in that, especially since we were travelling with a toddler. There was a fire at the resort, we were evacuated from our room from approx 9PM to 10AM and no one checked on us or took our names - nothing. Good thing we were travelling with other people and were able to stay in their room over night because the staff was accomodating. Very poor emergency response planning. At check out, nothing was mentioned either. Nothing about compensation or an apology. Also, daughter and myself got Hand, Foot, & Mouth Disease while we were there. The main buffet restaurant had better quality food than than the Tequila a la cart restaurant. The seafood a la cart had great food, but limited menu. Tequila also had a limited menu. Were told the beach was great; it was very rocky. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Main buffet was fabulous. Rooms were always very clean. Grounds were beautiful.
The weak points
Hotel staff was not accommodating during a fire, the beach was subpar, the a la carts were limited and not as good as the buffet for food quality.
Certified

Mexico Vacation

, West Kelowna, BC
2017-03-07
Our overall experience at this resort was fantastic. I would definitely recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our Stay

, Ottawa, ON
2017-02-17
We love the wilderness of this resort :)There's lots of natural forest,plants, animals,and lizards to see, while you wander this huge resort.Miles of beaches to walk,and paths to explore.The constant trams running every where you want to go is very welcome to. Thank you Bahia [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is beautiful.The food is very good, with so many choices you can eat even half on it.
The weak points
None :)
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?