Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
3.543.543.543.543.54
3.54 based on 56 reviews
#3 of 5 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Playa Blanca
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (31)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not my Favourite Hotel

, Almonte, ON
2018-02-25
I feel that this hotel has a lot of potential however from where I was , the only thing going for this hotel was fact that you had Internet service Wi-Fi throughout the resort

The food was so-so there wasn't very much choice at all
I only seen bacon for breakfast one morning I really thought that as
a 4.5 star hotel that the food just wasn't up to snuff the only other choice for food was down at the pool bar
They were only two bars. The pool bar and 1 at lobby
It just was a very disorganized hotel the shocked Pools at 9 AM in the morning just stuff like that
There wasn't much of night show

Now for the kicker it would appear that there could possibly be a prostitution thing going on in there as some lady brought in her young girls and they all branched out with different older men surely to goodness hotel could see something like that going on if the patrons could
No gift shop [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
internet wifi
The weak points
Food, entertainment lack of bars
Certified

Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, Panama

, Collingwood, ON
2015-03-11
Excellent choice. Smiling staff wanted to please us all the time and showed us the true meaning of hospitality. Clean and comfortable. Front Desk staff was especially very professional and eager to service. Highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean surroundings. Staff eager to service the guests.
The weak points
More timely service of coffee and drinks during meals.
Certified

Not best for young kids

, Toronto, ON
2014-08-17
The hotel has pleasant views and facilities, however, little things make big difference. They advertise it as a place for families, but the milk in restaurant is not suitable for young kids and in a week the little on-site store ran out of milk and we had to take a taxi to a nearest town to buy milk for out toddler.
Having paid for deluxe Ocean View room, we got a room with a balcony facing rooftop and some ocean behind it with another window facing pools, after having switched from first room with even worse view. Over week-ends loud music was blasting through windows and closed curtains until 10 p.m.
Restaurant served no seafood in 2 weeks, only fish; what they called Sopa de Mariscos barely contained a shrimp or two.
Most of tours offered were not available for not enough tourists signed up. A taxi to Panama City cost $160 a day and the driver didn't speak any English and didn't seem to know the city well, despite he works for the hotel bringing the tourists there on regular basis.
Cleaning ladies had to be reminded daily to replace soap, water, etc. otherwise they didn't do it. The waiters in restaurant removed the high chairs inside and sometimes we had to wait with a fussy toddler on a lap for 20 minutes for a waiter to appear and bring a high chair.
On the positive side, the ocean was warm and the beach wonderful, despite the black sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful outlay and design, pools and gardens, easy access. Nice beach with lifeguards. Guest services functioning well. Good daytime entertainment, playrooms for kids and teens. Great watermelons and pineapples in restaurants.
The weak points
Poor room view, limited variety in on-site store, airport with no facilities, except toilets; limited tours and poor quality of snorkelling and other sports tours.
Certified

Family oriented resort

, Pickering, ON
2014-03-02
Cleen,nice hotel with friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family oriented resort,good food and drinks,very frendly staff.
The weak points
Far from aeroport and civilization.
Certified

Good Time at Resort/Shuttle to Resort not great!

, Corbeil, ON
2014-02-24
The staff are friendly; food is good - especially the a la carte restaurants, and it's nice that you have unlimited a la carte dinners - just need to book early in the morning - can't book for the whole week. Hotel rooms are average - but cleaned on a daily basis. The weather is FANTASTIC ... it's so hot but the breeze at the resort is great - go in dry season and you will not be disappointed if looking for sunny and hot!
The shuttle to and from airport to resort is very long - could be up to 3.5 hrs depending on traffic ... thankfully the buses are air conditioned [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Staff, Weather
The weak points
Travel distance from airport to resort, beach
Certified

First visit to Panama

, Markham, ON
2014-02-16
The hotel was clean and beautifully laid out. Needs some paint touch ups which were starting to happen. The food was very good, could use an extra a la carte restaurant. Bar service at busy times was slow, should provide an extra bar server. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
adequate seating for pool and beach chairs. great walking beach. lovely pool design. nice 9 hole golf course.
The weak points
cosmetic touch ups needed. too far from other amenities. staff slow to provide coffee or refils.
Certified

Going back again!

, Strathroy, ON
2014-02-10
We had an excellent time. The room, pools beach and food all met or exceeded our expectations. Something for everyone. We plan on coming back early 2015 with our daughter (who will be 6 at the time of travel). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-location, STAFF, food
The weak points
-the 2 hour from the airport - even in low traffic it was 2 hours
Certified

Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 2014 Panama

, Norwood, ON
2014-01-26
Clean, food was great. Drinks a little strong the first couple of days. Not much in the way of nightly entertainment. Helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel. Hopefully the new airport will accept international charter flights in near future as bus ride from other airport can be as long as 2 1/2 - 3 hours depending on traffic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was wonderful - something for everyone.Staff were very accomodating. Clean rooms
The weak points
Drinks too strong first couple of days.
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-05
We had a terrific time at the Sheraton. The room was spacious, with a king bed and balcony. The hotel was clean and the landscaping beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to help out. The beach was lovely! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the beach, the room
The weak points
Being so far away from the airport, but once the new one opens it won't be an issue.
Certified

Fantastic time, fantastic weather

, Scarborough, ON
2014-01-05
We had a fantastic time in the sun and warmth. Enjoy our stay over Christmas and New Years. Special thanks to Oscar the life guard for the excellent care, he provide the husband after he had injured himself. Beach was great for long morning walks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No complaints about the food. Plenty variety in the buffet and the chef was out talking and checking with the customers to make sure everything was okay and if there was anything he could do. The Japanese restaurant was great.
The weak points
The journey to and from the airport. From the airport, traffic jams took 3 plus hours. To the airport, much better 2 hours.
Certified

Relaxing trip at Bijao

, Thornhill, ON
2014-01-02
My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights during Christmas holidays. Overall we had a great time. It is a great resort if you don't mind a long flight and a 2 hr shuttle ride.
Food - We always found something that we liked at the main buffet. There were 3 a la carte restaurants, the Steakhouse is not really great but the Staff were amazing, Japanese food (Sakura) was better but you had to choose your meat and the portion was not so generous. The Mediterranean (Los Olivos) was absolutely great. I really enjoyed the Tenderloin.

The Beach is absolutely beautiful. I got stung by a jellyfish however in the water. If you are planning to swim in the ocean go before noon or take a wetsuit with you.

Entertainment - almost nothing after 10 pm and there is a club which is usually empty. Also, resort is far from almost anything for daytime excursions.

Alcohol - Absolutely great choice at the Lobby bar - Many international brands are included ... better than any 4 or some 5 star resorts that I have been to and I'm talking 9 resorts in 5 different countries.

Room - spacious, clean

Mini fridge - get stocked with water only each day

Staff - very hard working and kind

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, this is a great spot.
Also, there is reliable free Wi-Fi in the lobby area.
We truly enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach - lovely staff Great choice of hard liquor
The weak points
2hr shuttle bus ride from the airport not much entertainment at night
Certified

PANAMA 2013

, St. Leonard, QC
2013-04-04
The hotel was gorgeous; not too big and not too small. Lots of pools for all ages. The staff was nice and friendly and rooms were quite clean. The food was quite good, especially at the Mediterranean Restaurant. The hotel can get quiet after 10:30PM, so unless there are lots of younger & good-spirited guests willing to hit the disco, it can get quite boring. The ocean was ok, except there were lots of jelly fish when we were there so we did not go in as often as we would have liked. All in all a very good experience - a place to visit! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL AND VERY CLEAN. STAFF MEMBERS WERE ALL NICE. FOOD WAS TASTY AND SELECTION WAS VARIED. FOR THE PRICE I PAID I AM MORE THAN SATISFIED!
The weak points
THE DRIVE TO THE HOTEL WAS APPROX 2.5 HRS..IT WAS QUITE LONG ESPECIALLY AFTER A 5.5 HR FLIGHT. IF ANYONE IS LOOKING TO PARTY, THE HOTEL CAN GET QUITE QUIET AFTER 10:30 PM AND LEAVING THE RESORT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE SINCE YOU ARE FAR FROM MOST PLACES.
Certified

O Panama

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2013-04-01
Travel time from airport to hotel 2 /- hours depends of traffic (take it as a free country tour) Check in about 30 min (I guess depends of how many people arrived in the same time) Price was good except that TMR charged us more for the children than for adults (I am sure it is negotiable if you discus that subject with travel agent before booking on line) Room - Deluxe garden view is small for two adults two children. We had to upgrade to Beachfront junior suite ($$$)and I don't regret we did it especially because it was on the ground floor and you can just walk out to the beach or swimming pools from your room (no worries about children on the balcony) First day when we arrived (Monday) we was REALLY impressed by the food choices and quality in the main buffet and when I say REALLY it means that, after we traveled to Cancun, Cuba, Dominican Rep., Honduras and San Salvador in the pass. But for some reasons the following day's choices of food and the quality just become good. Restaurants a la-cart: Japanese- must go; Mediterranean - good; International/Steak - don't waste your time. There is no entertainment and it is not because stuff doesn't try, but the population of hotel (I guess depends of what kind of group arrived in the certain week). I believe there was some activity in regards of entertainment when hotel become overloaded on weekend with local families and tourists from Central America. Free internet access in the lobby and the restaurant was fast enough for us to Skype with our friends around the world. A little comments about swimming pools: they looks nice, the only problem I found they are useless if you have a child 1 meter high (3 1/2ft) who doesn't swim himself, because two of pools are to deep for him and the rest very shallow and looks like for decoration purpose only or newborns
I did not expect all employees to talk in English, especially when we cannot get the service in English in many hotels in Quebec, Canada, but both quality managers (Jennifer and Felipe) I met were very accommodative and knowledgeable. I was impressed by Felipe's multilingualism (he even greet us on Russian, I don't mention his perfect English, French and some German) and both time when I addressed my concerns to him he resolved those subjects quick and to the total satisfaction. This is what I call customer service. About no greeting me by my last name - I have no problem, because I understand that is a not easy task :)) We will certainly come back, unless we find new destination which fits our family needs as we try to do every year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather
The weak points
nothing to say
Certified

Great week at a very nice resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2012-03-15
My wife and I had a very nice time in March of 2012. The resort had great pools and a beautiful beach. The beach stretched for miles in both directions and was virtually empty. The staff struggle with English but they try very hard to take good care of you. More servers are needed as service is often slow especially at the pool bar. Great place for kids. The weather was always perfect 36 C and sunny. Good golf courses nearby at a reasonable cost. I would definitely recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly and tried hard to serve you. Just not enough of them. Beach and pools were excellent
The weak points
Many of the staff have very weak English skills. Resort was understaffed. It took too long to get service at the pool bar and at the buffet.
Certified

Below expectations

, Surrey, BC
2012-02-23
No atmosphere, Language barrier was very frustrating trying to communicate. Had a "camp" feel to it food was O.K. but expected better crowded with families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Japanese restaurant was good.
The weak points
First of the travel time was not worth it for the final destination. Language, no entertainment, no holiday atmosphere. Food OK but expected better
Certified

Small Resort Big Fun

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-02-09
The Sheraton Bijao was great. The sand was soft, the waves fun and the food delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort with everything you need very close.
The weak points
Restaurant staff couldn't deal with workload when resort less than half full. When it filled up on the weekend, the staff was very overwhelmed.
Certified

Bijao Beach Resort

, Maple, ON
2012-02-01
Very comfortable and pleasant stay. Staff was very friendly and pleasant.
A little more attention to detail will greatly approve the service in the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well maintained, clean facilities. Good amenities such as pools, restuarants, bars, easy access to beach. Good staffing qualities. Top Quaility of Liquor.
The weak points
Needs better variety of evening entertainment. Beach Bar with music, beach activities and better selection of foods in main buffet resturant (eg. theme nights, evening beach BBQ party). Found that managing of liquor supply needs improvement.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Playa Blanca's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Seniors Beaches Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020