Be Live Collection Canoa

Be Live Collection Canoa
3.553.553.553.553.55
3.55 based on 165 reviews
#7 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in La Romana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (74)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Our recent stay at Be Live Canoa Bayahibe LaRomana

, Woodstock, ON
2019-12-27
They had a little trouble finding our reservation , not sure why, Hydro in the whole area was out when we arrived, we were early so got checked in then went for some lunch, Resort grounds are beautiful lots of palm trees & greenery ,lots of duck, geese turkeys & birds, our room was in the 300 building which is very central to everything. Room could use some updating but bed was comfortable & it was clean. Lots of variety on the buffet but most food was cool as it is at most resorts. we did 3 al a cartes, Brazilian,Mexican & Japanese , all were excellent, Drinks are great, pool was cool but refreshing, Nice beach but most of it has vanished due to high water level, ocean water was warm but kinda rocky so wear water shoes. entertainment crew was fantastic, nightly shows good especially the Michael Jackson show. every night there is entertainment & dancing in the central Plaza, where there is also a coffee bar BUT we found no, no smoking areas & the smoke chocked us out many nights, lots & lots of smokers, Many many french, russians, chechz, & Spanish people, not much english, overall it was a great vacation & I would recommend it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
most things
The weak points
smoking smoking smoking, cool food in buffet
Certified

Stay away from Be Live Canoa!

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-01
My experience at this hotel was abysmal. I would never return, nor recommend it to anyone. I reached the character limit in the weak points section, but I was no where near finished. During our stay, we changed rooms twice. The first time we switched rooms was before the first night. Our old room had two double beds instead of a king bed, the room was littered with mosquitoes, and the walls were scuffed and stained. In our new room, we had the king bed we requested, and no mosquitoes. However, the AC wasn't working, the shower had used soap bars from the previous guest, and the TV had static and horizontal lines. We decided to stay in the room for the night despite the AC not working. We went through a lot in the first 3 nights, from staff being sarcastic and disrespectful, food being barely edible, unsanitary plates and cutlery, having sand in my pizza, getting an upset stomach, water not running in the room, toilet not flushing in the room, our room being cleaned without having towels for 3 hours because the hotel ran out or shower towels, the list goes on and on. After 3 nights, we've had quite enough and we wanted to go home. There was nothing enjoyable about our trip. Long story short, we eventually got an upgraded room (with it's own set of issues) and a VIP bracelet (which they initially wanted to sell to us for a discounted $20USD per night per person, but we didn't fall for that sales pitch). The new room had paper thin walls and large gaps in the doors, so we were able to hear a whisper from outside, the hallway, or the rooms next to us/over us. The TV also didn't work well in the new room. The VIP bracelet entitled us to better food, premium liquor, room service, premium wifi, and a separate pool. That was the highlight of the trip. Despite the upgrade, I would not recommend it, especially for the price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are no strong points unless you happen to upgrade to VIP. VIP is a serious upgrade. Premium wifi is roughly 200 times faster than the free wifi. Download speed with free wifi was 50-60kb/s. Download speed with premium wifi was 10-11mb/s.
The weak points
Free wifi is too slow. Long lines at bars during the evening. Under staffed. 80% of staff only speak Spanish. Communicating with staff can be an issue. Gym equipment is outdated. Many mosquitoes. Low quality food. No AC in gym. Pillows are uncomfortable.
Certified

Christmas 2018

, East Margaretsville, NS
2019-01-06
First time at a Be Live. Wonderful location and immaculate grounds. Obvious that renovations were ongoing but not distracting to guests. Staff are all curtious and try to be helpful but tend to blow you off instead of getting help if language barrier gets difficult. Disappointed that al a cartes were not options despite try to book when the service desk opened. Most frustrating that despite claiming all inclusive it isn't and feel the chains website should indicate that the resort is super smoker friendly. Instead of dedicated areas for smoking a person had to search out non smoking areas. Very impressed with presence of security 24/7 would return to another Be Live but would need to be much cheaper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Security people are very present making it comfortable to walk alone -no pressure from time share -Pretty decent free wifi -beach beautiful and accessible with boardwalks for people with mobility concerns
The weak points
Cover charge in some bars Pelican/mylos and Japanese restaurant not all inclusive Smoking everywhere even in food areas Nothing to eat after 10 even in 24/7 bar Spraying pesticides at night
Certified

Poor Customer Service, Poor Food.

2015-02-23
A hotel which puts policy first before the customer experience, will never get my $ again. I travelled there with my husband and 5year old son. First room we were in was the Deluxe with king. It's really a standard room that's been remodelled. Fine except for the 2 inch cockroach and broken balcony door.
Most concerning was the lack of customer service and empathy once reported to the hotel. We paid for the upgrade and moved two times before being happy with the room. Overall, don't recommend this hotel unless you're looking for a budget vacation, arn't picky with service (eg. waiters not offering coffee when you sit for breakfast or a small percentage of the staff speaking English, slightly below average quality of food) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good value for the $. Villas and Penthouses with Terrace are very nice. Beach is crowded but beautiful (white sand and tranquil sea). Lots of shade if preferred.
The weak points
Safe not included, Wifi is promoted as available, but not included without paying extra. Hotel construction is poor (although newly renovated room, no locks on doors, balcony hinges broken. Many stores not yet open. Don't allow towel changes during day.
Certified

Be live canoa

, Sudbury, ON
2011-05-05
Overall the stay was pretty good, however I did have a few concerns. The hotel is about 2 hours away from the airport and although the ride there was ALRIGHT, going back was TERRIBLE. I have never been so scared (and carsick) in a vehicle in my life. Another concern was some of staff (most were fabulous), but the man in charge of the towels and beach balls kept trying to tease us and not give us our things (two young women) and one time when my friend just grabbed the ball as he was tossing it in the air and teasing us, he reacted by grabbing my arm and wouldnt let me go, no matter how much I pleased. I had a giant red mark the rest of the day! Another issue we had was with regards to the water sports. There were no lifejackets in one of the boats and they advertise on the website that you can jetskii (which happened to swing our vote to this particular resort) and it turns out it is ILLEGAL there and we couldn't do it. Oh yes, and they also advertised about snorkling at a ship wreck and then the man who was leading the tour had no idea about any ship wreck, needless to day we didn't see one. Oh and finally, when you buy a bottle of wine at an a la carte, they won't allow you to pay for it at the time, but only when you check out. When I checked out nothing was charged to me (and I assumed it had been) so I had a phonecall at 12 30am in Canada waking up my family the following day saying that they need to fix up my bill. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach
The weak points
no deadbolts
Certified

Get rid of the Vera Club or Warn People

, Oshawa, ON
2011-02-20
The resort was everything we expected.
The Vera Club is something that people not belonging to it should be made aware of before they book or at least upon arrival. This is some sort of Italian club that all others are shunned from. They have their own section of beach, their own buffet and evening entertainment and their own animation staff. Because this is never explained to you we saw a lot of embarassing situations occur when non Vera Club members tried to eat at their buffett or participate in their activities. The Vera Club guests on the other hand have access to everything the resort has to offer. This is not a good way to run an all inclusive resort. It's either all inclusive or it isn't. Be Live Canoa is not! If you wander to their section or even their side of the beach you will feel the cold, unfriendly stares even from the staff. Please make potential guests aware of this segregation so they can decide whether it's acceptable or not before booking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff all around
The weak points
Advertise the segregation between the Italian Vera Club and the rest of the resort.
Certified

Not horrible, but not going back

, Toronto, ON
2010-12-30
I can understand that some people had lots of fun there and they liked the food. We did not. It is not a nightmare or anything like that, but the music was too loud everywhere. There was a phone rining all the time! Nice infraestructure, but missing lots of maintenance and needed upgrades pretty much everywhere. Beach was nice, but small and crowded. We had a good time regardless, because we lower as much as get could our expectections, but we are not coming back .... ever. It is not worth the money we saved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price
The weak points
All the rest. Loud music everywhere all the time. Mediocre food. Lack of overall maintenance.
Certified

Worst Vacation We Ever Had.....

, Prescott, ON
2010-11-24
The resort was beautiful and the beach was nice, but the staff and the food left us disappointed. The locals take over the resort on the weekends, so forget getting service from the staff. There was only 2 restaurants to choose from, as the Vera Club is only for Italian guests and the other ones were closed. The buffett got boring after eating the same thing for 3 meals everyday. No one speaks english, and even with a tip, the maids will only pull the sheets up on your bed and forget to bring you fresh towels. We made the best of our trip, but were itching to get home by day 5. This was anything but relaxing and has left a poor taste in our mouths for all Be Live resorts. The price is cheap, and the resort shows it. Please don't waste your money...spend the couple extra bucks and get a real vacation. We disregarded the reviews and regret is terrible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort itself was clean and nice and the drinks were good.
The weak points
The locals take over on the weekends and you won't get service. The restaurants aren't open to everyone and its confusing when you do or don't need a reservation.
Certified

Fabulous

, Waterloo, ON
2010-03-24
We had a wonderful time at Oasis Canoa. The location is awesome and the staff works hard to give you a great experience. The pool and beach are amazing. The food was plentiful and varied so you didn't get bored. This will certainly be a new favourite for our family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool and beach and hard working staff
The weak points
Kids club could be better but the staff works well with what they have.
Certified

Oasis Canoa

, Peterborough, ON
2010-03-21
Hotel and grounds are kept in good shape. Little to choose from in the way of restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and grounds very well kept
The weak points
little to choose from in the way of restaurants.
Certified

Oasis Canoa

, Kitchener, ON
2010-03-05
Great food. Great pool and beach. Lots of mosquitos. AC in room did not work very well, very hot. Staff was extremely friendly! Great time, would definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, staff, beach/pool
The weak points
mosquitos, AC not working in room
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021