Iberostar Paraiso Beach

4.204.204.204.204.20
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#16 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.20 based on 518 reviews
Traveller pictures (190)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Iberostar Paraiso Beach

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-23
Overall, very good trip. Property is beautifully maintained, staff were very attentive and provided excellent service, food was good - lots of variety, beach was well maintained - I've heard seaweed can be a problem in this area but that was not the case while we were there. (beach would not be the #1 reason to travel to this area - beaches are nicer in Cuba for example) Property is spread out but golf carts available to move people around. This hotel is one of 5 in an Iberostar complex and they all share a shopping complex area with casino, disco, shopping (of course) and all food & beverage offered here were included (excellent creperie/ice cream shop and taco/burrito/quesadilla shop). Although we didn't have kids with us, it has a new kids building with lots of things inside and out for the kids to take part in. Exchange priviledges with Paraiso del Mar and Lindo properties located on either side of the Paraiso Beach property. The pool is a huge "lazy river" style pool with plenty of seating around it - the pool is one of the highlights of this property. I very much enjoyed it and was especially impressed by the service and friendliness of the staff. We stayed in a standard room on 1st floor - well appointed, no problem with bugs, lots of hot water, beautiful view of gardens in building 33 which was a short walk to both pool and beach. I would return to this property and as an agent, I will sell with confidence. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff - excellent customer service Pool - gorgeous large pool
The weak points
No weak points - good value for the money
Certified

Excellent resort

, London, ON
2019-06-23
Fantastic resort, great service, we enjoyed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Beach

, Stittsville, ON
2019-04-25
We just recently from our vacation to this resort. The following staff were awesome. Lesly at the PR desk; Ernesto and Carlos at the concierge desk, and Esteban in the main lobby bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lush and green, many birds and wildlife, not too far from the airport, staff are courtesy (mostly). The food at the specialty restaurants were good, however, only allowed to book 3 meals during our stay.
The weak points
Buffet food was just ok. Beach was ok as well. Rooms are a little dingy - must very well maintained by cleaning staff.
Certified

One REALLY enjoyable stay

, Ottawa, ON
2019-04-15
Whole resort: restaurants,buffets, complete service, stuff (all the personnel), rooms... all get my highest marks! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
There are a lot of algae, lots of waves- water is not calm at all. Not accessible for children
Certified

Beautiful Grounds/Pools- but food could be better.

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2019-04-09
Resort grounds were beautiful, well kept & clean. Pools were very large and very nice. I really wish they would stop the chair saving like they did at the Iberostar Punta Mita. No saving till after 9am unless you are in your chair. They spent time putting signs up on the palapas while we were there but did not enforce it. We saw chairs saved all day and no one ever showed up. One couple saved all day and came out from 3:30 til 4:30. Many save chairs both at beach and pool and go back and forth. Variety of Food was good but it was prepared the same everyday.They did not change things up hardly at all. Lots of fruit and salad options. Waiters in a la carts were not very friendly and food was not good. Japanese was ok. All the restaurants seemed short staffed including the buffets. Restaurants by the pools often ran out of food . Room air condition would not shut off. Call twice did not have it fixed. Better to have it than not.
Rock star café was very good but only opened one day while we were there. (11 days) Closed one day for private party and closed the rest of the time.
Beach crowded and cramped but lots of beach area and availability at the Grand/ Maya and Lindo and the preferred area.
They really tried to keep on top of the seaweed but it was a never ending battle and it seems to be everywhere in the areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds/Pools/comfortable rooms/Shopping Mall/ Rock star café. Entertainment crew & staff were very friendly. (with the exception of the al a carts and bartenders in the lobby). Rocio in the lobby beach was great! Very clean resort. Loved the Peacocks.
The weak points
Food prepared the same daily. Drinks were hit and miss-no spiced rum. Chair saving. Rock star café always closed. Beach crowded and cramped but lots of room and availability at the Grand/ Maya and Lindo. Seaweed was bad but it is everywhere.
Certified

Merveilleux!

, Saint-Hyacinthe, QC
2018-12-13
Superbe hotel, animaux sur le site. Personnel acceuillant et souriant.
Les chambres etaient confortables, propres et tres insonorisees. La nourriture etait excellente. Nous y retournerons tres bientot! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lucas de l animation etait super! Service A1 et tres amical
The weak points
Aucun

Iberostar beach

, Sooke, BC
2018-11-24
First time here. Stayed for 10 days. We felt very safe our whole stay.
Staff is outstanding!
Always there for you with smiles conversation and a laugh.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Pools are clear and easy to access from all points. The beach is beautiful with amazing colours. Food at the “a la cartes” and restaurant buffets tasty and enjoyable. Never had a bad meal once. The entertainment is fun energetic and always great to watch. We have had the most relaxing enjoyable no stress no issues time while visiting at the Iberostar Beach
Our personal biggest thank you to ...
Wendy..lobby concierge
Carlos.. lobby bartender
Jonathan..room service
Arthur..Iberostar excursion
Gaby..entertainment
Aida..off site spa
These are just a few of the amazing and wonderful people who made our stay that much more memorable and enjoyable.
We will be “repeaters”
The staff are phenomenal from all departments. Customer Service at its best.
Thanks to everyone we met and laughed with.
Salut
Cheers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and entertainment was outstanding. People and staff are amazing. Lots to do and things to see. Food was outstanding and the À la carte meals were phenomenal not one bad meal. Nightly entertainment was above and beyond.
The weak points
During winter months the beach has a larger than normal amount of surf but still great as a Canadian lol.

Iberostar parasol beach

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-17
Our experience was wonderful everyone was friendly and always smiling. The rooms were great and the resort was tidy. Enjoyed the pool and beach. The staff at the buffet and restaurant were great. Never felt we needed to flag anyone down [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The intertainment team was great. The pool was one of the nicest I have seen.
The weak points
The food was tasty but always the same. Would have loved different themes for lunch especially.
Certified

Aesome resort

, Tyndall, MB
2018-03-17
The hotel grounds are unbelievable, the pools go on forever and there was always a seat to be found.The beach is nice again with lots of loungers. The entertainmen team goes over and above to make your stay at iberostar paraiso beach a vacation to remember. Would return to this resort every year if we could. The only draw back was we found there wasn't enough options for food, only one buffet for dinner so unless you had reservations at one of the a la carte resturants it got very repetitive at the buffet. Rock Cafe was very good if you felt like burgers and fries. All in all love this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic

, Victoria, BC
2018-01-22
Very friendly,helpful staff . Food was great , we loved the variety. Room was nice , comfortable and clean . Beautiful pool . Lots of wildlife on the grounds which was nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff , cleanliness , pool , food
The weak points
No clock radio in the room
Certified

Family Pre-Christmas Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-25
Great place for keeping all ages busy. High value family vacation. Food and fun. Better than average buffets. Beautifully decorated for Christmas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and helpful staff, starting with check in, dining rooms, social activities, bars, tram drivers and room attendants.Very good food at all dining rooms
The weak points
A/C needed repair twice. Low pressure shower in our room. Responsive maintenance
Certified

Iberostar beach

, Abbotsford, BC
2017-12-07
We had never been to this hotel before. We were both pleased. Great customer service, food and ammenities are fabulous. Gighly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Beach

, Orleans, ON
2017-03-22
Iberostar Paraiso Beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The staff were not friendly, the beach is filled with rocks, that are as big as large watermelons. The internet was unreliable and would not stay connected, the food in the buffet was mass produced and didn't appear to be staggered, won't be back.
Certified

Ok but not great

, Edmonton, AB
2017-02-21
Hotel was nice, the junior suite was adequate, service excellent,WIFI was very nice to have, beach amazing, pool gorgeous, Italian restaurant excellent, convenience and location was perfect. Drinks were horrible, buffet average or below, beds were the worst we have ever slept on and pillows even worse than that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing stay!!

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2017-02-03
Well where to start, with every resort obviously comes with the negatives as well but first let's start with the positives!
1. Staff is amazing and so friendly
2. The food is good- especially the Japanese restruaunt!!!!
3. The pool is huge and so fun!!!!!! They have activities planned daily and games !!!! The music could have been better but we brought our own speaker!
4. The beach was awesome and super busy- get there early.
5. The rooms were very clean!
The negative:
1. The air conditioner I guess the paraiso beach part has no official air conditioner which means there is but you can't adjust the setting 22 degrees is what you get ( which is to hot) and a huge fan!!!!! Sometimes it was very muggy
2. The power turned off when you weren't in the room or sleeping which means electronics aren't being charged!!!!
3. It's a huge place so make sure you have your walking shoes

Other then that I would come here again
Loved my vacation!!!! Great for kids !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool
The weak points
Air confronted
Certified

Not as great as I've expected

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-10
I've been yo many resorts over the years and only came here because it was the one the 16 of us travelling agreed on. The best part of the resort is the scenery. The place is beautiful and there are animals roaming the resort which is nice to see.

I'm not a picky person at all, but when you spend thousands of dollars we all should expect a certain quality.

To me the food wasn't great at all. The ones who've enjoyed the food here either lucked out, or haven't had the pleasure of eating at a better resort. You only get 3 á la carte restaurants in a 7 day stay. Go to a place where you eat anywhere you want the whole time.

The drinks weren't the greatest either. Low-quality watered down spirits and only two brands of beer. Sometimes the bars only had 1 bartender working and the worked HARD. But with the demand to make so many drinks in a timely manner they rush and as a result are inconsistent.

Entertainment was great and so were the activities like water volleyball etc.

If you hate smoke like I do, it's a roll of the dice coming here. Smokers all over the place with no common sense. One night we saw two ladies smoking in one of the buffet restaurants, with staff around, and no exaggeration it took 8 emails with the resort for them to finally say that it shouldn't have been allowed.

If I knew someone that went here and told me not to waste my money, and I trusted there opinion, I would not have come here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds and the activities/entertainment
The weak points
Food, drinks, and the fact that smokers can smoke anywhere
Certified

This is a great resort!

, Drumbo, ON
2016-04-13
This was our 4th trip in 4 years to the Mayan and this was the best resort for us so far. We were very happy with everything and will recommend this resort to others. It is a large property so you have to like walking - but we do and actually enjoyed the nice walkways. The beach and pools were great. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was a large selection of well prepared food. No complaints at all. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for our money.
The weak points
Nothing. Everything was great.
Certified

Great hotel

2016-02-08
Very clean hotel. Food is better than average. Golf is very expensive when you convert to CND dollars. Beach is great. Staff is friendly. Second time at this hotel. Approx. 20 min drive to Playa del Carmen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and nice pool area
Certified

Great Holiday!

, Waterloo, ON
2016-01-06
Hotel rooms were clean and spacious. Lobby and restaurants were beautifully decorated with white sparkly lights. Lovely. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was great and prepared with great care. Although the property is large, we had no problem catching a ride from one of the many golf carts or we would walk without complaints. The peacocks were fun to watch. We took one excursion to the ruins and we always felt safe and well taken care of. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools were fantastic. Staff was amazing. Beach was fun. Excellent location.
The weak points
The Brazillian restaurant was our least favourite as we had to wait a long time for our food. Although it tasted really good, they seemed short staffed the night we went.
Certified

Ordinaire

, Montreal, QC
2015-10-01
- Check in, check out- rapide
- Service aux chambres excellent
- Room service- rapide
- Site très beau et bien entretenu
- N'acceptez pas le bloc 37: Il est situé derrière la salle de spectacle du Lindo. Avec des enfants tu ne peux pas dormir avant 23:00.
- Plage déplorable- beaucoup d'algues
- Bouffe- On mange très bien au buffet
- Resto a la carte: Japonais: bon pour le spectacle; Italien: à éviter; je ne suis pas allé au 3-ieme
- Piscine coté Lindo/Maya plus spacieuse et non achalander et surtout très propre.
- Gymnase très bien équipé avec des cours (spinning, taebo, …) a chaque heure
- les 4 dernières journées de notre séjour, l'hôtel était ENVAHI de locaux!!
- Je retournerais, pas nécessairement demain mais coté Lindo ou Maya pour la bonne bouffe, mais pour la plage : Cuba est loin meilleur. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Site très beau et bien entretenu
The weak points
Plage déplorable- beaucoup d'algues

Iberostar paraiso beach

, Toronto, ON
2015-07-15
It was our second time to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach. This year, hotel policy changed and guests at paraiso beach can not go to other Iberostar hotel pools anymore, which was disappointing.
Food at Buffett was not so good compared with previous visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean. Not so crowded except bar in pool.
The weak points
Food at restaurant wasn't so good compared with last year.
Certified

Mars 2015

, Gatineau, QC
2015-03-15
Excellent resort! Très grand complexe, il faut donc s'attendre à marcher de bonnes distances (environ 5-7min de marche du complexe central jusqu'au bout où il y a la plage).

Très propre, belle ambiance, personnel accueillant et très serviable et excellente équipe d'animation.

Belle plage mais beaucoup d'algues (problème commun pour les plages au Mexique cette année). Des travailleurs les ramassent cependant chaque matin.

Nourriture excellente et variée dans les buffets.

Environ à 25min de l'aéroport de Cancun, et 20min de Playa del Carmen. Navettes disponibles de l'hotel.

Recommende à 100%. J'y retournerais sans hésiter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté, Personnel, Nourriture, Activités
The weak points
Algues à la plage

Family Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-02-04
WE would absolutely go back to this resort.The staff were great, the rooms were very clean, pillows a little hard for my liking and although they re-filled the beers cold drinks, coffee tea ect daily they never gave you any stir-sticks, we had to ask for them?? The food was very good we preferred the buffet over the food served at the ala-cart restaurants but again that is just a personal preference.
the one bad spot in our stay was agreeing to go on the tour. unless you are planning to buy in-to their "club" i STRONGLY suggest you avoid the tour at all cost. I was up-front about not wanting to buy in told them we could not afford it, and we ended up spending 2 hours with "Patrick" one of the "Club" managers getting very angry with us because we would not buy into the "Club" it almost ruined the whole day. otherwise the pool was fantastic the Sea was amazing and we really enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, generally through resort very clean, good food, excellent beach and pool
The weak points
unless you went befor 8 am and put a towl on a chair you would not get one at the beach or the pool, extremely pushy sales people at "The Club"
Certified

Wonderful experience!

2015-01-27
Beautiful resort- friendly and helpful staff, food was good- I highly recommend going to the Japanese restaurant at the resort- the cooks were amazing.
Overall a very good experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, lots of pool area, friendly helpful staff
The weak points
The resort should enforce the "no reserving seats rule" people would put their towels/personal belongings at the "prime seats" by the pool the night before or first thing in the morning then not show up till the afternoon. Frustrating!
Certified

Great vacation

, Winkler, MB
2015-01-15
Excellent beach, lovely room and grounds, great activities throughout the day, friendly staff, huge pool! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beach, loved the restaurant on the beach, star friends staff did an excellent job with the activities!
The weak points
A la carte restaurants were not the greatest,
Certified

Nice Resort

2014-12-21
Unbelievable gorgeous resort...bit of walking involved but sure did not hurt us...never had a problem getting a lounger whether in the shade or sun at both beach and by the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Upgraded to ocean front was well worth it
The weak points
Could not make a decent drink no matter what bar you went to
Certified

Relaxing at a great price

, Kanata, ON
2014-11-06
First time at Iberostar and we are already planning our return with our kids. Large complex with very friendly staff, great beach, reasonable food, and lots of activities. Golf course at $49/rnd is out of this world . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
golf course, activities
The weak points
food was Ok.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Kitchener, ON
2014-10-14
2nd time at this resort - both visits were great! Went for 10 days, would do 14 next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff without being pushy. Very clean resort, good food, close to airport and other sites.
The weak points
Nightly entertainment area was close to the main buffet - made for noisy dinners at times.
Certified

Very good holiday

, Regina, SK
2014-10-04
Everything was perfect,very friendly and funny staff, nice pools and rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean rooms, and excellent food
The weak points
You have to pay for the WI-FI
Certified

Beyond expectations

, Mississauga, ON
2014-09-10
beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality vs Price
The weak points
beaches
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?