Jewel Runaway Bay Beach Resort And Waterpark

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach Resort And Waterpark
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 113 reviews
#4 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Runaway Bay
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (39)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Jewel Runaway Bay Jamaica

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-03
I enjoyed my stay at your facility. The beach was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly. On a future trip, I may upgrade my room for a better view. However, I enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the watersliders one afternoon and appreciated they were only open during the day. Great place for kids with, a beach, pools, and water park. Buffet on the lawn was a hit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food. Restaurants all very good, including the buffet and beach grills. Comfortable lobby to be able to sit and people watch. The grounds were kept neat and were great for walking after a meal at night.
The weak points
There were no actual chairs in the beach only lounges. I think a few chairs would work better for elderly guests. Stairs a a few small steps in some areas-not. Ondu ive to walkers/wheelchairs. Very small bath area in our room.
Certified

Loved our stay at Jewel Runaway Bay

, Guelph, ON
2020-01-28
This was our first family resort experience and we'll for sure be back. Jewel was just that -- a complete diamond in the rough. While it's not new and fancy in its look like other resorts, it makes up for it in programming, access to the beautiful beach where you can snorkel steps from the shore, activities for kids and the wonderful staff and food. Their breakfast buffet was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beach, outdoor amenities and access to food and restaurants. The staff are like none other I have ever met. Friendly, helpful and wonderful with children.
The weak points
Our fridge wasn't stocked until day three until we left a note and a tip. If you're looking for something fancy and new, Jewel is not it, but it will more than make up for it's feel in cleanliness, staff and amenities and programming.
Certified

Jewel Runaway Bay

, Wallaceburg, ON
2019-10-29
We went to Jewel Runaway Bay for a Wedding. The wedding was beautiful and lots of fun with a bomb fire on the beach at night. We all had a great time even the kids(water park attached to grounds).It is not an overly large resort which made walking to anything on the grounds real easy. Grounds clean and well keep as well as the rooms. The staff made us feel right at home couldn't ask for a better bunch of people. We snorkeled a-lot even the kids with a great reef close to shore but not to close which allowed for standing or floating in the water with a sandy bottom. The buffet was rather small but had good choices.There were specialty restaurants that you could go to in place of the buffet, jerk hut (awesome), grill (awesome), pizza grill(awesome), as well as several others for supper that had good choices and good tasting food. You did not need to book the specialty restaurants except Jade which was a-lot of fun. As well specialty restaurants were unlimited. If I go back to this area I would go back had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly fun loving staff, excellent beach and reef for snorkeling, unlimited specialty restaurants, within walking distance to everything on resort clean rooms and grounds.
The weak points
The meals at the specialty restaurants were not always what was described on the menu but always real tasty. Had a water view room which I wouldn't exactly say was a water view.
Certified

Lovely stay

, Thornhill, ON
2019-08-09
Pros: Kids club was fabulous! Thanks Stacy-Ann, Shadene, Tanis and Lorna! You guys are amazing! The girls loved you! The room was clean and very reasonable. Shower pressure was great (that's important to us). The pools were very good and the crystal clear blue water beach is fabulous. We couldn't get enough snorkeling around the chunks of coral and sea grass. There's only 226 or so rooms. We love the smaller resorts. Everything is close by and nothing was ever too crowded. Thanks again Kimberly the lifeguard for helping me find my Oakleys in the water park!!!!

Cons: Food was so-so but we're not really picky. All but one restaurant is open air dining which is nice but probably nicer in January when we weren't sweating as much. There's no late-night food options other than room service which is a paid service despite the airline/carrier's resort description stating there was a late-night food option until 6:30 am. The WiFi was also advertised as being resort-wide but was only in the lobby and even then, if more than a few people were trying to use it, it was painfully slow. The resort is a long 1.5 hour bus ride from the airport. The two big slides at the water park have a 48" inch minimum height which is not well advertised prior to a small child trying to go on them. In fairness, executive management was able to have a solution-focused conversation about it and an amicable resolution was achieved. Thanks again Karlene. The water park is also a little short on single and double inflatable tubes so if you were't crashing the gate at 10:30 am when they open, getting a tube to ride on the yellow slide or float the lazy river was a sad challenge until late, late, late in the afternoon. Lastly, the concierge service could use a little more training. There was a lack of consistency about the knowledge base. Ask each rep at the desk the same question and each would give different answers. One didn't know when the buffet opened for breakfast but guessed 9:30 am (really it's 7:30) and one told us we needed a reservation for sushi when in fact we did not and though I mentioned we didn't, she insisted we did until a coworker corrected her. Just a couple of more than several examples.

Getting there from Toronto and coming home was a nightmare but that was all carrier related.

Most of the positive reviews are very accurate. Get Ingrid if you are lucky at the Samurai restaurant. Egg Boy is a funny guy in the mornings though we never spoke personally, everyone can hear him chatting away with the guests as he cooks their breakfasts.

Overall: I know our cons are longer than our pros but that's life. It's easier to remember the annoyances I guess. HOWEVER, we really did enjoy our time at Jewel Runaway Bay and for our two seven year old daughters, it was the greatest place on earth!. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

June vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-05
We came for a week. The room was disappointing had to ask 5 times to get 2 single beds put in the room from reception that was very frustrating after traveling all day. Bus ride was 2 hours from the airport with traffic. No welcome drink upon arrival at all.The waterpark was small, if u had young children much more fun than tweens and is filled with locals who will not share the float required to use some of the 3 slides. Pools were nice however sometimes kids from the waterpark would storm the pool and "borrow" masks and goggles sometimes without asking acting like you owed them etc then stuff went missing. That was very uncomfortable and lifeguard was doing nothing. Forr the price this hotel charges the standard was very low with rooms and food and service at the bars. Many staff said owners wont upgrade or put in any money and it definitely shows. Wifi was pretty bad you could barely use Facebook this is easily fixable as is upgrading the rooms etc. When I see what this hotel charges without a sale I would definitely reconsider something else this is not a 4 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful, great snorkeling lots of jellyfish. Lots of shade beach not busy at all.
The weak points
Food was repetitive in the buffet same food for lunch and dinner really boring, gross not kept hot either. A la carte were okay food was average. Staff removed your plates and silverware immediately after you finished so no seconds frustrating and rude.
Certified

Food and building

, Mississauga, ON
2019-07-02
internet worst and dated building and can't manage traffic over all 4 stars [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice food but very dated and poorly maintained building
The weak points
weakest internet
Certified

A wonderful family holiday experience

, Holland, ON
2019-06-24
This was our first trip to Jamaica as a family of 4. The Jewel Runaway Bay Resort did not disappoint in any way. The friendly and safe atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for and that is exactly what we were given. Being a smaller resort you were close to all the amenities and it was very quick to get to and from any part of the resort with no obstacles. We were able to get into every restaurant without trouble and the food was what we expected; you were able to eat as authentic as you wanted or the comfort foods from home, there was an amazing variety. The bars provided fantastic drinks for adults and children with minimal wait times. The activities were very organized and inclusive to all, starting at 10:00 am and continuing until 11:00 pm. The kids club and the tween/teen club was very welcoming and my children couldn't get enough of the activities that were planned for them (ages 11, 13), and the activities were all free for them. The entertainment staff was amazing, always available and upbeat. The entertainment they provided was different every night, it wasn't done on a grand scale, but it was perfect for us. The beach is amazing with the white sand, many chairs/shaded areas, and a beautiful coral reef to snorkel at. The cleanliness of the resort, rooms, beach was great and we never had an issue in this regard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent for children, tweens/teens Very family oriented Smaller making it easier to get to all the amenities Food available from 7:00 am - 2:00 am Beautiful beaches Fun activities - beach, watersports, waterpark, golf lessons, snorkelling in reef
The weak points
The fitness centre is overcrowded with machines and very hot The rooms are a little outdated, but very clean and beds were comfortable If you have a room very close to the disco you can hear the bass and it is from 11:00 pm - 2:00 am
Certified

Overall good but not GREAT

, Brampton, ON
2019-06-09
This hotel doesnt lie about their star ratings it is a 4 star so expect 4 star service and rooms.

Pros: employees, beach, beach,beach. If it wasn't for the nice clear waters and well maintained beach with no hustlers on it it would of been a fail. I love the fact its private beach and has no people trying to sell you every 5 minutes. Also FOOD was great!!

Cons: rooms are outdated, dirty floors, dirty showers, very dim lights everywhere. Also when dining its not air conditioned so you are dieing of sweat, also bed sheets were never changed even when we tipped it was gross. My one child peed on bed and it took them 2 hours to change the sheet. To get front desk from the room was impossible. They never pick it up. Also wifi was horrible, i wanted to pay like i do in RIU to get access to the room wifi and she said its not available. Not good for business person like myself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pros: employees, beach, beach,beach. If it wasn't for the nice clear waters and well maintained beach with no hustlers on it it would of been a fail. I love the fact its private beach and has no people trying to sell you every 5 min.
The weak points
Cons: rooms are outdated, dirty floors, dirty showers, very dim lights everywhere. Also when dining its not air conditioned so you are dieing of sweat, also bed sheets were never changed even when we tipped it was gross.
Certified

Our Experience

, Huxley, AB
2019-03-03
Loved the staff, pools, beach, waterslide park, and food! Can't say enough about the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Only complaint is that the kids were getting a tad bored by the end of the week. Just a few more "tween" daily activities would've been great, and I wish the nightly shows started a wee bit earlier, as sometimes they didn't start until 10ish, when we were almost ready for bed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness
The weak points
Activities and WiFi
Certified

Great vacation place for all ages

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-24
The food at this place was great, a nice variety every day, from pork, turkey, beef, fish and ham. There was something for every taste. Lots of fresh fruit too. The cinnamon buns were to die for, fresh every morning. The staff were excellent and very attentive to your every need. The beach was excellent, lots of chairs available anytime. Snorkelling right at the beach was very good seeing a lot of different fish. The water park was the biggest hit for the kids, with the water slides. Food is also available right there as well so no need to leave at meal times. Although the rooms are a bit dated they are clean and have all the amenities. We had a king bed and it was comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points are, the beach, waterpark, and food
The weak points
Pillows were not the best, no occasional chair in room, no place to sit except for the bed.
Certified

Destination Kidventure!

, Ohsweken, ON
2018-09-04
Our second time in 6 months at this Resort! We came back because it is everything we wanted in a small resort! Great snorkelling, great food, amazing kids and teens club, exciting lazy river water park with waterslides, arts and crafts on the beach... and most important... a chance for kids to play while parents rest and distress. We will be returning regularly because we love the caring, funny, entertaining staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling water park water sports/ activities food amazing staff
The weak points
we were not happy with our room this time in block 1... block 2 is way better.. we requested a specific room when we booked and they did not deliver. Fortunately the weather was perfect so we didn't need to spend much time in our room.
Certified

Jewell Runaway Resort

, Newcastle, ON
2018-03-06
This resort was not very organized. When we arrived they did not have rooms arranged we had to wait in line for a good 3/4 of a hour. No bar fridge why did we pay for all inclusive. Our view was looking at a palm tree from balcony. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was really nice and helpful. Clean rooms every day.
The weak points
No bar fridge if we wanted beer we had to go and get it from the bar or buy it in cans and put it in fridge.
Certified

Good for families with older kids

, London, ON
2017-03-19
Front desk would not acknowledge the requests made by our travel agent for our bookings, gave us rooms that we specifically requested not to have. The rooms are old and unkept. The food at this resort is mediocre. The kids pool area is fantastic if your kid is 8 years or older as there is a height requirement to use the slides and this is not advertised anywhere!! The beach and snorkelling were great and the size of the resort was also perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and snorkelling
The weak points
Food and terrible front desk service
Certified

First time south family vacation

, Haley Station, ON
2017-01-24
We did the 7night stay at runaway bay beach and golf resort with kids ages 3 and 7 yrs old. We loved every minute of it. Lots of choices for food, even for picky eaters and no line UPS nor reservations. Rooms and hotel were clean and comfortable. We did the king bed and two single bed in premium room. Loved the water park, nice sandy beach and choices of pools. In the sea we had many small fish swim around us(sergant majors, jack, sea urchans etc) There is also lots of activities to choose from that kept us busy on top of the resort special activities like 6 course meal under the stars and lots of nightly shows. Overall we had a fabulous time and would love to go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity of sea, choice of pools and waterpark
The weak points
Knowing when activities run... we learned late about the hotel overview done daily in lobby and eventually discovered the daily newsletter
Certified

Jewel Runaway Bay Resort

, Calgary, AB
2016-04-27
We love this resort. Great for family especially with young kids. Awesome food, wonderful staff. They are treating the guest like friends and family except for Front Desk staff. They never got things done. If you need help, don't bother call Front Desk, just find someone around the pool and they will ge it done. The kids camps is AMAZING. The room is a little bit outdated but all is good. Will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of the resort and friendliness of the staff
The weak points
Front Desk staff
Certified

Lovely spot!

, Douro-Dummer, ON
2016-03-26
Nice beach and pool, room was good, nice bathroom. Great Jerk Chicken! Fourth visit to Jamaica and I still love it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A nice spot to relax and enjoy a week in the sun
The weak points
I would recommend you stick to the pool after a rain in order to avoid the sand fleas - you can run into this anywhere - not just this property!

Excellent Resort

, Meadow Lake, SK
2016-03-05
We have stayed at quite a few all inclusives, and this is one we will definitely go back to. The staff is amazing, very friendly. The beach is beautiful with very soft white sand. The ocean bottom is sandy all the way to the reef. You can walk about 20 minutes on the beach before you reach the point and can't go any further. The food was good everywhere we ate. Sometimes it is too busy for the staff to keep up, mostly at breakfast in the buffet. There are no wristbands or towel cards at this resort, which is awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best staff of any resort we've been to!
Certified

Awesome Family vacation

, Saint Catharines, ON
2016-02-18
I can honestly not fault this resort on anything unless you are a young single who is looking for a happening disco..practically non existent. Otherwise it was excellent..travelled with my grown children ages 20-36 and 4 little ones .ages infant to 4 years old. The ride is a little long to the resort but heh we just considered it a free excursion. Upon arrival we were immedialtely greeted with cold drinks..porters took out luggage and guided us to our rooms..we had booked the premier rooms which if you wanted they can connect . Rooms are basic but bathrooms very large with large walk in showers separate from the facilities..great when 2 are trying to get ready. Cribs were supplied at no extra cost. We were in the section where it is alittle quieter away from the Waterpark....The waterpark is awesome..cabanas are available for rent there if you like to stay out of the sun. The staff is constantly coming around to take your orders for drinks and food. They are truly amazing here. Since it is a smaller resort you never have any worries of meeting up with your family day or night..the buffet overlooking the ocean was just recently renovated so you can sit almost at waters edge and the kids can play right in the sand beside you..we did this almost every night. The restaraunts and food are just delish and they are so good at assisting with any needs. we are not a fussy group but we just felt so spoiled all week., Make sure to try the pizza at the big stone bbq..yum! The kids program is another of their specialties..you can even borrow sand toys from there for use on the beach. And don't forget to take the little ones out on the glass bottom boat rides..its free..goes 3 x a day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff...food..beach..waterpark!
The weak points
could modernize the room a bit!

Awesome 2 weeks

, St Constant, QC
2015-10-10
Wow what an experience from our arrival to our departure. Never been to such a wonderful clean and welcoming place the staff is out of this world.It's the managements greatest asset.Yes we will be back but with our grandchildren. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness the beach excellent food and staff
The weak points
none to be seen
Certified

Wonderful holiday

2015-03-01
This was our first time to Jamaica and we were very pleased with this resort. The staff were amazing and so friendly. The food was very good, however we did find that the buffet didn't have a lot of variety but what was there was good. There was never a long wait for food or drinks and we spent most of our day time on the beach and never had trouble
finding chairs (there were four of us).
The buildings and grounds were always clean and well manicured. We went with another couple and had a great time, this resort would be wonderful for a family too, as it is small and once the water park opens it will keep little ones happy for hours, it looks like it will be a great park. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to family and friends :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff
The weak points
lack of variety in the buffet
Certified

Good and bad

, New Glasgow, NS
2015-01-29
Very noisy in the rooms in the evenings through patio door. Small and easy to get around in. Dated front lobby furnishings. Nice beach for snorkeling and white soft sands. Wine terrible, but will do fresh fruit drinks if asked. Food overall good, but lunch time's sometimes were not. Lack of selection with fruit and meats during lunch especially. Very clean with no garbage around.
From staff did not address room issue I had and some advertised activities are not available, horse and buggy rides, for kids. I was told they only use it to rent out now and the kids club never gets to use it anymore. If on sale I would recommend but not over $1000. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club activities, On site snorkeling, Food at supper time, Staff (not management)
The weak points
Concierge, Evening Entertainment, Noise level

Great 4 families or 2 be alone with ur thoughts

2015-01-28
This was my first time in Jamaica and I have to say, Runaway Bay made sure to make me feel welcome. Their greatest asset is their staff. They are very friendly, helpful and courteous. Any imperfection I could find with the resort they were quick to address (ex: I couldn`t figure out how to set their clock radio). I was there by myself but they all made me feel like I was amongst friends.

My only dissapointment which I can`t blame the resort for was the fact that I was single hoping to mingle and they, for that week, ended up being a family/couples resort. I felt like the single dude at a Valentines day party that no one invited. They did have a club with great music but I was the only one who make it out. Any activities that would have allowed me to meet people got cancelled because I was the only one who wanted to participate (again not their fault but just wish I got the memo about it being couples week)

Being I'm the try to make the best out of a bad situation type, the resort became a great place to be alone with my thoughts, read a book on the beach and and get some creative writing work done.

So overall, A-1 staff, great place for families, couples, groups and introspective single males who aren't looking and want to be alone with their thoughts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff, the beatiful beach and the great pool.
The weak points
- Room key is very sensitive to electromagnetics. - If you're a single male looking to party, you better be willing to travel off the resort. Ask for Bugsy but be ready to spend.
Certified

Jewel Runaway Bay Resort

, Calgary, AB
2014-10-20
The resort was very nice and the beaches met our expectations. We found the staff at all levels to be extremely friendly and helpful. The food and drink were of high quality, particularly given the all-inclusive nature of the resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely friendly staff; high quality food & drink; clean and well-maintained accomodations and grounds; kids camp/tween club; pool availability (including poolside chairs); beautiful and calm beach
The weak points
Lack of variety of food
Certified

Absolutely Loved It!!!!!

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-10
Where to begin…. Well, let's start by saying that we had a very good feeling when we arrived at the Jewel Runaway Bay; it felt very comfortable and clean like a home away from home. The grounds were impeccable, the staff was amazing and the food was the best I have had at any resort….and I am a very picky eater. We just loved the Aquamarina Grill and the Court Jester's Pizzeria. On our last night (Friday night) we had steak and lobster tails at the buffet. Delicious!!!!! I was quite pleased that I could always find something I liked at the buffet. Also, I really liked the fact that the main buffet area had a view of the ocean – great planning on their part. The resort was on the smaller side, but we like the smaller resorts.

We booked a “Waterview” room and had an amazing view from our room of the infinity pool and the ocean (see attached picture). Our room number was 2233 in the Ruby Building (see pix) and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever had at an all inclusive resort. We were told by the maid that our room had just been renovated the week before we came. If I had to state one small negative about the room, it would be that both the toilet and bathroom counter top were very low. Not much they can do about that.
I would definitely highly recommend this resort and would go back again. It is rated a 4 star and I felt in some respects it was better than some of the 5 star resorts I have visited in the past. This was our first trip to Jamaica and we just loved the island, the culture and the people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff, great food and location. Beautiful Beach
The weak points
Toilet's too low to the ground.
Certified

GREAT FOR FAMILIES

, Woodlawn, ON
2014-01-21
We had a great relaxing time. We were surprised at all the services included at no extra cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly and efficient
The weak points
Some of the side dishes at the buffet could have been a little tastier
Certified

Runaway Bay

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2014-01-13
Hotel is a little older and a bit rundown.
Pool's are not kid friendly nor are they clean. Bartenders & Front desk staff I found to be unhelpful,rude and extremely slow. The beach was beautiful. Food was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Food and Beach were the high lights of this trip
The weak points
Bartenders, & Front Desk staff were not the kindest nor the most helpful. Was not a kid friendly resort(pools)
Certified

Review of Runaway Bay

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-09
It was excellent and well beyond what we had expected from the resort from the staff to the location to the layout of the resort. The rooms and lobby are tired and need to be updated but otherwise this is truly a fabulous place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent - great food, staff attitude and very clean. Beautiful beach and lovely hotel and easy access to amenities.
The weak points
Long lines at reception on arrival, on some busy days ran out of beach towels, need to update rooms.
Certified

Good Holiday

, Milton, ON
2014-01-04
Great customer service. Great beach. Food could be better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great customer service
The weak points
food could be better
Certified

Fantastic!

, Barrie, ON
2013-11-14
Our first trip to Jamaica, and it won't be our last. No complaints.
The beach was amazing clear blue water with nearby coral and pretty fishes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved it. The resort was wonderful. The staff were friendly and the place was clean and organized. I was especially impressed that even with such a humid climate, our rooms weren't even a little bit damp
The weak points
our mini fridge didn't include beer. (we were able to get some though)
Certified

LOVELY JAMAICAN PEOPLE

, British Columbia, BC
2013-10-21
WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AT THE JEWEL. WE MET A LOT OF NICE PEOPLE. WE ENJOYED THE BEACH AND THE POOL. THE DINING ROOM STAFF WERE VERY GOOD.
THE MAID SERVICE WAS GOOD AS WELL. THE FOOD
WAS NOT AS GOOD AS IT WAS WHEN IT WAS A BREEZES RESORT. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
NICE BEACH, NICE GROUNDS, HOUSE BAND WAS GOOD JAMAICAN PEOPLE ARE LOVELY, IT IS OUR 8TH TIME TO JAMAICA.
The weak points
MUSIC WAS TO LOUD IN THE CORAL DINING ROOM ENTERTAINMENT STAFF WAS UNABLE TO FOLLOW THROUGH WITH PLANNED EVENTS AFTERNOON MUSIC CATERED TO 15 TO 25 YEAR OLDS WHEN IN FACT MOST GUESTS WERE WELL OVER 40. WE LOVE REGGAE MUSIC. {BOB MARLEY} NOT LOUD RAP.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020