Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

4.284.284.284.284.28
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
#1 of 7 hotels in Runaway Bay
4.28 based on 115 reviews
Traveller pictures (19)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Birthday at the beach.

, Grimsby, ON
2019-03-28
Beautiful resort, great weather, friendly staff and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing views from ocean view rooms. The grounds and buildings are immaculate. Friendly staff. Rodizio a la carte is fabulous. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas at the beach and pool.
The weak points
The 2 Asian restaurants were very under whelming. Wifi was spotty. Bars closed too early.
Certified

Awsome as usual

, Yarker, ON
2019-03-15
This was our 3rd visit to the GB resort area, 1st time to the adults only Luxury side. Accommodations did not disappoint, nor did the staff, service, amenities etc. Very large rooms, beautiful bathrooms, great views. Food was above excellent in the buffet, only tried one restaurant.

We have been to this resort before so knew what to expect from the beach and the man made beach area, which is an awesome place to snorkel in shallow water right from shore, behind a protected break wall.
We enjoyed the 2 new pool areas for the adults only, lovely shade cabanas, lots of chairs and umbrellas, pool side waiter service, and the best part, no reserving chairs before 9 am unless your butt is parked in the chair.. So if you jumped out of bed at 630 to save your fav. spot then went back to bed, guess what , your stuff if sitting over by the towel shack and your chairs are gone, and it is enforced, so it's great. After 9:00 am, no problem, you can come down, grab your chair then off to a wonderful breakfast. If you come down earlier, you must stay in your chair...no problem for us earlier risers that like to sit and read a book while nice and quiet with a large cup of coffee from your room.

Only problem we had was the air conditioner. We had a room on the top floor, and unfortunately the sun beats down on the roof too much there and the room was always hot. We had maintenance up every day, they tried adjusting the sensor in the patio door, then they disconnected it, then they found a broken coil. Eventually gave up and they brought us a huge fan. They offered to give us a new room, but the ones on the same floor were not any cooler and it was already more than 1/2 way thru our holiday, so we just used the big fan we had. Helped but not cool like our friends who were on a lower floor and they had to turn their AC off at night as it was too cool. The staff tried hard to fix it, the Guest Services Manager assisted , even the Assistant Hotel Manager, but no go. I must admit they tried hard and certainly did not ignore our daily complaints of "no ac yet". So don't ask for a room on the top floor, they need to put stronger AC units on that level...

Only other area, that I did not personally like is the LACK of a usable beach in front of the Luxury section. They have made a tiny little sandy beach area behind the break wall, but unfortunately the water in this area only gets to about waist high if you are short.. not a walking beach either. I was disappointed as I had been told that they made a beach out front for the adults.. they did, but not really. However, if you want a bigger private beach, just walk over to the left about 10mins to the beach of the Gran Bahia and voila. Or you can ride the free golf cart train that takes the luxury adults around.

But despite the AC issue, we certainly enjoyed our holiday and would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.
Front desk staff and management were great. Cleaning staff were good, always left little chocolates on our bed at night, We even had a wonderful Butler Simone, who popped in every day with ice and to see if we needed anything.
Wifi, free in this section and available everywhere, but a bit of a pain, you had to log in every 24hrs..

Highly recommend to others, and FYI.. I am a travel agent, so yes I have sent lots of my clients here and will continue to send them here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, accommodations, pools, drinks
The weak points
Entertainment in adults only a bit sad, more live music would have been better. Poor to non existent air conditioning on the 7th floor, Beach... just a bit of sand and knee high water
Certified

What a wonderful holiday that was....

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-06
This was my first time in Jamaica and I can honestly say that it exceeded my expectations.
Very friendly, professional customer service that made me feel very welcome and warm. Every time I would pass the staff in the hallway , by the swimming pool or restaurant they would greet me with a friendly hello with a smile.
Clean rooms, nicely stocked fresh towels and replaced toiletry.
We bought a trip to Dunns River Falls for Wednesday. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling well and the manager accommodated me by changing it to another day. I didn't think it would be possible.
It was great and entertaining every evening and day. Fun , fun, fun...
Great foam party in the swimming pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Jamaican Escape

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-19
Have been to a variety of 5 star resorts in Caribbean but this one falls short. Located essentially on the highway, you have choice of road noise or pool noise. It takes time to understand layout since you can not get from lobby to pool / beach are without going through corridors with rooms.
Lobby bar has outdoor seating but it faces highway and the 'fogging' for bugs at dusk forces people to leave. The bar itself can't handle number of people, and after 6:00 PM, it is the only option. Frequently went to the non adult Bahia hotel to get a drink before dinner as it was larger and had better service.
Rooms nice, but no spare electrical outlets - must disconnect light etc to recharge anything. While the rooms were well cleaned daily, the Housekeeping service was frequently very late - after 5:00 PM resulting in frequently lack of towels, shampoo, bathmats etc to replace previously used items.
Grounds and exterior appearance are beautiful. Both quiet and active pool areas with lots of chairs and shade when needed. Beach areas small although sand area to walk and beach sports is good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Courtesy and friendliness of staff - everyone very friendly. Grounds and visuals of hotel Food and ease to book a la carte dinners online
The weak points
Housekeeping, bar service, forced to resign in to wifi every 24 hours but good reception, lack of spare electric outlets in room
Certified

BEST VACATION EVER !!!!

, Lasalle, QC
2019-01-27
Amazing resort ! They have absolutely everything . Food is great , the site is super clean , employees are friendly , pool and beach parties , talented DJs , a live reggae band , I can go on and on . If you want to chill you can and if you want to party and hang out - this is place is for you . Even the shops are cool . At night , you can take a shuttle to the village . Karaoke and dance club . There's always something going on and always something to do . Be sure to check the activities sign so you know what's going on each night .

You have access to the Grand side which has a beautiful beach with white sand and clear blue water . There is a beach at the luxury side but it's worth the walk to the Grand .

Our room - gorgeous ,comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the beach and pool.
Quite private as well on the balcony .

The staff treated us with white gloves . TIP : Call the concierge and not 0 for anything you're missing in your room .

Super sonic shoutout to Latoya and Alex !

Probably the best vacation we've taken to date .
We will be back ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
I have no negative comments .
Certified

Luxury Runway Bay

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-25
Runway Bay is a beautiful resort. My bad experience started when I reserved four rooms all on the same room and when I get there one room was given to someone else and move me to another floor. We were there to celebrate 60th birthday.
Food was good. Staff very friendly
Do not recommend if you are going with big family because they scatter you all over instead of putting your group together. Would not go back to this resort. Need to improve on their entertainment. Went to other resort with much better entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is very good and staff very friendly.
The weak points
Entertainment need to improve. Grand Bahia is better resort. I went to other resort where they have live music in the lobby not at the poolside and it rain out.
Certified

Mediocre at best

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
This hotel is clean with beautiful grounds. The food is ok at best. The hotel is lacking friendly customer service. Don't save yourself a spot by the pool either or the hotel staff confinscates your belongings and takes them to the pool house.
The beach is small and not the prettiest of views for the ocean. We normally like to spend my time at the ocean but due to the rocky/ painful sand and the minimal area to swim, we didn't sit there at all.
The rooms were very clean but we both have very sore backs from the bed.
I would not call this hotel a 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-11
This resort was just good - I wasn't really wowed by anything here. For the price we paid for a luxury resort we were actually expecting a bit more. The rooms were clean and spacious but our tub was broken and would not drain properly. Housekeeping was hit or miss, the first 2 nights they did not clean our room at all. Overall the staff were nice but nobody really stood out. They do not carry straws at any of the bars or restaurants so be sure to bring your own containers as their cups are also quite small. The food was good for the most part, lots of a la carte dining options and they did not enforce a strict dress code. Overall the place was good but next time I would try a different resort. I would suggest only booking if it was on sale. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi was reliable, grounds were nice, lots of lounge chairs available, many dining options.
The weak points
The beach was shallow and rocky, everything including the pool closed early, housekeeping was inconsistent.
Certified

Great staff and service!

, Brampton, ON
2018-10-18
We had a wonderful stay at the resort with no issues whatsoever.

The staff were all extremely friendly, polite, and very professional. One thing that I really noticed was that they didn't act like they were hungry for tips. They took tips graciously if given but in no way did I ever feel like it was expected of us! The resort clearly enacts some professionalism protocols as we were always asked to go ahead if sharing an elevator with staff, for example.

Our room was great! No issues whatsoever. It was cleaned if we put he "please clean" sign up. If we had the do not disturb sign up, they did a courtesy knock (if the sign was off the door) in the evening to see if we needed anything stocked up, or they would do a courtesy call if the sign was on the door.

The buffet was delicious with a fabulous variety of healthy and not so healthy vacation guilty pleasures. We did a few à la carte restaurants which were a nice change. Some of them weren't any better than the buffet (Picasso, Garden Grill), and some of them were definitely a treat (Mikado Tepanyaki, Rodizio, Don Pablo)!

The beaches were nice, but I much preferred hanging out at the pool as the bar was closer and the entertainment was lively. Raymond at the Luxury pool bar was a constant highlight of our day, always boisterously serving our drinks!

A great trip all around!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Good food. Extremely clean.
The weak points
Internet is sometimes unreliable - who cares, it's vacation!
Certified

Would visit again

, Oshawa, ON
2018-06-05
Second time there and again it didn't disappoint.
Check-in at 9:00 PM was a breeze. Front desk staff told us to visit the buffet before it closed and we could pick up our bags when we had finished eating.
Rooms are spacious and spotless. Bar fridge was stocked daily. Small dickie (half a mickie) bottles of rum and vodka were replenished daily as well. Balcony was enormous with 2 chairs, table and 2 loungers.
Pools were clean and large. Had to wait till 10:00 one day to use one of them as the overnight staff had over chlorinated and we had to wait till it burned off. Plenty of loungers but shy on umbrellas. Shady spots were at a premium around 11:00. Lots of folks saving chairs but not showing up till later in the afternoon. The hotel were addressing but seemed to go after the wrong people as well. We went down at 7, placed towels/personal items on chairs and went up for a shower. 10 minutes later, my wife told me that staff had picked up everyone's item. When i asked the manager he said that everything was picked up between 7 & 8. I pointed out that the buffet opens at 7 and several people had drop off items and went for breakfast. We complied for the rest of the week however they need to monitor more for chairs covered all day and no one there.
Las Olas, the pool buffet stood out as a great place for breakfast and lunch. All the staff were amazing and incredible helpful. Denton, Cruse and Jordian were standouts. Fitzroy, the jerk chef, served succulent jerk chicken and pork, on a daily basis, and has a fantastic attitude as well.
Main buffet was always good and had daily different ethnic specials. A la cartes, were good but not overly impressive. Visited Don Pablo, Garden Grill and Mikado to mixed reviews. Should have just eaten at the buffet and saved bringing along a pair of long pants.
Wi-fi was spotty at best. Had to constantly log back on.
Entertainment was good. Steel drum band was excellent as well as the Michael Jackson show. Same ones as last year however. Entertainment and bars, with the exception of the lobby bar, shut down at 11. For those wanting to party, the nightclub in the Village (family side of resort) opened at 11 and closed at 2.
Experienced some hiccups but the pros outweighed the cons and wouldn't hesitate to visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food. Nice & clean pool area. Clean room. Huge balcony.
The weak points
Beach for Luxury side beach is just a wading pool sheltered by a tall break-wall. Long walk to family side beach.
Certified

Would go back if the price is right

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-30
Very good resort, big difference between family and adult area. Beach is nicer in the family area but a lot to walk.
Bus from the airport aprox 1:15 hr, check in didn't take long. We e-mailed in advance and asked for higher floor, corner room - got 3rd floor close to the end but not corner. The view of the pool and ocean was amazing so no complaints (room 25234). A lot of walking to the buffet,, but close to the beach and pool. Las Olas beach restaurant was all we needed most days.
The ladies that would come on the beach to take your order for drinks were always smiling and nice. I didn't see any of the staff acting different with people that gave tips vs people that didn't.
Room was spotless, our cleaning lady made sure to ask if we need anything. One day we told her that we don't need cleaning and we had to sign a sheet to prove that. Once they forgot to bring coffee to the room and once we had only 1 hand towel. No facecloths, we had one first day but it wasn't an issue for us. We were on vacation
Food was good, a la carte we only tried Rodizio and loved it. It was too hot to wear long pants at night just to go eat so we went to the buffet instead.
I found that because it's such a big resort, everything is far and they don't have enough carts. From this point of view Ambar in Punta Cana is way more organized.
Lobby was crowded at night, we stayed always outside where we could smoke. Went to the pool show and another one, both ok. Everything closes at 11, which we found strange in all adults only resorts.
We did 2 trips, one from the resort and one with a private driver. Both great.
Last day we tried for a late check out but front desk was not helpful,(I didn't find them too helpful from the beginning), so instead of getting upset at the end - we all know that when there is a will, there is a way - we chose to check out at 10am, had all day by the beach, lunch, shower next to the lobby and be ready for the bus transfer.
In conclusion, it was our first trip to Jamaica, we went with an open mind, looked only for the good in everything and we had a blast! I would go back in a heartbeat! We love BP hotels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spotless resort, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, sunset / sunrise
The weak points
Beach would be nice but water is too shallow, blocked by rocks. Not good for swimming. Also room service takes about 45 min for anything. Not enough carts and everything is far.
Certified

Hotel and Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-29
I had a great experience at the Luxury Bahia Principe. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very clean and has a Butler Service available and 24 hr. room service. The property is split into two sides, a Grand side and a Luxury side. Luxury guests have access to the entire property whereas Grand guests can access the Luxury side for an additional daily fee. The resort has a good selection of a la carte restaurants that range from Asian Fusion to Italian and a buffet that offers a large selection of foods as well as an area dedicated to Jamaican foods. The resort is rather large so be prepared to do a bit of walking, especially if you aim to spend some time on the beach on the Grand side. The beach is a natural beach and does have access to a segregated Nude - Adults Only beach. Luxury guests however, have a man-made beach that is protected by a break wall and isn't very large. The pools wrap around the property and is cleaned nightly. The pools are vacuumed every morning and the decks are washed nightly.

The Resort offers nightly entertainment as well and for the added cost of staying on the Luxury side, you can also ask for premium brand liquors and spirits. Grand guest may ask for them as well but of course comes at an additional cost. Wifi on site can be unreliable. We found that it's difficult to connect while on the beach and inside some buildings and in our room as well. Food on the Resort was always well made and flavourful and the staff are very prompt when making sure that selections don't run out for too long. The buffet also offers made to order omelettes in the mornings and a pasta station for lunch and dinner.

Overall, I had a great relaxing experience and would definitely come back for another stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the staff, cleanliness, and access to premium liquors and spirits.
The weak points
The WiFi and the beach for Luxury Guests.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-02
We had a great vacation here with no complaints about anything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service around the pool deck which is actually quite large and spacious. Food and service in all restaurants was excellent.
The weak points
The beach is definitely the weakest point of the resort.
Certified

First visit

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-04-23
Hotel is beautiful, very clean, including our room and all public areas. The food was delicious and great variety. The beach was very small and shallow. The pool has exceptional daily entertainment. Only went to two a la carte restaurants. The Grill had a wonderful surf and turf and the Japanese had the best cooking show, service and awesome food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was delicious Pool daily entertainment was superb Cleanliness was above expectations
The weak points
Very small beach Recognition of guests by staff needs improvement, not all were friendly and outgoing as we expected Our air conditioning unit was not as cool as wanted
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

, Whitby, ON
2018-04-02
What an INCREDIBLE hotel!!
The grounds are gorgeous, rooms exceptional and HUGE!
Resort is big, but enjoyable to walk and explore!
Cannot say enough great things about the staff, they are wonderful, personable and genuinely caring and loving! <3
Always something to do! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are the best! Beach and pool areas - so clean and beautiful Food - delicious everywhere we ate
The weak points
sometimes bar service was slow, but did NOT affect my stay! They were very busy and very hard working! Wifi was not very good, connect one day and not the next, even in the lobby.
Certified

Jamaica Get Away

, Waterloo, ON
2018-04-02
Overall the hotel was clean and well kept. You could se maintenance crews working in the background and they were all friendly with a Smile or HELLO, as you passed. We asked for a Pool view and we did book early so we paid a bit more than the people that booked early January - February. Building 25/26 are the best to stay in with POOL VIEW. We asked a few times by Email for pool view and to book dinner reservations but were told they can not do that. It was disappointing looking at the Road and Garden but we did not spend that much time there anyway. I found this property easier to maneuver than the Dominican property. Things were laid out much better.

Staff were always willing to help and very friendly.

Meals were excellent of the buffets and A La Carte we tried. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Friendly Staff - Excellent Food - Good Service - Wi Fi on the beach - Clean - Safe
The weak points
- Ran out of Grey Goose for a few days - Ran out of 12 Yr old Appleton's Rum - Ran out of Diet Coke one night and I had to use by Mini Bar stock. --> this was also why we picked the Luxury side so this type of thing would not happen
Certified

Awesome vacation

, Laval, QC
2018-03-28
Our stay at the Luxury Bahia, was everything we could have asked for and more. The luxury side has large bright modern rooms in the newer buildings 25-26-27. These rooms are much nicer than on the Grand side. The best feature was our wrap around balcony (corner). The food was amazing, the entertainment and staff also amazing. No kids- amazing. The beach unfortunately not as nice as on the Grand side, but that didn't stop us from going over to the Grand. The only complaint that I do have, is that there are not enough umbrellas. The pool area is quite large and could easily accommodate some more umbrellas and chairs. Shade was hard to find. Other than that, had a great time at a great place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely clean resort, excellent food and drinks, luxurious
The weak points
Not enough lounge chairs and umbrellas.
Certified

Best time

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-26
Had a fabulous time. The best resort I have been at. Would go again and have never said that about any other place I have stayed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great staff were extremely friendly
The weak points
Not enough signage for such a large resort
Certified

Vacay 2018

, Mississauga, ON
2018-03-12
This is a mega resort very large, grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed on adults only luxury side. Rooms very nice no issues with housekeeping, towels, water pressure and restocking of mini fridge. Food quality and quantity good. We ate at 4 a la cartes, we enjoyed all but Asian but that's personal preference. Pools very nice, entertainment both day and night very busy. The only negatives for us at this resort was the beach. If you are looking for a stretch of white sand beach this is not the resort for you. The other complaint is they run out of premium liquor (they don't really run out someone just has to go get it!) overall we enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, rooms, pools and service.
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Great Time at The Luxury Bahia Principe

, Richmond Hill, ON
2018-03-09
I went as a single traveler. Adults only resort with quiet areas or chance to have fun and participate in activities. Lots of A La Cartes to eat at. Book as soon as you arrive to get reservations. Always lots of choice at buffets. Jerk Chicken and Jerk Pork for lunch everyday was awesome. Staff very friendly especially entertainment staff. Access to Grand Bahia resort for disco and sports bar if you want to party later. Premium drinks are included. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff. Great Rooms. Great food. Good deal for the money.
The weak points
Beach is small and shallow.
Certified

NEVER AGAIN WILL WE STAY HERE

, Brampton, ON
2018-02-22
Check in – DISASTER—not sure what VIP treatment is to them but I think we got the opposite, we arrived around 1:00pm so once we got our arm bands we were told rooms aren't ready to 3:00pm so go get some lunch and come back at 3:00pm, not a problem we had our bathing suites in our carry on, we went grabbed some lunch and then had a swim and went up to the lobby at 3:30pm for the keys, told it wasn't ready give them 10 minutes, ok gave them 20 minutes, then told another 10 minutes, then told another 25 minutes, by this time I had enough of this game, it was 4:45 before we started up to our room, after being up at 3:00am we didn't appreciate the run around, our entire plane had their rooms as ours was the only luggage left waiting. They said check in is 3:00pm well 2 hours later I've given enough time. We asked for a room on the top floor got the 3rd floor, I know that's not their control, in our room both times in Punta Cana we got a bag with t shirts, mugs and champagne, others we spoke to in Jamaica got theirs, we didn't… So first impression wasn't a great start for us. We couldn't get logged in to WIFI as they didn't have us a booked in, despite being in our rooms, couldn't book any dinners as same thing, so had to get that sorted out… Not to mention upon the meet and greet the Air Transat rep told us the resort was full and they had to ship people off to other resorts… How do you over book a hotel!

Second day our room wasn't made up at all until at 5:30pm we phoned down demanding it be done, of course it was rushed and not done properly.. again so much for VIP service.

They had a auto parts conference arrive on Sunday… 300 people it was insane, way too busy and the staff couldn't keep up, still waiting for our drinks we ordered poolside on Sunday morning...LOL...our fridge wasn't stocked half the time until we phoned down, getting a chair around the pool was impossible, unless you got up early to reserve/save, which by the way was right on the pool rules board that you CAN NOT reserve/save chairs, then people were reserving/saving and not coming to those chairs until 3 pm, when we inquired at the front desk about this, we were told to complain to the life guards, who directed us to the front desk, getting the run around, there were a lot of people complaining about the same thing. We were lucky to get 2 reservations to the restaurants, rest all booked up..all because our WiFi would not work as previously mentioned...

Mike seen our butler once, and only because he ran into her in the hallway and recognized her name...unlike in Punta Cana your assigned a butler and they phone daily, come to the pool area book your reservations, not here…

Mike was not impressed with the selection of food or as he said, lack of selection and he is not normally a picky eater...as for me I enjoyed the food but as most resort buffets, the food was luke warm at best...have to say, we got married at Couples Negril and Mike & I both enjoyed the food there immensely...makes you wonder

While the new part of the resort we were in, the rooms are nice and updated, their check in is horrible and the attitude of the front desk was terrible, every night they had no small change, but if I walked over to the family part they did.. the staff away from the front desk are amazing and very friendly, but we didn't like the fact we waited almost 4 hours for our room when everyone else had theirs, not to mention day of leaving we had to be out of the room by 8:30am for 9:20am pick up, so they should have plenty of time to have rooms prepared for new guests.

I think we are done with this chain… 3 times going to their resorts you would think you would get better service, BTW not sure who Gavin is or was never seen him once… [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
in general the staff except for the front desk staff were very friendly
The weak points
overall the food was luke warm and no variety..nothing was done about chair hogs that save chairs night before and don't show up till 3-4pm...staff ignored our complaints until the last day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Peterborough, ON
2018-01-14
Stayed at LGBP Jan 5-12/18 for 1st Wedding Anniversary. Building 26 on 4th floor in a sea view room. Great view of sea and pool. Room was spotless and king bed was very comfortable. Did not use the butler service. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Double sinks were a plus, as was the wonderful rain shower showerhead. Buffet offered a great selection of food and the poolside smaller buffet had incredible jerk chicken. All staff were always happy to help no matter what you needed. As others have mentioned, the lobby bar is very busy and closes early compared to the family section. Beach area is clean and calm. No need for water shoes, but some areas are rocky and you can easily maneuver around these spots. Pool area is huge and some areas are more quiet than others if you don't want the louder activities of the animation team. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beach is clean, water is clear, chairs always available - Food at buffet has great selection - Sea View Rooms' cleanliness - Staff very helpful - Pool is clean and lots of chairs always available - Pool service is great.
The weak points
- Lobby bar crowded and closes early - No 24 hour bar/snack bar - Bartenders do not prepare drinks consistently. - No staged area in luxury side to view the shows - Room cleaned at different times than requested - Mini Bar not always replenished
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

, Cambridge, ON
2017-12-27
Very nice experience. Luxury side is adults only, Grand Bahia Principe next door is family friendly. Numerous restaurants. Beautiful pool. Beach is nice, behind stone break wall. Very clean. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, very relaxing. Food was good, especially in specialty restaurants like the Mikado for its Teppanyaki experience.
The weak points
Pool closed at sundown, which was 5:30 in December. Entertainment is moderate.
Certified

Great resort

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-01
The rooms are luxurious. I like that the bathroom has a shower and bathtub. All staff was friendly and went out of their way to help you. Food was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff. Food and drinks Different restaurants to try
The weak points
Cold water was out for 24 hours
Certified

Wonderful time!

, Markham, ON
2017-06-26
The staff caters to your requests. The venues are clean and well appointed. Entertainment was enjoyable and the disco lots of fun. Be prepared for lots of exercise as the Grand staircase is a workout in itself :-) There is lots to do on site. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk staff at both Luxury and Grand, Entertainment,
The weak points
Room service.
Certified

Great holiday

, Richmond, BC
2017-02-25
We would strongly recommend taking the LUXURY option for the small amount of cost. The extras were more than worth the small extra charge.
If you read any negative comments it is usually regarding the Grand lesser option [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, food and hospitality
The weak points
Poor deserts in the specialty restuarants
Certified

Not a luxury 5-star

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2017-02-07
If you want a mile-long, sandy beach like in Punta Cana, or Varadero, there's none at this resort. There are 2 small, 2-foot deep beaches with sharp rocks.

Majority of employees there are hard-working and polite, however a few employees (at restaurant, front desk, and customer relation) are noticeable bad. For example, after waiting 20 minutes for a cup of tea, I asked a waitress what was happening. Without checking, her answer was "it is going to come". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Second Time not as charming

, Woodville, ON
2016-12-17
Staff has changed a fair bit since we were here in February of this year. The attitude was not as friendly and in some cases outright rude. A group of life guards walking across a bridge side by side did not move to one side and even shouldered my wife as they walked past. I had nothing but glowing things to say about the resort when I was there for my first visit. This time I have none. Power outages, repetitive selection at the buffet, poor room service, no consistency in housekeeping standards and not a smile to be seen on the employees faces all made this a less than fun getaway.

We will not be making a third trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Jamaica - November 2016

, Gatineau, QC
2016-11-20
Excellent Hotel, nothing to complain.
This is my 4th time with Bahia Principe and I am always pleased. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Food - Super Clean Location - Excellent Service
The weak points
Nobody to offer drinks at pool and beach.
Certified

People Make The Place

, Brampton, ON
2016-11-13
I would hands down recommend the Luxury Bahia Principe in Runaway Bay to anyone who will stand still long enough for me to tell them. The resort itself is beautiful, clean and professionally run. However, the people are the reason my original 7 day trip turned into a 20 day stay. Shantelle Anderson, Tevoy Ebanks, Topal, Sandrieka Masters and Obrien Taylor on the luxury Entertainment Crew are amazing people and are directly responsible for my extended stay! Nickesha Smith at the luxury lobby bar made every effort to get our nights started with her mixing skills and energy. Our group is planning to return as soon as possible in the new year and every year thereafter as long as the people continue to be so memorable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE STAFF AND CREW.
The weak points
The internet.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?