Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

4.554.554.554.554.55
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
#1 of 7 hotels in Samana
4.55 based on 221 reviews
Traveller pictures (104)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Excellent Hotel and Location

, Haliburton, ON
2019-12-04
Very relaxing. Quiet space available. Buffet dining excellent with different theme every night. Accommodations were 5 star. Staff were pleasant and helpful beyond expectations. Wasn't overly impressed with a la carte dinning facilities. We much preferred the resort when it was Adult only, not suited for children.. Would highly recommend this resort and we will definitely return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Service. Accommodations. Facilities. Buffet meals.
The weak points
Allowing children. Procedure of the hotel booking a la cart dinning, location and time, before arrival and offering NO choice to guests. Requests to Guest Services to make changes, restaurant or reservation times, were not accommodated.
Certified

Amazing!!!

, Milton, ON
2019-04-16
From the moment you step off the bus to the day you step on the bus you know your somewhere special. The food is amazing the room really nice. But the people are what makes this hotel. They make you feel special and take care of your every needs. This is our new go to place only!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Staff Beautiful spot
The weak points
Air conditioning
Certified

Wasn't a 5 Star

, Strathroy, ON
2019-04-08
Forgot to write couple years ago, until friends booked and are currently there. We were at another Grand Bahia resort -- El Portillo, which was overbooked, and was offered an opportunity to finish our trip(5 nights) at Cayocoa or Levantado, with all transportation included. We choose 2 at Cayocoa, and 3 at Levantado, plus $300US!!! Levantado should have been the best as it was a Don Pablo resort with supposedly higher standards, yet we have returned to this area twice since and stayed in El Portillo both times. Not as quiet as Levantado, it's a family resort, but overall value for money was way better, and the beach??? Beautiful. Can walk for miles. Have been to other 5 star resorts in Caribbean, would give Levantado a 4. Food was very similar as the other two resorts. Didn't get to eat at the Don Pablo a la carte as it was fully booked, a little disappointed. Entertainment was exactly the same shows rotating through the 3 resorts. Villa 14 room was very nice, but can't say it was an upgrade on the other rooms we were in. The bars closed at 11pm!!! But you could bring a bottle of whatever to where you were sitting and the servers will still bring ice and mix.It was definitely a quieter spa like experience
Which has its pluses and minuses. Called twice for the shuttle to take us to the dock upon leaving, none came. Had to walk with suitcases or risk missing the ferry. Waiting for friends to return to compare today to 2 years ago. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet-- if you like that Pools very nice Grounds are very well maintained
The weak points
Beaches were very small except for the public one. Service wasn't what we expected from a 5 star. Couldn't book all three a la carte's, even though we tried as soon as we arrived

Heaven on Earth, Love it Miss it will return to it

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-04
Clean, spotless clean , beautifully designed, pristinely maintained. Friendly beautiful happy people who take care of you day after day. Very special thanks to Gerson,Omar,Luis,Luz and the rest of the crew, too many to mention and my memory is failing. The Island is beautiful and the way the resort is designed has not spoiled or damaged the natural beauty of it. Frankly I have been to a lot of resorts but this one stole my heart. I didn't want to return. The beach was breath taking the sand was soft and most of all it was CLEAN. Loved it definitely going back next year and the next and the next......... oh and get this for all you who can't live without your WiFi connected gadgets WiFi was everywhere not just in the lobby. Even at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beautiful organized with friendly staff good food good times
The weak points
Just one staff know very little or no English . a resort of your high standing should have staff who can communicate with the guests.
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, a five star

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-12
The resort lived up to its profile and more. The rooms are modern, spacious, and clean and always furnished with towels, accessories, etc. The buffet was so good that we did not try any of the restaurants. We dined at the beach buffet for lunch and had breakfast and supper in the main buffet and food was plentiful and delicious...kudos to the Gala Night on Thursday and the hot brownies and chocolate fountain. The beach was also beautiful, always got a prime place to sit and never too busy. The resort is approx. 1 hour bus ride and then a quick ride by boat to the island (no waiting around) and the friendliest, warmest people are there to help you in every way. We would definitely recommend this little piece of paradise. Ontario, Canada [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bahia principe cayo leventado december 2018

, Pierrefonds, QC
2018-12-17
everything very good on island except delivery service from airport to hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hotels room , food , beach, friendly staff, environment, entertainment
The weak points
delivery service from airport to hotel- small bus 20 non comfort seats designed for small human and short trip was loaded 20 person and last for more than hour driving
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

, Nepean, ON
2018-10-08
This resort is truly paradise.We been in a lot in all inclusive caribe vacation but this was one of the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, the staff ,the rooms, the bars, evening entertainment especially Sunday evening Roman Gerdel and Claudia Mila, amazing, talented couple, Roman plays guitars much better than most of famous guitar players.
The weak points
Short beach but very nice.
Certified

Great Vacation at Cayo Levantado

, Ile Perrot, QC
2018-03-20
Need to rest away from everything ? This is the Hotel for you. Getting there is a small challenge. We had a 4 hour flight to El Catey, a very small airport. 2 hour wait at customs which we were told was unusual. Then a small bus takes us to the Hôtel, very entertaining driving situations but you get to see a glimpse of the real Dominican Republic. This took another couple of hours as we experienced a flat tire. Then you arrive at the shore reception which was a bit confusing and then a short boat ride to the Island and then... paradise. That is when our vacation started. We were greeted in the impeccable lobby and offered a welcome cocktail and then sent to have lunch while our room was being prepped. After a short lunch, it was ready and we used a small electric cart to go to our villa. The bellboy's are very accommodating. Special mention to Felicito who is a very nice guy and made our stay special. Beautiful hotel and grounds with very lush vegetation. Our room at Villa 11 was enormous with an exceptional view of the sea and mountains. It was also right next the the whirlpool which was convenient. We hit the beach immediately which has fine sand and clear blue water. Plenty of space and no need to fight for a chair or a palapa. There is also a public beach within walking distance, very pretty but you will need to go by a small flea market which sells souvenirs. You can shop but be ready to seriously barter. Back to the hotel, we check out the pool area located between the main lobby and our villa, nice pool with sun tents, drinks are excellent with premium brands if you like. At the buffet, the food was very good with a lot of variety. The breakfast was excellent and I enjoyed the delicious and fresh pastries. Expresso or latte if you like too. Maria was there for us at breakfast and lunch and she was a sweetheart. There was an evening at the buffet where they served delicious shrimp. Another evening it was shrimp and king crab. We also enjoyed a BBQ for lunch at the beach. Delicious steak and rice and beans. The a la carte restaurants were good, the best being Don Pablo. Did not care for the wine except for the white but the cocktails were good in general. The staff was very nice and do their best to make your vacation the best it can be. We were blessed with perfect hot weather all week. We are used to 5 stars in Mexico and I wanted to try something different for a change and was very happy with this hotel. If you need to relax and rest this is a great place for you. A hidden gem ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds. Both private and public beach have fine sand and turquoise water. Don't have to fight for space. Friendly staff. Food was good. Big room with a view. Quiet getaway place.
The weak points
The reception on the waterfront before crossing over to the island was disorganized. Some interior and exterior elements would benefit to be refreshed. Little to do outside of Island.
Certified

Fantastic!

, Laval, QC
2018-03-04
Wonderful buffets, gorgeous lobby, wonderful personnel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, beauty, wonderful luscious plants and trees, fantastic service, good meals, everything is close by, great restaurants, great massages at the BahiaSpa
The weak points
Just didn't have great weather exceptionnally, but did a lot of R & R in our beautiful and comfortable villa on the rainy days.
Certified

Beautiful Place but not worth the money

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-12
Essentially this hotel is gorgeous, the food is great and the staff is friendly, but they have tremendous logistical problems and the language barrier is unreasonably big. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful place, quiet, relaxing, great food, friendly staff that works hard
The weak points
Low skilled staff, very poor upper management, bizarre managerial decisions and the location is MUCH harder to get to than they lead you to believe.
Certified

Hotel Cayo Levantado Jan-Feb 2018

, Edmonton, AB
2018-02-09
Hotel accommodations and hotel grounds were delightful. Entertainment staff exceptional.
Hotel lacks sufficient English language spoken by the Hotel management staff (Customer Service, A la Carte desk, main buffet management staff). Our family did recognise and did manage with the wait staff even though that was challenging. These were simple requests. Example: A bottle of Red (house) wine delivered to the room) turned into a three managerial / 15 minutes conversation before it was ok'd.
I ended up paying for a bottle of Sun Lotion at the pool $26.00 U.S. because the staff could not speak English nor were there any signage posted as to the amount "anywhere".
Still charged me full price on check out.
The A la Cart's that we could get into were all
fine. The B'day perks that the hotel provided
for my daughter-in-law were wonderful and special for her.
Amenities (pool/gym/buffet and patio) exceptional clean and well lit very nice spaces. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food,amazing location, Incredible grounds and very clean.
The weak points
No ATM, Arrival process from the Samana Airport 4.5hrs "HORRIBLE"
Certified

Beautiful Setting

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-04-13
I enjoyed everything about the resort except the gym which had old cardio equipment that didn't work very well. The grounds, staff, pools and meals were excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, staff, pools, food
The weak points
gym is equipped with very old cardio equipment and is hot.
Certified

Very relaxing

, Oakville, ON
2017-01-11
I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. They were extremely accommodating. Great service on the beach with drinks etc. This hotel is very private and although we were there just after Christmas, there were always chairs around the pool or on the beach. Plenty of space everywhere [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxation and service amazing. Front desk staff is very accommodating. During a flight delay on our return, the front desk not only kept us from leaving on the ferry, they also gave us a room to use until our departure.
The weak points
Had difficulty getting reservations at the a la carte restaurants. This is due to the fact that the 4 restaurants are not open at the same time. Internet only works in the room or in the lobby. No internet on beach or by pools.
Certified

The best holidays ever

, Maple, ON
2016-06-21
This was the best vacation I ever had. The staff go over there heads to please you. The food is fantastic, the beach is the best, the room is very clean with big comfortable bed, huge balcony and the view is breathtaking. The only negative thing was that the restaurants staff ,at least half of them, don't speak English.that is peety. But overall it was amazing.
P.S. Would be nice to get more TV chenals in English. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the beach, the staff, the room.
The weak points
None
Certified

Not a luxury 5 star

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-20
If you are truly looking for a luxury 5 star vacation, this is not the place to go to. I would say it's more like a 4 star overall. We stayed here June 11 - 18, 2016 for my birthday and selected the resort based on the great reviews we read. We were quite disappointed. People can smoke anywhere outdoors, around the pools & the beach. This made it hard to get away from the smoke fumes. The good side of the beach (there's a calm side & windy side) is pretty confined. We had to move locations 4 times one day to get away from smokers. The resort really should divide the beach and pool areas into a smoking and non-smoking side. Furthermore, the service on the beach was pretty much non-existent, despite us tipping. We were there for a week and were only offered drinks on two occasions. Also, people hold the good spots on the beach all day with their towels as the resort doesn't set a time limit for chairs to sit unused. We noticed beach chairs would be reserved with towels yet unused for hours. Because the beach isn't that big, they really should set a time limit and remove towels from chairs that go unused for a couple hours as some of the other resorts we have been to do. We had upgraded to one of the villas that offers butler service, and the service was pretty much non-existent. Little things were missed, the maid didn't leave any shampoo or soap one day and didn't replace the empty tissue box another day. The toilet was dirty upon our arrival (I just cleaned it myself because I didn't want to bother waiting for someone to come clean it). On my birthday, we had ordered champagne and chocolate strawberries (for an additional fee) to be delivered at a particular time, which never came. Management did apologize, but you get the point that this was no where near the 5 star experience we had hoped for. Other small issues of note, we ordered tea, they delivered coffee instead. Then they brought tea bags with no hot water. The hot water finally came about 20 minutes later. The gym is quite small, I would rate it at a 2 or 3 star level. Overall the staff are pretty average, some acknowledge you and say hello, others ignore you. We think this may have been a language issue with some of them because we noticed a lot of them really struggled with their English. The hotel also has designated staff who sell time shares so avoid going to the meetings they claim you are required to attend if you are not interested in them. On a positive note, we did inform management of our disappointment and Lissa and Euris were both very apologetic and did there best to make up for the mishaps. Also, the food at all of the restaurants and buffets was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Don Pablo Restaurant
The weak points
too many smokers make it difficult to relax on the beach & at the pools. The overall service is mediocre.
Certified

Perfect vacation from A to Z

, Saint-Hyacinthe, QC
2016-05-16
It was our 2e visit to Cayo Levantado and everything was marvellous and fantastic. We got everything we wanted. The food was excellent, the service A1, the beach even if it is not as large as other ones is perfect. The water was quite warm and the sand very smooth. As it is ''adult only'' it was a very relaxing week. The service at the beach bar is just EXCELLENTE! Thanks to Franklin always smiling and others too. We appreciated the fact that there is navette (taxi)this time and we just had to wait a few minutes to get one. Jorge is always there for us with his smile and good words and sociability, he made us feel special.
We booked the Safari excursion which was great except one small remark: we would have liked to stay longer at the Boca di Diablo, 5 minutes is not enough.
On our first visit 5 years ago, we visited Los Haitises and Salto El Limon (wowwwww). We enjoyed the warm weather (only 1 day of rain (Tuesday) and a few showers once in a while which did not spoiled our day)Service on the beach is
appreciated as well as everywhere in the hotel. So we cannot wait to go back!
The vegetation, flowers,palm trees,etc... never seen the beauty of these somewhere else! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - Food - Service - Cleanness and marble everywhere etc...... we could not ask for better and more!
The weak points
NONE
Certified

Luxury at its Finest

, Kitchener, ON
2016-03-28
From the moment we arrived until the day we left, the resort, service, people, amenities and the food was first rate. Our butler, Gabriel was exceptional. Would highly recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People and service
The weak points
Not enough hot water in showers
Certified

Super resort

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-09
The setting and the service we had at this resort is the best we have experienced anywhere in the islands of the Caribbean. The landscaping is very mature, beautiful, and constantly being clipped, swept, watered and raked. The buildings are well spaced apart and the villas have lots of palms and plants. Our room was very spacious, very clean, and up to date.
Lots of staff at the eating areas so service is attentive. And friendly. Lots of genuine smiles. And always a choice to eat outside which we enjoy. The house wine is much better than at most resorts and champaign available anytime. We really enjoyed having our lunch at the Rodezio restaurant where it was quiet, uncrowded, bright, and we had a chance to get to know the regular staff. And it's a small point but the white linen and the cloth napkins lift the level.
We like to walk on long beaches and here that was a disappointment. The photos and map are misleading in showing beaches all around the island. Only the triangular beach is available unless you go to the public beach. The small north 'beach' is for service deliveries to the resort and is a mess. The other beaches if they exist are inaccessible.
On the bright side there are always beach loungers available no matter when you arrive on the beach and they are all new or like new. And plenty of shade. And except for the morning exercise lesson on the beach the pools and beach are thankfully quiet. The lifeguard stands are unoccupied and should probably be removed. For a couple of days there were two fellows with t-shirts that said lifeguard but they didn't show much interest in the beach. It's best to assume you are swimming at your own risk. Bar service on the beach was appreciated and surprisingly prompt.
We had some occasional rain but each room is thoughtfully supplied with a big umbrella.
Seems to be popular with European vacationers as there were a lot from the UK and Germany.
The tennis court is playable. One morning after a rain it looked like we were washed out but a staff member arrived and swept away most of the water. There are lights but never turned on.
People we spoke with were disappointed with the excursions so we didn't take any.
Overall a great two weeks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly attentive staff. Fabulous grounds.
The weak points
Short beach

Paradise for everyone

, Montreal, QC
2016-01-10
Before deciding to go to LBPCL I have read many reviews about the place, some reviews were accurate and others were not. Even someone one rate it as 3 stars.
Probably he/she was the relative of some oil billionaire, who always stayed at 6 stars resorts??? My experience in this resort was beyond my expectations. Unprecedented quality of service at every level. I have to mention Franz Latigue desk manager who did wonderful job from my arrival till departure. The quality of food in a la carte restaurants were Gourmet at list. Fabulous beaches and top shelf drinks, the so called house wine (white, rose, & red were really good (I am wine drinker).Although I traveled alone I have never felt like, the staff did everything in their power to make my stay unforgettable. Thank you, I will definitely return again in the near future !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, Location, Surroundings, Food, Rooms.
The weak points
Internet is not very strong but for basic needs, email etc. it's OK.
Certified

4 star plus- wonderful time

, Alliston, ON
2014-11-05
great resort, great food, great staff, great weather, great meeting other wonderful people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Only a 4 hour flight from Toronto. The buffet food was terrific as well as the a la carte dinners. A very relaxing atmosphere. No problem finding chairs by the pool in the morning. A ride from your room was readily available in minutes.
The weak points
Not all top shelf liquor available. If you have a specific one that you like you will need to bring it with you. Would not recommend the massage by the beach as there is really no privacy when changing- especially for my wife.
Certified

Great Honeymoon!

2014-05-08
Awesome staff, nice grounds - very clean and well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds, beach
The weak points
Food a bit repetitive (but it is a small resort)
Certified

Beautiful Spot

, Whitby, ON
2014-05-05
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Cayo Levantado and would definitely return. We have stayed at some more upscale all inclusives (Secrets) and found Cayo Levantado to be a great value for money compromise. Beautiful location, awesome staff, extra clean - this trip was just what we were looking for, without breaking the bank. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely awesome staff and location.
The weak points
Buffett and a la carte restaurants were just okay. We enjoyed the little bit of extra exercise, but beware if you have accessibility issues, it could be a bit tricky to maneuver the island.
Certified

Relaxation at its best!

, Belleville, ON
2014-02-27
This was the best all round vacation we have had in years - relaxing, pampered, and very beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms - beautiful - Food - exceptional - Beaches - pristine - Staff - exemplary
The weak points
Beds - very firm - too much so
Certified

Great resort!

, Newmarket, ON
2014-02-24
The resort was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderfully remote. A great place to relax.
The weak points
The entertainment staff were great but the shows were not.
Certified

Amazing vacation at Cayo Levantado!

, Sebringville, ON
2014-02-21
We both loved the Cayo Levantado in the Dominican! It was everything we could have hoped for and more. The location, staff, food, recreational activities-hobie cat, beach volleyball, tennis and beautiful beaches......made for an amazing and relaxing week. The whale watching trip was incredible. We could even see them playing in the ocean from the resort. Can't wait to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, rooms, staff, recreation, beaches and late night beach party
The weak points
none
Certified

Four Star Tranquility

, London, ON
2014-01-23
We enjoyed it. Exception value for the rooms that you get. Restaurants are excellent, but the buffet is average in food preparation and quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dinig restaruants were enjoyable. A very relaxing atmosphere geared to couples of the 40 crowd.
The weak points
Little to no Internet access. Buffet food and service is a hit and miss.
Certified

Samana Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

, Cambridge, ON
2014-01-12
The Hotel was located on an island which offered a quiet atmosphere. A perfect way to escape for some R&R. However it was a boat ride away to experience some incredible excursions....like zip lining! A wonderful location to reconnect with your loved one as the location is a small island. The people that came to pick us up did not have our information but I had hard copies. They did not have the documentation from itravel 2000 but they accommodated us based on my hard copies. We got a fantastic room! A must to experience! We are rejuvenated and satisfied! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent and the rooms where beautiful and clean. The beaches were good and the pool area offered a lot of shade. Everything was clean and the staff were very nice. Don Pablo's Restaurant was outstanding! The entertainment was great!
The weak points
The lighting in the rooms where dim, but it could be because of where the lights were positioned. The Italian Restaurant did not have authentic Italian food. I would not recommend booking this Restaurant as one of your choices.
Certified

A week in paradise

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-31
The hotel is about 45 minutes from the airport. There is a 15 minute boat ride to the front reception. The hotel is located on an island which is lush with vegetation. It is spread out so be prepared to walk or you can use the hotel shuttle. Hotel has lots of pools and a fantastic beach, I think one of the best. Food is typical for an all-inclusive and was generally acceptable. We stayed in a villa rather then the main building. I think it was worth the extra for a villa. Spend some time and look at the map of the resort and choose your villa or room carefully. Rooms near the main building in my opinion are generally less desirable. A word of warning there is nothing to do at the resort other then relax. There is very limited entertainment so if you want to party you may want to choose another resort. If you want to relax in a beautiful setting this is a great choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fabulous. It had plenty of shade but also lots of sun. The vegetation on the island was lush and spectacular.
The weak points
The food could be better with more selection. The à la cart restaurants also had limited food selection. restaurant service slow (end slower if you don't tip). The alcohol was generally not premium although the house wines were adequate.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-02
We had a fabulous time at this resort- large rooms, beautiful setting, sandy beaches with lots of chairs, beach beds.
They could keep a bar open a bit later at night and promote the activities a bit better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful room, beaches and location. Food is very good - variety may be limited but expected due to somewhat smaller resort size
The weak points
Kind of dies after 11pm. No bars open except the disco on the public beach and it may close due to lack of people.
Certified

A wonderful break from reality

, Port Colborne, ON
2013-11-21
The resort was a great way to prepare for the upcoming cold winter with the hot days and wonderful pools, but above all, i echo other reviews when I say the staff are amazing! Always friendly and ready to help in any way. As many of us have our favorites, mine was Santa at the lobby bar... she was there to make my fav drink as soon as I walked up, and always served with a smile... She will remain in my memory of this vacation forever! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the location, the beach..
The weak points
the late in the day maid service
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?