Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica

Bahia Principe Grand Jamaica
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 918 reviews
#2 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Runaway Bay
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (250)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Good resort

, Erinsville, ON
2020-03-04
Didn't get off to a good start as we didn't get 2 beds as requested. A small rollaway was brought in which sufficed. The longer I spent here the better I liked it.
No ones fault but the rain put a damper on the trip. Glad I came but wouldn't come back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The only standout staff was Brison, Natrice, Kerol & Tanisha in the lobby bar! They were amazing! Everyone else could use some people skills. Nice resort with lots to do. Great evening bands. Liked the village. Beach & pool were nice
The weak points
Liquor brands were not great. Staff typically unfriendly and never even smile. Went out of my way to NOT get served by Rose & Donna not friendly at all and always asking for cigarettes. Food was just ok. Bars not open late enough except in village.
Certified

Fantastic!

, Port Elgin, ON
2020-02-18
We love Jamaica, the people were the best part by far. They are welcoming and friendly. From the time we got to the resort to the time we had to pack up the resort staff and locals were fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People!
The weak points
Getting use to how to book diners was a little challenging as there we so many guests. The meals were great but I would suggest to guest to book asap to save poor dinning times.
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Peterborough, ON
2020-02-18
Overall excellent experience at Grand Bahia Runaway Bay. They have some of the best, most friendly staff that will treat you so well! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly people, beautiful area, great beaches and relaxed atmosphere. Wait staff in the buffet, Don Pablo and Mikado restaurants are amazing as well as the bar tender way out the beach and at the Grand pool bar.
The weak points
Screws falling out if the terrace door made using it tricky, but the sea view is worth it. The elevator to 6th floor sea view was broken which for lower ambulatory people would be a problem. The knife restaurant is new, food good, service not so much.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Millbrook, ON
2020-02-09
Overall a nice resort with enough variety for our family. Food was above average. Grounds were kept clean, but some items were dated. Missed some of the speciality options (coffee shop and ice cream parlour). I would recommend at the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There was a lot to do at the resort for our family of four. Good variety of food. Pools and beaches were clean and enjoyable.
The weak points
Room repair was not good. On a plus note they fixed the four items when addressed
Certified

Bahia Principe Grand Runaway Bay Jamaica

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-28
Very polite and caring staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The welcoming staff was very welcoming . Our room was ready and quite nice. The view from the room was overlooking the pools. The restaurants and buffet was very well attended and the food was unexpectedly good.
The weak points
Large property so there is a lot of walking. To get to restaurant and buffet. The beach we went to was rocky and muddy but only discovered another beach too late for us.
Certified

Milestone birthday's family vacation

, Scarborough, ON
2020-01-12
When we arrived it was very confusing as to where to check in we waited in a huge lineup only to find out that we were supposed to be checking in at the VIP desk which was down the hall. We were supposed to also receive a complimentary drink and a cool wet towel on arrival at the hotel which we did not receive. I was travelling with two individuals who had issues with walking they did assist with wheelchairs and took us through the longest possible route to our hotel rooms. We had also requested two double beds And all three rooms were three king beds. Although this resort is indeed beautiful it is not suitable for individuals that have issues walking. The beach was also very rocky which made getting into the ocean challenging. At the buffet some of the servers were rude and slow in refilling and getting our drink orders if you didn't put a tip on the table you were not served immediately also the food stations were empty and people are waiting around for food. The strongest points I wrote the entertainment staff was amazing they interacted with the guests and ensure that everybody was having a great time I had a lot of fun with them bravo to entertainment the weak points [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment staff was amazing they interacted with the guests and ensure that everyone was having a great time I had a lot of fun with them bravo to your entertainment team!
The weak points
The golf carts driver was very impatient and rude and swearing when he had to wait two extra minutes for passengers that required assistance.
Certified

Splendid Time

, Kingston, ON
2020-01-10
My girls (10 and 21) went to this resort to start off the new year/decade of 2020. We really enjoyed the ambiance, the landscaping, the pool and the food. It was overall quite nice for the price. I was so surprised that such a resort would keep their dirty carpets on each floor for half of the hotel though. The other half had tile flooring. They kept the lighting dim in the hallways but could easily be seen. Some staff very friendly, others not so much. We were also a bit lost due to the size of it and had no idea what restaurants we could eat at. We talked to PR to make reservations and they seemed 'bothered' we were there just passing the book to us and were very short. Same went for the front desk staff. Not friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, price, shops, games
The weak points
dirty carpets, slow to fix things (took 2 days to fix the tv), given a room with only one bed and crib for myself, 21 and 10 year old daughters, though booked 2 rooms. It took them 2 days to get us a room so we managed with the other.
Certified

Grand Bahia Review

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-17
Grand Bahia Review [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
spacious room, awesome pool, great food
The weak points
Staff was not very friendly-except for cleaning staff-they were great.
Certified

Our visit

, Prince William, NB
2019-11-14
This was our first time to Jamaica. Your hotel was well laid out and the cleanliness level was exceptional. The lobby, pool, ocean and all areas were well kept and well run. The pool entertainment was fantastic; evening was hit and miss. Food was exceptional compared to Cuba and Dominican as were drinks. Staff were okay but not as friendly as expected from other travellers to Jamaica that we had spoken too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks and cleanliness
The weak points
No coffee bar, staff were not guest oriented, rooms and sleeping areas need upgraded!! Very dated.
Certified

Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica

, Ajax, ON
2019-09-16
The resort is very large so bring your good walking shoes, be ready to climb lots of stairs, staff in the restaurant's, pool side and the bars are great, can not say the same for the management, food was ok but not what I expected.
The pools were great but the beach was very poorly maintained, lots of rocks and shells, hard to walk in bare feet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the pools are great, staff in restaurants, bars and pool side were great.
The weak points
Management was non existent when you have a problem, not very clean, always short of face cloths in your room and cups in main restaurant. Smoking in the non smoking areas all the time, very unhappy about that, management would not address this issue.
Certified

Our wedding anniversary vacation

, Brampton, ON
2019-08-18
the first night we got set up in a huge luxurious room on the 5th floor but had to move to another room the next day as half of the room had no ac, but once we let the front desk and our rep know, they were quick to fix things and make it right. The rooms were clean the service was good, the resort itself was clean and beautiful. Food was good but booking the Italian restaurant was a bit of a hassle, you would think that the restaurant doesn't close when you have guest who want to book on a daily basis. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Customer service disappointing but stay was good

, Mississauga, ON
2019-08-03
- wish the customer service was much better, but it's a huge very busy resort and it seems the staff are super busy and not friendly or helpful

- even when you tip, nobody says thank you

- I'm a single mom who went with my 20 month old and nobody ever offered to help me with luggage

-upon arriving, was not told there were welcome drinks (juice) nearby for people just arriving (would've been nice after a long trip)

- wasn't told you could make reservations for dinner at the public relation desks nearby (assumed it was front desk)

-I felt like I had to figure out a lot on my own, but after a couple days you get to know things

-The front desk does not answer the phone unless you call 4 times or if you call after 9 or 10 pm... I get that it's very busy but I think maybe they need a different system

-resort is HUGE, so if you're going with small kids you should have a stroller, however, keep in mind the elevators are small and slow, sometimes you can wait a while and it's too full for you to fit in.

- above average resort food

-Room was large, but average. Two of the lights weren't working, and the tv was weird to figure out, but overall comfortable enough room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- well maintained grounds - lots of activities for kids, more suitable for older kids - great water park for kids - beautiful beach - great price - shuttle included and was on time
The weak points
- customer service - elevators/accessibility
Certified

Jamaica 2019

, Scarborough, ON
2019-07-15
I went to Jamaica with 3 other moms and 8 children. This was our single moms trip that we have been saving up for...which meant alot for us. I loved the beach next to the kids splash pad...clear and clean...and you could walk so far out. Kids activities were amazing...my son cried when he left because he was gonna miss the guy who ran the kids activities. Honestly the best trip I have been on. Just an amazing experience. Only thing is when your in Jamaica they are on Jamaican time..lol it's the culture...not fast paced but hands down a beautiful resort and very safe for children! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach white sand and shallow. Kids splash pad...is better in person....the pictures don't do it justice.
The weak points
I wish there was more Soca and reggae playing. My kids begged the kid instructor to play Soca. But he said he had to make all song choices for all kids. Just wish through out the resort I could hear louder music.I go to Jamaica to indulge in their culture
Certified

First time in Jamaica

, Oshawa, ON
2019-06-19
Far to much walking to go to the Buffet food was never hot even if you got there as soon as the door open cold food for a week.
Book for a steak diner it was so overcooked i could not even chew it
staff was really nice,room service never showed up 3 hour wait for ice really wow so i had to go get it myself
weather was great!
would I retune to this resort NO!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
coffee was good people are friendly.
The weak points
cold food daily to much walking to go for food or pool

1st trip to Jamaica

, Woodbridge, ON
2019-04-19
We were apart of 4 couples on our trip from April 4-11. My first trip to Jamaica and enjoyed it. Everyone expressed how much they liked the resort, food and amenities at the Grand Bahia Principe Runaway Bay.
Two beaches, the smaller beach was rocky. The larger beach was nice, sandy and didn't feel crowded. The water was nice and warm.
Beautiful sunsets. Grounds were maintained beautiful.Caught the evening entertainment a few times, it was good. Mini Bar in the room, was well stocked everyday.
Found beef patties in the pharmacy in the village. They were delicious.
Nice to see families having fun. I would definitely recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Maintenance of the resort grounds were beautiful. Front Desk and reception was helpful. Friendly staff.There was a variety of Food at Buffets. Piscis had great Jerk Chicken. Garden Grill a la carte steak dinner was delicious.
The weak points
Internet was weak, and down one night. More attention required to the bathrooms at the pool area near the end of the day.
Certified

Wonderful stay!!

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-16
Great staff, clean rooms, excellent food!! Good entertainment :-)) Having the Villa close with all the shops was very nice to get last minute gifts...... Upon arrival, we were misguided on how to retrieve our luggage from the airport bus....the bus took our luggage.... staff successfully tracked him down & received our luggage a few hours later!! Thank you for the hard work of the staff!! Overall everything went smoothly.... :-)) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was excellent!! Beautiful ocean view & in the hub of pool side entertainment :-)) Food was the best we have ever had!! Compliments to the awesome chefs!!!
The weak points
The carpeted hall ways on ALL floors need a professional cleaning, NOT just a wet mop over them!! In Building 11 the elevator smelt like sewage.. :-(( Having to pay too much for taxi service from the hotel was disappointing!! Small beach :-((
Certified

Trip ruin because of roaches

, Scarborough, ON
2019-02-26
The hotel was great a few hiccups toilets was broken and a infestation of roaches. I killed three roaches. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Their food and entertainment was great
The weak points
My first room on the ground floor had roaches even though I Requested a higher floor. The toilet had to to fixed. Couple times
Certified

You should do it at least once

, Hamilton, ON
2019-02-05
This is the grand resort and you should go to one at least once. If you don't have kids or like a lot of noise stay on the adult side. Lots of choices to eat no worries about getting sick. The staff were great except for the odd waitress but we all have bad days. The front desk staff were hit and miss. This is a very large resort so if you are mobility challenged or just lazy than this is not the place for you. They do have mini shuttles to move people around but they seem to always be full and don't seem to follow any kind of schedule. And lots of staff walking around everywhere trying to get you to join the "privilege club" it's timeshares people. I spent a tidy sum to be here already and not to be bothered by someone trying to get me to spend more. Our Sea view room might have been at one time if they trimmed the trees. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great group of people working from the groundskeepers to waitstaff to bartenders, bellman.
The weak points
Wear and tear resort is 12 yr old and it shows. Just slap more paint on isn't the answer.
Certified

3rd time. Will probably return.

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-21
Drinks were good. The selection of alcohol was weak. The one in Samana (El Portillo) isn't a luxury resort but had stuff like Jack Daniels, Canadian Club, Jagermeister at no extra cost.

Their Canadian mist and Kentucky gentlemen were absolute trash lol.

Food. Quality was good. Selection was lacking. Probably because the resort wasn't as busy. It was better last time.

Service: sometimes slow. But most often they were fast. We were a group of 11 among 4 rooms. We had issues with fridge restocking, no fresh towels. Safe and phone issues. Most got fixed. Some didn't. This is nothing that you wouldn't find at other resorts though. When needing something fixed in the room they were absolutely terrible with timing. Waited 30 mins for someone to come up for a locked balcony door and I waited 12 hours for someone to come fix a toilet that wouldn't flush.

Rooms: clean. Some work is needed. Varies from room to room.

Entertainment: needs work. Every resort has a Michael Jackson show. The steel drum band wasn't as good as the one we saw on luxury side 2 years ago. Lobby band was good. Didn't even bother with the synchronized swimming show. It was a snooze fest last time.

Bars: beach bar has self serve beer taps. This should be a thing everywhere.

Elevators: not sure about the rest but the elevator for building 23 was absolutely terrible. Someone said it's been that way for 6 years. This shouldn't happen. $4400 for a 7 day trip, I don't feel like wasting any time waiting for an elevator.

Wifi. Reception is decent but free 24/7 wifi across the resort is something that should be readily available for free at any resort claiming to be 5 star.

Upgrades for repeat customers: rumour is true. Some of us got upgraded to VIP and some to luxury as they didn't have kids. Just email ahead and remind them you are a Bahia or Bahia jamaica return guest.

Shops. Lots of souvenirs. Good prices if you negotiate.

Karaoke bar. Lots of fun. Even if you don't sing.

Not sure if I have missed anything. If so I will update. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness. Food. Lots of loungers. Mostly friendly staff
The weak points
Service is slow almost everywhere except beach bars. They're fast. Wifi should be included. Minibar should have more than 2 beers. Rooms should have liquor dispensers. Those things make this place far from 5 star
Certified

Awesome Vacation

, Summerford, NL
2018-05-14
This is an amazing resort,the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very clean,the grounds are very will kept.
The food is also good,and there where no long line ups.
There is also a lot off security, so that made you feel safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean,Friendly,Helpful,Good food,Security,
The weak points
Beach,Entertainment,
Certified

Jamaica - What a Beauty

, Nepean, ON
2018-04-28
In January when the news broke about Jamaica and said to “stay away” my wife and I deliberated for days to see if we should still make our trip to Jamaica. Good parenting or bad we decided to proceed with the vacation.

For one full week we stayed at the grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica. From the moment we landed to the second we left we felt safe and in good care and found the Jamaican's to be friendly caring and in love with their island.

Arriving at the resort, we were greeted with beauty, we knew we made the right choice to keep the vacation! We were received warm and immediately handed our keys to our room. Greeted with warm smiles and many “Ya Mons” we made our way to the room to find a stunning view and that they had set up separate beds for my 2 girls (11 12).

Room was more then spacious, extremely clean with a breath taking view of the ocean pools. Kids had comfy beds with good pillows. We had the King bed and it was extremely comfy with 6 different kinds of pillows to choose from (soft to hard). Cleaning was done daily we tipped $5.00 a day and they did a great job. One error the staff left our door opened and when I returned I found no one in sight but the door opened. Thankfully I always put EVERYTHING into the Safe! I did call security and they did not seem to care nor did the housekeeping manger.

Food
Big worry when you go away is always the food. How does it taste, is it cooked right etc. (you know the thoughts you think). I have never tasted food with so much flavour. I can not find one complaint about the food.

Restaurants (4 of them) are where we found the best service. Italian French Steak house Japanese are the 4 choices and it is hard to get reservations but $$ makes everything happen faster.

Buffet Always good and food was yummy. Beach side was great the Jerk Chicken had so much flavor.
Pools Ocean

Pools were different temperatures (all warm) and this was refreshing to get into “cooler” pools. They were so clean and my kids had a blast (yes you can bring floaties from home) bar service we had no issues with and always provided us drinks when needed. The ocean was incredible I have never seen such amazing snorkeling. I saw over 15 different kinds of Fish INCLUDING an Octopus! Yes 8 legs and all! The beach was rocky but once you are in 3 ft of water you are swimming with fish all around you in beautiful sand.

Grounds were well kept and many beautiful pictures! They have a amazing Kids section...Show less
Room Tip: Ocean View is the way to go as the view is outstanding. However entertainment is outside so it can be loud at night times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Room cleanliness, Staff, all was great

My experience

, Laval, QC
2018-04-25
I very like the hotel and the water park for kids [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica

, Lloydminster (Part), AB
2018-04-17
My husband and I had a great trip, we travelled with four friends and we all agree that we'll be going back. From the start of our trip the staff fixed a booking problem and changed our room so all rooms were together. When we walked into the room it set the mood for a good holiday. The rooms were very nice and the beds were comfey. Food was good at the buffet and excellent at the restaurants. It's a big resort but laid out well, everything felt close. Staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Alcohol choices, lack of coconut rum, and crappy whiskey

Amazing vacation

, Georgetown, ON
2018-04-17
We had an amazing time. All staff were excellent to deal with and everyone was super friendly. Even though the locals struggle day to day their attitude and outlook on life, make you feel very comfortable. Daily activities were constant. The resort did not seem crowded. Pool chairs were available up to 730 AM each day. After that there was limited availability. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, didn't seem crowded, food was very good. A La cartes excellent.
The weak points
Smoking of cigarettes was not controlled. People were smoking around the pool. Both Pot and tobacco. Chair saving, with towels, was not regulated as written on the resort websites.
Certified

My stay in Grand Bahia Prinicpe-Runaway Bay

, Pickering, ON
2018-04-03
I have been to this hotel before and was actually disappointed this time around, although I would still try it one more time before writing it off.

First the good points, the pools are beautiful. The beach is pretty much private with beautiful water and white sand. The food is plentiful with overall great variety. Security staff is very prevalent which encourages a safe feeling. Hotel staff are overall very friendly. The in-room safe is now free, last year it wasn't-bonus! The bus ride is long (1 hr and 10 mins) but it's got some great views if you travel during the day. Shopping is available right on the resort-handy for those who don't want to venture off the resort. The grounds are very well maintained, are beautiful to walk through and easy to navigate once you get familiar with your surroundings. The kids area with the slides is great for kids under 11 in my opinion, I have a 10 year old who really enjoyed it.

Now for the negative-Check in is a bit of a disaster as they have bus loads arriving at a time. Wi-Fi wasn't working for the first two days-IT fixed it but was a pain not to have it-especially because I have a teenager. We were put into the wrong type of room and couldn't change for 2 days at which time we had to pack everything up, leave our luggage with the concierge and be without a room for the better part of a day. Tolerable if you're on the beach all day but annoying when you have a sick kid like I did. I wasted at least an hour every day at reception trying to sort out various issues. My balcony door didn't lock which is obviously a safety issue. Maintenance came to 'fix' it the same night I called about it but it was the most frustrating thing to finagle with every time I wanted to unlock it and lock it up again. I requested, and was given,(after about 6 hours and speaking with three different staff members, a front desk manager and finally upper management) a late check out (2pm) for all the issues I experienced but still paid $25USD for it. The paperwork you sign when you check in states $10USD per hour and when I asked about the price discrepancy their response was the price was subject to change without notice. While the grounds are beautiful, they aren't practical for anyone with mobility issues as they are quite extensive and may not be fully wheelchair friendly. (My kids and I had no issues but we have no mobility issues) Although they cater to everyone and have lots of activities for the kids, their drink selection for kids was a little to be desired-it would be nice if they had more than 3 drink options at the bars for people under the drinking age. My kids got quite sick of the drinks every day but on the plus side it left them with water as an option! lol

Overall, we enjoyed our vacation. I find the staff work at their own pace (island time), so pack your patience when you travel there. I'm hoping the issues I experienced this time around were an anomaly and would still (mostly) recommend this resort :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not What We Paid For

, Springhill, NS
2018-04-01
We arrived later in the evening and my gf went to check in while I waited for the bags off the bus. Got the bags quite quickly so I could get in and help my gf with the check in. Well that was a nightmare. There was no organisation at all. No line for people to wait their turn, it was just a free for all. My gf was the first one in and got pushed from the table where the envelopes where everyone's room information was. The staff that were standing at the table seemed they had no clue what they were doing. My gf was finally given a package and it was the wrong one. It had my last name on it but not my first name and here name wasn't even on it. So we had the wrong room package. We started to the room and realized there was no room keys in it. So we had to go back to where the S**t show was to get keys. 20 minutes later we got them. By now it was about 11:45 pm. So we finally get to the room and that was when we realized that we were in the wrong room. We had up graded to the "Golden Club" when we booked which gave you some nice perks. We had NONE!! The first 3 days we were calling the front desk and going to the "Golden Club room" to get the things that were included in the up grade. The girl we spoke to there seemed like we were an inconvenience to her. Just not nice. We were supposed to have something simple like bath robes. We got those on day 2 and then the robe belts on day 3. One good thing is that the person who re stocked the mini fridge did his job. If you leave a tip in the fridge you get more water and beer. Just an FYI for you. I found that most of the people who worked at this resort seemed like they would rather be somewhere else. Not a smile, not a hello, nothing. NOT FRIENDLY. The maid cleaned the room, that was about it all though we did have to call for towels in our room, facecloths and shampoo. I just assumed that would be included in the room. The food was ok, not fantastic like I have heard it was. Better then Cuba and Mexico but I was expecting better. Had no problem getting a spot at the beach with an umbrella.
For what we paid and all the chasing around we had to do to have what we paid for the up grade, I would never recommend this place. It was a total mess up right from the so called check in. I have no idea how this is rated at 4.5 stars.
If you still want to stay here and need something like a towel or face cloth, call the desk as soon as you check and you may get it in time for the next morning. Jamaican time is a real thing!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Fantastic Stay!

, Brampton, ON
2018-03-20
The hotel itself and our room was very clean. The pool area's are fantastic. There are 2 beach areas - 1 man made and the other natural. We stayed at the natural beach side. We went during March Break, so we had to get up at 6am to reserve lounge chairs, which wasn't a problem for us as were early risers. The staff is very friendly and the food was delicious. We ate at the buffet for breakfast, and at the beach bar for lunch everyday, the jerk chicken was delicious! Food is available 24 hours a day somewhere on the resort. It is a pretty fair walk to almost everything within the resort. Our rooms view was the ocean which was really nice. Entertainment was mediocre at best. The wifi is free only is in the lobby, and its very hard to connect too. We didn't pay for the wifi in the room, as I wanted my kids to enjoy the pool and beach instead of being on their devices. They accommodated my son who has a treenut/peanut allergy which was fantastic! At all the restaurants they advised what was safe to eat and what was not, and we also used our common seance and had a fantastic time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large beautiful pool, great beach, friendly staff and great food.
The weak points
Lots of walking depending on where your room is located.
Certified

Not for those who have mobility issues

, Oromocto, NB
2018-03-09
Hotel was clean, people very friendly and food was delicious. Only able to get 2 a la cartes unless I wanted to eat at 9:30. A fair walk to everything within the resort. Our rooms view was a white cement wall so we never got to enjoy anytime on the terrace and the lights from the terrace beyond the wall shined right in our room. Entertainment was mediocre at best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People were very accommodating, food was delicious, grounds were impeccable.
The weak points
Elevators are deplorable, arrival at the hotel could be made easier, not a place for those who have trouble walking any great distance. Map and elevators need to be marked better.
Certified

GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE JAMAICA

, Medicine Hat, AB
2018-02-19
Well groomed resort, beutiful property and beach. Great food and entertainment. Workers and servers very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent and no shortage of options. The workers and servers very friendly. Property and beach was beutiful. entertainment was good was kept busy the entire time.
The weak points
Not a big fan of the braclet system felt like 3rd class. Front desk staff wasnt that helpfull felt like they looked down on us. Asked to be upgraded and would not let us but still put our room to overlook the luxury side and hear luxury side entertainment

If you have kids, STAY AWAY from this resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-03
If you have kids, STAY AWAY from this resort.

I have no complaints about the staff, the beach or food, but as a mom with little kids, I highly suggest you DO NOT come here unless you want your kids to get really sick. My 2 year old caught hand and foot mouth disease here as did many other kids this week. I bumped into a few families all going through hell this week.

7 out of my 10 day vacation has been spent with my 2 year old screaming in pain, high fever, vomiting and not having eaten anything because of the blisters in her mouth. She screams and shivers all night and in turn wakes up my 4 month old. What was supposed to be a family vacation turned into a nightmare with my husband and I apart hoping my 4 month old doesn't get sick either. The worst part is that no warnings are posted anywhere and the facility is aware of all these cases. Instead they choose to scam families with a $215 USD doctor check up with the hopes parents are dumb enough to send their helpless children to the hospital to then charge you in thousands for a visit to the hospital.

It's one thing to take advantage of adults for insurance money, another thing is to do it with children. The “doctor” that comes assess people highly suggests to go to the hospital for blood work. If you know anything about hand and foot mouth disease you know it's not necessary. The stack of pamphlets all about hand in foot mouth disease the nurses have printed also state that unfortunately not much can be done to treat it. That stack also shows you how many cases must take place in this resort.

If you don't want to go through the hell we did for 7 days, then choose a different resort. I think it's the kid and pool area but really it could be every high chair full of germs causing it. What we hoped was going to be a relaxing, family vacation turned into one of the worst weeks of my life. As a mom, there's nothing more painful than seeing your 2 year old tell you how much pain she's in all day and night. She didn't have to say anything though, you could tell by her shivers, vomiting and weight loss that she was in pain. Yes, kids catch this in other places, but the least the resort can do is post a warning in the infected areas around the pool and play space. Instead the medical centre chooses to make money from worried parents. Now I know never to set place in a place space while on vacation again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Hand and foot mouth disease is everywhere and child after child catches it on a daily basis

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020