Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay

Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 434 reviews
#12 of 37 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (151)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Holiday Inn Resort Feb 2024

, Lethbridge, AB
2024-02-28
When we arrived we asked for a complementary room upgrade (we emailed prior to leaving and they said to check when we arrived as it would be on a first come first serve basis.) The gal said we had a perfectly nice room. When we checked in there was a musky smell to the room. The air conditioner ran on and off non stop and was really clunky. It seemed the musky smell was when it ran. We finally just turned it on fan. One bed was comfortable, the other was not. In the bathroom, there was no fan to remove moisture/ humidity, the tub/shower would only turn to a certain temperature (it wasn't even a normal knob it had a black plastic stick you turned on. Cool showers were not fun, we went to the front counter and told them, she sent us to customer relations, to which they said they would send maintenance (they never arrived). We found the pools to be lacking. The adult pool was cold and the “hot tub” was barely warm. Never made it into the main pools hot tub as it was always “being treated” someone we talked to said it was cold too. The main pool was ok-ish. We found the food to be good, desserts were not. The hamburger, tacos, hot dogs, ice cream and jerk chicken offered through the grounds to be very good. The drinks were good, but the lineups were sometimes long. The one bartend at barefoot bar was amazing, high energy & very kind. Also, the main girl that greeted you most days at the restaurant was AMAZING. She greeted you with a smile and genuinely was happy to see you. Most workers were good, but not exceptional like the 2 I mentioned. We quite liked the entertainment, but found some of it too loud. You could not chat in the restaurant while entertaining was happening. Overall our trip to Jamaica and Holiday Inn Resort was good. Whether we would come back to the same resort is in question. It definitely needs soon room maintenance and cleaner air conditioners, along with fans that run to be able to get bathroom moisture out. You could see black spots of mold on the ceiling and I wonder if you took the air condition apart that you would find the same. Having a musky smell indicates mold and you do not want customers to come and end up sick. If that and the pools/hotubs were fixed we would consider coming back. Thank you for your hospitality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was good & plenty, good snack foods
The weak points
Rooms smelled musky, no ventilation fan, loud air conditioner, no hot water (barely warm) and they didn't come to fix
Certified

Great stay

, Toronto, ON
2024-01-21
The hotel was well kept and staff for the most part were friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Location Food Beach Beds
The weak points
Bathroom could use some updating. Sun loungers were showing lots of wear and tear. A la carte shoukd be available anytime.
Certified

Excellent!

, Raymore, SK
2023-11-29
It was excellent, all the staff was really friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beaches were clean and raked every morning to make for a nice relaxing day.
The weak points
Shower curtains were to short and most of the water sprayed onto floor and you had to roll up several towels to keep water from running out the door and bathroom door hinges were painted and you had to push door hard to open and close them.
Sanitary measures
Excellent, had sanitization stations around the facilities where needed.
Certified

Holiday Inn Mobay

, Pointe Claire, QC
2023-11-26
Check in good. Bell man Wayne excellent. Rooms ok. Cleaning of rooms too late 4.00 to 5.00 PM. I wanted a rest before dinner. Making al la carte reservations awkward. come back too many times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
transport from airport unacceptable. Waited 1.5 hrs. for bus to fill up and move. terrible
Certified

A little bit of paradise

, Toronto, ON
2023-09-28
Overall we really enjoyed ourselves. The heat was a bit much but we knew to expect that. Experience was Wirth repeating and referring family to the resort is a definite yes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Island and food was great. Al a Carte were varied and available
The weak points
Housekeeping was just ok, couldn't get towels 1 day. Lobby is underfurnished
Certified

Great location for a short stay!

, Halifax, NS
2023-06-02
The beach and the pools were the highlights of the hotel. Pay for a superior room if you can - food is not for adventurous eaters. It's a good location for families with small kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Poolside and Beach

, Hamilton, ON
2023-04-08
Need more umbrella around the Pool for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

All inclusive vacation

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-07
overall great experience, kept well maintained and clean. your rep. agents will be there in the morning to help out with the day trip bookings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
kept very well maintained and clean.
The weak points
house-keeping issues, you got to contact the guest service few times to get them, no room service available. You are not able to book the restaurant for dinner for same day as it needed 24 hrs booking.
Certified

Not Impressed

, Burlington, ON
2023-04-04
Check in at hotel took forever as check-in was not until 3pm and so everyone came back at the same time which caused long and slow lines at front reception desk. It seemed very unorganized and after a long day of travel just wanting to get to our room.

We walked to our assigned room (no one offered to direct us there or take our lugggage) and the room was the farthest building away from lobby. When booking I requested a room on a higher level with a balcony and we got a room on the main floor facing a drunken adult-only pool with no privacy, holes and stains on the curtains, stains on furniture, just a run-down looking room. I called to complain and they switched our room to one on the 3rd floor. It was a little better but had a broken TV remote and some other minor issues. The rooms at this hotel were very small, closet shutter doors versus real door for bathrooms, smelly towels/linens with stains. The shower drain was clogged and would pool. The Hotel also had empty fridges with no complimentary bottle of Rum, beers, water bottles, or pops. When I called to say they had forgotten to stalk our fridge they informed me that would cost an additonal $50/day!!! The room walls/windows were poor and you could hear everything...traffic, birds, people talking. There were several days during our week stay that no housekeeping came to clean our room. Before check-in we had even told the hotel it was oir honeymoon and thought that maybe our bed would be decorated with rose petals or something, but nothing. The towel hut often had no beach towels available. The beach looked nice but couldn't really swim in it as it was too shallow, more suitable for children. The bar drinks sucked...no selection...didnt even have pina coladas for days....hot wine...staff didn't know how to make a tequila sunrise or common drinks that most resorts would have. Not very many bar staff and had to wait in lines to get drinks. The hotel had no speciality coffees (spanish or Irsh Cream coffees) and directed us to a basic pre brewed coffee thermos, was hoping try the blue mountain coffee but was disappointed.The resort had only 1 buffet and it was small and not much selection for food...low quality tasting food...not very hot. The resort was supposed to have a casino and a games room but they didn't and stated it closed due to covid. This is def not a fancy 4-4.5 star hotel at all...which it claimed it was. People did not dress up for the al la cart restaurants...lower class kind of resort forsure.The resort not taken care of...mini putt course was not cleaned/maintained. The nightly entertainment wasn't great, there was one night it was okay where they had a sqxaphome player. The stage was just a podium by the pool with no seating just pool loungers to sit on. Everything that comes free at most resorts seems to cost extra at this one. Even 2 of the 4 al a cart restaurants cost extra to dine at. Couldn't get seafood at the seafood restaurant unless you pay an extra $40 US/person. For what we paid I had expected better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
One great thing was that there was access to wifi across the whole resort even on the beaches. There was a playground and an indoor kids area. The resort seemed to be made more for kids and families with children.
Certified

Mo Bay trip

, Mississauga, ON
2023-03-27
Full of fun and excitement [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Good

, Hamilton, ON
2023-03-21
Once again we had a fantastic experience at the Holiday Inn. The staff were friendly and inviting as usual, the food was superb and the grounds were kept perfectly clean and groomed. We were able to secure the room we wanted , which is important to us. It is a foamily friendly and safe environment for our three children and they enjoyed themselves thoroughly. The jerk hut is amazing authentic food. Looking forward t heading back there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food.
The weak points
Drinks could be stronger, should have drinks in room fridge on non adult side, ability to get food later at night.
Sanitary measures
Great
Certified

Too many issues with the room and unfriendly staff

, Fredericton, NB
2023-03-10
Cons:

ROOM was very poor. The A/C was extremely loud and kept our whole family up. We are a white noise family, this was not just a little loud, it was very disruptive. It rattled the patio doors making it even more louder. The shower water leaked all over the outside hall way. The bathroom door were closet doors which made little barrier for privacy. They were also missing the door handles. There was a cock roach climbing up the wall. We were in building 2, fourth floor. Do not recommend.

FRIENDLINESS: I was surprised at the unfriendliness of the staff. We are big on manners and never asked for anything special or extra (didn't even complain about our room when we should have). I don't want to label them all unfriendly as there were some that were kind. The majority make you feel like you are a bother when you ask for a drink. The nicest staff were the people at the food bars. Very few staff smile. They are slower than what people may be use to but we were on vacation so that bothered us the least.

SHADED SEATING: People are so bad for holding the canopy/shaded beach/pool chairs with their towels and not using them for hours. NOT COOL! We rarely got a shaded spot as people are inconsiderate. This isn't the resorts fault, this is just lack of common courtesy with the guests. I would recommend the resort post signs with some kind guideline around this.

Pros:

QUAINT: I love the size of this resort. Everything was close by and the kids could roam and they were never that far away. It's a smaller resort and I recommend if you have kids you get in buildings 1-3. We felt totally safe to let them do their own thing (ages 10 ) and the kids made friends. They loved the ice cream/nacho bar.

FOOD: Buffet was always full and lots of variety. Lots of kid options (chicken nuggets, pasta, fries, pizza, etc..) The chicken is really good. The omelet station goes quick and those girls work their butts off. She was one of the friendlier ones. The burgers, grilled cheese, nachos and hot dogs they serve through out the day are good. Their veggie burger is good too. JERK HUT is a must try!! I really can't say anything negative about their food. I was thankful for not having to cook for a week. I appreciated the treat.

WATER/BEACH/POOL: Wonderful for kids! It's not too deep and very calm so you can assure your kids can swim safely. Bring snorkeling goggles!! You can see all kinds of cool FISH and water creatures near the island rocks. Pool was a good size. It's not quiet, always music playing but we liked that

Overall, I do recommend this place for kids. There are no waterslides or anything like that but if your kids like to swim, snorkel and roam around and eat ice cream all day then this is a small quaint spot to take them. I would not spend very much money to come back, it would have to be a super deal. I liked the DR 3 star resort better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Small and quaint, close to airport, snorkeling on site, good for kids, comfortable beds
The weak points
Extremely loud A/C, unfriendly staff, slow service, room very outdated
Sanitary measures
I saw no sanitizing the whole week I was there

Mary

, Toronto, ON
2023-02-28
Hotel is very aged needs upgrading some staff are amazing life guards are great restraunt staff great front desk and guest services not friendly or helpful at all food I mid to average [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Hotel old and in need of repair buffets need more variety
Certified

Sunwing

, Edmonton, AB
2023-02-22
Hiliday Inn Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
the facilities are OK but the service is week, particularly house keeping and restaurant service.
Certified

Great

, Woodbridge, ON
2023-02-06
This is a good resort. Not 5 star which it doesn't claim to be but it has every thing we needed and the price was right too. We throughly enjoyed the use of the property and didn't even leave as there's enough water access and fun to be had. I've had similar rated resorts in Mexico that offered horrible food but this was actually tasty and I actually finished my plates!! We loved the private island too. Great WiFi!! Much appreciated [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good food Good music Good water access and a lovely island!!
The weak points
Rooms could have better air conditioning and washrooms are very dated and uncomfortable plus plumbing can be improved.
Certified

7th time to Jamacia and 1st time to the Holiday In

, Frankford, ON
2023-02-03
A couple of small hiccups, but we had a nice and relaxing holiday. We decided to save some money on the hotel and direct it to fly in business class(NO REGRET!) I say you get value for your money at this resort. You get what you pay for. (no disrespect) Been traveling for 40 years and yes we would go back here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good wifi, and we always found something to eat. No beach people hassling you, and the room was cold
The weak points
I say if you're a beach person this may not be your place. Specialty restaurants are a little hard to get in. The room was not cleaned every day.(when it was they did a good job)
Certified

Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

, Toronto, ON
2023-02-01
Overall a good resort. A little outdated and can use some updates but still good. Food was decent with a pretty good variety and drinks were great. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Rooms and resort in general could use updating.
Certified

Not worth the money

, Lakeshore, ON
2023-01-08
Old, run-down hotel. Nothing works regularly. Could not get hot water most of the time, food was adequate at best.
The entire place is brutally noisy. They seem to think making everything loud will keep people entertained.
Could not use main pool area, constant pounding music and screaming kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff are incredibly friendly; the only good thing I can say about the place.
The weak points
Seems that they just don't care about customer satisfaction.
Certified

If you can afford to, find a better hotel.

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-27
crappie rooms, no ventilation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staffs
The weak points
The rooms
Sanitary measures
sanitizer when entering buffet
Certified

Not recommended until further improvement

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-18
Dated room is small like a 3-star motel, and doesn't feel like a resort that I stayed in other places, noise air condition also doesn't work properly as you set.
Room service always forgets something, you have to call and send it in.
Only one buffet for lunch and three restaurants for dining, bar fas food is not good.
The environment outside is good on the beach and small island, onside snorkelling can see many fishes but a lot of seaweed.
But some room close to the highway noise should be avoided.
The location is convenience close to the airport and easy to travel to the east or west coast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The location is convenience close to the airport and easy to travel to the east or west coast. Beach is good with onside snorkelling can see many fishes.
The weak points
Dated room, limited restaurant choice.
Certified

2nd stay

, St.johns, NL
2022-11-11
My husband and I stayed at this resort in 2014, and at the time actually got engaged. We had a fantastic stay and our only complaint at that time was there was no disco. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the resort had renovated and put in a new club, which was one of the reasons we decided to return. There were resorts for a comparable price that we had not stayed at before, but we thought this was our best bet because of our previous positive experience. We spent a few days alone, and halfway through our stay, my husband's family joined us. We arrived on October 31st at 2:00 p.m. Upon check-in I notified Tevin that we were returning guests from 2014 and that we had actually gotten engaged at this resort. Although we had booked a standard room, I asked if we could get a room with two double beds as my stepson would be joining us later in the week, and I also requested a refrigerator. At that time we were told that our request was not a problem and that we would also be getting an ocean view room. We were told we would have to wait about an hour for our room which was no problem, so we decided to go and eat. Before we got a chance to go to the buffet, we were told that our room was ready. We were pleasantly surprised that it had gotten cleaned so quickly. We offered to carry our bags to our rooms as the bell man was busy assisting other guests. After the walk over to building one carrying four heavy suitcases, I realized that the room we were given had only one bed. It also did not have a fridge. I promptly called down to the front desk to address the issue. Tevin advised me he would call me back in 5 minutes when he had everything sorted. We waited 30 minutes, exhausted and hungry after traveling all day, and called back down to the desk. I was told that he had to wait until his supervisor came in to change the room, and that we would have to wait a little longer. 20 minutes later we are still standing in the room, not able to use it because we are getting moved, and still waiting for a room. I called down again and by this time lunch was over. Finally we were given another room on the second floor, and this room did have two beds, however it did not have a refrigerator and it was not ocean view. At that point I was just tired of waiting so I gave up on the room hunt. The room was basic and simple, nothing extra, and I was told I would have to put my name on a list for a refrigerator which would be given based on availability, after 7 days I never did receive a refrigerator. Two out of 7 days we had to call down and ask for towels because Housekeeping did not show up. On the days that they did show up, the room was fantastic and the housekeeper was very friendly.
For the most part, the room was sufficient, but it was a bit disappointing to know that we were returning guests and didn't get an upgrade of any kind. Also, during our stay there was a manager's dinner where return guests were invited to a special dinner with management, and prizes were given out, we were never told about the dinner by any staff or given an invitation, and only found out after the fact from guests who had attended.

The food was pretty good, especially the Jamaican a la carte. We also ate at the Italian restaurant a couple of times and that was pretty good as well. The buffet had enough selection for our taste and we always found something to eat. My only complaint about the buffet is that during our stay one morning the power went out, and we were a little late getting down for breakfast. When we arrived around 10:20 there were lots of other people also trying to get breakfast, and the kitchen staff were taking all of the food away, and we were only able to get pancakes and watermelon. No eggs, no bacon, no other breakfast food other than dry cereal and toast. Very disappointing to have people lined up waiting for food and staff taking away pans of food with people still waiting to eat.
Due to a lack of CO2 in the country, there was no fountain soda or beer on tap.  This wasn't a major issue, other than the fact that we found the beer was never cold and a lot of people were complaining about the same thing.

We did find a few fantastic staff who really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and helped us make the best of our stay. Mark at the snack bar was absolutely fantastic, Ewan at the barefoot bar always had a smile, and Mr Powell at the adults swim up bar was sweet and friendly! My husband had great chats with some of the lifeguards and they were super helpful when he had to go into town and go to the bank. Nightly entertainment was pretty good, but we were disappointed that the disco was usually pretty dead and it didn't seem to be promoted much at the resort. There was a heavy focus on promoting Margaritaville, which we were not interested in after spending $3,000 to stay at an all inclusive with a club. The first night that we did go up there, we were served one drink and then the bartender put his head down doing paperwork and didn't look up again. We tried to get his attention a couple of times for another drink, but we just ended up leaving because there was no one around anyway.

The pools and beaches were fantastic, always clean with plenty of sun beds. The nightly grill, nacho bar and jerk hut were great, but the guy working at the jerk hut never said hello or smiled and always looked like he was in a bad mood. It was uncomfortable actually just asking him for food. We ran into this a few times actually, where we felt like more of a burden than a guest, and like we were begging or something. We are regular tippers, but even that didn't seem to make a difference.

We booked a room for my husband's family and were pleasantly surprised that they had a beautiful room on the 4th floor of our same building. It was partial ocean view, had a refrigerator, a sofa and beautiful high ceilings. They were also given a welcome drink when they came in, something that we never got. While we were super thankful that our family had this great experience, we wondered why we weren't given the same. As a matter of fact, when we were checking out, my husband asked for a bottle of water to take on the bus for our 6-year-old son, and we were told that we would have to buy it at the gift shop because they only provide water to people who are checking into the hotel, and since we were checking out I guess we weren't a priority anymore. Even though we had just spent $3,000 to be there for a week, it was too much to ask for a bottle of water when we were leaving. Come on.

Another disappointing factor was the Japanese a la carte, which was included in our last stay, but for some reason this time they are charging $29 USD per person. Not exactly "all inclusive".

***
My husband also had a ridiculous run in with the head of security. He asked the front desk if he could remove his bracelet in order to leave the resort to avoid being hassled by vendors. He was told that this was no problem at all, and that a lot of guests do the same thing. Upon returning, the security chief approached him and asked why he wasn't wearing a bracelet. He explained the situation to which the security responded "what sense does that make" and even after my husband showed that he had the bracelet in his pocket, he took the bracelet from my husband and stated that he would need to follow him to the front desk to make sure his story was accurate. He also stated that he spent 30 years in the constabulary force in Jamaica and that he "knows a trickster when he sees one". My husband who is originally Jamaican, told the security that he didn't feel that he needed to be followed like a criminal, to which the security Chief replied that indeed he would need to follow him like a criminal to make sure that he was a guest on the premises.
Warm welcome right?

Prior to writing this review, I had said that maybe I would return again, but when I'm sitting here thinking about everything that actually happened, I would be very hesitant to do so. It wasn't a terrible experience, there were a lot of great things about this trip, but it's the little things that make a difference on a vacation, and a lot of those little things were lacking at this hotel. We met a lot of return travelers, gold banders, who had nothing but great things to say about this hotel, but for us it seemed like if you weren't a first time visitor or a 20th time visitor, you were overlooked and ignored. Except for the few staff that we did mention who were absolutely fantastic! We wanted to give an honest review, with the good and the bad included. I think we have done just that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, pools, some staff, food.
The weak points
Drinks, some staff, night life, security.
Certified

Montego Holiday Inn Tropical Getaway

, Aylmer, ON
2022-06-26
Our family had A fantastic time at Holiday Inn Montego Bay. The resort was very clean and the staff was very friendly and the island across from the beach was incredible!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The island across the beach is definitely the Crown jewel of island hotel. You can walk out to this little island and Snorkel all the way around..The cost was fantastic for our family and the Hotels location is almost perfect ditance from the airport!
The weak points
The food choices were not in abundance at the buffet or menu at the 2 A'Cartes we went to..But remember price is fantastic!!
Certified

Amazing destination for a family getaway

, St Albert, AB
2022-05-10
We travelled with my 5 year old twin girls to stay at the Holiday Inn Montego Bay. It was a beautiful resort that was clean with staff that cared. We stayed in building 1A, located off the main lobby. It was quiet on our side facing the tennis courts. The sun always rose on our side of the hotel and morning coffee on the balcony was always how we started our day.

The room was clean and well kept. House keeping came every 2nd day and often was not completed until late in the afternoon.

The staff and especially the lifeguards around the pool were amazing. They kept a watchful eye without being intrusive. The resort felt extremely safe for the kids. More than once when our group was separated we were asked where the other child was, it was nice they noticed and were aware of who belonged together and if someone might be missing. The entire staff went out of their way to accommodate the kids and that made it so special to them. They also have a kids club where kids can go and play in a supervised area and parents can take their own break.

The area of sea between the small island and the main beach is incredible. Warm, clean, clear and relatively shallow made it easy to get back and forth comfortably as well it being relaxing, picture lazy lounge time just floating in the water.

The food was good, buffet breakfast was good, we loved the a la carte restaurant (Italian and jerk) and the quick eats at the day time bars were great too.

Loved it and would definitely go back for a family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
family friendly clean
Certified

A Wonderful Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-06
It was our 1st time to the resort and to Montego Bay, Jamaica. It was a wonderful experience for us and we look forward to return there again next year. Though resort was older compared to others but it has all that we needed. Free Wifi, laundry service you do yourself, and water sport activities. The price was most affordable for our families. We have meet many families that were returned guests who had been there many times. I highly recommend those that don't have a lot of funds to travel this resort, a place that you can travel and enjoyed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean/services free and price was good
The weak points
not a lot of foods selection but we were fine with it for 7 days stay.

Better than expected

, Toronto, HA
2020-02-06
This property had everything required at a resort, beaches, entertainment, food, and opportunities for children. Attentive staff and upgraded bathrooms. Clientel was mostly Canadian (good) and largely middle class (also good). All staff were happy to chat. As a travel writer, I liked the hotel and the location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping was nice, the hotel was spead out along a stretch of beach, had everything we required. Great staff. Good fitness room
The weak points
Personally, we found it too big, but not overwhelming. Entertainment was professional but not enough reggae. This is Bob Marley country after all.
Certified

Older run down building but very relaxing

, Port Alberni, BC
2019-12-20
I was a little underwhelmed when we got there in the evening. The buffet was unappealing the room small and smelled but seeing it through fresh eyes the following day and seeing the beach put my apprehension at bay we loved the relaxed atmosphere and the staff were amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service... super chill vibe... restaurants were very good ... beach was gorgeous ... close to airport
The weak points
Older building... really funky smell in the room... buffet was not all that appealing and you had an upcharge at certain restaurants (lead me to believe they minimize buffet selection in order to profit from the restaurants) located near highway (loud)
Certified

Wonderful

, Ottawa, ON
2019-06-08
We had the most wonderful experience, the hotel was clean, the staff was so friendly, genuine and sweet! We can't wait to come back next year ! Thank you so much for the amazing experience and food ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Review on Holiday In Resort Montergo Bay

, Brampton, ON
2019-06-06
- The services provided were not good (no water in the room, no fridge in the room, no room service, and housekeeper did not put enough body lotion in the room - I had to asked for extra body lotion).
- The waiters/waitress need to be more sensitive to the guests.
- The beach was not good - very shallow water and lots of sea weeds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great location and easily accessible. - Nightly entertainment was good. - Food was good.
The weak points
The section that I stayed was rated 3.5 stars; I thought it was 5 stars. I did not the value for the price paid.
Certified

Hidden Gem

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-30
This facility has everything you would need in an all inclusive resort. The rooms are very clean, a little dated, the pool is perfect with bars in every place they should be, would want a bit more alcohol in each drink and more bar tenders at times. The food was excellent, we especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and "Jerk after Dark" was the icing on the cake, totally worth the extra money. The excursions we went on were an awesome way to see Jamaica for our first time which was to Black River Falls, Nigril Beach and Rick's cafe and Cool Runnings Catamaran in Ocho Rios. The native Jamaicans we met were beautiful people. The hotel had a rotation of Merchants in the hotel which really were reasonably priced after bartering! You can't get better beaches with such a variety, we never felt crowed and the water was so warm and crystal clear! The nightly shows blew us away almost every night! We hated to miss it! Our travel agent earned even more respect after recommending this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, entertainment, staff, beach, bars, merchants, excursions.
The weak points
The building and decorations are dated, more staff at the bars and more alcohol in the drinks.
Certified

Second Visit

, Stevensville, ON
2019-05-20
Reception: Adrian at the front desk should teach other employees how to perform their jobs....he is so professional and always a smile
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Night shows are very good Housekeeping is very attentive Every thing is very close Great for families This property is beautiful
The weak points
Employees need take more pride in their jobs or maybe they need to e treated better
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024