Palma Real Caribe Hotel And Villas

3.533.533.533.533.53
Palma Real Caribe Hotel And Villas
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (20)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

It is a 3 star hotel.

, Innisfil, ON
2014-12-31
The hotel is clean. Finishing in rooms are not done by professionals, that way the paint is all over the door trims, mirrors etc. Furniture in the room was all scratched, but of course that has a lot to do with the visitors! The TV in the room is very small, almost you cannot see anything on it, it is probably a 20in, and it should be at least a 40in for the size of that room! Management skills are very poor; The staff is not train properly, cleaning the tables in the restaurant, plus we were waiting for long periods of time for the waiters to be served! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was very nice.
The weak points
The food was repeating every day and the drinks were very bad without international drinks! Another observation is that, the way the buffet was set up, were creating line up for 1/2h to get to the food! And for Christmas was nothing special done!
Certified

GOOD, BAD, UGLY

, Brockville, ON
2014-01-15
Great how they do check in at the airport so you can go straight to your room.Most workers are very good, work hard all day ,cleaners especially. Lobby girl a little excessive though , floor not even dry and she would wet it again.?? It was like a skating rink , really quite dangerous .
Trips -all fixed they take you on tour of the town stop at big mall and one shop $$,all too much $$$ take a cab and make them stop where you want ,there are flea markets along roadside with great stuff and way better deals.Snorkel trip ,arrange at 8am on beach with boat guy and meet on beach just off resort for same trip at half price .
Rooms are dated but comfy enough,but who cares ,its only to sleep and beds are ok ,quite comfy.Issues with hot water at times (NONE)and lots power outages .
Bad pillows ,they gave us newer ones but they where no better really.
Had first two days of rain ,think that's where sickness started , bad flood (DID NOT STOP FOR 24 HRS STRAIGHT) during which time the lobby and the first floor halls where swimming with a 3-4 inches of water ,it was in the lower rooms ,smelled like sewage and guessing that's why so many of us got sick walking though it ??? There was just no getting around it , can you imagine waking up in the night to go pee and splashing your way to the bathroom ,serious drainage issues here!!.
During the rains people sat in the lobby or in their rooms if second floor ,disappointed they made no effort to bring a bar area to the lobby,only one bar and it is past the pool , you had to get soaked plus the wind was like a monsoon to get a drink for the first two days ,NO effort made to accommodate people in a dry area.The drinks are bad , they give you two shots of cheap liquor and some tang ,swear they had no real juice all week.BAD DRINKS ,THEY HAVE NO IDEA AT ALL .THey charge for premium liquor like 3-4 $ A SHOT ,DID I SAY CHEAP!! They must have saved a bundle that week between us not drinking because we did not want to walk through a monsoon and not eating while sick and afraid to rest of the week ,I am telling you only a handful of people actually eating ,dining area rarely busy all.
ACTIVATION PEOPLE .Did not see them first two days.they seem more interested in taking pictures of themselves all week long ,messing with their hair and on cell phones ??
On weekend especially Saturday it is invaded by locals ,its like a holiday camp,they leave litter everywhere,fill their bags with all the food they can carry and they are catered to!!!!? with piñatas(where was our piñatas party),we were evicted from the dining area to the beach gazebo to eat lunch in the wind,our upgrade for the day was a serviette around the cup of the first drink we received.!!.
About 120 Canadians at the resort,all but three that I know of where not sick ,there was one poor girl who was on iv most of the week .It became so bad that they ended up paying for the DR to see people and we went to his clinic on the resort for needles if we where still sick and pills to make sure we did not have a relapse. Giving them credit ,the first people paid for their needles ,as the week wore on the resort paid for the DR to stay all day and dispense meds and needles .It was ecoli,all locals have it but we are NOT immune to it like they are and dropped like flies all week long,you don't feel like eating for days after ,most of us lived on bananas for the rest of the week.
The food -there was not a great selection at all ,got bacon on Saturday when most people where too sick to eat it like me and on our last day ,my husband was most disappointed about this.The ala carte > Japanese was ok the Italian was disgusting as were a lot of pasta dishes,it was like they threw the whole salt shaker in it ,the Hondurans put hot sauce on everything ,I am thinking they all have no tastebuds left,it truly was a waste of food . Canadians complained of it all week long but it did not change .All the pastas where inedible because of the extreme salt content ,that's all you could taste.!!!YUCK. The tractor driver who takes you from the resort to the Ala carte nearly drove off the bridge one night ,we had to scream at him to stop and let us off as he took out 65 feet of fence on a bridge with the side of wagon he was pulling us in. JUST NUTS!!!! and when we told the manager ,he was a little confused a first as apparently it was not the first time !!!Safety is a week point!.
Hullio in the caferteria big guy in a pale blue shirt about 65 years ,think he is the superisor of the area. Usually eating while standing !!!Atrocious behaviour in that he threw boiling water at a poor beach dog ,it was yelping and running round in circles ,people where outraged ,crying ,he is lucky the same did not happen to him !!!.Manager told ,but have a feeling by looking at one of the dogs that he had done this many times before . One dog looked a little mangy like ,but upon closer look the skin was pink but and the dark thick patches where old scar tissue I think from being burned before?? . Makes me sick to my stomach thinking about it . There was only a couple quiet dogs that might pass through a few times a day did not hurt or bother anyone ,whats a resort whithout a few beach dogs !!,BUt I have never seem nor hope to hear of this intolerable cruelty again and HUllio would not have a job already !!!
This resort could be quite good, but think the resort is too low in spots and water is going to be an issue always ,I would not take kids here , could not imagine poor people that had sick kids in stages of illness and recovery all week ,what a nightmare .Spoke with people that went to the Tela RESORT THEY HAD NO WATER ISSUES ,NO SICKNESS ,BUT FOOD CHOICE WAS EVEN LESS THAN OURS ,BUT OK TASTE WISE . SO, THATS THE GOOD ,BAD AND UGLY THAT I HAVE TO SAY ,MAKE YOUR OWN MIND UP ,HAVE A SAFE AND HAPPY TRIP . WOULD I GO BACK ,AH NO! .That being said spend a little extra and try ROATAN folks ,its Honduras also ,but is paradise in comparison and you don't need an excursion to see nice sand beach and coral reefs/fish . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hard working cleaners.Met some great new friends Hi to - Sy ,Sue and family
The weak points
food.Drinks.Water issues
Certified

Fantastic getaway

, St Lazare, QC
2011-03-12
Our week in Honduras was better than we could have imagined. This hotel is isolated from any others with some "20 MILES" of empty beach,lots of excursions (extra fee, but worth it) taking only a long half-day lets you have an afternoon siesta to relax by one of the many pools or on the beach.
Because it is very hot here.
Check out the villas and their pools but there are no bars there, also the pool at their old hotel where the Specialty restaurants are, they are only open 3 days of the week so don't miss out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and excellent excursions. On the beach with mountains right behind, a natural surrounding, lots of birds singing at sunrise and sunset. You can hear the howler monkeys in the distance. Sea water is warm.
The weak points
mosquitoes and sand flees, its like our summers here, they do try to smoke them out in the evenings and mornings. Only one bar so you may have a long walk for your drinks bring an isolated cup. Beach water is cloudy at shore.
Certified

Great place-friendly-hospitable-good food

, Pierrefonds, QC
2011-01-22
we had a great place at the hotel
great place-friendly-hospitable-good food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not crowded-we could take long walks.wildderness feel-friendly people
The weak points
none
Certified

Very enjoyable stay at the Palma Real

, Laval, QC
2010-02-17
We have very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Palma Real. We had reservations for a villa but did not know it would be so beautiful and spacious. The outside of the villa was filled with beautiful exotic bushes and flowers. We had all commodities inside (everything you can think of, from can openers to umbrellas, beach chairs etc). We had room service every day, including washing dishes (although we never had more than a few glasses in the sink since this was an all-inclusive hotel). The staff was very nice and friendly, and the food very good. All the hotel areas were clean and well maintained. There was not much variety at the bar, but that s OK. What we had was very good. The beach was clean, although the water is not very clear due to waves causing the sand to get mixed with the water. We enjoyed very long and pleasant walks on the beach on both sides of the hotel. We don t really have any negative comments about the hotel. We really got our money s worth! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quiet. No crowded beach or need to reserve chairs at any time. Beautiful villas and vegetation. Located near all great sites to visit (e.g. Canope Tour, downtown La Ceiba, departure for Cayos Cochinos, etc)
The weak points
Not ideal for swimming because the color of the water is not very appealing. But it s not because the water is not clean.
Certified

Very Good

, Nobleford, AB
2009-07-20
We enjoyed the meals, weather and location of the resort. Felt confined to the resort after a robbery (by knife)occured on the beach 5 minutes from the resort.We enjoyed the hammocks on the beach and the water park was awesome! Trip by boat to Cayos Cachinos was very worth while. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room location, beach and grounds were excellent. The wind was great and exceeded our expectations as we came for the kitesurfing. Loved the snacks!
The weak points
The nightly entertainment was poor. Food selection was poor if you weren't there right when they started serving the meal. Four days of no lights or power in our bathroom, they never did fix it while we were there. Faulty lock on glass door,felt insecur
Certified

Excellent vacation!

, Lindsay, ON
2009-06-19
Lovely location, very nice hotel, fun and friendly staff. Shows are fun and typical of the area. Great welcome drink, but a bit of a wait to get room assignments. No clothes Rack or closet in room to hang clothes and dive gear. Nice large room. Leak in bathroom. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place on a budget for the family. Not convenient for diving. Lovely pools and friendly staff.
The weak points
I got sick- forgot to take Ducoral before going. Won't do that again. Maintenance in rooms poor but very clean and spacious.
Certified

Not a 4 star hotel

, London, ON
2009-06-19
There was an outbreak of Rotovirus while we were there and 90% of people were ill. Conquest said the health department found it a local illness and we got a voucher for $300. but conquest is gone.Would hestiate to go again. Give them time to bring up the standards. not a 4 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean front.
The weak points
Italian restaurant. food not hot. taste just Ok. Afraid to try the other specialty as everyone was getting sick from something.Smelly stream crossing beach and entering ocean
Certified

So so

, Coldstream, BC
2009-06-18
It was 5/10-I've stayed in WAY better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Run down/old
Certified

La Ceiba Palma Real Hotel

, London, ON
2009-06-18
We enjoyed the resort, but you need to go with an open mind. We had no concerns or problems at the hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed at the main part of the resort, which I would recommend. The other part (I think it's called caribe) is off the beaten path, the rooms are small and not as well kept as the main section. Main section has balconies overlooking the ocean which is real nice. We would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, rooms with balconies, beach, quiet atmosphere, lots to do (excursions)
The weak points
caribe section
Certified

Perfect Weather, Lovely Beach

, Burlington, ON
2009-06-17
Although there was quite a walk from one part of the resort to another, that is actually a good thing at an all inclusive. The pools were not crowded in either section, the beach was fabulous, and the staff quite friendly. My husband and I had a relaxing time and really enjoyed ourselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, climate (in January)
The weak points
security guards with their guns but that being said, those same guards would say Hola quite readily.
Certified

Honduras

, Calgary, AB
2009-06-17
The buffet was very good, as were the restaurants. The pools were also good. The beach was terrific. Our room was nice, but the bathroom was a little below par. The staff were very nice. Tourism is new, so the staff were a little quiet. We would certainly go back. All the day trips were excellent, and priced incredible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ecotourism is incredible, with the best prices we have ever seen!
The weak points
From one end of the property to the other is about a kilometer. You can take the tractor, but quicker to walk.
Certified

New place to travel.

, Carstairs, AB
2009-06-17
This is our first time to Honduras and we thought it was great. It rained the first 2/3 days but after that it was nice, Rotan Island was beautiful!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, it was nice that there was food/ services down by the villas
The weak points
We were in the villas and the rooms were super loud, no sound barrier from room to room
Certified

My holiday at La Ceiba

, Airdrie, AB
2009-06-17
Needs alot of work!!!
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation spot

, Montreal, QC
2009-06-15
I had read about the hotel and the destination itself, before the trip, so I had very poor expectations from what ppl had commented. However, I'm very easy going and less fussy than most, so I decided to go anyway, since the pricing was so great. As soon as my girlfriend and I got there, we were very impressed by the gorgeous scenery of Pico Bonito, with its mighty cloudy covered peaks towering over us. The hotel was quite nice and right away gave me a very comfortable feeling. Honduras is new to the tourist all inclusive experience, so while you may not find the bustling beaches of Cancun here, you will certainly find great piece and quiet, and no pesky locals trying to sell u every trinket imaginable. On the contrary, the locals are very jovial, outgoing, and a lot of fun in general. The reputation Honduras has for its dangerous streets and back alleys is completely unfounded and we felt very safe simply walking through La Ceiba by ourselves, exploring the city, talking to ppl, and using public transportation, like everyone else. We ended up at this very spectacular butterfly museum in La Ceiba, and though we were expecting very little, we were blown away by the huge diversity of bugs on display, from colorful crawler, to giant moths, to breathtaking butterflies.
Just beware of what you eat/drink on the street, since there is the possibility of getting sick, but that's the case with any South American country, and one should always beware.
The beach at the hotel isn't the best, or I should say the ocean isn't, due to constant waves, making the the surf pretty murky. However, taking a quick guided tour to Cayo Cochinos, you can do some great snorkeling/diving and have a super tasty meal of fried fish, rice, and platines.
There is a nice little fresh stream right next to the resort, flowing from the mountain and into the sea. You can follow it up for a while for some truly spectacular scenery, as well as some great privacy.
I could go on and on, but a great part of discovering new places is not hearing too much about the details before going there, so by all means, don't be frightened by the silly rumors of kidnappers or thieves on the beach, the inevitability of food poisoning, or any of the bad buzz going around. Honduras is a gorgeous country to discover and you will not regret doing so. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location at the foot of the gorgeous Pico Bonito, with a very nice hotel, great staff, and lots of things to do that will make sure you're not bored on your holiday.
The weak points
The beach wasn't the best, but it was still quite acceptable and the constantly bigger waves make for some nice body surfing. The food was mediocre, and the selection wasn't very extensive, but it was good enough overall and we still ate very well every d
Certified

La Ceiba

, Douro, ON
2009-06-12
An inexpensive , clean , neat hotel with good service and friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Got our monies worth

, Glen Burnie, ON
2009-06-12
The airport need to be larger & more streamlined. The last 15-20 people were on the tarmac in 36C temp. for about half hour, once thru there another hour in the parking lot waiting to get your hotel keys and packages before the hour bus ride to the resort. Check in was painless & lobby is quite beautiful. We took the shuttle to our room in the older [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quality of food, rooms
The weak points
variety of food, green pool, brown water for ocean, airport
Certified

Great destination

, Schomberg, ON
2009-06-12
The Palma Real Hotel in La Ceiba, Honduras far expected our needs. The hotel, ammenities, eco-adventure destinations (fabulous), and staff were all amazing. The food was decent, but, not spectacular. However, our family found many items we thoroughly enjoyed. The bars were well stocked & the bartenders very accomodating. The views are beautiful, the beach lovely & the pools superb. We would absolutely visit this hotel again- especially seeing as the price is right! This was a relatively inexpensive vacation for my whole family. There are 2 sides to the resort- the Caribe side is older & quiter (larger rooms) but the newer side is very clean & busier with families. There is a 'shuttle' to take you from one side to the other which runs every 15 minutes or so. No big problem there.

We truly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you for offering this holiday & we look forward to taking advantage of this resort again some day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The view, the accomodations, the animation staff (activities), the resort ammenities, the guests. This is a very family oriented resort. The Eco- Adventure tours are ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC & the choices are INCREDIBLE! The price was PERFECT!
The weak points
The food was decent, but not great. There were some long line ups upon arrival both at the airport & the resort (be prepared to wait in line). The airport is not equiped to deal with the flow of traffic, yet.
Certified

Palma real the real deal

, Thornhill, ON
2009-06-11
highly recomended- good staff and very clean place. The entertainment team are fantastic.Very balance activities....Food is great but cannot be compare to 4- star hotel in carribean.price is just perfect for a good week away and make it memorable... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food, cleanliness
The weak points
beach and bar
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

La Ceiba's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?