Riu Playa Blanca

3.983.983.983.983.98
Riu Playa Blanca
#1 of 5 hotels in Playa Blanca
3.98 based on 273 reviews
Traveller pictures (51)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Mid feburary 2019

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-27
very nice hotel, very clean (always someone cleaning), food was very good, lots of choice, rooms clean and well done, lots of room at pools and beach, very warm and lots of sun.... staff is very nice. will go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean, nice people
The weak points
if you have ocean front rooms, long walk, but view worth it
Certified

Riu does not live up to its name in this hotel

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-13
When I booked a 5star, I expected better from this hotel reasons 1)beach is dark 2) food quality and the same food everyday sucks. 3) everything you do in this hotel you have to pay even to play pool. 4) the stores inside the hotel has nothing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great stay at the Riu

, Melita, MB
2019-02-08
It is hard to find a negative at this resort. Staff is friendly and they are always cleaning and repairing. The 4 separate pools let you choose whether to be with the kids, taking part in the various water activities, being by the swim up bar or just to take a swim. Most rooms offer at least a partial ocean view. If you like your sleep and are not a night owl, best to stay on the side away from the disco. Beach is public but vendors don't harass the guests. Food was very good, we enjoyed the buffet restaurant the most. Overall a great stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Free wifi throughout resort, not just in lobby. Wonderful food and clean, comfortable rooms. Lots of chairs by pools and at beach.
The weak points
No drink service offered. Only one bathroom area out by beach, pool area.
Certified

Don't listen to negative reviews

, Barrie, ON
2019-01-11
this hotel was was fantastic for its price , the rooms are very nice and modern , if there was a problem in the room the service would quickly come and fix it , the maids whet above and beyond everyday. the food was amazing every single day , watermelon was my favourite part and the chicken , check in and check out was very simple and fast , there is always someone cleaning at the pool , lobby , bar, everywhere , the people who worked at the hotel were so friendly , the beaches were nicer then i expected since we are on the pacific side of the ocean. The pool and beach volleyball was so much fun ! shows at night we're very entertaining! loved all of the music that they played during the day ! the steak house is very good and the italian is also very good but the asian a la carte had to be my least favourite. drinks were also very good at the bar , my personal favourites were the tropical pick me up and the dirty monkey ! if you want to get a chair by the pool in the shade , i suggest you go to the pool around 8:30 before breakfast and just put your towel down because they fill up super quick! the resort is very safe. do not ride the horses on the beach because they get abused every single day. they say there are jellyfish and stingrays in the ocean so i would sudjest you don't go to far into the ocean. In conclusion, i will be coming back to the riu playa blanca , it met all of my standards. my goal was to realax on vacation and that is what i exactly did ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food bar pools rooms service wifi beach
The weak points
no weak points all amazing

Has improved since i last visited

, Scarborough, ON
2018-02-13
I last visited this hotel in october and since i have seen a lot of improvement. My favorite part of this resort is that smoking is not permitted anywhere in the property besides the beach! Thanks Riu for that! i cant stand sitting by the pool and inhaling someone else second hand smoke.
The food was good, specially at the steakhouse, buffet was a lot better since i went in october. This time in feb they cater more to the north american clientele and it shows in the food and services.
Entertainment was awesome, the dancers were great and i even got to participate in one of their gameshows.
The drinks are plentiful, margaritas by the theater were delicious!
My room was spacious and i had a courtyard view with partial ocean view and luckily i had a big palm tree right in front so it felt very private. My room did have a coffee machine so i am not sure what people are talking about on here. Im not a coffee drinker so it didnt make a difference.
4 pools to choose from, so if you dont like noise stay away from the kids pool or activities pool. We hung out by the wet bar and had a fab time everyday! plenty beach and pool chairs but keep in mind this is a large resort so get up early and secure your spot.
Wifi is free mostly everwhere, except your room. i was even ale to get some wifi by the beach and do a live on instagram so the speed was decent.
Overall amazing experience, and i will DEF return.Thanks Riu Playa Blanca! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beachfront property. Very close to the airport. Modern style. Spacious rooms
The weak points
Staff could use a little English lesson but they try really hard.

Lovely resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-11
The hotel had all the amenities, staff were helpful and easy to connect with. The rooms were spacious, the hotel practices savings where possible ie AC turns off when patio door open, reuse towels, glassware for drinks. It was a little plain in decorating, all white walls gave a stark feel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, and drinks. Four great pools, children's area was fantastic. Lots of shaded options. Located right on the beach, lots of beach chairs, and when the palm trees grow in, will be very shaded as it was hot, hot, hot.
The weak points
If you are looking for crystal clean water in the ocean, February was not the month to visit, red flag days due to surf. The water was warm but constantly churning, hip deep you could not see your feet.
Certified

Great vacation overall

, Montréal, QC
2018-02-04
Overall, we would consider this hotel as very good. Being a new hotel helps for the quality of the structure, accommodation and other facilities. The proximity, length and cleanliness of the beach make it more appealing then any other resort. Good food, quick and good service from staff. Not perfect....but close enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality of the food, staff service, beach and site cleanliness
The weak points
Restaurents (including cafeteria) are extremely noisy due to the way the rooms are designed: high sealing and no noise absorption. Pools not big enough for hotel capacity. Only one bar at a pool. No snack bar for quick appetizers.
Certified

Not a 5 Star

, Barrie, ON
2018-01-22
Overall, the experience was good. When we arrived, they were very organized and check in was very efficient. Staff are friendly here. The décor is very nice and modern however it can feel cold in comparison to other traditional style Caribbean places we visited. The first thing that annoyed me was there was no coffee maker in the room. I found out the next morning that I had to go to the basement level to the buffet or sports bar to get some. I was on the 6th floor so that meant I had to get dressed up to do this.

As a smoker, you cannot smoke anywhere on the property, except for the beach. This is tough but some smoked on their balconies anyway....

The food was very good and lots of choice. The drinks were good. I stayed before at the Riu Palace before and they had coffee machines, room service as well. There is no room service here.
As well, there were 3 restaurants instead of 6 but it was fine. The steakhouse is the best, great sirloin steak.

Lets talk about plumbing. Water pressure was poor, one morning we had no water in the room. It seemed to be a resort issue. Then a couple of days the water was not working where you rinsed the beach sand off to go to the pool. This is not so pleasant but I survived.

They served bottled wine at the a la carte restaurants and if you wanted wine for breakfast and lunch it was available in the keg! I tried it but not great but if you are going to drink all day then I don't think it really matters.

The resort was very crowded, lots of families with kids. All the chairs where taken up with the peach towels and no one around sitting on them.

I found it too noisy everywhere I went.

My room was fine, everthing was clean, maid service was consistent early after breakfast and cleaned up before lunch.

The Theatre shows were ok, they have a disco open from 11pm to 3pm which we went to a couple of times however found the music was geared towards the younger generation. DJ said he did not even have Bob Marley to play.....what!!!!!???????

The big benefit is the heat. Its hot so you won't have to wear pants or even a sweater at night. The sand is very hot to walk on so where flip flops all the time. The beach was ok, could not figure out when the tide was low or high.

I don't think i would come back to this resort, you cannot change the layout, looking at others across the balconies. I want some privacy so villa style would suit me better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather Décor Food cleanliness
The weak points
lack of water lack of coffee machine not enough space at the pool
Certified

Good but could Improve

, Scarborough, ON
2017-11-28
Hello everybody! I just came back from the Riu Playa Blanca, where i stayed 3 days to check out the amenities and i can honestly tell you i was happy with what i saw and could recommend it if you are looking for a relaxed stay. Now if you are the kind of person who will always look for something to complain, then you might as well stay home and never leave!
What else can you ask for? transfer for Rio Hato Airport ( make sure this is where you are flying to) 10 mins, beachfront property, bright and clean rooms with working AC, 4 pools, free drinks and food, I mean!
I have traveled extensively, in fact i am a travel agent and came to this hotel for the first time, and not my last for sure.
The hotel has 3 elevators that worked everyday, its a 6 story building with a U shape you can get a courtyard room and have a guaranteed partial ocean view. Mine was incredible! If you get a garden view you might have a noisy room as some of them are very close to the Air Condition units so be mindful.
The hotel has 4 pools, 1 for kids with a few water slides and games for them, it is always supervised but as a responsible parent you should NOT leave your kids unattended. The is also a small kiddy pool by the kids club which i found pretty neat. There is a main pool right across from the water slides, this is where they play water polo and run most of the activities. The other pool is supposed to be an adults only pool as it has a wet bar but unfortunately i saw LOTS of kids there, this should be corrected by the staff. And right in front of that there is a quite pool.
The property is beachfront and my favorite part is that they planted a good amount of small palm trees in front of it so you can put a chair under them and relax all day if thats what you want. If you have never been to a beach in the Pacific ocean you might be disappointed by the sand and color of the water. Please do some research and understand this is a completely different ocean all together and the sand tends to be a little bit darker but it is STILL a great strecht of beach if you like long walks or runs by the beach like i do. I went for a good 1hr run everyday.
The mini bar is included and so is the alcohol in the dispenser. I made sure i had water and beer everyday :) being nice to the house keeping staff goes a long way
The food was average unfortunately, I did go during low season so i think they were catering more to the local clientele. The sushi was a big disappointment for me, i am a sushi lover and was very excited to see the Asian restaurant, but it let me down. The buffet has lots of options for everybody but be mindful if you have any allergies as they dont really describe the dishes and its ingredients very well.
I was very surprised that the hotel is so modern and grand but it is so quite at the same time. There was no music at the lobby and i found the hotel to be a little too slow I also got the same comment from many guests who were staying there. Management should try to make the most out of their common areas. For example the bar right off reception passing the elevators and overlooking the beach is such a great spot for socializing but it was always quite and empty. I would definitely look into hiring a local band or a piano player to do some sing alongs at least. It would be a huge improvement.
The gardens were well kept and i did see people cleaning everyday. My room was tidy and i had plenty towels for everyone, including pool towels. If your biggest complain is that the hotel did not provide face towels then you should probably NEVER leave home.
The theater is beautiful. I really enjoyed the shows and musical reviews. Not to mention the margaritas yumm! The entertainment was mostly in Spanish, probably 90%, i would make an effort to use more english as it is an international hotel and there were lots of Canadians staying there.

Overall a good vacation. But not my favorite. Cant wait to go back in Feb during high season to see if there are any improvements [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, 5 mins from airport Beach has lots of palm trees big and bright rooms very clean and nice grounds there is a big grocery store within a 15 min walk
The weak points
hotel needs more music and animation drinks were weak. ask for double shots asian restaurant was disappointing, no real sushi

Quality of resorts

, Markham, ON
2017-08-26
Staff very present and rooms very clean but management if have any issue they never take care what ever the complains and each staff not communicating every I had a issue when we was sleep in the room one day about 5 am the person numbing in my room by back door oppen my eyes looking my phone I can't find I saw a person in my room then I made sound he jumped and exit luckily he did not get anything he took my phone from bed when I made sound he put away my phone, ride away I call front desk they will send security after 10 minutes got call we found the person he downstairs come make complain send him to police same person went some ofnebours room that day then they tall me management come talk us never and I ask evening the front desk about the complain they say they don't that happen. And foods are not neetly Poole bar is closed at before 6pm if we are in the Poole they kicked out Totaly thes resord is qualify only 4 **** [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

July 2017

, Brampton, ON
2017-07-31
The hotel was well kept and the staff was very professional. They should just have more English speaking staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Food was good.
The weak points
Not enough English speaking staff. Hard to understand each other if you do not speak Spanish.
Certified

Ottawa traveller

, Embrun, ON
2017-04-30
First off, it's not a typical 5 star resort. We were very disappointed of this RIU, being a frequent RIU customer, the food was just OK, the nightly entertainment was a 3 star at most, the rooms and the resort was very clean and customer service was excellent. The beach was dangerous, not because of the water, we knew from previous visits the beach condition. The reason it is very dangerous is the wild dogs who bit 2 travellers on the leg and no security on the beach. Also what we were very disappointed is the smoking around the swimming pool. The signs are posted everywhere, but the security does not enforce it. You cannot even take a walk on the road because of the wild dogs that are all around the property.
Those are the reasons why we would not go back and not recommend it to any of our friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Security on the premises and the beach.
Certified

Panama Hotel Playa Blanca

, Val Therese, ON
2017-04-09
Overall, a great place to visit for a relaxing vacation. The staff are very friendly, however location is very out of the way and not close to any amenities at all. Panama City is 2hrs of congested traffic away, the airport is small and has nothing available except vending machines for snacks while you wait for your flight. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff, moderate food, nice beach, hot and sunny
The weak points
No bartenders on the beach compared to other 3 star resorts in Mexico etc., ran out of clamato juice for 3 days, had no mango juice for drinks, no bath towels in room one day after cleaning and took 2hrs and 4 calls to get bath towels, entertainment lacks
Certified

Food delicious,

, Saint-Zotique, QC
2017-03-26
Loved the hotel, buffet had lots of choices (delicious desserts,cheeses), staff were quick to give service, room was very big with courtyard and ocean view, perfect weather only 10 min from airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the buffet was delicious, lots of choices to choice from, tasty desserts. Problems/repairs were quick to solve (ie: tv and safe box): reception was quick to respond to repair item and also followed up to verify situation.
The weak points
Nightly entertainment was good except only started at 9h30 which was late for us after spending whole date in sun
Certified

Riu Playa Blanca - Panama

, Portuguese Cove, NS
2017-02-28
We arrived in early February which is the summer, the hot and dry season. Travelers looking for sun, heat (very), and dry weather should plan visiting Panama between January and May otherwise you get into the rainy season.
The Riu is a lovely new hotel (2 years old ) with a lot of potential, however there are several shortcomings.
1 - Unless you have transportation, there is nothing to see or do once you step out of the hotel on foot.
2 - In spite of the so called 5 star rating the hotel's restaurants and bars are more on par with a 3.5 star facility. The rooms are bright and spacious but how much time can you spend in your room when you have 2 weeks to relax and explore?
3 - The pools are basic rectangles and unfortunately were not as clean as those at other Riu and Riu Palace hotels.
Sitting and lounging spots are limited at the pools, especially if you are looking for shade. This was a definite sore point for my friends as they don't swim in the ocean and burn easily.
4 - There was no shortage of chairs on the beach, however the property being only a couple of years old meant that many of the palm trees are small and can only offer limited protection. This is not a problem as long as you are willing to move the chairs around other trees or change spots.
* This is a black sand beach so it gets very hot by mid morning, so sandals are a must. Seriously!
5 - The resort is on the Pacific Ocean therefore expect rough water, if you are not a strong swimmer better pay attention to the flags, stay close to the shore, and be prepared to have a load of sand stuck inside your suit...
The flags went from red - danger - to yellow - caution - and were never green during our 2 weeks. As far as I could tell the biggest dangers to swimmers came from a very strong draw from wave action, sting rays, jelly fish and other fish I could not identify. Because of the strong currents / tides visibility in the water is limited, not suitable for the occasional snorkeler, and entry points to the sea tend to be rocky. I did not mind the beach and the sea conditions too much but my friends were very disappointed.
6 - As noted earlier it was very hot, high 20's to low 30's, however there were very pleasant trade winds blowing on the beach. The only rain we experienced was more like a 10 second mist than rain, it was very welcome.
7 - If you love good food and good wine this is not the resort for you. In the 2 weeks we were there I did not have 1 hot meal at any of the restaurants, including the a-la-carte one. Most food is prepared in bulk and placed under heat lamps until it shrivels up to an unrecognizable clump. The quality of the meat was inconsistent. The fish was fresh if you had it before it dried up under the lamps, but there was no creativity in the preparation, at any of the restaurants. There was a good variety of salad ingredients, fruits and desserts if you are content eating the same things every day or so.
8 - Bars & Drinks: According to my friends the beer was good, the drinks were watered down unless you asked for double shots, selection or bartender's knowledge of mixology was limited, and the wine was bad. They actually went to the nearest town by taxi to purchase a few bottles of wine, and other liquor, for dinner.
**Positives:
1 - The front desk staff were excellent and very efficient, regardless of your question or concern. We had an issue with the water pressure in the room and a "mechanic" was sent up within 5 minutes of the call and everything was fixed within short order.
2 - The rooms are big, bright, sound proof (quiet) and clean. We had a corner room, ocean front, with a wrap around balcony, a view of 2 pools and all the activity below us. Once you closed the doors there were no outside noises to disturb us.
3 - The grounds are well maintained and there were no biting or stinging insects during our stay.
4 - The entertainment staff (pool, dance, and other personnel) were very friendly and attentive to the guests...
In fact all of the staff tried to be as attentive and friendly as possible but you can easily tell that they are not as used to interacting with foreigners, as staff in more popular vacation destinations. With a little bit of coaching and ESL courses they could quickly match or surpass other Riu staff in the Caribbean resorts.
5 - The hotel boutique and grocery store stock a fair amount of basic goods at very reasonable prices. When compared to other stores in different towns we explored there was no price gouging at either of the 2 establishments, however you must remember that all prices are in US dollars, and that many of our go to fast / snack foods are imported.

I am not sure if the food situation is a result of lack of personnel or something else but from the look of the grills and other equipment I don't think it would take much for the Owners to improve this sad situation.

Would we go back? Probably not, at least not within the next 5 to 10 years. Especially not if the area around the hotel does not grow and offer visitors things to do and see outside of the Hotel grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Has potential
The weak points
So many things can be improved if they invest in staff mentorship and coaching with other Riu locations.
Certified

A Must Visit!

, Selkirk, ON
2017-01-19
Our check in was fast and easy. The staff was amazing. The resort was clean. The food was good. There was a wide selection of food choices. The beach was well maintained and there was no problem finding a chair. The pools were popular. We had a great time and enjoyed all the amenities of the resort. We will definitely consider the Riu Playa Blanca for a return trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly, always working and busy but always happy to help you out, recognized their guests.
The weak points
The evening entertainment was enjoyable but there were too many audience participation shows too close together.
Certified

It's not a 5 stars hotel

, Quebec, QC
2017-01-14
The beach and the pools weren't clean. The ocean was full of jellyfish. and the employees didn't clean the pools daily. On the other hand, the rooms are big and clean and the food is ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and internet acces
The weak points
the beach, the pools (they were not clean) and the coffee. And, it was very difficult to get acces to the restaurants to have dinner. They open only for 2 hours or 2 hours and a half.
Certified

Rui Playa Blanca 2016

, Montreal, QC
2016-11-01
Overall great!! It was there rain season so the ocean wasn't very clean but the entertainment staff was so wonderful they were doing so many fun activities [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food : the best we had so far we travel twice a year, the staff very polite
The weak points
The ocean you can't compare to carabbean and the Wi-Fi extra charges if you use in your room
Certified

Alberta views

, La Crete, AB
2016-04-10
Overall, we liked the hotel and staff at this location. They need a few more staff to keep the children out of the adults pool. They would also benefit from having more bathrooms closer to the pool area, right now they only have the snack bar bathroom unless you go to the lobby area or your room. This resort does not have a private beach, horses and vendors from the locals are allowed- the vendors are not pushy at all.
Wi-fi in the lobby is quite slow at times. This would most likely be a more travelled to resort if the Albertans had access to fly from Edmonton or Calgary instead of going through Toronto only. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome food, temperature varies only slightly from night to day. Kids pool and activities that should keep them out of the adults pool
The weak points
Language barrier- very limited English amongst the employees, They need more accessible bathrooms around the pool. Too many kids and babies in the adult swim-up pool.
Certified

Panama

, Bancroft, ON
2016-03-13
The hotel was beautiful, beds comfortable and the food was fabulous. The only complaint we had is the hotel needs more shaded areas. We would of loved to sit by the ocean but the umbrellas was not enough protection. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff fabulous.
The weak points
I could connect to the free internet.
Certified

Family Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2016-02-25
I went to Riu Playa Blanca during February 2016 with my family. Overall, we had a great vacation but there were some highlights:

Pros:

- beautiful resort, others had complained about tiles falling off and paint peeling. Yes this is true, but overall I loved the modern design of the resort and it was extremely clean. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed.

- Golf was great- two courses within a 10 minute drive of the resort

- pools were clean, lots of chairs for everyone with awnings for shade (have to be up early to reserve these)

- Food was fantastic at the buffet. I would not recommend the a la carte restaurants- the buffet was better.

- Check in and out was fast and quick

- air port was close by (no shops in the airport so be sure to bring snacks with you)

- staff were wonderful and friendly

Cons:

- could not swim at the beach due to stingrays and jellyfish. It was red flagged every day. Really missed being able to swim in the ocean

- panama is HOT. I know you're thinking of course it's hot. But iI mean 40 degrees C every single day. Be prepared for this heat (the rooms are A/C) and bring LOTS of sunscreen

- elevators were incredibly hot, no ventilation, one was always broken. You could actually see sweat from people who had leaned against the metal walls.

Overall, we had a great vacation. Reviews on TripAdvisor were accurate, but none of the little complaints ruined our vacation. I don't think I'll be going back to this Riu just because I missed being able to swim in the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Perfection in Panama!

, Brampton, ON
2016-02-24
As always the RIU Playa Blanca lived up to my RIU standards. It was fresh, fun and fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing and fun atmosphere, with excellent golf nearby.
The weak points
Buffet was great, but loud at times.
Certified

Great week

, St. Cathariens, ON
2016-02-22
People don't listen to the negative reviews. There is no language problem and besides you are in there country. The food was great the beer was great the pools were nice and the beach is beautiful. Go here and and sit back and relax. Don't sit around and nit pick about the little and petty things [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Panama riu playa blanca

, Delhi, ON
2016-02-17
overall not bad for being new need to make sure all staff re doing their best to accommodate very weak communication on activities, shows are weak at best and along the same line every nite would i return i would have to say yes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean rooms,decent food,lots of variety. beautiful pools,clean lobby. helpful staff most of their english good, no vendors allowed to bother you
The weak points
lack of communication in regards to activities on premises. some cleaning staff put a lot more effort into their job than others. example some people on valentines day got flower petals on bed and big hearts made of towels etc we had to ask for towels
Certified

Two Weeks of Fantastic Weather

, Toronto, ON
2016-01-27
We were there for 2 weeks in Jan 2016. It was great to be only a 10 minute drive from the small airport.
We were given a room that overlooked a field and the Playa Blanca resort next door. Unlike some resorts we have visited in the Caribbean, our room at the Riu Playa Blanca had great water pressure and non stop hot water for showering. Rather than rehash what has already been written in previous reviews, I won't go into further detail. The prevailing question is-"would you return to this resort"? The answer is yes, just set your expectations realistically.
Please feel free to ask questions. I have posted a a video on You Tube here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5sQgO0Dczc [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, lots of hot water and water pressure in the shower.Great food selection.
The weak points
Isolated. Virtually nothing to see without driving.
Certified

Playa Blanca Riu

, Brantford, ON
2016-01-18
Resort was very clean, ocean was redflagged daily due to jelly fish and stingrays. Would recommend that pool with swim up bar should be adults only since there is a kid pool and 2 other pools that can be used. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Service was very slow at buffet
Certified

Rui Playa Blanca

, Brampton, ON
2015-12-20
We definitely prefer other Riu Hotels over this one. There was too much of a language barrier for English speaking Canadians. The majority of the guests were French/Spanish speaking.

We found the staff to be cold and distant with the exception of the bar area.

The night shows were repetitive, and they didn't involve the guests enough in stage antics/games or dancing competitions as they do in other Riu's in the Carribean. Same with around the pool area. There was not much enterainment involving the guests particpating in water games/dancing etc.

The breakfasts were not too great especially the eggs.

The hotel location was too far from any shopping areas.

The beaches were nice but the water was rocky and full of stingrays. The Riu should have warned people about this as two people on our flight were stung and needed a needle immediately. The hotel took cash only not travellers extened health insurance to cover the needle.

The poor horses on the beach waiting to ridden by the guests appeared to be in an insufferable conditions. They also defecated along the beach shore near the hotel which was unsanitary .

On the plus side, the hotel did have a family oriented pool for children. It had water slides and other amenities designed for kids.

The lunches and dinners were good with lots of variety.

The bar tenders were generous with the alcohol and they spoke English clearly.


Overall, this Rui needs to improvise in a lot of areas covered above. We realize the hotel is fairly new and the guests honesty is the best policy for a successful future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The lunches and dinners were good. The Italian and Japanese specialtiy restaurants were much better than other Rui's we stayed in. There is a great pool for children with waterslides & other amenities. The bartenders were generous with the alcohol.
The weak points
The Bar Pool was too far from washrooms and people never moved, therefore urinating in the pool. Also,the staff was not too friendly to the English speaking. There was a language barrier and felt like a 3rd class citizen. The beach shore was too rocky.
Certified

Nice Hotel but not the beach

, Pointe Claire, QC
2015-11-16
We had a nice view Ocean front
but the beach is not as we expected
due to the horses always around with
bad smell [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern new construction
The weak points
Spanish speaking is everywhere we can not communicate with people make our trip less fun Horses park right in front of our passage to beach make the place smell like a farm I can not smell the ocean
Certified

Mixed

, Mississauga, ON
2015-01-10
The building itself is impressive, almost every room has a ocean view, well air conditioned, although at first there was a strong mildew odor in the room and even in the towels. The mildewy musty smell is coming from the bathroom as the door to the bathtub does not close tight and there are also issues with water drainage from the bathtub. Regarding the food experience, unfortunately it was well below what we would expect to find in a RIU hotel. No fresh pressed juice, no fancy egg preparation like eggs benedict, no smoked salmon at any time, the soups have no particular flavor, resemble pureed vegetables from prior days, repetitive deserts, anything better disappeared within seconds. Basic foods, such as milk, lemon, lettuce missing from time to time, staff not overseeing the buffet on a regular basis. Drinks were made from some ugly concentrates, only the Mojito and pure liquor or alcohol (except for the house red wine) were drinkable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point is proximity to the new airport, beautiful weather and a beautiful new building.
The weak points
Meals were well below expectations, drinks made of some ugly concentrates.
Certified

My vacation!

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-10-20
It was alright, not too many activities, quite location, rough pacific ocean, good for the price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport, good for the price, not bad food, 24 hr bar :) !
The weak points
Lack of bathrooms, repetitive meals daily, not a good understanding of english, no bathtub in room only shower, seems hotel has been rushed in to production, minor flaws around the room such as shower falling off, or door knob screws falling out, tons of
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Playa Blanca's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Seniors Beaches Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?