Emotions By Hodelpa Juan Dolio

3.773.773.773.773.77
Emotions By Hodelpa Juan Dolio
#1 of 9 hotels in Santo Domingo
3.77 based on 128 reviews
Traveller pictures (58)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Be aware of reps trying to steal from you

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-04
The hotel was overall ok. The entertainers didn't want to make a show in the night most nights we were there. They said they didn't have enough audience but that was not true. Air Canada rep sold excursion tickets for higher price and when we later looked at the ticket, he wrote a lower amount than what he charged us. Drinks at the pool bar were not good, I asked for Pina colada and got a dispenser soft drink. Food at the a la carte restaurants was really good. I loved the gardens and decor at the hotel, it was very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, gardens, safety.
The weak points
Drinks, time-share people, Air Canada rep,
Certified

Pleasant Week at Emotions

, Whitby, ON
2019-10-07
Overall pleased with my experience at Emotions.
This smaller resort is about 90 min from the airport. Some guest rooms, one buffet, some a la cartes and one bar are right on the beach and other areas are across the street - majority of the guest rooms, two larger pools, larger buffet, etc. The buffets are small, with limited offerings. The processed items such as deli meats and cheeses did not look appealing - however the prepared dishes were delicious. The a la carte restaurants were very good, amazing flavours at the Italian and Mexican!! Dominican was also good. Pizza at the snack bars was superb. The one exception was the Asiatic. The sushi did not appeal, the rice was so highly spiced that one small mouthful literally left me coughing, the beef skewers were overdone.
Drinks are plentiful, frozen slushies are tasty. Recommend bringing an insulated cup/mug with you!
Beach is small, erosion is significant. Water was murky with lots of debris.
Pools are warm yet refreshing. Music at the main pool was WAY too loud, the pool near building 10 was more peaceful. Unusual placement of the “kids pool”, literally 15ft away from the swim out rooms of the adults only building ???
Good housekeeping services.
Persistent Elite Club sales staff, pressed me daily to attend their presentation.
Check in to room was just over 90min late. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restful resort. Not overly busy. Very good a la carte restaurants and made to order food stations at buffets. Friendly and helpful staff.
The weak points
Lots of debris on beach & in water. Pools could be cleaner. Timely check in would be an improvement.
Certified

Not the best!

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2019-04-01
Check in was average, but there were 4 in our party and they only gave 3 beach towel cards. Had to ask for another. Room was pretty nice, but only had two drawers for clothes. Definitely not enough room for clothes for 4 people. When we arrived we had 2 bath towels in the room and no hand towels. We had to ask 4 times for towels the first day and still did not get any more until the next day. And still no hand towels. By the third day we had hand towels, but still had to ask for enough bath towels and no bath mat. This was a problem we dealt with the whole 7 days. One day we even had to wait 2.5 hours for beach towels! The food was average. The buffet was pretty much the same from day 1 to day 7. The Restaurant food was quite good, but the service often unorganized and slow. The staff were generally friendly, but obviously preferred Spanish speaking guests. I wouldn't say this resort is worthy of 4.5* rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pool area and beach. Grounds well maintained.
The weak points
Service was poor in the room and around the resort.
Certified

Emotions Experience

, Simcoe, ON
2019-03-30
The hotel was great. Spread out in many villas. The staff was very helpful, however sometimes language was a barrier. Grounds and rooms very clean and well kept. I landed in Punta Cana, and almost 2 hour bus ride each way.
Resort is fairly new, looks like Juan Dolio is an upcoming place for tourists. Good place for weddings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
3 a la carte Restaurants. No problem getting into any of them. More than 1 pool, choice of active pool or quieter pool. Nice property to stroll through, good walkways through resort. Coffee Bar was a strong attraction, and also included bakery there.
The weak points
No elevators on property. Request a ground floor if this is a problem when your reservation is made. More variety needed for buffet.
Certified

Nice family vacactions.

, Laval, QC
2019-03-07
Happy with my choice. Very friendly staff. Installations are OK although they could use some upgrading, specially in the bathrooms....
Internet is very bad, only "works" when you are at the lobby and that is if it works. Buffets and restaurants are good, not that much of a variety but manageable.Snack bars were not good at all (just a like 4 slices of pizza when available, some doritos no cheese or sour cream and hot dogs) Kids club was great, my kids loved it! Lots of activities during the day and night from the recreation team. Angela ( our housekeeper ) took special care of my kids, very nice lady. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very safe for the kids to be running around with minimal supervision.
The weak points
The "sales team" was too pushy trying to set up meetings to talk about other locations for you to buy weeks, they even called me once early in the morning to my room and followed everywhere for me to attend to a 90 minutes meeting.
Certified

Not impressed

, Bedford, NS
2019-02-27
So many things wrong with this Resort including false advertisement
The shows are the worst shows I've seen in my 20 years of traveling
The entertainment team did nothing or very little during the day
My main reason to go to this resort was to visit Santos Domingo BUT
It was so difficult to get to Santos Domingo it cost $100 US for 3 hours there and it's a 45-minute drive from the resort
Food selection was very minimal selection
The hot tub turned out to be a very very cold tub
We Are Young seniors and
It was the most boring Resort we have ever stayed at and out of 5 I give it 2 1/2
The people were very nice but had very little time for you
Overall we are disappointed that we went there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean food was good staff was nice
The weak points
Not a good selection of food A room didn't get clean until after4 each day 45 minutes from Santos Domingo Very boring Resort Not a fun Resort
Certified

, Huntsville, ON
2019-01-21
Emotions has a lovely ambiance with lush surroundings. Essentia rooms and 1 buffet are right on the beach. Ocean-view rooms are great. Swim-outs are on the backside where the swim-out canal gets no sun so is frigid but a nice quiet/semi-private area. Some buildings/rooms are across the road from the beach quite far back with own pool. Some swim-outs back there as well.
Food handling is a big issue- from dirty plates in the stack (ignored by staff), to picking food off surrounding counters and putting back in the dish plus food was never hot - sitting a long time in the buffet tepidly warm and perhaps recycling of food sitting at the buffet for hours to a la cartes at night.??
Experienced terrible cramps, diarrhea, sweats, vomiting & passing out one night. Scary-maybe dangerous!! Home and still recovering.
After being told by Essentia staff that the General Manager would contact us regarding this, there was NO follow-up...after telling them my husband wanted me hospitalized as I was that sick.
Service is hit or miss while "most" staff are friendly and upbeat.
I would definitely have gone back to this resort if not for the handling of food. I could not handle being that sick again. It can happen anywhere BUT there are some obvious failings in food handling here.
Quiet place to go but definitely not a party scene and definitely NO water sports. "Essentia Club" not good value in my opinion and check-in took 3 hours. They were tracking down the guy who would not leave the room.
The surcharge for not leaving the room is $20.US... so I am sure this must be rampant. Why leave?? But after getting up at 3 am in the morning to get there, having to wait until dinner time to get into the suite was terribly exhausting...so Essentia Club treatment is not so special.
They have a lot to improve here but could be a great place for those wanting a quiet beach escape as we did!
LGBT friendly.
Small town of Juan Dolio to walk into although there is only 1 small store.
Long transfer but nice to see the countryside in the daytime.
Santo Domingo is over an hour away as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Essentia Building & 1 buffet right on the beach. Exceedingly long beach to walk (some seaweed). Very cosmopolitan so great to practice your French & Spanish- some Germans too. "ONE" coffee cafe & staff were great overlooking a pool.
The weak points
Food- repetitive, & handling is "suspect". Only 3 a la cartes. Advertised "special dinner" on the beach = non-existent. Essential swim-out canal is frigid... too cold for a swim. NO beach water sports.
Certified

Lovely Location

, Ancaster, ON
2019-01-20
Landscaping and rooms were very clean and attractive. Food was very good although it did not offer a lot of variety from day to day. Water in rooms a problem, no pressure and very little hot water if any. Not a good place for seniors, no hand rails for pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach! The staff was very friendly. Cleaning lady very good.
The weak points
Customer Service. Checkin was very slow and it was late when we finally got rooms. Table service in buffet and a la cart was not very good. Had to continually ask for drinks and refills. Short staffing was problem.
Certified

Solid nice 3.5 star

, Cayuta, ON
2019-01-20
Very nice resort, but not on par with other 4 and 4.5 star resorts we have stayed at. Arriving is scary, no private drive, gatehouse guards etc. Just pulls off to the side of the road and you get out of the bus. The resort itself is very clean and although small is not crowded. Neighbouring resorts seem to be closed down or converted into apartments for locals. Once you settle in, its nice, but its definitely not grand and luxurious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent like-new pillow top mattresses. The coffee shop is the best part. No bugs, staff are friendly but English is poor. Nice beach with lots of loungers. Marcella, on the beach just beside the resort gives an amazing 1 hr massage for just $40.
The weak points
Food is ok, not much selection compared to larger resorts. Drinks are served in tiny glasses, and not much of a "girlie" drink menu. Pools are cold, jacuzzi is like ice. Hot water is hit or miss. Too many people smoking, but thankfully not indoors
Certified

Great for Families

, Oakville, ON
2019-01-07
We worked with our travel agent to find an all-inclusive resort that was more intimate than the huge factories and found Emotions. With 7 grandchildren ranging in age from 2 to 13 we needed a direct flight with a “short” bus ride to the resort. And, we wanted a facility that would suit the needs or our children (adults) and their children. Emotions met our needs.

On arrival we were impressed with the welcome we received and the efficiency of the staff. Shortly after arrival we were driven to our rooms by a fantastic employee that made sure we didn't lift a finger as he took care of our luggage and had us in our rooms in short order. Our other 3 families received the same treatment. On the way we noticed how clean and well manicured the lawns and entire outside areas were maintained. It was spotless.

Our rooms were in one of the newer buildings overlooking the pool and one of the stages. It appeared that most of the buildings had been renovated and/or very well maintained.

Everything was so clean and safe with lots of things for the kids to do including bike yours, archery, wall climbing, tennis, pool activities and great programs for the kids to old for the kids clubs.

Each evening the entertainment started with the childrens' mini disco that all of our grandchildren loved and wouldn't miss. After the mini disco, we stayed at the entertainment stage, which had ample seating that was usually pretty full for each theatre.

The choice of food seemed never ending and usually included local dishes with several options such as fish, chicken and beef individually prepared. Even the pickiest eater could find a meal to satisfy their individual taste. By the beach you can find the fast food outlet where you could pick up hamburgers, hot dogs, fried chicken and an assortment of other fast food dishes.

When you reached the centre of the resort you were in heaven with the 3 pools, a small convenience store, a coffee bar where you had a selection of coffees that equalled Starbucks (it was free), a wine tasting bar, a beer bar where you could pick up a beer or taco chips and hot dogs for the mid afternoon snack. Oh, by the way there is also a full bar by the pool.

Everything was so clean, especially the abundant number of washrooms so it didn't matter where you were in the resort you never had to look far to find one.

We started the celebration for New Years Eve 2019 with an outstanding supper on the beach. The staff did an amazing job setting up the tables and chairs on the sand. The buffet is the best one any of us have ever had. You could have everything from lobster to steak and I do mean everything. The selection of cold cuts and cheeses were unbelievable, as were every other food option.

Then what looked like all the guests migrated to the centre to continue celebrating while watching a spectacular stage show. Lots of dancing, mingling and just having fun. Congratulations go to the resort and the staff for putting on such as fantastic event.

On the lighter side, we were entertained by the “Towel Nazi” who was quite stingy when it came time to giving out fresh towels. My wife figured him out so when she went an he claimed he was out of towels, she said I know you have a stash of towels behind the curtain & I want to exchange mine for new towels. He just smiled and then gave her the towels.

The only negative experience was with our housekeeper. She would pick up all of the towels in the morning and rarely brought back the same number as she took. Possible a language issue, but my son just called guest services and she would immediately bring the number they needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved everything
The weak points
none
Certified

Home Away fro Home

, Lasalle, QC
2018-10-07
We just came back from a 2 week stay at Emotions. This is our 3rd time staying at Emotions only this time we stayed at the Essentia side which is located in building 1 with an ocean view worth every penny. The attention to detail and service was beyond 5 star. As a former destination rep and I have had the privilege to work in ultra lux resorts and work in the luxury industry and all of emotions staff have fully exceeded our expectations. I would like to point out extraordinary service and going out of the following staff members:

Restaurants : Leonardo Rosario , Uri , Sashaba , Maiki , Jonathan , Domingo , Yoel , Vladimir , Dionisis (not sure if I spelled it right) , Jose , ALL of the restaurant staff went above and beyond for us. too many names to remember however everyone delivered amazingly.

Bar/drinks: Pablo he's ALWAYS happy and genuine , Adileni she was our server and would get our drinks from our vip pool for 14 days back and forth such a sweetheart. Jose from the coffee shop always pleasant and makes the best coffee's.

Animation: Zapata he's hilarious and well seasoned animator made us laugh so much , Tutti Frutti my 9 year old is obsessed with her! Tutti Frutti is an asset to the hotel she is an amazing person , Gabriel is the job 100% full of energy consistant and made us laugh so much, Gasolina you were great and Ruth. Annimation has greatly improved since it's opening, management keep your staff happy because the team you have has strong potential which is very hard to come across in this day and age.

Security staff : Papo Rosario amazing person always happy and ready to help.

Reception : Nina and Marileny were great !
Gym : up to date equipment staff is very friendly the gentleman working lent me his boxing gloves!

Housekeeping: Agripina , and unfortunately i can't remember we had a couple of other cleaning ladies all great and attentive never missed anything great team. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dedicated staff going above and beyond!
Certified

Staff is great

, Woodbridge, ON
2018-08-14
The staff is amazing, the first room we were in had insects and bugs, the second room was much cleaner. We had difficulty getting clean towels, shampoo, conditioner, etc. on daily basis. I had to ask every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, staff and then staff.
The weak points
Room service.
Certified

Emotions by Hodelpa....nice!

, London, ON
2018-03-24
This was my 11th vacation to the great D.R.and second to the Juan Dolio area. Although 1:40min from Punta Cana it is well worth the time and seeing the sites along the way of the non D.R tourist areas is special. Upon arrival my best friend and I who were on a golf vacation for 14 days were greeted and checked in within 10 minutes. After a quick daquari in the check in area which is served promptly upon entry we followed Ezekiel a concierge to our separate rooms which where located 3 rooms apart in building 7 (which was 1 of the only 1 floor only buildings, for carrying luggage and clubs in and out it was sweet) The rooms are of medium and adequate size and we both had 2 double beds. Self controlled air conditioning and ceiling fan made controlling your personal comfort easy. After unpacking we made our way to the main pool which was large and shaped into 3 different areas 2 areas separated by a wood bridge. After a quick drink or 2 we tested the pool water which was a perfect refreshing temperature. Emotions has a awesome layout of this main pool surrounded on one side with a strip mall including a gift shop, cafe-bakery, wine and cheese bar and our favorite the Milwaukee beer bar which contained included Presidente draft beer and 100's of import beer bottled from all over the world (at a added cost of course approx. $5 but any brand you craved) this side had nice tables and chairs set up for pool view and for shade for those who needed it.... the other three sides of pool with plenty of lounge chairs and sun for sun bathing.. ..Next a walk to the beach which is only minutes from main pool and crosses a small narrow service road and is patrolled against the few on coming vehicles by a security(cross walk) guard 24 hours a day (safe and easy) you then can go straight into another beach building and are greeted by a senorita who will guide you to the beach buffet area straight ahead or seat you at the Italian restaurant on the left or the D.R restaurant on the right (both are la carte and reservations required) upon entering through the beach buffet which has both indoors dining and covered patio dining areas facing the ocean and beach await in front of you. Plenty of canopy covered lounge chairs and on the beach lounge chairs under the sun were always available. The beach bar (opened 24/7) has complete selection of beverages available as well as a grill and mini buffet with lots of good food available from burgers to eggplant lasagna and other unexpected beach food available(yummy). As we were on a golf vacation any golfer would be interested to know that a short 10 minute taxi ride ($5 U.S) will take you to Las Marlins (Metro) semi private golf course which is a par 72 and of pretty decent shape ( with the D.R mostly dry weather a 240 yd drive can easily achieve 290 with roll ) rates are approx. $75 U.S per round but if you really want to golf and get a deal you can score 7 rounds with cart for only $200 U.S but can only be used Monday to Friday as the weekend is for members mostly Dr's and lawyers who work in the D.R and have their summer/weekend homes surrounding the holes on the golf course the 2 helicopter pads in the parking area are used to bring some of them there...Onto the food the 2 buffets have a great assortment of cuisine from breakfast thru to dinner good variation and lunch and dinner buffet had about 50% different items each day. The 3 ala cartes restaurants are good to great with my favorite being the Mexican (attached to the main buffet) the shrimp fajitas are amazing so I had them 3 different nights. Next the D.R restaurant which offers steak, shrimp and many other awesome D.R dishes my least favorite but still delicious was the Italian restaurant great selection but the pasta dishes but most of those are always available at the buffets ( the beef medallion dish is superb). After dinner the nightly stage (entertainment shows) are diversified and delightful also thru the afternoon there is always entertainment and activities going on pool side. One night a week is a fun beach party complete with a bon fire good music and lots of dancing..There is a disco at emotions but I found it to be not busy and a lot of times only a few people dancing or even in it...The biggest thing that stand out with Emotions resort is the service which is top notch this was only accomplished by the well trained beautiful D.R workers and their attentiveness to make sure all visitors felt special..their sincere smiles and friendliness show thru at every moment, their ability to communicate in up to 4 or 5 different languages amazed me. It's experiences like this which keep me coming back to the D.R and I have no hesitation about returning to Emotions again ( maybe even next year)...Special thanks to Erik a awesome human being and top rated server who provided every one with the most quality service I have ever witnessed he would be serving at breakfast buffet in early morning then lunch beach buffet in afternoon and then beach bar-grill area at night to the wee hours of the morning...simply amazing.( I have spent all my work life in the service field and know the difference between adequate and awesome service) The awesome service is the # 1 attribute to Emotions resort. Also I would like to thank Emotions for surrounding me with the most awesome visitors from all over the the world and I now have found at least 50 more fellow traveling good friends...Oh yes the 14 days with no rain helped...lol. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff:Erik,Noe,Julian,Arianna,Leidy,Edwin,Ricardo,Rosellio,Deylania,Jose,Hector,Eziekal,MyMaids,Carlos,Eileen,Raquel,Mildred,Miranda,Fransisco,Yaranis,Pasqual,Salavador,Yolanda,Juania,Marcos,Doinisio,Robert,Kelvin and of course Gabriel the other staff.
The weak points
No one person or resort is perfect but if you reach out to be perfect you can achieve excellence and Emotions is heading in that direction...No major weak points.
Certified

Emotions Feb 16-23, 2018

, Kingston, ON
2018-02-26
overall this was a good resort but here are some things of interest... lighting too bright in buffet dining areas; simple maintenance un-actioned such as paint touch ups, curtains off of rods, ensuring soap dispensers are full, toilet paper full, taps working in bathrooms, proper grading of shower door sill which equated to a large amount of water on the floor each day, etc.; nightly entertainment should start by 9 as opposed to 9:45 -- too late for kids (and some adults) to attend; al-a-carte meals could only be booked 24 hrs in advance which was annoying to have to go to the desk each time to do this; my husband witnessed a bartender swishing glasses in soapy water then in clear water -- no washing of the rim of the glass (I am against the use of straws because they are not recyclable, however, once I heard that, straws were a great idea); music too loud at pm aerobics -- just when you want to siesta; two days shower towels were removed but not replaced; beer was only stocked twice in the fridge the entire duration, supposed to be every other day; drinks upon arrival was very nice (travelling to get to these resorts makes for a very long day); one day an appetizer was served and it was nice; dominican restaurant - very little menu choices; italian restaurant - nice atmosphere, too much open space, too much bench seating, chairs low and uncomfortable; buffet food was good, but way too repetitious; only the same two salad dressings all week; asked 2 staff for peanut butter, and they said they didn't have any -- found it on my 2nd last day -- at the grill area for pancakes; suggest you set the spreads out with the bread section; smoothie bar was nice for breaky; garbage burning nearby at night was disgusting; there was a toddler crying for over an hour straight two mornings in a room beside us, then for over an hour in the middle of the night the next night; perhaps it would be better to put families with small children in areas together; the rooms are not soundproof, even though we had earplugs in, it still kept all of us up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach party, unsure why there weren't more of those; beach towel got wet in rain, so requested another one, was told one one/day -- employee smiled at me and gave me a fresh one! lots of staff to serve you and majority were helpful and friendly;
The weak points
Music too loud in buffet areas and nightly entertainment shows; safe not bolted to the wall in our room; 3X cleaning staff did not restore the security pin in our patio doors for security; no designated smoking areas; food was extremely repetitive
Certified

Mixed bag

, Mississauga, ON
2018-02-18
lots of good things here but also lots of poor things which could be corrected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean; food was very good in all restaurants; beach is very good with lots of activities; grounds mature and pleasant. Michael Jackson show was excellent. People very friendly for the most part.
The weak points
housekeeping was poor with late room cleaning and missing items like towels, fridge stock. Service generally poor . had to chase around for morning coffee in buffet restaurants. hotel seem understaffed as service was ultra slow except in buffets.
Certified

Best ever

, Edmonton, AB
2018-01-06
hotel.grounds,staff, entertaiment, food,all excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent resort.Will go back for sure.
The weak points
no week points
Certified

1 week stay at the Hodelpa

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-09
Great hotel and staff. Lovely beach setting, you can bicycle and the pool is great. The internet WORKS! BUT THE TV IS ALL SPANISH EXCEPT FOR 3 CHANNELS. Just be aware of that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi, Pool, Beach, Food, Staff.
The weak points
Not that many people at the hotel, so don't go if you're single!
Certified

Bello Resort

, Pickering, ON
2017-06-05
My stay at emotions by hadelpa has been a wonderful experience. The service from the staff at the restaurants,bars ,coffee shop is excellent.The animation team is very engaging with all the activities planed throughout the day.Ruth is definitely a standout from the entertainment team really great energy.The room was new but the view from my room was not that good.Beautiful beach where I spent most of my time .Good food and the drinks were not to bad.Mojito is a drink I like but they don't have it at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It's very clean,really great staff,new resort,really nice beach,
The weak points
Lot's of cats roaming around while you are having your meal jumping on you.
Certified

2 week vacation

, Wileville, NS
2017-04-25
My husband and I travelled with Keith Rhuland and his wife. I am submitting my own review. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, very easy to get around, nice staff - especially around the pool and in the coffee shop, great beach for walking. Nice A la cartes.
The weak points
Worst was being repeatedly asked to join VIP, even after politely refusing over a two week period! No water sports, excursions a long drive away (2 hours is too much), too long of a trip to and from the airport in Punta Cana. Poor buffet drink service.
Certified

Emotions by Hodelpa

, Brandon, MB
2017-03-17
Nice resort for the price. Very friendly staff.The Mexican and Dominican a la carte restaurants were very good. I was disappointed with the Italian restaurant as it has little in the way of Italian cuisine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff. Great nightly entertainment.
The weak points
Insufficient lounge chairs at the main pool.No garbage bins located at the beach seating area thus some guests leave garbage in the sand.Need more palapas for shade at the beach area.
Certified

Nice, but a few problems

, Montreal, QC
2017-03-10
The hotel is small and close to the beach, which is great. The rooms are clean and confortable, even if the door of the bathroom didn't close properly. The beach itself is quite clean and nice. The food at the hotel was better than I expected, but was more or less always the same. The staff was courteous, though service was slow in the restaurants and the maids cleaned the room quite late (on two occasions after 6 pm). Overall, I enjoyed my stay and the inconvenients were not enough to make it less pleasant. Nevertheless, I don't think this is a 4 1/2 star hotel, rather a 3 1/2. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the food, the location, the cleanliness of the room and the free wi-fi everywhere in the hotel & on the beach.
The weak points
Too much loud music on the beach and at the pool area, room cleaning at odd hours, slow service in the restaurants.
Certified

Be aware

, Edmonton, AB
2017-02-27
Room was clean but it was a very long walk to the beach. Located within walking distance to Juan Dolio. A very eclectic mix of guests. Didn't really cater to singles. Yoga advertised but didn't exist.
One of the guests I met had their safe robbed by security and the hotel would not call the police. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most staff were courteous.
The weak points
Theft of personal property was occurring.Servers did not offer me coffee or water numerous times at the buffets. Long drives if you want to go on any excursions.
Certified

Wonderful trip

, Lasalle, QC
2016-07-06
We went from June 24 to July 1 and we had a wonderful time. We will definetly return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff the service , food ,beach ,everybody going above and beyond.
The weak points
The evening entertainment was a little lacking.
Certified

Great vacation! Great people!!

, Goulds, NL
2016-03-23
We had a wonderful week at this resort! Our rooms were beautiful, modern and very clean! The pool was nice and in the nighttime it was even better when it was lit up. The staff are very accommodating and always smiling! The entertainment staff make you feel at home! The food was fantastic and the beach was pretty nice too! There's a small street to cross to get to the beach. It's not a big deal and there is always a guard there to watch! I would definetly come back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

The Perfect Size resort

, Wallaceburg, ON
2016-03-10
We loved the overall size, easy to walk around from rooms, to pools, to food & to the beach. Friendly staff, Jose Castillo the best server, he went above and beyond all expectations of the Italian restaurant. Modern, clean rooms with A/C & ceiling fan!! Weather was perfect and so was the food & booze!! We really enjoyed this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food & drink, great beach with plenty of chairs at pool & beach & friendly, happy staff. Coffee shop & beer bar terrific!
The weak points
Too far from Punta Cana airport
Certified

Definitely would come back to this resort

, Vancouver, BC
2016-03-01
I had a great time, the resort was fairly new so not all the renovation was complete. The room was clean. If you are a person that gets cold easily like I do then you need to ask extra blanket as there are none in the room, just sheets on your bed. Also, shortage of facecloths, so you do need to ask for them as I did not have any when I was there for 7 days. The staff are great there, food was good and the entertainment was enjoyable, no problem there! :) Overall, I really enjoy my time there and would definitely come back. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and entertainment
The weak points
Staff at front desk was not at their best in getting what you asked and need.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?