Beach Break Resort

3.623.623.623.623.62
Beach Break Resort
#2 of 4 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Jaco beach
3.62 based on 40 reviews
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Good little resort in Jacó

, Kitchener, ON
2014-02-22
If you're looking for a good all-inclusive resort in Jacó then this is the place for you. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and speak english well, and most everything is well taken care of. The only real downside is that it can be a bit of a party destination, particularly on weekends, which makes noise a bit of a problem. I asked for a room change, and the new room was much better situated. The food is better than I've had at other 3-star resorts, but don't expect the kind of food you'd get at 4 and 5 stars. Also beware that Jacó is very touristy town for Costa Rica.

For being right on the beach with a good surf school, this is the ideal spot if you're looking for a beach vacation. If you're looking for eco-tours and don't want the beach, then you're better off somewhere more central.

Pour les Francophones: ils font assez bien en Français. Marie-Josee et Collette de Nolitours prendront soin de vous, et les guides parlent couramment, particularment David. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
* Clean rooms * Friendly staff, very good in english and occasionally french * Right on the beach, good surf school * A/C worked well * Drinks - especially the fruit smoothies - are great
The weak points
* Hot water in the shower problematic. Not really a big deal - it's hot enough that you don't need a hot shower. * Noisy neighbours can be a problem
Certified

Great place to be

, Peterborough, ON
2014-02-22
my husband and I are already talking about going back to this resort next year
the rooms where clean location is walking distant to restaurant and shopping [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food at the buffet was exceptional in tasted and flavour but a action station for dinner would add greatly to the variety ie pasta station both the GM (Joey) and the chef were very caring to the needs of the gue
The weak points
on tuesday when the pool bartender takes his day off they close the bar instead of having him replaced and also they open the bars at 11am for all inclusive and any time for paying guest even though we paid up front
Certified

Amazing experience

, Pickering, ON
2014-02-17
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort that offers many amenities and proximity to all that Jaco has to offer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, beach, staff and location.
The weak points
Not a long enough stay!
Certified

Great staff, all you need away from home.

, Springford, ON
2014-02-01
About half the rooms at the resort are around the pool areas, but, there is only music playing until 5:30 pm so I found them quiet. There is no entertainment (night or day) so you can lay by the pool or beach without being bothered to join activities. The buffet is small but I enjoyed this as the food was delicious but not excessive amounts. The a la carte is only 1 night a week and the chef determines the menu but there is no buffet that night, so, you need to make sure you make reservations or eat off the resort. Great compliments to Marlon (wait staff) as he was so pleasant and helpful. All the staff is pleasant enough but Marlon went above & beyond. At dinner I found the wait staff (other than Marlon) did't stop to ask if you wanted a drink, you had to stop them. Be careful of the wine (or other drinks) you order as I come to find out at checkout that the wine I had with dinner was not included with the all inclusive package. The drinks that were not included were expensive ($10 - $15 per drink). The bar staff were pleasant/happy people. This is the 1st resort I've been to where they don't make the drinks too strong. There is plenty of room & shade at the beach. There was usually lots of chairs. This again is the 1st resort I've been to where you don't have to be up at the crack of dawn to grab a beach chair. There was 3 of us in 1 room and we had plenty of space. The bathroom is very large although they could put up another couple towel bars so you have somewhere to hang more than 1 towel. Also, there was only 1 chair outside our room, so, luckily no one was in the room next to us, so, we took that chair if we just wanted to sit outside the room. Be on the lookout for the birds as the maccaws (parrots) were always flying over in the morning & evening. A Tucan even sat in one of the trees, so, we got some amazing photos. There is a resident crocodile in the channel behind the kitchen, so, make sure you take a look. I thought it odd that they don't post it as we foreigners not used to this type of wildlife may not be aware of do's & don'ts, but they feed it everyday, so, I'm assuming it's of no danger to the guests. There was only 2 beach vendors and they were no bother. Very easy walk into Jaco to go shopping, bank machine, etc. The surf could be rough at times as the tide comes in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, location to Jaco
The weak points
Rough surf, great for surfing, not so great for swimming.
Certified

Review on Morgan's Cove Resort

, Montreal, QC
2014-01-11
We stayed at this resort in the first week of 2014. A small resort but with warm and professional staff. Nice and clean room. One little comment that the hotel advertises is internet connection. It should be more available (it's off and on and you have to stay close to the reception area). I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a relaxed environment w/o big resort entertainment and amenities. You get what you paid for! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and price
The weak points
internet access, sport activities
Certified

Cottage-like resort

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-28
It is an old hotel that can be compared to a cottage instead of a resort. I was not happy on arrival because I requested a room on the second floor when I booked the trip and the hotel gave me one on the first floor. I had been up for 18 hours and had to get angry in order for them to take my request seriously. The tour hosts were a bit helpful but also did not understand my reasons for wanting a second room floor. They spoke about it in front of me in French.

However, after the hotel finally gave me a second room floor, I was feeling a bit better. The washrooms are old however and in need of repair. The water pressure is not good.

As the week progressed, I realized the hotel was very safe and my stay was wonderful. The food was good quality and the staff were helpful. Because it is a small resort, the guests bonded and formed friendships and looked out for one another. The dining staff were accomodating enough to put tables together so we could have a big Christmas dinner.

The beach was very close and the town is within walking distance.

Although it is not fancy, I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not a lot of food selection but the quality was very good. We had fresh fish a few times per week. The veggies were well cooked and the taste of the food was good. The Chef came out at every meal to talk to the guests.
The weak points
The bathroom needs repairs. And they need to take requests seriously even if they don't understand them, otherwise, why ask in the first place?
Certified

Way better than expected

, Saint Laurent, QC
2013-03-23
Older hotel but very well maintained. Staff is very friendly. Food was good and very fresh. Smaller selection but well prepared and tasty. Different Food theme every night. Walking distance to town [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, beach and surf school
The weak points
Some rooms are older but still very clean
Certified

Get what you pay for.

, Bradford, ON
2013-03-21
Hotel is a three star so don't think it's a five. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is very nice. The people were very friendly.Close to town.
The weak points
They allow locals in on the premis to use pools and bars. They sit at the pool bar and they drink all day and they don'nt even have to use the washroom. Weekends are very busy.
Certified

Small great place

, Maple, ON
2013-03-14
It was a fantastic experience. The stuff are friendly and your will deal with a lot of the same staff. Hence, good idea to tip early. Great maid cleaned up room really nicely. Free internet is available in the computer near the office and limited WIFI.

When we went there are mostly people in 45 age in the resort, while me and my friend were in our twenties. This resort would not provide the party seen in Mexico and Cuba. However, Jaco downtown is near and there you can party till 4. Just beware of social women ;)

Jaco as a whole is definitely recommended as it has great affordable escursions (zipline, atv, surf, etc)

Cons: Older hotel, not a lot of action in the Casino, some repeat of food (still good and mostly fresh) and brown sands. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, free Wifi, home away from home atmosphere
The weak points
Older hotel, not a lot of action in the Casino, some repeat of food (still good and mostly fresh) and brown sands. Lots of seniors.
Certified

Morgans coave

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-14
We liked the hotel. It was as expected. The pool and fountain were wonderful and the beach fabulous. Food was fine, rooms were large but beds not the most comfortable.It was beautifully landscaped and the people working there were very very nice. Tennis was a bonus. Wildlife everywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and freindly
The weak points
beds and food needs a little more attention
Certified

REVIEW OF JACO BEACH RESORT

, Holland Landing, ON
2013-03-07
The front office,restaurant,house cleaning staff were excellent.Rolando, the driver of the company tour bus, Jose,the manager,Shannon,the office manager and her staff made our stay delightful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous.
The weak points
need to improve on the quality and selection of meals
Certified

We had a nice experience at this resort

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-31
Overall our experience was good, we enjoyed the stay there. We would like to have had soups more often than 2-3 times per week and also desert at lunch time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was friendly and courteous
The weak points
only one snacks per day and no variety
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Port Hardy, BC
2013-01-10
Although my review is not great, we did not expect 4 or 5 star quality. The first couple days was disappointing but then the place grew on us. It is small enough to make friends and get to know some of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was awesome, staff was friendly, close to town, tour centre on site
The weak points
Bars closed when they were supposed to be open, fake juices, too much fried food- need more grilled meats and fish, not enough beach chairs and many were broken
Certified

Bad vacation

, Victoria, BC
2013-01-03
Food not good ,same menu everyday. Local staff very rude . No English at all. Nolitours tour guide was terrible. Gave bad advice! Would not go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fr Location, beaches
The weak points
Local staff attitude and no English.cleanliness of room.
Certified

Pretty Okay

, Guelph, ON
2012-02-26
Well, the resort was nice and the staff were kind of uncaring, but nice. The beach is sweet and the surf was awesome. I enjoyed it tonnes, but the food was really bad. You can order pizza from Big Ron's in town, awesome, and there are some decent restaurants nearby. The pool and the swim-up bar were awesome, and the people there were really cool and chill. I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, bar.
The weak points
Food, staff.
Certified

Morgans Cove Great Place

, Mallorytown, ON
2012-02-04
Really liked the hotel. Staff tried to be helpful. Felt safe to walk beach, and comfortable accomodations. Not a gated community, we like that. Didn;t feel like a compound, but like part of community, Plenty of Policia around to make sure everything was under control.
Planning to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Laid back relaxing. Staff friendly and helpful. Like that we felt comfortable to walk the beach and experience local way of life. Planning to go back again.
The weak points
Food good but limited in choices and deserts. Al-a-carte once a week is a barbecue served to you but food the same.
Certified

Dissappointed...

, Fredericton, NB
2011-12-30
The resort is older and a bit shabby but very clean and well groomed grounds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach is dark sand and rocky with high surf...great for surfers and boogie boards. We had purchased all inclusive and were really dissappointed with the food available, choice was extremely limited during meal hours and snacks only available between 3 and 5 and very limited. We expected 2 free a la carte meals as this was advertised when we purchased our tickets however once there we were informed this was an advertising error and the meals were not available. The room was large and comfortable,very clean although the bedding was old and worn out. The pool and beach lounges did not have pads and were uncomfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, friendly staff, close to town, quiet
The weak points
food..very limited choice and availabity
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?