Royalton Bavaro Resort And Spa

Royalton Bavaro Resort And Spa
4.304.304.304.304.30
4.30 based on 83 reviews
#7 of 98 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (56)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful beach and property but some food concern

, Mississauga, ON
2020-03-21
Good experience overall
Love the circular layout of the lobby and all the little tables to relax at. All colours were creamy and mellow making everything look classy
Spectacular and clean beach but small and crowded
Food good except for Japanese and Italian
The buffet food was much better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, beautiful beach but crowded, excellent coffee shop, very clean all around. Buffet restaurant good with excellent selection
The weak points
Zen and Gracie restaurants very poor. We all had stomach issues on the trip. Wonder if food handling was poor? For example, did they keep raw meat at the proper temperature and did they wash properly?
Certified

Excellente Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-17
The hotel was great. Clean, accommodating and comfortable with activities for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Comfortable, easy to navigate, lots of activities, excellent staff, good food
Certified

Great resort....not so great service.

, Brampton, ON
2020-03-15
The resort is great, rooms are very nice (although they could be cleaned better) the beach is breathtaking but crowded and hard to find a chair. The pools are great and so is the lazy river. Food is amazing....although the main dinner buffet always has a line up to get in (which I've never seen at any resort) and once you sit, good luck getting a drink ( we would eat our whole meal before getting asked if we wanted a drink). We also did encounter rude bartenders and waiters with no manners and would speak bad about us in Spanish which I understood. Don't get me wrong, there were many nice servers but the rude ones really stood out as we haven't really seen that in Mexico which we have been to often. Swim out room are highly recommended especially if u have children. My kids loved it. You can't make reservations for any of the restaurants so u have to wait every night to see if they have space. And the oriental cooking show is the only one that takes reservations but u have to line up at 7:30am and wait for the booking to open at 8 to get a spot, that's a bit crazy. The Brazilian restaurant is the only one we got to go to as it kind of hidden so not many people know about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, great drinks and food, great fitness and yoga classes, gorgeous beach, food truck by the beach and drink truck in the middle of the resorts which smoothies etc. Snack bar in middle of resort
The weak points
Bad service. Rude servers. Dinner buffet doesn't accommodate the amount of guests. Not enough seats at shows. No dance clubs at night.
Certified

Royalton Bavaro Punta Cana

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2020-03-01
Overall a great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, beach, pools, lazy river, flow rider
The weak points
Some wait staff don't understand English well. Evening entertainment is ok but not wow like royalton riviera Cancun.
Certified

Great week at the Royalton Bavaro!

, Newmarket, ON
2020-02-16
Wow, what a great resort! Diamond club was totally worth it, our 'butler' Matiel was really good to us. The food quality was excellent, the restaurants are just as good as anything in Toronto. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The beach is really nice, but it was too windy while we were there. Plenty of seats and umbrellas everywhere!
We would strongly recommend this place to everyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful new resort. Great food. Friendly staff. Plenty of seats and umbrellas.
The weak points
Too many vendors/sales people. (not horrible, just say no politely and keep walking)
Certified

Couples Retreat - Not

, Sherwood Park , AB
2020-02-14
Definitely a hotel for families - not so much for couples. Very busy resort with lots of kids 10 years and under. Staff are friendly and resort is clean, rooms are nice - definitely recommend a swim out room. The beach is nice but packed. Most guests from Canada. There was a teachers strike in Ontario while we were there so maybe that had a lot to do with the amount of families at the resort which seemed unusually high for February. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean rooms with a very nice shower, better than average food. Nice beach. Pretty good internet access everywhere on the resort.
The weak points
No mini liquor bottles in the room - just small cans of beer. Beaches are crowded. Not really a resort for couples but great for families. Public bathrooms small - limited stalls. Liquor selection/specialty drinks limited.
Certified

A Great Holiday!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-04
This was my first visit to Punta Cana and the Royalton Bavaro resort. The hotel is fairly new so the resort seemed up to date and very clean. The staff are all super friendly. The food was fantastic. We went to every a la carte restaurant and both buffets. There were lots of activities including a lazy river with a swim up bar, mini putt, Flow rider, a great beach volleyball court, and kayaks. Evening entertainment was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has everything you need and more. 5 stars for food, activities and cleanliness.
The weak points
They have a market every other day and the salespeople are a bit pushy and in your face. Also they could have used a couple more paddles for the kayaks.
Certified

Royalton Bavaro Resort and Spa, Punta Cana

, Oshawa, ON
2020-02-03
I have not travelled for many, many years and was travelling alone. After spending some time with my travel agent together we chose Royalton Bavaro Resort and Spa. This property not only met my expectations from the pictures but well exceeded my expectations when I arrived. The Royalton Bavaro is beautiful, well maintained and very clean. I am actually planning to return in 2021 for 2 weeks. Ten days wasn't long enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, beautiful and the people are amazing and I felt very safe being on my own there. The food was exceptional as well.
Certified

Amazing Time!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-28
I travelled with my fiance, his daughter and her family. We stayed in the diamond club and had the most unforgettable experience. Even the family that did not stay in the diamond club were treated like royalty. The food was superb. The beach was clean and the service was spot on and quick. They took note of my coconut allergy and were careful with all my dishes and drinks. The grounds were so well kept you didn't see any garbage anywhere. The entertainment was well thought out and even for the little kids. Our butler went above and beyond his duty with us ensuring everything was thought out with dinner and anything else we needed. He even asked for us to ley him know we got Jones safe which we did. I will definitely return back to this beautiful resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is always with a smile. They work so hard to keep everyone happy. I wish that most guests returned the favor to them with kindness.
Certified

Overall great Hotel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2020-01-17
We had a great time this past week and loved the hotel. Beautiful rooms, loved the lazy river and very clean all around. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-loved the room key on the bracelet -loved our swim out room -loved our double head shower, so good when showering with kids -very nice furniture and decor -loved that their is no towel cards
The weak points
-pools too cold -should alternate food options at the main buffet for different selections daily. Too much of the same food everyday -should put a garbage can in the room area not just in the washroom
Certified

Fantastic Holiday

, Baden, ON
2020-01-15
We spent a week here with our 3 kids in early January. The resort was spotless, the service was fantastic and the food was great. Our kids loved the lazy river and the kids pool area. We enjoyed dinner at all of the restaurants and had great meals at all of them . The resort is fantastic for families - I would not recommend it for adults without kids, as there are children everywhere, all the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- property is extremely clean and well maintained - lots of good options . The a la cart restaurants had great food and great service. - lots to do . Resort is big but not massive. - rooms are new and very clean
The weak points
The sales people for their time share properties are very annoying. They can be pushy . We had breakfast with them one day (day 2) and once they knew we weren't buying their product , they left us alone . I wish they wouldn't be so pushy.
Certified

False Claims to accomodate dietary restrictions

, Mississauga, ON
2020-01-12
I have formally complained with the Roylaton Bavaro in Punta Cana, DR about our week trip in December 2019 booked back in August 2019 and was told by our booking agent prior to purchasing that Royalton Bavaro accommodates for dietary restrictions. This was the only factor and value-add for us to book this resort otherwise we have always gone with Sandals & Beaches resorts as they have had accommodated our dietary restrictions every time in the past.

Leading up to the trip, our agent had called the resort to confirm our dietary restrictions. She had talked to various people(Juan, Alejandro, Luis and Alexander Gonzalez(executive chef) at the resort including the reservation, concierge desks and the F&B supervisor to confirm that it will be accommodated and were told to ask for the chef upon arrival as it has been noted and ordered through the restaurant chefs on-site. However, as we checked-in no one seem to know anything about our dietary restrictions. This is simply a false claim and advertising to get business and I am ask for a compensation and the issue be addressed immediately. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
unable to accomodate dietary restrictions

Fabulous vacation!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-09
We spent a week here over the holidays. It is a beautiful resort. Lots to do for our teenage boys. Food was terrific, rooms are great and staff is very friendly although service can be a little slow at times. They have e everything you need for your room and will provide more if you ask. The room is very humid at first but after one day with the AC running and the balcony door closed it was fine. The beach and ocean are beautiful. Chairs on the beach were a little hard to come by in the morning but plentiful by the pool. We can't wait to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, rooms, beach
The weak points
Service slow in some places
Certified

Not worth the price

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-05
It was a bad experience the whole time and staff did nothing to resolve it, not only did they do nothing, they lied to your face about it. We didn't sleep for 8 days because of the joined room neighbors, that we didn't travel there with or request.

Had decent service in a few restaurants day 4 and that's the ones we continued to visit. Going to a restaurant strted giving me anxiety not knowing if we would get drinks or get a seat. Been to 2 other Mexican resorts, this one is not even average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beach is by far the best in the area -Food variety and quality was good
The weak points
- Hotel looks run down, not new like it says on website, refurbished - Restaurant service is bad, 3/4 times we got bad service or no drink service - Management/reception makes the appearance of trying to solve problems but no solutions
Certified

Our stay at the Royalton bavaro resort and spa

, St Thomas, ON
2019-12-18
When we arrived at the airport their was an attendant that helped us out with transportation to our hotel. On the bus they offered beers for $5 but then changed his mind towards the middle of the trip and offered $3 a beer. We arrived at our hotel at the diamond club. It was air conditioned and they offered us a drink and snacks. We got our bands for our room so we didn't need a key card. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pools. We were given 4 bottles of alcohol at the beginning of our stay but someone came in and took the whiskey bottle. Our butler took a long time to investigate it and in the end we were not compensated for this aggravation. We thought they would just replace the bottle and that never happened. He told us the security has nothing to do with the bar. We went out for supper at one of the restaurants every night that our butler set up for us. We walked along the beach. We went to the waterpark not at the hotel. We went on the flow rider. We didn't do any excursions. I had to call for mini bar service everyday so it's not restocked daily only upon request even though we did tip. The maid service cleaned the bare minimum which we tipped and I had to call for more towels which is annoying. The food was good. At the end we were checking out and it took a long time for them to get our bags to the front. Butler service isn't worth it at this resort. This is our second time in DR and we probably won't go back just because of the lack of service. Mexico had better service and better food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is clean and beautiful Hotel clean and huge Flow rider is a must Waterpark is very nice and clean Weather was very hot but windy the last few days Food was good, couldn't find peanut butter Lazy river was a nice feature and we used it
The weak points
Room service is horrible Bartender service ok Drinks hit and miss At lunch time everyone is trying to find something to eat so all the places near the beach were too busy. Diamond club isn't worth the money A lot of communication mistakes
Certified

Best Resort Ever

, Mississauga, ON
2019-09-28
From the immediate experience upon arrival at the resort, we felt loved, welcomed and respected by the all the staff. The beach is absolutely beautiful and all of the facilities here are impeccable. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are so comfortable. Overall best luxury resort I've been to and will be going back as a repeat client in October 2019. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Brazilian, Steak & Japanese restaurants are the best restaurants. Beach is gorgeous and the beach chairs and bali beds are so comfortable. Room service is a fantastic option for breakfast.
The weak points
Italian restaurant not very great

Great Family vacation

, Richmond Hill, ON
2019-08-30
My family and I had the best time at Royalton. There was plenty to do everyday, and the night shows and entertainment were great.
The resort super clean, and well maintained.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful.
The drinks , food were great, would make us whatever we wanted. There was so much to do.
Would definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort super clean
Certified

Fantastic family vacation at Royalton Bavaro Beach

, Grimsby, ON
2019-05-14
Beautiful hotel, bigger than Royalton Punta Cana, more activities for kids. Lazy river, mini putt etc. Excellent kids club with many activities. Spacious rooms, comfy beds. Food was very good, lot's of variety. Due to low season they had a rolling closure of some restaurants which was frustrating. Staff were helpful. Pools were gorgeous. Quite a bit of walking from beach and pool to the main lobby/buffet area. Our travel agent was amazing and went above and beyond for us. Would absolutely use Romantic Planet and Jennifer again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, food, activities for kids, evening entertainment, drinks.
The weak points
Room set up, tub in the middle of the room really got in the way! Rolling closure of restaurants wasn't communicated, got all dressed up to go to Hunter and it was closed. Too pushy on the "sales" pitch to sign up for their time share. ANNOYING.
Certified

Royalton Bavaro Punta Cana

, Sudbury, ON
2019-04-21
Excellent, friendly staff. The resort is super safe, and clean, great for family. The food was delicious especially their desserts. Will definitely go back to the resort. Travelled on eastern airlines all they give us water 2 hours into the flight absolutely no coffee on our morning flight. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

1 Bedroom Presidential Sweet Suite!!

, Stittsville, ON
2019-04-04
Great hotel with great staff and great features. Loved the 1 bedroom layout with a great view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Glorious rooms. High end food...even at the buffets. Impressive evening shows.
The weak points
Onsite pressured sales pitches for their vacation packages. Typical for many resorts.
Certified

Not worth the money

, Calgary, AB
2018-12-26
3,5 stars because of the service cooks needs training,meats and seafood over cooked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice ,modern comfortable chairs on the beach .
The weak points
Staff at diamond club 0" customer service mostly ruthless ,diamond lounge has all day sushi,dray wraps and meatballs, staff on their cellphones not helping customers ,room cleaning needs improving,
Certified

Enjoyed our stay

, Ajax, ON
2018-12-18
Pros - Newer hotel with great amenities. Loved the flow rider and lazy river. The hotel was not very busy when we went so got lots of chances to ride the flow rider. Hotel has lots of chairs by the pool so don't need to book your spot in advance. However seating by the beach is restricted (see Cons section). Hotel also provides free safe and unlimited towels. You don't need a towel card/pass to pick up a towel which was nice since you don't need to worry about someone stealing your towel and not having a towel card to show for it. The food was excellent. Very flavourful. A` la carte were also nice. My least favourite was the Japanese and most favourite was the Italian. Resort also had take away pizza boxes during lunch time which was very nice to take away and have at the pool or at your room. Having small kids this take away option was very convenient. There is also a nice coffee/ice cream parlour with variety of coffee options. We went there twice a day. Once in the morning and again in the afternoon for coffee. The kids area was well equipped and nicely air-conditioned and comfortable. The staff are super friendly and courteous. Everyone we spoke to or asked for help were super friendly and went out of their way to help. In previous vacations (especially in Cuba) you had to tip the cook at the grill else they would frown or take forever to make your dish, but not so here. I found here at the Royalton the cooks at the grill were super efficient and didn't expect to be tipped. They would anticipate the volume and put enough meat on the grill ahead of time rather than wait for folks to line up. I ate at the grill much more at this resort due to super efficient and friendly cooks.
Cons - No major concerns but if I was asked what could be done better I would suggest that the kids bed needs a thicker mattress. We were at the Family room which had a king bed for the adults and a double bed for the kids. I found the kids mattress too thin and kids kept hitting their knees on the steel bed railings. Room service does not clean the bath tub unless you asked for it. When we first checked-in the bath tub had hair from the previous occupants which had not been cleaned. We also noticed they would not clean the bath tub after we used it unless you asked them to. There was no Sunday Catholic mass at this resort. I've been to Punta Cana about 8 times and every time was able to go to Sunday Mass at the resort but had to miss this time since this resort did not provide. Seating by the beach is restricted. Especially the diamond club beach section is small and over crowded. The resort beach space is not very wide so chairs are stacked vertically (i.e. depth wise) which means you are farther away from the beach. This is especially a problem with small kids since you want to be able to see them play in the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing vacations

, Saint Leonard, QC
2018-10-13
Ce voyage vient de se positionner en haut de la liste.
Un resort parfait à tout niveau.
Le service est excellent, la propreté est parfaite, l'animation de jour comme de soir est excellente, la plage est magnifique, les piscines, le surf, la rivière, tout est vraiment parfait et complet.
Lea chambres sont spacieuses, très propre, literie très confortable.
J'ai voyage seule avec mon fils et on a eu beaucoup de plaisir.
Plusieurs activités pour les enfants tout au long de la journée.
Les différents restos offrent beaucoup de variétés et choix pour petits et grand.
Je vous recommande fortement cet hôtel de 5* qui est nouveau et simplement parfait.
J'y retournerais sûrement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful Week

, Unionville, ON
2018-09-22
We had a wonderful time at this resort, and especially enjoyed our swim-out room. We didn't once use the main pools and only used the lounge chairs at the beach. There were not too many guests while we were there the first week of September, which made for a quiet stay and no line ups at the specialty restaurants, though the Saturday we arrived was busy and our neighbours were very loud and chatty in the middle of the night. Once you're familiar with the resort and where things are, it feels smaller and the walking is very manageable. We stayed in Building 16 which offered a shaded as well as an open walkway to the main part of the resort. We watched the violin performance at the square and the Michael Jackson show in the theatre which was both very nice. The show name is deceiving as only a small part was dedicated to Michael Jackson's songs, but still very nice. Each building has its own concierge who could be pushy selling promotions (I think they get commission or some form of reward), but they leave you alone once they know you're not interested. There's plenty of staff around and the resort is very clean. It's only been opened less than a year. Not all staff are english-speaking, but they do try their best to help. The rooms are the absolute best (we've been to many hotels), with a whirlpool, shower with 3 shower-heads, double sink, and a sitting room. Very spacious, bright and clean! Divider between sink area and main room has a decorative panel with holes to most likely allow for natural light to reach the area but also eliminated any privacy from the rest of the room and outside the patiobalcony. Covering the panel with towels fixed that problem. If you're not a picky eater, there's always something to satisfy your appetite. The buffets have a large selection; not sure if pizza is 24 hours; but there is a pub-style restaurant that serves great food and that is available 24 hours; didn't try Rio or the food truck; Hunter was hit and miss; Zen was terrible - restaurant had no ventilation. We definitely didn't go hungry all week with something to choose from every day. Guests were a mixture of couples of all ages, families with young children and older adults as well. Young kids will enjoy the kids pool and lazy river. We love lazy rivers, but this one didn't seem to have enough flow to move people along so that often you were stuck in one place. Our Sunwing rep was available on-site with excursions and other info. Incoming seaweed on beach diminished somewhat mid week and staff were able to clear the Diamond Club beach area for useswimming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have no other resort experience in Punta Cana as this was our first time there, but we would definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly and helpful staff; beautiful and clean resort; great rooms;
The weak points
more signagedirection for restaurants and entertainment (Rio was difficult to find - we asked and were given wrong directions - it is upstairs above Oceanside); lazy river could be improved to flow better;
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020