Royal Decameron Club Caribbean

Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
3.703.703.703.703.70
3.70 based on 43 reviews
#6 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Runaway Bay
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (39)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Our Feb 2017 vacation at Royal Decameron

, Woodstock, ON
2017-02-20
I really enjoyed my stay here, checkin was fast & check out too. The Entertainment crew was fantastic, lots of fun,all the staff from the bartenders, dinning staff, cooks , maintenance, beach crew , everyone was great. we had a bungalow on the beach #9, it was perfect, beaches are good but lots of seaweed & rocks the farther out you go just wear water shoes & no problem, Food was great with different themed nights, I really lied Asian night. The night time shows are nothing to write home about. Our friends had bungalow #3, Bad bad spot right next to the kitchen .very noisy all night long they tried to get moved but needed to see the supervisor & always missed her. Paddle boats need new seats. Lots of fish around & lots of people snorkeled.This is an older resort but very quaint. Bungalows are cute, Bathroom is very plain, water pressure is crappy. The resort is well maintained & the garden bungalows are in a nice setting. We did not do any al a cartes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beds, great staff all around , good food
The weak points
night time shows ,
Certified

Wonderful Vacation!!

, Nine Mile River, NS
2016-09-22
My husband and I went to the Decameron for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The resort is small which is what we wanted. The food was very good although were used to a larger selection of food. Loved looking out over the water every morning eating breakfast. Staff was extremely friendly. The guest services person (Neisha I think was her name) was excellent and Darren at the front desk was very accommodating when we arrived. We also enjoyed "Spice" from the entertainment crew. All in all we had a very good time and would definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the round bungalows for rooms. Very close to everything.
The weak points
Beach could be better
Certified

Little gem

, Fall River, NS
2016-04-19
I loved this resort! Food was great, beaches fantastic and the Staff went above and beyond! Would go back in a heart beat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was best part of trip! Food was great
The weak points
None.
Certified

First Trip to Jamaica

, Newmarket, ON
2016-04-12
WE would come back again. An economical choice for a resort, but the staff and grounds workers made all the difference for us. Excellent buffet and ala carte restaurants. Noisy carnival like atmosphere but is bearable. Even enjoyed the bungalow. Thank you ROYAL DECAMERON CLUB CARIBBEAN! It would be our pleasure to come back someday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, the food and location.
The weak points
Noise levels. Cigarette smoke.
Certified

Not impressed

, New Waterford, NS
2016-04-09
Front desk staff were "abrupt" a nice way of me saying rude. They didn't have the rooms we requested so they hurried us away. We were a party of 7 and upon arrival, 3 of us were offered a"welcome drink". Customer service was just poor every where. No one seem to want to give any attention at all. Even at breakfasts, you practically had to beg for a coffee. And since there wasn't even a coffee maker in the room, you were pretty desparate by the time you went down to breakfast. Never heard of a hotel or resort that didn't at least have a coffee maker in the room. And ys, we were tipping. I was surprised to notice that very few other tourists were tipping. Although, even if you did tip, the service wasn't any better. Won't be going back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Only 2 workers on the resort were actually friendly. (Marvelin and Phillip)
The weak points
I think the reason the staff aren't friendly is that they are so understaffed that the ones they do have just don't have the time or energy to pay any attention to detail. I was shocked at how unfriendly the staff were.
Certified

Miniature Paradise

, Brampton, ON
2015-04-26
Although we have been to this resort twice before, this was our best so far. The staffers, from the receptionists to the ground keepers were all professional. Our stay in this resort was like being in a Miniature paradise. The grounds were well kept, no garbage lying around, well manicured lawns and gardens. It was a pleasure staying at this resort...Can't wait to return. See pictures attached! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, the cleanliness and the staffers in general.
The weak points
Other than the internet access which we were somewhat dissatisfied with, None was observed.
Certified

Amazing Vacation

, Whitby, ON
2015-04-09
The cottages and gardens were beautiful and well maintained. The food was amazing with a great variety at the buffet and the speciality restaurants. The beach was beautiful with no shortage of chairs. The staff made you feel like family. Can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, grounds, cottages, beaches, food, drinks and the location.
The weak points
There is nothing I didn't like about this resort except our time there was too short.
Certified

Great Stay

, Toronto, ON
2014-11-23
Stayed here for one week starting November 9th, 2014. For the price we paid it was an amazing vacation.

The entertainment staff and all other staff is great and always makes sure you having great time.

The beach was ok... lots of see weed. However, there was a storm the week before, so can't really blame the resort.

The food was good. not the best, not the worst. You will definitely not starve or hate the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
entertainment staff and night time shows
The weak points
food
Certified

ROYAL DECAMERON CLUB

, Toronto, ON
2014-07-22
Amazing time, will definitely go back to Royal Decameron [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Location, Amazing staffs, Good food and Beach, Good ENT Crew
The weak points
Hotel need some updating
Certified

Good Value

, Toronto, ON
2013-06-19
We were a group of 8 with elders. The resort met all the requirements for handicap accessability. The food was fantastic every night at the buffet. All food was tasty and cooked properly. Everyone had more than enough food to choose and to eat every night even the vegetarians. The staff we fantastic. Most beaches were very rocky..only one beach was somewhat clear of rocks. Beach shoes are a must. My only complaint was the bottled water policy..you are only give one big bottle when checking in and are expected to go get it filled with tap water everytime. I purely did not drink enough water throughout the week. The cottages were fantastic and we all would come back to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-food -staff -cleanliness -Food
The weak points
- one beach good...others too many rocks - shortage of bottled water
Certified

Average

, Mississauga, ON
2012-06-19
people were friendly. food was avg to below. room a little below par. very small. pool and bar nice. never expected tips but would get service sooner if tipped. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff
The weak points
food, accessibility to all inclusiveness
Certified

I wouldn't risk it

, Aylesbury, SK
2012-02-16
We booked this hotel but didn't get to stay there - we were bumped - they called it an upgrade - but we didn't see any upside. We were very disappointed considering the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the cottages looked nice- but we didn't get one
The weak points
I wouldn't risk booking here again because we didn't get what we booked and how would we know we'd get to stay here if we tried it again
Certified

Royal Decameron?

, Moose Jaw, SK
2012-02-14
We can't give a review of the hotel you are referring to because as soon as we got there, the front desk said there were no rooms available and we were moved to the Decameron Fun across the street. Funny thing is we wandered over there a day or two later and there was hardly anyone there.Seems to be something fishy going on. Too bad whoever was looking after our booking wasn't upfront with us. The resort we were sent to was fine, but still leaves a bitter taste. It makes us think really hard about who we book with next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at other hotel were great.
The weak points
The dishonesty of where we thought we were going to stay.
Certified

Moved to Decameron Montego Bay

, Ingleside, ON
2012-01-04
Sixth time we have travelled south. We booked this vacation on July 25, 2011 and for some reason had no room when we arrived. First time booking through itravel2000. We were moved to Montego Bay Decameron. Overall we made the most out of it. Clean resort, average amenities, good view of ocean, good management and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful staff
The weak points
We lost a day being displaced and having to move to another resort.
Certified

NOT HAPPY

, Woodbridge, ON
2011-04-19
The Resort was very nice the rooms on the other hand were pathetic so small you could not even move around or even place your suitcases anywhere the kin size bed took up the whole room the room smelled of mold very dirty [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the Resort was all that was nice about this place
The weak points
Very Unhappy
Certified

We loved the unique design of this great resort!

, Saskatoon, SK
2011-03-10
The RDCC is a great resort. Rather than the typical hotel structure, the resort has over 100 cottages situated on the well-kept grounds. Having our own cottage was a really unique all-inclusive experience; we loved it.

Also a first for us was the beach design. There were 4 breakwaters which effectively divided the beach into 5 seperate areas all of which had a cozy feel to them rather than the great expanse of one huge beach.

The bar staff was extremely efficient; I never waited in line at the bar for more than 2 minutes before I was served. There were 3 bars along the beach (and there may have been one over by the quiet pool but we never went over there). There was a bar recently built on the beach at the west end of the resort where we spent most of our days. It was almost deserted so it was like having your own personal bartender.

The main bar was usually quite busy throughout the day and especially at night. The Jetty Bar has 8 swings attached to the structure which are quite comfortable; they're pretty spaced out so you and your spouse can't both be in one and still have a conversation but we still typically chose to hang out at this bar in the evenings. It was extremely cool to have ocean on three sides.

The food was really good. The main buffet was available for all three meals and then turned into the late-night snack counter at around 11pm. We regularly got a table overlooking the ocean with the waves lapping the shore only a few metres away. It was a beautiful place to eat.

The Jasmine restaurant at the east end of the resort was really good for lunch and was typically quite empty. In the evening, it became one of the a-la-cartes which, while we were there, alternated between Asian and Jamaican food. The second a-la-carte upstairs near the main buffet was closed for renovations while we were there. It looked like it would have had a really good view.

The activities seemed to be haphazardly run. This may have something to do with the Jamaican culture of nothing ever being a problem; they didn't get too excited about making things happen. It had been red- and yellow-flag days for the first 5 days of our vacation so there were no watersports and the floating trampoline broke free of its moorings; when the weather turned nice, there was no rush to get that thing back in water. Oh well, no problem, man.

The RDCC is situated in the tiny village of Salem which doesn't have much to offer so any time you want to do something off the resort, it'll take a bus ride to do it; Ocho Rios was only a 1/2 hour away so we went there a couple of times; the market there was good but the vendors unbelievably pushy. The shops, particularly the jewelry stores, had spectacular prices. Our second trip to Ocho Rios was to check out Dunn's River Falls - a must see if you're in the area. The vendors set up near the parking lot there made the ones in town look meek. We were literally dragged into shops.

Overall, I was very impressed with this resort. The staff was friendly and polite and the resort wonderfully designed. I highly recommend it. If you go, seek out Jermome the bartender to pour your drinks; he's hillarious and makes a great Coco Loco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cottages are really cool and the grounds very well kept. It's a beautiful location.
The weak points
The resort is located in Salem and you have to take a bus to do anything off of the resort.
Certified

Casual resort for the realistic traveller

, Sarnia, ON
2011-03-03
We found this resort to be very relaxed & casual, with friendly staff. The landscaping is beautiful and the grounds and beach are kept very clean.

The food was good (not gourmet by any means)with some local dishes and some geared to the North American taste.

There are cats on this resort, so if your are a cat lover, they are by the Jasmine Delta restaurant at the far right on the beach. They are skittish and hide under the bushes, but they will come out for food and water. Please keep them fed because the staff would prefer that they were not there.

If you are a reasonable traveller not expecting 5 star amenities, then we feel that this is a good choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful landscaping, friendly staff and great beach with lots of quiet spaces.
The weak points
Long drive from the airport (2 hours with drop-offs at other resorts).
Certified

Wonderful

, Lower Sackville, NS
2011-01-08
Wonderful hotel, great staff. Will return. This was my fourth trip to this hotel, and it always exceeds my expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location, cleanliness
The weak points
Needs a little updating
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Bedford, NS
2010-05-04
We arrived late at night and at first were a bit disappointed by the entrance-way after dropping off some guests at the Grand Bahia a few minutes earlier. That was the only let down of the trip, and of course it really doesn't matter how "grand" the entrance is.

This is a small resort with a loyal staff many of whom have been there for years. Can't say enough about the excellent staff here - they seem genuinely anxious to know each guest and we never felt like they were only working for a tip. The "Fun Crew" go out of their way to include everyone both during the daytime activities as well as during the evening after dinner entertainment show.

There are plenty of loungers by the pools and beach areas, and no need to "reserve" a spot - ever! Free rides on the glass bottom boat to see the reefs up close and view underwater wrecks. Also no charges for the paddle boats, kayaks, snorkel gear, or Hobie Cat sailboats.

We would not hesitate to visit the Royal Decameron again, and will plan to do just that next winter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff
The weak points
Beaches not as great as some other resorts.
Certified

Not impressed

, Newmarket, ON
2010-03-24
After reading the many great reviews for the Royal Decameron Club Carribbean in Runaway Bay Jamaica, my wife and I decided to book our vacation at this resort. Our reason for booking the trip was two-fold. We are both teachers and wanted to get away for the March break but we also considered this trip as our long awaited honeymoon. We were married in July but this was the only opportunity both time wise and financially that we could get away. We were very excited about this much anticipated vacation. However, we were very disappointed with our accommodations. The rooms were incredibly small and very run-down. The "courtyard rooms" were located in what seemed to be the staff quarters (staff rooms on top, guest rooms on the bottom). We did not see a description of the room decor and/or size online. We could barely fit our suitcases in the room. We asked for a larger room, but we were told that March break was the busiest week of the year and therefore there were no larger rooms available. However, guests staying next to us, were also disappointed with their room and they were easily upgraded to a cottage. To add to our disappointment, the main pool was closed for renovations for the last 4 days of our vacation. If March break was apparently "the busiest week of the year", why would they choose to close the pool during that week. We found this to be inconvenient and unacceptable. It's very frustrating to have saved up all these months for a honeymoon only to be disappointed with many aspects of our resort.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. This is not our first time travelling to the Caribbean with Nolitours. We did not expect this service from what we thought was a reputable company. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jamaican weather
The weak points
Brutally small room and pool closed most of the week.
Certified

RDCC - Jamaica

, London, ON
2010-03-15
Overall, our experience was what we expected. Our room was basic, food was excellent. Staff, for the most part, were very friendly. Mind you, a couple of the bar staff wouldn't give you the time of day unless you were throwing dollar bills at them each time you ordered a drink. As far as the accommodations, if they spent a bit more time on the inside of the rooms as they did on the exterior grounds, they may have a few more happier guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendliness of staff, food
The weak points
interior of rooms
Certified

Silvia kalpakian

, Markham, ON
2010-03-08
very disapointed this time.
arrived at 11 am at hotel and was no room available.
why would you have me fly at 6 am to get there at 11 am knowing i wont have a room.
had to get to airport at 3 am travelled 4 hours and ppl at the front desk did not seem to care how tired you are.
they finally gave me a room at 2.30, but was last room on the 3rd floor, too long of a walk daily.
asked to be moved around to a room closer to elevator no can do.
had to get manager of hotel to get involved to get me a room close to elevator, and he did it in no time.
I have several names of staff that manager wanted me to send him a writen report by email he was going to take care of it.
noli tour rep could hardly speak english no comunication there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rude staff at front desk except for 1 employee named Nolan
The weak points
need to work on the customer service and food
Certified

Wow

, Winnipeg, MB
2010-03-02
While we were somewhat leary about the rooms we would have we were pleasantly suprised.We spent 7 nights in the courtyard rooms which suited us perfectly. The entertainment crew live in the top floor and were friendly when passing, yet gave you your space as we tried to give them. All aspects of the resort were positive. It was the perfect get away for us as we prefer being away from the high tourism areas.The small town nearby was very peaceful. Being a person who is a clean freak I was extremely happy with the cleanliness of not only our room but with the whole resort. We also felt safe and well looked after the whole time. The employees make this resort what it is...welcoming, peaceful,attentive, friendly, very proffesional yet personal. The entertainment was a wonderful suprise and so much fun. It truly felt like paradise. We are the outdoors type and only changed, showered and slept in our rooms so enjoyed the beautiful gardens, beaches and jetties to the fullest. Having worked in the food industry I was most impressed with the safe handling, freshness, variety and very healthy choices. The water is very clean and fine to drink from the tap. Best coffee ever! It was very hard to leave and we know we'll be back. There were patrons there that have been going up to 20 years and I can see why. I could go on forever but WOW sums it up. Diamond in the rough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room and grounds cleanliness, safety, staff, food, entertainment, activities and above all the staff. Not a t.v. person but if you are there was pleantly of channels.
The weak points
Some minor repairs needed to the rooms but looked like that was being done. If looking for prestine, luxurious rooms to laze about you may be disapointed. Some may prefer long public beaches.
Certified

Good value for the money

, Moose Jaw, SK
2010-02-23
We enjoyed our time at Decameron Caribbean. They pour VERY strong drinks. This could be considered good or bad depending on your point of view!!! Loved the cottage we stayed in although it was a bit of a walk to the restaurant etc. There were so many different areas to hang out, it was easy to find the place to fit your mood. The main pool area has activities going on almost all the time, if you like that sort of thing. There is also a adults only quiet pool, they don t even play music. The jetty bar with the swings was a good place to strike up conversations with the bartenders or your fellow guests. They also have a nice seating area at the end of the jetty where you can listen to music and relax. They have big mattresses for lounging at the end of the jetty and by one of the beaches. It was only sunny for two days the week we were there so access to the water sports was limited. We did go out in the boat and go snorkeling nearby which was quite nice and was included. I would recommend this resort to families or couples looking for a quiet time. It was not a big party place despite the strong drinks (in fact, my theory was they just wanted to get you drunk so you would go back to your room!) We did the Dunns River Falls climb which looks more intimidating than it actually is and was well worth doing. Food was OK, if a little repetitive, but I think all all-inclusives are like that. The jerk chicken is amazing! All-in-all, definately worth the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cottages were fun to be in. Very nice to have the feeling of being in your own little beach hut but also having a nice bathroom and cable TV. The gardens were lovely.
The weak points
Location on the north coast meant that it was often quite windy so the water was choppy. No long beaches to stroll down.
Certified

BEST Vacation ever

, Winnipeg, MB
2010-02-13
We have been going to Mexico for the past 4 years, this was our Best, and enjoyable Vacation. We look forward to going to the Decameron Carribean for 2 weeks next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, the beach, the entertainment, you feel alive,the staff, how clean everything was kept, the room, the beach, the bar, you saw how often everything was washed and sanatized,and raked .We loved our little hut, we enjoyed everything.
The weak points
We didn t the internet so we can t comment on that.We loved our Garden hut,and location.For people who expect the marbel floors and marbel counters,wrong resort.The huts were very clean and comfortable don t forget what a vacation really is,to get away.
Certified

DeCameron Caribbean

, London, ON
2010-01-25
For a three star hotel ,it was awesome. It s the staff at this hotel that made it for us.Bartenders,Maids,Restaurant Staff,Front Desk and the Gym staff. The morning that we were leaving (We had a 6:55 A.M. departure from the hotel,the Restaurant Manager came to us and asked if we would like them to make us a breakfast) They weren t even open! They try really hard to please their guests. The hotel needs an upgrading and a freshening up but we found the food to be beyond what we had anticipated.The nightly shows were what you would expect for a three star.(Some improvment needed)We loved the gym ,Errol (The person in charge of the gym should receive a huge raise !) He is a totally awesome guy.Both my husband and I went to the gym every day and he was so........helpful.
We ve stayed at 5 star resorts and with this holiday have had just as an enjoyable time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
gym,food,staff and overall atmosphere
The weak points
Beach and overall look
Certified

I wish we would have cancelled!

, Edmonton, AB
2010-01-05
I truly believe in being honest with people and I speak straight from the heart, if you have booked this resort I strongly suggest you consider cancelling.

Before booking our vacation to Decameron at Runaway Bay we read every review on trip advisor and thought that the majoritiy of the people who have stayed here were very pleased. So we booked. My husband and I have travelled the world and let me tell you I wish we could erase this experience from our memories it was that terrible.

Where to begin. When we arrived it was at approximately 3pm when check in time is and we were told that they did not have a cottage for us in which we booked. We read many peoples comments about them trying this stunt on people and of course it happened to us. Well let me tell you, after I spoke up loudly and said you better get our travel agent Air Canada Vacations on the phone, we were told we would have a cottage in an hour. I shouldn't have to threaten a hotel to get what we paid for.

The food is not even acceptable. Breakfast was alright, however for snacks, lunch and dinner was worth passing on. If you are counting on variety this is not the place as well as quality of food. Whatever you do, if you do consider going do NOT expect service. There is just no such thing.

The rooms are dated, and to be honest I have no idea how they could be even rated as a 3 1/2 star. There was mold in our bathroom and we never had hot water the entire time we were there and that was for 10 days.... 10 days I wish I could get back of my life. If you are looking for peace and quiet you will not find it there. I truly believe that no matter where you are on that resort you always hear noise no matter what time of the day.

The beach is being constructed while I was there. Loud heavy duty machines were building up the beach. Please I did not spend that kind of money to experience that. The sea at this resort is nothing like the pictures. It is not even blue unless you go out far, it is brown.

At the bar we always noticed that they did NOT wash the glasses. They would put them in a sink and just ran water over them. There was a sign on the sink that said do not use tap water. Guess what, they were using tap water. Truly unsanitary.

The entertainment is always the same group of men singing during the day and in the evening is it usually a flop. They had dancers on stage and the music would stop and they would have to keep dancing. Or the guy playing the music would just keep letting the song repeat again and again.

The last thing that every traveller should take away from this is......we used our credit card twice and both times it was at the resort. Once when we checked in and the other was when we booked an excursion with the resort. We had a message from the credit card fraud department when we got home that someone used our card number and racked up serious charges on it at different countries. THAT IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

I know this sounds harsh but I want all of you to be aware of what this resort is truly like. While we were there, we counstantly heard the same complaints from other people staying there and we saw a lot of people fighting with the management of this resort and they were not getting anything resolved. CANCEL if you can.

P.S. The boat for the activities at the resort was broken and the one day it did work, we had booked it and then we were told when we showed up for the glass bottom boat that it was cancelled because they guy didn't feel like going out. Give me a break. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
See Review
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Dartmouth, NS
2009-07-01
We had a great time at this resort. It has many watersports and activities included onsite, as well as quiet areas to just sit back and relax. The cottages are cozy and comfortable. The resort is secure and does not have vendors on the resort, as there were on our vacation to the Dominican. This was our first trip to Jamacia, and we were not quite sure what to expect, but ve were pleasantly suprised, and we look forward to returnng soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The private beaches were wonderful, as well as all of the activities provided. The jetty bar was a favorite, and the grounds were beautifully kept. The maids and staff were very freindly. The food was incredible, with a large variety to select from.
The weak points
No complaints, other than we couldn't stay longer!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020