Club Amigo Mayanabo

Club Amigo Mayanabo
3.363.363.363.363.36
3.36 based on 301 reviews
#4 of 5 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Santa Lucia (Camaguey)
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (121)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Club Mayanabo good value

, Peterborough, ON
2020-01-22
An exceedingly long bus ride from and to the airport is the biggest downside to staying at this resort. It is a well managed three star with decent food and a staff that does their best to accommodate the needs of the tourists. Great walking beach though somewhat sea-weedy and can be windy though kite surfers love it. Though there are basketball courts, none of them have hoops which was disappointing. It would be nice to hear some live, authentic Cuban music which unfortunately was not a part of the experience. The strong Russian tourist contingent can be culturally interesting. Come for more than a week so the four hour bus ride isn't so intrusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Santa Lucia's lover

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-21
I've been at this resort many times for the fact that's a small resort with a friendly feeling. Most of the staff do what they can to accommodate and please you but there are things that beyond their meanings and that's where i don't know who to blame. My only concern and dissatisfaction is with food variety, not quantity but variety even within what's available. There are thousands of ways to cook pork, chicken and meat, why is it cooked the same way? An island abundant in fish, why 99% of the time only Tilapia (a controversial fresh water fish) is served deep fried. Otherwise i really enjoy this area and resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service and location.
The weak points
Repetitive food.
Certified

Just what I needed

, Cambridge, ON
2018-03-31
I had a great time away. It was my first time travelling solo so I was a little apprehensive, but everyone was friendly and helpful I was fine before long. I found this resort to be quaint and charming and the weather was absolutely perfect. The beach was very windy at times, but I wasn't aware it was a place known for windsurfing so it makes sense. Even still the beach is the beach and that is the reason for my stay and it was warm, shallow and lovely. Kudos to the staff, thank you for a wonderful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Staff Beach Pool Close proximity to towns Ability to leave resort for walks, biking etc.
The weak points
Bathrooms Food but you can always find something
Certified

We had an amazing week!

, Fredericton, NB
2017-03-13
We came to Cuba for the beautiful beach and to escape cold Canadian weather and we're not disappointed. The food was above average and the staff were all very friendly! We especially enjoyed the friendly entertainment staff and had a blast at the shows. The bedrooms were an older style but were kept clean. We would definitely come here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Okay

, Thornhill, ON
2016-07-07
We had good time there and staff are nice and helpful. Only problem is far from the city without convenient transportation. But overall we did enjoy the stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good beach
The weak points
Wifi isn't too good
Certified

Very relaxing vacation

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-02
I was surprisingly impressed with the overall resort most of the time. Service was impeccable as well as cleanliness except when there were(some) Cubans. Beach was cleaned daily and not just in front of the resort but the whole beach which made walks really pleasant. Regarding food...it is what it is but I saw improvement. I got a room on Bloco 3 which was quiet. I should congratulate management for the improvement in the last year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach and cleanliness
The weak points
For the value...there are no weak point.
Certified

Was ok,

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-07
stayed for a week, was too much, great staff on the whole , except for the kids that work there taking over volleyball court, too aggresive, no swim up bar, volley ball court is dangerous, do not use,, built on top of boulders, not much to do, too far from camaquey, left resort for a walk got accosted three times by viagra salesmen, ???disco, ??? just down the road is a hang out for prostitutes, average age of quests, 85 years old, food was great, but cant get near the buffet, untill the 100, seniors have emptied it, it was a stampede, they allow older guys/ perverts to bring young girls to resort for the week, was not impressed, , also one payed for male prostitute, with an older lady, i think hes a regular, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

JD at CLUB AMIGO MAYANABO

, Montreal, QC
2016-02-07
This hotel for a 3* is superior to lots of 4* hotels in Cuba, old but the people that work in the resort are fantastic and the food was better than expected.
For night life outside the resort a few discotheques where you can enjoy the Cuban music [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Cuba Magic

, Cambridge, ON
2015-04-18
Mayanabo was a small quaint amazing resort. My sister and I had a terrific vacation. The entertainment staff was so interactive with all the guests. Pool games and prizes all day, then wonderful dancing and costumes in the eve. You rock Raymond and Roly.
The pool is honestly the best pool I have seen in Cuba. So clean and well cared for. The chirro stand was yum yum yum. I think I gained a few extra pounds. The beach was a little rocky but water shoes fixed that fast. I love the ocean so nothing stops me from going in. Now we talk about food,of course it isn't the best but just remember, it's Cuba. There was always something for everyone. We were in room 224 and it was only 1 minute to the pool and 2 minutes to the beach. No noise at night. We met a few really nice new friends to keep in touch with. The only little problem we had was it was a bit windy every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
awesome staff, clean and beautiful pool.24 hour snack bar was the best. Chirro bar delicious. Size of resort was the best, not too much walking.
The weak points
Bar needs a blender for better icy pina colada's. Too much wind.
Certified

BETTER EVERY TIME

, Guelph, ON
2015-04-07
This was our 11th or 12th time at this hotel dating back to 2006. Each and every time we have noticed improvements to the hotel, far to many to remember!We were unable to visit in 2014 because of illness. This past visitwas our best and most memorable.Every one of the staff that were there before remembered us and welcomed us back. Improvements had been made throughout the hotel. Some rooms have been renovated over time, our room was not one of them,but our matresses were much better than previous visits. Many guests at the hotel are like us, repeat visitors,and long stay visitors, One couple that we have met in the past, from Ottawa was there for ten weeks this year! Guests come from as far away as Germany, Argentina, Columbia, Mexico and many other places.The entertainment staff were extremely friendy and conducted many activities toughout the day, and in the evening. My wife and I are 70 years young and can't wait to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy access to pool,lobby, bars,resaurants,beach, hotel rooms,almost always the least expensive of the four hotels ,
The weak points
hotel rooms are not the best

Peaceful Resort

, Montreal, QC
2015-03-18
Very nice stay and never felt stressed by other visitors. Quiet and restful resort. It has everything u need. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service throughout the resort, nice people not making you feel pressure for handouts like in Varedero
The weak points
Far from airport 1 hour and half ...but you are on vacation so whats the rush!
Certified

CAVEAT EMPTOR

, Dundas, ON
2015-03-09
We purchased this trip based on reviews we read on the internet. This is the first and last time we will stay at a Club Amigo, should have gone with my instinct. Although our time in the room was limited, we couldn't help but feel we were living in squalor!! Have been to Cuba over 15 times, this Resort was truly disgusting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sun, Sand and Ocean
The weak points
Safe broken, took a day to repair. Sliding door broken, repaired, only to fall out and narrowly missing us the next day. Fridge blew up. Red ants and cockroaches.Front door broken and could not secure at night. Food barely edible and the same every meal
Certified

Great Place

, Stoney Creek, ON
2014-12-14
For the price you can't go wrong. This is my 5th time going there and they have improved the place with the addition of the Churo's and the poolside ice cream and also with the additional poolside bar. I was very impressed. Orlando and Rudolfo at the bar always do a great job and you will never go hungry at the buffet. I can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are always friendly and willing to go out of there way for you
The weak points
There was no phone service in my room but that was a minor problem.
Certified

Quiet resort

, Burlington, ON
2014-12-01
overall great place for the money, main bar should stay open later [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
value
The weak points
bar
Certified

Two weeks vacation

, Orleans, ON
2014-04-12
First, I must say we've been to Cuba more than 25 times, mostly for diving. Santa Lucia is a very good place with great reefs.
Of the 4 hotels, we've been to the Gran Club, the Caracol and now, for the 3rd time, twice this year, at the Mayanabo.
This hotel is rated 3 stars and it is a 3 star hotel. If your looking for gourmet food, this hotel is like most Cuban hotels: There is a certain variety, an effort to be tasteful, but not a great fare. However, we don't go South for the food.
This hotel offers many places where one can be alone, in the wind, on a chair, reading or talking. The other hotels are very busy, with many people milling around.
The employees are very friendly and will do a lot to please you. When you are a repeater, they offer you a bottle of rhum as well as an evening at the restaurant. No big deal, but a very nice gesture. The hotel doesn't look very great from outside it's very well laid out. Many rooms were re-done.
If you're looking for peace and tranquility, this is it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness. Prompt repair services if something goes wrong. Very clean.
The weak points
Upkeep is on the weak side: You have to call the desk to replace a burned out bulb. These things are not done automatically. However, this is MUCH worst at the Gran Club or the Caracol.
Certified

2 great weeks at Mayanabo

, Orleans, ON
2014-02-14
This is not a 5 star hotel.
However, it's a great place. The employees are very pleasant and helpful.
The rooms and common places are very clean and the food varied and well presented, but it's still Cuba and one should not expect European tables.
What is great about this hotel is the fact that there are many places where one can relax, read or simply be alone. Many rooms are on the ground floor and offer a small patio with 2 chairs. These face the sea side are on can enjoy a constant breeze.
We went very often to the Caracol, next door, but we intend to choose the Mayanabo, this our second time, from now on. The food is much better and the people friendlier... and I mean friendlier, not after your tips! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service. Great staff, cheerful and helpful.
The weak points
Not a deluxe destination.
Certified

Enjoyed our stay

, Waterloo, ON
2014-02-10
Would recommend if want a low key holiday. Plenty of lounges at the pool and beach.Good value for the money. Can walk beach or main road easily and safely. Nice to be able to use facilities at the sister resorts so can have a change of scenery. Would go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, able to exchange money any time at the front desk. Beach nice to walk. Nice set-up-bar/pool/snack shop. Great little family restaurant in town if wanting a change for lunch or supper
The weak points
If room garden view and at the end closest to the local disco(not the restort entertainment area) very noisey till 4am. Water in shower cool/warm in mornings but still OK to shower but hot by afternoon/evening
Certified

Club Amigo Mayanabo

, Orillia, ON
2014-02-10
Loved it! Great value for money, not too crowded [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was very friendly and eager to serve, jazz night at the disco was fabulous.
The weak points
food was very repetitive, nightly shows were mainly contests with guests, not much entertainment from staff
Certified

A go back to place

, Chatsworth, ON
2014-02-02
We were looking for an inexpensive getaway and found this place. Some of the reviews we read before leaving were very negative so we were somewhat apprehensive. From the moment we arrived til the time we left we were extremely happy with everything the hotel offered especially for the price. The buffet was typical with something for everyone. The rooms are small with no balcony but how much time do you spend in the room. the entertainment stafff were a little over zealous trying to get people to participate in their activities but just go to the beach. It was raked every day so there was no seaweed. Definitely a go back to place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, all hotel staff
The weak points
No balcony in rooms
Certified

A good choice in St Lucia

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-01
An excellent vacation for a very reasonable price. The food selection is good, varied, fresh and hot with lots of salad stuff too. St Lucia is a little remote, not much to do off-site. But Mayanabo, with its decent pool and beachfront, is a nice place to have a relaxing holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent food buffet for Cuba. Comfortable common areas with pretty landscaping. Lovely ocean view from some rooms.
The weak points
The very loud voices of the animation staff on their microphones, they provide a jolting wake-up should you be dozing poolside.
Certified

Enjoyable Vacation

, Sutton, ON
2014-01-17
My husband and I just returned from a one week vacation at Club Amigo Mayanabo Jan 8-15th 2014. If you are looking for luxury accommodations this is not the place for you. This is an old hotel and the rooms are small and basic but this is more than compensated for by the warm friendly staff. The place is kept very clean and the food is good by Cuban standards. We didn't do the a la carte but stuck to the buffet where there was always more than enough choice. There is an omelet station at breakfast and a pasta bar for lunch and dinner. The salads were fresh and there was lots of fruit.The ice cream comes from a small nearby factory and is delicious. The beach is small but there is enough shade for everyone. There is a lovely wind at the beach and it was fun to watch the wind surfers. Bring water shoes for going in the ocean. Lots of little rocks at the water's edge. There is also some seaweed but it was not a problem. There is a small bar with a washroom close to the beach and the use of pedal boats, kayaks, bikes, snorkelling equipment is included. They also have a small catamaran and they will take you for a sail. There is entertainment at the pool morning and afternoon and the entertainment at night was pretty good. This is a small resort so you get to know your fellow travellers. We met lots of repeat customers. Thanks for all the helpful tips Lynn, Paul and Stella. We took a buggy ride with Felix Sousa. 3 hours for $30, just walk out to the road and ask for Felix. There are cats at the resort but they are not a problem and are not in the dining areas. We brought toothpaste and deodorant for the staff because it is hard to get them in Cuba. They supply small bottles of generic shampoo, shower gel and body lotion. No soap or washcloth. We also took an air refresher for the room but it didn't smell musty at all. We took any damp or wet clothes to the beach with us and hung them up and the wind dried them quickly. We took bug spray but didn't use it. Mosquitos love my husband but we didn't get any bites. Make sure you use sunscreen. My husband didn't use any on the second last day and he got burned even though he was in the shade. The pool is huge and is kept spotless. Lots of loungers for everyone. The best exchange rate is at the airport but our Sunwing rep told us that the hotel rate was high and sent us to a commercial centre a little further along the beach. I think is was just a ploy to get more people to visit the few stores around the commercial centre because the rate was marginally better at the hotel. We did buy some Corona Beer at one of the stores and put it in the fridge in our room for when we didn't feel like going to the bar at night so it wasn't a wasted trip. I had a one hour massage for $20 which was wonderful. We did the Camaguey last day trip which was a nice way to end the vacation. We left the hotel at 9:00am and did a tour of Camaguey and had a lovely lunch at a restaurant in Camaguey, had some free time in the centre of Camaguey and then the bus took us to the airport. We got a really good deal for this vacation and our expectations were not high based on the price we paid but we were pleasantly surprised. We certainly got value for money and would highly recommend this hotel. We are planning on going back next year and this time we will stay for two weeks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, cleanliness, pool
The weak points
resort needs a little upgrading
Certified

Staing in mayanabo

, Kitchener, ON
2013-12-17
for 3 stars I say it is very good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
anyone who doesn't like to much noise it is the place
The weak points
if some problems developed like A/C you take some relanium when you waiting for mechanic or someone like that,it is always same story maniana
Certified

Awesome place

2013-12-09
Club Amigo Mayanabo is a relatively small, basic, cozy and well designed resort. Club Amigo Mayanabo does not pretend to be a 5 star resort but I was pleasantly surprised. Food is the average Cuban food. Staff is very friendly for the most part. Rooms are very clean and small pillows were replaced during my stay for regular sized ones. Beach is great in front of the resorts when clean but all depends on the tide. If you like long walks on the beach it's almost impossible with high tide due to seaweed accumulation.
During my stay I did not encounter an unhappy guest. If possible avoid Bloque no.3, is too close to the disco and I was not able to sleep most of the nights until 3 AM. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff and resort layout
The weak points
Very noisy at night if staying in bloque no.3
Certified

Mayanabo is my second home

, Kingston, ON
2013-11-24
I was glad to be back at Mayanabo, as I had missed it terribly when it closed for Sept and Oct this year. But they are now back in business and as good as ever. This is a very quiet, safe resort. Not a lot of noise, which is what I like. The food is OK (you don't go to Cuba for the food - at Mayanabo, you don't go hungry, but it is never the best meal you ever had either). The staff are wonderful, and the hotel is clean (though very tired, since it is one of the oldest resorts in Cuba). For a quiet holiday, it is my "go to" place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The safe environment and wonderful staff keep me coming back. The pool is the nicest in all of Playa Santa Lucia (so clean!). The house band (Sandunga) is the best I have seen in Cuba.
The weak points
The hotel is tired and certainly doesn't have the night life the younger crowd might yearn for.
Certified

My home mayanabo

, North York, ON
2013-11-24
this was my second visit to Mayanabo.
Great staff, Great in house band. they are like my family now. always makes me sad when i am leaving. this is small place but like family atmosphere. loved it and will def be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, Great in house band, great value
The weak points
not too fancy
Certified

Nice place

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-08-23
Hotel is ok, rooms are clean, everything is there - dryer, refrigerator, ice-cold airconditioner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good beach, clean water, small waves, activities like kayaking, snorkeling, horse riding, coral reef trip.
The weak points
Very small pillows, not convenient to sleep on. Food is typical Cuban, so don't expect too much.
Certified

Excellent

, Stoney Creek, ON
2013-04-07
Had a great time with excellent service! Orlando and Riberto at the bar did a great job as well as my cleaning staff of my room. The acknowledgement of being a return guest with the gift and dinner was much appreciated. For the price I paid it was well worth it! Can't wait to go back for another day in Paradise.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was well worth the money with great service! Very friendly service. Thanks Orlando and Riberto at the bar!!
The weak points
none
Certified

Club Amigo Mayanabo

, Scarborough, ON
2013-04-07
The front desk staff is not helpful at all. The slide door in our room is not well sealed. We can hear wind noise at night. We asked to change the room, but front desk refused. There are a lot of bugs in our room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall the staff/friendly is helpful & friendly.The resort is not overcrowded.
The weak points
There is no kid's activities and enertainment in the resort.The resort is old and need a renovation.
Certified

5th Time And Counting

, Hamilton, ON
2013-04-07
Returning to this resort is like going back to see family. The staff are friendly and try very hard to make your stay the best it can be.Rudulpho, Orlando and Auilio at the bars will ensure you are never thirsty!!

The food is Cuba and you will never go hungry.

The location and area are the safest anywhere with friendly locals always saying hello. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
never a problem with beach chairs, the staff are great
The weak points
Teh snack bar could have more election but they are working on it. And it doesnt necessarily have food 24 hours a day.
Certified

OK, Not Great.

, Oshawa, ON
2013-03-31
Pool was mostly unusable all week - we actually re-located for that reason. Food here is a weak point as well. No other complaints; good beach, good staff. All in all, excellent value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach.
The weak points
Green water in pool all week, food quality and choice lacking.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Santa Lucia (Camaguey)'s best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Families Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020