Viva Fortuna Beach By Wyndham

Viva Fortuna Beach By Wyndham
3.453.453.453.453.45
3.45 based on 164 reviews
#1 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Freeport
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (128)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

It was OK

, Mississauga, ON
2024-04-08
First of all the check in process was horrible ppl greeting not friendly. When we finally received a key to our room they gave us the wrong room so had to wait yet again so at this point it was 6pm. Room was less then average no storage space for your clothing. We reserved ocean view but hardly had a view. Room was clean beds were comfortable. No hot water first few days but eventually worked at first being scolded to freezing.
Buffet food was ok but the smell was not. They ran out a lot at breakfast so had to be there early. Staff was very nice. Bartenders very nice selection of drinks were great but not fresh, no fresh fruit drinks only that syrup slushy stuff. Only draft beer and wine very vinegary. Coffee was good at the lobby bar.
Shows were AMAZING the entertainment staff excellent.
Al a cart restaurants great!! Disco was interesting and pizza afterwards was to die for yummmm
Beach was the best ever and that really what I was there for so based on the cost it was all OK [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment
The weak points
Buffet Check in
Sanitary measures
Shld have sanitizer at buffet exchange of germs big time
Certified

I won't go back

, Kingston, ON
2024-03-25
No warm/hot water. We were showering in cold water every day.
The door in between rooms wasn't secured, the guy in the next room opened door into my room in the middle of the night. Guess who didn't sleep that night.
Rooms have very thin walls, you can hear every word people in the next room are saying.
I was very disappointed when it comes to food. I have been in Cuba, Dominican, Jamaica but this was so far the worst experience when it comes to the selection. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Viva fortuna beach by Wyndham

, Victoria Harbor, ON
2024-02-12
The hotel was clean and most staff were pleasant The deluxe ocean view was only a partial view from an angle. The beach was great and food was quite good. We ate at each of the a la carte restaurants but would recommend the buffet over any with exception of the Italian pizza
We had a 2nd floor room but had smokers below us so we're not able to enjoy sitting out on the balcony. Was geared towards members only Ie rooms alcohol dining etc [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great beach Lots of activities to do on the resort, nightly entertainment was excellent and all the members in the show were very approachable
The weak points
As a non smoker I was constantly looking for seating away from the smokers which seemed to be all over just outside the eating and. Outdoor seating area There is very little to see and do on island other than resort and beach
Sanitary measures
Most always clean and full of soap toilet paper and towels maid service good
Certified

Everything was Wonderful

, Orleans, ON
2024-01-30
We loved the resort. The property was kept extremely clean. The food was good and lots to choose from at the buffet. We went to all three restaurants and service and food was excellent. The beach was beautiful with crystal blue water. Sand was white, soft and clean. They had free water activities that were offered. Pool side entertainment from the staff mid afternoon. Also had a trapeze swinging thing like the circus you could try. In the evening they had singing / guitar entertainment with current and oldies to dance to. Some of the rooms are dated but the are working in updates; I don't really complain about rooms as most of my time is spent outdoors. The Plus side is that they always had hot water. I have travelled lots and this is the norm unless you want to pay for Sandals type places. No damage from Dorian on this resort. What I liked most was the staff. Everyone spoke English and were very respectful and kind. Not a party but there were lots of bigs groups having a great time with the unlimited drinks. I myself prefer the cappuccino. I will go back next year because no harassment from anyone, food was great and the best beaches I've ever seen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, Staff, Food, Clean

Beautiful Beach & good à la carte restaurants

, Woodbridge, ON
2024-01-16
This is a small resort with under 300 rooms. The resort is very causal, with a relaxed & easy going environment. Good for families. The beach is wonderful & perfect for long walks. Children will enjoy playing on this beach. Water shoes may help when entering the water as rocks do exist.

Download the Viva Resorts app before you go. You will need the app to book your 3 à la carte meals at the restaurants.
The Junkanoo buffet serves a very good breakfast that includes eggs, bacon, sausages, french toast, pancakes, cereal, fruit, yogurt & pastries. Buffer lunches & dinners were good too. We did not have any issues with any of the buffet meals. Juice, pop, wine, beer, coffee & tea are self-serve in the buffet restaurant. There are options for everyone. For an evening snack you can pick up pizza slices at the outdoor pizza oven, located at the Italian restaurant. Snacks are also available at the beach bar around noon. They serve hotdogs, hamburgers, fries, pizza, pop & drinks.

At the main bar you can find a selection of drink, plus they serve cappuccinos, lattes, tea. Also at the main bar you will find an ice and water dispenser.

You can refill your reusable water bottle at the many refilling stations throughout the resort such as the main bar, the buffet restaurant during operating hours and just outside the hotel rooms at specified locations.

The rooms do need some love, care & updating. These are basic hotel rooms. Having said that, the AC worked very well in my room. We had hot water daily and our room was cleaned daily. Our safe worked well. We did not have any bugs in our room that I could see. The rooms have a closet, shelves, a small fridge, a suitcase bench, a TV and a stool. I would have like to have a stand-up lamp in the room to provide more light. However a small table and two small wall lamp were located between the two beds. In the bathroom you will find a hair dryer and soap dispenser near the sink. The shower had a soap and conditioner dispenser. I brought my own products.
In the morning, don't forget to place the "Clean Room Card" in the key slot to have your room cleaned, otherwise you may just get clean towels.

For fun, why not take a short trip by cab to the Port Lucaya Market. https://portlucaya.com/ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
3 Very good à la carte restaurants. Very good buffet breakfast. Water filling stations provided at main bar, the buffet & at each building near the rooms. Beautiful beach for long walks. Many loungers.
The weak points
The pool is not heated. The rooms are out of date but satisfactory.
Certified

Wonderful family holiday

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-03
comfortable, clean, greatly enjoyed the activities. Our children and grandchildren loved the trapeze and snorkeling. Beautiful fish and huge sea turtle and stingrays.The staff at the trapeze were fantastic. Also enjoyed archery.
Recommend the garden view section near the tennis courts. A bit of a walk from the dining area but very quiet.
The beach was wonderful. The water was warm and clear on calm days. On windy days the waves were fun. There were always plenty of lounge chairs at the beach. Not so much at the pool, but we spent most of our time on the beach.
Food was OK at the buffet. Had a dinner in each of the restaurants and the food there was excellent , as was the service.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Drinks were plentiful and good.
Entertainment was good but WAY TOO LOUD!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beautiful beach. Lots of room for walking. Warm water with lots of fish. Friendly staff. Trapeze staff exceptional! Excellent food in restaurants.
The weak points
Entertainment way too loud!
Sanitary measures
everything was clean.
Certified

It was mediocre. Nothing special and not terrible

, Barrie, ON
2023-01-30
I'll start with check in, I think they did the best they could checking in 100 people at a time. I was disappointed I requested a king bed and ended up with 2 double beds.
The rooms were ok, we stayed in a renovated room. The shower set up is awful as the glass doesn't go far enough and you end up flooding the bathroom floor. You get 2 bottles of water for the week and they do not replenish it which is not acceptable considering you can not drink the tap water. There is a small fridge that is empty for the week, would be nice to get a few waters, pops or beers. The lighting situation in the room is terrible, a few more lights in the room would be good.
The beds were ok, not overly comfortable.
There is a safe in the room that you need to pay extra for, I suggest you don't charge for a safe as it is unnecessary.
Now for the food and bars. There is a buffet and beach grill. The buffet is similar to a cafeteria vibe, no ambiance whatsoever. The food is ok, nothing special. I was surprised that the staff do not clear tables as you eat or get drinks. Which I haven't experienced in all of my vacations. The beach grill has your standard burgers, fries and hotdogs. One thing I felt was missing was some traditional Bahamian food. I heard so much about conch and never had it once while there. The Ala cartes were easy to book all at once. I was pleased with the food in all three though I waited 75 minutes to receive my food at the pizza restaurant. Pretty disappoineting. We also had the special dinner (lobster and steak) which was good but it was served in the buffet, why not serve that in an.ala carte with some candles on the table or something to make it a "special dinner". There are 2 bars the lobby bar and the beach bar. The drinks were standard, they ran out if beer 3x during my 7 days stay which is not acceptable at all! The coffee bar was great!
The property was good, it was clean. The pool was.clean but very cold! The hot tub was nice but closed.for 3 days while we were there. The pool tables were broken while we were there. You could always find a chair at the beach however at the pool you could not ever find a chair. The beach washroom was disgusting, the doors didn't have a lock that worked and it didn't appear to be cleaned at all while we were there.
Didn't get to do any water sports.
The shows were good, the animation staff really worked hard at everything they do. I will say I was a bit disappointed as I would have hoped to hear Bahamian music on the resort, at the pre party or in the disco and for the most part heard only Spanish music.
Internet access was availible through most of the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The bar staff were great fun!
The weak points
No Bahamian culture Food was mediocre The resort could do a few things to make.it a lot better
Sanitary measures
They had hand sanitizer machines at the buffet and beach grill otherwise there were no measures that I was aware of..
Certified

Beautiful Bahamas

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-17
My husband and I and another couple enjoyed a week at this resort, our first trip to the Bahamas. It's a small resort, with one pool and two bars. We had a beach view room which was lovely.
Food at the buffet was excellent, and I'm picky. My husband is vegan and found a good variety of food to eat. You had to get your own drinks as well as food. The a la cartes were nice except the Asian one; it was weirdly blue lit inside so it was hard to see what one was eating.
Beach was sandy but watch out for rocks when entering the ocean- water shoes are recommended. It was fun to snorkel close to shore. Lots of loungers are available, but the only shade was provided by palm trees. Great beach bar that also served snacks.
No waiter service anywhere, so be prepared to line up a lot for drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-food was excellent -beautiful beach, but watch out for rocks -lovely staff and animation team -tons of loungers on the beach
The weak points
-oriental a la carte disappointing -no drink service, had to wait in line for drinks -lack of shade on the resort, pool and beach
Certified

Nice vacation

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2020-02-08
We had a nice experience at this hotel. Beautiful beach . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Chef Viola and Chef Carlos where very helpful and professionally managed my wife's food allergies .
Certified

Mostly Great week....

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-28
Check-in was a nightmare....
"Pre- check-in" was waiting in line for over an hour.... Just to get some food...
Then check-in was waiting in line for another hour...
I didn't get the ocean view king suite that I paid for.... They DID try and accommodate... But it was a room that faced a field with a sliver of ocean... So I declined.
My room had no hot water or a functioning safe (which I also paid extra)...
Upstairs neighbours (not resorts fault) were feeding seagulls off their balcony.... Poop everywhere...
I requested another room... And repacked And moved... It WAS an ocean-front... No WiFi.... Safe mostly worked (I noticed I could open it by shaking the door, to check if it was locked)... And a blinding LED floodlight outside my patio door... BUT BEAUTIFUL sunrise EVERY morning!!!
Food was good... Service @ "oriental a-la-carte" was ignorant and rude... Didn't offer water or drinks... No utensils (or chop sticks) until requested.... (I went to the buffet to get my table water and drinks)
But in general, (after check-in) ALL of the staff were great... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Great shows. Good food. 98% of staff were Top Notch!
The weak points
CHECK-IN WAS HELL... Safes aren't safe. pool was freezing. No WiFi in room.
Certified

Renovate the rooms!

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-22
Renovate your rooms! Nothing has been touched in the rooms for the last 30 years at least. Not just renovated, nothing has been fixed for the last 30 years. Common grounds, restaurants, the beach is perfect but the hotel must update the rooms. Below any standard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, dive shop, pool and restaurants
The weak points
Update the rooms!
Certified

Dirty resort. Don't waste money

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
My fiancé and I have always wanted to visit the Bahamas for a getaway vacation so I seen the tickets for Viva Wyndham and booked the trip. As we arrived to Viva Wyndham, we arrived at 11:00am and had to wait to check into our rooms at 3:00pm! Ridiculous waiting period to get into ur room after a long flight and exhaustion. We finally got our room and our room was on the top floor and I couldn't get my suitcase up the stairs! Luckily a tourist who happened to be my neighbour helped me bring up my suitcase. When we got In our room, it wasn't as advertised online. The furniture were old and the bathroom was ASTROCIOUS! DISGUSTING! It still smelled like mold and pee from the previous guest. There was a dead fly laying in the corner of the bathtub and the sinks and fossits has extreme mold and brown stuff on it. I called guest services for assistance in cleaning my bathroom only to find out that they sent a cleaning lady hours upon hours later and all she did was wipe down things with water. No soap. No bleach. And the fly that was In the corner of the tub was still there! And the pee smell did not go away. I don't know what they use to clean but I felt
Like purchasing bleach and some cleaning products so that I can clean it myself! The resort was filthy and had dirty cups and plates all over the beach stacking up as if the resort lacked workers. There were hundreds of bees near the outdoor bars and outdoor in general. The bees were hovering over the juice dispensar which contained a lot of syrup. So when tourist wanted to get a drink from the dispenser it was a risk you had to take. The seagulls took over the swimming pool so no one could swim!! The entertainment at the resort needed more rehearsals and practice- it was so boring. However, the food was great! Especially at the buffet. The food at the restaurants where reservations was needed was not good at all-except the steak house. My fiancé and I didn't want to waste our day being at the resort since the resort was disgusting we decided to take the taxi into the city on our own and venture out. There, we met locals and enjoyed a night of partying-now that was fun! The resort is only good for families with children but not for couples. I've spent way less money on other Caribbean islands and experienced 100 times more customer service and hospitality. The staff at the resort tried to talk to my fiancé and I about a timeshare opportunity and I declined it because of the terrible first impression with the resort. The resort has a lot of potential if they hire more cleaning staff and more staff in general! I understand hurricane Matthew affected the spirit of the resort In 2016 but we are now in 2019 and I still haven't seen any improvements. I guess the owner is just too laZy and just wants money now. Doesn't care about the beautiful island, workers and hard working tourists contributing to their economy. I would rate this resort 2 star out of 5. Oh by the way, the bars doesn't have straws to drink from!! Which is a hygiene issue. Nasty! Everyone drinking out of the cups- who knows how they wash their cups? They struggle enough to wash my bathroom clean. Yuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst resort in history!!!!!!!! Do not go!!!!!!!!! Save ur money and go to a different island or different resort. Period. Can't say I didn't warn ya. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Overall Average Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-21
Overall experience was average and I left with food poisoning that has now dragged on for 4 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good variety of food Great beach
The weak points
Shabby rooms Had to chase staff down for towels that smelled funny Questionable cleanliness - milk frother for coffee not cleaned properly Weird smell everywhere from the lavander pinesol
Certified

Great time at viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach!

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-27
Excellent beach, with the best part there was plenty of loungers so never had a problem finding one. The drinks were tasty and packed a good punch, the food in the dinning room was not over the top fancy but tasted very good with sufficient variety very day, the deserts were the best we have ever had anywhere, (almost as good as mommy makes) the rooms were a bit tired and the A/C was noisy. Also thin walls between room so could hear voices and TV next room, Great being close to airport so not a long drive or wait to get to resort, nice short drive to a good market for shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH with tons of lounger good Food and Drinks, less than 3 hours from Toronto and 15minutes from Freeport to resort
The weak points
Rooms were a bit funky but not unbearable
Certified

Highly recommend

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-07
We had a wonderful time at the viva bahamas resort. so many great activities, beautiful beach, captivating entertainment, many options of delicious food, etc. There were some rude entertainers, waitresses, and the maid skipped our room 2 day in a row yet still took the tips left out...
We also came home with many deep cuts and bruises from the rocks in the water.
Other than a few hiccups, we had an amazing time & highly recommend this resort to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Enjoyable get away

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-29
We had an over all good holiday. The animation team is amazing,nightly shows entertaining(don't miss circus night) and rest of hotel staff was good as well.The beach is very nice.Some rocky spots depending you enter water but can walk along way both directions. Good snorkeling just off shore by the burger stand. Food was very good better than expected from reviews. Lots of selection. Ate at 2 out 3 al a cartes were both good. Book them when you get there in front lobby. Nothing bad to say only good times [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ANIMATION TEAM, beach, staff , shows , lots of activities al day. Food
The weak points
Don't get room until 3 but get wrist band and can enjoy resort until then. Rooms have few flaws but a lot better than expeted by reviews.
Certified

Good but not great!

, Blainville, QC
2017-03-18
Lets start with the location. Its out of the way from everything. You need to take a taxi to go explore because there is no bus service in this remote area. One example to go and come back from Lucaya market is $30 for two people.The hotel is nicely laid out right on the beach a lot to do as activities. The staff is great always wanting you to participate and their shows at night are fantastic! The beach although it looks spectacular has a lot of rocks and you need to be very carful to not hurt your feet.As for the rooms we had an ocean view very nice but the cleanliness was not there. Very dirty and had to call for extra towels on a daily bases which took hours to get them. As for the food the a la carte are good but the buffet is at best average. They always have same items at lunch and dinner. In my opinion breakfast was the best because it was prepared to order. All considering its at best a 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach
The weak points
cleanliness, buffet
Certified

Loved it!

, Greenfield Park, QC
2017-03-11
Had the most relaxing time! the staff are super welcoming, the food was delicious and had a large variety. Free bikes to ride into town, locals are super nice! NOTE: they don't give bottled water; bring your own insulated travel mug and fill it up with filtered water they have there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, food, people
The weak points
no bottled water
Certified

We had a great vacation

, Hubley, NS
2016-03-14
When I booked my trip I was excited to be going to the "Bahamas". We found a really great deal so I booked. After I booked I found an announcement about Spring Break! We had no idea of the number of Spring Breakers that would descend upon the resort; there were 700 junior university students that arrived a couple of days after we did and stayed for 4 nights. The resort was just too crowded during those days. I must say for the most part they were well behaved and courteous to us "regular guests". We really liked this resort with its beautiful beach and friendly staff. We would definitely return but not in March (due to the Spring Break crowd). We found the weather a bit too cool, and because of the winds coming off the ocean, I was only able to go into the ocean two days. The rest of the week it was just too windy to even sit on the beach for very long without covering up with my towels. This is not something the resort had any control over.
We found the food in the buffet to be quite nice, we never went hungry. For a 3 star resort, I was very happy with the food available. We ate at two of the Restaurants and were very pleased with our meal choices.
Our room was on the 2nd floor at the end of one of the green buildings Room #2241. Our room was Beachfront with a balcony. The room was very quiet; we heard no noise from the next room. The room was a good size; we had two double beds with a shelf between them. There was a flat screen TV mounted to the wall across from the beds. The other furniture in the room was a desk with a bench on the end and a chair. The coffee pot was on one end of the desk an ice bucket and glasses were also on the desk. Under the desk was a door that would hold a mini fridge. Our mini fridge was in the closet. I would have liked to see something with drawers for clothing. I used garment bags to keep our clothing in on the shelves in the closet. The safe was in the closet $5 per day. There was also an iron and ironing board and hangers.
The bathroom had one sink on a large vanity, large shower, and no tub. There was a hair dryer and they also had small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Lots of towels, facecloths and a bath mat.
I would have no problem recommending this resort to friends or family for any time other than March. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beaches, smaller resort easy to navigate.
The weak points
Best to avoid the month of March as there will be large numbers of students during their spring breaks and the resort gets very crowded.
Certified

Viva wyndam fortuna beach

, Meadow Lake, SK
2016-03-09
Very nice small hotel, beautiful beach, we will be going back there in the near future [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food,newer facilities , awesome staff
The weak points
not quite enough good beach chairs,maybe another helper at the snack bar by the beach for the bar,ran out of glasses for refreshments and usually a longer lineup
Certified

Enjoyed but not blown away

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-16
If your goal is to enjoy some peace and quiet on a beautiful beach without a lot of bells & whistles, then this place was great. Which was the goal of our holiday :)
Check-in was slow.
If you have children there wasn't a lot of structured or unstructured activities for them.
The amount of smoking around the hotel, pool, beach was frustrating.
Tennis courts were in good shape. Lots of access to non-motorized water sports!
Too much Viva Club presence - people pushing the VIP membership.
Evening entertainment was sub-par with questionable themes/choreography that were not family friendly or appropriate.
You had to pay to use the safety deposit box in your hotel room, ridiculous.
You were limited to the number of times that you could go to the ala carte restaurants. And they weren't full, so I'm not sure why you couldn't go more than once. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful, white sandy beaches, you could walk for a mile each direction. Quiet beaches, no other resorts nearby. Water activities. Ocean water was clear & calm. Ocean views.
The weak points
Smoking on the grounds, beach, pool area. Lack of detail in design and decorations rooms/restaurants. Fresh fruit. Entertainment. Restrictions on attending restaurants. Cost for safety deposit box. Pool was cold. Kids pool - small & plain.
Certified

Viva wyndam

, St Albert, AB
2015-03-07
Good holiday,good staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,staff
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

As expected for the most part

, St Thomas, ON
2015-02-26
The staff make the resort a great place. If you're looking for a resort to relax and unwind and maybe tour around for just a day or 2 this is the right place for u. Overall experience was a fun...relaxing week that was much needed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous staff...great good...gorgeous beaches
The weak points
Rooms could use some work. Dresser was broken. Had to ask for one kind of towel because we were short something when they cleaned our room almost everyday. Bathrooms looked old and dingy.
Certified

Viva WynDham Fortuna Beach Terrible

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-02-04
Hello, we just got back from our Vacation at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Our experience there was TERRIBLE! The only good thing I can say is that the entertainment staff was really good.

Housekeeping took three days before they got things right. We had to get our mattresses replaced because they were so disgusting.
It took them three hours to let us know that the safe in our room is broken and they couldn't fix it.
On the second day we ran out of toilet paper, we asked two Housekeeping staff for more and called down to housekeeping and the front desk 4 times, we never got any, until one of went to the front desk and demanded they get us some.
We were three people in each room yet for the first two days they would only leave us two towels and no face cloths, we had to keep getting them to bring us some.
The buffet was terrible, food was cold, there were no real options for kids, multiple trays of the same thing all the time (one night of the 8 to ten dishes available 2 were carrots, 2 were beans and 2 were Brussels sprouts). The one night that had a ham which was the only good thing, they ran out 45 minutes after the buffet opened. So much for being open till 10pm.
The staff in the buffet were unpleasant, they never smiled, they gave us dirty looks when we put two tables together because all other tables that fit 6 where occupied or dirty. We had to get our own cutlery on multiple occasions.
They barley wiped down the tables, place mats where left dirty. They clean off a table of four and leave behind cutlery that LOOKED clean.
The bartenders, some of them were nice and smiled but others looked they were being forced to serve you. I saw one lady bring back her drink to get a new one because there was a bug in it, the bartender (Marvin) dumped the bug and gave her back her cup, and didn't even want to give her a new one.
We were there for 7 days and the sprite portion on the fountain machine at the beach bar was broken and full of wasps all week. It never got fixed.
It was very apparent that Viva Club members were treated much better.

Needless to say the service and quality of this resort ruined our vacation. The Grand Bahama Island is beautiful, and this resort does a great job of giving it a bad name.

I will never be able to recommend this resort to any one, and I will be sure to add my comments to all the forums out there warning people to stay away from this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Internet access was good Entertainment staff was good
The weak points
Service was terrible Housekeeping was terrible Bartenders were unfreindly
Certified

Poor long-lasting first impressions

, West St Paul, MB
2015-02-02
The most unfortunate and long-lasting poor impression was the disorganized and extremely slow check-in/check-out experience. Three front desk employees spent more wandering around and talking to each other and going into a room directly behind the front desk. They kept blaming the slow computers for the delays.The room wasn't ready with no towels, pillow cases or even a swept floor or a bottle of water. Too quick to offer time-share presentation but no Viva club offers for seniors on website to VIP services which was mostly unoccupied. Not approached by any management staff to discuss issues. Very disappointing. The area is great but the hotel very poorly managed and run. We will definitely not return or recommend hotel to anyone!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The general staff especially the activities ones were exceptional and friendly. The beaches were great.
The weak points
Front desk disorganized and slow. Cafe Viva poor food preparation and serving staff slow. Medium rare steak so tough could not cut with steak knife. Told by server that chef said it was because of my choice of it being done medium-rare. Meal too slow.
Certified

Amazing Christmas Holiday

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-15
We really enjoyed our stay at the Fortuna. It is a three star and it was better than we expected. The activity staff worked 18 hour days and made the resort stay so much fun. We rented a car and had a blast touring around but felt we didn't give ourselves enough time to do all the available activities at the resort. The Bahamas were beautiful and we felt safe allows the time and everywhere. We had a flat tire and every car that passed stopped to make sure we were okay.

A special shout out to Jenny from Quebec who ran the kids programs. She never looked tired or cross and she had some poorly behaved children in her group. She impressed us and we didn't have small children with us. The Christmas celebration was outstanding. We felt so special. We would return there. The amenities are three star, but if you remember that, the experience is amazing. Staff were Four Star!! The beach was so soft and amazing with a great snorkel spot right there! We saw a lobster and an octopus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and activities available
The weak points
They are not quick to fix anything that breaks

Disappointed

, St Catharines, ON
2014-12-22
We were disappointed in this resort. We went to celebrate our 35th anniversary and spent a fortune on taxis because there was nothing to do in the evenings at this resort and you can not walk to the closest town! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful and the food was good. The bartenders and food servers were great!
The weak points
Its too far away from the town and taxis are expensive, the resort staff were not very friendly, and the rooms were small and not very clean, the bathroom was disgusting and I had to clean it before we used it
Certified

Bahama holiday at Freeport

, Delta , BC
2014-12-05
I didn't realize that the Viva Wyndham was only a 3-star I guess we prefer a 4 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good activities Staff was very personal
The weak points
House keeping not good Had to have maintenance fix the bathroom door A/c was very old
Certified

It was not better in the Bahamas

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-08-04
Well below expectations. Nothing exceptional at all....had a lot more expectations being in the Bahamas. Very run down place....food was the same every day, not managed well at all. Location was nice, beach was lovely, activities offered were the only thing that was worthwhile, more expectation of services offered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, activity staff, activities
The weak points
Food, cleanliness, rooms, no A/C in the lobby or eating areas so sweating the whole time we're eating
Certified

As expected

, Brampton, ON
2014-05-02
Lots of activities for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly and the entertainment was excellent!
The weak points
Too many rocks and sea weeds in the beach. Hotel need some upgrade especially the sporting equipments
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Freeport's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Seniors Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024