Iberostar Tucan

4.294.294.294.294.29
Iberostar Tucan
#9 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.29 based on 319 reviews
Traveller pictures (103)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Wonderful vacation

, Fort Frances, ON
2020-02-05
Iberostar tucan was a wonderful resort! Very clean. Didnt need to being shampoo/ conditioner or shower gel. All was provided by resort. Super nice one less thing to pack. Very clean, delicious food, bonsai restaurant was our favorite! Poolside very clean and nice. Pool very nice. All staff very kind and helpful. They all work hard. We did lose 2 books and our daughters barbie on the pool chairs as we put them out too early to reserve chairs and they went missing. Lesson learned but disappointed we didnt come across them in the lost and found. Beach very nice. Animals were great to see. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animals were fun to watch. Resort very clean and people very friendly. Will definately go back.
Certified

It was good

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-04
I really enjoyed the feeling of walking through a jungle to get to the pool and beach. The wildlife was fun to watch.

The food was very good but often the buffet was not totally ready when it would open. Go to fill my plate and the pasta station was still cooking so not ready. Have to go eat my yogurt and then go back and hope the fried egg station would be ready.

Went to the Mediterranean ala carte one night. Reservation was for seven, at 7:50 we left and went next door to the buffet because we still had t received our meal. The Italian restaurant was. Dry good.

Housekeeping was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Housekeeping and service were great. The pools and being by the beach excellent.
The weak points
Buffet wasn't always ready when it would open.
Certified

Relaxing and Quiet

, New Glasgow, NS
2019-04-22
The Iberostar Tucan is a beautiful resort . It is very well maintained, clean and had a friendly staff . The food was very good . Beds are a little firm but still had a good sleep . It is a very quiet resort with not much night life . There were quite a few families with lots of small children . I enjoyed my stay but probably would not go back as it was too many kids and too quiet for my liking . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach , food was very good (steak house ) , hotel staff were friendly ( Jorge at guests services was the best ) .
The weak points
Too many kids and too quiet .
Certified

Piece of paradise

, Olds, AB
2019-03-09
Hotels are never perfect but I found it very hard to find fault with this hotel.

The hotel is clean, spacious, good food, great entertainment and wonderful staff. The only suggestion I would have is for them to find a way to keep the water with the fish cleaner as it is full of algae and pretty dirty.

It was so nice seeing all the animals roaming around free.

I will definitely be going back with my family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff
The weak points
Dirty fish water
Certified

Good resort with limited food and loud music

, Coquitlam, BC
2018-12-19
The resort is good but food is very limited, the same food selection very day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mexican restaurant is awful do not even reserve it. Loud music until midnight so you can not sleep at all since rooms have poor window insulation. You will hear loud music in any building since resort is so small. Otherwise it has good and friendly staff and nice beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach.
The weak points
Poor selection of food and loud music till midnight.
Certified

Single male Canadian traveler

, Edmonton, AB
2018-09-03
Good Hotel, I enjoyed the wildlife abundant on-site. The pool is huge and deep which I found as a pleasant surprise. The reason I booked this hotel however was the Adult pool where I spent the majority of my time. In the afternoons the howler monkeys often are in the trees right above it. I only ate at the buffets and they're ok, nothing special. The chairs on the patios/balconies are inadequate. I am not a small person and while relaxing on the patio ended up on the ground as the chair shattered. Needless to say I did not venture out on the patio again, as well as very embarrassing. The gym is only open from 7 - 7 which is really too short. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The wildlife around the property was fantastic. The adult pool is why I booked this property over others.
The weak points
The chair on the patio was so flimsy that it shattered when I sat on it.
Certified

Family oriented hotel

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-23
My hotel stay was great. The staff is extremely nice, friendly, and are very attentive. The hotel grounds are well maintained and very clean. The beach is beautiful and the resort is right on the beach which is great. The only thing i didn't enjoy was the food. The food was repetitive; the same food was offered every single day with little to no changes. There was no tacos other than at a mexican a la carte restaurant which required reservation.
- on another note, i would not recommend this resort for people who are looking for a party resort, this resort doesn't have a night club and the music is very limited and repetitive. Overall i was impressed with the resort and services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- entertainment -beach - hotel grounds - cleanliness -great hospitality
The weak points
- confusion on locations of airline information books -no tacos only in la hacienda - same food all week - no night club
Certified

Iberostar Tucan - do not miss out! Wow!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-08
This hotel is absolutely fantastic! The grounds are immaculate, lush and full of quiet corners, paths and stunning animals. The pool and beach are pristine.The shows were first class. The food/selection was amazing too. We had a serious issue with our tour operator. The hotel assistant manager did her very best to help us resolve it. We would return tomorrow if we could! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, grounds, animals, massage on beach/in jungle, food selection, Japanese restaurant, décor, nightly shows (especially Cirque).
The weak points
Fruit drinks (syrup, not fresh)
Certified

Awesome resort

, Ottawa, ON
2016-02-17
From start to finish it was awesome, such a variety of wildlife. Beach was the best, pool was large enough to find quiet spots, The entertainment team was outstanding. Days and evenings, rooms are what you would expect. Very clean. I would definitly recommend this hotel, it was one of the best I have been to. food was a variety, you will not go hungry. Book ala cartes as soon as you arrive. Steak & Japanesse were very good. Beautiful grounds, not too large. Loved my stay here and I would go back. No bathtubs, just showers which was ok. Cannot say enough good things. Close to shopping and very safe area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Almost everything, great staff, food & drinks, grounds were awesome.
The weak points
No tubs, some rooms should have one.
Certified

Great hotel, will definetly go back.

, Boucherville, QC
2015-01-19
It was our first time in a Iberostar. We traveled with a 2 and half year old and a 11 months old baby. We got a free upgrade to the rooms closer to the beach and the pool which was very convenient. The site is not too big; perfect when you have young kids. Rooms and site are very clean, quick service. The food was very good, we dined mostly at the buffet. Variety was good and fresh. The buffet was VERY clean. Great size pool. Great entertainment during the day and at night. Lots of animals, peacocks, monkeys and other;great entertainment for the kids. Some negative points; the algae on the beach. I think the hotel should have cleaned it. Not much storage in the room, needs more shelves especially when the room hosts 2 adults and 2 kids. Playground for kids, missing a swing and the slide doesn't slide. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Cleanliness Service Pool Entertainment
The weak points
Beach Playground Storage in the room
Certified

Iberostar Quetzal Review

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-01-19
We stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal. This is our second time there. The staff is wonderful. Everyone is friendly, and the rooms are clean. The sand is clean and stays cool on your feet. The pool bar is adults only, and is located just off the main pool so it is good for adults who don't want kids around. The a la carte restaurants have very good food, and the portions are always large. The people who book the excursions are located right in the lobby and will do whatever they can to make you happy. We were happy to return and would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. WIFI is available in the rooms for about $40USD a week, or you can walk 5 minutes to the Starbucks and get it for free. The night time entertainment was also very good. The disco can be fun, but is never busy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the pool bar, the beach, the a la carte restaurants
The weak points
Same food every day in the buffet.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Lachine, QC
2014-12-01
We stayed at this hotel last year and returned back for two weeks this time. We love the combination of nature with proximity to 5th avenue. The staff are wonderful and do their best to make the vacation experience enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You can get a bit of everything - nature, entertainment, shopping, etc. Perfect location on beach.
The weak points
Internet is costly; seaweed a bit much - but this latter point is weather specific.
Certified

Iberostar Tucan Quetzal

, Oakville,, ON
2014-05-28
We had a great time at the Iberostar tucan. Beach is Fantastic!! Best I've been to from Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico! Grounds are lush and tropical,including monkeys, for overall authentic tropical experience. Staff was excellent - service and hospitality. Restraunts food were also surprisingly good! Lots to choice in restraunts and buffets, even to burgers on the beach. Would definately recommend and can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was fantastic - when you are getting away from the cold and snow/rain, that is what it is all about! Blue Sky,white beaches,clear water! Rooms were clean, without that musty smell that you can get by the ocean. Service& food was great!
The weak points
minor point, On check-in, not having rooms avilable (there are change rooms), and waiting for "double" room which was requested at booking. View looked onto back of neighbouring hotel.
Certified

Not recommended

, Vancouver, BC
2014-03-18
The food was the worst food we have ever had at an all inclusive. It was mostly the same items at the buffet everyday. Most of the time the food was luke warm and most of the meat dishes were cooked the same way. Fried and with no seasoning added. The two restaurants that we tried were a little better than the buffet. The entertainment at this hotel sucked. The only good thing about this hotel were the staff. They all provided excellent service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at this hotel was excellent.
The weak points
The food was the worst, same food everyday, dishes were mostly blah tasting, mostly luke warm.
Certified

Great Resort

, Clandeboye, MB
2014-03-13
This is by far the best and most scenic resort we have ever been to, the animals in the jungle were amazing, they take very good care of the resort. They work very hard to make you happy. There is not one thing to complain about although we were really hoping that there was bogie boards to use. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Almost everything was perfect
The weak points
Pools open later , beach bar open later, bogie board not available , more verity of food, pool entertainment.
Certified

Iberostar Tucan

, Orleans, ON
2014-03-12
Very pleasant vacation. Would definitely return and bring our teenagers and older parents. Loved the beach, staff, service, layout of the resort, no line ups even though the resort was full. Restaurants were very good. Buffets were good. Having stayed in luxury resorts, a little more flare and imagination from the chefs would go a long way to improve the food quality at the buffets. All in all we had a lovely vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Walking distances manageable within resort; animals/ birds; housekeeping; beach / pool servers; restaurant booking process; family friendly activities; beach; safety; ice cream vendor on beach; convenient layout of resort; star friends!
The weak points
Food was only average; only 2 English tv Chanels; cleanliness of pool bathrooms.
Certified

Great Vacay!

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-11
Really enjoyed our week at the Iberostar Quetzal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity of rooms to the pools and beaches.
The weak points
only one swim up bar
Certified

Awesome Vacation Stay

, Riverview, NB
2014-03-10
Family of four stay was perfect at this resort! Everything yuo need to have a fun and relaxing vacation in one spot. Highly recomend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and jungle area with animals
The weak points
Minibar service was medicore
Certified

Iberostar Quetzal

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-03-07
The hotel, its services and grounds, as well as the quality/price are very good. The location is excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is one of the best I ever seen so far. The little jungle and its animals.
The weak points
The internet. They charge you double: $4 for an hour that actually lasts around 30 min. As well, the connection is very weak.
Certified

Iberostar Tucan Quetzal

, Newmarket, ON
2014-02-15
The overall experience was excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good and rooms were clean and staff friendly
The weak points
The room booked for 3 people did not provide 2 double beds as requested just a king size bed and small mattress not suitable for an adult to sleep on
Certified

Old but Still Nice

, Napean, ON
2014-02-10
We spent 2 weeks at the Quetzal, an older Iberostar hotel. We very much enjoyed the beach, the well landscaped natural setting and the staff. We didn't enjoy the long walks to the beach or the somewhat uneven flagstone walkways. The food was very good, the buffets and the specialty restaurants were good and never crowded. Some aspects, bathrooms and other amenities were beyond their prime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, staff attentiveness
The weak points
Dated amenities, distance to beach from lobby, entertainment
Certified

Iberostar Quetzal

, Blind River, ON
2014-01-31
This was our second visit here and we enjoyed the hotel, beach and area very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the jungle, proximity to town, the staff.
The weak points
Wi-fi could be free.
Certified

Needs better Entertainment & Drinks

, Oakbank, MB
2014-01-24
In an 11 day period, only 1 night had professional entertainers, the other nights were very poor(handing out certificates for the top bingo player, etc., like who cares??. the tropical drinks were "ice Slushes" worst Pina Colada I ever tasted. The other Iberostars were too far away to check out the entertainment.These two areas need major improvements. We will stick to the Riu's in Playacar, as you can walk to 2 others to enjoy their entertainment which is always top notch. In the evenings, there has to be good food and entertainment, as that is all there is to do, unless you sit in the bar and drink too much, which we do not, most over 50 years are not big drinkers, so the entertainment is important. The hotel is beautiful, food is good, beach perfect, very clean rooms and grounds, but the entertainment and poor drinks are awful. Not worth the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, great beach, very clean, lovely grounds with lots of jungle creatures--interesting. Polite service people
The weak points
Entertainment very poor except for 1 evening when professionals were actually hired. Watery drinks poorly mixed slushy no where near what the Riu's have.
Certified

Trip

, Ottawa, ON
2013-11-30
not bad
relaxing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
surroundings (nature)
The weak points
entertainment
Certified

...

, Montreal, QC
2013-11-26
Enjoyed our stay. Good location. Beautiful beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- a little park integrated with hotel where a few animal species live: monkeys, peacock, iguana, turtle.
The weak points
- for 7 days we had just 3 reservations in advance per couple for restaurants. Another 4 days you can reserve it only the same day (for which you usually get time at 9pm).
Certified

Great Place for R&R

, Lachine, QC
2013-11-26
We were looking for a week of quiet, rest and relaxation and found it here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is clean and waves allow for swimming and/or sunbathing. Staff wonderful, accommodating and friendly. Safe environment. Animals on site very zen-like experience. Reminds me of my trip to Costa Rica - small scale of course.
The weak points
Mosquitos will find you if you normally attract them. Lounge chairs on beach in sand difficult to get as most guests leave their towel as early as 6 a.m. to secure spot.
Certified

Good vacation.

, Toronto, ON
2013-11-04
Last minute vaca. Great resort. Friendly staff. Good food. Weather was expected to rain most days but was great. And hot :). I would suggest if you want to take any tours buy them off the resort, you can get considerable savings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was mostly always fresh. Beautiful grounds. Friendly staff.
The weak points
The Mexican and tropical a la carte restaurants were not that great. Disappointed
Certified

Iberostar Tucan

, Guelp, ON
2013-11-04
30th Wedding Anniversary with 4 other couples celebrating same, Enjoyed our time there, and would visit again. We enjoyed the wildlife area, the beach and all of the activities. Really appreciated the hard work of the entertainment staff, and how efficiently they got the audience involved, Good blend of cultural and fun shows, Food variety was great, Staff all over were friendly and helpful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Really enjoyed the conservation area and the wildlife, esp with restuarants nearby. Entertainment staff worked hard and offered a range of activities to suit all- Eduardo, Arie, Lara etc.Staff at restaurants were great, esp Vicente and Andy
The weak points
Rain for 3 days - but what can you do about that?
Certified

Was good

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-01
Was good trip, no complaints, hit or miss weather but no fault of the resorts. staff very friendly, wide variety of guests, good food, Japanese restaurant was awesome. really nice beach.there is lots of animals at this resort, so if your scared of birds dont go! dollar for value was good. I went on my trip solo and it was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, people, food
The weak points
none
Certified

Great destination!

, Garson, ON
2013-10-21
The resort is very clean. The a la carte restaurant were great, especially the Japanese restaurant. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach and the water colour were spectacular. We were very pleasantly surprise to find a man made reef just 5 minute walk down the beach. We spent the week snorkelling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort itself, the beach, the food, the staff, the location
The weak points
The nightly entertainment was not the best.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?