Royalton Antigua

Royalton Antigua
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 20 reviews
#2 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Antigua
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (20)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Gorgeous property & beach

, Kleinburg, ON
2024-03-26
This resort is wonderful! A stunning property, maintained to perfection, with stunning views and a beautiful beach. We had a swim out diamond club room. It was an adequate size with a great balcony and semi private pool space. Only downside was the bathroom was on the smaller side, however it was still able to accommodate double sinks. Our butler Shandell was amazing! Went above and beyond to help us as needed which was great since we were travelling with our two young kids ages 4 and 2 so all the help we could get was appreciated! Pool and pool deck area was always pristine and well kept. Lots of games and activities organized through out the day. The beach was beautiful and well maintained. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas available at all times. Food was great as well. Hunter's steakhouse was our top pick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service, modern property, always clean and pristine. Gorgeous beach and good food.
The weak points
Size of room and bathroom. Poolside food options were limited.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Richmond Hill, ON
2024-03-24
Beautiful Beach, Food same every day,Rooms clean.
Most Staff not very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Staff

Good Bad and Ugly

, Halifax, NS
2024-03-22
We had a great time at Royalton Antigua, but that's because we're pretty easy going, and don't let the negatives get us down. We LOVED the beach and pool area, as well as the location of the resort near hiking and swimming/snorkeling destinations. Taking excursions right from the beach with water taxi etc. was fantastic. Vendors on the beach are awesome. Antigua is a great island with interesting culture and people; it's relatively safe and clean, with lots to do.

The food at the hotel is pretty good - it's not a culinary destination, but lots of choices and nothing wrong with it - the ox-tail stew is pretty amazing on the night it's made, not so good the next three nights it's out etc. Staff try their best to be attentive and friendly but you can tell many of them are not happy; seems like maybe not a great work culture. The vibe team are always "on" and seem to be happy and having a great time - always something to do if you want to. They are also the main participants in the nightly entertainment, showing an array of talent; the entertainment is so/so over all. Something to do if you want to, but nothing to worry about missing if you feel like heading to bed early.

There were a few pretty major negatives for us starting with the specific room that we choose and paid for not being available we we arrived, and then some pretty obvious shenanigans around that, which I won't go into, but I feel I was deliberately told stories that were not the truth regarding the situation, and have yet to receive the refund I was promised and deserve.

The room we ended up in was extremely musty. We had THREE containers of damp-rid and they didn't make a dent in the smell and wetness which permeated everything; we never spent time in the room, only a bit on the deck.

On most days, in the morning, and randomly at other times, there was an intense intermittent sewer smell coming from the shower drain or maybe the toilet. We complained three times, and were told that maintenance would come to help, but if they ever came, they didn't fix the problem. Upon checkout I told the Front Desk manager about the problem and he said I'm the first person who ever complained about anything like that, which in my view could not have been the truth because I searched reviews afterwards and many people reported the exact same thing.

Loved the vacation despite the problems, and wish that Royalton would fix the place up a bit so that we would go back. Definitely would choose to go somewhere else next time though, based on our experience. Too bad though, because the area is idyllic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach is amazing. The pool area is great. Nice that they are close together. Antigua is a nice island with interesting culture and people. Lots of fun excursions.
The weak points
Strong musty smell in parts of the building and room. Intermittent intense sewage smell emanating from shower or toilet. Management who tell stories to coverup mistakes instead of facing up to them and making it right.
Sanitary measures
Who wants to go on vacation and have intense sewage smell in their hotel bathroom? Disgusting, and no one cared or did anything about it.
Certified

Awesome Experience/Super Friendly Staff

, Lasalle, ON
2023-12-19
The best part of our stay at the Royalton Antigua were the people-their staff. They were amazing! Super attentive and friendly. We couldn't have asked for better Butlers.
The room was clean, airy and large.
As for the food, the buffet was delicious, some of restaurants weren't too bad (food may not have always been warm or delivered together for your meal) - the caribbean restaurant with chef Sheldon was the BEST tasting of all of our meals for the week. The steak restaurant was absolutely awful. We had 4 in our party and all meals were terrible. We had reservations for 2 nights but cancelled one of them. And as for room service…do yourself a favour and go get your own food. It arrived 30 minutes late cold, english muffin not toasted, and part of the meal missing - which they delivered after we ate what we could. We had no choice but room service-my husband was going scuba diving and the restaurants were not open yet.
Overall-we would give this hotel a rating of 8/10. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff Pool Beach Rooms-clean, large, airy
The weak points
Food
Certified

Fabulous team and beautiful resort

, Grimsby, ON
2023-12-06
Royalton Antigua is truly a slice of paradise. The grounds are well kept, the beach is pristine and the staff are friendly and happy to help. Food is well prepared and variety is good. Concierge and butlers check in randomly and regularly to ensure you're happy. They quickly assist with any needs that come up. I'm gluten intolerant and while the restaurants always had bread for me, they did not always have gluten free flour in their kitchen. If I gave them a couple hours notice as to where I'd be eating, they ALWAYS had gluten free pasta, pizza dough or pancakes available. It was so nice to just go, relax and know they'd take care of you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Beautiful Island - Good and Bad

, Carlsbad Springs, ON
2023-06-13
We were Diamond Club and had a separate check in. Was a bit chaotic with getting to the room, were told restaurants were open for food and they weren't. First impressions were terrible. No regard for the staff working in extreme heat, terrible that air cons were not working in restaurants or in common areas. Food literally melting in the buffet. Were told different stories about the air conditioning, it's been broken for two weeks or this is the first complaint they've heard but yet the expensive gift shops air con was working. Made a reservation at the spa. Walked from the beach only to find out they had power failures they said they called the room at 3 pm to advise. Who is in their room at 3 pm on vacation? After a few days we adjusted to the lack of air conditioning. Sat mostly outside. Butler service is excellent, but no need for these men and women to wear long pants, long sleeve shirts, vests, jackets and ties. Rethink their uniform please. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful island and excellent service Restaurants are great, Steakhouse and Italian were the best in our opinion Well appointed room all the amenities Get Diamond Club for the perks
The weak points
NO working air conditioning in restaurants, buffets or common areas, elevators. A nine storey apartment building and walking long distances to pools/beach and restaurants No mini bar with alcohol Slower beach service
Certified

A luke warm vacation at best.

, Belmont, ON
2023-04-17
The Royalton experience this time around was the worst we have had. Stayed many times before and this does live up to the standards of service. The property itself was nice but the service was horrendous and the staff were the least friendly I have ever come across in my 25 plus trips to the Caribbean to many islands and resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There were of course a few staff who were well worth the tips and experience but that was a limited few. The food experience was just ok but we did have a couple good nights of a la carte but we were limited to eating at 9pm every night which was brutal.
The weak points
The service and friendliness was awful. They ran out of room towels and lied to us about it. 3 people had to share one clean towel for two days. Ran out of hot water. At lunch time they ran out of plates and on occasion. These are basics anyways.
Certified

Amazing Antigua

, Amaranth, ON
2023-01-23
It was such a nice resort. On the smaller side but very beautiful, we had a luxury bay suite which had an amazing view of the bay and the beach. People were friendly especially Silvanie, Miguel, Missy and Karrie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Jan 10/2023 to Jan 19/2023

, Niagara Falls, ON
2023-01-21
What a disappointment this hotel was. First we got hit with a resort tax $10/nday for 9 days. And a $200 deposit for Incidentals. Our hotel room over looking the Bay was very dated. I was very surprised when I walked in. A la carte restaurants were not good at all. The best place was the sports bar. The Italian restaurant after waiting over an hour for pizza was completely raw. The Alfredo sauce both in the buffet and the Italian restaurant was bland and watery. No offer of added parmigiana cheese. Chicken parm was burnt along the edges. Red sauce was no good at all. Caprese salad was the paper-thin slices of tomatoe with two thinly sliced pieces of cheese. My husband actually laughed when they brought it to the table. The mozzarella sticks were very good but you only get 2. The restaurant beside the Italian restaurant offers boiled hot dogs. One is spicy but that only because they added a spicy sauce to it. The speciality restaurant that you have to pay extra for has a minimum of 6 people in a group. It's not as though they pair you up with anyone. You have to supply the 6 yourself. And if you like beer the only one that you will get is their own Caribe Beer. Yes. That's it. One kind of beer and only two types of wine. If you want premium drinks there's an added charge for that. Not bbq area. Can't bring food to the pool or beach area. And never mind about getting bar services either around the pool or beach unless you are a Diamond Club member. The gift shop is extremely overpriced. Sunscreen is 37$ USD. Shirts are over $100 USD. The buffet is ok as long as you get there when it opens up because then the food is fairly fresh and not sitting under heat lamps. The a la carte steak house I found the rib eye to be pretty good. My husband had the beef tenderloin that was very undercooked. We sent it back and without making a new steak they cooked his more after we had cut it up into pieces. So he got his same steak back. Very tough. The second time we went their we actually got a waitress that was nice and actually offered us dessert. The crème brûlée was very good and actually big enough for two. The sports bar offers you 4-5 small chicken wings, 3 onion rings, the poutine has no gravy. Everything is very small portions.
Overall. At best, I would rate this hotel a 3.5 star. Especially for the amount of money we spent I didn't feel it was worth it at all. I have enjoyed Cuba more than the Royalton Antigua. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
It was very clean. All common areas and bathrooms and our room were clean
The weak points
Food was tasteless and either overcooked or under cooked and very very small portions. Rooms were dated. And when you get there right off the hop you need to pay a 90$ resort tax. You'd think that would be charged prior to arriving there.
Certified

Great last minute deal for me.

, Bradford, ON
2022-04-11
Royalton Antigua provides anything you may be looking for. Relaxation, water fun, good food, good service. A very secluded location away from noise and commotion however close to the capital St. John. Definitely a 5 star vacation location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food and beverage service is the strongest point in this resort. Staff is friendly and attentive. The grounds are immaculately maintained.
The weak points
Housekeeping is the weakest link in this otherwise 5 star resort. On a daily basis various towels were not replaced when the room was cleaned. After being out one day for over 10 hours our room was not touched by housekeeping and no towels were replaced.
Sanitary measures
Measures are posted throughout the resort however not enforced.
Certified

Needs more progress

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-09-18
The rooms are smaller than at other Royalton resorts. Elevators had issues, my kids got stuck inside, it happen before as other have been stuck in in the past. First time at Hunter steakhouse we left after waiting one and a half hour for the food. Complained to the dinning manager and Manuel made it right the next day. Overall a decent resort. Value is not the best as the rooms were small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet restaurant is very good. The staff are all excellent people.
The weak points
Not yet at Royalton level of services. Did not provide "The Royalton Experience"
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024