Hotel Rancho Luna

3.183.183.183.183.18
Hotel Rancho Luna
#2 of 6 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cienfuegos
3.18 based on 272 reviews
Traveller pictures (98)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Rancho Luna /Faro Luna Dive Center

, St-Bernadin, ON
2020-03-12
The staff is really nice and try their best to accommodate you with comfort and and plenty of food and also beverages!
Its the 6 th time that we are returning to this hotel because the dive center at the Faro Luna ( about 2 kilometers away . But the transport is included in the price) is just amazing. The Divemasters are great and the dives just incredible. Since this dive center is in a protected part of Cuba ,the fishes and the corals are just awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dive center, lots of returning guests (so you get to know them) there is a bus going to Cienfuegos once a day
The weak points
if you are looking for a party and lots of activities,then you will be a little bit disappointed.
Certified

Cuba hotel rancho luna

, London, ON
2019-01-28
We had a beautiful time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hotel review

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-26
very poor hotel,lousy service unprofessional just waiting for tips [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pleasant hotel with beautiful gardening

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-15
It was a good place for the price, we had a ground floor room with a patio and ocean view, with a mini-fridge in the room. The property is well-maintained and clean, the gardeners are doing a great job! The cleaning ladies cleaned the room well and exchanged towels daily. Some staff in the restaurant were very nice and helpful. The food in restaurants was good for Cuba, with seasonal fruit and veggies, not too great for picky eaters. The beach would be better with more shady space on it. We could not catch the sailboat, despite my attempts for the whole week, because in the morning there's no wind and by the time the kids finish lunch and nap, the guy was gone for the day. I wish they could arrange their work hours considering the needs of tourists. We could not play tennis or golf, because of the heat we could do it only after sunset, but the light didn't work in those areas. Little store on premises was good for shampoo, mosquito spray, ice-cream, etc. But the little pharmacy never worked during our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hotel rancho Luna

, Waterloo, ON
2017-07-18
Staff where more than helpful
. Food was good in general .Rooms are. Dated need to be upgraded.pool and pool bar where alright but bar did have enough tables and chairs lots lounge chairs.beach and buffet in general was good .the beach was not good ocean full of weeds and not that big . For the price I paid I would go back. Good value for what I spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and food and drinks
The weak points
Rooms and the beach
Certified

Rancho Luna

, Waterloo, ON
2016-04-26
Quiet relaxing vacation. Friendly people and staff. Nice pool and beach. Excursions ok. Allowed free extension of check out from 12 noon to 4pm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Popular with return visitors. Good value for the cost.
The weak points
Could use more food variety and better entertainment.
Certified

Rancho Luna as expected

, Goderich, ON
2015-11-23
Go there to meet friends from across Canada. Know what to expect and nothing surprises me as I have been there many times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Cienfuegos airport. Many repeaters so you always know someone at the resort.
The weak points
Most the guests are Canadian but very few staff members are fluent in English.
Certified

First time to Cienfuegos

2015-11-16
This was my first time to Cienfuegos. Having been to all Cuban destinations with the exception of Manzanillo, I have a pretty idea of what to expect of a 3 star resort, but this one unfortunately came at the very bottom although it has a few good things. It started with a very long wait at the airport in the bus that took us to the hotel and by the time we got there the restaurant was closed and there was no food except frozen ham and cheese sandwiches. During my stay never saw the wholesaler representative at the desk where was suppose to be, there was no briefing and no tours were offered. The hotel itself is a 3 star, the rooms are okay but not as clean as any other hotels that I've been to. The beach not so great in front of the hotel but there is a very nice beach (if you don't care for dark sand) at a walking distance. The food was above my expectations...it was good. On the other hand the service with very few exceptions was the worse that I've experienced. I have to mention Jorge and his co-worker's exceptional professionalism at the restaurant (they should be training everyone else). Coffee was served in plastic cups everywhere with the exception of the restaurant. Service at the bar was as bad as anywhere else, when I asked for a Spanish coffee the bartender asked me what it was and how was it made although he was very good at flipping bottles before serving a drink. Although my comments may not entice you to visit this place, I should say that most guests are repeated clients that have been going there for many many years. Another positive note is the daily complementary bus trip to the City of Cienfuegos where I went every other day, it's a vibrant place to visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, public beach, food and City of Cienfuegos.
The weak points
Service, service and service
Certified

MY SECOND HOME RANCHO LUNA

, Toronto, ON
2015-04-23
I HAVE BEEN GOING TO THIS HOTEL SINCE JAN 2000 AND AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH IT.IT IS NOT FANCY BUT IT IS GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY AND MANY OTHERS ALSO THINK SO AND COME BACK REGULARLY.THERE HAVE BEEN STEADY IMPROVEMENTS. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GOOD FOOD AND A GOOD VARIETY OF IT.HAS ALWAYS A GREAT BUFFET TABLE TO PICK AND CHOOSE.I LOVE THE FOOD HERE.
The weak points
ROOM FURNITURE TERRIBLE AND MUST HAVE BEEN MADE FOR GIANTS. OK FOR SHORT STAY.ONLY COMFORTABLE PLACE IS THE BED.
Certified

Two weeks in the sun

, Hamilton, ON
2015-04-03
nice weather, affordable,staff very helpfull when i had a health problem [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
lots of shrimp and crab,free bus service to cienfuegos safe for walks in the neighborhood
The weak points
old tourists with prostitutes half their age.
Certified

Rancho Luna

, Teeswater, ON
2015-03-22
Overall, a very relaxing place to visit. The staff was amazing and helpful. There are multiple cities to visit in the area. Cienfuegos Cuba is close by (free bus rides, Monday, Wednesday Friday. Trinidad and Santa Clara not far away. Havana is approx. 4 hours by taxi at a cost of $150. Driver will stay in Havana for the day waiting for you.Pool is amazingly clean and nice. Beach is ok but not sure about swimming as there are some fish that a local snorkeler brought out that had stingers on the back. Great for snorkeling though due to the variety of fish. Diving is apparently outstanding not a kilometer away.But overall I would visit this place again for sure.
On a sad not I was disappointed on how a few visitors from Montreal treated the staff there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome snorkeling, Staff, view, Sunsets amazing, Lots of different ages (mostly seniors. Entertainment was better than any 5 star restaurant
The weak points
Food, had to wait till 2 days till the front desk got any pesos to exchange money, food started off rough but got better as week progressed
Certified

What title ?

, Mississauga, ON
2015-03-17
Staff steels everything. Selling licker. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice location, close to down town.
The weak points
Bartender sells licker for 5 pesos. Kitchen staff steels food.
Certified

Great vacation!!

, York, ON
2015-01-16
This was our first time in Cienfuegos. the hotel was good-well kept grounds, clean, great staff.
-You can change money at this hotel
-They have sporadic internet access that is slow. You can get faster downtown across from Union Hotel
-You can get massages from Eduardo the host of nightly entertainment.
-They have a nurse in site as well as a small gym.
-They have ramps etc for those using walkers.
-Food, as usual in Cuba is ok not great. As expected, was challenging for a vegetarian as they put meat and fish in most things. Permitted 2 a la carte and they tried hard to accommodate. The personal relations staff Roly is a nice man. There is also a grill restaurant for lunch. 2 places to get snacks when restaurants closed-pizza and sandwiches.
-They have nightly shows which are ok-they try hard.
-Great excursions- El Nicho waterfalls-bring a jacket it's cool in the mountains and we travelled in an open truck. Though cool we swam in 2 waterfalls-beautiful. Trips to Trinidad City, lake where you can see flamingos. You can arrange trips to Havana but a 4 hour trip each way. Dolphin Show 20 min walk away. 2X/day except Wed. 10 CUC. You can swim with dolphins for 50 CUC.
-The best thing is there are free shuttle buses 1 or 2X/day daily to downtown Cienfuegos(one of these late night so you can enjoy live cabaret show).
-Cienfuegos is a Unesco World Heritage City-buildings in city centre were beautifully restored. Also visit south end of city Punto Gorda-nice here.
-We went downtown at night (10 CUC each way by taxi) to see live music for free at Uneac in main Jose Marti park. There are many clubs with traditional live music 7 nights/week.
-We found a great independent art gallery that sells various artists' work called PB (Poco Bonita) run by Carlos in downtown near where they sell all the crafts-29th St 50-52 St
-Re donations-we took clothes, school supplies and instruments. You can donate at school in town where bus stops on the way to El Nicho (ask guide in advance). We donated to Catholic Cathedral in Main downtown Cienfuegos where bus drops you. I'm sure other churches would take donations. We donated medicine to the children's hospital's pharmacy (it's on he map hotel gives you).
-The staff here are mostly great. If people say otherwise my guess is because you behave entitled, demanding and arrogant toward them.
-The worst thing about this hotel is that half the Canadians are loud, rude, obnoxious and the (mostly)old men who are there with very young Cuban women. It was disgusting to see this all day long. Very shameful behavior. (Wouldn't bring my children here)
-Overall this was an extraordinary week, a wonderful break from Toronto cold, and a pleasure to be around such educated Cubans who do their best in challenging life circumstances. Please remember that respect goes a long way and you are a visitor in someone's country. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, clean, peaceful beach. Free shuttle bus to beautiful city of Cienfuegos, Great staff
The weak points
The nasty Canadian men who are there to "buy" young Cuban women. Canadians who can't handle their drink and act foolish. Tourists who act like staff are little stupid children there to fulfill all your needs.

Never changes......

, Peterborough, ON
2015-01-15
I have been going to Rancho Luna off and on for 20 years and although something is different every time, new rules, services in different locations, it basically never changes. You would not go to this hotel to be impressed by world class service & amenities, so if that is what you are looking for, look elsewhere. What this hotel provides me year after year is a small, intimate place to stay that has a "feel" of the real Cuba. There is a little hardship with everything, but an underlying love and connection of the people through that hardship. It is a unique location on the island in that it is a BEACH resort, yet close enough to the mountains to travel there. Close enough to many lakes and rivers including Hannabanila if you wish to fish or boat. Close to Trinidad, the 3rd oldest founded city on the island at 500 years as of 2014. close to Cienfuegos itself a large and fairly representative city of Cuba as it exists outside of Havana and tourist locations such as Cayo Coco, Cayo Santa Maria and Varadero. I have taken a bicycle many times and enjoyed the many roadways in the area and getting out and seeing Cuba and its people along the road.

The one unfortunate change at Rancho Luna as anyone who has stayed frequently would know is the loss of the best customer service rep ever there a couple of years ago, Iagna. Sadly, her replacement is not only useless, but she is actually antagonistic, rude, judgemental and does not listen at all. I had ONE issue I needed to deal with during my holiday and I could tell from the start that she just blamed me in her mind for the problem and from that point on did nothing but make excuses as to why things were the way they were rather than make any attempt to assist me to overcome the issue. As a customer service rep, that is all she is there to do... help the tourists with any problems they may encounter. Thankfully I know Iagna personally and after one phone call to her at home she was able to work some magic in the background and had my problem resolved for me the next day. Louisa (the new rep) continued to badger me day after day about the problem and reminding me that it was MY problem. I reminded her that indeed it was MY problem and she had already told me nothing could be done about it so why was she continuing to worry about it? She would just start to mutter to me that nothing could be done and would turn and walk away while still talking EVERY time we engaged as a tactic to not actually have to listen to me, or deal with the problem. I honestly don't know how she has kept this job as I can not see her being a help to ANYONE.

So, to sum up. Great place if you want to FEEL Cuba and do not have expectations of grandeur. The food is up and down every year, some good years, some bad years, but you will never starve. The place is always clean and the room maids are incredibly friendly and kind. Mostly the same staff year after year so that it kind of feels like a home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Authentic, great location to do things from. Weather. Price.
The weak points
Food is inconsistent. Not a place I would take the wife, unless she is one of the boys. Oh, the disgusting old men who go there year after year to head to "Canadian Corner" in Cienfuegos to hire a CHICA to bring back to the resort.
Certified

Good

, Richmond Hill, ON
2015-01-07
Good weather, warm Caribbean sea,very good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather
The weak points
Internet
Certified

Same old

, Goderich, ON
2014-11-30
Noisy with pool renovations ongoing and entertainment staff who do not get that not everyone wants blaring music. Service & food (s0/so) doesn't change from year to year. Go each year to meet friends from different parts of Canada. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great price if you can accept you get what you pay for.
The weak points
Not all staff know the meaning of customer service.
Certified

Hotel Rancho Luna

, Toronto, ON
2014-09-16
The room was dirty, and the bathroom and the shower area were quit unsanitary, the front desk people were unfriendly, I will think it twice before going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the price
The weak points
you got what you paid for.
Certified

Second visit

, Corner Brook, NL
2014-05-02
This was my second trip to Rancho Luna, keeping in mind that you get what you pay for I have no real complaints, staff were top notch, nightly entertainment not so much. I will probably return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to city, staff, price
The weak points
Cuban guests hoarding food
Certified

So so

, Bowmanville, ON
2014-03-23
I have been to Cuba on several occasions. This location is set on a public beach which seems to be good for snorkeling/ scuba diving, but not so great for swimming & lacks the white sands of other locations. I have been told the sands have "browned" due to being near the port & the oils from the ships has soiled the beach. Cuba is not necessarily known for it's food, but to be fair, there was always something to eat. The buffet offered pasta each night, choice of fish & either pork, beef or chicken, rice, salad. The beach bar offered burgers, fish or pork from 12:30 to 3 I believe and the a la carte offered fish, shrimp, pork or chicken. The room was basic as expected, but clean. The maid went through our bags daily, but I did not notice anything missing. Just be sure to lock up anything valuable. Overall was an ok experience. There are a few excursion options: swimming with dolphins, going to "el nicho" a provincial park that offers waterfalls and natural pools for swimming, a Trinidad excursion ect. The animation team has different things going on through the day, aerobics, zumba, Spanish lessons, dance lessons and nightly shows. My main complaint for this resort was the lack of assistance from the staff. They were quite rude or would just ignore you at times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Staff
Certified

Hotel Rancho Luna

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-23
The food was very disgusting, they have pork in everything, and did not take into consideration, that not all people eat pork. People who smoked everywhere without consideration for non smokers. There was only white bread, which was very hard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Holasun staff Louisa, she was very knowledgeable and seem to be the only one happy to see us
The weak points
Receptionist staff were very cold, and unhelpful, they did not smile, neither offer to help with anything, the only thing they seem to understand was how to do foreign exchange.
Certified

Disappointing

, Guelph, ON
2014-03-16
We should have known from some of the previous reviews we had read that this hotel may have been disappointing, but we were hoping for the best. We are by far picky people, but in the end I feel sadly disappointed. We are not overly picky people, but as this was our first visit to Cuba we were quite disappointed. It was intimidating to approach the staff at any of the counters for a drink or food. It felt extremely uncomfortable, as if you were a bother. Even if you were the only person standing at the counter staff would continue to chit chat, or sometimes even walk away for a bit. From asking to ride a horse, or to get a mask to snorkel, or to ask for a drink it seemed to be an inconvenience to the staff. For the horses we were told to come back later, then to wait for five minutes, etc. Perhaps it is a cultural difference, I don't know, but the body language, lack of smiles, or hello, or you are welcome was completely missing, yet tips are expected everywhere you turn with the staff. I did not find the staff to be friendly, or even genuinely pleased that we were there to experience their culture and country. The presentation given by our tour guide from Hola Sun was confusing and some of the information given at this meeting was inaccurate. It was long and as we were only there for 5 days I just wanted to sign up for the excursion of our choice, and then get going on our day. Questions were taken throughout the presentation that in my opinion should have been left to the end so that you could leave when you wanted to. Time was spent cutting the already extremely short grass rather than keeping the beach area tidy. The beach was littered....I wish I'd had a big garbage bag to clean it up. (It's sad that tourists would be so careless about the environment). The water appeared to be dirty. It was quite murky and frothy at the edge. Normally on other beaches you would see a lot of evidence of life, i.e. water birds, starfish, fish in the water, but there was nothing. Even farther out when I snorkeled everything looked dead and dirty. I knew not to expect much from the room, but the beds really are not great. Do bring your own pillow and even a blanket that helps you to sleep. They are twin beds and very uncomfortable. Lastly the food was at best mediocre. Basically the same thing was served every day with only one or two variations to differentiate between breakfast and the other two meals. Left overs are served in a mixture heaped in a mound on dinner plates. Literally everything was piled in different combinations on the dinner plates. I was afraid of getting sick for sure, knowing that day after day these were leftovers. I hate sounding so critical, but honestly, you are still spending a decent amount of money, tipping like crazy, paying to leave the country, it's difficult to not be. I don't know that we would visit Cuba again.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean room view, animals around the resort, such as horses and dogs, the inexpensive excursion to El Nicho.
The weak points
The staff, the food, the beds, the beach.
Certified

Great holiday

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-03
Good hotel no problems [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean good food
The weak points
none
Certified

Nice people ...bad visiters

, Janetville, ON
2014-02-25
The Resort gave us what we wanted on a price we wish to pay. Beach,beer and relaxation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I gotwhat I expected. I chose to travel on a beer budget. The people are lovely always smiling and helpful.
The weak points
The other vacationers who travel on a beer budget but get mad when they get beer and not Dom Pérignon, And then after eating half a meal and dropping cig butt everywhere they complain about the trash! "Mon Dieu" they are so clueless.
Certified

PEARL OF THE SOUTH

, Hamilton, ON
2014-02-23
Good choice of food .Crab fish. rabbit beef goat .Lots of fruit.Fast ommlete maker.Free bus to the city twice a day.excellat tours to TRINIDAD AND THE MOUNTAINS [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good value for price
The weak points
air conditioner noisy did not use at night.Locals make a mess around the pool
Certified

February 2014

, Strathroy, ON
2014-02-22
We enjoyed our stay here although there seemed to be some shortages of food and staff. Everyone did their very best and we had a good week.

We had a 90 minute bus ride which turned into a 2 hour bus ride to and from the airport. Using the airport at Cienfuegos would be a better start to a vacation. The hotel is situated in a nice bay and was secluded from the open water which was clearly visible and one could watch the freighters and cruise ships go by. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Beach access and lots of chairs. Great shade areas under the trees for those of us who like the sun but must stay shaded to enjoy it.
The weak points
Not great swimming. Water is somewhat mucky near the shore but better out further. Use surf socks
Certified

Great Vacation

, Bath, ON
2014-02-09
We decided for a 5 day instead of 7 days. Not really enough but the Rancho Luna people were there to entertain. Entertainment included a group of about ten playing music from 60's and 70's (Los Moodys) a fashion show and a great dance troup from Cienfuegos. They had a pig roast the night before departure. The best feature of the hotel, aside from what was mentioned was that when you leave your room,there is a card that automatically turns all the electricity off to the room. Its the same card that you use to open the door. Good energy conservation. Food was good, plentiful and excellent ice cream. Always clean. Thanks, Rancho Luna. I would recommend this to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Veronica the Hola Sun rep, staff and maintenance all friendly.
The weak points
Beach has many steps and far away. Beach should be kept in better shape.
Certified

100% more than what you pay for.

, Stratford, ON
2014-01-19
I loved every part of our experience. I have read horrible reviews and I think you must have been born with a silver spoon in your mouth. If you expect a 5 star resort do not stay here. If you are down to earth and sensible you will appreciate this whole experience. I will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I love everything about it. Even the food was very good for Cuban cuisine. You get more than what you pay for here.
The weak points
Front desk was not as helpful as they could have been but they did pretty good.
Certified

Basic Sunshine

, Peterborough, ON
2014-01-14
I have been to this hotel many times so everything in the list of expectations below was "as expected". This is not a GRAND hotel. It is basic, clean accommodations where you can enjoy the sun. The pool is not fancy, but it is large and accommodates swimming laps, or playing around. They have a net in the shallow end for pool volleyball. The shallow end is VERY shallow and gradual, ideal for children.

This hotel is known for attracting older Canadian Men who wish to spend time with younger Cuban women. If this bothers you, don't go, as you will see much of it around the resort. They go to town, meet a girl and bring her back to the resort to spend the week with them.

The "nightlife" is not really conducive to the young and pretty crowd. They do have something going on every night around 9PM to 11PM on the main stage. This ranges from Karaoke, to professional dancers, to bingo, professional singers and silly, audience participation contests. If you want something to do, there is something to do. At 11PM they move down to the beach to the "Disco". This is simply to move the noise away from the hotel for the benefit of the guests who wish to sleep. Although they have a DJ, a good sound system and some lights at the disco the party essentially dies at this point. Most people don't know where it is, it is a long walk, it is not well lit when you get there and basically, most of the guests are older and just go to bed. I have been able to get a decent, small party going down there, but you have to want to make it happen for it to be so.

Regarding the staff - this is 50/50. I have found Cuban people to be some of the most open, gregarious and genuine people around and some of these people work at the resort. They genuinely enjoy the people the meet and are just happy and warm by nature. Of course there are also employee's that will be completely disinterested in you if you don't tip. There are not enough of these people to ruin the trip for you, but be aware, as with all humans, some are greedy and unhappy. I usually take "stuff" to the island with me to use as tips. I observe who treats me how throughout the week when I am not tipping with cash and gravitate towards the nicer employee's over time. As the end approaches I begin to give out gifts of clothing etc that I have brought from home.

Finally, although I have stayed all over the island and there are definitely better accommodations and beaches almost anywhere on the island, what brings me back here is the variety of opportunities to experience CUBA... NOT the inside of a resort. If you just want to sit on the beach or by the pool all week, go to Varadero or Cayo Coco etc. If you want to get out in the countryside, see the mountain ranges, coffee plantations, small farms, the Third oldest city in the America's celebrating it's 500th anniversary this year (Trinidad - founded in 1514)see a REAL city (Cienfuegos) of size, similar to Havana but not SO large or affected by outside world influence then this is a great place. In addition, I am a cyclist, every other place I have stayed has essentially one straight line highway from the airport to the resorts. It is quite dull to ride out an back the same route day after day. Rancho Luna is located in an area that has several paved roads heading in different directions allowing various circuitous and out and back routes both hilly and flat. Again, the opportunity to see the island as it actually is exists here as it does nowhere else on the island that I have found.

Oh, FOOD. Cuba is NOT a culinary experience. That said, any food you purchase OFF the resort will be quite good. It is a low star resort and as such provides a buffet of very average, unexciting food that will sustain you for a week. You will be happy to get home to food for sure. Most items are basic. Potatoes, fish, some beef, chicken and pork, beans, squash, leaf lettuce and cabbage for salads, tomatoes and onion. Nothing is horrible, nothing will make you sick, but nothing will make you sit back and open the top button of your pants like a magnificent thanksgiving dinner.

If you go with realistic expectations, a desire to meet people and enjoy the warmth you should not be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SUNSHINE - same as everywhere else in the Caribbean GENUINE Cuban atmosphere VARIETY of terrain and culture to experience close by INEXPENSIVE
The weak points
FOOD - staples available, but not much more BEACH - occasional sand fleas and certainly NOT powdery white sand. NIGHTLIFE OR EXCITMENT - Virtually non-existent.
Certified

OK

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-12
Just Average...................................................................................................................................................................... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
best value for money
The weak points
Bad beech and broken GYM
Certified

........

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-01-12
My overall experience at the hotel was good. I frequently travel to this resort, and enjoy myself each time. However, I do have a complaint to make about the beach that is in front of the hotel. Over the years I have noticed that there is an excessive amount of plants in the water, to the point where the guests cant even go into the ocean. Due to the large amount of plans, there is a lot of dirt and debris in the water, making it impossible for one to enjoy the ocean. Alternatively, there is a public beach that the guests can use, however it does require some walking, when the hotels private beach is right in front of you. I truly wish the hotel employees would attend to this matter as soon as possible, to make not only mine, but each and every other guest's visit and beach experience as amazing as could be. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Dirty ocean water in front of hotel, due to the large amount of plants and other living organisms in the water
The weak points
.......
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?