Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

3.283.283.283.283.28
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
#1 of 7 hotels in Freeport
3.28 based on 112 reviews
Traveller pictures (51)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Renovate the rooms!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-22
Renovate your rooms! Nothing has been touched in the rooms for the last 30 years at least. Not just renovated, nothing has been fixed for the last 30 years. Common grounds, restaurants, the beach is perfect but the hotel must update the rooms. Below any standard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, dive shop, pool and restaurants
The weak points
Update the rooms!
Certified

Dirty resort. Don't waste money

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
My fiancé and I have always wanted to visit the Bahamas for a getaway vacation so I seen the tickets for Viva Wyndham and booked the trip. As we arrived to Viva Wyndham, we arrived at 11:00am and had to wait to check into our rooms at 3:00pm! Ridiculous waiting period to get into ur room after a long flight and exhaustion. We finally got our room and our room was on the top floor and I couldn't get my suitcase up the stairs! Luckily a tourist who happened to be my neighbour helped me bring up my suitcase. When we got In our room, it wasn't as advertised online. The furniture were old and the bathroom was ASTROCIOUS! DISGUSTING! It still smelled like mold and pee from the previous guest. There was a dead fly laying in the corner of the bathtub and the sinks and fossits has extreme mold and brown stuff on it. I called guest services for assistance in cleaning my bathroom only to find out that they sent a cleaning lady hours upon hours later and all she did was wipe down things with water. No soap. No bleach. And the fly that was In the corner of the tub was still there! And the pee smell did not go away. I don't know what they use to clean but I felt
Like purchasing bleach and some cleaning products so that I can clean it myself! The resort was filthy and had dirty cups and plates all over the beach stacking up as if the resort lacked workers. There were hundreds of bees near the outdoor bars and outdoor in general. The bees were hovering over the juice dispensar which contained a lot of syrup. So when tourist wanted to get a drink from the dispenser it was a risk you had to take. The seagulls took over the swimming pool so no one could swim!! The entertainment at the resort needed more rehearsals and practice- it was so boring. However, the food was great! Especially at the buffet. The food at the restaurants where reservations was needed was not good at all-except the steak house. My fiancé and I didn't want to waste our day being at the resort since the resort was disgusting we decided to take the taxi into the city on our own and venture out. There, we met locals and enjoyed a night of partying-now that was fun! The resort is only good for families with children but not for couples. I've spent way less money on other Caribbean islands and experienced 100 times more customer service and hospitality. The staff at the resort tried to talk to my fiancé and I about a timeshare opportunity and I declined it because of the terrible first impression with the resort. The resort has a lot of potential if they hire more cleaning staff and more staff in general! I understand hurricane Matthew affected the spirit of the resort In 2016 but we are now in 2019 and I still haven't seen any improvements. I guess the owner is just too laZy and just wants money now. Doesn't care about the beautiful island, workers and hard working tourists contributing to their economy. I would rate this resort 2 star out of 5. Oh by the way, the bars doesn't have straws to drink from!! Which is a hygiene issue. Nasty! Everyone drinking out of the cups- who knows how they wash their cups? They struggle enough to wash my bathroom clean. Yuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst resort in history!!!!!!!! Do not go!!!!!!!!! Save ur money and go to a different island or different resort. Period. Can't say I didn't warn ya. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Overall Average Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-21
Overall experience was average and I left with food poisoning that has now dragged on for 4 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good variety of food Great beach
The weak points
Shabby rooms Had to chase staff down for towels that smelled funny Questionable cleanliness - milk frother for coffee not cleaned properly Weird smell everywhere from the lavander pinesol
Certified

Great time at viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach!

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-27
Excellent beach, with the best part there was plenty of loungers so never had a problem finding one. The drinks were tasty and packed a good punch, the food in the dinning room was not over the top fancy but tasted very good with sufficient variety very day, the deserts were the best we have ever had anywhere, (almost as good as mommy makes) the rooms were a bit tired and the A/C was noisy. Also thin walls between room so could hear voices and TV next room, Great being close to airport so not a long drive or wait to get to resort, nice short drive to a good market for shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH with tons of lounger good Food and Drinks, less than 3 hours from Toronto and 15minutes from Freeport to resort
The weak points
Rooms were a bit funky but not unbearable
Certified

Highly recommend

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-07
We had a wonderful time at the viva bahamas resort. so many great activities, beautiful beach, captivating entertainment, many options of delicious food, etc. There were some rude entertainers, waitresses, and the maid skipped our room 2 day in a row yet still took the tips left out...
We also came home with many deep cuts and bruises from the rocks in the water.
Other than a few hiccups, we had an amazing time & highly recommend this resort to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Enjoyable get away

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-29
We had an over all good holiday. The animation team is amazing,nightly shows entertaining(don't miss circus night) and rest of hotel staff was good as well.The beach is very nice.Some rocky spots depending you enter water but can walk along way both directions. Good snorkeling just off shore by the burger stand. Food was very good better than expected from reviews. Lots of selection. Ate at 2 out 3 al a cartes were both good. Book them when you get there in front lobby. Nothing bad to say only good times [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ANIMATION TEAM, beach, staff , shows , lots of activities al day. Food
The weak points
Don't get room until 3 but get wrist band and can enjoy resort until then. Rooms have few flaws but a lot better than expeted by reviews.
Certified

Good but not great!

, Blainville, QC
2017-03-18
Lets start with the location. Its out of the way from everything. You need to take a taxi to go explore because there is no bus service in this remote area. One example to go and come back from Lucaya market is $30 for two people.The hotel is nicely laid out right on the beach a lot to do as activities. The staff is great always wanting you to participate and their shows at night are fantastic! The beach although it looks spectacular has a lot of rocks and you need to be very carful to not hurt your feet.As for the rooms we had an ocean view very nice but the cleanliness was not there. Very dirty and had to call for extra towels on a daily bases which took hours to get them. As for the food the a la carte are good but the buffet is at best average. They always have same items at lunch and dinner. In my opinion breakfast was the best because it was prepared to order. All considering its at best a 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach
The weak points
cleanliness, buffet
Certified

Loved it!

, Greenfield Park, QC
2017-03-11
Had the most relaxing time! the staff are super welcoming, the food was delicious and had a large variety. Free bikes to ride into town, locals are super nice! NOTE: they don't give bottled water; bring your own insulated travel mug and fill it up with filtered water they have there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, food, people
The weak points
no bottled water
Certified

We had a great vacation

, Hubley, NS
2016-03-14
When I booked my trip I was excited to be going to the "Bahamas". We found a really great deal so I booked. After I booked I found an announcement about Spring Break! We had no idea of the number of Spring Breakers that would descend upon the resort; there were 700 junior university students that arrived a couple of days after we did and stayed for 4 nights. The resort was just too crowded during those days. I must say for the most part they were well behaved and courteous to us "regular guests". We really liked this resort with its beautiful beach and friendly staff. We would definitely return but not in March (due to the Spring Break crowd). We found the weather a bit too cool, and because of the winds coming off the ocean, I was only able to go into the ocean two days. The rest of the week it was just too windy to even sit on the beach for very long without covering up with my towels. This is not something the resort had any control over.
We found the food in the buffet to be quite nice, we never went hungry. For a 3 star resort, I was very happy with the food available. We ate at two of the Restaurants and were very pleased with our meal choices.
Our room was on the 2nd floor at the end of one of the green buildings Room #2241. Our room was Beachfront with a balcony. The room was very quiet; we heard no noise from the next room. The room was a good size; we had two double beds with a shelf between them. There was a flat screen TV mounted to the wall across from the beds. The other furniture in the room was a desk with a bench on the end and a chair. The coffee pot was on one end of the desk an ice bucket and glasses were also on the desk. Under the desk was a door that would hold a mini fridge. Our mini fridge was in the closet. I would have liked to see something with drawers for clothing. I used garment bags to keep our clothing in on the shelves in the closet. The safe was in the closet $5 per day. There was also an iron and ironing board and hangers.
The bathroom had one sink on a large vanity, large shower, and no tub. There was a hair dryer and they also had small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Lots of towels, facecloths and a bath mat.
I would have no problem recommending this resort to friends or family for any time other than March. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beaches, smaller resort easy to navigate.
The weak points
Best to avoid the month of March as there will be large numbers of students during their spring breaks and the resort gets very crowded.
Certified

Viva wyndam fortuna beach

, Meadow Lake, SK
2016-03-09
Very nice small hotel, beautiful beach, we will be going back there in the near future [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food,newer facilities , awesome staff
The weak points
not quite enough good beach chairs,maybe another helper at the snack bar by the beach for the bar,ran out of glasses for refreshments and usually a longer lineup
Certified

Enjoyed but not blown away

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-16
If your goal is to enjoy some peace and quiet on a beautiful beach without a lot of bells & whistles, then this place was great. Which was the goal of our holiday :)
Check-in was slow.
If you have children there wasn't a lot of structured or unstructured activities for them.
The amount of smoking around the hotel, pool, beach was frustrating.
Tennis courts were in good shape. Lots of access to non-motorized water sports!
Too much Viva Club presence - people pushing the VIP membership.
Evening entertainment was sub-par with questionable themes/choreography that were not family friendly or appropriate.
You had to pay to use the safety deposit box in your hotel room, ridiculous.
You were limited to the number of times that you could go to the ala carte restaurants. And they weren't full, so I'm not sure why you couldn't go more than once. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful, white sandy beaches, you could walk for a mile each direction. Quiet beaches, no other resorts nearby. Water activities. Ocean water was clear & calm. Ocean views.
The weak points
Smoking on the grounds, beach, pool area. Lack of detail in design and decorations rooms/restaurants. Fresh fruit. Entertainment. Restrictions on attending restaurants. Cost for safety deposit box. Pool was cold. Kids pool - small & plain.
Certified

Viva wyndam

, St Albert, AB
2015-03-07
Good holiday,good staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,staff
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

As expected for the most part

, St Thomas, ON
2015-02-26
The staff make the resort a great place. If you're looking for a resort to relax and unwind and maybe tour around for just a day or 2 this is the right place for u. Overall experience was a fun...relaxing week that was much needed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous staff...great good...gorgeous beaches
The weak points
Rooms could use some work. Dresser was broken. Had to ask for one kind of towel because we were short something when they cleaned our room almost everyday. Bathrooms looked old and dingy.
Certified

Viva WynDham Fortuna Beach Terrible

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-02-04
Hello, we just got back from our Vacation at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Our experience there was TERRIBLE! The only good thing I can say is that the entertainment staff was really good.

Housekeeping took three days before they got things right. We had to get our mattresses replaced because they were so disgusting.
It took them three hours to let us know that the safe in our room is broken and they couldn't fix it.
On the second day we ran out of toilet paper, we asked two Housekeeping staff for more and called down to housekeeping and the front desk 4 times, we never got any, until one of went to the front desk and demanded they get us some.
We were three people in each room yet for the first two days they would only leave us two towels and no face cloths, we had to keep getting them to bring us some.
The buffet was terrible, food was cold, there were no real options for kids, multiple trays of the same thing all the time (one night of the 8 to ten dishes available 2 were carrots, 2 were beans and 2 were Brussels sprouts). The one night that had a ham which was the only good thing, they ran out 45 minutes after the buffet opened. So much for being open till 10pm.
The staff in the buffet were unpleasant, they never smiled, they gave us dirty looks when we put two tables together because all other tables that fit 6 where occupied or dirty. We had to get our own cutlery on multiple occasions.
They barley wiped down the tables, place mats where left dirty. They clean off a table of four and leave behind cutlery that LOOKED clean.
The bartenders, some of them were nice and smiled but others looked they were being forced to serve you. I saw one lady bring back her drink to get a new one because there was a bug in it, the bartender (Marvin) dumped the bug and gave her back her cup, and didn't even want to give her a new one.
We were there for 7 days and the sprite portion on the fountain machine at the beach bar was broken and full of wasps all week. It never got fixed.
It was very apparent that Viva Club members were treated much better.

Needless to say the service and quality of this resort ruined our vacation. The Grand Bahama Island is beautiful, and this resort does a great job of giving it a bad name.

I will never be able to recommend this resort to any one, and I will be sure to add my comments to all the forums out there warning people to stay away from this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Internet access was good Entertainment staff was good
The weak points
Service was terrible Housekeeping was terrible Bartenders were unfreindly
Certified

Poor long-lasting first impressions

, West St Paul, MB
2015-02-02
The most unfortunate and long-lasting poor impression was the disorganized and extremely slow check-in/check-out experience. Three front desk employees spent more wandering around and talking to each other and going into a room directly behind the front desk. They kept blaming the slow computers for the delays.The room wasn't ready with no towels, pillow cases or even a swept floor or a bottle of water. Too quick to offer time-share presentation but no Viva club offers for seniors on website to VIP services which was mostly unoccupied. Not approached by any management staff to discuss issues. Very disappointing. The area is great but the hotel very poorly managed and run. We will definitely not return or recommend hotel to anyone!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The general staff especially the activities ones were exceptional and friendly. The beaches were great.
The weak points
Front desk disorganized and slow. Cafe Viva poor food preparation and serving staff slow. Medium rare steak so tough could not cut with steak knife. Told by server that chef said it was because of my choice of it being done medium-rare. Meal too slow.
Certified

Amazing Christmas Holiday

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-15
We really enjoyed our stay at the Fortuna. It is a three star and it was better than we expected. The activity staff worked 18 hour days and made the resort stay so much fun. We rented a car and had a blast touring around but felt we didn't give ourselves enough time to do all the available activities at the resort. The Bahamas were beautiful and we felt safe allows the time and everywhere. We had a flat tire and every car that passed stopped to make sure we were okay.

A special shout out to Jenny from Quebec who ran the kids programs. She never looked tired or cross and she had some poorly behaved children in her group. She impressed us and we didn't have small children with us. The Christmas celebration was outstanding. We felt so special. We would return there. The amenities are three star, but if you remember that, the experience is amazing. Staff were Four Star!! The beach was so soft and amazing with a great snorkel spot right there! We saw a lobster and an octopus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and activities available
The weak points
They are not quick to fix anything that breaks

Disappointed

, St Catharines, ON
2014-12-22
We were disappointed in this resort. We went to celebrate our 35th anniversary and spent a fortune on taxis because there was nothing to do in the evenings at this resort and you can not walk to the closest town! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful and the food was good. The bartenders and food servers were great!
The weak points
Its too far away from the town and taxis are expensive, the resort staff were not very friendly, and the rooms were small and not very clean, the bathroom was disgusting and I had to clean it before we used it
Certified

Bahama holiday at Freeport

, Delta , BC
2014-12-05
I didn't realize that the Viva Wyndham was only a 3-star I guess we prefer a 4 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good activities Staff was very personal
The weak points
House keeping not good Had to have maintenance fix the bathroom door A/c was very old
Certified

It was not better in the Bahamas

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-08-04
Well below expectations. Nothing exceptional at all....had a lot more expectations being in the Bahamas. Very run down place....food was the same every day, not managed well at all. Location was nice, beach was lovely, activities offered were the only thing that was worthwhile, more expectation of services offered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, activity staff, activities
The weak points
Food, cleanliness, rooms, no A/C in the lobby or eating areas so sweating the whole time we're eating
Certified

As expected

, Brampton, ON
2014-05-02
Lots of activities for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly and the entertainment was excellent!
The weak points
Too many rocks and sea weeds in the beach. Hotel need some upgrade especially the sporting equipments
Certified

Watch Out For Spring Break

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-18
Make sure you check if there are Spring Breakers coming out before you book a March trip at Viva. It is overwhelming and wild when you probably don't want it. Viva is apparently the only resort in the Grand Bahamas that welcomes Spring Break. We didn't know this - so always check with your trip provider before booking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grand Bahamas is quiet Island with fantastic local people that are helpful and very friendly. This is a safe place with a world class beach.
The weak points
Drunken, American College Kids and pounding music until 2am every night
Certified

Mini Winter Break

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-05
Friendly staff
Good food
Great beach
Hotel a little tired but clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Good food Great beach
The weak points
Tired facility
Certified

Viva fortuna

, East St Paul, MB
2014-02-24
mediocre. slow house keeping response if additional things were needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
easy getaway
The weak points
same meals all week
Certified

Big Fan of Fortuna Beach

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-18
My husband and I just got back from a week at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. After reading the reviews, we were quite apprehensive but it turned out to be an awesome vacation!

To start, the trip from the airport is only 15 minutes and the driver sang to us the entire way - he was wicked. Out rooms weren't ready when we arrived (early flight) but they gave us our wristbands and towel cards and sent us on our merry way.

The beach is gorgeous and the water is clear and warm. There are seagulls as mentioned in earlier reviews but they only come when people feed them so ....

Beach tip - walk down the beach either way away from the resort and you will see some amazing homes and different sea life.

The food was fresh and plentiful every day. No one was sick while I was there. There is a juice machine that is out of order but just go use the other juice machine. We went to Bamboo and the dinner there was delicious. The pizza at the late night pizza bar cannot be missed.

The staff were all very nice and would answer any question you had. They did their best to meet your needs and if they forgot something, just ask and they will help you out immediately. The staff we came across were lovely and nice. We did have to ask for extra toilet paper each day though and that got a bit annoying.

The room was clean and functional. This resort is a bit worn down and needs a little face lift but the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the flat screen had cable. The air conditioner is loud but you get used to it. We had a blocked toilet one morning and they came to fix it.

All in all, we were more than pleasantly surprised and would go back in an instant. Keep in mind that this is a three star and you will have an amazing and relaxing Bahamas vacation. Thank you Viva Wyndham :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, loaction
The weak points
Needs a face lift
Certified

Eric

, Orillia, ON
2014-02-03
we enjoyed our stay, and so did others that we spoke with while there, and they came from all over the world. the resort is out-dated and old, rooms have not been kept up to date and not to clean, it should not be a 3and half star, we would rate it at 2 and half, the staff made the stay worth while, don't get rid of them, there were only two staff that should be replaced, the one in the exercise room and the waitress in the Chinese. we would go back again BUT if the price gets higher then there are 4 and 5 star deals out there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and beaches
The weak points
rooms need to be renovated badly.
Certified

Cheap n' Cheerful

, North York, ON
2014-02-02
Overall good value for the money. Food is adequate; staff are very nice and the beach and ocean view from our hotel room (Vista) was excellent. The bathroom door was coming off the hinge (fixed); toilet seat was coming off (unfixed); housekeeping doesn't give enough towels; and toilet paper and kleenex are hard to come by. You may want to bring some from home. Evening entertainment is not that great but it's a very relaxing resort, affordable, close to airport and if you like rum you'll love the Bahamas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous location with a lovely view of teal colored water, white sandy beach and palm trees. A five-star view. Staff were very nice and very accommodating. Goombay bar was great...they do coffee, soft drinks, beer and cocktails. Nice pool.
The weak points
The food was okay, some was tasty and some was downright bland. Terrible coffee, and dessert isn't one of their strengths. Use of pool table requires $50 (cash) deposit - that's crazy. Not enough towels provided - 3 people need 3 towels, not 2.
Certified

Good Trip for the $$

, Lac Du Bonnet, MB
2013-04-21
It was pretty good, spent entire time on beaches and water. Clear water and nice snokeling. We'd go again for the right price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is nice, wasn't too busy, so it was good! Good food and staff!
The weak points
When we were there there was a Model thing going on and they were "VIP" so the rest of the guests were like no-bodies for part of our trip!
Certified

VIVA WYNDHAM FORTUNA - April 12 - 15th

, Georgetown, ON
2013-04-17
Generally it was okay, the beach really does make it worth trying. The bars are under staffed so getting a drink can take some time. The food was below average and I am glad our children were not travelling with us (8 & 10yrs) as they would have probably not eaten anything.
The resort is in need of a facelift, it is looking its age and the signs of Spring breakers have taken there toll on the place. The rooms were adequate, everything in ours worked, we were very lucky to get a room in the Bimini block it was in the B4100's block, which was right on the beach and made this vacation so much better.
The entertainment was above average and the crew worked really hard..
There was a photo shoot on while we were there and that was annoying, the special privilages the so called photographers (old perverts) and so called models (dolled up tarts in thongs and high heels) should not have been allowed, some parts of the bar area were off limits to other vacations who had probably paid more than these idiots.
Overall a fairly decent mini vacation gettaway for my wife and I, it served the purpose and what we wanted, an affordable price and a great beach to relax and walk on. We would not go back...to many other places to see, although I hear this place is closing down for a re-furbishment so it will be interesting to see reviews after that has taken place and also see if the price goes up to reflect this facelift. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and location made this break, there are no neighbouring resorts so a nice quiet walk in either direction was great
The weak points
old dated resort, some staff are not friendly, food was poor, drinks hard to get a line up at the beach bar, time share reps hastle you right from check in.
Certified

Awesome place to visit!

, Hamilton, ON
2013-02-27
Efficient and friendly service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and oceanfront
The weak points
front desk did not answer the phone on several occasions when family was trying to call.
Certified

Vista great view/part amenities

, London, ON
2013-02-08
in general the place was good,but we were extremely disappointed with amenties,we did not have a fridge in our room ,we requested for fridge with guest services twice!our new neighbour who got there monday asked for thiers that night his was there that morning!getting coffee & creamer was almost like pulling teeth,telephone did not work ,didnt want to waste vacation time always at the front desk if you know what i mean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff were great
The weak points
getting what you pay for
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Freeport's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?