Whala Boca Chica

3.083.083.083.083.08
Whala Boca Chica
#2 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Santo Domingo
3.08 based on 74 reviews
Traveller pictures (58)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

A great deal!

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-08
I was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of this resort - fantastic beach, amazing restaurants and meals, friendly staff, great extras (bike excursions, trip to Santo Domingo, zumba/yoga/stretch classes, scuba lesson), expansive property. Everyone was helpful and friendly. It is unique as it's situated right in the town that you can stroll and explore. Great time :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Dominican & Mackey a la carte restaurants were amazing. The main restaurant was also excellent with a wide variety of wonderful food choices The attentive restaurant manager ensured that you enjoyed your meal & the servers/chefs were very accomodating
The weak points
Bathroom towels were regularly not replaced with clean ones. Pillows were horrible. Asked for wake-up calls but never got them.
Certified

Don Juan Resort - will come again!

, Nepean, ON
2016-02-23
A solid basic resort with lots to offer at an affordable price. For someone who makes the island trek a few times a year, this place is great. It's small, easy to navigate, simple, offers solid accommodation, a buffet with healthy food choices, a sandy white beach without big crashing waves, three a la cartes, the opportunity to walk the main street of Boca Chica. We learned that the tour of Santo Domingo (4 hours - $30) was worth every penny. If you are looking for night life, this resort is not the place - but the main street shuts down every night for partying (yes there are working women).
For great sunrise/sunset views, and an in-town feel, it's nice. Vendors on the beach a plenty - as well as many local folks. That's part of the charm! You can try Carlos' famous sun tan oil, or have a massage with Maria, or just sit and listen to the old guy walking by with the fruit wagon in his plaintive voice: "LA FRUTTA"!!! A simple 'no gracias' and they move on.
USD was 45 pesos (a little better on the street). Tipping is nice, but service was same with or without. You can book yoga and Spanish lessons with the concierge when you book a la cartes. Charming little place - good value for money - and with the new food and beverage man and some attention to the main pool for cleanliness... it's dandy! Many European visitors and older people who stay longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach, awesome sunrise & sunsets, small intimate resort, easy living, solid food choices, great maid, nice view, good beds, free wifi all over, safe and walk in closet, hot water not an issue, no meals to prep!
The weak points
Bars & main pool are dirty and stinky. Buying a bottle of wine is complicated and their house wine is awful - particularly the white. Stick to beer!
Certified

DON JUAN BEACH RESORT

, Varennes, QC
2016-02-17
Nice place. and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, great beach,Clean,Price is good.People are nice.
The weak points
No peddle boats, Too many Banbana boats close to where the people are swimming. Someone will get killed one day . they need a reserved sopt for them No cappuccino machine, i was not happy.to many vendors on the beach, they can be a pain in the a..!
Certified

Hotel

, Rockton, ON
2015-03-15
absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed in. It was to be a 60th Birthday and 25th Wedding anniversary celebration. I definatly would not recommend anyone going there for the prices we paid. Robbery. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people were friendly. place was clean
The weak points
very disappointing the pictures on internet are far better than the place itself
Certified

Visit and relax.

, Camrose, AB
2015-02-12
We visited with apprehension about safety, but were delighted to discover the town and pleasant, respectful residents. The resort has a broad beach access and good swimming. Food was adequate and restaurant meals fresh and better than expected. Staff provided various activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very obliging, beach great, near to visit the capital city, close to the town for walking around. Drinks at Makey's Bar on the dock and the view there were not to be missed.
The weak points
Nightly entertainment much too loud and inappropriate for the clientele. Local groups would have been better than canned music.
Certified

Good Value

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-16
I really enjoyed the hotel. It was clean and on a very nice beach.

Some of the male employees were very aggressive and inappropriate. They really need to teach their staff about boundaries. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is very clean and well run.
The weak points
The food was very bland and monotonous. The hotel is very stringy with towels.
Certified

Upgrade

, Celkirk, MB
2014-01-22
I upgraded to captions club. The people that didnt had alot of complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
Food
Certified

Not the best

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-05
Not 3.5*, only 2.5* [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather
The weak points
vendors
Certified

Security and safety a BIG issue

, Peterborough, ON
2014-01-04
We have been to 3 star before usually go 5 star but after this trip never 3 star again.
The 2nd night of our 14 day trip our room was broken into all electronics stolen and have a police report after going to the station.
The door to our room was accessed by a door card as we had the hotel read the door lock and it registered entrance around 11pm when we were at the show. When returning to our room in the evening after the show the door was open,the hotel would not give anything in writing basically accusing US of leaving the door open so hense the visit to the local police station.
Hotel is more like a prostitutes hang out, men from abroad pay for these local women to stay for weeks at a time believe me you will notice it immediately. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
there are no strong points except for the sun and the sand!
The weak points
terrible security, locals come and go as they please. Hotel not recommended
Certified

Great hotel for the value

, Newmarket, ON
2013-01-22
Went to this property with an opened mind,The staff were very freindly,The
food was good,Rooms are cleaned dailey
very little to complain about.
To those people who do complain,I was disappointed on how rude they were
to the staff,
Please & thank-you goes a long way anywhere you travel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff very freindly and courtious ( graet resort for the money)I would return
The weak points
Some food dishes could be a little warmer.
Certified

A little on the creepy side

, Cambridge, ON
2012-08-08
The Don Juan is an older complex of buildings. It's right between the city streets and the beach. The airport transfer bus drops you off on the street. The first impression of the resort is scary. The entrance is very poor looking. There is no feeling that you are walking into a quality or luxury resort when you arrive....you feel more like you're about to get mugged. The place improves once you get off the street and out of the reception area to where the gust building are located. Most are four story buildings. There are no elevators in the resort so be warned about the amount of luggage you take and your physical abilities.

The buffet food is not good but it's about what you can expect from a resort of this quality. They have a small pizza oven snack bar by the pool that probably has the best food (pizza) in the place. Quite good actually.

The "captain's" rooms generally face the ocean/beach. My room was nice enough but keep in mind that the resort does NOT replenish any beverages in the room and they do NOT provide bottled water. You must get your own water from a dispenser located on each floor. Obviously do not drink the tap water.

The beach is not private. guests are constantly bothered by the locals to purchase their goods. CONSTANTLY. Every 5 to 10 minutes is not an exaggeration. if you wish to lounge on the beach you WILL be pestered constantly...probably to the point of giving up and moving to the pool area. The beach is not spectacular anyhow. It's the weekend local hotspot though so it gets very crowded with locals on the weekend is totally TRASHED by them. They send in local cleaners to pick up the garbage from the beach when the weekend is over. It seems to be the local culture to just drop your garbage wherever you happen to be.

My biggest surprise was to learn that the Don Juan has a reputation as a sex tourism resort for pedophiles. There are young pre-girls constantly around the resort looking to service clients. You will often see old, single men hooking up with these 13 - 15 year old girls on the resort, by the pool and on the beach. Local authorities do nothing about it. If you see it happening though, report it nonetheless. Be vocal about it. Take photos and videos of it for the authorities. I would not bring my children anywhere near this place.

If you are a scuba diver, there is a great shop called Treasure Divers nearby and some really nice dive sites including wreck and deeps dive. There are also some awesome freshwater cave sites with spectacular haloclines to experience.

There are not too many resort options in this area and all likely have the same issues. The prices seems surprisingly higher than other Dominican resorts in Punta Cana that are on some of the best beaches in the world. Go figure.

If you fly into Santo Domingo airport, the drive to the hotel is quick. Most flights land in Punta Cana though which can be a 4 hour drive to the resort from the airport…making for a very long day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pizza bar local dive shop and dive sites
The weak points
hot spot for pedofile sex tourism local peddlers
Certified

Don't go there

, Cambridge, ON
2012-02-14
this was our 4th time at the Don Juan Hotel in Boca Chica. We were shocked to see how much has changed for the worst in just 3 years. Rooms were smelling like mold and dirty(even though we had the upgrated Captian's room), beach towels were very hard to come by and so were beach loungers. The food was cold and not appetizing. Everything in and around the Hotel looked worn. Lots of single white man with prostitudes in the hotel. Overall a big disappointment.
Would never go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the weather was good
The weak points
cannot recommend this place at all.Too many prostitudes and beach vendors. Not enough beach towels or loungers. Terrible smell (mold) in the buildings.The food was pretty much the same every day. The place needs to be renovated badly.
Certified

Evaluation of Don Juan Beach Resort

, Kitchener, ON
2012-01-23
Terrible I would never go anywhere near this hotel with a 10 foot pole. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None! beach was dirty, plastic cups all over in the bay area, illegal crayfish sells on beach!
The weak points
Not at all a 3.5 star by any good standard terrible food was even worse.
Certified

Old men with hookers

, Cambridge, ON
2012-01-13
We were not impressed overall with Don Juan resort . The 5 bikes were not capable of rolling let alone riding .broken chains ,missing wheel bolts . the 3 sailboats no better no rigging or sails have been on these boats in at least 2yrs. the food was poor ( stewed hotdogs at breakfast 1 day in 7 bacon . christmas day had not enought tables to accomadate all the guests. cheap plastic tables & chairs most of which were broken. the room was ok , maid did a great job . the security had no interest in keeping the very young ( 15 -17 ) yr old hooker out of the resort, my husband was hit on in front of me at the resort, many old men with very young girls .even as we tried to enjoy the only alacart dinner , would not recomend this location to any fellow canadian traveller [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice snokeling
The weak points
young prostites . lousy food
Certified

The worst resort in Dominican Republic

, Etobicoke, ON
2011-12-29
I travel a lot and I enjoyed every single trip until now. This was the first time when I wanted to go home in the 1st day. A long wait to check-in in this horrible resort. The room was dark and smelly with no working toilet and no hot water. The maid never cleaned the room properly. In one week she never change the bed sheets, change only twice the towels (after I complained to the front desk) all that after a 3 US dollars tip left every single morning on the bed. The beach is full with vendors who do not let you relax for 2 minutes. Food is terrible, my family and I got sick. The resort is full with prostitutes. NEVER AGAIN!!!!
I will NOT recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Everything
Certified

Beach was beautiful BUT.........read more

, Kanata, ON
2011-03-30
It was very far from the airport on difficult and dangerous roads. We got sick from the food and lost 3 days out of our 7 day holiday. The rooms were decent but had no soap, shampoo, coffee maker. The initial room we were given was dredful and we weren't moved until 2 days and alot of complaining later. We never got the suite we had paid for. The bartender would absolutely not serve you unless you had money for tipping in your hand every single time. The peddlers on the beach were bothersome and numerous, even if you pretended you were asleep they would wake you. We only spent 1 day on the beach because of it. Overall experience was well below what we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was lovely. Weather was gorgeous. Resort was clean. Pool was great.
The weak points
Extreme food poisoning episode for both of us. Peddlers on the beach were awful you couldn't even sit on the beach. Bartender wouldn't serve you unless you tipped every time and would in fact ignore you unless you waved money.
Certified

March Break

, Ottawa, ON
2011-03-23
The staff is amazing, but the bathroom at the hotel was dirty and old! The maid service needed reminders everyday to bring soemthing! The vendors on the beach were annoying and were extremely constant, didn't get a break! Food was excellent, overall it was a good holiday! Next time I would land in Santo Domingo to avoid the 4 hour trip to the airport! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food, the staff and the animation team!
The weak points
THE BATHROOM WAS GROSS! TOO MANY VENDORS ON THE BEACH, WOULDN'T LEAVE US ALONE!
Certified

Amazing getaway!

, Oshawa, ON
2011-02-27
If you're looking for welcoming friendly people and a basic week away this is the place to go!
my friend and I weren't expecting much, but this resort met all our needs and exceeded them. the food was great and there were enough options throughout the week
the pools were never crowded and the security guards will always help find you a beach chair.
Our room was basic but met all our needs, the beds were comfy in my opinion, but i would bring your own pillow.
The staff that work there are very friendly and never expect you to tip, so we ended up choosing our favorites and tipping them throughout the week, and left the maids something at the end of our stay. they have a special animation team that is designated to interact with the guests as well as put on shows and dances.
The resort overall is very colourful and welcoming. it's very close to downtown Boca Chica, but we still felt very safe and even visited the local bars and clubs. as long as you go downtown with only your room key you'll be fine!
This was a great resort for us because we didn't experience all the spring break hype every night, we were able to have a great time partying when we wanted but were also able to relax without all the noise students bring to a resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we felt safe, welcomed and went into this trip without high expectations but were blown away.
The weak points
The men there get pretty tiring because they constantly hit on you if you're blonde and have blue eyes,they'll say anything to get with you.
Certified

Nice place to visit

, London, ON
2011-01-19
For the price everything was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great sandy beach
The weak points
waiters and waitress
Certified

Santo Domingo Don Juan Beach Resort

, Bowmanville, ON
2011-01-11
The hotel was clean and the food very good. The staff is extremely freindly & helpful. To bad it is located in Boca Chica.

The public beach just down from the hotel is filthly. One does not feel comfortable walking there. The streets are not well lit at night, making venturing out of the hotel complex seem a risk.

Not much in the way of entertainment, no water sports to speak of (Snorkeling, sailing, water toys etc)

They offer all inclusive guests only local liquors, wines & beer. If you want "name brand" there is a cost.

In sufficient pool/deck chairs, limited variety for snack foods during the day around the pools.

Single check in agent making the process very slow. Especially aggrivating for vactioners arriving late in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good people, good food, very clean
The weak points
poor location, limited water sports, not enough staff to move lines at the buffet/reception along quickly
Certified

Don Juan

, Nepean, ON
2011-01-07
The best beach, specially for kids - water is always calm and shallow. Great food. Nice grounds.
'Villa superior' is a basic room. Lot of vendors on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and food.
The weak points
Basic room. Very poor area outside.
Certified

Fabulous Vacation!

, Torbay, NL
2010-04-21
Travelled with 2 children, ages 8 & 5 years. Direct flight (Sunwing) to Punta Cana was excellent - fantastic service. No wait time at Punta Cana airport, taken to shuttle bus. 3 hour travel time to Boca Chica - saw much of the countryside and town - air cond bus - ride was fine. Check in at hotel very quick at 12:30 am - assigned room on 4th floor of hotel (had booked 'superior villa')- room was not good - immediately requested a better room at front desk (asked for Captain's room) - given beautiful room on 1st floor of hotel with balcony overlooking beach, 2 queen beds, sitting area, big bathroom area with whirltub. Room and view was amazing! Very convenient for kids & us being on first floor - pool very close, as well as restaurant. Pool great, big - had children's area as well (2 ft)- buffet was 5*plus!!! Great variety of food, different theme nights, fresh food - always something for adults and children. Pizzeria for late day snack next to pool as well. Just fantastic. Service great/staff were very friendly. Gardens lush and stunning - lots of tropical flowers, mango/banana trees - staff constantly cleaning up. Beach was very clean and beautiful. Some vendors selling - but very respectful - security very good. Some entertainment during day if wish to participate. Night shows good. Highly recommend this hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful captain's room, spectacular grounds, food/buffet exceeded expectations - absolutely fantastic with great variety, pool and beach great, staff fabulous
The weak points
Would be great to be able to fly into airport closer (ie La Romano airport)
Certified

Alright

, Toronto, ON
2010-02-28
4 hours from International airport Punta Cana is a long haul in a bus with no bathroom. Food is alright but it gets repetitive. There s only 4 places to eat on site(including a pizza). Be careful to bring immodium because many people we knew including myself got extremely sick which may have effected the trip. We also thought more things would be included (ie. non motorized sports like paddle boats or snorkeling masks)- nope. It was annoying to have Dominicans harrass you on the beach asking you to buy things. Other then that an ok trip. What you paid for I guess... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather was great. The people were mainly friendly. The view was nice. Typical white sand and ocean but nothing to take your breathe away
The weak points
Long bus ride
Certified

Great resort

, Ottawa, ON
2010-02-19
This is an excellent resort! We had trouble with our first room the night we got there, it was full of mould and we had to ask our tour rep to help get it changed. Help from the front desk was slow. However the rest of the staff are very helpful, work hard and are friendly. Any minor problems we had were addressed immediately after our initial room change. The rooms are clean if somewhat sparse and the resort is kept up extremely well. The food was excellent and varied. A nice touch was the mini bar/restaurant on the dock. A great place for kids as well, security is very good and the beach area is large and kept very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, pools, beach
The weak points
Front desk staff
Certified

Dining and service at a good price

, Montreal, QC
2009-06-28
Loved the room, loved the view, tranquil and the food was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great choice in restaurant food, excellent variety and no dissapointments
The weak points
The 3.5 hour ride from the airport at Punta Cana when another airport (Santo Domingo) was available not more than 30 minutes away. That was the bighgest downer of the trip.
Certified

Dominican Republic

, Hamilton, ON
2009-06-23
Hotel was nice. Except my room didnt have a number on it. Got lost several times. Good Staff. Did not enjoy the 4 hour drive to and from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice rooms
The weak points
travel to the airport was rediculous
Certified

Don Juan

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-17
If you are looking for beach for long walking and enjoy with kids it is not a place. People are very friendly but I did expect more from the beach.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Don Juan Beach Resort - Dominican Republ

, Petawawa, ON
2009-06-17
We did not have any issues with this hotel and pricing. We did stay on 4th floor and no elevators. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All in all a great place to relax and enjoy.
The weak points
I did not require, hovever communication with office could pose a problem.
Certified

Was okay

, Brampton, ON
2009-06-11
The hotel was nice...the water in the bathroom was cold 90% of the time...which made the showers kinda difficult. I had a great time though! The staff is very nice and even the people in the town were great. I spent a lot of time off the resort and had no troubles at all!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I really liked some of the staff...others were not so friendly.
The weak points
The shower water was cold 90% of the time.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?